(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

hi kittybride...
BETTER STOP HANDWASHING ASAP!!! its too strenous le...

not good for both u and bb inside u..

oh.. its my #2 now.. for #1, i dint really get maternity cloths cos tummy din really show until much later stage, so i just went Osmose to get those stretchable tops and pants and done deal.

but for this #2... due to my getting fatter and fatter, those osmose clothings also cant really make it le.. so hv to get new clothings lo..

hey Yvonne
re: shop
its at Toa Payoh central, those shop houses.
its at the stretch opp Poh Heng's block. and this shop is in the middle of the stretch.
cant really describe e exact place.. sorry..

but the shop will showcase some maternity clothings...

re: tummy tight
think its e bb growing inside that stretching our tummy?? i'll usually feel so once i start eating for e day, and towards e end of the day, tats it! feeling as if its gg to burst anytime!
but in e moni, its ok.. :p:p

Hi JamGal..
I do experience some pain near pelvic area if i stand up too suddenly sometimes..not sure if it's the same kind of pain you experienced.

i feel some pain when sitting down but goes away when stand up.. i hv back problem before pregnancy so been very careful not to bend or carry heavy things.
Pain in pelvic area is more like pulsating sensation.. bearable but very unexpected..
will be seeing gynae in abt a week's time. will ask!

ciarie,
YES MADAM! :D
will avoid as much as possible lah coz i also feel a bit tired now that my tummy getting bigger (and tighter! argh!!)

juxta,
you 100% hainanese leh, wat u think of the hainanese men ah? :D my hb dotes on me lah but he oso sometimes a bit MCP lor. hehehee...
and i heard hainanese women very 'chia' type leh, garang garang like harimau (fierce like tigress!) hehehee... can see some of that traits in my dotter character oredi. jia lat liao...

re: following JIA PU for bb boy's name
any1 know if we use the middle name of the dialect's jia pu, does it have to be accordingly to the surname, or province where the ancestor is from? how do they trace back to the 1st name in the jia pu ah?

juxta & Rachel C,
i believe our HB's surnames all different, dats y the middle name used also different, rite? or u ladies can ask your hainanese elders? i really dun like my FIL's pattern of anyhow following one of the grandpa's name lor. if wana follow jia pu, better make it a standard one, rite?

furthermore, my HB is the 1st boy in his generation (among his siblings/boy cousins with same surname) and if the middle name he use for my son, then the rest of his siblings/cousins' sons will have to follow liao. big responsibility leh...

Candigal,

I think maybe it's because the bb is pressing on our pelvic area also, that is why we feel that aching sensation.

Hmm.. think that aching sensation is called round ligament pain. Comes with sudden movement or shift in position. It's harmless altho very uncomfy right? I think we have to move very slowly lor.

I just went to see my gynae. 28th wk today. Baby is 1.26kg and i'm glad to report that I only put on 2kg last month keke. that brings my total weight gain to 13kg. I hope I will continue doing this well next few months until delivery.

Read stories about how some mummies have difficulty shedding the weight after that. Although I do want some flesh, I am so scared I will regret it after I give birth haha.

Has any of you gotten car seats? Any good ones to recommend?

I'm also a 100% hainanese leh. I am quite chia hahaha but not overly so lah keke. In fact, I thought I have toned down so much. Only chia to unreasonable ppl now.

My dad is a hainanese and he is one super tough man lor. When my parents had me, my mum was only 24, my dad was 32.

Dad focused so much on his career that for the most of our growing years, my sisters and I never really remembered seeing him. My mum was the one who almost single-handedly brought us up.

But now that they are old, my mum is his gem. He pampers her so much. He is also very sweet to her. So I think, yes, hainanese men are very sweet and attentive on the whole, although they can be quite MCP.

If the woman of a hainanese man can stand by him and his MCP ways, think the hainanese man will stay devoted to this woman for life.

hi pat,
wah... nicely put!
hope this new generation hainanese men also like your dad lor - devoted to building up career and family too!

i just complaint to my hb for not being expressive enough to our gal - he seldom kiss her while i'm the opposite! his reason - will pass on germs to her smooth face and always tell me not to kiss to much when i have make up on! wah piangz.... i guess he dotes on her in his own way lah. hehehee...

RE: CNY clothings
any1 mommies managed to get nice CNY clothings to cover up our 3rd tri big tummies?

Thanks for the advice. I went to see my gynae yest. She did v scan and said there's no opening yet and bb still not engage and she is lying still high. However the contraction is a warning sign of premature labour, so i should watch out. She told me not to be stress and walk to fast..

BB is fine and she said quite big...27 wk weighing 1.3kg. Dr has given me medi to block pre-term contraction.

any mum encountering baby kicking non-stop for more than 3 mins?

this morn i woke up from my dream at 4.19am and realise that baby is kicking non-stop (1 kick every 2 second)for 3 mins - 1st time experiencing this. then slowly the frequency reduces... search online and realise this is normal. but was worried and almost wanted to call the clinic. But because no bleeding or pain, just put on some music and monitor baby kickings... cant sleep after that.

hi mummies.. GOOD MORNING TO YOU!!!

re: jia pu names
my hb family has gt a jia pu, and its really a book that has got the names of all the family members in the book.

its updated till my FIL generation and stopped there.. :p
but my Uncle-in-law said he will update lo.. ha...:p

in the jia pu, it states which generation shd use what middle name for the baby and so we just adopt lo..
in fact, my hb generation din use cos its very diff to name, his generation is "er", 而..
so the grandma overwrite with something tat she tot is nice...

come my bb generation is "li", 立. and i tot is quite nice, so i adopt lo..
hee..

and i tot its supposed to be this way, and not like dunno where the jia pu is, den just anyhow follow which grandfather name la...

Hi Eline
havent really monitor like for 3mins.. but i onli know my bb is start kicking whenever i cross my leg and its quite consistent until i put down my leg both feet on the floor, den he'll stop kicking..

and during night time... nightmare! will kick until i fall asleep lo... :p:p

Hi mummies....
was thking for my #1 in apr07 thread, the mummies started a tracking list for all mummies, telling our edd, #? bb, our gynae, delivering hospital, bb gender, etc...

thinking if we shd start one here as well...
wat say mummies in e house??

eline,

i think its good that bb is kicking...no worries hor... maybe bb dreaming that himself/herself playing football..kekekek so cute

Ciarie: I got some capris from that shop coz my gynae is there. Each pc abt $25-$28. I also shopped at the Song & Song there and found $3 & $5 pants with elastic-waistband. Veri good bargains.

On New Year's Day I was @ Taka and saw Thyme Maternity had promo on tees. Buy 2 get 3rd pc free. Priced at either $29.90 or $39.90 - quite worth it. Think got >5 designs of spaghetti straps, tanks, short or long sleeves. So I got 3 but the thicker material ones and a size bigger coz I use dryer @ home.

I'm 27weeks, also have problem falling asleep or sleeping well. Can't find a good/proper position sleep. I also experience pain in the groin sometimes then can only walk very slowly when it happens.

For confinement how do you all avoid hands touching water?? I find it so hard. Everytime i go toilet sure need to wash. My grandma told me not suppose to touch water. Those who follow strict confinement rules how do you all do it?? I trying my best to do a strict and full confinement for the last time. Pls share if you know. Tks.

kittybride/pat, Yeah! I think so far hainanese men are all rather typical! They're all served like kings by mother/wife hahah so can be MCP but do dote on wife alot right, at least my father and bro are! I'm quite 'chia bo' loh hahah, feisty! Seems to be a trait leh, my cousins are all not meek either.

Re: jiapu, i think follow by surname and the ancestral book whatever ba, hainan island quite big and also got many different kinds. so far all the "zeng" and "lin" I know follow 1 set of middle names. We still have relatives in Hainan Island, so really duno can call them and ask.

pat, can you speak the dialect?

dodos, eh I also wonder how to avoid not to wash hands? Then you've to handle baby, hygiene very impt ya? When I had no. 1, I was literally washing hand all day long. I need some tips in this dept too.

ciarie

wow, your hb family really very ON with the jia pu thingy.
i dun thk my FIL side does that, he just say got the jia pu in HAINAN ISLAND! GASP!!!

dats y now he suggested using his grandfather's name lor. i so sian about this naming thingy! sigh!!!

dodos
no chance of NOT touching water during confinement. but heard from another mummy that each time u touch water, use the rice wine to wash - shd be able to keep the 'wind' out or something. but i never tried that before - too late liao coz by then my confinement over oredi.

Sorry for the interruption.

Siemens Healthcare Sector (Ultrasound Division) is providing free 3D ultrasound scans for expectant mothers. A total of 10 mothers are required. So bring along your friends! A free CD with your baby's 3D images will be given after the scan.

Details:
1) Preference: 17-32 weeks pregnancy
2) Date: 16-18 Jan 2009 (Fri-Sun)
3) Time: 12 noon onwards
4) Duration: 1hr
5) Venue: Ritz Carlton Hotel
6) Contact: Jessie Wong, ofc 6490 8076 or Dr Liu, hp 9678 5889

Please be assured that for the Siemens free scan, you are not guinea pigs, and Siemens is not testing the machines. They are selling these machines to Ob doctors in the region, and worldwide. They need you as models to train their sonographers and sales people, so they can learn how to scan pregnant mommies and things to look out for.

Please refer to this thread for an earlier scan for Dec 2008 mommies. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/578191/1742857.html?1222314404#POST5865189

wow kidzkidz
u really shopping spree ah!!! :p:p:p
maybe will go Song & Song to see see if have good bargains..

seldom go town wo.. but if go down, will pop by thymes for some lookout as well!

thanks for sharing wo!!

hey kittybride
no la... not ONZ la.. just somehow e book is still kept ard, and my hb uncle said, next time will pass it down to us lo... wahaha... :p:p

ask ur FIL to contact some relative in Hainan island to chk it out la.. rather than anyhow use grandfather name... faint!

Sorry to tell you that the slots for the Siemens ultrasound scan has been fully booked.

ciarie,
thanks for the info on the shop at toa payoh central, will go check it out..

i went see my gynae today, at 26th wk bb is 980g, she was 460g 1 mth ago..
my gynae ask me to record bb movement/kick daily if possible, if i know bb movement/kick pattern, it will be easier to spot the different and be alert when thing is not rite..

does any mummy experiencing nose bleed? i had it quite often, i spoke to my gynae today, she said is normal as hormone changed blood vessel will expand..

yupz, i get nose bleeds pretty often as well. It's due to the increased blood flow (which also contributes to ur pregnancy glow) during pregnancy.
For me, the nose bleeds started all the way from first trimester and once in a while, i get those gushing nose bleeds. Otherwise, I usually just get minor bleeds when I blow my nose. It's pretty harmless but just very annoying. :p

I think the best way to reduce nose bleeds would be to keep your nasal passages well-hydrated e.g. use humidifier if the environment is too drying.

I have these to let go.

(1) Dunstan Baby Language DVD set Paid $60. Selling for $30.

(2) My Brest Friend in Dots www.mybrestfriend.com. Used for a month. Cover already washed. Paid around $60. Selling for $20.

(3) The Peanut Shell sling in Retro Pink (reversible) in size 2. Never used because baby doesn't like it. Washed once and there's a little run in colour. But very small patch. http://www.thepeanutshell.com/shop/baby_slings/reversible_slings/retro_pink_baby_sling
Paid around $80 for mine. Selling for $40.

Interested, email me at [email protected]. Thanks!!

Hi Pink Piglet,

I in my 26 weeks now.. I also suffer from very serious nose bleed.. But I used to it. Haha. always bring tissue .

Hi any mummies,

Any one going for planned cesarian.. cause I going for c-section. But the doctor give me a range date which is 37 weeks plus. Can anyone share with your experience, what will happen if baby come out early.. Will cause any problem for baby'?
Please advise

Thank

kittybride, I had secretly hoped to marry a hainanese actually. Coz most ppl say hainanese husbands are good-looking and dote on their wives. But no such luck leh. Only attracted a hokkien beng keke. Happy thought that this Hokkien beng is quite meek so I can bully him haha.

what an excuse to give for not getting close to bb. germs are good!! next time your baby's immunity will be better mah.

As for CNY clothings, I didn't get any. I figured it'll just be for 1 cny so not worth it. I very ngiao one. haha

eline, i think i have a very active girl inside me also. always kicking non-stop. so I think that's normal.

I did read that bb has its mood too. sometimes feel like lazing around, sometimes feel like a kick-boxing session. So don't be overly worried.

Juxta, I can't speak hainanese at all leh. I am an idiot when it comes to dialects. Not very good wor. But I can understand some simple words like jia bui, bong gang.

I always find hainanese a very 'ugly' language. The tone is not very pleasant lor. doesn't help that my hainanese relatives like to speak at the top of their voices. Initially I thought they were going to break out into a fight but turns out they were having fun chit-chatting.

I think someone did do up the tracking list last time but over the months, lazy already. And the list is so long, it's so difficult to keep track too. whoever is compiling this list must be commended on the good job done.

I think I also cannot imagine not washing my hands during confinement. I am a little of a clean freak. touch something only need to wash hands one.

ciarie, your husband good-looking hainanese or not huh? kekek and to all the women who married hainanese men, are you all very submissive and self-sacrificing since hainanese men are so MCP and needs to be waited upon?

I think I can't marry a hainanese man coz I want to be waited upon leh.. Marry a hainanese man I think the household will be in chaos keke. Baby cry also no one wants to feed.

baby is considered prematured if it comes out before 37 wks. Anytime 37wks or after is fine. So I think your planned caesarean date should be ok. But your gynae will know best lah.

Just like to let you know that there are some great deals for this CNY at Maternity Exchange at Marina Square #03-108. They've got a new New Recessionista Rental Package - just $129 for 4 pcs, which is great for those who just want a few pieces, like for Chinese New Year! The package is valid for a year and each piece can be rented for 4 to 8 weeks. You can also buy brand new pieces or rent by individual piece.

Or if you're busy or lazy to step out, you can also shop online at
http://shop.maternityexchange.sg/shop/index.cgi. They're having 10% off new CNY styles for online purchases.

They've got lots of new maternity and nursing styles out, especially at their Marina Square flagship store. So, do pop by for a look!

More details can be found at http://www.maternityexchange.sg
or http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/

Happy New Year!

1. BP for medela freestyle US import at half the price of Singapore medela freestyle set (already 3 mummies interested, pls PM me for info if interested)

2. Babymall online BP first batch ordered, still have mummies interested for second batch order, some USD more to hit 180usd, pls PM for info

3. Drugstore BP - Pls PM for info and also ready stock for california calendular cream at bulk purchase price, desitin creamy 4oz and first teeth enzyme toothpaste avail

4. Capella Strollers

Calling all Fashionista MTBs

I have a Kate Spade/Maclaren Biarritz Infant Carrier to sell. Got it as a gift, and i already have one so am giving up the branded/new one.

2066659.gif

It was selling in the Kate Spade Boutique at $299 but am willing to let go at $280 seeing that I've already ripped open the plastic.

SMS me at 98466548 if interested. Or, email [email protected] but i dun check emails so often. Pickup at Tanjong Pagar MRT or Clementi

Accessories included as stated, in the original box.
Appropriate From:
8–12 lb / 3.5-6 kg with pod insert
12–25 lb / 6-11.3 kg without pod insert

# Special, padded pod insert for the smallest of infants, can be easily removed for larger child
# Unique one-hand, quick release buckles
# Height adjustable shoulder harness
# Secondary, colour-coded restraint for added security
# Centred shoulder and back harness distributes weight evenly, relieving your back
# Removable bottle holder and shade blanket/bib

hi yvonne, sanni & LovJ
i have nt experience nose bleed before during pregnancy..
if its like wat e gynae said, probably keeping ur nose hydrated sounds a good solution..

hi pat
my hb nt hainanese wo...he's shanghainese.. :p:p
but we stil follow jia pu cos i tot its really quite traditional, and since have one, just follow lo.. its very chinese tradition wo..
nt all other races have... :D

hi lil eye
good good! hope u had some good bargains at tat shop..

hee... :D

pat,

wah... better not let you hokkien beng HB read your post ah... later kena pull ear! ahahha...

i never thot wud end up w hainanese man lor. my hb look a bit like the guy in the korean drama "MY GIRL". but of coz the actor much more handsome lor. hahaha....

when we went korea for honeymoon, got a lot of teenage schoolgirl in group teased him wor. that time we were with tour and one of the uncle wanted to 'chat up' wif the gals then use my HB as scapegoat to start the conversation (we were seated on same row while waiting for our plane to Jeju Island).

but he is MCP lor, end up i do most of the housechores, even when i'm pregnant w #1 and now #2... still not change... so will nag and grumble at him a lot now and then. grrr...

The shop at toa payoh sells really cheap dresses, blouses, capris & shorts. I bought a dress for only $27.90.

Hi Kitty/Pat,

I married a hokkien too..my hubby looks more ang mo then beng. :p He's a great hubby. He does all the household chores for me..without any nagging. Totally thank God for him.

pat, yah the dialect very "rough" right, sounds like they all going to have a fight or what, perhaps is the tone unlike teochew so gentle like singing song. The strange thing is when my family and relatives gather, they all break out in cantonese!

I married a "pedigree" peranakan, also like king loh, served like his royal highness by my mil. I do all the household chores although he helps out when he can as I'm very niao and think he's never clean enough hahaha. I'm also mopping floor, scrubbing toilets only alittle clumsy somedays

Re: CNY clothing
I bought a top from dorothy perkins yesterday, it was a very flare top with tie-back on regular fashion, not its maternity range. Can safely last me till pop and can still wear after that ba.

marie,
lucky you ah!
ang mo looking beng that does household chores... *envy liao*

juxta,
ur peranakan hb/il speak wat dialect ah?
a bit like teochew type or mix with malay words?

i only hear my FIL speak hainanese wif his siblings but not with his children - dats y my HB also not very fluent, only know a bit here n there. i prefer to let my kids learn my dialect instead - teochew

wah... me also married to a Hokkien Beng.. My hubby very hardworking and he very niao on housework.. So he do his own housework as well...
He dun let me touch his clothes, as he got his own style in folding.. Hahaha.. SO i very free..

Me never buy new years clothes.. As I very big size.. I scared to buy online. scared I cant wear at all.. and waste money..

Anyone know how much cash need to fork out if I going to deliver at Mount Alvernia?
2 Bedded.C-section

I receive my admission letter liao...

Hi LovJ,

Me intend to deliver at Mt A too, do you have to submit any documents for admission now?

My gynae told me the standard fees for normal delivery should be around $3k+. After medisave, you need to fork out around $600++. But maybe you can get ready around $1k++ cos need to pay deposit upon admission on the labour day.

kittybride, my hb's family speaks hokkien and malay mostly to my mil, so sometimes my mil and I will have communication breakdown cos my malay only know simple vocab and my hokkien equally jialat. I'm brought up by the older generation, so I still can speak hainanese. I'd love to have my kids exposed to dialects regardless of which one, is a shame its like a lost thingy nowadays!

LovJ, me also very big sized lah! I'm huge and tall!

hi lovj & jamgal,
i intend to use mt. alvernia as well, the last time when i visited my gynae, she shared with me the maternity package price list, normal delivery for double bedded room is abt $1300 onwards and c-section is abt $2300 onwards, this is the hospital charges, doesn't include your gynae fees (my gynae charge $1000 to $1200 for normal delivery). u can get more info from www.mtalvernia-hospital.org..

hi mommies-to-be,
Mt Alvernia does maternity tours and give you a overview of what is required for your delivery. Please drop them an email on their website (i tried calling them at the numbers listed but no one got back to me) and they will add you onto the tour.
If you are lucky, you get to see the rooms and the different costs for rooms and deliveries.
i must say though, parking at Mt A and TMC is way too congested; so somthing you might wanna take note of if your hubby or familiy planning to drive you to the delivery venue.
hope this helps.

I used Mt A in 2007 and liked my experience. Prior to that a couple of frenz delivered there too and shared similar sentiments. I enjoyed the confinement food too though I'm a fussy eater
. But seriously if you can afford it, budget for 1-bedder. I went in on Fri 9am coz muscus plug already came out (like big blood clot) and waterbag burst too. However didn't deliver til Sat evening (induced somemore). Anyway, for Fri nite I told hubby 2-bedder can lah, to save some $. End up the other patient had big family visiting and loud ringtones going off (amongst them), they yakked loudly on phone. After visiting hours, the lady (who had a c-section) was moaning and groaning and calling her husband and crying. Then keep buzzing nurse to ask for painkillers. Nurse "scolded" her coz she had already taken one just 2-hrs ago (8-hr mah). It was a nightmare for my hubby and me - he had to keep shushing the other lady's visitors coz they really take it the whole room was theirs! Even aircon also turned on till very cold coz so many in the room so generate too much body heat
After delivering, we insisted on 1-bedder to ensure some tranquility to savour our private moments with baby...

Think we also gotta be considerate of other patient especially if we are type who have low threshold for pain or big kampong who will turn up to visit. Otherwise truly no rest after an ardous ordeal like having a baby... Mommies, food for thought!

RE: Nosebleed!

Yo mummies!! Hee finally found folks here who share the same problem!

I bleed in the nose.. everyday! Esp when clearing my noseblocks!

I also bleed when I brush my teeth.. which is quite a common prob with pregnancies ya?

And coz I have insufficient iron, I have to take iron pills!! Alamak.. now I even bleed when pass motion loh... Painful leh!!

RE: Baby Size
All your babies are in the 700g range!! Mine is only 300g+ leh.. during my checkup @24weeks, 2weeks ago! Gynae says bb is S-M size. Now hubby is trying to stuff me up!!

O. Thanks for all your response...

Think different gynae charge different price.. My gynae c-section is 1200.. Probably think I need to prepare 2k plus cash..

Hi Jamgal,

As I going for c-section, the gynae nurse had reserve the operation room.. that is why i receive the admission booklet.. Think for natural delivery, you wont need to be so advance..

As i first mother to be,, I also not very sure..