(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Hi, I am MTB dec...anyone interested in going for the baby's coming talk....i have one seat to let go...the talk is today at 12pm in meritus mandarin. PM me if you are interested. Thanks!

Dear Tan(80lynn),

I guess no one is able to give you good advice here, I think, when you have decided to pen this here, you have already an ans. All you need is supporters, and, I think the best supporters are your family members. Go talk to them.. tell them your thinking and ask for opinions.

Good luck, best wishes.

Talking abt gynae consultation. Mine is usually very fast & waiting time is short.. says 10mins, unless he's engaged with birth. In situation like this, the nurse will usually call to inform beforehand. I think my doc has very good time management.

This time round, mine will not have any package and will base on per consultation charge which is $40 per visit, scaning is per charge and he will not do on every visit (only when required). Even without ultrasound, he's still very accurate as to the size of the bb, by just using measuring tape (from ds experience).

I went to search for my 2 elder kids ultrasound pix & noticed that my boy was actually born on the edd stated. Which means, this doc is really very acurate!!

I just saw my gynae today and saw my baby's heartbeat! its 6 wks 3 days.

1. EDD: 20 May 09
2. Name of Gynae: Dr. LC Foong
3. Delivery Hospital: Gleneagles
4. No of pregnancy: #1
5. Location : Clementi.

Hi MTBs,

Good afternoon. I just saw my gynae in the morning. My baby is 2 cm long at 8.5 weeks and my next appointment will be 3 weeks later. Very happy that my baby is growing well and looking forward to 3 weeks later.

My hubby and I haven't share the news with anyone yet cause we were thinking of sharing after baby stabilise at 3 months, but my gynae says go ahead and share. So we may tell our immediate family first.

Afternoon mummies!

Just brought my gal to the zoo this morning! Super hot and she only managed to see 1/3 of the zoo before she starts to be cranky. Slept in the car the moment she got in! haha :D

JRT & Bean - Hey, my course that is starting next monday is actually on early childhood studies :D Wana do a career switch so went to sign up the course. I will be attached to learning vision/pat schhouse after the course. Any advice for me? is it tough to study cos somemore am preggy now...

Baby_may - I only told my parents that am preggy. Will only tell other ppl after 3 mths later but normally ppl will start asking me cos my clothes are getting tighter and it is quite obvious with the tummy protruding. So weird rite? we are only abt 2 mths and baby also quite small yet can see tummy liao

Joyce - i heard abt your gynae. One of my ex colleague is full of praises for him though she didn't consult him. haha...she went to him for 2nd opinion cos she was quite pissed off with her gynae as he keep asking her to induce the baby but she didn't want as she wans things to take place naturally.

Congrats Poohwei, SK, Cutie & Ah bunny. Had updated your info in the table. Ah bunny - can you give me your details as i realised i hasn't captured your info in the table.

<table border=1><tr><td>Nickname</TD><TD>EDD</TD><TD>Gynae </TD><TD>Hospital</TD><TD>No of pregnancy</TD><TD>Gender of current child</TD><TD>Age</TD><TD>Stay in </TD></TR><TR><TD>Vera</TD><TD>1-May-09</TD><TD>Dr WK Tan</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xue</TD><TD>1-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>14 mths</TD><TD>Boon Keng </TD></TR><TR><TD>Baby_May_09</TD><TD>4-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Lim Teck Chye</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>Bean</TD><TD>6-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Heng Tung Lan </TD><TD>Eastshore</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Tampines </TD></TR><TR><TD>andrina_gina</TD><TD>6-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Cheng JP</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>3</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Toa Payoh </TD></TR><TR><TD>JRTlover</TD><TD>7-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Don Wong</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>daec</TD><TD>7-May-09</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>14mths</TD><TD>East </TD></TR><TR><TD>Piggy_Cow</TD><TD>8-May-09</TD><TD>A/Prof Tay Sun Kuie</TD><TD>SGH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>16mths</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>JEN</TD><TD>9-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>20 mths</TD><TD>Woodlands </TD></TR><TR><TD>Sue</TD><TD>12-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Khi</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>laatzy</TD><TD>14-May-09</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>9 mths</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>adv_sports</TD><TD>16-May-09</TD><TD>Dr SF Loh</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD>WL</TD><TD>16-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Lee CW</TD><TD>Mt A</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M</TD><TD>14 mths</TD><TD>Clementi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyce Yong</TD><TD>16-May-09</TD><TD>Dr Paul Tseng</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>3</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>6, 3 yrs old</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>Cutie</TD><TD>20-May-09</TD><TD>Dr LC Foong</TD><TD>Gleneagles</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Clementi </TD></TR><TR><TD>Tiny_M</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Adrian Woodworth</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Kovan </TD></TR><TR><TD>baby512angel</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Tan Kim Teng</TD><TD>KKH</TD><TD>2</TD><TD></TD><TD>2 yrs old</TD><TD>Jurong </TD></TR><TR><TD>rc_cola</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Ben Neo </TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>13 mths</TD><TD>Delta Ave </TD></TR><TR><TD>liewb</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr Kek Lee Phin</TD><TD>Mt E</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>M </TD><TD>7 mths</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Poohwei</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>Dr LN Sim</TD><TD>TMC</TD><TD>2</TD><TD>F</TD><TD>12 mths</TD><TD>Redhill </TD></TR><TR><TD>SK</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>TBC</TD><TD>1</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>-</TD><TD>Jurong West </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

RC_Cola, your baby girl so cute.

Re: gynae fee

My gynae charge additional $1,500 for normal delivery, additional $2,000 for assisted delivery and additional $2,500 for Caesarean on top of the package price of $1,500 (which excludes supplements and some of the tests).

The fees seems quite expensive compared to some of the MTBs here, but my aunt recommended him after she gave birth and we do not know of any other gynae, so decided to go to him.

Today my gynae prescribe me Neurogain DHA supplement (30 tablets) which cost me $38.52. The Mfg date is March 07 and Exp date is Feb 2010.

During my previous visit (2 weeks ago), my gynae prescribe me OBIMIN film tablet (100 tablets) for $19.26. The Mfg date is Feb 07 and Exp date is Feb 09. I was abit concerned as the Exp date of Feb 09 is only about 5 months away so I ask the gynae about it. But he reassured me, saying that I will finish before the expiry date and anyway, normally when they indicate Feb 09, it can still be consumed 6 months later ie. Aug 09. So I will continue to take the multi vits I bought from my gynae.

Re: clothing &amp; weight gain
My clothing has also become tighter, especially my pants. I need to get some work pants soon, if not, I won't have anything to wear to work soon. I gained 1.7kg within 1 month which is quite alot. Hopefully my weight gain will stabilise, if not, I have to get new clothes every few weeks. Haiz.

Re: Baby sitter
My MIL has offered to help to look after our baby years back, don't know whether it still stand now. We have not let anyone know about my preganacy, so will check with her about babysitting after we let her know.

Re: food
Piggy, it is a good idea to meet for Jap dinner after our 1st tri.

I don't have much appetite, but is always hungry. I manage to have 3 meals (though they don't taste as delicious as they used to be) and lots of snacks in between (that explain my weight gain.

Hi Piggy_Cow,

I would say childcare line requires you to get involved physically and mentally. So during your attachment, it could be physically draining for you tho...ermm..depends on individual lah.

I would say handling daily routine like shower and settling younger kids into the centre will tired you out..haha...Other than that, I think it is ok.
Some students doing attachment need not settle the daily routine care.

I can feel the strain of being pregnant and studying now. Hard to focus during lectures for the past few weeks coz I am always sleepy. Now still got to chiong assignment deadlines and tests....ZzzzzzZzzz.. Just got to hold on! I know I can do it.

I think at this point of time,positive thinking is very impt!

Hi everyone! Hope that everyone's enjoying their weekend!

I went for my checkup yesterday! Can see sac (waterbag?) and bb and bb's heartbeat. It measures 0.61cm at the moment and doc said everything normal. He said that my delivery date should be early May but never give details. Also did protein and sugar test and everything normal.

Regarding my package, it includes the scan and the scan photos. My gynae gave me a copy of my scan in an envelope. The things not included are test for down syndrome, detailed scan at 20 weeks, pills for abnormal situations (eg. high blood pressure and hormones pills). Quite comprehensive. Delivery charges is $850 for normal delivery without epi. The rest i can't remember.

Seems like a lot of teochew mummies here! I'm teochew too! And i like jap food too!

Congrats to all the new mummies!

Fwah...cant agree more that there are seriously too many Teochew mummies in this thread. Me too.

Piggy_cow > my EDD is 19th May. Missed that out.

Still in the midst of looking for a gyne..prefers to be delivered at MT A but there's plenty of gyne at TMC. Can mummies give me some suggestions?

My request -
- delivers at Mt A
- gt pte clinic in the west, ok if no night clinic
- charges are reasonable (bonus if there's really one..hehe)

Checked my bb ytd too. Measuring at 6mm at 6 weeks.

Tiny M > How big are you now? Early 1st trimester?

Hi Piggy_Cow,
thanks for helping to update. my details as below:
EDD: 9 May 09
Gynae: Dr Henry Cheng
Hospital: Mt A
# of Pregnancy: 3
Gender of Current child: M

Hi Joyce Yong, my consultation usually range from 10-15 min, but waiting time is at least 1 hr. even though bked appt, on wkday afternoon.

Now i aso feel like eating titbits like potato chips. Just bought chickadee and prawn crackers today :p

Rgding tummy, i tink mine is super obvious. partly cos after my #2, still got a bit leftover. Now somemore tummy always feel bloated after a meal.+ when carrying my #2, tend to arch forward my tummy..wah seh..so paiseh. i tink i look like 4 mths.

For maternity clothes, previously i used to shop at Spring Maternity cos their range quite affordable and stylish. at least dun look like those aunty looking type. used to frequent tat shop at Suntec. AMK hub has one too.

I have the following items for sales.

1) Bumbo seat @ $35. Very good condition in box. Used less than 10X. Color: Aqua.

2) Hanging mobile for baby cot @ $8.

Self collect at Serangoon Station or North East line. North West line from Outram to Clementi can be arranged.

Interested buyers, pls text 96510417. Thanks.

1643960.jpg

Hi SK, if calculate from my LMP, i'm in my 7th week but gynae said bb looks like 5-6weeks (which i think he based on conception). my bb almost same size as urs at the moment.
my gynae charges quite reasonably ($588.50 including GST) for all the checkups and he has a clinic in CCK. He delivers at all private hospitals but mostly at TMC. U can check up on the Dr. Adrian Woodworth thread.

Ah bunny, i feel like eating titbits too! but i try to limit myself to healthier nuts with lower salt content.

Ladies, my next appointment is 2 weeks later.. so excited!

My next appt on 21st October! I am so excited too...

I was a junk food lover before preggy lor... Now my tummy like 4 months preggy when I am only 8 weeks...Cham liao...
I must not gain too much weight man...

Ya.. Think nuts will be a better choice hor...

Tiny M - Think our bb's grwoth bit slow.....but steady. Hehe. For mine, if calculate by LMP. it's 9th week. And it's only 6th. Dr Adrian's charges is based when u visited his pte clinic at TMC or CCK? I passed by TMC ytd when I was heading home after KKH's visit, then realised it looks rather small from outside and carpark also small. Not sure if it's convenient to go there for delivery not.

hi MTBs,
I have just tested positive.. any of you got rec for gynae in west side?me considering btw Dr Adrian Woodworth (CCK) or Dr Kee WH (JP) coz I stay in jurong
my hubby is kan chiong and wants me to see gynae next week.. is it too soon coz I'm only at DPO12 today?

oh dear oh dear.... so much posts to read!!!

thanks for the suggestion piggy_cow! will really like to meet up with all of you to catch up face to face... it'll be so much easier and more bonding can be done!! YEAH!! BAND OF MUMMYHOOD!!

wrgt maternity clothes:
u ladies can try renting clothes from MAternity Exchange. I've been renting from my 1st pregnancy and really enjoy it cos its cheaper and the clothes are nice. Whenever i have a special occasion to attend, I rent new clothes from them.

wrgt maternity package:
my gynae charges 600 for normal and 1200 for C-section. I'm actually on package already and every visit to the gynae will include a detailed 3d scan and doppler heartbeat. for my past 2 deliveries, total is not more than 2.5k after c section.

hope to really meet up with all of you soon!

piggy_cow:

it will be quite difficult to study and be pregnant at the same time as well as when you are attached for practicum. however, nothing is impossible. the 1st thing you should tell your mentor when u go for practicum is how long u are into your pregnancy and how you wish to learn and practise as much as possible in the meantime. assure her that you are giving your best shot and that should there be any feedback, it will be gd to discuss with you first before writing it down in your report. Assure her also that cos you are already a mummy, you will treat the students well with much responsibility.

just my 2 cents worth cos I'm also a teacher and I do meet and train many NIE cadet teachers. There was one who really impressed me cos it was near her due date but she insisted on teaching for at least 2 days for me to grade her. Sincerity and responsibility is the most important!

Yeah andrina_gina,the school holidays is coming soon. Think by Dec all of us will pass our 1st trimester!

andrina_gina,

We are in the same line dear....

JRT - thanks for your advice. I too hope that everything will go smoothly..

andrina_gina - will definitely discuss with my mentor cos by the time i do my practicum, i shd be 7-8mths liao and i also do not want my pregnancy to affect my performance. actually when i first told the sch that i discovered that i was preggy, they say they need to discuss whether to take me or not cos they don't want me to delay the progress of the class but i assured them that my 1st pregnancy was quite smooth so this shd be fine. they called me back 1 week before to ask me to attend but can hear they don't really sound enthusiastic abt it :D guess i am the first preggy to attend this course. must really prove myself man!

Hi Ladies!

Wow so many new entries...2days didn't log in. It's great to hear that we hv more MTBs joining us. The more the merrier!

Went for my checkup last Fri to see how's the baby doin. Now at 7wks &amp; 6days and I'm glad that I cld see &amp; hear baby's heartbeat! Next appt. will be on the 31st of Oct and will be doin an Oscar test, will be abt 11-12weeks then. Anyone here did it before? I hope test results will come out good.

I too am having white discharge and gynae said it's normal. So no worries yea.

For delivery charges/packages I've not checked thoroughly but based on comparison TMC is 2nd least expensive pte hosp compared to the others. Will check during my next visit.

Hi SK and Tiny M,

I guess its not that our baby are growing slowly, but rather we ovulated late. According to LMP, i should be 8 weeks but i am only 6 weeks now. So no worries.

Re: Tiredness
I am SUPER tired now, especially when i have to run after my #1 who is hyper active. You can hardly find her sitting down. Plus she puts everything in her mouth.

Re:Japanese Food
I love Jap food too, but Jap food w/o sashimi...Hmmm..10 more months of tolerance..

Re: Teacher
I am a teacher too. Luckily, its the final stretch for my students already.

Morning ladies! Everyone enjoyed your weekend!

My goodness! Seems like we have lots of similarities here! I'm not a teacher but my hubby is! He's kinda worried now cos my delivery date is kinda during exams which is busy period but I'm glad that at least for confinement, he'll be home cos of June hols. I told him that his principal better let him off during my delivery or else I'll write letter to MOE, MCYS and MOM to complain! His school is very inflexible..

chidori: I'm seeing Dr. Adrian Woodworth now. I think it's better that u see the gynae in 6-7th week cos then u can see the bb and the heartbeat. I went to see very early (like 5th week) and can't see anything except thick uterus lining. But if u're worried, u can go see the gynae first. I hv no regrets seeing him early cos (1) This is my #1 and I have many things to clarify with him and (2) I took the package cos an early visit is no extra cost to me. U can don't visit the gynae so early, just rem to continue taking folic acid cos that will be what the gynae will prescribe to you anyway.

Looks like we have a lot of teachers over here

WEll, today is my 1st day in sch but class only starting at 12noon so still at home now. Guess today will only be orientation for us. guess i can only log in every nite liao since i wont get internet access in sch. tok to u all tonite.

Have a great week ahead! Cheers!

chidori,

You may call the clinic for appt, an experience nurse will tell you when is the best time to consult doc. If too soon, can't see anything also.

Hello Everyone,

I'm on leave for 2 days..'cos today's my b'day!! Kids went to Sentosa with school in the morning, will bring them for movie in the afternoon.

I have been eating a lot. Just thought: is it alright? I had slimming session before conceive and thought a sudden increase in appetite might be harmful to my body. Anyone has similar thought?

HI Mommies

so much posting..

WL - i'm not sure how many mum handle them, think my mum ve a way with kids cos they just dun misbehave ard her...

i'm a jap lover too n mommies who thiking to BF, no raw food during BF too... when BF we must take care on wat we eats cos bb will get them thru BM.

Morning mummies!!
Chidori... were you the one in the TTC thread??
Congrats!!!!!

today i will be seeing my gynae in the lunch time.. i am 8.5 wks now.. hopefully can hear heartbeat liao!!!!

Wow... We have quite a no of teachers here hur.
So nice!!!

I went to shop for maternity pants yesterday... All so ex man...
The lady actually recommend that I buy when I am 3 to 4 months will be a better gauge.. Guess now I got to make do with my limited capris,jeans and leggings liao lor.

Hi Jen,

The thing is.. with No1, I put on only 12kg, bb weight 2.5kg, then, No2, I tried very hard to eat more, ended putting a total of 18kg, bb weight 2.8kg. Now, No3...should be almost same as no2? For both post birth, I slimmed down to my pre-pregnancy weight..

Guess, I should resume to my full portion of food rather than half portion during slimming!

Andrina gina,

I went to Maternity Exchange on Thursday.. the price is Extremely high.. even on individual rental basis.. thou there are few pieces I like.. I did not sign up for the package.. see how in few months time.

I had ordered a few bottoms from Old Navy through a friend, hope they arrive in 3 wks time.. I can now still bearly fit to those low waist pants or skirt!

SK (oj57) - my gynae has a clinic in TMC, and night clinic on Wed in Woodlands, he delivers both in Mt A and TMC.

I like Mt A, prior, experience with No2. I had a birth plan, delivered him in a different way, Assistant Director came by while I birth, helped with photo-taking. The nurse are patient with breastfeeding, won't subsititute with water unlike some commercial hospital. I can have the bb most of the time.
However, since, I wanted to do lagation after No3 this time, I have no choice but to have this one deliver in TMC.

HTHs.

Good morning ladies.

Happy Birthday Joyce!

Re: maternity pants
JRT, i think the maternity pants are getting more and more expensive here. I got my pants online from old navy. But i usually look for those on sales one..heheh

Re: EDD Details
Went to see my gynae for the 2nd time last sat and foetus is growing well, 1.5cm @ 8 wks, but gynae can see slight bruise on the sac, which explain the brownish discharge.So I'm on duphaston for another 3 weeks before going back to do the OSCAR.
Hope everything is ok.

Piggy_cow, here's my details:

1. EDD: 10 May 09
2. Name of Gynae: Dr. TC Chang
3. Delivery Hospital: TMC
4. No of pregnancy: #2
5. # 1 is a Gal, 15 mths +
6. Location : AMK.

Have been unwell this weekend.. Finally feeling slightly better. I think I can't catch up with the post already! So fast! hahaha sorry if I missed any replis.

Going for my 2nd gynae visit this thurs! So exciting!!
Want to see how has my little one grown!

good morning ladies!

congrads to all new MTBs!

re: maternity clothes
went maternity clothes shopping this weekend and bought pants &amp; tops from kiddy palace and spring maternity... phew, feels better with loose fitting clothes!

re: MS
to curb MS, i have been snacking on bread every 2 hours before meal... will check my weight every week -- hope i dun "balloon" too fast!!

re: confinement lady
we r thinkg abt getting a confinement lady -- coz my mum n MIL unable to do it. any mums here tried the day-time confinement lady?

Adv_sports, u thinking abt day-time, then night time u going to handle the baby on ur own? i must say it's possible but not very easy for 1st timer..coz u'd be very tired to wake up every hour or so..

adv_sports,

I went to spring maternity too but the gal told me my hips might expand further when I am in my 3rd/4th month so dare not buy... You buy one size bigger or buy one that fits yr size?

2nd time MTBs,

Will my hips still grow in the later months? What is the time u would see a substantial weight gain? I am worried about my weight also coz I am very petite and hope I dun "balloon" into a hippo!

joyce - regarding the bella band, can use a tube clothing.. works the same way.

i bought e bella band during my 1st pregn then someone told me can use a tube clothing (way cheaper too) *sob* *sob*

Also i suddenly ve an idea.. we can share shipping charges n buy online for our maternity clothing.. anyone interested?

joyce - u so luckily to get back to your pre-pregn weight...

i put on 22kg for my 1st n i left abt 3 more kg to go b4 reaching my pre-pregn weight but i went japan n bing on e food (endup with 2kg more) then i got preg, *sob**sob* so how this preg dun reach more than 20kg, if not i will need to seek external help liao..

during my 1st preg, told hubby i wan 10K after birth (for sliming centre) but later decided to take 10K when factory 'close'... told him i die die will take dat 10K, told him he can't 'run' off from his promise :p

re: Maternity online

Actually to share the shipping charges is a good idea but it'd be better if someone has the discount card for them in our thread. I joined the sprees in the sprees section coz some of the organisers have like 10-20% discounts which saves more money(i think prob due to their frequent purchases so they got the special discounts)

re : confinement lady
915, erhmmm, i not used to have stranger stay with us leh... so thot can look after bb ourselves at night (hubby and i do shift work LOL)... u hv tried both day and stay-in confinement lady?

re: maternity clothes
JRTLover, i bought those adjustable elastic pants from kiddy palace -- any hip size can wear
for the tops, i bought a size bigger coz the lady @ spring maternity says my bust will grow... another 2 tops from kiddy palace r elastic strapless top and loose fitting top.

re: prenatal yoga
any recommendation for prenatal yoga? can start from now(m coming to 8 wks)?

adv_sportsm so far i only tried stay-in, it was a nightmare actually. so i did think abt doing w/o a CL this time but hubby says better to have one coz at nite really not easy.

Re: Prenatal Yoga
I did my prenatal yoga previously at this place called Whatever. I paid $180 for 10 lessons and did it til 3 days before i gave birth. I must say it's really made me feel good
however i think u can only start yoga from week 14 onwards.