(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Rose Ling: haha..coconut nt my fav..BUT my body heat makes me wana drink coconut..lolx...actually tt time when i jus preg i drnk quite alot of coconut leh=X.. i think its up to one when u wana start drinkin as long as don over la.. don everyday drink..haha.. once awhile i think ok de bah.. Ang moh they all pregnant also no haf those food restrict list..haha..

KP! so who staying in condo tt we can make full use of e facilities? haha..=P

Marie Kwek: must wait for KP lo...she say condo gt free parkin mah.. i anythin one..cuz i nt driving..haha..actually my hse can leh.. but cuz gt elders at hm abit funny..lolx..

The nursing bras, I got them in both wired n non-wired.

I just got a whole lot of hand me-downs. Any idea wat type of bath towels to get for baby? i was intending to get the Ikea white towels, cheap n easy to dry, so can change more regularly. For milk storage, I got my sister's hand me downs she used Avent bottles. cos it's bigger and reusable(screw types).

me lor, me staying at Depot road but dunno if convenient for u gals to come lah! haha...u all drive? then can have free parking! heheh...so who can play during office hours?? plsy small small hor...

Aiya,too bad I missed my chance to drink coconut at 5th month :p
Never mind,not too late to start now ,hee hee
Anyway,I never know how to calculate how many months I'm in.Ang moh says 9 months of pregnancy,chinese say 10 months. All I know is i'm 32 weeks.I dunno whether to divide 32 by 4 or by 5 to get the no of months :p
Think I will start drinking maybe once every 2 weeks,then change to once a week from 36 weeks onwards

i'm at week 28 and been drinking coconut water like once a week...
been told its okie leh.. if fact very nutritious for baby cos its full of nutrients, esp in young coconuts with less coconut flesh..
probably will up my intake .. cos its sooo good...
thinks i will go look for it during lunch!!
happy lunchtime mummies..

Marie: Bath towels, i buy from babymallonline..haha..so cheap n cute plus i think material shld get better one..since its for our precious one..

KP: Depot road is at whr ah? i went dere b4 but forgot lo (2 yrs bck man) went dere to play MJ also..lol..i don drive leh..but i m okay one with e place..haha..i can play working Hours..

Rose Ling: Actually pregnancy is 40 weeks, but sumtimes ppl say 9 mths cuz e 1st mth is like nobody know de..as for coconut last time i start drinking at ard 35mths..thrice a week..haha..

i was also considering the Britax Royale and its indeed very luxurious velvety feeling and can be used for 0-4yrs. but we did not get it after considering some parts cannot be removed for washing and also that from friends we found out that after 2yr old or so most kids refuse to sit in the seats. maybe they want to sit with the adults or so? but its good if you're planning more children then it can be used continously for the infants and young toddlers in the family. i think from baby hypermart they also sell the britax at $440+ but i think at robinsons city hall we saw it was $499 but with 15% become $424.15 and members get 5% rebate using Robinson credit card so becomes $402.95. think that's the cheapest britax royale pricing alr

we gotten the Peg Perego Pliko P3 stroller and the car seat that can be attached to it as a travel system from hypermart. that seat also can be used to carry the baby from the car to whichever destination without having to wake him/her up cos its like a basket, then can be used as a "rocking chair" so can leave the car seat on the floor when going to friend/relative house or checkups we thought. the total damage was $940 after some 15% discount i think and rounding down the cents. then we also asked can we can a free fan and the nice saleslady lulu agreed. hehe so gotten the $7.90 baby fan with lights free.

Bonbon, my fren gave birth recently and she said better prepare 5 nursing bras as within the same day may stain. I bought from spring maternity and support not too bad. For home use, i bought from Toa Payoh - Pretty International and was around $11.90.

What are the clips that pple are talking abt if use Playtex milk storage bags which do not have zip? I m delivering at GlenE and at the hospital visit, the woman does not know what is inside the welcome package so i suspect prob of getting glass bottles to store the milk also very low.

The peg perego stroller/car seat sounds like a good choice. esp for short car trips,don't have to wake baby up to transfer to stroller.I would have opted for this choice if I didn't get a free combi stroller from my friend!

cyan, i got some old maternity bras from my #1, must dig out and wash dunno still can wear anot. Actually I also didnt wear for long, then i switched to normal non-wired ones like you cos I was expressing to feed, so nursing bras serve no purpose le. My next appt is this coming sat.

For this pregnancy, I started wearing non-wired bras since duno how long ago, the wires made it really very uncomfy, btw i'm starting to feel the "engorgement" pain recently, aiyo cant imagine when the real thing sets in! anyone's feeling it too?

Any mummies know if all standard sized bottles can fit onto the Medela pumps?

I'm wondering if any of you have facebook accounts.I thought it will be interesting to be able to put a face to a name

Add me if you like : [email protected]
But please remember to tell me your user name and that you're from this forum as I don't usually add strangers as friends

Rose,

Thanks for the info on BB seat.

As for coconut drinks for what i know is start drinking 1 mth (atleast once a wk) before due date.. But i guess its should be fine if we just drink occassionally ba. maybe can follow Marie's instruction. I ever heard pple saying that it helps in smoother delivery, but not sure how true lo.

OW mummy,

if u know of anywhere selling big big size do let me know..i'm hunting for one too.
I did find something from JB which the material is quite stretchy, but i find the support is poor, size also not really right for me.

Here's my addie for facebook. like Roseling request. Do leave ur nick from forum so i can relate. :p

I do agree that the non-wired bras are so much more comfy. :p

I'm getting a hand-me down Inglesina stroller. so cant shop for one. haiz.

Most bottles like NUK/Tollyjoy can fit Medela pumps.

Anyone of u planning to take leave before your due date? Any idea whether gynae will be willing to give us atleast 2 wks mc before our due date? My fren did ask from her gynae, but her gynae said she is fit & steady and didnt give her any mc.. aiyo..

My hubby asked me to take a wk before my edd. but i tot it's like quite wasted lor. I'd rather spend more time with my little darling than resting before delivery.

Pink Piglet: Yah, alot of mummies have been discussing about drink coconut juice during the late 3rd trimester. My friends who are already Mamas and Papas also suggested that. Around 36 weeks or 37 weeks onwards can start drinking the green huge coconut. Helps in preventing jaundice and when baby come out, it's more clean (you know with the blood and mucus and those kind of stuff).

Marie Kwek: I attended the class at Mt A leh, not the one with Mrs Wong ;) My only chance of seeing you is when we visit Dr Adrian Woodworth at Sengkang haha

am so sleepy n there is work to do...but am pretending tat there is nothing to do... is it just me or do u all feel tat when it comes to work, we are getting slow or just too tired to be bothered abt it?

I also took the coconut during my #1 at late 3rd tri, he really came out very clean, very minimal red and sticky on the head, the rest of the body was totally clean. So this time I'm going to try it again!

For me, I really feeling more and more tired recently and i'm staying at the end of west and work at the end of East.. travelling takes 1.5hrs for 1 way.. i dont think i can take it lor when i'm almost due.

So i m hoping my gynae can give mc. MC still ok ba not taking advance Maternity leave.

Jamgal,

wah if thats the case we should all be able to start now. i was abit worried to start early cos i scared it may be too cooling.

wah Pink Piglet so far...but then i also almost the same... thank god i get a ride in the morning but still have to deal with the crowd when going home..at tat time can only pray for a seat...

am also hoping tat gynea will give me MC closer to EDD. i dont think i'll have energy to work in April...

I'll see my own status when it comes to end march. if it's really draining me then i will try to ask doc for MC maybe 1 wk. Dr Adrian is very generous with MCs. :p

Nursing bra: i tink i saw some larger sized nursing bras at Marks and Spencers. The material feels good but a bit pricey.
I'm quite hesitant to buy too many nursing bra now cuz' i don't know if the size is suitable after 2 mths. Sekali buy too many, end up cannot wear. :p I think triumph having buy 3 get 1 free promotion now and that includes the nursing bras so can check that out. (tink works out to be about 26 bucks per bra)

Milkbags: I feel Lansinoh will be better because it comes with a ziplock and can stand on its own when filled. Whereas for playtex, have to get something to tie up the bag after filling it.

Car seat: Anybody knows if Britax will be easier to install in the car compared to Maxi Cosi Dori? We went to test out the Maxi Cosi Dori at Baby Ave yesterday. Although it looks like a good set, seems like the guy took a lot of energy trying to loop the seatbelt thru' the car seat.

<font color="0000ff">I feeling more lergethic nowadays..
Cant walk long distance. although i don't have a big stomach. but just feel tired and lazy.</font>

Tis time round I am very happy. So far I only put on 8-9kg... compare the last time pregnancy....

Almost 1 more month to go.. Counting dw 54321 to our due date.... Scare but excited

re: nursing bra

i'd recommend non-wired ones too, to prevent clogged ducts. But i bought a couple of wired ones later bcos the non-wired ones i had were too auntie to wear outside.. :p can't really advise on large-sized ones cos i'm a small A pre-preg and even now only a B.. hehe.. but some US online shops do sell larger sized ones?

ow_mummy, if u don't wear later breasts sag how? also no place to stick the nursing pads.
or u can get clothes with shelf bra.. which i'm also planning to consider.

kgal,
you also want to get the maxi cosi dori? i haven't come to an agreement with my hb yet, whether to get that or a traveller set.. when are u placing your order? wonder if trampezz can help us?

sanni,

where's baby ave? i've not assembled my boy's maxi cosi priori before, but after doing 1 or 2 times my hb was quite efficient at assembling it.

tktotts,
what's ALEXIS?

sks,

ya lor, the journey is sianz..I'm not sure whether i can cope after bb is out, imagine wating 3 hr per day on travelling, how much time we can use to spend on our bb right.

Marie,

Ya lor i know some gynae r v generous one..but mine is Joycelyn wong from TMC, not sure how is she like wo.

Pink Piglet: I think we should wait a few more weeks to be safe, cos scared too cooling now. Last Friday I went out with my colleagues for Zi Cha, they ordered the coconut drink, I wanted also, but they all tell me not to take so early, endure endure..haha..By end of Feb around 35th week then start loe. Better to listen to them, cos not just one told me that.

I'm also getting very tired easily recently, walk awhile also tired. Weekends can really sleep whole day. I think the heavy tummy is starting to affect us..envy those SAHM.

Marie Kwek: my boss already discussing my maternity leave liao loe, suggesting i should go around 23 Mar, my EDD around 6 Apr. Maybe instead of maternity leave, I should ask Dr Adrian to give MC..My next visit also 24 Feb (I went really early during the last visit 3 Feb, 5.30pm, so I guess we didn't bump into each other)

pink_piglet, my fren told me that during the last trimester we will feel tired very easily. so taking mc is quite norm n doc normally wont ask too much if u request for mc to rest. it's like a special previlege. :p

JamGal, my last appt i went on 2 Feb instead of 3 Feb cos i had piles and couldn't wait till tues to see adrian. then he gave me 2 days mc to rest and the medication was so ex. :S suffer physically n my pocket too.

Does anyone feel pelvic pain? You know the "V" area? It is painful for me esp if I don't sit down to wear my pants/skirt ,and walking up the stairs and when I change position while I sleep at night.Wondering if it's normal
Other than this, I don't feel that tired and no cramps and no water retention for me

Jamgal,

oic, thats what i heard too, normally the advice to take on last month..ok lor, just wait awhile.

Btw, my EDD is 5 Apr. Same too i planning my last day to be 20 Mar (Friday). I belief my boss will be asking me to take early, but not sure whether gynae ok anot nia.

Marie,

Really ah, i'm so happy to hear that.

i think nw my bb is lying head down but her legs like v near to my right ribs.. when she kicks suddenly sometimes i feel itchy or I'll get a shock!.. kekeke

Pink Piglet, my gynea also Jocelyn Wong..i think she is quite generous with MC.. whenever i c her, she always ask me if i need MC.. so am hoping she will give one closer to EDD.

my mil also told me not to take the coconut too early, she said last weeks then start, once a week cos may be too liang

Rose Ling: Yah, if I sit too long, walk too much, wear my bottoms or change position when I sleep, I will feel ache there. I guess it's normal bah? Baby's weight pressing on it. As long as it's not pain throughout the whole day, should be fine bah.

Pink Piglet: I try to remember to bring up the MC nearer to EDD issue to gynae on my next visit haha..Btw, you will be taking 3+1 maternity leave or 4 months consecutively?

Marie: Hope your piles are ok le? Take more fibre if possible?

I just ordered McDelivery for lunch (nothing to eat at home, so sad). Think my bb is sick of the food liao, been eating since my first Tri, now I think of it, I also sian.

I think i will start to take fortnightly from 32wks on. cos we'll never noe if we'll deliver earlier. :p for 1st time mummies, a lot of pple tend to say will deliver 1-2 wks earlier.

JamGal, thanks!! my piles are so much better. it was so painful n uncomfortable that i cant even walk properly. and i had to go ard visiting. it was a really challenging. just finish my medication, under control le. after i deliver then i will go to the chinese sin seh to get over with it. now cant take the chinese herbs to remove it.

rose,

yes i do have pelvic pain if i walk too much. But i tot its normal so i dont really bother.

SKS,

I m hoping so too. but i tot its consider normal for them to give us mc during our check, not very sure whether she will give like 2 wks mc before EDD.

Btw when's ur EDD?