(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

re: priority seats
tiny_m, aiyoh, those people really heartless to let a preggy sit on the floor! yah, i had my fair share of pp pretend to sleep or bo chap when they see me board the train/bus
my hubby suggests that i get those walking stick with folded chair -- then i can sit anytime i want :p

sometimes i do meet kind souls -- a female bus driver waited for me to take a seat before moving the bus and an indian worker gave up his seat when he saw me got on the train

tiny_m, my gynae is Dr. SF Loh... we asked him abt the length of our baby -- he said the measurement now is from head to leg -- baby too big and can only see from head to buttock *wacko*

Tiny - You have my empathy, I use to take NEL too, and i have to alight have way to sit for 5 mins then board the next train, coz i was anaemic when i had my #1 so i stand awhile i wana faint liao, it oni happens in the morn when i take the mrt...those selfish kuku commuters..

Adv aports,

Yes yes, the baby will be too big to be measured for the length.

so becuz of that, my gynae measured 3 other things: head circumference, abdominal circumference and femur length. Based on these 3 measurements, the machine was able to calculate the weight of the baby every visit.
My gynae says measuring the length now is no longer accurate also as the baby can be in any position.
Maybe you can check with your gynae on that.

i think i was being spiteful when i sat on the floor the other time. wanna make those selfish ppl guilty. now i try to take bus more often but bus journeys are always very long, waste time. oh! i also dun like it when ppl just lean on the pole, the other day the mrt i took was very crowded and this guy was just leaning on the pole, i got nothing to hold on to, almost fell down! buses are better i think, sometimes the bus drivers will wait for me to sit down before driving off also.
sigh.. singaporeans need to be taught how to be more gracious..

bean, thanks for sharing
yup, my gynae did measured the head & abdominal circumference and femur length and said all in the average range... but he din tells us the weight as he said not accurate... anyway, will check with him again at our next visit.

tiny: ya i hate those leaners too. u know, i will purposely take out my keys n hold in my hand n pretend to try to hold on to the pole while poking them with my keys at the same time! kekeke!! it works!

Baby weight
after DS the doctor/report will tell us baby weight..my gynae also cant tell me baby weight he just said few hundred gram when i asked him may be nxt visit he can tell more coz gt DS report wif him le

Grace,

I think its the machine the gynaes are using..
My gynae also told us our baby weight based on the machine calculation.. She didn't manually do anything.. Just took the necessary measurements.

oh, btw, last nite i felt baby move, and when i put my hand on my tum, i felt a "pop"! =) then i lifted up my shirt n stared intently at my tummy, aft awhile, i saw my tum pop up in a split second! so cute!! I think this is the part we'll miss most when baby arrives.. =)

piggypig
that's normal - my bld pressure always bit higher at dr. guess its nervous. be gd if u can moniter at home and bring the measurements to show dr. that wat dr ask me to do. other thing is come slightly earlier for the appt - so u can cool down from the travel. walking ard in the heat can cause it bit higher too.

anyways its not too bad as long as baby's growth is not affected and bld pressure not too high.

juz wanna share this with MTBs :
my fren's wife juz give birth before xmas... on the 2nd day, she got out of bed to to change in toilet -- suddenly unable to move due to severve pain from Symphysis Pubis Dysfunction(SPD). After discharge from hospital, she has to undergo physiotherapy to regain her mobility.
15_187741-1%2C00.html,http://www.ivillage.co.uk/pregnancyandbaby/pregnancy/complicatepreg/articles/0,,15_187741-1,00.html

my fren warns me to take good care as SPD can happen before or after birth. Avoid putting full weight on one leg -- esp when lifting the leg to put on clothes(sit down first or wear 1 pc pull over), getting out of a car, bending over, sitting down or getting up, walking up stairs, lifting heavy objects etc.

sporeans can be really ungracious. i dun take the public transport often and yet, each time i'm on them, i get bad encounters. this man who was sitting at the priority seat on the mrt immediately 'fell asleep' the moment he saw me getting onto the train! then on another occasion, no one gave up his seat for me on a crowded and swaying bus. sigh. i always mumble under my breath 'wait till you are/ or your wife is pregnant!'

tiny_M, oic. so dr woody also measure for u the FL. hehe. i forget to ask him mah..ya..can see bb is too big to fit into the screen liao. and moving about..very difficult to measure full length..aiyo, u poor thing leh. i also took NEL every evening. sm young chap just playing their psp happily and other guys read newspaper or close their eyes...but always is the ladies offer seats to me..i also pretend to stroke my tummy and act like very xin ku..haha

jamie_nov, so nice ! can feel ur tummy pop up liao. i still not feel it yet..

Baby movement
I can feel baby movement everyday, especially dinner,watching tv and b4 i go to bed tat timing..when DS i also saw his face very clear, he turn his face to the machine screen =x

There are inconsiderate people everywhere. In france, there's priority queue in supermarkets for handicaps and pregnant women (>3 mths). Twice I took this queue, twice I got remarks that I was abusing it. Each time, I turned back and told the woman I was more than 3 months pregnant and unbuttoned my winter coat to show my bump. Then, they tried to be nice and said "Oh, you are so lucky cos can't tell." I no longer use this queue.

I think my gynae will give me her number when my EDD is nearer.

My back and tummy are itchy too. I think it's the maternity belt that I am using.

Oh, 2 days ago, there was a hard spot on my tummy. I wonder if it is the hand or foot of baby. Very weird.

Re: Giving up seats on MRT/bus

My bump is big! haha.. Most of the time I get a seat.
There was once I wanted to move to an empty seat and an auntie actually snatch the seat with me...Duhh.. She happily sit down then I stared at her...wahahaha.. She say "sorry" and immediately stand up... U can imagine how embaressed she was!

I think it is perfectly alright for you to ask for a seat if you need.

porky: i think the weirdest thing is to SEE ur tum pop up. =) I think if u lie down flat u prob have higher chance to feel more. That's wat i did last nite aft the first encounter. =p Also, while trying to feel, rmb, patience is a virtue. haha!

soh: wat do ppl wear in europe during winter, jan/feb? Still the trenchcoat or they go for thicker clothing like parka jackets? wat abt shoes? esp since preggy, flats warm enough?

JRTlover: read ur facebook comment.. congrats ah!! =)

Jamie: This winter is very cold. Today is supposed to be the coldest day since a long time. Yesterday night, it was -9. Trenchcoat is not thick enough cos it is more for protection against wind. People usually wear winter coat or parka jackets.
As for shoes, I wear flat boots. If you are coming as a tourist, you will tend to walk more in the cold, so be prepared to wear thick socks. Wear bonnet and thick gloves. During this time, the streets are like skating ring. Too dangerous for a preggie. I came to office by car, and ordered lunch in office. Just to side track, winter sale starts today for about 6 weeks.

I got a terribly bad news to inform!

Last night, my first ever bad night in my entire life.

Din know what time it was and I woke up with a sharp pain near my heart. Cant really sure if the pain came from my heart but it's near and as if in the centre point of my front and back of my trunk. First thought that striked me was Heart Attack. I also felt a sudden surge of blood gushing to my head...whole face turned hot and warm. Body began to perspire.

Besides, also felt it might result from stomach's tumbling then went to poo. The pain still lingered after the biz and I was feeling hard to breathe deeply. I wanted to shake hb to bring me to A & E but hoping it might go away soon.

Then I began to pray (can still feel bb's movement so I dismissed that it had nothing to do with her). Luckily, it lasted about 15mins though it looked ages to me.

Still feeling hot, I switched on the air con and tried to slumber again. That took about another 5-10mins before I went "unconscious" again.

Got de javu when I think of sleeping later. Hopefully, it does not happen again.

Thanks Jaime!

Re: Baby movement

I dun see my tummy moving. But just experience fluttering feeling..and kicking esp at night and when I am sitting down having lectures.

SK,

Hugz... Take care.

BP still on for http://www.babymallonline.com/
Please PM me for details..

Will close at 180usd, currently at 100usd already, any last orders?

Also, desitin creamy for diaper rash, california calendular cream and first teeth A Natural enzyme toothpaste ready stock just arrived from the states, PM me for info.

Have also the Classic Pooh Anti Dust Mite 7 in 1 Bedding Set With Bag for baby cot if interested.

sk - wat u experience is called heart burn.. which can happen often to ppl who ve gastric n preg can trigger it more often.
try not to eat too much spicy food in the day.

jamie_nov, i lie down flat liao. but still no response leh..i tell my baby, pls kick me !

sk, sound scary leh...u must take care ya !

btw, any mummies went swimming at this stage ? my fren pass down her swim suit to me. feel like gg for a swim liao. hahaha

porky - no swim, cos can't swim but if u can then should cos suppose to be good for the body n no pressure impact cos in e water mah.

morning mummies....

re seats on public transport- i think on mrt its still alright to stand since its kinda stable but prob not so on buses? i dunno abt u girls... but i'm perfectly ok to walk.. shop... a lot during second tri.. hehe...

swimming- yes i do swim quite a bit..its a healthy exercise! go try it! besides, it will help to control our weight.

porky, i m swimming at least once a week(during weekend)
baby seems to enjoy it! but my 2pc swimwear is bursting due to my growing tummy :p

Hello there mummies,

Anyone intend to go for any aquanatal classes? Or has already been attending one? Been looking out for such classes.

THanks.

Thanks all for your regards, I slept soundly last night. HB feedbacked that I snored loudly last night. :p Also felt that I had slept well.

Have made it a point not to consume overly spicy foods.

hahaha..actually i not very good in swimming one..only basics. but enjoy soaking in the pool loh. i have not tried it yet..hope my boy will like it too..

val, wat is aquanatal class ? is it swimming for preggy ? if yes, i would like to join leh

sk, ya..avoid too spicy food first...i also cant take spicy food now..if not always burp will have the spicy taste stuck at the throat..

heartburn sounds so scary n serious.. not like wat the books says.. worse, im a HUGE fan of spicy foods n chilli!

adv sports, where do u go to swim? u stay near jurong rite? i've been v desperately looking for a nearby aquanatal class preferably offered over wkdays.. but if not then i dun mind jus going to the pool la..

feb mum, i think walking works too.. i walk ALOT esp during wkends.. n by the time i get home i'm so beat dat i dun wanna do anything except nua..

Porky,

When i went for the detailed scan , my bb girl was having a time of her life inside kicking, turning, drinking fluid (i think) but i couldnt feel a thing at all and it has been 6 days from my last scan , i still cannot feel or see the movement!
When i told my colleague about it, they say to be patient and that once you start to feel them move , you wish you hadnt felt it earlier!

Glenlyn,
i have the same problem as you and mine lasted for about 3 weeks and still persist. It's worse when i sit or stand too long. Doc asked me to wear a maternity belt and when i am in the office now, i use the pregnancy support pillow to support the tummy . hepls a bit but best to lie down down whenever you can

porky, next time the moment baby starts moving or kicking, u faster put ur hand on tummy! c if can feel or not! jus leave ur hand there n be patient! =)

star, wat's a maternity belt? n yea i heard from many ppl dat when the kicks get stronger, it can be hard to sleep even!

star: oh... is it worn by the majority of preggy ppl? It looks huge.. i cant even get used to bigger undies, i think i'll skip this if possible unless the pain is unbearable....

jamie,

not sure if most pregg pple need to wear. , but it's super hot esp when you're outdoors, i feel like my tummy is on fire under the scorching sun . My doc recommends cos i have constant aches
whereas these aches are only experience by most pple in their 3rd tri mester.

star: yea, it looks like it's really warm cuz it's all wrapped up. wld it help if u went for prenatal massages more often? maybe it wld help ease ur pain?