(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

baby_mummy, my bb only got 3 types of movement, making wave, feel like she is rolling in my tummy, kicks and hiccups..
i just worry too active also not good, may be she don't feel comfortable or something like that..
seems like yor bb inventing new moves every now and then, sure very good in dancing when grow up..ha hah..

dodos,

usually stress will make pple slim down, but it's not a good way to be thin. I used to be slightly underweight (50kg) before i had my #1, after that i maintained a normal weight of 53kg. could never get back to 50kg unless temporarily when i fell sick. sometimes i wish i can wear back my old clothes, but i've since given up liao.. :p

tingting: Will you be getting the individual herb packets from medicinal shops to shower? One packet is around $1-2. I compromise with mum, as long as can let me shower, I don't mind using the herbs.

RE: Infant Formula
I think I will stand by with the hospital samples for the 1st week... and pray that my milk supplies come fast!!

RE: Bathing
Tingting, I do intend to bathe but maybe not everyday with the herbal boiled water. Else dunno how to tahan the heat and sweat leh..

RE: BPA Free bottles
I am thinking of buying the avent ones from US too.. My gynae recommend BPA free ones.. so it is more of giving myself peace of mind.

RE: Weight gain
OP! I think your weight gain is so PRETTY! 5kg! And baby is also at healthy weight leh! Think Marie's weight gain oso not bad leh.. I put on 10kg liaoz just post CNY! Need to check the real weight gain at the gynae this coming sat.

RE: Milkbags
I joined 1 spree some time ago. Got the lansinoh 50pack at about $15 after shipping. Think that time got sale ah.. so abit cheaper!

RE: Nursing bra
Whr to find pretty nursing bras? So far those I've seen are not nice leh.. very clothy one... and the sizes are big leh! So i only bought one!!

nursing bra.. you wear them till you stop BF right?? wont the breasts sag??... cos i planning to BF for a year.. scared of saggy breasts leh!!...
thot wired bras always gave better support than non-wired...

baby_mummy: I also wish nursing bras can look good. But seems like the bras I see are all beige color leh..I intend to get 2 more this weekend, bought 2 from the lingerie shop near Guan Yin Temple during CNY. Not nice looking, but quite soft to the touch

Yovnne, ya.. I also ask bb if he is dancing leh! haha the "vibration" only started this week! Hee I think I am quite excited to see what new movements bb will invent gradually! Keeps pregnancy more fun!

Hee I just add u to FB too!

ow_mummy, u so lucky, got magnum, this afternoon during lunch i want to eat mcdonld sundae also my hubby don't let cos gynae said no more durian and ice-cream, sob sob..but i ate durian again last sat..ha hah, cannot resist..

jamgal, baby_mummy,

I'm bathing in plain tap water, but will use warm water and bathe during daytime. Am concerned that the herbs will leave a smell on my body (i'm quite sensitive to things like that), or i'll still be sticky with the herb things.

re: nursing bra
you can get nice ones fr US online, but they are quite expensive! maybe get the plain ones for confinement period first, then get those for subsequent months?

pravina,
wired bras will hoist up, but there're well-designed non-wired bras that give good support too.

re: BPA free bottles
if someone is organising a spree, count me in! I may just get a set in case i need to express n feed my bb..
am thinking of cheaper and more environmentally friendly ways of storing EBM... how about ice-cube trays?

ysl, why cannot eat sundae??? cos i hooked onto it leh ...
dun like durians so okie lah ..
kinda anxious abt gynae visit this sat...
tummy feeling very tired... last nite had bad tummy ache ... cant tell if contractions or gas or what ...anyone experiencing that?... slept at 4am and got up at 6.30 to go to work... sighs...

signed up for the antenatal classes that started last sat ... but forgot to pay... sighs...
so need to sign up next round...
anyone know when is mdm wong boi boi's class is next round??

tingting, I also think those US online is much nicer but hor.. dun hv my size leh!!! hmph! I am now still wearing A cup loh! sigh...

For the bathing water, if the smell is a concern I guess boiled water is the next best alternative. I tried the herbal one last time when I had chicken pox! Not bad! Don't recall having any residue or smell coz the packet is like a tea bag. Just submerged into hot water. But I like herbal stuff... so hee cannot trust me!

Btw, I saw the ice cube trays online! Very interesting leh.. but I prefer not to freeze the Breastmilk coz vitamins may be lost.. But non-freezer BM will only last 48hrs in the bottom compartment of the refrigerator.

ting ting... very hard to find nice bras here leh ...got my current wireless ones from mothercare... and yeah, cost me LOADS!!! only decided to buy on impulse cos i had bruised breasts from like 1st trimester..also had itchiess that went all the way from breasts to below tummy ...=(

hey mummies just a thot, how abt starting a group on facebook for april09 MTBs??
saw you gals adding each other.. just wondering if thats feasible...

pravina, gynae ask me to cut down on junk food especially sweet and fatty stuff like ice-cream, chocolate and durian, cos bb may grow too big..she ask me to eat more quality food like red meat, egg, cheese, yoghurt etc..

Pravina, the next round will be too late for us. Any way TMC can squeeze you in? I recall there is a lady who attended a class which has started but she make up for the 1st lesson which she missed in the next intake ah... So you can try this approach?

baby_mummy,

freezing may not be as good as fresh, but i think it's still better than formula! so freezing is sort of a back up. last time, i was so kiasu that i pumped after feeds and stocked up alot, but bcos i was with my bb the whole time, there's not much chance to use the frozen ones. luckily there was a mummy soliciting for EBM for her kid, so it's not wasted eventually. Else some mummies suggest bathing in EBM, which totally grosses me out (the smell thing again)..

pravina,

will take my time to look for nice (and cheap) bras.. will let u know if i come across any!

for itchiness i find california baby's aloe vera cream useful.. i now use it for my boy also whenever he has heat rash or mozzie bites.

Bathing in EBM? That's erm very gross leh.. Coz I don't like milk.. so I simply cannot imagine having a after bath scent in EBM!!

You must have lots of supply leh!! How did u manage to do it? I just hope my supply can update to storage in milkbags will be quite an achievement liaoz!

If you find cheap and nice nursing bras must tell me too!!

Last time i also waste alot of bm. Cos im a sahm i latch direct. Afraid to give bottle scare bb don't want to latch on later. This time think i won't waste it. Will try giving by bottle when bb's older so he don't have nipple confusion.

Pravina, not a bad idea to start a april mtbs in facebook. You start one i will join.

Hi pink_piglet, yah....but my gynae like sort of tell me I may need to go for c-section. A bit sad about it.
<hr width=75% size=2>
This thread is moving so fast....I day messages already got achived.....
<hr width=75% size=2>
My mother-in-law also asked me to drink coconut drink now. NTUC selling the young coconut for $1 each....that day I just went to buy 10 for the whole family. Yummy.

<font color="ff0000">Marie,</font>
Thanks for the info on coconut juice!
I am also looking for baby bath towels. My MIL bought for me for my #1 at a baby stuff shop in AMK, am planning to check it out some time this week. What's the size of the IKEA white towels?

<font color="ff6000">Maya,</font>
Take care ya!

<font color="119911">Bonbon,</font>
I recently got those muscle pulls, on my calf too. It started during the CNY period and I had it like twice. My MIL and hubb told me to wear socks to bed, of which I'm doing now.
<font color="0000ff">Jamgal,</font>
I was really scared to touch tap water initially during my #1 confinement, furthermore I was staying over at my ILs' house so had to wear long pants and big t-shirt all the time. The period was ard Dec-Jan, quite cooling, but I still feel so uncomfortable! This time round, I've engaged a confinement aunty and doing confinement at my own place; I am gonna break the rules!
So long I use boiled lukewarm water for washing up and stuff, use packet herbs for showers, I guess it'd be fine! Just go buy the packet herbs, then tell your mom they can remove wind and stuff and she shld allow you to bath I guess? Btw, I've joined your april 09 mummies group in FB!

<font color="aa00aa">Tingting,</font>
Yes, I couldn't agree more, I am also like you. For my #1 confinement, I kept snapping at my hubb and also got angry at my then newborn baby for crying too much! Wa, your ILs coming to stay from overseas, is it stressful? Re using packet herbs for shower, mayb you can use boiled lukewarm water for your last few rinse? I'm planning to do that cos I'm have a feeling the herbal water will feel funny if we don't rinise it off our skin.

<font color="ff0000">Yvonne,</font>
No worries on the article, will check with my gynae during my next routine check. My baby also had similar movements like yours, today just encountered hiccups as I was lazing on the couch. Quickly got my daughter to come over and she had this cute astonished look on her face when she saw my tummy throbbing! Haha, kids!

<font color="ff6000">Baby mummy,</font>
I second boiled water! My mom told me to boil the packet herbs in a big pot so that the essence of those herbs will be released. After that then add in boiled water to dilute and make up a big pail of it for showering.

<font color="119911">Pravina,</font>
I sometimes get tension cramps on my lower tummy - left or right side; it comes when I get stressed up, anxious or walk too fast, etc. My gynae said it does happens, but not too good if we keep getting it.

Cyan, the bath towels are regular size. I like them cos it's relatively thin and white. easier to wash and dry so i can change more often. wat my sis advise is to buy abt 6 and wash them a couple of times with softner before use to remove the furry bits and keeping it soft.

Jacqueline, try to drink thise GREEN coconuts not those already 'skinned' ones.

sorry to interupt.

Selling away Medela Harmony Breast Pump @ $50 with original packaging.

Used only once, self collection.

Interested pls pm me.
2142918.jpg

wah... weekdays more than 100 posts - read one by one till eyes cannot tahan - OT till 9pm just now w-go sheng shiong buy some groceries and take bike home. . haizz.. tired - - i have updated the names - i tried my best sorry if i missed out - wanna sleep soon - continue tomorrow.. wahh so fast this thread . .

roseling - why worry - all mummies welkum - where got old and new one!!

<table border=1><tr><td>S/N</TD><TD>Nick</TD><TD>Working?</TD><TD>Staying? </TD></TR><TR><TD>1..</TD><TD>Idaarshad</TD><TD>Yes - shifts</TD><TD>Sengkang </TD></TR><TR><TD>2..</TD><TD>Marie Kwek</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>Sengkang </TD></TR><TR><TD>3.. </TD><TD>Ow Mummy</TD><TD>No</TD><TD>Jalan Kayu </TD></TR><TR><TD>4..</TD><TD>KP Gal</TD><TD>No</TD><TD>Depot Rd / mum - SK </TD></TR><TR><TD>5..</TD><TD>Yvonne Yeo</TD><TD>No</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>6..</TD><TD>tktotts</TD><TD>Yes-esp weekends</TD><TD>Punggol </TD></TR><TR><TD>7..</TD><TD>Love J</TD><TD>Yes</TD><TD>Yishun </TD></TR><TR><TD>8..</TD><TD>Leereiner</TD><TD></TD><TD>East Side </TD></TR><TR><TD>9..</TD><TD>Roseling</TD><TD>Yes-off on Thursdays</TD><TD>Bishan </TD></TR><TR><TD>10..</TD><TD>Juxta</TD><TD>No</TD><TD>Pasir - Ris </TD></TR><TR><TD>11..</TD><TD>Maya</TD><TD></TD><TD>West Side </TD></TR><TR><TD>12..</TD><TD>Orange Peel</TD><TD>Yes - 8-5</TD><TD>Woodlands</td></tr></table>
<font color="ff0000">let me know if i missed out anething!!</font>

hi cyan,

yah, initially i freaked out when i realised they're staying over, but later came to terms with it and tried to think on the brighter side... they've no house here (rented out) and to have them stay in hotel is quite impossible bcos of expenses, plus they came back partly bcos of bb.. so gotta tahan lor.

erm, ok, me quite sua ku here.. how to get myself to join the grp in FB? i'm usually invited to grps only leh.. dunno how to invite myself.. :p

tingting: u type at e search for april'09 mummies, den will haf e grp on e page, go in to e one in Singapore Network! den u can see the join thing dere liao...

morning mummies...wow so many posts...

re: nursing bras
good luck finding nice looking nursing bras...so far all the ones i've seen are really dowdy looking hahaa. i also opt for non-wired ones, so much more comfy. John Little has sweet pink ones by Impressions. I bought them for bfing my 1st baby, only $10.90 each.

Idaarshad, me next appointment with Dr Tseng was supposed to be yesterday but I had to give my class remedial. so changed to tomorrow.

DTSmummy, I know what u mean abt being so tired. I'm teaching and work from 7am to abt 6pm everyday and have to mark students' work when i get home. some days when my timetable is packed i dun get to sit or go to toilet or get a drink for 3-4 hrs straight. so yeah....sometimes i dunno why i torture myself by taking on this job hahah. but it's satisfying.

Morning!!

Had a very bad lower abdominal cramp yester just as i was on my way home. wah the pain just immobilised me..cldnt even walk... eventually made my way back walking at a snail phase..

Pink Piglet..i usually see Dr Wong on Wed afternoons. I wonder if we have bumped into each other...

wah eating McBreakfast..now i have craving for pancakes...

gd morning mummies!!
don't know y i wake up early also at 7 plus, these days i can never have a good sleep..how i wish i can sleep thru out the night like before, no waking up in the middle of the night..