(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Yvonne! Yes! I think I heard about it too! But dunno what's the reason behind the BIG and the SMALL coconut. Glad u raised it! I also think the uncle is very nice!

Anyone who finds those BIG MY coconut must tell us!!

I like the strawberry on tummy idea leh! Very creative. Coz if u subscribe to the babycentre weekly updates on pregnancy, they will relate a food/fruit to the size of your growing baby!! So it is very cute leh.. But now abit late to start hor!!! Take from which angle nicer ah?? Side? Front? For me, muz cover up with a fitting top lah else the tummy so ugly with the black black line down the centre!

ow_mummy! Your bb very active wor.. hee if u really try the torch on bb rem to update us on bb's response!!!

mummies.. think we can actually get from some foodcourts wo...

cos i rem, i bot those green big coconut from foodcourt.

maybe can try popby any nearby foodcourts to see if they do sell..

Thanks Pat for helping to check with your gynae.

I heard abt the coconut thing too. I heard of sugarcane drink too. My colleague told me that it will reduce the severity of jaundice. Anyone heard of that too?

I have been experiencing weird feelings in my stomach, and also a lot of air. At times, nauseous too. Seems like symptoms experienced in my 1st trimester are appearing now. Now I cannot walk fast or walk too much, my legs are so tired. Even standing in the toilet for bathing makes my legs ache a bit :p

wah.. jinglebel! salute.....
stand in toilet take bath also will tire ur legs...
maybe can try raising ur legs using pillows to sleep in e night to improve blood circulation?
hopefully it will help..

Jinglebel .. i heard that some will experience the early pregnancy symptoms during the last trimester... i hope u r not getting them ...

sugarcane can reduce jaundice - tat will be good if its true as i do love to drink sugarcane...

i get the same probs with walking..cant do it for too long now..my legs swell up really fast esp when it is really hot..

Hi Clarie

Yah, will feel the ache at my calf area. I have put on quite a bit... so far abt 12 kg not sure if it is due to that. Now i walk, I feel so heavy at my stomach area. Has been trying to do leg rotation, raise my legs and even get my husband to massage for me

Hi SKS

But do mindful of the high sugar content too.

ow_mummy, ur pains sound quite bad...better go see ur gynae la. get peace of mind...

pat, wah her postnatal price went up...min 7 sessions means she might give more sessions at the same price?? yah yah pls update...n share the other contact also if she turns out to b better hehe. thanks huh...

Jamgal/Orangepeel...i also hv the same problem of waking up many times to go to the toilet in the nite. one way is to minimise water intake during the evening/night lor...

juxta, does the braxton hicks make u feel a bit breathless as well? yday when i was lying down, i suddenly felt v uncomfortable. chest felt heavy n tummy felt v tight. i sat up for a while n hubby rubbed my back...then after a whole it went away.

Hi Yvonne, wah the uncle so nice to u...v lucky. Din hear abt the diff b/w small n big coconut leh. I think all can. How often r we supposed to take it? Once a wk? Think I shall start next wk hehe... I heard taking those chinese pear also gd for bb's complexion.

jinglebel,
i have the same problem as u, when i stand or walk too long, i will get really tired but not while taking shower tho..however, sometime when i stand too long infront of my dressing table when putting on make-up i will have fainting or giddy kind of feel. i have put on a total of 12kgs as well till date...
before CNY, i used to go shopping almost everyday and my poor hubby got to give me foot massage everyday. i usually feel pain on my heel and ankle when stand and walk too long...

i just rem my MIL saying that eating barley is good for baby complexion as well. she starting making it for me 2 weeks back, barley with ginko nut, lotus seed and the beancurd sheet, like those fu zuk dessert u usually buy outside. had it once week until she got lazy to cook it haha

come to think of it, the tiredness we feel now, dunno how it will compare to post delivery? i mean its quite interesting to think of it as "training" for us now, waking up 2-3times a night to pee. when baby is born, we'll also be waking up 2-3 times a night to check on them, feed, express milk and what-so-ever right? haha unless there are babies that sleep nicely throughout the whole night and no need to express milk..so mummies just stay positive and happy! final countdown of the weeks to go already..

Hi Jinglebel,

i know..tats why i only take it once in awhile... ;)

Yvonne, ur hubby very nice give u food massage everyday...

mummies, maybe we can get a small stool (perhaps from ikea), and put in below our working desk, so that we can step on it while we work, to relieve our leg muscle.. hopefully it helps.

coconut: think 1 every week is ok.. and think can start 2 months before edd.
i havent started on mine, but it is really true tat the bb will be quite clean, ie, not so bloody when they are "launched".. and i can see it from my #1..

china pear: think its quite liang also.. so mummies, dun take too much ok..

eunice,
ya lor, i guess there are still quite a lot of nice souls out there and generally i find that those people at suburban are nicer, they will hold lift for u etc, but if u go to town area hardly people do that for u..
one more thing, abt eating birdnest, i spoke to my gynae when i visited her on monday, she said birdnest may triggered allergy, ie. if mummy have history of allergy, if eat birdnest, baby will most likely have allergy as well, just like nuts/peanuts to westerner..

Hi bonbon

That's what my husband said to me too. Nature trains us to get ready for the care of our babies

These days I do not sleep well at night too. Always conscious when i turn my body. All these symptoms really mark the end of our "honeymoon" pregnancy period.

Taking the HK dessert - steamed egg and steamed milk is good too

ya loh . yvonne so fortunate to have free massage leh.. My hubby just press press for a while.. tired liao.. heehee.. make me so angry..

heehee

sugarcane can reali reduce jaundice?

rgds nice souls in SG - u cant reali find in mrt n buses! i think becuz most of em r tired ardy tts y dey cant be nice to preggies..haha.. but when u go shoppin, e ppl in e shops will be nice to us. haha..will give us advice wad to eat wad nt to eat..

Big coconut! i think big coconut can be found in some hawker centre.. if nt wrg east coastone haf..

YvonneYeo: so sweet of ur hubby leh to do massage for u.. my ah lao love shopping, but whenever i complain i tired, he don seems to bother, lolx..

Eunice: i thinkin of seeing my gynae, but my hubby ask me don think too much leh..haix..jus nw i tell him tonight send me go see gynae..Guess wad he say.. "don think too much n scared urself, why nt we go catch e movie "underworld" tonight?" -.-"

heard different version regards for the cocount.. when me had #1, hubby anut urged me to take green coconut, (suppose the young ones) but MIL said better not, its cooling lor. so me didnt take any @ all. But my SIL drank and ate the "meat" 2-3 times per week (cldnt rem when she started), she was okie leh and my nephew looked "nice nice" when @ birth leh... so is it coconut will sort of cleanse power eh?

ha!!! me start to walk like Penguin leh... so ugly... legs start to have H2O retention.... and always feel they are damn heavy to lift up...

weight gain - est 13kg for me.... gained more than my #1.... so far gynae has not comment on my wt gain or on baby one... we are normal.... but hubby and me are small size ones so will our #2 wah...

hahah...yah ow_mummy u r rite..i think they r 'too' tired to be nice to us... tats why when they see us they pretend tat u just have a fat tummy and tend close their eyes...

wat an idea ur hubby has..watch movie...heheheh

LovJ : my hubby nt sweet lo.. is irritating! haha..he alwas disturb me.. sumtimes reali pissed me off..but sumtimes reali makes me laugh till faint.. hahax..so silly...

hahah..my hubby ok la, nothing to complain abt except when he do housework hor, always end up like half done and i got to do it again..i m a cleanning freaks now, everything must go thru disinfectant especially toilet..

rgding to e coconut.. my mum say any type also can leh.. jus buy at our convenience those thai coconuts sold in NTUC.. i think food consuming esp those liang stuff..we shld set limit n control den shld be ok le bah..haha...

SKS: sumtimes also cannot blame those ppl on e train or others public transport..cuz they also had a long n tired day ardy.. haix.. wad to do! we r MUMMIES..so we hafta tahan abit lo! Mummy WAN SUI!!!!

Leereiner: My tummy not big, but i became humpty dumpty after my stomach start to show..lolx...

ow_mummy, haha i think ur hubby just wans to take ur mind off things la... but if it still hurts, better to just go n see gynae la. but if it gets better...do catch the show. im catching it tmw. cant wait! been MONTHS since i went to the theatre!! told my hubby he better bring me now cos god knows when i can go watch move after i deliver! as for gao li shen...issit the korean ginseng? my grandma says the korean one is good but american one is no good at this stage.

yvonne, my hubby's friend said tt her gynae told her too much bird's nest is no gd. bb will get asthma. cos she ate ALOT of bird's nest..like every 2 days...all her kids got asthma.

Eunice: yup, its e korean ginseng.. american on nt gd for us.. u gt eat? btw jus some info: if u all consume korean ginseng water, must use porridge water,so wont b too liang for baby..my mum worin in chinese medical hall n she is currently studying chi medical as well.. so tts her advice..haha..

As for e bird nest: Can eat la, but don eat too much!

Ow_Mummy - hahah...true lah..i'm sure some of us have done the same to other mummies.. i think its payback time...hehehe

eunice,
i already ate a lot of birdnest liao, i started eating birdnest everyday from the 5th mth onwards..i stop eating before CNY...
i m not sure abt asthma but come to think of it, my sis ate a lot of birdnest as well during her pregnancy, altho her boy's skin is very fair and nice, his skin also very sensitive, one mosquito bite also can swell up as big as 10 cents coin, last september, he developed some kind of skin sensitive problem, his got bubbles like kind of patches on his skin, exactly the same like when skin kena burn by hot water and bubble up..quite scary, some bubbles were as big as 50 cents coin, he got like abt 8 to 10 of those bubbles on his body...

I double-check with one father (w 3 kids) and one mother (w 2 kids), both say drink green coconut, the meat don’t need to eat too much. This is to prevent bb jaundice and also come out cleaner. Why green then I really don’t know, just listen loe. And can start drinking once we hit 37th week. Not too early cos can be very cooling.

Jinglebell: Me also experience a lot of air in tummy and at nights I always get heartburn, the acid will get stuck in my chest and throat. PAIN! Even standing stationary for too long (when cooking, waiting for bus, showering) will also feel tired. I think it’s also because my legs are too skinny (like tek ko) to sustain the additional 10kg weight.

Eunice: I take my multivit, folic acid and fish oil before I sleep, so I sure will wake up in the middle of the night wanting to pee. And as long as I’m still awake and can feel abit bladder full, I will sure go and pee, cos I scared later fall asleep liao then lazy to wake up.

Bonbon: My mum and granny also say eating more fu zuk tong sui = gingko nut and beancurd skin is good for baby’s skin.
I believe after giving birth is definitely not the end of our suffering, in fact, it will only get worse, with bb waking up few hours every night, and them crying and crying and we don’t even have an idea why…that is what worries me.

Yvonne: Wa u eat everyday? urs is those double boiled de or?

JamGal: can start drinking coconut from 37th week? haha.. very long leh like tt...don even know if can tahan till den not...haha

coconuts
i've been drinking coconut water during the pregnancy.. din know only can in 3rd trimester... heard its good for baby development and young coconuts are the best...does it make a diff if its green or brown?? cos i thot some are whole coconuts and some are with husks removed? is that right?

Sugarcane
never heard abt it reducing jaundice but been drinking that as well with lemon .. so refreshing..

Apples
did read somewhere that apples reduce allergys in babies.. how true that is, i dunno.. i think it was the same article that also stated not to take too much peanuts and peanut products

photography
i cant decide leh ... hubby wants to do them couple shots so can insert into baby album ... like the belly showing one..and he wants professionally done..
spoke to this lady who has a booth at forum mall (its like under the stairs in the basement i think) and she mentioned somthing like S$1300 for shots taken over 12mths..there were really well-done albums ( she has a few on display)and has a huge list of price ranges and photo sizes..
felt it was pricey..
havent inquired at studioloft yet.. anyone got experience in this??

Asthma,
not sure how true this is but my bro and sis had childhood asthma and an indian neighbour told my mum to feed them GOAT's milk (the fresh ones) like for a month or so... and the asthma disappeared. i think need to contact the farms in SG to get some but hv seen some NTUCs selling them sometimes.

i've been walking like a PEGUIN like forever lor!! my colleagues purposely walk faster than me and then turn around and watch me waddle over...=(
backpain has intensived this week and been spraying some muscle spray my GP gave me.. my cough and phelgm making it worse..
sleep is really affected cos very counsious of how i sleep on my sides.. kinda scared i squashing baby

sorry ah, china pear quite liang means heaty ah??

jia lak liao, my gynae just called, she did a blood test for me when i visited her on monday, apparently i got anaemia, that's why the fainting feel, she ask me to eat more beef for now until i see her again on 16 feb, she will give me supplement, that mean more pills to swallow liao..but strange leh, i already put on a total of 12kgs leh..

Yvonne: whao!!! bird nest everyday leh... how me wish me can... ha!!! so far took bird nest for my #1 only, think less than 10 times thru out the whole preg. this #2 - not even once.... not even any tonics @ all too. ha!! me bian xin lor....

quite skeptical of the coconut drinking lor... me didnt take any @ all... but my #1 was clean and she has fair n nice skin leh... sorry ah, this mummy bu yao nian... ha!!!

Halo Mummies, can we drink goat's milk. I drunk one bottle n had my /MIL, aunties friends reprimand mi. mostly said that Bb will likely to contact fits ( yang Dian feng)

True or not, Im so worried...... thought baby skin will be nice n smooth...

Yvonne Yeo: gaining weight doesnt means anything ma, my mum says most of the weight is nt so much of fats, also consists alot of water..tts y after delevery do e massage to minus away e water.. hmm..i dunno is it the term call "water retention" .."sui zhong".. So u better listen to ur gynae now wor.. take care!

Orangepeel: I think tts myth bah...don scare urself k!

Pravina: drinking goat milk can help with asthma but i dunno can cure totally anot la.. haha.. but its proven tt it does help!
u had been drinking coconut? my mil say eat more apple gd for baby.. "Liang" means too cold..nt heaty..

errr... to me... that's old wives tales lah... me have been taking beef, lamp, seafood, all kinda of food lor... modernation is the key...

think my #1 takes afer my hubby's side genes lah. hope #2 wont take after me lah, me is dark one... hee!!!!

Hi Yvonne

Please be careful then. It's best that you have someone with you when you go out. Red meat like beef and pork do help a lot. My coll has this problem too and her condition improves a lot after she makes an effort to consume it.

Hi Orangepeel

I am not sure about goat's milk but i have been advised not to take mutton in case the baby has the mutton smell.

ow_mummy: Now better don't drink, still early, if you cannot wait liao, wait a few more weeks...you don't want the baby to come out too early right?

i make birdnest using slow cooker, just put everything in the slow cooker in the evening before going to bed and it will be ready in the morning, eat the birdnest empty stomach before any food...
i was told not to eat mutton or lamb also, cos baby will have fits easily later when grow up..

jamgal: i will wait.. i think i will start drinkin only after 34 weeks at least bah...ownself aggar..haha..

Yvonne: u shld haf ppl acc u when u r out, wa i reali pei fu u leh, make birdnest everyday.. i veh lazy one..hhaa..i only eat wheni go back my mum's place in e weekend..mayb becuz i don reali fancy birdnest..

As for consuming of certain food, i still thinks tt takin in moderation shld be ok bah... but sumtimes its better to believe also...

Aiyo.. I think better to play safe.. no more goat's milk for mi liao. Perhaps coconut juice ba after 35 weeks lo..

For mi, I dun take mutton, before pregnancy, I only like Mc chicken n filet o fish.
but dun know y recently, I always crave for double cheeseburger or big mac after dinner..

Then I would bug my hubby to go n buy...nowaday, he's very smart, he will sms me after work if I want eat any special food, end up he will buy then nag at mi for eating too much..

So far I put on 5kg liao...

yvonne: u got put red date into e bird nest to boil? my mum says its gd, though i don eat e red dates but it does taste better.. n aso for tonic its better nt to put too much sugar..u can put a few small slices of Gao li shen in n boil which is gd for u n also e baby..but gao li shen don always consume.. mayb twice a week..

re: sensitive skin

hmm, i didn't take any birdnest for #1 and my son still have strong reaction towards mozzie bites.. i think these are quite myths... the body constitution seems pretty much hereditary more than anything else.

goat's milk is less likely to trigger allergies than cow's milk, but breastmilk is still the best!

re: gingko nuts

heard that we cannot eat too much gingko nuts, cos it has a "poisonous element"? like cannot eat more than 10 a day or something.

orangepeel: i aso onli eat mcnuggets or filet o fish de.. but nowadays i like double cheeseburger or big mac..lolx..

*i jus ate a durian omelette from emicakes*

tingting: inside e ginko nuts got one Bitter seed which normally will be taken out before consuming/cooking.. ya.. i rmb my mum mentioning..though its gd but also nt to take too much! haha..everything hafta be taken in moderation!

Wow, durian is yummy,,,
I adore it..
But hubby restricted mi from eating too much, scared too heaty for my body and BB might develop rash when born..

i also want to watch MOVIE!!!!!!!
wanna watch e comedy movie by Wu Jun Ru lo...
but dun thk i can do so.. cos really no time lo!

AND... just confirmed tat my new bed will come in next sat!!!
Yeah!!! NO MORE "WANNA BREAK-OFF BONES"!!! :D

Coconut: tink shd be fine bah.. also nt very sure.
but i rem i anykind of coconut also take for my #1.
main thing, dun overtake cos it can be quite liang..

do it moderation bah....

haha.. i hardly haf food cravings de.. my cravings always is those kueh or carbo food! like bread n stuff..

ohya..rgding eating heaty food...
tt day my mum tell me sth, as i said she work in medical hall so she see alot of experiences also..
theres a case, a mummywho ate alot alot alot of chocs daily throughout her pregnancy, so after her baby was born =, baby gt alot of illness which they hafta bring e lil one to visit e physician evry nw n then..

SO eating food in moderation is strongly advise!

tingting, gingko nuts cant eat too much cos it will thin the blood which is no gd for preggy mummies like us.

God made everything for us to consume, just eat n believe that it will nourish us and our babies.