(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Hi Jinglebel...
my friend in her 16th week also felt something like that... she say it was as if little BB was moving...

so cool... u could feel it now already!!! =)

hi all, i'm new here.. and a real young mum too.. is it really bad to take tea during pregnancy? coz i do crave alot for "teh" and have not taken any yet..

anyone with Heng's Clinic at Eastshore? my Edd is on the 17 Apr..

welcome to the thread Denise
it's ok to take tea/coffee in small amts. i limit myself to 1 cup a day..can't survive without it.

re: feeling baby...it kinda feels like gas, doesn't it? v cute.

morning

Can ask a quest regarding discharge?
I hv yellowish discharge this morn after I woke up, quite alot, abit worried leh, isit normal?
Anyone of you has it?
All along is dry,clear or at most milky discharge.

After bathing no more liao but still monitor, hope no more yellowish, called my gynae but only can return my cal after lunch, abit worried

Hi all, I am selling 1 unit of digital baby monitor “Graco imonitor vibe (Currently priced at US$54.80 http://www.amazon.com/Graco-2791VIB-imonitor-Vibe/dp/B000WJPCMK)” and I am letting it go at SGD$65 (with 2 adaptors that are usable in Singapore). Condition of unit: Brand new, used it less than 5 times because my baby cries very loudly. Self collect at Hougang MRT or Tanjong Pagar MRT. SMS me at 98459590 if interested.
Product specs at http://www.gracobaby.com/catalog/product.aspx?modelNumber=2791VIB1&CategoryID=13
Photos of my unit.
1775164.jpg
1775165.jpg
1775166.jpg
1775167.jpg

my company is quite pro in bf.. have rooms with lock so that bf mums can express.. there is a period where coy has more than 2 bf mums, so receptionist reserved 1 room for us.. thats very good.. and pantry auntie will reserve place for us in fridge to store our milk..

for discharge, its ok to have yellowish.. so long not brownish or red..

Shers,
u hv encounter any yellowish discharge for the current pregnancy? Alot or often?
I very scared of infection and will affect my bb...sorry for being paranoid

Hi Mangogal,
I also have yellowish discharge quite often but not alot. I thk is ok. During our 7th/8th mth, gynae will check whether we are infected or nt.

mangogal, encountered for no1. mine is only 1 or 2 times during 1st tri.. also scared to hell.. hehhe..

for no2, i have brownish discharge so was put on bed rest for 2 weeks and med.. now clear liao.. no worries..

if u r really worried, go and visit yr gynae.. to double confirm..

Leeuwin,
Yes, I am very comfortable with my electric pump. I do not find it noisy, still bearable. I sometimes pump up to abt 5 times daily. The motor died on me once (after ~2 years of usage) so I got it replaced.

hi mangogal, pls share wat ur gynae says cos im also having some yellowish (sometimes brownish)discharge. not sure issit bcos hb & i hv started being intimate agn (din really dare earlier on in pregnancy). pls share k? thanks.

queen, i love ur photo! professionally taken?? u look soo good!! ur boy is so cute also...

re bird's nest, my aunt & grandma said better to start later cos too much birds' nest will give the child asthma.

re ginseng, really cannot take??? i just took some to make chicken soup!! so disappointing =(

Denise welcome on board.

Re: discharge
I also have yellow discharge at one point of time. Didn't ask my gynae about it though cos there's no more. Think it is quite common but dunno why. Mangogal, pls share after you ask your gynae.

Re: breathlessness
I experience that as early as week 7. Perhaps my body is still adjusting to the pregnancy. I also tend to feel giddy. At first, I was quite worried and asked my gynae about it. He said it is common. Nowsaday, whenever I feel giddy, I will just lie down or sit down. After a while, I will feel better.

Re. discharge
I'm also having yellowish discharge on and off. Sometimes, clear, sometimes whitish, sometimes yellowish. I think it's normal? I mean as long as it doesn't have a foul smell, it should be ok?

leereiner,
Don't feel bad... Like what Shers say, just try and do your best for #2, not being able to breastfeed does not make you any less a mother than the others.

eunice,
Thanks for your compliments on the photos! Yes, both are taken by professionals. If not, where got so nice! Hahah.
I have been having regular 'intimate' sessions with my HB as well even in 1st Trimester, same as when I had my #1. We are mindful not to be too 'vigourous'. Heeheh. My gynae actually said to avoid for the 1st trimester. But I read that it's ok to do it throughout the pregnancy. I think it really depends on your comfort level and how stable the pregnancy is, especially in early stages. I wasn't spotting or anything like that, so me and HB continued.

queen, can share who ur photographer is? really nice shots... did he charge a lot? maybe this time u shd try semi-nude hehe. my gynae said its ok throughout. he was v funny, when my hb asked if its safe, he said of cos then turned to me "u dun wan ur hb to look for other women right??" so duh! haha... actually b4 i was pregnant, i sometimes get this when we r intimate esp when we first got married. well, shall see whether this continues. if it gets reddish/brownish then guess got to stop =(

i experience breathlessness too!! but for me, i think its when im feeling v cold... its like constriction in my chest n i can feel my heartbeat v v clearly (tho not faster) den after a while it goes ago.... i hope its normal.

i wanna ask, will vomitting harm the bb?? its like sometimes i vomit so hard, my stomach hurts. i hope it wun hurt the bb? i dun mind hurting myself but i really dun wan to hurt my bb.

wah so many postings in one day sia – so heres my longest post so far. =)

karrie: wah u really try to BF as far as u can. im kinda wondering if i can BF coz i dont really have big boobs, though pregnancy has made them bigger. ;-p ameda breastpump is made where, where do u get it, and how much does it roughly cost?

dodos: ive heard of pp losing weight in the 1st trimester [various reasons] and stabilising in 2nd onwards - dont stress out over it unless ur intake is poor and ur MS serious. u can just continue to monitor over the next month.

mangogal: sounds like a bit of reflux to me too, so avoid heavy oily dinners - taking salmon in the mornings will probably be a better idea! =) for walking and being breathless, i think we have to maintain our fitness during pregnancy and take frequent short walks. but do watch out for danger signs like leg swelling and chest pain. discharge-wise, i also have a fair bit – most of the time i think its due to hormonal changes, but need to see if theres progressive changes [e.g. more amount, more smell, change in colour – such as brownish-red coz of possible bleeding, also more abdominal pain]

queen: wah if i can, i also want to BF that long too. heard much about BF compared with FF. think u r right about having intercourse – read its ok throughout pregnancy, but not too rigorously, especially in the 1st trimester.

shers: ur avent manual breast pump? where is it made, where did u get it and roughly how much it cost u?

dev19: karrie pumps rigorously both sides leh, of coz wear out fast lah. ;-p

leereiner: im also anti-milk, but end up drinking skimmed [ew], semi-skimmed [ew] milk with my cereal and decaf coffee. whats the opinion on coffee/tea [or rather caffeine] in pregnancy? i forced myself to take caffeinated coffee every 2-3 days; initially i conked out the days i took decaf, but im now better after 2 weeks of doing that. anyway, i think u can take those fresh choc & flavoured milk. also, u dont need to kick yourself for having a small kid [first of all, are u n daddy small? if so, u dont expect her to be big mah. secondly, is she a picky eater? then again, not your fault]. the important thing is that shes healthy and youve tried ur best! =)

jinglebel: well, the sensation of feeling ur kid move about occurs around the 18th week I hear – maybe u r more sensitive!

eunice: i think the opinion is quite divided on ginseng – u probably have to go n check with good chinese physician. dunno much about birds nest, but i heard more about not letting young kids taking overly proteinaceous foods when too young to avoid developing food and skin allergies. for the occasional bleeding during sex, just to be safe, maybe can tell ur obstetrician so he/she can check u down below and make sure theres no problems. dont think vomiting will hurt the baby, but dehydration wont be too good for u or baby.

leeuwin: heard somewhere that common causes of giddiness include fatigue, low blood pressure and anaemia – so if uve those, rest well, dont change positions like getting up too quickly, and correct the cause of anaemia if possible.

DTSmummy, yeah i tried..but alas, still couldn't make it to 1 year. my boy got really chubby on my milk alone tho so it was worth all the hard work. i got my ameda pump from mumsfairy (www.mumsfairy.com) and it costs $388. they also carry the medela PIS advance for $754. if you're considering pumping from both sides simultaneously, it's a good idea to invest in the pumpin' pals and the supershields. relieved my backache coz i didn't have to lean forward and keep supporting the funnels with my hands.

leeuwin, my blood pressure is on the low side so i get dizzy pretty often. my previous gynae told me to carry some sweets in my bag. i just suck one when i feel giddy, it helps a bit.

oh yah DTSmummy, breastfeeding is NOT dependent on the size of your boobs. i have not-so-well-endowed friends bfing successfully. just that after u stop, they may get a bit saggy...mine sagged quite a bit after i stopped.

Any idea how to look for job that will take in 3-4mths preggie? My company is very unstable now, so am planning to look for one before we are being asked to leave. They are shifting biz to China.

eunice,
My preggy shots were taken by KC from Greymatter Photography and my family and boy's studio shots by The Studio Loft. Both are good. KC charges have increase since he took my preggy shots in 2005. I had wanted to go back to him for my family shots but I find him a bit ex. So went to Studio Loft.
Er... maybe not semi-nude shots lah. Not daring enough. heheh

DTSmummy,
Hahah! BF nothing to do with size of boobs lah! All mummies will produce milk after delivery regardless of size. But of course the size of boobs will increase in general while lactating.

Denise,
I think it depends on the mummy. While BF, the mummy requires about 500 calories more per day. So I guess if you don't make special effort to eat a lot more, than should be able to slim down a bit. Besides, BF mummies produces some kind of hormone that helps the womb contract faster after birth. For me, I lost all my weight gain within 2 months of delivery while on total breastfeeding. But I don't think I lost more weight on top of that. In fact, after I stopped BF, I think I have gained some weight. I have a friend who was also on total BF, she lost all the preggy weight gain and more. My boss said she put on some weight while BF. So maybe it really depends on the mummy lah.

ginseng cannot take?? is it because too heaty? i took black chicken herbal soup le.. i totally forgot what can be done, what cannot be done...

dont get stress up over bf.. the more relax we are, the more milk we can produce.. i remembered my mum and my freezer all contained my bm.. mine also small small but surprisingly, every 2-3 hrs got to express..

after i bf for 2 months, i went back to my pre weight. during pregnancy, i put on 17kgs.. i guess during confinement i didnt eat much meat but i took more fish and soup. plus massage helps.. and of course bf.. bf-ing will hurt initially but eventually i enjoyed.. whahhaa..

before pregnancy, everytime before my menstruation, my breasts will sore and pain pain.. but after pregnancy and bf, when i regained back my menstruation, i dont have this feeling anymore.. any mums experienced this also? is it because our breasts sag? so cant feel the sore?

Denise, as queen said it depends on the mummy. my colleague didn't really lose a lot of weight altho she bf...but maybe it's coz she was only partially bfing. for me, i lost all my pregnancy weight in 2 mths like queen and Shers, I exclusively breastfed. and in the mths after that, i lost somemore...so i was lighter than before i got preggy. but after i stopped, i put on weight and was back to my normal pre-preggy weight. my uterus also contracted to its normal size by the time i went for my post-natal check up a mth after i gave birth.

queen, my boys' shots were also taken by studioloft! heee...they're pretty good
i saw maryann's 2nd baby, very tall like her!

Shers, i also got the same feeling. my boobs no longer feel tender before my period. and i went down 1 cup size boohoooohooo!!!!

re: bf being painful
i had very sore cracked nipples in the first week. but thankfully it resolved itself by the 2nd week. so gotta persevere loh... actually, by right it should NOT hurt if bb latch on properly. but my baby has a mind of his own...

karrie, my size increased from 75A to 85C.. so BIG le..

then after i stopped bf, went back to original but worse! A-cup is smallest and still big to me but no choice la.. doesnt have A- hahaha

DTSMummy, me too leh... I'm pumping out every 3 hourly intervals and my Medela PIS Advanced still works very good leh...

RE: BF
I went back to and even slimmer than I was before I was expecting my No 1. I also had bad cracked nipples during first 2 weeks and I have to hold on tightly to my hubby when baby sucks on it. After that, it is ok liaoz... It is very painful during first 2 weeks.. But if you tahan, sure can pass thru it..

RE: Breast Milk
All mummies sure have breast milk. Depending on if you are hardworking anot.. Beginning, I had alot of milk, during the 2nd month, my milk dropped drastically. After that, my friend taught me to be hardworking.. Means every 3 hourly interval (cannot be earlier or later), pump for about 30 mins, even though no more milk, just pump to simulate the breasts. After that, my milk went up really alot and I could provide full BM to my girl.

RE: Discharge
I also have white and/or yellowish discharge during my 1st pregnancy esp during the last trimester. It could be yeast infection. I had it and Dr Ang gave me a pill to slot into my vagina. After that, it is ok. It got to be healed, else may pass to baby when during delivery... for natural birth.

re. BF website http://www.kellymom.com/
For first-time mummies, perhaps you want to read up on BF on this website. It's very informative and encouraging. During the 1st month of BF, I was under so much stress and had all the usual questions about milk supply, dunno whether my boy was taking enough BM etc. This website is very useful. It pretty much clarified most of my doubts and assured me that all the problems I'm facing with BF are part and parcel of BFing.

Shers, your hubby must have been really happy when you were bfing heheheeeehe....

i was B cup before preggy...during BF was Cafter stopping bf become A cup liao. so sian.

Devil, don get me wrong, Medela is good, esp their higher end models like PIS! just that i bought the wrong model...the Mini Electric Plus is for mummies who pump only occasionally...so i literally wore the poor thing down :p

queen, the kellymom website was my lifesaver when i was starting to bf.

good afternoon to one n all...

re: BF and associated stuff
thanks everyone for ur opinions on BF and thanks queen, ill take my time to go through the website. im getting pretty fat [not so sure i can really attribute it to baby]. so anyone has any suggestions on what i can do to reduce fat without compromising nutrition to baby? dont wanna end up with too many stretchmarks...

may wong: what job are u in and looking for? can be quite hard changing now unless u r looking at temp/parttime work without benefits.

dodos: im only taking folic acid for now. gonna switch onto obimin [women's antenatal multivitamins] in a couple of weeks.

Karrie, I do understand and notice that other Medela pumps arent as good as the Medela PIS brands...

Hi Mummies, do you have any friends whom have delivered in TMC this year? I heard from my sis that her ex-collegues's wife gave birth in TMC. 4-bedded cost and natural with induce costs 6k. When I gave birth to my girl last year June, it wasnt so ex. About 2k plus only.. Does anyone knows anything about it?

karrie, my gynae advised not to have intercourse during 1st tri.. and guess what? during whole of my pregnancy, the intercourse is countable! partly because i have no mood.. also my hb says stomach so big, very difficult.. whahaha..

ya lor.. he was very happy.. said 'wow! so big!'

then eventually, he says 'how come so small? even smaller than before?'

so i'm not the only one who have smaller breasts than before.. whahaha...

Devil, wah so ex?? $6000??? why ah? natural, 4-bedded shouldn't cost so much, even if they raise prices rite?

Shers, haha my hubby still bluff me...say not small..still nice...but i know he knows they shrunk loh! he checks out busty ladies on the streets! men....

DTSmummy...it's not advisable for us to diet, so that's out of the qn...mebbe just eat in moderation loh. eat healthy stuff like fish, veggies, fruits, and just enuff carbo...i read somewhere that we actually require only extra 300-500 calories a day.

dev19: i was looking at their prices, so it shouldnt be so expensive [even with epidural and without medisave]. my guess is that either her specialists fees are expensive, or she/baby had complications and needed intensive care or prolonged hospital stay, or she claimed medisave for her antenatal checkups in the hospital bill as i heard from other mummies] and it all added up. for an otherwise smooth delivery, it shouldnt exceed $2000+ leh.
http://www.thomsonmedical.com.sg/maternity_pkg.htm

karrie: dont worry - im not so much into dieting, but maybe watching what im eating [coz im eating way over my extra 300-500 cals a day] ;-p

Karrie, ya loh... That's what my sis said... Wanna ask around.. And happened to 2 person she knew... anohter is her sis-in-law's friend.. Also 4-bedded... If really 6k, I'm going for another hospital liaoz.. within less than a year went up so much... Find it not possible...

DTSMummy, that's y I saw on the web too.. But my sis warned me to check around before confirming on the hospital. Her friend was surprised too. Am going to ask Dr Ang on the charges on 20th Oct when I see him. Was even going to stay in a 1-bedded this time round...

no lah, dun think the charges are 6k. i just went for hosp visit recently, the price table as per the link should be correct - so 1 bedded shld be 2000+ plus ur gynae's delivery fee + GST...

iwry, just got an info from an oct mummy, she just delivered in TMC on Monday, hers is normal delivery no assisted... Stayed in 1-bedded. She have to pay 3k+ cash after CPF deductions. So high leh...
But she stayed additional night... But additional night wouldnt cost so much right...

Devil,
Was the Oct mummy under epidural? Did she incur extra medical expenses for her baby? Gynae fee makes a difference too.
When I delivered in 2005, I had normal delivery by Dr. Ang, assisted, no epidural. Cost me $1K+ in cash. Given possible fee increases etc. I don't think it should be so much more now, maybe $2K or so in cash at most?

Halo MTBs,

my gynae did a swap test for me so that I can hv a peace in mind.
Result will be out a few days later. Anyway she said that so long as not green, brown or red, shld be normal, She gave me vaginal wash as well, but only outside cannot douche.

Wah TMC delivery charges so ex? 6K!

Hi Hi sorry belated reply to you all.

May, It's so cool that we have a same due date.
My gynae is Dr. Adelina Wong at TMC. I will deliver my bb there as well. so, I took FBI and received some freebies.
I also booked the Child birth education course. it's 6 weekly lessons, starting at 20 weeks.

These days, I'm looking around the shops and thinking about the baby room. I don't want to buy anything until I know whether boy or girl but just scanning now ;p

Does anybody knows any good shops for baby furniture ? I didn't find much at orchard road....

Hi Mummies, sorry to intrude into your thread. I have a Medela PIS advance for sale. Use 1 week only and now letting go at $530. There is still a year warranty. I will be throwing in 3 boxes of milk storage bags and 2 X 30mm funnels. Interested, please contact me at 93664880 or pm me. Thank you.

hi mummies, how are all doing? MS getting better and appetite improving? I'm getting this heartburn too, gastric prob, so gotta take some antacids. Looks like most of the MTBs here are going to be at TMC. You might just meet one another there?!

Re: breastpump
I'm also looking for an electric pump, my no. 1, i used Avent Isis manual for 2 years cos i kept thinking i may not continue for long. I was wondering if the electric pump will speed things up alittle! I received a medela mini pump from a fren, so is only good for occasional use and not as powerful as the higher end models?

I just received a batch of clothes from the last ON maternity sale, paid abt $140 for 9pcs, so much more reasonable than getting it here!

hope all mummies had a wonderful weekend!

dev19: i think u need to ask ur oct mummy about her total actual cost [coz 1 bedder may not have so much cpf deductions]. actually, for all these mummies uve asked, is it possible to ask them to scan and email u a copy of their bills n u post them up so we can see it for ourselves?

juxta: so far i dont think ive much MS - mostly abd bloatedness and occasional burping. whats ON maternity sale?

mummies: can i ask whats in ur maternity packages uve signed up with? im just wondering whats the difference if i sign up now [early 2nd trimester] or later [in 3rd trimester]?

hi dtsmummy, ON is Old Navy. they had a sale on for their maternity wear so I ordered some clothes back.

Hope everyone feels good this week, was throwing up till my nothing can come up last night b4 bedtime, so tired now.....

hi mummies! had a great weekend as we celebrated my ds' first birthday. he was totally cooperative and even smiled on cue hahaha. didn't expect him to appreciate his little winnie the pooh themed birthday cake, but he LIKED it very much!!! he clapped and smiled...hehehe...

hope everyone had a good weekend too.

Juxta, is the ON maternity clothes sale still on??? aiyah i ordered a pair of maternity jeans from the US to be shipped via Vpost, should have ordered from ON also so can consolidate and save on shipping!!!