(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

DTSmummy,
It is good to sign up maternity package earlier. Cos u dun have to pay for normal checkup like ultrascan, multivitamins and usual consultation as it is in the package already.

i'm selling away my Medela PIS-Shoulder Bag that purchased on 1/7/08 from First Few Year (paragon) at $530. Warranty till 1/10/09. Reason to sell, and when the babies arrived in end Sept 08, decided to stop breast feeding completely after a few days.

For more info, please email me at [email protected] or sms 93664880

I will also be giving away my - :
-breast milk storage bags (75pcs)
-a pair of 30mm medela breast pump funnels
-disposable breast pads 6 boxes

heehee i just ordered some cheap maternity sweaters from ON for my Japan trip. so much cheaper and nicer the ugly and dowdy ones from coldwear or wintertime :D

Shers, i ordered with another mummy who lives near me, she's my "official spreer". i found out last min abt the ON maternity sale 3 weeks ago and hurriedly ask her to help. It really is much cheaper and nicer than those we have in store here. Only prob is cant try but the price too tempting hahah. Gap ones are nice too, just slightly pricier.

i'm going to korea on 25th oct... winter there.. i need some sweaters.. cannot fit into some of my old ones especially the tummy parts.. is it too late to join 1 of the spree?

my colleagues commented that my face has the 'same look' when i 1st pregnant. maybe become chubby. and my tummy shows up already. maybe because being stretched before so loose already.. my top can still wear except for tummy area and my bottom cannot..

juxta, who's the "spree-er" you ordered from? i expect that the savings are on shipping mostly? since the sale price is fixed?

yeah im showing a bit. altho i can get away with wearing my normal tops, i can't fit into my work pants anymore. so wearing my maternity pants oredi.

oh mummies who want cheap maternity jeans, can try browsing www.motherhood.com. it's motherhood maternity's online store. they have some pieces at really low prices like US$24.90. cheaper than those in sg.

Any mummies got the same MS experience as me? On sat, it was really good..din really feel nauseous & I cld even think about food. Sun became bad again & tdy I totally have no appetite & wanna puke even though I've not really eaten anything. I was so hopeful that that MS stage has passed on Sat. sobsob =(

karrie, is a fren of mine who is a shopping queen! the stuff at ON are already cheaper than here, so after conversion plus int'l shipping, i paid like SG$8 for a Tshirt, i saw similar in spring, is like 2 for $30 or was it $40. And i bought a denim capri for US$9.99, similar looking one cost more than S$50 at spring.

eunice, me too. on those good days, i thought it'll never come back, when it does the next day, i'm so disheartened! I think i'm almost into 2nd tri already but still puking like no tmr!

juxta, the feeling really sucks. i think im in my 13th wk now...sobsob i feel so cheated. i tot they said it will stop after 12 wks??? n i feel so cold all the time... i tot we were supposed to feel warmer??

juxta, yeah that is cheap! spring is 2 for $40 i think...i was tempted to buy the baby clothes too. but all long-sleeved...

eunice, i also get it suddenly on and off. some days are good, some days are really bad. i notice that if i drink coffee, it gets bad. so stick to tea...

i also feel cold all the time. but come to the end of 2nd trimester or 3rd trimester onwards, u will feel warm. with my first pregnancy i was also cold in the 1st trimester and felt very very warm as baby grew bigger

eunice, i know how u feel, then last friday i got so fed up i cried and cried for dunno what i'm also not sure! haha. my GP said for 2nd preg, it'll stop ard 16 weeks or so, but no guarantee faintz!

karrie, yeah i ordered clothes for my boy from overseas spree also, is much cheaper and nicer than those here but must get their spring/summer, otherwise not very right for our weather. I joined some spreer at the overseas spree b4 too, so far so good.

karrie/juxta, im glad im not the only one but i do wish that it'll stop for all of us real soon. i feel so ill tdy & i hv so much work to rush i really feel like crying. karrie, same for me! i think when i drink coffee (decaf somemore) i'll feel sick. same for berry tea & i think chocolates also.

eunice, thats my greatest wish too. it seems to impede whatever i do, and my fav activity now is to sleep so i dun feel the nausea/vomit. And i try not to go out cos i duno when i'm going to feel unwell, how boring

juxta, totally understand how u feel cos i feel exactly the same. was just telling my hubby im sorry im such lousy company these few wks. almost always in a lousy mood cos feeling nauseous. go out, anytime i'll want to go home either cos im tired or feel sick or just being in a lousy mood. really thank God for an understanding hubby.

eunice,
Me too. MS is BAD. I cannot get by one day without feeling bloated and the need to puke. I will definitely puke at least once a day. What goes into the toilet bowl may not be a lot, depending on what I eat. I know now that curry, laksa and anything with cream sauce is horrible when regurgitated!
I'm already going 12 weeks and still like that!
Cannot remember the last time I can actually think about food without feeling the need to puke.

It was not so bad when I was expecting my boy.

juxta,
I can still fit into my normal tops but cannot button up my pants comfortably. Have started wearing maternity pants and tops today cos most of my normal tops are not long enough to cover the ugly waistband of the maternity pants completely. Some of my colleagues just found out today that I'm preggy because of the maternity wear. They said they cannot tell that I'm preggy at all.
I think I haven't put on much weight due to the MS and my tummy is not that obvious yet, though definitely have bigger tummy lah.
About Antacids, is there any particular brand we can take? Can we just get over the counter at pharmacies?

eunice, yes i'm glad my hb is understanding too, now he has basically taken over most things that i cannot be bothered with.

queen, i steer clear of anything like curry or laksa cos when u puke, is horrible, is all very bland taste for me, and definitely no garlic or whatsoever. Ha! maybe this time will be gal, thats what everyone tells me, cos my 1st was so easy and very different! About antacids, you can check with the pharmacist on duty to recommend, just tell her u're preg, generally should be safe. i'm very kiasi when preg, everything will ask first when it comes to medication

queen, i think basically ANYTHING regurgiatated is horrible. but the worst is when ur stomach is empty! the whole morning i have been worshipping the toilet bowl w nothing to contribute. made my stomach hurt. same lor...i tot they said after 12th wk it'll go away...CHEATED =( oh really? so boy its easier??

I think antacids, better chk w a doc. dun anyhow get over the counter la.

i dunno if my tummy is showing cos i cant tell if its my fats or the baby haha... cos when i lie on my back, it flattens out abit =P but my pants r getting tighter, got to buy soon. queen, u intending to organise any ON sprees?

those who hv ordered clothing thru motherhood.com using Vpost, do u put the Oregan or California address as the shipping address?

hi mummies & juxta!!!
apetite still the same after much trial & error which are the can eat and cant eat stuff...
esp coffee, milo, mlk stuff....
all out!

hey juxta..
ur maternity clothings seriously cheap lo!!
im startin to look out for maternity clothings now le...

getting bigger and bigger everyday!

hi eunice..
mine's e same as you... every morning, my portion of toothpaste is getting lesser and lesser to avoid the vomit syndrome after brushing teeth!!

my gynae gives me veragel for e acid in our tummy.

mummies..
i think a very understanding hubby is very impt at this stage oh! cos right now, my hubb will let me laze on the bed for awhile more before he pulls me out from bed to prepare for work!
used to be the other way round.. hee.. :p:p

GOING HOME NOW!!!

Yupz.. My tummy is definitely showing.. Many people can tell..those who r mothers can even tell that Im 16 weeks.. Anyway, i saw my bb gender today!! So excited.. It's a PRINCE! Any mummies know their bb gender oredi?

Jo, congrats!!! i'm only in 13th week, gotta wait awhile more ba.

Ciarie, i paid S$200 at Perfect Mum for 4pcs, really kick myself after that cos i totally forgot about ON tsk tsk, i also puke after brushing my teeth! so dread flossing my teeth nowadays....

Jo,
Congrats! I am 15 weeks now. Not sure if I can see the gender this coming Thurs. Am hoping to know soon so I can start buying clothes for baby. hehe.

I have difficulty brushing teeth too... will tend to have the urge to vomit esp when i feel unwell at nights. I cannot stand mint smell these days. Now using a toothpaste with no mint smell, really feel better but still i will sit upright on the toilet bowl to brush my teeth.

I am 15 weeks this week and will be seeing gynae this weekend. Hope can see the gender of the baby
Been going to shops to see playpen and do research on diapers hehehehheee

By the way, does anyone here know how much is Dr Lawrence Ang's professional fee during delivery?

Hi everyone, im in my 15weeks now n e bb is going 2 b a princess!!
so happy. my tummy is getting bigger nw.

any1 noe where 2 gt normal working pants with elastic band?? cos wearing maternity pant look baggy.

Good morning Mummies.

Queen, yours also 1-bedded, in TMC?

DTSMummy, this is the breakdown of the bill by an Oct mummy delivered in TMC, 1-bedded.

Normal delivery with epi, 1 bedded 2 days - $1880
Accomodation (companion) - $150
Drugs/medicine - $245.90
Medical supplies - $57
Procedure - $103
Use of equipment - $175
Accomodation (extra night) - $410
Gynae charges - $1550
Baby's bill - $938.22
Other Doc's charges (PD, Aneasthetist) - $420

For Dr Lawrence Ang, the nurse will advise you when to sign up for the package. Upon signing up for the package of $550, they will deduct whatever you've paid previously (from 1st visit), but excluding blood test and Fish Oil (got to buy from the clinic on your own).

Jo, congrats... I'm 16 weeks now and having a big stomach... Going to see Dr Ang on coming Monday. Hope to see the gender of the baby....

BTW, when is your EDD? No table to see now.. Need to look back at previous archives. Are we the same EDD. I am 30th March or 1st April...

BTW, The above is the actual bill. After CPF deduction is about $3k. Things
to note are the baby went through extra tests for possible infection,
stayed an extra night and the gynae's charges. Different gynaes got
different charges. Hers might be slightly higher

i think my baby is the youngest.. currently abt 10 weeks.. actually i should be in May thread but since i will be having c-sect, my baby will be 'invited' out earlier.. so will be end april..

Congrats to all the mums who know your gender of yr babies!!

Can start to buy clothings, essentials, grab from your friends etc!

get some pass down clothings also.. there is a saying that babies will grow up healthier, faster etc..

Hi Devil

If it $250 for normal delivery then that would be very cheap. Maybe i can check it out this Sat when i go and see him. Can update you also

Sure. No problem. I'll see him on coming Monday.

Will be going for Genting and KL trip from tomorrow till Sunday. Finally this has come...

Congrats Connz.

Difficult to find those pants leh.. Nowadays, I have been wearing dresses.

Shers, why u deciding on C-sect so fast? Not considering Natural birth?

devil, my no 1 also c-sect. no 1 waited till over due still no contraction.. gynae checked and said that i have no chance on natural birth even with help of induce also no chance..

so this time, i opt for c-sect because gynae said because of my bone structure. cannot open

oic... My sis also.. Her EDD was 6th October 2008, but she only gave birth on 11th October 2008. My friend also... Overdued for about 2 weeks.. She has no contraction at all.. In the end induced for about 12 hours, then baby came out. Your gynae did not recommend induce at all?

devil, my gynae mentioned that even with induction, my chance also very low.. so asked me for my opinion.. my hb said since chances v low, somemore go through such pain, if worse, emergency c-sect.. so we opt for c-sect..

i dont mind la.. anyway very fast le.. i was pushed into OT at 10am.. i waited there for around half hr, my little gal was pushed out to my hb within 15mins.. then 15mins, i was awake liao.. chop chop

OkOk... As long as you are comfortable with it.

My sis just gave birth on last Saturday. Bought my gal to KKH to see my sis and baby. My gal thot the baby is a toy. Keep on wanting to "touch" the baby. But her touch is "smacking" the baby... So scary... Dun let her touch and she screams her way thru.. so pai say.. As she was staying in a 4-bedded ward... Disturbing everyone...

devil, not pai say la.. so cute.. yr gal likes to play with dolls? maybe u can try to let her play with dolls telling her its baby.. must carry this way.. then must pat pat baby when baby cries..

hi elina,
i use the portland oregan one. it is pretty fast. the package arrived at oregan in less than a week.

any mummies here whereby ur gynea doesn't have a package?? mine doesn't! got to pay per visit.

Haha... Shers... I bought her a toy baby... Which can sing mama, papa, and twinkle twinkle little stars.
You know what she did... First, she will sayang.. Then use her hands to poke the eyes, then the mouth, then force out her hat... Finally throw onto the floor and kick the baby... Got to slowly train her....

wow!! she is violent! kids need to be trained..

my little gal loves dolls.. all sorts of soft toys and dolls, she will say 'baby'..

will hug, kiss, pat.. then pull the hand and drag on the floor..

but its a start la.. subsequently when she hears any other kids or babies cry, she will point to her own eyes indicating that she heard baby cries.. then she will search for her doll and pat..

i guess kids or little gals will have their soft points la.. we still have time to train them to love their little babies..

Shers, Your girl is so cute.. Mine looks and act like a tomboy... Stress... Really got to slowly train her... Cannot leave the both of them together... Dunno what will happen to the baby...

my gal is abusive to me only.. whaha.. treat all others so good.. when her daddy is sleeping, she will sign to me and say 'shhh'. if i'm sleeping, she will roll on my body and say 'ah meow..'

they are still young la.. about 16 months, cant expect too much.. they are also babies.. heheh..