(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Just wanted to ask whether you can drink yakult when pregnant? Yesterday I was so bloated till my stomach is almost feels like bursting. So I just drank a bottle of yakult and it became much much better. Hope its ok.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> bean,
I do drink Yakult whenever i feels bloated. It helps. =) I think it shld be ok to drink. I don really drink tt freq too. =)</font>.

Thanks Xue! I was reading up on the effects of Yakult on pregnancy websites. They actually say it helps prevent eczema in babies when the mummy drinks it frequently. So its actually beneficial.
Lucky!

Hi rc_cola, all the best for your check up later. Don't worry, it should be nothing serious.

RE: yakult
I think it should be ok. I also drink yakult and eat yogurt once in a while.

Hi Pearly, are you the one who mention the chinese sinseh who can tell the sex of the baby? Can I check with you how much you pay per visit and how long the medicine will last you. I very interested to go and see, but my gynae says no chinese herb for the 1st trimester, so have to go during 2nd trimester.

RE: birdnest
My mother bought a bottle of Lo Hang Ka birdnest for me, but my gynae says no chinese herbs for 1st timester. Wonder if bird nest is considered chinese herbs.

baby_may
dun think birdnest is herbs ba.. onli cant add ginseng or dang_gui....
last wkend went to century sq... thot Lohongka still got branch there... haiz no more oredi

baby may,
yep, i have been taking chinese medicine throughout all my pregnancies and during confinement. there are some western doctors who do not believe in chinese sinsehs, thus will tell u not to visit them. it is up to your own discretion. i visit the chinese sinseh not so much to know the sex of my baby but to stabilise my pregnancy n aid in areas like constipation, passing out wind/ gas, at the same time nourishing the baby at every stage. i will take chinese medication during confinement to strengthen my body, for more clot blood to be passed out, and for increase in my milk supply.

so far, one visit will cost me about 50-60 dollars - medicine to be brewed into soup (include 'pao sheng') and the daily medicine.

as far as i'm aware of, pregnant woman usually takes birdnest from 2nd trimester...

ps. it might be better to stay off chinese medicine if you or your family r not a strong believer of chinese medicine.

twinkle,
chinese doctor will say, try to stay off coconut stuff during pregnancy. western doctor will tell you that u can eat ANYTHING but in moderation

i have been looking around for sweet stuff to drink yea?

hehe, went to NTUC today... got a big bottle of WELCH's 100% grape juice (contains 100% juice) and few bottles of ALLSWELL prune juice. now v happy.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Bean,
Isit? I shall buy more Yakult. My #1 had mild eczema. really hopes it help. thanks for ur info. =)

twinkle,
i had 2 times of laksa from the day im preggy till now. no 'Ham' if u eat. </font>.

hi ladies ... had yr lunch .. just got back from mum ... gosh cant stand the foodcourt smell, wanted to faint the moment i stepped in. moreso was so crowded.

Hi Feb Mum, I actually oso try Medela single electric pump but to no avail. very gek sim.

Re Medela FreeStyle
Yes, I would very much like to try this cos bringing in and out of home for expressing is so convenient. dont have to worry got no battery, and it's PIS Advanced is so heavy.

actually, if we have enuf order, we could consolidate our order and check with the supplier. At least we could save some $$ from the spree buy.

Icyen,
I usually start during coconut drink towards the EDD as it meant to be cooling for baby ... i think now a bit too soon liao leh.

Pearly, u craving for sweet stuff arh .. u think u expecting a baby gal? oops ...

hi xue,
i also got 2 servings of laksa since pregnant. But just not sure if can eat or not.
After finished, felt a bit sinful but very satisfied. kekeke...

noi
ya now too early to drink coconut... but if let me see hor i cant tahan leh... must get one leh.. so normally i'll eat the meat 2gather to balance the cooling loh....
hmmm think i must control till 3rd tri...

Getting so tired recently. When I accompany my kids for enrichment, I fell asleep in the car. Gosh, this never happened before.

re: birdnest
I just take bird next last week. bird nest should be safe - not considered chinese herbs. Herbs are ginseng, dang gua, dang shen etc.

re: confinement
May I know if anyone has started to consider confinement lady? Thinking of few options (1): order confinement food (2): get full time conf lady (3) part time conf lady that work from 9am-8pm.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Icyen,
I heard from those elderly tt coconut can only drink during the last tri. So bb comes out wont be so red and heaty. But No to coconut during the 1st and 2nd tri. Cause too 'liang'. Am following this 'rule' =)</font>.

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> Noi,
I had sweet tooth wen hving #1. But mine is boy boy. Same as previous time, sweet tooth for this. But i do hope im having a girl. haha</font>.

xue
ya i know this rule.... i oso always advised pregnant fren avoid this and tat...
but when come to my own pregnancy always like to break rules loh... if somethin must avoid but i like it.. if good food then i no appetite leh

noi,
my first 2 preggy same leh... but both boys! chinese sinseh said this mite be another boy... but OF cos i dun mind if this is a gal

icyen,
same same... i'm also like that... bad hor... i'm not supposed to drink cold stuff... but i keep drinking it...

icyen,
my hb dun really care what i eat and drink, as long as i'm eating! he thinks i should eat alot of everything! that way the baby can be fat *faint*

pearly
haha good lah ur hb let u eat... my hb opposite lah... i eat more he'll say later fat stick to me not go to bb... cheh

hi ladies.. i'm back from lunch.. had KFC. can't resist it after all the fast food talk. :p

thanks bean for the link! it's very useful indeed!

i can't resist cold drinks too! esp. these days weather v hot. everything in moderation should be ok rite?

as for coconut, i tried to avoid cos old ppl say it's very liang. but on sat when i was out with my colleague for lunch, the dessert we had was hashima in some pudding inside a coconut. i ate a bit the coconut taste v strong. should be ok rite? it's only the coconut water that's cooling?

i think i have a salty tooth. mine will be gal? hahahah.. did you all check those chinese conception calendar that predicts your bb's gender? mine says will be boy.. http://chineseastrologyonline.com/PredictSex.htm

Sorry Xue ... dont mean to poke u
when i was expecting my two older gals, i crave for sweet stuff ... but with my boi, i dragged it and only go for sourly stuff. this preggie likewise, i guess may be a boy :p

Anxylyn, about the birdnest - i learnt that too much will not do baby good as baby will have a lot of phelgm from birth. so for my 3 preggies i didnt touch birdnest ... likewise for orange. moderate eating will be good.

Would like to share my view about confinement lady. I had one confinement lady, she's good in her cooking but not professional. She will go marketing with my ah lao and she will ask to buy a lot of fishes. my ah lao tot it was for me so just buy. till one fine day ... i saw she ate one fish over lunch all by herself. then i had a maid, she fried one for her as well but my maid was a taken back a bit. then i kiddingly ask her if she likes fish and she started telling me story. she said only certain fish she doesnt eat cos it's cheap and it's no good for human (something like that). then she quoted that night to me that that's the fish which is no good for human ... and that was one of the dish she cook for my family!!!! I was so distraught with her. cant wait to get rid of her immediately. she not only eat as much good food as she could from my place, she oso thought my maid to rebuke me that i finally have to change my maid after 9months being with me shortly have she left. since then, i have no confident with confinement lady. and recently my colleague got a confinement lady for herself and she was so upset that the confinement lady was not supportive over her bfg for her newborn. till today, her supply cannot go to the peak as the baby wanted FM more. haiz.

unless you could really get a good confinement lady, then go for it.

hmmm, din hear fromm Cola ... hope she has gotten a day mc to rest at home

PS Medela Freestyle
How ladies ... u think we could collate order ourselves?

Hi everyone... did get to surf net for the past few days, i hope i am not missing out alot.

Can check anyone having problems with the medications? I puke everytime i try to take iron, calcium and fish oil.... it was so bad tht i am so scare to take any medication now.

And my MS is still so bad....

Can I join in. just found out m preggy wif edd on June 5. However, gynae said i'll b having c-sect on the 20th onwards of May....

I am back.. my gynae brushed off when i said i got spotting.. he just did the scan, and know what,can c the baby very cleary...
At first i thought baby is sleeping coz not moving, then when he enlarged and enlarged, can see everything!!!

The head, face, legs, arms...and baby is super busy scartching the womb kekeke.. kicking, sommersaulting and turn the face to the U/S scanner hehehe so we kinda saw the face keke.. gynae said baby is very healthy..
and guess what he said he cant commit on the gender, but he thinks it is a boy coz got sth pointing out!!!
hahahaha... it's still to early to commit tho
currently 10wks and 3 days, he said it's the earliest that he ever assess baby's gender so far

Now very happy! kekeke
then i asked him again about the spotting hahaha.. he said nvm if it is not much, not a major concern at all...
Never give me any medi to take, jsut prescribe DHAs, iron, calcium and vitC, like what I had during my #1..

Hb took the baby's pict for scanning, once he scanned i will post here k..

One thing sad, I forgot to ask for MC, so here I am back in the office

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> cola,
congrats. ur hb must be real happy. haha. i think our bbs are the same. super active wen scanning. My gynae said mayb my next visit can see gender. heehe.</font>.

Noi, Icyen, Xue,
Thanks, haha ya hubby is quite pleased but then again gynae said cant commit gender at this stage, just a rough guess based on what he has seen.
tho my gut feeling told me it could be a boy hahaha

Xue.
Mine legs open big big ler hehehe..
Actually Meg was also very busy inside, last time during scannign, we caught her banging my womb wor!!

Cola!

Good for you!!
I'm so happy that you can see your baby kicking and turning!
Congrats! You must be too happy and excited to ask for MC. haha

<font face="Comic Sans MS,Tahoma"> cola,
haha... mine is keep kicking upwards(womb). and the hands stretching. haha.. gynae show us the butt. bt nth pointing. so still hv hope to hv a girl. hehe.. even if boy boy oso doesnt matter. Everything turns out fine is the most impt. =)</font>.

Bean hehhe
Yeah indeed too excited cant remember about MC at all haha

Btw, i dun say u are cursing me of having infection lah hahahah.. but i dun hope to get one keke coz last time my hub's fren's wife got UTI and she told me how bad it was to get infections on that area, thats y i put high priority on the hygiene on that area keke

Just to share for some new MTBs, got one fren, her gal got UTI at 3 months old, know how the dr treat the UTI? pump the liquid (medi) to the baby urethra until it is full, to clear the bacteria.. i think they dun want to let such a young baby take antibiotic coz might risk the baby's kidney..
my fren told me it took the whole 45 mins crying baby to be filled up with the liquid.. super pitiful!!!
So next time pls pay 150% of attention when cleaning up your baby!! I make sure my girl is very clean after she pooped, when she was young i use cotton wool with warm water to clean her rather than just using baby wipes.. Now that she is a toddler, just bring her to toilet and spray with water hehehe cleaner mah!

Cola,
Yes indeed its quite uncomfortable to get infections there.
Hope we all don't have it!! I still have to wait another 2 weeks till i'm week 13 to see the gynae! LONG wait.

rc_cola: glad to hear that everything's fine! so good can see BB moving.. ur BB must be very active! i wanna see my bb kicking away also! so excited!

we'll all be able to see BB playing in our womb in a week or two!

thanks bean! I'll go buy yakult later. i got family history of ezcema. my sister and my dad both have..

No confinement lady for me when I delivered my #1. My MIL took 10 days leave to help me cook and I took care of my baby myself. After MIL went back to work, I put the marinated salmon into the oven for lunch, my MIL will cook the dinner from her place and my husband will packet and bring home to me in the evening.

When I told my family that I'm not going to engage confinement lady during my 1st pregnancy, everyone at home objected, citing that not easy to take care of newborn baby without any help. In the end, all went well. BTW, I bought disposable panties so I don't have to trouble my MIL or anyone to wash that for me. The only problem is my MIL nagged at me when I have my herbal bath everyday.

I have a helper staying with my mum now. When I have my #2, she'll come to my place to help me. I will not have confinement lady.

A friend of mine gave birth to 2 girls never had confinement lady too. Her mum cooked for her before going to work and prepared dinner after returning from work.

rc_cola, that such good news! so exciting! can u feel the baby moving ard in ur womb?

m very nervous n excited to see my bb next week!