(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

tingting,

wow r u sure u can managed? anyone taking care of your no 1? if yes maybe still not too bad..it will be better if ur hubby could prepare the ingredients for ur lunch...so u just need to cook the food...

Hi Pink_Piglet,
I've signed mine up for infant care last mth... and it was already full, now on waiting list for the period between Aug - Dec (have to pay a fee for to guarantee a placing between this period). So I think you should be looking for one immediately if you really need a place.

Go scout a few before you decide, because I found that some care center's standard really can't make it.

wow u meant for next yr Aug-Dec already like full? thats scary leh..

I doubt i have much choices, i have only one infantcare which is of walking dist from my place...
I havnt go down to have a look yet... like i need to place my bb when i start work somewhere in Aug.

Pat, Haaa.. I just type and type and type... and went out of control!

I have no idea what's the defined extreme temperature too! Very vague description. Did a google search, some say it leach at room temperature, with a even higher amount at boiling point. Very diversified opinion and definition!

I am alerted first by the recommendation of my gynae and second, by the fact that Canada is in the process of gathering feedbacks on banning products that contain BPA.

As you mention before, it is just another way for mummies to further protect their babies!

Hi Pink_Piglet,

I'm also having heartburns. Really bad ones that make me puke too.. I couldnt even sleep elevated. Gg to see the doc later cos did not go to work today.

tried taking Eno Fruit salt..does help for the instance.

JamGal, I am the one who ate the most sandwiches lor hahah! As if you would have noticed like that. I am the one who is the most talkative in class lah. The one who yak yak yak with hubby even though lesson was going on.

Baby mummy, you very eh sai leh. Sorry huh, married hokkien beng, so my language also a bit lian wu boh. Typing also will go out of control. Now I'm wondering how out of control you can get when it comes to hi-chews. keke

I just had another cup of honey green tea with pearls again. So yummy. And I have got a big big portion of equally yummy choco cake in the fridge.. Yeah!!!

No wonder I put on 13kg........ sob sob

I am now week 28 and start to haveswollen legs. I will try to lift up my legs to see if it helps.....going to see gynae this friday....kind of worry.

Pat,

Advise to reduce on the bubble tea...green tea are also loaded with caffine and watch the sugar level esp in the last trimester!! :p

So far i've only put on 5kg...

but doc says my baby is weighing alright...at 26th wk..bb weighs 1.1kg

I hope I don't get heartburn. It sounds horrible. Have to eat small portions and eat slowly. Try not to drink liquids while having meals coz I think it will aggravate the situation.

Jiayou, we are in the 3rd trimester already. So we only have got a few more months of suffering to endure.

For the poor ones who had to endure morning sickness in the initial period and then tolerate with other discomforts during the 2nd trimester, just take heart that everything will be coming to an end soon.

JIA YOU!!

Pat,

Yes u r right. hopefully u wont get heartburn.. I used to enjoy my meals and i really have the appetite...now hor, really changed..feel v sianz...i like hot and spicy stuff some more...

Hi Marie

Cannot reduce bubble tea lah, I will die!! Ya, green tea also has got caffeine but compared to coffee, still alright. haha. I have about 2 caffeinated drinks every day leh keke. Gynae ok it wor haha.

And hor, she excused me from taking Glucose Tolerance Test coz she says I am not in the risky group although I told her I have been having lots of sugars. keke

5kg is good leh. and bb's weight is good too.

Yes. I heard Infant care is crowded as it almost fully booked..

I also didnt employ confinement lady cause I think I cant afford the rate at all.. My mother say she will ask her maid to help me cook meal.. and bring to my house.. The meal definitely is not those tradition confinement food. maybe only the 1 or 2 dishes..

I don't know whether will it be feasible. i was thinking of engaging a maid for a month so she can help me take care of the baby, bath so that I can rest as I will be having caesarian..

Pink piglet,
dun think water retention equates to high BP.. but best to get it checked out..
i read that symptoms of preclampsia include swelling of face, ankles and fingers.
reducing salt intake is advised and increasing water intake.
i hv swelled ankles that appear in the evening but disappear the next day.
Best to try walking every 45-60min to help blood circulation but dun stand too long and sit too much!!

I also dun really control my diet especially sugar diet.. I will gulp myself fruit juice everyday.. normally i buy those fresh juice with no sugar added.. Think should be ok ba..

I will also drink Yogurt drink instead of milk.. Now the marigold Yogurt drink with no fat.. heehee

Is it ok? but i think should be better than drinking soft drink ba..

baby mummy,
thanx for looking it up!!
been looking at confinement ladies, catering confinement food ( which btw is abt 1.4k for 2meals/day, 28days) and part-time cleaning help..

GreenTea or teas
as long as you dun let the tea bags or leaves brew too long, the caffeine level is low compared to coffee.
i take teh ci peng so its diluted with the ice and also light-colored teas that are brewed for abt 2min.

i still take cold drinks cos its just very hot in SG.
i still take coke( never a whole can, 330ml)and sprite ( the bubbliness helps calm my on-off nausea

ENO works as well for me..i take it when i have really spicy food which i cannot resist!!
i'm a chilli padi junkie!
=O

I'm in a holiday mood although CNY is still 2 wks away. I've never spent so much time typing away like today.

Pink Piglet, you will start enjoying yr meals like before soon. Give yourself 2-3 more months. By the way, gynae can give you acid reflux pills to stop the heartburn right? Maybe you'll feel better.

Hi Pat,,
Me also in holiday mood liao.. going to Batam during chinese new year.. so happy..
can rest with relax with my hubby..

Think is our last time together before the baby is born.

pat,
my hb may be a Shanghainese.. but he has got perfectly NO KNOWLEDGE of his dialect at all!
think i'm slightly better than him cos I know how to greet pple in Shanghainese, whereas he dunno! wahaha...

he knows other dialects, ie, hokkien and und cantonese, teochew & kek, but speaks good hokkien only.

re: bb bottle
baby_mummy, in fact my #1 bb refused ALL the teats after discharged from hospital.
den both my hb n myself panicked, rushed back to hospital, and asked which teat was he given at hospital, and realised its NUK teat. so took back few sample teats fm hospital to standby.. wahaha...
henceforth, have been using NUK for my #1.

guess #2 is tat, just double chk w the hospital nursery nurses which teat are they using for your bb b4 u discharge
OR, specify which teat u want ur bb to use jic u encounter e same prob as me..

re: confinement lady
tingting, though having a stranger at home for 1 whole month is nt a good idea, BUT being first-time mummy, its always good to have someone experienced to be around to help here and there..

apart from this, laundry wise, its always good to have someone ard to prepare proper confinement food for you, so u can have 100% focus on your rest and learning how to take care of ur bb…

eg. bathing bb, though we can do it, BUT, u will need extra pair of hands to clean up e mess, eg bb diaper, water, soap…

Pink Piglet, can opt for babysitters if infantcare really fully booked? One-to-one care also.

LovJ, no need to go visiting during CNY? Where will you be staying in Batam? How many months are you? Batam mostly resorts leh, still can parade around in bikini??

I have got the ugly brown pigmented line running down my belly. Don't dare to wear bikini liao but actually I've never really dared to wear bikini also.

Hubby and I were supposed to go Macau in July/Aug 2008 too leh. Everything was firmed but I started spotting and then gushing blood. Had to cancel the trip. I also had the same mentality like you. Last trip before the bb comes but too bad I couldn't follow it through.

Hb is nice enough to say that we will go for a trip when bb turns 6 months. He says it is a matter of mentality. If we think everything also cannot be done once baby is here, everything really cannot be done lor. So it is more how we change our mindsets.

What we want to do is within our control lor. I thought that made very much sense. My Hokkien beng also got some 'ink' keke.

Thread is moving fast because I have turned into a hogger from a total non-poster. I think I posted about 90% of the postings leh. I don't have the time to post so much actually but I would ocassionally come in to read. In a very CNY mood lah, so I don't mind posting silly comments for my own entertainment.

Like baby mummy, post and post until lose control keek.

Hi Pat,

Gd for u. Cos i have a couple of frens that was diagnose with diabetes in the 8th mth. So kind of worry. I do take sugared drink like Sprite. Hubby refuses to let me drink Coke..Angry..

LovJ,

So nice..Lovey Dovey. I'm also planning a little getaway next mth during my anniversary Valentine's Day.
Hehehe..

Confinement Lady..

I'm getting confinement help as it's been a long time since my MIL took care of an infacnt baby. It's a gd time for her to refresh and for me to rest well enuff to care for my bb from the 2nd mth.

1 of my fren is ordering confinement food from caterers like Select. I think it's affordable(300-400plus) for those not hiring help. At least u dun have to worry about food.

Hahaha.. me working place is slack too.. Dun care..

As for pat.. I not so fortunate.. my hokkien hubby work 6.5 days a week. public holiday need to work half day as well.. Lowly educated and he dont like to work office job..

Chinese new year is the only 2 days that declare no work at all. So that why i super excited..

I big size and fat so cant wear Bikini at all.. Just wanna go out to spend time with my hubby..

to all mommies

any one experia of look after more than 2 bb and do house work on weekend only weekday is FTWM

and all bb is diff less than 2 yr

and without hb help

pls share u experia ?

Pink Piglet: You reali have to start sourcing if you intend to put bb in Aug..cos from wat I know quite a no. of infant care already full till end of this year..sounds scary ar...

Pat: I agree with you and your hb about the mentality..my hb and I intend to go for a trip end of this year too...I couldn't go on any cos have very severe MS..can't wait to deliver cos I feel so lousy everyday..we share the same EDD ar? My date has been changing so frequently since I was pregnant..now I just follow the detailed scan EDD, which is 20 April..u?

Ciarie: Can I check with you? I read that NUK teats are softer and more like the mum's nipple so it's highly recommended..is it compatible with avent bottles? Cos that time bought a lot for my sis-in-law but she din use so I plan to use them..dun wana waste money...

LovJ: Do be careful about drinking too much of those no fat drinks though cos they are usually even higher in sugar..so sometimes it's just sufficient to go for the low fat ones...

Any ladies here with low placenta? My doc says he will monitor..if it doesn't go up, will have to go for Csect..haiz..dun wish for that though..heard that it's harder to recover...

Haha.. ya it's me! Turned into the "hogger" like Pat mentioned!! But think it's more fun, informative and hmm should I say entertaining?? I think even the May thread is moving faster than us!! The champion is still our March thread!

Thank 4eva for your advise.. How about the no sugar added fruit juice? i bought 2 bottles for a week supply.. 1 day a cup ..

All of you had a very revealing stomach..

My mother say, i just becoming more fatter only.. and dun look like preggie..

Pat,

were you wearing white top, green pants?? haha...you better tell me else i will be pestering you till this Saturday!!

LovJ, it would be best to eat the fruit itself or make the juice...but i tink you take a cup a day still not so bad.. BTW, i'm no expert in all these but used to be very conscious about health and weight b4 preggie..hee..

Marie: if it's reali 300-400, it's reali cheap..cos from wat I know..it's usu at least 1k and above for confinement food catering...

Where are you ladies delivering ar? I can't decide btw Thomson and Mt A..heard that Thomson very pro bf and experienced..but I feel that MT A like newer..hmm..prices I tink it's comparable..

BTW, do you ladies drink milk everyday? I hate the taste of it..nvr drank milk last time also..i haven't been drinking now too..only on and off drink some soya milk..very terrible hor...but I try to compensate by eating cheese and yogurt...

Hi Chris,

I think it's for 1 mth. Prob u can check out for more details.

LovJ,
No worries..My tummy also not very revealing. can see lah..I keep thinking my tummy too small for now. 7th mth & gaining only 5kg..a little too little to believe. Keeps bugging hubby to check if the weighing scale is faulty. :p

Heehee..
I a lazy going to be mummies.. No doing housework. ask to eat fruit and juice,.. I also lazy.. I rather buy.. Hai..

I know I cant be so lazy liao.. My hubby keep saying that i too lazy. always laze and sleep at home when i never work.. still joke with his friends, that I wont wake up if my baby cry in the middle of the night.. but i believe is mother instinct that i will be taking care of my baby,.. heehee

Hi Pink Piglet,
i tried booking for July, but its full. They can only guarantee a placing between Aug - Dec period (if not they will refund my deposit).

Mine is around SengKang area. Where is yours?

Marie, my anniversary also next month leh but it's the 1st. Not wedding anniversary though. More start of relationship and ROM anniversary. That's why when ppl ask me how long I'm married, I dunno how to answer leh. Should follow ROM or the traditional wedding?? But now I normally take the traditional wedding date lah coz nobody bothers about when you were ROMed one. Non-official mah.

My hubby also works 6 days week. Only diff is that we are working together so I see him 24 hours a day, 7 days a week, 365 days a year keke.

LuvJ! Enjoy your Batam trip!
Remember to go for the Johnny Andrean Hair Spa @Mega Mall. Only $10 for the hairspa + blowdrying! I simply love it! Great massage and hair soft soft one!

JamGal: Thanks for the Pigeon link! That bottle is also in my KIV list of BPA-free product!!

Ciarie: YES yes!! That's what happened to my friend's bb! She rejected avent teat for nuk teat coz the hospital uses NUK teat too..

Marie: Me too! Put on 5kg only.. but dunno why gynae say my bb only 300g+!! That's why I am abit worried of the bb weight!

Jas J: OMG! So fast it's full? I heard the childcare over at my workplace needs to wait for 1 year. Infant care not too sure.. think I also better check out soon!!

Pat: I also think I quite tekong hor? keke.. ya so u can imagine my hi-chew intake lah.. Stores of it in office drawer, at home and 1 hiding in my handbag!! (Muz keep it out of sight of hubby else he say I poison bb again!)

RE: Natural delivery
I wanna try.. but I am scared!! Dunno how leh

Jacqueline: I think swollen legs is quite common esp when you are 28weeks! My colleague say reducing salt consumption helps. Maybe you can try that! And yup, its always best to check with gynae!

Pink Piglet: QUICK run and survey the infant care now!! Shortlist and chop a place!

Oops 4eva, I think i remembered wrongly leh. I thought we shared the same EDD. Mine's 2 April 2009. The screen on the scan shows 30 March 2009 but gynae always tells me to take 2 April as the correct date wor. So my EDD doesn't change.

I have got low placenta too!! The last week when I went for my 28th wk scan, the gynae said it has shifted up but a little, a few millimetres I think.

She says it's still too soon to decide whether I have to go through caesarean. She says have to wait until the 32nd wk to know. So that's 3 wks later.

She says it is unlikely for the placenta to shift anymore after the 32nd wk. The most growth takes place from the 28-32nd wk so if the placenta will shift, it will shift during this period. If not, probably will stay low.

Keeping my fingers crossed coz I don't want to see my tummy smiling at me in the mirror.

Pre-natal massage - I intend to do it, but anything I should look out for to see if they are pro enough (like they shouldn't be massaging which part... etc)?

JamGal, white top and green pants sounds like the one sitting next to me leh. keke pester me lor. I will let you know if you hit the jackpot

Hi baby_mummy... yes, need to work on it now. Infant care are very sought after lately. and each care centre takes in only around 10-15 depending # of care givers.

wah baby mummy, you must be a very rich mummy. rich in sugar and heavy in cash. where got ppl stash so much hi-chews one???

your jaws don't get tired from chewing meh? I hear the amount you stash I also nearly kena poisoned.

Hey $10 hair treatment sounds fantastic leh. Somemore leave the hair soft soft sounds very tempting kekeke... Where's the mall huh? Within walking distance from the ferry terminal??

Pat,

u r the one first one ah, wearing tights one or the 3rd one. I tink I can remember the first couple, but not the 3rd...oops!!!! can you come and 'hi hi' to me this saturday haha?

whoohooo!! so many posts to catch up in these 2 days! haha is so exciting!

4eva, i've low placenta too, my gynae also told me that I'll need a c-sec if it doesnt move up. just keeping my fingers crossed!

Re: weight gain
Ha! I think I must be ballooning big time esp is CNY period, been sampling and eating here and there.

I've booked my CL when I was 2 months preg, supposedly popular and good, so just went ahead with it. I'm determined to have a good confinement this time round, my gf claimed her health improved tremendously when she followed a really strict confinement.

I got my avent BPA free bottles in US, is really expensive here. Perhaps can consider the spree, will still be much cheaper even with shipping costs.

kekek, the one you don't remember lor. Still say your memory very good. I think I have the best memory ok. I can tell you everyone who is there arh.

<font color="0000ff">Infant Care:</font> Wow! Now hard to get plc coz of the M&amp;P II package that govt rolled out. B1's CC now charges $1500 for infant care. When she entered in June '07, it was $1050 (promo rate)

<font color="0000ff">Confinement Food:</font> I did Trial (can't rmbr whc caterer) and they asked me what I don't eat and they won't give me. So chk with whc ever caterer you want to use. Btw, if charge is only $300 (i.e. couple of hundred $) it's likely for 14 day period. Coz 28-day period usually starts @ $1000 for one meal/day only.

<font color="0000ff">NUK teats:</font> Think each brand practice protectionism so likely need to use same brand's teat on their own bottle. NUK was recommended to me by B1's CC teacher coz she wasn't taking to bottle well. The teacher said many of the infants in their CC took to NUK better than other brands. It did wk with my B1 tho the teacher told me later the latex one (brownish) is much softer than the transparent silicone one (whc I got) -- but it turns all soggy after sterilisation b4 regaining it's form. As it worked with B1, I recommended to my friends and they also found success using it. This said, really depends on baby leh -- some takes to bottle veri easily. My biggest fear at start was not to intro bottle to baby too early in case she then preferred it and rejected breast. So I fully bf till like 2wks b4 I went back to work. Thus had hard time getting her to take to bottle -- she went on hunger strike while I was @ wk...

<font color="0000ff">Heartburn:</font> I kena w both pregs tho this time started fr 4th mth inst of last tri. Liquid Gaviscon is suitable for preggies bt seriously all antacids wk only to a certain extend. Juz gotta avoid spicy and oily food if heartburn is real bad. I've now switched to drinking fresh milk instead whc seems to be helping better and is a natural beverage