(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

dodos, i just heard from my friend who's at Robinsons that there's an additional discount off the usual 20% on 25 and 26 dec but not sure how much as she was so muffled over the phone.

All you mummies so well planned!! i better buck up. Besides things like cot, pram, which is from no. 1, i havent bought much, not even clothes haha. Me wanna get a pump too! Was using Avent manual for almost 2 yrs, good supply but hope can have more efficiency!!

hey mummies if u heading to robinsons.. take note the pigeon series is not sales.. but most stuff are on 20% discount if you are a member..

but John Little got sales on all the stuff..20% off too.. funny right cos i tot they are sister company.

Dodos,
Ya, alot of sales going on so must research which sales is more worthwhile.

Any recommendations for pump? Any FTM bought ur pump already?

juxta, that's what i know also. that's why thinking maybe robinson more worth then isetan sales. Anyway will be going both.

I want to buy pigeon sterilizer but for this item no further discount ley. Everywhere same price cos it's control price. Pigeon Bfree bottles the max 20% only everywhere same lor.

Lucky i don't have to spend on pump. For this preg only save on pump and maternity clothes.

HI Ciarie,

So sorry... I have change the setting. Can you try again? Thank you very much!

I save my money by using my cousin's bb clothes and take what ever she has. hehe... But still have a list of things to buy... Maybe can share with you all tonight after home

koi.... its shopping season!!!

guess for me, mostly gg for PIS adv...

heard very positive reviews and with the exception that there could be chances of backflow of milk into the tubing..
very high chance that im gg for tat..

have used Isis Uno for my #1... think dual pump is still e best! 2 at a time! --> save time! :D

Oh no...I think I am most kiasu. Bought most of the bb necessities (bottles, steriliser, bath tub, towels, bibs, breast pads, etc etc etc) and cot bed and stroller.....

hi barginhunter3...
im still looking for that documnet... if cant find, will ask my agt to chk her side...

haa... :p:p

will go home and find again tonight!

wah mummies
all on shopping mode already

i went to baby hypermart and baby kingdom last weekend..was kinda disappointed with the things they have..somemore the place so crowded and there's so many of us pregnant mummies around!!

Anyone has a checklist of must-buy items we need to get ready for baby?? I'm still blur~

raspberrytea77..
actually bbhypermart & bb kingdom nothing much..
think if Robinson have got sale... its more worthwhile gg to Robinsons instead...

bb chklist: i may have.. gotta chk around my hdd tonight...

if still have, i'll upload here to you..

Below is my check list. Let me know if I still miss out something hehe... I am first time mummy la...

For Mummy,
1) Maternity Sanitary Padding
2) Disposable Panty
3) Home slipper
4) Dry Shampoo
5) Tea bag for bathing (don't know what it call hehe)
6) Milk pump
7) Nursing pads
8) Bai mi jiu (in chinese) - some mummy may not use this

For Baby,
1) Milk bottles
2) Breast milk storage bottles
3) Cotton woo
4) Powder applier (hope mummies understand hehe)
5) Baby clothes, socks, gloves & caps.
6) Wet Tissue
7) Diapers
8) Nappy cloths
9) Bathing Mat
10) Head to toe shower gel
11) sound detecter (some dun need)
12) Pacifier
13) Pillow & bolster
14) Blanket
15) Insulator double pouch
16) Milk bottles detergent
17) Bottle brush
18) Hot water container
19) Baby clothes detergent
20) Baby boucinetten
21) Baby lotion
22) Baby powder
23) Towel
24) Potty
25) Milk powder (if no breast feed)

hi barginhunter3...
ur list very comprehensive lo!!

fyi, the tea bag for bathing is "da fong cao".
can buy from chinese medicine hall.

for bb.. u may need:
nappy rash cream - bb skin very sensitive to
nappy rash.
new born diapers - cos S size may be too big for some bbs dpding how big is ur bb at birth.

btw, where r u delivering?
if its a TMC, then you dun have to prepare bb discharge clothings & receiving blanket.
if its at other hospital, better to prepare a set for discharge and receiving blanket.

Hi bargainhunter3,

Quite a complete list that you have... but just some comments from my experience with my #1:

For Mummy,
1) Maternity Sanitary Padding - <font color="0000ff">normal super long night safe pads are good enough</font>.
2) Disposable Panty
3) Home slipper - <font color="0000ff">er... is this necessary?</font>
4) Dry Shampoo - <font color="0000ff">only if you follow the strict confinement rules. For me, I wash my hair every alternate days with normal shampoo and very warm water</font>.
5) Tea bag for bathing (don't know what it call hehe) - <font color="0000ff">these are herbal bags which you are supposed to pre-boil and use as bathing water. Can get from Chinese medicine hall</font>
6) Milk pump
7) Nursing pads - <font color="0000ff">Quite important is you want to BF. Once the milk comes in, the breasts will leak quite a bit.</font>
8) Bai mi jiu (in chinese) - some mummy may not use this

For Baby,
1) Milk bottles
2) Breast milk storage bottles
3) Cotton wool - <font color="0000ff">for washing newborns face with cool boiled water</font>.
4) Powder applier - <font color="0000ff">see baby poweder below</font>
5) Baby clothes, socks, gloves &amp; caps.
6) Wet Tissue - <font color="0000ff">stock up on this. It's very useful for cleaning poo and all sorts of baby related spills</font>
7) Diapers
8) Nappy cloths - <font color="0000ff">I only have 1 few pieces, mainly for wrapping the baby, lining beds etc. Not used as nappies. I find cloth diapers as nappies really impractical especially in the first few months. You don't want to use this when baby pees / poos at least 5-8 times a day for the fist 2 or 3 months.</font>
9) Bathing Mat
10) Head to toe shower gel
11) sound detecter (some dun need)
12) Pacifier - <font color="0000ff">don't buy and tempt yourself into using it. Why start baby on this habit if you can prevent. Though I must it's a sanity savious during times when baby is crying non-stop and have exhausted all sorts of methods of pacifying him/her. But by starting baby on it, you'll have to worry about how to wean him'her off later.</font>
13) Pillow &amp; bolster - <font color="0000ff">not necessary for 1st few months. Though Babysafe has a tiny pillow that's contoured that helps to prevent baby's head from being misshapened.</font>
14) Blanket - <font color="0000ff">Not necessary, at least for first few months. In fact, it may be dangerous for fear of suffocation. Just use swaddles and/or keep your baby warm with long sleeves shirt/pants</font>
15) Insulator double pouch
16) Milk bottles detergent
17) Bottle brush
18) Hot water container
19) Baby clothes detergent
20) Baby boucinetten
21) Baby lotion
22) Baby powder - <font color="0000ff">read somewhere that it's not good for baby's nose as they may inhale the powder. Better to use lotion \ diaper rash cream. I did not use powder at all for my boy</font>.
23) Towel
24) Potty
25) Milk powder (if no breast feed)
26) Baby bottle sterilizer

Hi bargainhunter, nice list, i can steal it off you!! Thanks! The maternity pads u can also consider super long night safe, Kotex has a 32cm and Sofy has a 40.5cm, very safe!!

My massage lady said the dry shampoo causes hair lost, duno how true, but i didnt like it, quite troublesome, anyways i still washed my hair with warm water and blow it dry.

As for the powder container, if your going to use any. JTS, i didnt use the fluffy powder puff and container. I just took a normal small container and used cotton wool/ball, didnt think is hygienic to re-use the powder puff.

I also washed my hair alternate days after i discharged fr hospital.

Re: baby powder
I didnt use powder at all for my boy. As quoted by Queen, the powder might spread to the baby's nose when they inhale.

socks and home slippers are important for confinement. you have got to protect your feet from cold if not bad for the body.

Will not buy milk powder, pacifier and baby powder. Powder is bad for bb. If you want bb to smell nice apply oil/cream instead.

I will follow the confinement strictly this time. It's the last time and i don't want to regret not doing it and find problem later on.

actually i don't understand why people want to use powder for bb. Other then smell good nothing gd ley?? I don't know...but i also don't give my bb gripe water.

dodos, personal preference. I'm totally allergic to almost every other scent including some oil/cream. Mine was for show and also inexperienced cos it was my #1, only for the u know which generation starts breathing down my neck and it can be quite a pain sometimes

I didnt give gripe water and etc also, i'm totally clueless on all these stuff. Only BM and water, the least they need the better.

dodos,
I totally agree with you about the gripe water.
I dunno what's the benefit in it at all though some people claimed that it helps with colic.

dodos,
i oso dun use powder on bb, i tink not gd for their nose. some ppl tink the bb will feel more comfy after powder.

i gave my #1 gripe water coz my fren say its gd but i dun c the benefit n stopped after a few tries.

All mummies,
Merry Christmas to you and family!

Merry X'mas to all of you &amp; your beloved ones!

Hi Ciarie,

Ya. I will be deliver at TMC. So can escape from preparing 2 things mentioned

Hi Queen,

My confinement lady is my auntie so don't think she will let me wash my hair haha.... Thanks for your comment. Learn from it too.

Hi Juxta,

Sound a good idea to use cotton wool to apply powder instead of puff. mmm... will consider too... Emm.. I already drops a lot of hairs now if drop some more by using dry shampoo eeee.... Botak soon...

Think will not use powder since it is not good for baby.

hi all mummies in the house!
MERRY MERRY CHRISTMAS!!!

Ho Ho Ho!!!!

bargainhunter3... good for u! den u dun have to worry abt bb's discharge stuff.

re: bb powder
i use powder for my bb. sometimes its mainly if he's bit sweaty and after cleaning up him, i'll apply some to feel smooth tats all.
i'll slowly apply so that the powder wun get into the nose.

re: gripe water
till now, my #1 still taking cos he's still teething.
i really dunno if it really helps in colic, but so far (touch wood), his teething process is nt too bad. no bad fever o grouchy..
but of cos, i really dunno if its cos of gripe water or wat.
since my mum wanted to give him a small spoonful everyday.. i'll just let it be bah...
main caregiver (aka my mum) calls the shot! haa..

re: insurance
my agent hears tat and she is very happy to help us do an updated one..
but she worry cant get too many coys' product info.
so she'll try her best. say give her 1-2 days more, she'll come back to me.
once i have, i'll pass it on ok..

<font color="0000ff">GETTING INSURANCE</font>
Last yr we switched to an independent financial advisor who is able to represent different insurance companies and help us "shop" for the best policy. She's actually my friend cum ex-colleague. Upon her advice, we only got an endowment plan i.e. education policy for B1 from TM Asia (now called Tokio Marine) as the company has gd track record of paying out the additional bonus (can't rmbr how many %) if the policy is in force for something like 21yrs -- tho there's always the option to draw upon it when B1's 18yo. But like Bargainhunter said, by then also don't know how much more ex uni fees wld be.

Anyway, I now prefer independent financial planners to those tied with agencies. Btw, my friend is w IPP -- one of the biggest such independent firm here, so that makes a difference when hubby and I decided to get her help.

<font size="+2"><font color="0000ff">Dear all: <font color="ff0000">Blessed</font> <font color="119911">Christmas!</font></font></font>

Hi Kidzskidz,

I know an independent financial advisor. In fact, my current FA is from IPP too. Actually we can't depends on them too much. No matter how, we will have to do reserch ourselves if come to insurance. They might be good in knowing various comapny product &amp; more professional but don't forget that they also work for money. They will not introduce you / encourage you to buy XXXX company's product although is real good due to the XXXX company giving them very little commision compare with other.

Today is super quiet here.
I went for both the robinson and isetan sales. Find that isetan sales better. Super long Q from outside.

Where do you all normally feel the baby kicking? At lower part, navel or upper part? These 2 days have been feeling it at the navel or upper area.

Please PM me if anyone is interested to order capella s705 stroller in bulk, need at least 5 orders! Can get it at $260 nett
OG selling at for sale at 296 now..

Hi Dodos,

Today super quiet.. Waiting for someone to talk to me haha...

My baby kick me sometimes at upper part, sometimes at lower part or middle part hehe. Maybe there is still a lots of space for him to move around so he is trying to kick where ever he can... Gynae said he is very active.

Hi dodos,

How's robinson sales? Bought anything? I went to isetan sales only n bought a pigeon steriliser.

Started to feel baby kicking at the upper part today. Used to be kicking at the lower part. Wonder is it she changed her position?

Koi, Robinson sales got nothing. Not attractive at all. Didn't really get alot there. Bought alot from Isetan. Have bought all the baby stuffs except wet wipes and pampers last minute then buy. When r u due? Think we are on the same week. bb...bb...u turn down already?

Hi dodos,

I see. Me haven't bought most of the stuffs. Think will have to start getting them already. Have u got ur stroller? Will u be using a cot or playpen? My EDD is 10th April. How abt urs? Are u a FTM too?

Hi Koi, have bought stroller and cot mths back. Very kiasu me. I see got gd deal so i buy 1st. Stroller i bought peg perego P3 at 20%. Cot i bought at the last Metro sales $299 include beddings and mattress. Prefer cot. Now i even thought of getting a high chair. So far no gd lobang. If i find gd lobang for high chair will buy also. This is my no.4 i think i more kiasu then 1st time mum.

My edd 15 April. Im a SAHM.

Hi dodos,

Wow...this is ur no.4 already. So how many boys n girls u got? Hmm...so u didn't keep the cot n stroller used by ur no.1-3? U are not kiasu....u r just well prepared. Not like me...still quite lost. So envy u...can be a SAHM. Wish to be a SAHM too....but dun think it's possible.

Spree for maxi cosi tori car seat good for 0-4 years old @ bulk purchase price, also on still spree for capella s705 stroller closing soon..pls PM for info

dodos

my bb kick me on lower part mostly,and sometime i aso dont feel bb movement sometime feel

claire ,kidzskids

how much your spend in bb insurance ?
and instalment for how long ?
and can get back how much ?

Porkylim: Yeap, it's a common prengancy symptom. Besides darkened nipples, we may also get darkened areolas (the breast area surrounding the nipples), arm pits + the linea nigra/negra appearing. The last is the line that runs right down the middle of tummy (from belly button to the top of public bone). All these usually fades after pregnancy. And not everyone gets all the symptoms.

ic... thanks ya (ease my mind) but i also realise that there are like small lumps surrounding the nipples there... so i not too sure if i should tell my gynae or see a GP about it.

Porkylim: If your next appt w gynae not too far away, then just ask him/her. Take the opt to clarify, I think it helps too to "test" gynae's patience + patient handling skills...haha

hi porky, i get tt too...darker, bigger &amp; i also got the line down my tummy. its perfectly normal =)
wondering if any mummy got itch "down there"? im so scared its some kind of infection. even more worried its GDS but i read up n seems like tts not a symptom. any advice?

I don't get itch but at times hv stabbing pain inside the groin when I get up to walk. It started recently and I remember had the same thing during my 1st preg. Pain can be so bad I can't even lift my leg to slip through pants/shorts so hubby had to help. Another preg-related "problem" was loose pelvic joint (mentioned in an earlier post) caused by release of the chemical relaxin during pregancy. It's to loosen the joints for baby to pass through during delivery -- but relaxin got no brain so seems can attack any joint
But it all goes away after pregnancy.

Anybody got advice for Eunice regarding itchiness?

i got get itchiness too but not very frequent... and i realise that the stains seem more yellowish. so what i did is when its itchy i just go toliet and wash to ease the itchiness. if not, maybe can try ask gynae regarding that, maybe they will have some solution for u.