(2009/05) May 2009 MTBs

Gd Morning,

Today I also zomby.. Hui Xin woke at 1am & refused to fall back to sleep.. keep crawling/gliding on my bed, so I have to watch her...zz! Despite tt, she woke at 7.45am this morning.. sign!

When I bid goodbye to her b4 coming to work, she thot I want to bring her along.. open her hands so wide, till she knows I'm carrying her, she crys so loud!

Last evening, mil shows me that she is able to understand 'da da': 'beat beat' and she use her hand to beat her laps. Managed to video'd it & post in fb.

Baby's Development:
Hui Xin is able to be on four & trying to push herself back to try to sit up! She also trying to crawl on four, tho she is able to glide or move her body forward to her desire intention to grab the toys/things in her view!

bean, m taking childcare leave on Nov 30 as IFC is closed...
think our timing can matched
yuan2 starts her feed ard 10.30am -- will give her FM 120ml, follows by cereal + veg/fruit puree + EBM 60ml... this will last her till 4.30pm

rc, m waiting for yuan2 to call papa n mama -- heard it is usually papa first... y like that? mummy do more hard work leh *haha* did kea called papa or mama first?

i hv a wedding dinner -- will be bringing yuan2 there... dunno whether i can stay till end of the dinner coz her usual bedtime is 8.30pm -- that's when the dinner will start...

re: play yard vs haenim big block
m thinking of getting a play yard to confine yuan2 coz she is gliding all over the place -- v distracting when i do housework... need to check on her every now and then...

shers, what's the material of big block? is it soft or hard? do u hv play yard as well? which do u think is better?

Adv
Haha.. ppl said it is usually papa first Grrr!!! My girl also called papa first..
Problem is PAPA never did any nite feeds for both kids, but they are still calling papa first!!! So unfair!

Jling
Every kid is different, so your kid might skip some milestones and proceed to another one.. I guess it is pretty normal.

My parenting style is relax and let it go with the flow, dun really bother about the milestone (sooner or later they will learn those). I will just provide the environment for them to explore.. My boy has been on floor (on bumper mat) since about 3 mths old, and from then on, he learns the flipping, rolling, crawling, or whatever there..

For feeding also same, I don’t force feed, just feed him the amount which I think is about right for him.. and if he refuses to eat more, means he is full, so I will just stop (same as bean, I shall continue nagging about wasting of food to him hehe)

I am not really particular if he puts jie jie’s toys in the mouth etc, I have never sterilized all the toys (for my girl and boy), just make sure that the play area is clean.. so far so good.. both kids are growing up well and developing at the rate which they are comfortable with..

Adv

Yr girl wouldn’t be able to play with the big block til she is much older.. it’s like lego – giant size..

As for playyard, I would say, if your girl is okay to be left alone while u are doing housework, then it might worth to buy.
If she cries the minute she doesn’t see u, with playyard it could be even worse coz she will also cry when left alone.

re: sleeping pattern
last night my hubby noticed that my gal will flip to tummy on the bed during her sleep, for safety reason he put her back to yaolan.
what should we do in order to let her sleep safely?
i worried that her face might face down while sleeping.

Twinkle

At this stage if they sleep on tummy they can auto adjust the face so that they can breathe.. no need to worry.

For my boy, he does the same things too, no need to worry. Make sure u dun have any heavy things on the cot that will suffocate yr baby ie. Big heavy pillow, thick blankets, etc.. My boy’s cot has got nothing besides a small pillow (unused/sometimes used to put beside his armpit) and a white cloth used as pillow.

good morning mummies,
anyone of you staying the west and using Friso 2? i've ordered from Friso's home delivery - 6 tins (900g) for $155, dat means $25.80 per tin. if anyone of you want to share, do pm me.

twinkle - at this stage, their neck muscles are stronger so no worries abt them sleeping face down. in fact, when they sleep on the tummy, they sleep more soundly.

good morning mummies !

my boy did his first flip from back to tummy last night 6 months 4 days ! i was playing ball with him and then he just suddenly flip and landed on his tummy his head looking ard...so amusing...and the rest of the night he had been flipping even with his eyes closed...i never get to have much sleep also...cos he cant flip from tummy to back yet..i must always help him to adjust his arms so he can rest on his back..

jling, at first i was very worried tat my boy got no sign of flipping...most babies here can flip at 4-5mths...i check with my pd, she say is perfectly normal if he pass all the other motor skill test...she even mentioned tat some babies dont flip at all but they can sit up first

Well done! Jaeden!
When they start flipping,the other milestone will come and fall into place. Before u know it,he is crawling and walking liao!

Feb_mum > I got a lobang for Friso 2 at $22 nett but min order is 6tins. She dun drive so will need to meet her at MRT at a pre-arranged timing.

Mummies, if keen let me know. Can Pm me too.

I be ordering maybe next month cos still have some tins of friso 2 now. Can share with you the contact if interested.

jamie,
basically most jar food is quite nice.. mix or eat alone.. but for those slight sour jar, u shld mix in the cereal.

adv_sports,
i have the panels as well.. but i dont use it already because need a bigger space and to me, no use. at my mum's place, i will let Shermay play on the bumper mat with Shermin or helper to keep a lookout..

for big blocks, not recommended for u to keep yuanx2 in.. will be more suitable when they r 18mths and older.. more to their 'house'..

the material is pvc type.. like mega lego set..

porky,
congrats!! dont be too stress on whether Jaeden can flip earlier ornot.. just let him go with his flow.. only lately Shermay can flip to and fro.. but she stills enjoys play with her toes! hahhaa.. of course licking and sucking..

shers, ya..at first very worried..but now i am not..hahaha..at last jaeden flipped at 6mths..

very cute hor when they play and twist their toes

jling,
my contact for enfa currently is oos.. u can contact ak. think she orders from another contact.. quite cheap.. $33 per tin.. see whether can share ornot..

porky - congrats! your turn to do rescue mission liao. i had to help flip rebecca flip back initially. now, she very zai with back and forth liao and playing with her toes too.

porky,
hahhaa.. i dont get worried la.. because they will know it sooner or later.. its ok de.. in fact, i'm praying hard that Shermay will walk much later and tooth to come out much later!! walk fast - tough life
tooth fast - next time will drop earlier, teeth not nice..

whahhaaa..

yesyes.. i like to see Shermay holding on both feet and play.. hehhehee.. and can 'yi zi ma' very well..

sk - dat's very cheap. i wan i wan. then i shd cancel my order with friso liao, ;p any mummy wan to share the $22/tin friso with me?

feb_mum, ya i resuce and protect him the whole night..hehe

shers, u ah..very funny leh...tooth fast will drop earlier meh ? hahaha..anyway jaeden is consider quite slow in his milestones..i hope he dont walk and grow his bugs bunny so fast too !

oki, thanks... will discuss with hubby n let u know

twinkle, last week i found yuan2 flipped n sleeping face down when i woke up to go toilet in the middle of the night.... so scared of SIDS and hubby/me sleep in her room... this week, she will turn her face sideway, so we let her sleep alone

porky, clap clap to jaeden
he will flip at every chance now! erhmm, that means u will hv interrupted sleep to be on rescue mission :D

shers & rc, thanks... think i kiv the big block till later... maybe i rent the playyard and see whether she is ok to be confined...

my place very baby unfriendly -- furiture with sharp edge and a big piece of mirror... dun intend to let her sit in walker as she will bang n hurt herself... now, she always glide out of the bumpermat... hubby suggest give her a helmet *haha*

feb_mum, gd that rebecca is abt to flip n unflip... yuan2 dunno how to unflip yet... now she is doing "push up" every morning -- use her hands to push with bum up... think she is training to hv 6p like daddy *haha* juz took a video of her "exercising" this morning

Porky: Good job Jaeden! But now more work for u! Will be v difficult to change diapers! Hahah..

Re: BB flipping in sleep
I think once bb has good neck support it's ok for them to flip when sleeping. Once i saw my girl sleeping with her face down on the mattress and in her sleep, she'll lift up her head briefly every few 10 seconds or so (she's still sleeping!). I see her so xin ku helped her flip back. Now my girl moves a lot in her sleep. she can move 180degrees, sleep on her side, on her tummy and move from one end to another end. as long as she dun "eh eh eh" i let her be cos I think she's just finding a more comfortable place to sleep and i dun wanna disturb her. But like adv_sports, i very scared of SIDS so i will wake up at least once in the night to check on her.

Shers: I never heard that tooth come out earlier teeth will not be nice before leh! I thot too much calcium then tooth will come out earlier. I dun want my girl to teeth too soon, scared she bites!

tiny_m,
hahhaa... this is my theory la.. whahhaa.. i tot the later the teeth come out, will change teeth later.. then will be nice nice when adult stage.. whahhaa..
more calcium then teeth will come out earlier? not true for Shermin le.. when i was preggie with Shermin, i drank at least 2 cup of milk daily with cheese and bread for bf throughout preggie and bfg stage.. ended she only had her half tooth during her 1st bday! but i'm glad that her teeth come out later because she has nice row of teeth. and no sign of molar teeth

Really ah? Then i must pray hard that my girl's teeth come out slowly..

I thot calcium plays a part. My cousin's colleague's baby was born with 2 teeth! The PD said gotta extract out cos not good. My cousin and I thought must be over-calcium-ed. hahah..

bean,
pantang meh? whahhaa... pple tell me already and i cant do opposite right? sikali anything happen, i will blame myself lor.. i rather follow suit.. esp those things my mil and my mama say 1.. confirm got to follow! i'm a good daughter and i'm still trying to be a good daughter in law.. whahhaa

i have 2 daughters and they will become other pple's daughters in law.. i must think far far!

adv sports, tiny m, i read tt the risk of SIDS llowers significantly once they hit/pass 4 mths. Hailey slps tummy down at nite. she's been doing tt since she was 1.5mths old. Not a problem cuz she will lift her head up and "eh eh eh" to wake me up as well. throughout the nite she will also turn her head side to side to change position. I tried putting her to slp on her back before bt she still startles herself awake and she'll jus flip to slp on her tummy. so i dun bother anymore. even when she has her pacifier, she'll move n rub her face or smt, then the pacifier will fall out and her hand will jus happen to sweep it away so i'm nt very worried. the only thing i do is nt surround her stuff toys or too much bedding in case they fall onto her face she can't move herself away frm them quick enough.

adv sport: yes i heard someone say tt babies dunno when they are full so we jus agar agar stop when it seems too much. bt i dun really believe lei.. cuz when they drink milk they also knw hw to stop ma..

porky: congrats!! u'll be having alot of fun changing his diaper now!! =D

re' puree in cereal
i gave hailey her cereal ytd, i think she bored of the taste cuz she fussy aft awhile. then i gave her milk and she finished! at nite i scraped an apple and gave her, she readily slurped it up! i reckon she bored of the cereal taste so gonna try mixing the puree/juice in.. =D do u guys mix the juice AND puree in to the cereal or u still put ebm/fm in then top up with juice?

thanks mummies !

ytd i already had a hard time changing his diaper...he just cant stop flipping !!! and daddy is there laughing away when he saw his little boy flipping non-stop...

like some of u here, i heard of SIDS and also very scare of it...when i heard jaeden's ankle chain sound, i will be awake and check on him even tho he just slept beside me...actually wear ankle chain is a good thing also...at least i knw he will kick his legs when in danger..

anyone knw the wan hao buffet isit still available ?

jamie,
yes.. the risk of SIDS reduces once over 4mths..
we eat rice everyday also bored lor.. whahhaa.. so change menu for Hailey.. hahhaa
i still include bm into cereal together with baby jar.. for juice, i didnt add in coz i feed after her cereal time.

porky, ur rite! hb's coll told me her girl nearly climbed out of the cot once nite when everyone was slping! she heard the ankle chain sounds so she woke and was shocked to c half the girl's body out of the cot. my mom told me tt when i was young i also decided to learn hw to stand inthe mid of the nite! haha! and the cot was put at the higher level! so imagine her shock!

shers: so the bm is to mix the cereal into a puree cuz the baby jar nt enuf liquid to soften it rite? so juice u will feed btw milk feeds? or rite aft the cereal feed? everyday la u gif? btw, the barley cereal i wanna get frm u! hw ah? do u still gif brown rice cereal or change other types liao?

re: sleeping pattern..

my boy also will flip to his tummy at night when sleeping... he even reject his pacificer when sleeping only at night.. when i flip him back lying on his back, he will wake up n cry..
if i let him sleep with us on the bed, he will 'kiao ka' put either his hand or leg on our chest or leg..

jamie, thats scary ! i hope my jaeden is not one tat will learn to crawl or climb in the night...alto he did his first flip at night..hahaha

anyway i let him put on ankle chain since 1st month...so he wont be scare of the sound when he heard himself kicking at night...he will just kick and kick like bochap...disturb everyone in the hse accept himself...

sound like so fun tat u scrap apple for hailey..i am gg to do that tmr ! hehehe

Healthy Times
May I ask how much is the discount if we order in bulk and what is the minimum order?

Is retail price more ex than website?

Just now bot Mixed Grains cereal at Carrefour at $6.65 (if got Everyday Card, still get 5% disc) webby priced at $6.90 wor??

My boy is officially 6th mth today, tried giving him cereal today, he only take about 2 potion of lesser then a teaspoon and he start pushing my spoon away and keep crying for BM. So no choice got to latch him, Is it too little or is it the nor? I will try again tml.

jamie,
i still add bm/fm in the cereal though i add puree le.. i tot having some milk inside is good also.. u try out the consistency 1st..
i alterate with oatmeal, brown rice, barley and fruit cereal.
i order fresh barley for u le.. coz my barley is 1 batch earlier and the expiry date is earlier.. i dont know whether u mind ornot.. didnt pass yr cereal to adv_sports..
i think mikojade orders barley also.. i check with her whether she minds passing u 1st?

jamie, haha, think yuan2 scared mummy dun give food -- so usually will ask for more, juz in case :p

tiny_m, ur girl so cute while sleeping
yuan2 moves alot, too... she likes to move to the small opening where the full length bumper has a gap for wind to go it -- from there she can look out of the window for scenery *haha* anyway, she is always ina different position when we check on her

Shers,
When you give the HT cereal to Shermay, do you follow the 3 days rule for each type before you start to alternate them? I intend to give the Brown rice 1st, but, scared too heaty.. so I put back the idea & get Earth's Best Rice Cereal instead!

jamie,
i can send to u at jurong east. convenient for u?
i placed order for u already le.. and since mikojade is not in a rush to collect her stuff, she is ok to let u have it 1st.. yr batch is new de.. dont worry! same batch as adv_sports