(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Flommy - its ok to take both Obimin and folic together.. my gynae prescribe that for me last wk..

Grace - but as first time parents, I think quite a lot of things we are not sure also.. so if possible can get your mum to come over to help out during daytime? Cos surely got unexpected situation that we duno how to handle also.. so better to have someone experienced around at least wont feel so lost.. I think you need to talk to your hb again..

BF is tiring but really bond the child and mum. Till now, my boy is 5 yo, he is still very close to me. He always say he will only marry mummy. Very sweet. When he was younger, he wanted to paste his photo on my wedding photo (in between me and my hubby) because he say he want to be my hubby. When I told him, cannot because mummy married already. He ask me why I never wait for him. Ha ha. I only hope next time he has girlfriend, won't forget to have dinner with me on weekends... So ironic to be a mother hor. Now I wish they can be more independent so that I have more free time. But when next time they are independent, I scared they will "forget" me.

Anx,
What a sweet boy you have! if i have a boi, i sure want him to have me as an ideal image to marry hahahaa
Aiyoh super sweet ler, must tell hubby this keke

i watched Channel News Asia last night - "Great Expectations" and they were talking abt Hypnobirthing. Sounds like a good method. It's all in the mother's mind to relax and make the labour easier, & all natural without relying on epidural etc... Anyone went thru this or has frens who went thru this and found it effective? Apparently Dr paul Tseng is a great advocate of hypnotherapy. He was featured as well last nite and many reviews by mothers stated that he was their Dr. Found a few websites and realised its not that ex - $450 for 4 lessons. Better than antenatal i tink...

Hi jacquise,

My fren just signed up for hypnobirthing class...to find out more perhaps you might want to visit this site: http://www.parentlink.org/index.htm Another fren of mine went through it and she said it does help as she really wanted to go through natural birth. I thought of signing up for the classes too but perhaps when I've reached my 5th mth or so.

Xue, i am very sorry, my hubby seems to have thrown away the cord banking article which i cut out, i will try asking from my friends and will send to you as soon as i get hold of one.

SK,

If you are unwell, please take medication. My preggy friend had flu for 1 week and went to a GP , he didnt give her any medication cos he said she was pregnant. hence, she didnt take any medication but she felt so sick that she went to her gynae a week later and the gynae was in shock , telling her that her baby is sick too and prescribed medicine safe for both mum and baby.

Anxylyn,

I have yeast infection about once in 4 months before i was pregnant. Keeping my fingers crossed it wouldn't come back again! cannot tahan the feeling.

Star - I developed sinus (only night time) when I am pregnant tis time round, tis is not actually flu so I didn't see my gynae, hopefully bb is ok. But i had to wake up twice every night to blow my nose....very disruptive.

Flommy,
Me too have been having flu like symptom since i discover i am preg, and this has been on and on everyday..
went to GP twice, first time when i was in my 5.5 wks, and second time when i was in my 9th wks, both GPs prescribed me med which is safe for pregnancy.. tho on some days i try not to take, but i was really sick that no choice i would take..

My gynae dun want to prescribe me anything
haiz.. he said before 12 wks baby is still forming.. huhu huhu..

HI Grace

think u better get someone to be on 'standby' mode incase yr hubby 'gave up' on u during confinment.
with a new bb n inexperiences on hubby n u... there r alot of stuffs u can't forsees.

NB needs to be feed every 2 or 3 hrs depending on them...
eg. my bb developed colic when she came home from hopsital.
cried non-stop from 1am till 5am.. unless the person carrying her is moving non-stop

my hubby 'gave up' on e 3rd day cos he needed to work on e 4th day so he just told me 'sorry, dear.. i needed to work tmr' n fall back to sleep..
but luckily, in e morn, my mum took over n i can rest n dun ve to bother abt e bb on bath, feed or changing.. i'm only needed to BF her n night duty (cos my mum old so dun wan her to suffer due to lack of sleep)
but e whole household din sleep well due to bb crying :p

but i do ve a colleague who din get a confinment lady..
she cater e food (paid alot, almost e price of e confinment lady), hubby bathed e bb b4 he goes to work, comes home n do laudry.. n e night b4 will boil e drinks.. bf or pump every 2 hrs so ended up din rest at all during confinment..

think is all up to individual but dun stress yrself, if u insist then u should go ahead n employ e lady cos think u should know yrself better...

Grace,
Yeah, i think u better think it over, tho some ppl have got over without help during CL but again as i said previously, you deserved a good rest after the hard work of delivering the baby, u need lots of "pu" and "sleep"...

Jen,
Your hubby is so frank.. my hubby doesnt even think of participating or commiting his participation, what he did was to help as and when he is free :p he loves to cuddle the baby, so i just let him be, i was studying durin gmy confinement coz had an exam soon after confinement ended kekeke.. so far so good, nb doesnt need as much attention as our kiddos at 1+ plus rite? For nb, so long as they are fed well, they would sleep, then wake up, play a bit, feed, sleep

Oh ladies,
Yes i had this watery discharge with yellowish brownish colour, and it smells like sperm, i dunno what's that ler, just suddenly flow out when i went home from work.. but it stopped so i ignored it..
We have this "bebe sound" the device to listen to bb's heartbeats, last nite before sleeping we listened to the heartbeat and bb is alright.. i let my girl listen to the stetoscope she told me "pa pa" scared scared hahaha

hi mummies-to-be,

I have a 1 month Pure Yoga membership (Ngee Ann City) available for transfer. I am currently paying $212 per month for the short term membership however I need to do an urgent transfer for remaining one month as I am due to deliver very soon.

Am willing to let it go at $150. Have been attending their Pre-natal Yoga and it is excellent. I am willing to negotiate on price for keen takers.

Please PM me if interested. Thanks!

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> morning all.
I think i might hv consumed moulded bread leh. Yest night I wana make sandwich for supper and when i've prepared the ingredients, wanted to take out the bread then i notice the side had turn mouldy.! The bad thing is I ate the same loaf of bread the day before..... Written on the tag expiry date 28.10.08. So yest is only 1 day after... Next time i must check before eating. >.<</font>.

morning ladies,

Re: discharge

I also having discharge, sometimes yellowish sometimes clear but smells like sperm too...so i am using panty liner these days. Does anyone here know if it is safe to do brazilian wax at this time? i am thinking abt doing it to keep clean below.

Re: Flu-like symptoms
When i had my #1 , i had running nose almost for 2 trimesters. I guess this flu thingy and pregnancy goes hand in hand, that's why sometimes ppl say pregnant women got big red nose..hehe...

Like last nite, i also get running nose sometimes in the middle of the nite. then couldn't get back to sleep from 1am-almost 230am. So i woke up and stare at my 2 darlings sleeping, my girl and hubby were snoring away so sweetly..hehe...Then this morning i couldn't wake up..

oh so the spermy smell discharge is pretty normal hor..

Re: wax
hahaha i dunno about waxing but you can trim it yourself i guess keke never do waxing before :p *shy* shy *

Actually my girl can sleep super soundly whilst the daddy is snoring kekeke.. oh ya i think my girl think of me when she sleeps hahaha coz in her dream she still cries out MAMIIIII hahahaha then i look at her, she is asleep.

Xue,
Maybe next time just be a bit careful, but normally those bread can last 3 days after the date, mine is usually okay ler..

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> 915,
i think its safe to do BW. Some even do BW near their EDD. Of cos consult ur gynae will be the safest.

cola,
My mum oso said tt normally the bread is still ok for few days after the expiry... Dunno y this time the bread i bought lidat... Will be more careful next time...</font>.

Hi Morning all

Ytd quarrel wif hubby again abt the CL ... i think i couldn't convince him at all,.... He tot recruit CL for me to play not to take care bb seriously ..really want to faint!!!!!!!

Nw worse n worse! ..he told me confinement food he also learnt2 cook for me dont cater in his mind nw ~~~~ GIVE UP

thanks ladies for the waxing advice.

Xue, yeah.during my #1, some of the mummies in the forum went for BW near their EDD while i tot anyway i will get a free 'shave' when i go into labour so i din go. What i din expect was that the midwife only trimmed abit nia, din shave all so in the end it was quite messy and smelly during confinement due to the blood and pad.

So this time round i plan to do BW before EDD, juz that not sure if it's safe to do during the 2nd trimester.

I was abit aprehensive to ask my gynae coz not sure if it's weird to ask or not..heheh...hubby said it's so funny to ask whether can shave or not..hehe :p

Re: expired bread
Xue, now it's best that we avoid expired or near expire food. Better safe than sorry lah. Nowadays my mil will not even allow me to eat any overnight food. She will insist to cook something hot and fresh for me and the rest of the family eat overnite food if there are any.

RC, isn't it sweet to see ur both darling sleeping so soundly.

actually for my #1, intend to go BW near my EDD and of cos gynae had given green light. But when its nearer to my EDD, gynae said tt i cant go BW due to bb is in breech. In case i go BW and trigger contraction then worse. need emer-c-sec... so in the end i din go. But Hb help me to shave. hahaaa..
But this time round, i still hope to go BW before delivering.... Indeed its cleaner and more hygenic...

Expired bread :
Yea. i will check careful before eating any food. =)</font>.

Grace,
Doesn't your hubby need to work? How does he cook for you when he is working?
Really puzzled. So if you are not hiring anyone, so you will be alone with the baby at home while he is at work?

Midwife got help to shave meh????? How come mine no ler hahahahahhaahah actually i have the habit of trimming it, so that it doenst get too long, but make sure not too short, coz will be itchy kekeke.. during confinement i am okay, coz i will rinse when pee pee coz hate the bloody feeling... Somemore i did take bath, so it's still alright...

Xue,
Hubby helps you shave? ahhahahaha i dun think my hubby would ever do that for me hehehehe *shy*shy*shy*
coz one of hubby's fren's wife told me that hubby's fren helped her shave, then i told hubby, his opinion is like... erghhh y dun u get a mirror and do it yourself hahaha...

Grace,
I thin kjust put a stop to the conversation first, maybe after 3 or 4 days then talk to him again, dun argue during preg not healthy for bb ler..

Indeed very sweet, but my hubby's snoring put me off, hahahah he always gets a kick from me, if he snores too loudly and wakes me up hahaha

Yes, bean i'll with the baby at home when hubby at work ....this is his plan lol

I dont wan talk anymore, any happen to bb he also will blame me de =.=

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> cola,
the midwife oso help me to shave lar. bt not so clean....
hahaha... my hb volunteer to help.. lol. he's very careful and make its clean there. haha..

Snoring :
Im the opp of urs ! I've been snoring for this pregnancy... Hb says sometimes its too loud for him to slp.. Bt still he hugs, cuddles me to slp despite all this snoring. hahaa.

Grace,
Why is ur hb so persistent? Anyway, u still hv to find alter. in case ur hb cant tahan after few days...</font>.

MTBs:
Im from Mar08 thread. Im selling off my Combi stroller TJT-450 as i intend to buy a new one.
Anyone interested pls pm me.

1835474.jpg

Xue,
I have been snoring as well, normally hubby will also cuddle me, tho i am unconscious hahaha coz sleep too soundly..
My hubby really snores very loud ler, always ask him to go dieting
I am someone who cant sleep even with the slightest sound around.. i think the problem actually lies with me hahaha.. i cant stand a sound during my sleep!

hahaha.. Unconscious.. hahhaaa.. me too. esp wen im too tired. even if hb moves me from one side to the other i wont know. lol.
Luckily Lervin is not affected by my snoring. He still can slp soundly. hahaha</font>.

Xue, wah ur hubby good leh..helped u to shave! kowtow to him

Grace, ur hubby very garang leh. Anyway since u cannot convince him now, dun think abt it first. I believed as ur pregnancy progressed, u will be able to work out something.

During my #1, we also had alot of emotional ups and downs in all these decisions.

I guess since this is first time for u and ur hubby that a new life is coming into ur lives, so expectations tend to differ.
Just take time off this topic and concentrate on resting well and eating well.. Talk about this later when things cooled down.

RC, u din bathe during confinement? can tahan meh?? i tried but i cannot stand it..imagine below dripping blood and up there dripping milk...everyday very smelly...kekek

yea. I appreciate wad hb had done. hehe..
i think cola mentioned before tt her mil boiled ginger water for her to bathe everyday if im not wrong.. Me too cant tahan the sour smell... I only bath 2 times per week with herbs. tts the worse thing thru'out the whole confinement...</font>.

U read wrongly lah, I did take bath during confinement, from the day i came back from hospi, i bathed everyday once
agree with you dripping milk and dripping blood, soak in sweat, haiz i cant imagine if i dun bathe, i would probably become mouldy like xue's bread hahahahahahaah

Grace
Ya calm down, first time parents a lot of different thinkings..

during my #1 preg, hubby super nice, haha everynite massage me,every morning prepare the vits for me, hahaha nowadays, i prepared my own vits, and pop them myself keke whatever i said, he said okay, no argument at all, coz he said during preg cannot argue, later baby come out face sour sour
hahaha my girl is one of the smiley one
guess that's the effect. Btw during preg (esp first one), all ladies are the queen!! agree?

For #2 i dunno ler, coz i always scold my #1 ahahaha she is sometimes so naughty, fast and furious!! no choice but gotta scold her hehe

dun mention the mouldy bread lar. ltr i hv no appetite for lunch.... haha</font>.

No worry :p Know what, my wei da mama, bought 15 kg of old ginger and brought to sg, in sg, so expensive ler, each ginger might cost 50c to 80c.. my mum bought 15 kg for only S$3 in indo hahahaa.. of course the hard work is to lugge them here to sg, a bit ridiculous, but if i buy 15 kg of ginger her in sg, i think could probably cost about S$100 plus plus plus haha You need to boil quite a lot (at least 4 gingers so taht the herbal water can take effect)...

Xue,
Thanks for clarifying.. hahaha okay i better not kill your appetite. anyway i dunno wat to eat later, i am going to buy my facial soup first, then probably buy sth for lunch.. nothing in my mind at this moment ler..

the ginger water for bathing smells ok? If so, i'll buy ginger to boil for bathing instead of herbs liao. Herbs smell is strong after my bath. And the small pcs of herbs will stick to my body. </font>.

rc cola
gd for u ! during preggy, queen. not for me. I feel like kena worse during preggy. I thk hubby more stress thinking of new baby finances, then I kena scold more. not that he scold me for being pregnant more. more than complain work stress - blah, blah, blah. lose temper then I kena. so sienz...

the stupid thing is he is NOT paying for everything. wat to do with this sorta of fella ?

Xue,
I find the smell is bearable, and the afterwards smell is okay.. Maybe the herbal pack that you buy is quite different, i bought some herbal packs as well, its in a packed and just soak it in hot water, so the residue will still remain inside the pack. Okay ler, smell very very very nice like liang cha
always told my mil feel like drinking the bath water coz smell like liang cha keke..

Ginger water is not bad, you may want to buy some and try, just boiled with hot water unter the water is dark color, and mixed with our warm water in toilet..

Daec,
oops, so not everyone is a queen during preg :p my hubby always tries to avoid arguments with me during that time, even now, if i am wilful, he will just ignore me, then when i calm down he will talk to me again.. Er.. i guess every person is different, so every one of us will have different experience during pregnancy. dun worry, your hubby has the family in his heart and mind, tts y he is stress.

No lah, coz ginger is dry items mah hahaha just packed everything in cartoon box.
Shi sang zi you mama hao :p Next time my Meg gives birth, i will do the same hahahahahaha Oops, she also brought 15 ayam kampung for me, ayam kampung is better for boiling soup for confinement, in Sg, quite hard to find ayam kampung, all the fat and super rounded chicken..

Shi sang zi you mama hao (again) haha.. and some other miscellaneous stuff, she bought for me and baby as gifts, ie corsette, panties, baby's cute clothes, etc

rc - he helps all e time except during the 4th night onward cos he needs his sleep but when i can't manage, he still will wakes up to help..

this time round, i'm goign to employ a maid (to help my mum cos + my 2nd bb.. she will be looking after 4 kids) so during confinment, i'm getting e maid to sleep in e same room as me (as for hubby i want hubby to take our gal home to sleep, incase e 2nd child got colic too).. this way, my mum won't be too tired n still can cook for me..

Grace - y dun u let yr hubby be for a while, talks to him again after a few mths but in e meanwhile look ard for a confinment agency to find out more (juts in case he suddenly changes his mind)..
wonder how he goign to cook for u when he at work, dun tell me, he expects u to heat up e food? cos i tot donfinment food much eat while 'hot'..
my mum's confinment food consisted alot of kidney, ginger n sesame oil. think i went thru 10pairs of kidney n 8 bottle of sesame oil including 1 bottle of BOM

shall try ginger bath. If gd, then i'll skip the herb bath..

Hubby :
During tt time i had #1, Hb everynight will ask me wad i'll wear tmr and he'll will re-iron and hang it. Do save lotsa time.. Hb will oso try to read pregnancy books to understand more abt wad im gng thru when he's actually a person who don likes to read books... And of cos giving in to a moody swing me... Really appreciate this all this... thou there's still a person who's there a create conflict between me and hb....</font>.

Xue,
Ya can try, coz ginger is known for the "qu fong" function.

Everyone's hubby is nice in their own way.. cant compare lah hahaha
For my hubby, he doesnt do any housework one, so i have never expected him to iron my clothes hahaha i would rather diy
he helps in another way :p
We read books together and he is the one buying me all those baby books. We listened to bb's heartbeats every nite, and he will buy me whatever food i wanted to eat, besides of course he will make sure that my milk is always on stock in my house hahaha.. those little insignificant thingy make the difference :p

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> yea. every hb is gd in their own way. Don compare better. As long as we're happy with them can already. haha.

Finally next sat im gng for my checkup.! Waited so long for this visit...</font>.

cola
he got bad temper. if carried away, I cry also no use. will just keep on scold one. he say lose his senses. last preggy, just listen. dun want it affect me this time so this preggy - I avoid his call when he like dat. no choice ah. well marry already, can only try to correct or avoid

Daec

U have learn the smart way, just avoid :p
My hubby is still okay, he wont scold me for no reason, and i wouldnt let him scold me without a good reason, if he is just looking for someone to yell at, that would definitely not me, or he will get it from me!

Scold ppl must have reasons rite, cannot because stress then scold me.. i ever told him that and he understands..
If he is reasonable, just ignore him, the next day when he is okay already, he will turn normal.
I've learnt this lesson also, just ignore him when he is ridiculous..

Re: breech baby
But it's very dangerous to deliver naturally if breech, coz my gynae also said same thing, my girl didnt turn when she was about 20+ wks, so gyane said if the position didnt change, will need to do Csect. Luckily she turned!
Quite risky ler, coz legs come out first, then shoulders tend to get stuck, most gynae dun want to take chance of risking both mother and baby.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> daec,
i think most gynae don encourage to try natural if bb is in breech. Either the head or shoulder is the most difficult part to come out. If stuck at the head very dangerous. And gynae will need to do emer c-sec which you will be paying double. Natural and emer c-sec. Better don take the risk.</font>.

RE: Breech BB

My Gynae will try to turn it even if you are 36wk or so..

He has even deliver many breech bb for those who want to go natural all the way..

Re: Breech baby

Is there a way to turn the baby through massaging or something? I just curious. And when will the baby turn?

I'm going to see gynae tomorrow morning! Finally... I waited and waited so long for tomorrow!

I dont want talk abt my hubby anymore..think more depress! can imagine nw when bb cry i also cry when he at work......haiz

Today went to Raffles scan my bb..nw 11 week +5 days 57.3mm! so happy, hubby saw bb left leg kick me,.... so cute! doctor very confident to tell us the baby 80% is girl must wait until nxt mth end then confirm again.

hope everyone is coping well and no more MS!
i still dun have much appetite and feel more nauseous nowadays (currently at 9wk +)... unlike my 1st pregnancy at all, i was a glutton then but now no food turns me on...

my 1 yr old boy super active nowadays... walking and climbing non-stop and i gonna follow him all over the places... any SAHM here with young toddlers? i really think it's very challenging to take care of them while managing my MS... but he is really a sweetie, when he heard me making the "er xin" sound, he will walk over and sayang my face... im so touched and cant resist to return wi endless kisses on his faces! hee

grace,
read abt ur thingy... i agree wi the rest, a good confinement lady or relative to help out during ur initial months is v v important... when i was preggie wi my 1st bb, i couldnt imagine the tiredness and many many things to concern abt until bb was borned... my mum helped me to do my confinement and i was so grateful towards her... she cooked, took care of bb and has been a good mentor to me, she shared lots n lots of hands-on parenting tips with me, and she is my strong mental support as well...

it's really not easy to take care of a bb who on 24hours constant attention... i think u really need a pair of extra hands to help out, maybe can look for ur mum or MIL help 1st, if they are unavailable then look for a CL wi good review...

not to mention we have to BF bb almost every 2-3 hours, normally for daytime to latch on and express bm out, so hubby can feed bb at nights.. ya, i must confessed im a lousy SAHM, coz i sleep thru the nights while hubby woke up and feed bb midnights milk... luckily bb sleep thru the night just before he turned 3mths old...

hope all aunties are well &amp; happy! and hope all didi mei mei growing bigger and stronger in mummy's tummies!

1837531.jpg