(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

hey mummies
just went to Sg Expo webbie and found out there's a BabyCare Fair coming up in Feb 09!

BabyCare Festival 2009
27 February 2009 - 01 March 2009

Event type : Family
Venue : Hall 6B
Admission : Public - Free admission
Event Schedules : Time:
27 & 28 Feb 09: 11am to 9pm
1 Mar 09: 11am to 8pm

Show Profile :
A Baby Bonanza for the whole family where exclusive deals and great promition at our showcase of maternity and babycare products.

Organizer : MediaCorp Pte Ltd

Contact Details :
Tel : +65 6483 8341
Fax : +65 6483 8698
Email : [email protected]

I also cannot restrain from drinking tea/coffee... but cut down to 1/2 a cup a day....

I also have same question as baby mummy on the stroller... i want somethg light but my hb prefers somethg heavy cos more stable.... wat u all mummies think??

Sanni, i also attending tmc sat pm classes

ultrabeary, my hb also prefer heavy/stable type. So all along i have been using peg perego P3. If he is the one using it then no problem. my hb don't like to carry bb he needs a stroller. Since he manage the stroller im ok with it. If really want to buy heavy stroller make sure you are not the one who manage it. If not chances are you won't want to use it again. I have to admit i can't handle with such heavy stroller by myself.

baby_mummy
yup, my #1 bath in the spare room coz most of her barang-barang are placed there.
my hb will help to bring out the tub to the bathroom and throw the bath water there while i continue to wipe/clean/powder my gal

it was tough lah but since she bath there since birth, we got used to it.

any mommies experienced excess discharge during this stage?
i'm at wk 26+ now and since the past 1 week, seems like my discharge is excessive! sometimes can even leak and i usually wear pantyliner leh.

dun know why leh...

<font color="ff0000">Hi Mummies,</font>
I was previously in this thread but migrated to Mar cos my EDD is brought forward. Can I check if any mummies is interested in taking up the maternity photo shoot package by studio loft? I organised a BP on this. Some of the mummies opted out so I need some more to fill up the slots. Interested parties please email me for the package details. Thanks.

hi kittybride...
nt really wo.. is it cos u drink too much liang stuff.. tats why u have this discharge??

pls do change e pantyliner very often to prevent bacteria infection.. und fm our previous posts here that pantyliner will attract more germs if nt changed regularly....

hi Kittybride,
Thanx for the tips!!
my salt and sugar intake has been affected; actually dun like taking salt and sugared stuff now..in fact prefer foods with no salt.. but that also not good for baby!!
i was a huge chocolate and caffeine junkie before and now both repulses me!!

i hv this sudden liking to instant noodles too but cannot take MSG ( not good for baby)so i hv had one packet of the no-msg instant noodles and used less of the soup packets.. no kick lah .. but trying to trick myself
=D

hi mummies-to-be,
have you gotten your confinement ladies and massage ladies??
i'm still looking for one..
any good agencies to try??
i'm not used to having someone stay with hubby and me so hesitant abt confinement ladies...
definitely need a massage lady cos want to get back in shape..
i look like a whale now!!
=P

RE: Bathtub
Kittybride, ya! I was wondering how you manage to carry the tub of water to and fro on a daily basis!! So the magic is hubby!!

RE: TMC Prenatal Class in Feb
yo Marie, Sanni &amp; Ultraberry! See you gals too!

RE: Baby Fair in Feb!
Ciarie! Thanks for the info! Think the fair is just in time for us APRIL mummies! Hope there will be even better deals!

Hope the taka baby fair is in early March too! I suspect our usual Isetan Private Sales should be in March too! But it is usually towards the last week of the month so might not be so convenient for us as we will be sooo heavily pregnant!

RE: Caffeine intake
Hmm I love coffee and tea before pregnancy! But since then, I've only taken SIPS of it... but never gave up on sweet non-gas-sy soft drinks like Qoo, Green tea.... Need to "pamper" myself once in a while.. which is *gasp* weekly? Anyways, I think moderation is important. Last time my mom drank 1 cup kopi EVERYDAY! I am still developing well lah except abit petite loh.. hee

RE: Cold drinks and "liang" stuff
Actually the "logic" behind not taking cold drinks and "liang" stuff like orange is to prevent baby from developing too much phelgm after birth. So if baby has no phelgm problem, we will have a much easier time taking care of baby. I do realise after eating watermelons and oranges do result in myself having lots of phelgm in my throat! So I "try" to reduce such intake.

But I think it varies.. really depends on the health constitution of the mummy!

RE: Strollers
I suspect even with a 4kg stroller I might still keep it in the "cold" room unless hubby is around! I am simply too clumsy to handle such weights.. I have problem with even a 2kg laptop bag! sigh...

oshiezan, wah 5 wks without coke is torture man!! Drink once a month can or not? Anyway, after giving birth, with or without coke, sure got wind right? haha.

I feel that pregnancy is very torturous leh. I was telling my husband that our baby is a robber. Rob my freedom, rob my lifestyle, rob me of my body, rob me of my money. So I need to make myself feel good by doing/eating things that makes me happy.

So once in a while, introducing some wind in yr body can also be a very happy thing.

RE: Confinement Lady
Pravina! Got to be decisive fast! Usually confinement ladies are booked by mummies-to-be when they approach 2nd trimester. The good/highly recommended ones are quickly taken up.

I booked mine early too! Kiasu 1st time mommy! She's not from any agency but was recommended by a friend. Malaysian. $1850/mth. SG ones is about $2500/mth.

I am just like you.. love and treasure my privacy to bits! But I love home-cooked food, someone around to help me with chores and baby when hubby is not around and prepare my herbal bath too! So a confinement lady is definitely welcomed! Oh.. did I forget to mention washing of baby clothes and nappies?

RE: Feeding bottles!
Which brands and how many bottles did mummies buy?
Are you worried about newborns rejecting teats of certain brands?
Are you bothered by the fact that most bottles on sale now in SG are NOT BPA free?

Oh thanks kidzkidz, so informative. I thought breastpads are to be stuck on the breast that we will be pumping on at the same time. So sotong me.

Hi JamGal, I also attended the 4pm class. Yeee, so scary, we met before. Describe yourself leh.

hi mummies... I am a March MTB too.. EDD is 30/03... Someone mentioned abt Song &amp; Song at toa payoh... Can i find out where is it exactly located at ... : )

Hey, gummy bears from M&amp;S are very nice leh. Actually all the biscuits, sweets and snacks from M&amp;S are very nice. Only thing is they are quite ex. All high class exported tidbits.

I lurrrrve hi-chew too. especially the grape and apple flavours. So flavourful. Do you know that there is this japanese grapes that tastes just like hi-chew. also chewy. I had the opportunity to taste it quite a few years back when a friend's wife who was a stewardess brought it back from Japan.

Subsequently when I tried to find it in Singapore, the taste was always not the same wor.

Ciarie, what's your hubby's dialect? Shanghainese dialect arh? Can Shanghainese understand Hokkien or Cantonese?

Pat!! Hee u must be a sweet lover just like me!!

Ya I simply love all the M&amp;S stuff.. except for the price! They expire fast too!!

OOhh yeah the fruits in Japan are always so sweet! By the time they are imported to SG, they lost their sweetness and yet their price is doubled or tripled!!

Anyways, there is a shop in Central &amp; Square 2 called "YAMAGAWA". Can get LOTS of japan imports of HICHEW! They sell lots of tibits from Japan too! There is lychee flavour, manago flavour, strawberry, green apple... LYCHEE is my FAVE along with GRAPE! haaaa

Hi ladies, the thread is so active now!

Re: Confinement lady
Those who are int in one must quickly book already...I tried to book for one in dec and many were already booked! Managed to secure a Malaysian recommended by my sis-in-law's colleague..I'm also not comfortable with a stranger in the family but like wat baby_mummy said, I tink the person will be reali helpful..

Re: TMC class
Anyone attending the one at AMK hub in Feb at nite? Me tried to book the afternoon one but full already so taking the nite one..

Re: Cold drinks
I was taking a lot of it in my first trimester when I vomited like mad and somehow cold drinks made it better..but now that my MS is much lesser (Yup, I'm still vomiting), my hb doesn't allow me to take anyhow..only once in a while...haiz..

BTW, nice to see all of you here! Anyone here going to stay at home to look after bb? I'll be taking no pay leave till the end of the year after my maternity..den probably put my bb in infant care next year..anyone putting bb in infant care as well?

Hi pravina,

hmmm i dont think my prob its due to that...really have no idea whats the cause..

I also having heartburn now...any idea what to avoid?

Hi Pat,

I was abit late for the class, wearing yellow sleeveless top and white capri, sitting quite near to the instructor. U?

Ping Piglet,
I mention heartburn to gynae (I usually get it at night), and he ask me not to eat so much, too spicy at night and to eat 3-4 hours before I sleep. After eating, don't lie down immediately, try to sit down and watch tv, read book or what.

Hi Pink Piglet,
best to check with your gynae and get your bp checked as well... just curious do you hv any swelling of the face, fingers and ankles/feet??
those are indicative of high blood pressure or preclampsia ( you can google it), if you do, watch your salt intake!!

i take a little caffeine so i dun hv to take panadol for my headaches ( which i rarely get now)
i'm already on iron, folic, supplements and dun like taking pills!!

i also hv heartburn and i take TUMs which i got from the US a while back..
i think you can try Rennie which is available in Guardian Pharmacy; best you run it by your gyane and she/he can recommend a brand for you.

Foodwise, try smaller and frequent meals; avoid spicy food (in my case, i NEED spicy food, the HOTTER the BETTER)
hope this helps

confinement lady
i hv a language problem ( no mandarin or dialects) so hv had some trouble looking for english speaking confinement lady.
i'm keen to learn from an experienced aunty and probably need loads of help as well..but hv not been lucky in finding one.
=(

Malay massage lady
read up on older postings and also had mixed reviews so not sure who is good and all..

any comments, mummies-to-be??

confinement lady
i hv a language problem ( no mandarin or dialects) so hv had some trouble looking for english speaking confinement lady.
i'm keen to learn from an experienced aunty and probably need loads of help as well..but hv not been lucky in finding one.
=(

Malay massage lady
read up on older postings and also had mixed reviews so not sure who is good and all..

confinement lady
=(

Malay massage lady

Ooh,
try not to eat too late in the nite ( suppers are a no -no)
i try to hv a glass of full-fat milk and a piece of chocolate at least an hour or so before i lie down.
baby seems to like it!! loads of movement!
=D

kittybride, about the discharge, I get it too. I realized that I get tons of it when I walk about too much eg. shopping. It will stain the sides of my panties even though I have on a pantyliner as well. So I need to quickly go toilet to blot the excess and put on a thick layer of toilet paper to feel dry and fresh again.

babymummy, I bought the tommy tippee microwavable sterilizer set and it came with 3 wide necked bottles which are also not BPA free I think. If possible, I will choose the BPA free ones but since the ones in the package doesn't come with it, I'm ok too.

Last time babies drank from cheap plastic milk bottles and they grew up fine. BPA free bottles are just mummy's way of further protecting our babies. I don't think it will make that much a difference bah.

Hi babymummy, actually I didn't use to like sweet stuff but i think my baby girl enjoys sweet stuff wor. I have been enjoying my sweet stuffs after pregnancy. I feel like desserts and have 2 helpings of it even after a full meal leh.. Greedy girl.

Sorry I am very suaku, but where's Square 2? Japanese stuffs are very nice but very expensive. Have you tried their honeydew kit kat before??? The combination sounds weird right but it actually tastes quite nice leh. Trust the Japanese to come up with weird creations like the squid ink ice cream and all but very innovative haha.

4eva, I also have not been posting for a long long time. This is the only time I have been active actually. I remembered we share the same due date right?

I used to think I would be a full-time mum coz I don't want to miss my baby's first milestones. Now, I don't think I can stop working. Too much work/financial committments.

I know it's still too early to say but maybe seeing the baby may change my mind. I wouldn't say we cannot survive on a single income but I would be very sad to have to give up some of the luxuries in life that I can enjoy coz of double income lor.

Somemore, the govt incentives are more attractive for working mums wor. Since govt calling out for mums to continue working, I will support the govt's call hahah.

I am considering either putting bb in infantcare or engaging a babysitter. I think for couples who do not have parents/relataives to help out, infantcare is our best choice although a lot of ppl condemn infantcares.

For us with no one to help us, I think it's the best thing out there.

kittybride,

i have the same discharge problem. according to my gynae that's ok, unless it comes with some itchiness or smell, which may indicate some infection. But she didn't give me the impression that infection is dangerous for the baby, only commented that can start on antibiotics to treat it. can check with your gynae. Drinking water helps for me, though not sure if it's bcos i go toilet more often.

re: BPA-free bottles

not sure if i'm 100% correct, but BPA is released only through constant heat exposure is it? So maybe instead of boiling in pots, can use electric or microwave sterilisers, or sterilizing tablets. Hoping to breastfeed as long as possible so that bottle use can be minimised.
My son stopped using bottles at 1 year plus, went on to straw and drank fr cup by 2 year old.

re: confinement

anyone considering DIY? I really hate the idea of having a stranger live in for 1 month, and if i'm going to breastfeed full time, there's really nothing much else the confinement lady can help me with. quite a waste of $ to spend $2k plus for her to only bathe and change diapers right..

Baby Fair @ Expo in Feb: Should be good plc to stock up on diapers and also to get samples. Thanks Ciarie for the info!

Pat: I lurve Hi-Chew -- can finish one tube in one sitting. But so ex now...

Tingting: My hubby and I also don't like idea of letting stranger stay with us overnight. For B1, my mom just came over like 4hrs per day to help. For B2 I'm now thinking of getting day-time confinement help. If can't find I'll just manage on my own and hv my mom come ovr a couple of hrs a day again. I didn't even eat much confinement food - thot of catering but it's also abt $1.6k -- can faint!

Whoever comes to help, impt thing is look after baby while mommy catch up on slp

BP for

1. Maclaren/Peg Perego/Maxi Cosi Strollers/Car Seats

2. Babymallonline, 2nd batch, still taking orders

3. Cot mobile / Play mats

4. Desitin creamy, california calendular cream still few pieces left. Also, drugstore spree closing Jan

Pls PM me for info. Thanks

wah Hi-chew so popular leh. I also can finish the whole tube in one sitting leh. Only got 6-7 small pcs right? So little and so expensive!! But soooo nice!!

Kidzkidz and baby mummy are tempting me to buy a few tubes on the way home later..

Tingting arh, doing confinement by yourself is very tedious work. You sure you even want to consider? You have to take care of baby, burp baby, breastfeed baby, cook your own confinement meals, bathe the baby, do all the housework and laundry..

I had a friend who managed to do it all by herself but she was very depressed during that period. I think you deserve a good rest after delivery. Even if you don't want to have a live-in nanny, at least have yr relatives or your mum help out like kidzkidz. Won't be so tough.

Tingting, I'm not engaging a confinement nanny too. This is my 2nd baby so I oredi kinda know what to do. Plus we're all living with my in-laws and there's not enough room for another person. So i'm thinking of just catering confinement food.

any mummies heard any feedback regarding some of the more famous confinement food caterers? Like New Baby, Natal Essentials, or Confinementfood.com?

Jas J, i've gone...got a package with Spa Esprit. But have not gone in quite a while coz been too busy to go all the way down to town. But it's so shiok, my swollen feet shrank after the massage.

Pat,

All mums are pretty in their own way lah haha..Tell me tell me, you sat where and wore what that day? I got good memory, should be able to recall

Keke JamGal, don't want to tell you leh. Let you guess. Actually when you said you were also there on sat, I just had this intuition that you must be the one in the yellow top. Let's see if you also have got mummy's intuition.

I m v KS, i book for my confinement lady when i was 2 mth preg.. but then i was just on time, cos this confinement lady is quite popular. when i book her for myself for Apr...she already been booked up till Mar le, so it was just nice.

jamgal,

Oic, cos this is the 1st time i experience it..v xin ku last night...
my tummy was super bloated lor..

RE: Heartburn
Pink Piglet, U may want to eat smaller meals especially before sleep time? I had heartburn too but that was in my 1st trimester. It's such an awful feeling. Gynae prescribed antacid but hmmm the taste doesn't go well with my stomach too and it is just a short term relieve.

Alternatives is to sleep in a propped up position using several pillows to elevate the head. I put mine in a horizontal and vertical position like a "T" and sleep! This works miracles for me!

If you are taking antacid, remember it is just like iron &amp; calcium. Need to take 2 hours apart as it can interfere with iron absorption.

RE: Confinement
Pravina, now I understand why you have not found your confinement lady! Right now, I do not have any contacts of English speaking confinement ladies! I remember Baby &amp; Mummy has an issue on confinement and agencies. They should be able to do a match but it will be a trial and error thingy since there are no referrals/reviews. Will help you look for the details when I am home ya?

And your nightly milk+choco sounds delicious. Lots of endorphines! Keeps baby happy!! I simply have no idea what time I will doze off... so its dinner time and KO time... my poor baby has no special treats from me!!

Wow.. confinement food costs $1.6K too? That's really expensive. I think the critical time is the 1st or 2nd week when we need to handle the care of baby plus recover from our wounds. Unless hubby can offer 100% support in chores and night feeds too, else mummy will be tired out.

I think there are also some people hiring day time confinement lady. I guess another alternative is to have a part time maid for chores while mummy look after baby. That will bring down the cost significantly and offer some privacy and rest time for the couple.

RE: Square 2
Pat! It's a small mall just beside Novena Square (Velocity). Just next to the mrt station. Yamagawa is at the basement. Yes yes! The honeydrew kitkat is yummy too!

I'm bad lah.. before preggy also love sweet stuff. Now I think it's even worse! Hi-Chew is like my anti-nausea pill! It keeps morning sickness and discomfort at bay for me... "comfort" food. :p But still must control.. dun wanna get gestational diabetes!!

RE: BPA free bottles
Exactly.. I have been running into walls trying to find BPA free bottles. They cost more than double the price of normal bottles. A simple gauge is Avent BPA free &amp; Nuk BPA free costs about $25 each in sg! So it's either buying from sprees in US or buy non-BPA ones. Pigeon has a range in SG that is slightly more affordable.

And yes, tingting you are right. I got this from avent website: BPA can leach at dangerous levels from the plastic and into the liquid held in the baby bottle especially when bottles are heated to extreme temperatures.

RE: Infantcare
4eva! You have an excellent employer there to offer you the option of no pay leave for the rest of the year post maternity leave. I just joined for 2M only.. so won't have the luxury of doing so. Most likely will have my MIL help for 6Ms or so before sending baby to infant care.

By the way, is infant care defined as from "2M to 18M"? Heard that queues are long for infant/childcare! Pre-booking may be advisable.

OMG.. i think I type too much!! Such a looong post!

pravina,

u meant water retention could be a sign of high blood pressure? i'm not sure what kinda swelling u r refering to..but i also put on alot of wt...so i m fat..wahahhaah...

Wow baby mummy, that was really a very long post!!

What is extreme temperature huh? At home, the most extreme temperature we can get by boiling is 100 degree celsius or slightly more. We won't be able to achieve 1000 degree celsius unless we are using industrial boilers leh.

So like that still harmful?

baby mummy,

I will be placing my bb at infantcare, cos there's no one who could help me take care of my bb
. any idea how many b4 should we make the bookings?

Baby_mummy,

Pigeon has this range of BPA free bottles and it costs quite reasonable. The big ones are around $15.90 if I'm not wrong. You can get from Kiddy Palace and most leading departmental stores. The The bottle labels are in Japanese language and the bottles are slightly yellow in colour.

Pat,

You very notti, I told you liao you don't tell me

hi karrie, pat, kidzkidz,

this is my #2 too. i didn't have a confinement lady the last round, but my hb was ard then to cook simple meals. This time he can't take leave.

My plan is to cook my own simple lunch (with pre-portioned ingredients), my hb bring back dinner fr my parents' place, engage cleaning lady to clean hse once/twice a week. Then over weekends my parents to bring over the more traditional confinement dishes. Shld be do-able?

confinement catering for 1 month is abt $1k right? Was considering that, but I don't take some of the things they cook in the menu, and some dont deliver to my area.