(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

hope everyone is coping well and no more MS!
i still dun have much appetite and feel more nauseous nowadays (currently at 9wk +)... unlike my 1st pregnancy at all, i was a glutton then but now no food turns me on...

my 1 yr old boy super active nowadays... walking and climbing non-stop and i gonna follow him all over the places... any SAHM here with young toddlers? i really think it's very challenging to take care of them while managing my MS... but he is really a sweetie, when he heard me making the "er xin" sound, he will walk over and sayang my face... im so touched and cant resist to return wi endless kisses on his faces! hee

grace,
read abt ur thingy... i agree wi the rest, a good confinement lady or relative to help out during ur initial months is v v important... when i was preggie wi my 1st bb, i couldnt imagine the tiredness and many many things to concern abt until bb was borned... my mum helped me to do my confinement and i was so grateful towards her... she cooked, took care of bb and has been a good mentor to me, she shared lots n lots of hands-on parenting tips with me, and she is my strong mental support as well...

it's really not easy to take care of a bb who on 24hours constant attention... i think u really need a pair of extra hands to help out, maybe can look for ur mum or MIL help 1st, if they are unavailable then look for a CL wi good review...

not to mention we have to BF bb almost every 2-3 hours, normally for daytime to latch on and express bm out, so hubby can feed bb at nights.. ya, i must confessed im a lousy SAHM, coz i sleep thru the nights while hubby woke up and feed bb midnights milk... luckily bb sleep thru the night just before he turned 3mths old...

hope all aunties are well & happy! and hope all didi mei mei growing bigger and stronger in mummy's tummies!

1837539.jpg

re: breech baby
I would advise not to risk being hero going for natural. Could be a matter of life and death. Some babies can be turned through massage but not all. My dd was breech because part of her umbilical cord was around her neck. So if forcefully go for natural or turn her head down, she would have 'strangled' herself. And imagine if she kept turning inside and the cord tighten, then she would have suffocated. Luckily we opt for C sect at 38 wks. My mum say there is a belief that babies who have their cord entangled around the neck and can survive are 'lucky star'. Not sure true or not but as long healthy and safe, then it's really lucky liao.

good morning ladies

dodo, ur boy is kawaii! bring on a smile to start off the weekend
so sweet of him to sayang mummy when u feeing nauseous...

grace, great to hear that u bb is growing well
stay happy n cheerful... try to sort out the CL/help issue later...

re: MS
mine is showing no sign of easing... 2molo i will be in 2nd tri... for experienced mummies, will MS juz disappeared or slowly ease off??

re: announcement
i had informed my project leader last week(one week before 2nd tri) due to testing in the laboratory -- maybe not safe for me n bb, in case of radiation exposure. paiseh, a few of my colleagues hv to take over my task last minute... and the news spread like fire
now i hv "special" treatment -- they asked me not to walk ard too much and not stand too long... female colleagues share their past experience on childbirth with me... feel good and heartwarming with all the well wishing! hope all MTBs can share the good news, too

re: hubby
yup yup, each hubby is unique in his own way
mine was reading from a pregnancy book to me last night -- and i dozed off :p

gd morning ladies,

dodo, ur boy very baba and cute...heheh..the picture was very well-shot! how many months is he now?

Re: MS
adv_sports, u r not the only one...my MS not subsiding yet and i'm going to be wk13 liao.

Re: announcement
although 2 of my closer colleagues and my boss know abt it, i still abit aprehensive to announce coz i have a colleague who has been trying to concieve for 2 yrs and she on and off kept telling me not to get preg before her
She did that again yesterday..she said she'd be very angry if i get preg first, made me very stressed man. I understand how she felt but I think at most i can hide for another 2 mths perhaps... haiz.

star, adv sports & 915,
thanks! he's a super cheeky boy!
this photo taken when he was 10mths old, now 1 yr old

re MS:
seems like quite alot of us still having this.. cheer up mummies! i heard from some frens that strong MS means bb growing well... so for the sake of bb, it's all worthy!

re announcement:
adv sports, wa so shiok that u got special treatments from ur colleagues, they are very kind
enjoy this privilege ya!
915, aiyo how can she get angry if u preggie 1st? dun be stressed over by this.. maybe she was only joking wi u? last time round i gave my balance of preg test kit to a colleague who tried for many years also as a good luck charm and she touched till she cried.. i really hope she will strike soon also... maybe u can give her ur blessing if u have any balance ones?
(but my pantang MIL told me to give only after 1st trim loh..)

915, we r in the same boat... let's jia you together! the day will come soon!

is your colleague joking when she said that? well, think she will accept it that such things cannot be controlled... anyway, no need to announce -- good news spread fast
dun stress -- juz stay happy n cheery

Re: announcement

Ermm.... I can understand that sour feeling. Maybe she is sour about yr pregnancy. I used to be like that till I finally give up on trying,everyone was preggy before me,very sad one lor. It is a passing phase, she will get through it and will be ok.

When I told my neighbour that I was preggy,she was beaming with envy. 1 month later from then, she is preggy now too!!! Believe it or not! I call it bb dust. We share the ovulation test kit purchase and I passed her my remaining pregnancy test kits also.hahha.. Really happy for her, this is her no 2!
I was very excited for her too,coz got a preggy companion!

Dodo, good idea...maybe i will buy her some kits for blessings coz i dun have any left over. The whole office knows she is trying hard coz she always made it very known. Then she likes to compare her dog with our babies.. :|

adv_sports,I'd like to think that she is joking lor. anyway i can understand her frustration.i will not announce , juz wait for tummy to show then admit lah...i think this way may be gentler.

today really holiday mood
hee hee... coz dodo's cute bb start it off :p

re: announcement
dodo, yah, very fortunate coz i work in a male-dominated environment(m the only gal in the dept) -- plus most of them are parents oledi, can understand what their wife went thru during pregnancy

yup, my mum kept saying MS is a good sign -- that's the only consolation... but beri "xin ku" to run to toilet when nauseous hit...

re: baby dust
really? then can i get pregnancy test kits for my hubby's fren? she has been trying for years -- last week, they met at a wedding and asked abt me (gave excuse that I was busy, hence din attend)... next week, we will meet at a gathering -- plan to inform his frens then

I dunno where if i buy can consider spreading baby dust or not... Dodo gave me the idea of giving the unused test kit as a good gesture, but since i dun have i tot maybe can buy...i dun mind buying to give good luck
Dodo, can work like that or not?

nineonefive,
I fully understand your feeling. My 2 close friends going for IVF and when I told them, they were envious and I was v pai seh. They say why I can preg give birth so easy then they try so many years still cannot. Worse still, my very best friend has fibroids went for ops and was very depressed bcos doc say something wrong with her eggs so must go for IVF also and not sure how's the chance. So until now I still dare not tell her. I think I will 'hide' until 2nd trimester then say. Sigh... Want to say also cannot that kind of feeling is......

Is it normal that the MS just vanished? I'm 10th week now. Today I suddenly feel energetic and no more MS. Tummy seems so fat and my neighbor say dun look preg at all. Like that also I worry. I worried what if something happened to the bb that's why all the symptoms disappeared. But by right, (touch wood) if something happened, there will be bleeding. Anyone has this feeling?

915, me also dun hv unused test kit... also wondering if buy can consider as spreading dust or not...

Anxylyn, me first time MTB -- dunno how MS will ease off... think positive -- maybe bb heard u and stop MS :p m still feeling very tired and zz at 9pm+...

haha Anx i same feeling as you..but after the scanning ytd i no worry coz my baby very strong n healthy! nxt visit will be 1 month later

After 12 week should be safe!

Hi ladies, me taking a breather from work to pop in here to chat.. had been a busy week, glad that it's finally friday!! so many posts to read, a bit lost liaoz..

dodo, thanks for posting up ur BB's pic! so cute and smiley! brightened up my day!

Am approaching week 13 this weekend, so fast hor.. think we're all finish our first tri soon! Those with MS, i think it'll slowly subside.. hang in there for a couple of weeks more!

haiz.. i very sad, my lao gong went overseas last night with his students to korea for one week.. me cried and cried the night before cos can't bear to have him not by my side (and somemore very busy at work so feeling the stress).. and my lao gong vey sweet to me yesterday somemore, went to buy my favorite cakes (so i can have them when he's not around) and also bought bird nest and ginseng for me to "bu". but he kenna "scolded" by both his mum and my mum cos they think too early to eat these and he seemed to have bought wrong ones (the bird nest looked fake to them and they find it too expensive cos from lo hang kar). last night after he left for the airport i also cried a bit but i told BB that we must be strong and wait for daddy to come home and my BB sorta moved a bit last night to let me know that it's there to accompany me. last night didn't sleep well cos too quiet (usually my lao gong snores very loudly) and i woke up quite a few times.. am trying to keep my mood up by not thinking so much cos dun wanna affect BB. luckily my colleagues are all very funny, so they make it take my mind off it for the moment..

sigh.. but i scared i'll be lonely when i go home at night. even tho' i'm staying with my parents, they very happening de, always come home very late so only i watch tv alone.. sads..

Hi Ladies!

I'm just back from my gynae appointment! My baby was moving its arms and legs once the scan machine was on! Doctor says it was jumping happily! haha
She also says my baby is big! I'm now like 14 weeks based on the baby measurements. Strange this time she didn't measure the baby length. She measured the head circumference and estimated baby weight. My baby is 75g but I gain 2 kgs!

Tiny M,
Same same, my hubby also travels to work frequently and now he is also not with me. Don't be sad, you still have your little one!

cola, xue, anxlyn
yup I know most gynae wont do breech natural birth. however just inform u that there are few dr who will let u try breech natural birth. of coz if there is danger to trying or even during trying - trust he will alert u accordingly and revert to C-section in that situation. my own dad is a breech baby via natural birth. There are cases of sucessful breech natural births.cant say that once breech is confirmed cannt be natural birth either. anyways its up the individual to decide.

Anxylyn, glad we havethe same experience.
i also have 1 close fren with this prob.

Re: Baby dust
I was juz sounding out my close colleague whether it's ok to give my that colleague test kits when she found out abt my preg. Then she said better not coz think my this colleague will be offended coz she is not even preg and i give her test kits. further more she has been talking abt ovulation so better not do anything wo...

Re: Hubby overseas
Tiny_M, dun feel sad.It's juz one week and you can concentrate on other things like perhaps going for pedi etc. Last time, my hubby's job was to fly whole week and he only comes back on fridays to sundays when i was expecting my #1 until only 2 mths ago he decided to switch role to stay in SGP. Imagine my gal doesn't see him until weekends, luckily i had very strong in-laws'support to pull through those days. So most impt is keep a good spirit and baby will be happy too

tiny_m, take this chance to meet up with friends -- time will pass quickly then

bean, congrads on ur growing baby
do u feel the movement when it is jumping?

So lucky got this thread to vent anger, share anxiety and spread happiness. Think time will pass very fast. Before we know, all will be popping and will be busy updating record on pop dates. Ha ha. Tink very far hor... like that then got aim and motivation mah.

Ai ya, until I still haven't book conf lady. Must quickly find and book if not, no more.

thanks gals for ur encouragement.. i'm trying to occupy myself with work and reading while my lao gong is away.. luckily not very long..

Re: Breech natural birth
My sis was born naturally in a breech position. She was supposed to be born at home with a mid-wife but cos she's breech, the mid-wife no confidence and my mum was rushed to KK last minute. my mum said it was very difficult but thankfully my sis was born naturally and healthily (after 12 hrs of labor!). For me, i was breech initially but the gynae turned me around in time (my mum sought a better gynae after my sis's bad experience - gynae didn't detect she was breech until 30++ weeks, so too late).
I think it's quite dangerous for breech natural birth but can try..

erm....i also wait 4 yrs then preg(i'm 1 of them v hard conceive)doc said my left ovary tube blocked need to do operation but dont know y b4 the operation i pregnant le .. So, for those still wait for preg de must jy dun give up! :)

Adv sports,
I don't feel the baby movement during the scan when I saw the baby jumping. But I felt fluttering movements in my tummy around 12 weeks onwards. Its like water moving. Now I do feel it move, like on and off, like a few days once. But I'm not very sure whther all those are really baby movements.

Hello Ladies,

Today is Friday! yeah!!
I am so lazy today, dun want to even move my fingers hahaha

Bean,
Yup that is bb's movement, at first it's like water moving, then after awhile u will start to feel the poking! :p

Tiny,
Dun worry, time flies.. last time before my girl was born, i felt lonely alone (my ILs and parents are not in sg), if hubby is not around, it's only me ALONE...
what i did was just dun think too much... anyway your hubby wont go so long rite?

As now I have my girl, seriously i feel more occupied with her, somedays hubby comes home late coz of his assignment, class discussion bla bla bla, but with my girl around, i always feel time flies.. you can always play with your baby rite??

Now i am looking forward to going home

Re: Baby dust.

I actually have some left over ovulation test kits tho,bulk purchase with neighbour and planning to use it soon but preggy le.
I am planning to give them away if I can't sell them to those who are trying!

HI All

i went for my checkup this afternoon, bb is healthy n turning round... bb also shown us fingers n thumb..

only can called bb cos sex still unknown, doc suspect but will confirm to us next mth... really can't wait till end of nov for my checkup to know whether boy or gal... so exciting!!:p

Hi Grace,
Hypnobirthing
I saw both websites - 4 trimesters and parentlink. Cant decide which is better. PL offers yoga classes as well.
So i tot one-stop easier.
I read some of the testimonials and they mentioned Ginny is gd. Does she turn up on the day of delivery as well? Included in e pkg price? So im still tussling between the 2 centres... Maybe u can share yr experience with 4 trimesters... What they teach ? Quite intrigued by this concept.

Thanks Sue for ur link.

Little oleng's report -

Baby is 51.3mm now, growing healthy.
Mind went blank again when I wanted to ask Dr Adrian heaps of questions. Haha. In the end, only got a cough mixture from him besides the normal vits. Next appt to be 3 weeks later. Into my wk 12 now. Yippee....

SK - 1 tip for u...jot down all those questions that you wana ask ur gynae be4 going over so u wont forget since ur gynae speaks so fast

I am new here. will be doing the OSCAR scan in 2 weeks time. Like to ask those who have done it before, how is the scan being done? Is it have to put something into the vaginal?

Although doctor say no risk, just want to be mentally prepared.

Hi SK, I am with Dr Adrian too. Looking at your baby's measurements, has your EDD change? Every 2 weeks I visit Dr Adrian, my EDD got early by a week...

Anyone knows when we will get to know the gender? Do we have to wait till the detailed scan or the Doc's ultrascan machine can tell? Mmm... can't wait to start shopping...

I'm a SAHM staying in the East.

My no. 1 baby girl is coming 11 mths and now preg with 2nd, 12 wks into preg.

Although excited to be pregnant again, I'm also apprehensive about it cos....I don't know if I can cope with 1 toddler and 1 baby next May!!!! I really hope I won't lose my sanity and must upkeep my appearance. Or else I'll really be a 'huang lian po' auntie!!!

anyway feels the same way? :p

hi joyce,

for OSCar, you'll do a blood test. thereafter, they will scan your tummy and try to get some measurements of the baby. you can see all these on the monitor. if the baby is still and quiet, the whole thing will be fast. mine was moving all around the last time so had to lie on the bed for quite a bit.
don't worry, its not dangerous for mommy or baby at all.
there used to be needles and extraction involved in the past which is then dangerous.

so enjoy the scan! its fun seeing the baby moving, and the little fingers, toes and the huge head with huge eye sockets hahah

Hi Jaime,

Thank you for your advise. So nothing is inserted through the Vaginal. Now feel more assure. Will HB be allow to join in? Btw, I am in my 11 week.. so finally, my first trimester is ending soon.

geekysnoop> It's my 2nd visit to Dr Adrian, think I saw the EDD to be 18 May instead of 19 May. Delivery date to bring a day forward only but eh...from the u/scan photo 19 and 18 looks quite similar. Dunno if there's a change too. :p

Piggy> Yes, madam. Was distracted when Dr Adrian was staring at me too when I was trying to think what questions to ask him. Shy leh. Kinda awkward too. My MS seems to lessen gradually. I hope this is going to be good news. :D

I'm new to this thread... oso a first timer mum-to-be... my EDD will be on 5 May... =)

wondering anyone here is with Dr Heng from ESH?

Forgot to add...

I ordered some maternity wear online from Coozfashion.com... however, i cant fit into one of the pants i ordered, my hips abit too wide for it. =(

http://www.coozfashion.com/catalog/product_info.php?products_id=100

Before pregnancy i wear size 28-29 for my jeans, i'm seeking any smaller size MTB is keen on this pairs of pants... price is negotiable, did not want to waste the purchase as i don't have any friends to share this...

those interested, pls pm me directly.

Hi iewwei

how much u want to let go? The pants look good to me and I am quite small. Is it a new one from coozfashion?
My frd also bought pants from them, very good quality.

iewwei,
Me also Dr Heng. Was she recommended by friend? For me it's convenience cos her bedok clinic is near my home.

Jaime,
I also stay in the east. Which part are you at? Dun worry you will handle it when the time come. I gave birth to no. 2 when no. 1 was 20 months. For at least a year, I was like huang lian po, everyday only wear tshirt & shorts. I dun remember getting to sleep... like zoombie. Cos day time is busy playing with no. 1. At night, I wake up numerous time to feed baby (I fully bf). No. 1 was not yet toilet trained. So whoever comes to my house can see it piled up with diapers. Sanity only return when my no. 1 went to playgroup and became toilet train so I have few hours to "breathe". With no. 3 now on the way, I can't believe I'm starting all over again....

hi morning all

you all bought maternity cloth already? i nt yet buy..i slept whole day beside eat/watch tv during weekend nvr go out, any suggestion where to buy cheaper?

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> afternoon ladies.
me too haven start shopping for maternity top.

Grace,
you can go this fashion to get cheaper clothes. =)

cant wait for my next visit this sat.! hope i'll be able to know my bb's gender.!</font>.