(2009/04) April 2009 MTBs

Really envy you all can eat so well. Don't know when can i start to eat properly. So no MS for those who eat well i guess?

i'm having MS only in the mornings and evenings..
belly kinda protuding, but i read this is due to gas in our tummy, not exactly uterine expanding yet.

is this normal??

Hi raspberrytea77,

How far r u? Some people's belly oredi start showing at 5 weeks.. so it's quite notmal.. MS can hit anytime of the day..

Hi ladies...

I'm able to eat but nothing appeals to me..just eating for the sake of eating...and i reali hate the gastric pains..I've already tried to eat as frequent as I can..but the pain just doesn't subside..the doc did give me medicine for it..worked at first but nw like no impact le..and I'm super sensitive to smells now..haiz...hope all these would go away soon...

finally confirm my gynea...
gynea: dr yc goh
hospita: mount a

just saw my bb yesterday 1.92cm 9wks... first time hearing bb's heartbeat feel like tearing... so amazing...

raspberrytea77
its perfectly normal, me too having the same problem...

4eva
me too sensitive to smells feel like vomiting when pass by food court...

i should be 7 weeks, but will need to see gynae to confirm exact..

yes, even the smell of food court is kinda putting me off food...

i think umeya will be regular "stop-by" place soon

hi rachelc..

sorry.. confusion....im fm apr07 mummy... :p:p
sigh.. always confused with the year...

so.. actually when this 2nd one comes along, my 1st one will be 2yrs already..

yes... surely we can get by with all the mummies' support here!!! :D

CHEERS!!!

hi, welcome to all new mummies! this list is growing fast

bokebiegg, i've started to wear maternity clothes as tummy is expanding. most of pre-preg clothes can't be worn. have gained 2kg (prob gas) so far.

hi dodos, i can't eat much as well. really envy those who still can eat as per before.

anyone knows what are the alternatives to drinking milk? i've taken some advice to drink milk everyday but end up vomiting. now i'm really sick and tired of milk.

does anyone experience cramps in early pregnancy? I have some cramps on and off, urine quite yellow and sometimes got yellow discharge,,issit normal?

Hi girls!! My bb #1 due date is on 21st Apr09. My gynae is Dr Chris Chong of GlenE. Im so excited coz it my first child, bt im feelin so constipated n bloated most of the time i dun feel as happy a MTB as i shld be!

clairebear, you are not alone!!
I feel nausea a lot,but trying to stay cheerful~

can't wait for wed...going to see a gynae who will be able to give me a more accurate EDD

Morning everyone,

I went to see my gynae on sat. I am 7 weeks 3 days preggie. BB is 12mm...Saw & hear bb heartbeat. Seems like bb is doing fine inside. Oh yes....my edd has changed to 14 april...i guess edd will still change.

I will be seeing my gynae in 4 weeks time.

dodos,
my MS is veri bad but i still eat alot, sometime si tot my MS might b due to hungry.

iwry,
i have discharge too, it is thick n sometimes smelly, tink shld b normal. nw back to normal le.

raspberrytea,
i tink im 6wks preggie nw but last wk i go c gynae, the scan did not show hw many wks am i n no EDD oso, mayb too early.

iwry,
I have got on and off cramps too. Dr Adrian give me Duphaston to eat. Now cramps are much better. Also have dark yellow discharge, sometimes smelly too. Think it should be normal bah.

hi iwry
it is normal.. like period cramp??
my gynea says got this pelvic cramp which feels like period cramp in the first trimester.

im seeing my gynae on 8 sep... still anxiously waiting to see if edd is still as calculated initially...

nausea is getting from bad to worse.. and the feel of puking is getting stronger everyday...
plain water is the worst drink in this world for me... and wonder wat else I can drink.....

thanks everyone for the helpful tips on MS. have been so sick that i haven't been able to check this forum and so many posts have been put up in a week! great to know so many April 09 moms!

i had a fever last week and now i have a blocked nose and keep coughing yellowish phelgm. it has been really bad for me. i'm 9 weeks now, just hope it will pass by 12th week. i have hardly been able to get to work at all.

hope everyone has a safe and happy pregnancy!

Ciarie,
maybe u can try drinking ribena, at least got some sweetness and taste. do ensure u get enough liquids.

eliora,
hope u feel better alrdy. im also in my 9th week. nausea on and off, some days worse than others, but still can tahan. ytday still go with hb to COMEX, squeeze with so many ppl and nausea came back again. can't wait for 1st trimester to pass.

zazan, my bb at 9 wks was 2.56cm wor. How come mine so big? Are you very small-sized?

I am quite petite. I weigh 42kg and stand at 1.6m.

pat,
my bb was 1.95cm at 9w1d. guess urs is bigger than most, but shld be ok, better bigger than small, right?

wow, u r petite. im 49kg (b4 pregnant) at 1.56m. used to weigh below 40kg, but that was before i got married.

Elina, really arh? No wonder I'm feeling so fat!!
keke. how come below 40kg before marriage and 49kg after marriage?

is there any change to your sleeping habit? like sleep earlier than before? wake up a few times? able to fall back to sleep easy?

hi cocobunz,
my sil is working @ RH. so tot can get a better price mah... and so far seen the gynae twice, okie with him lor.... but yet talk of the package yet. Can your frenz share her package with me? Ya the gyane is tony tan...

whao!!!! pat n elina are so "miao tiao" leh.... "4" never in my wt dictionary before... hee!!! me still ve my tummy after giving birth to my #1 2 yrs ago... ha!!!

Hi leereiner, have arh.. I feel more tired nowadays. So I think I sleep slightly earlier than before. I need to wake up twice to pee. Once at about 2-3am and another time about 6-7am. Falling back to sleep is ok.

I have been skinny all my life since I was a skinny and ugly baby leh. Been trying to put on weight but can't. Now that I am putting on weight, I don't want!!!! coz it's only on the stomach area.. *sob sob*

I think I will get a confinement nanny from an agency or from reliable recommendations bah.

Last week when I went for a scan at 9 wks, my baby was playing in my tummy leh. Doc says bb is enjoying itself in his/her private pool.

It was in an upside down position and it was wriggling for quite a while. My mum and sis were with me and they were so amused. Didn't know that baby could start moving like that at 9 weeks.

My mil will be doing confinement for me. She did confinement on my 1st pregnancy too....

Are you engaging a confinement lady?

pat,
since young, i have been underweight, but ever since reach 30yr old, i think my metabolism slow down, slowly put on weight over the years.
my bb also was upside down during my scan at 9wks, gynae showed me his/her arms moving, like he/she was dancing..
was really amazed, too bad my hb wasn't there.

too sianz to work nah...

#1 was done by mil but baby was taken by myself in day & nite. mil cooked, washed for me. but #2 gonna be at my mum's pl... coz long story... mil has to take care of my sil's baby, she'll be 15mth when my #2 is born (and she may be in childcare too as my sil said). then need to take care of my #1 (but she'll be in full day childcare leh, no need to take care wah) then follow by my #2 and myself. My dh said his mum cant cope lor.... actually during the #1, my dh said his mum found me very very picky.... everything cant lor, not right to do lor... hey we have different life styles, my mil cant expect me to suit her ways as me have my family ways for near to 30yrs. she's not a good cook too. but she did ask me what me wanna eat during my confinement. Of coz me said anything as me didnt know what cant eat, what can eat wah. can me tell her me wanted to eat pizza, KFC, steak sorta food eh.... and whenever she bathed my #1, my girl cried non-stop. then she said my #1 so diff to handle (my girl was small then, 2.345kg only). after my confinement, me bot my #1 to mum's pl to stay over the weekend and saw how my mum bath my #1. my girl didnt cry @ all and smiled. Even my grandma said she did the same way... So me went back home to bath my #1 like my mum, but my mil said no need to be so "ma fan" lah. she just take away my girl for bath, and #1 cired again. So from that day onwards, me didnt bath my girl @ all. This was just a incident, there're lots more.... ha!!!! So think mil is using excuses not to do confinement for me. Me is fine with that.

so want to go back to mum's pl to do confinement but miss my #1. And me want to stay there for 2mth. dh said #1 gotta go childcare. So me cant have best for both worlds. so any suggestion to have my #1 & #2 with me? and me want my mum to take care of #2 but dh object. as mil already said she doesnt want to take care of #2 as she cant stand my "nonsense"

Hi Leereiner, do u have a helper? if yes, I think #1, 2 shld be able to go to yr mum's place. ya.. am a little lethargic to work.

If not, do you want to order confinement food from the web so that yr mum so that #2 can be at yr mum's place?

elina, oohh. Maybe all babies try to do a bit of hanging upside down at 9 wks arh?? Too bad my hb wasn't there tooo.. I tried to describe it to him but how to beat the seeing right?

I am in my early thirties. I hope my metabolism doesn't slow down too much from now....

Leereiner, why don't you try bathing her your mum's way and show your MIL that your bb doesn't cry when it's done like that?

Can you engage a helper at home?

Actually confinement is only for 1 month right? Can you get your husband to bring your girl back to your mum's place for a visit every other day?

Hi mothers,

Anyone considering cord blood banking? Has anyone done OSCAR yet? Mine is due soon.. wish to know what is it like..

jo,
I think there is a thread in this forum on OSCAR test results. i read that there are instances where the OSCAR result is not good, then MTB go for amnio and results show bb is normal, dun hv DS actually. made the MTB anxious for nothing leh.

after reading their experiences, im abit hesitant now, altho alrdy booked for the scan on 24Sep at 12wks plus.

Hi Cynthia, your MIL do confinement for you good?
I dun like leh.. In the end, I have to do everything including getting the water ready for her when baby poopoo while she cleans up...
And alot of things have to DIY... I am definitely getting a confinement lady this time. At least at me rest for my confinement.

Is it necessary to do OSCAR test? What is it for? I did not have OSCAR test also for my number 1...

Hi Jo, you must believe in the cord blood testing then you can go for it. For me, my hubby doesnt really believe in it and it was established not long ago only, said no scientific logics or whatever to prove it...

So many of you have seen your baby at 9 weeks... Am waiting patiently for my turn next monday...

Pat, heard confinement nanny from the agency is quite good... And can change if you dun like.. My collegue is using it...

My MS seemed to be better now... Feels so much better now... Dun have so much of the nauseousness in the daytime now, except no appetite for dinner every night... Hope all of ur MS will go off soon...

Just came back from the gynae. My bb is 2.49cm @ 9w2d.

OSCAR test
I didn't do that for my 1st 2 pregnancies. Only did the triple test. OSCAR test is more accurate than triple test. I will do OSCAR for this pregnancy.

I will be using the same confinement lady who helped me twice previously.

Devil, same as you..my MS is not as bad now. I hope it will go away real soon.

me is staying with my dh's family, i.e PIL, dh's younder bro & sis. so every bedroom is occupied. so extra helper is out of qns. more ever they dont like "stranger" @ home....

dh said my #1 will come to my mum's pl on sat and stay overnite. so sun gotta go back home. so can see my #1 less than 48hr in 1 week... that's terrible....

hi pat,
me didnt have the chance to bath my girl @ all. My mil said my #1 wld catch a cold if me did my mum's way. but at that time, me had close windows, door. and she just carry my girl away and did her way. me so helpless then. wanna cried. left my #1 @ my mum's pl one weekend (when after my confinement) as me wanna rest. my girl didnt wake up for milk at nite @ all and her sleeping time was longer too. and the most unforgettable incident was when my #1 was a few days old, she woke up @ nite and cried. so me cahnge her and fed her. but she still cried. my mil said #1 still want milk. me follow her instruction. so she carried #1 and me made milk. then mil fed. but my girl "puke" the milk out from her nose a few sec when mil put #1 to the milk. from that nite onward, me didnt listen to her - cried means hungry, need to be feed. she still said this even now to my #1.

Hi Jo, I also haven't done OSCARS yet. Think OSCARS done on mothers who are above 30 as the probability of having a child with Down Syndrome's increases with age. I am also due for it in Sept when I am 12 wks, same as elina.

Hi devil, hope confinement lady from agency is good coz I have heard bad feedback also. Sigh, think it boils down to luck too. Good to hear that your MS is much better. It is so uncomfortable with the little bump and we still have to tolerate with MS.. Very demoralizing right? keke

Yeah tigger, your bb's at 2cm plus at 9 weeks too. I still thought mine's too big. Now I'm relieved.. haha

My MS is getting worse now, so really no mood for anything...But still gatt work. Let's all hang in there.

I had a bad experience with my first CL, this time getting a recoomendation from friend, hope she'll be good.

Think I'll do all the necessary test if they're not invasive. For peace of mind.

Leereiner, you MIL is one stubborn mule hor? insist on doing things her way. But since you are staying with her, I think it is quite difficult to do anything about it. Just have to grit yr teeth and bear with it. If you can, do everything yourself with the help of your husband.

If you engage help, you can stay at your mother's house with your #1. Actually if you engage a confinement lady for about 2 months, you will be able to take care of #1 at your mum's place too? Then can avoid the stubborn mule..

hi pat,

wld not said mil is stubborn lor... or rather she's so comfortable to her way, but who will not leh, right? like washing clothes, baby clothings and adult one are soaked and washed together. even my great anutie came over and saw the colthings, she "complained" to my mum. and unsure whether she has mixed my #1 with my bil lab robe or not lor.... but anyway, dh said , "you see, our #1 is good, nothing happen to her wah..." so what can me said leh...

did mention to my mum, that me wanna bring #1 over during the confinement period. my mum is okie for it. she said she can take care of both lor.... why so diff leh? she also did that when me and my younger was less than 1 yr difference lor... and my mum is older than my mil. my PIL "retired" at very early age, late 30s to 40. So 3 of 4 children have been supporting the family. my mil is staying @ home one whereas FIl always out to jalan jalan n travel. my mum said mil wants to have good life. but me said mil and mum are not obligate to take care of grandchildren one lor.... mil has the right not to take care of grandchildren one, esp mine. coz me is a "difficult" person to deal with... ha!!!

ya read from the OSCARS thread too, seems like flase alarm is quite high eh....

wow, so many of you update of your bb lor... me gotta wait till this sat....

me had laska again for lunch... n got "scolding" from colleagues and its male one lor... "muz eat healthy food lah, eat laska huh!!!!" my MS is no better lor.... so sianz.... so tired... so sleepy....

Hey, actually hor, i read articles that say that if you have very bad morning sickness, to not worry about whether what you eat is healthy or not. Just go for what you crave because it is easier to keep food down that way and pregnant women need food. So it's better to have unhealthy food than no food coz of all the throwing up. That's their theory anyway keke.

About your MIL Leereiner, I think you're right that no one is obliged to help us care for our kids lor. If your mum is willing to help, maybe just get a confinement nanny to lessen her burden for a month or so. After that 1 month, you can also help to attend to your #1 already. Won't be that tiring for your poor mummy

I haven't had laksa for very long, now you're making me crave laksa already... *snicker*

Oh yes everyone, I have such a wonderful gynae leh. I asked her about eating runny eggs and sashimi and she gives me the green light.

She says eggs are quite controlled in Singapore so the chances of me being infected are extremely rare. For sashimi, she says to go to big and reputable joints where they toss out unfresh raws and replace with new ones. Yeah.. So happy leh.

wow, so many of you visit your gynae already? I hvnt make any appt yet. I'm very demoralised with work and wanted so much to terminate my pregnancy...but i know thats the last choice.

Have been feeling very nauseous and will vomit whatever i eat.

lynne what happened? I hope you don't think of terminating your pregnancy. How far along are you now?

I didn't like my MIL to do confinement for me too. At first, my mum supposed to do confinement for my #1 but she cannot do night time as she is not used to sleeping at my place.
So my MIL took 2 weeks leave and my 2nd & 3rd week confinement was done by her. So in the morning, there are two mothers taking care of me. My mum look after my #1, my MIL will cook.
Although my MIL say she will help me take care of baby at night, she ended up snoring louder than my hb. And she insisted to sleep in the same room as us. I had Emergency C-sect, but had no choice to wake up in the night to feed my gal. Did not really take care of myself during confinement.

So this time round, to prevent my MIL from coming over to stay over, I am getting a confinement lady. Sound very bad but I dun want MIL to come irritate me and disturb my rest.

pat,
i wanted so much to leave my job and i found out i'm pregnant. With that, either i have to quit or i have to stay put. But my bosses are very horrible, throwing all the things to me and they keep on gg for holiday. ANythign happened, i will be the one who got the blame. I'm so stressful that i can't cope and i can't sleep at all. I'm afraid if i cont to be like tat, its ver bad for me n baby. but at the same time, i cant quit w/out a job. I'm in my 7 weeks