(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

<font color="aa00aa">moomooland,
u can use baby oil to rub n remove. it will goes off quite easily.

srumpee,
im the opp. dunno y keep havin loose stool, i can go toilet 3-4times daily but not diarrhoea.</font>

can someone pm me mdm rokiah's contacts? my ms is so miserable, i feel like giving up...

kris - can also use olive oil right?

on loose stools - i think its coz we drink alot of fluids, hence the loose stools, i have that alot as well. also, fart like no one's business..how come ?

Grace,
Didn't hear anything. I was so dead tired last night that I didn't even hear my own baby cry! Haha... hubby was the one who had to wake up twice and feed her ebm :p The first time by the time I woke up (which was cos she was so hungry that she cried blue murder), hubby already heated up the milk. She must have waited until cannot take it already. Oops :p

fairymoss,
Huh? 3 days is within the 1 week stipulated period, why not entitled?

afcai - my gal is coming to 5 weeks old, and needs to be swaddled to have better sleep, just thinking when can she sleep soundly unswaddled...

pups - how long do you take to heat up the milk taken from fridge? if bb is crying badly, it will take around 5min also right? wonder if bottle warmer would help in this case....

Moomoo, kris, Miss83, the loose stools come abt because of the antibiotics. are u all on antibiotics? My gynae said So...

Moomoo, I never swaddle my girl in day time now, but night time, yes I still do. I think slowly slowly we can try to swaddle looser and looser till it becomes like blanket? Haha. Day time I no swaddle her also sort of to train her to learn to sleep unswaddle..

Mittens and booties :
I already removed.. Haha. My girl coming to 6wks this thurs..

Grace,

A bit difficult to describe. i use my fingers to press my boobs lor.. the distance is abt 3 finger space from aerola on both sides. Normally i feel for lump and compress with a bottle in one hand, trying to collect the milk the squirt out.

For hot stone, i use milk bottle and put warm water inside to subsistute.. but really, the hot stone is very good.. cos milk bottle got some area cannot really reach properly.

Milk Supply:
Not sure if its due to confinement diet or due to pregnancy diet. During pregancy, I ate lots of oats, and I was already leaking colostrum during last few wks of pregnancy. Now during confinement, I've been eating lotsa fish and drinking lotsa hot fluid. Becos mine is c-sec, so first 12 days can only eat fish &amp; meat &amp; veg. So I really had plenty of fish, esp threadfin fish (wu yu)

Scrumpee:
I also had constipation and didn't poo for almost 1 wk after delivery. The stool medicine my gynae gave didn't work. I then drink prune juice and ate alot of veg &amp; fruits. It works for me and now I'm passing motion daily

Sterilization:
I sterilize after each use. Maybe cos now got CL to help so don find it "lay chay". Usually leave it inside unless too many stuff inside, then my CL will take some out, without exposing the inner side of the bottles/cover. If really worried, then can pour hot water over it again b4 using

Cranky BB time:
DO any of u notice your BB have a few hrs each day when they are cranky and refuse to sleep even after feeding and diapers ok?

Sung:
Glad to hear you have resolve your ducts problem and yielding good amt of milk. Way to go gal!

oh ya, my CL also said for c-sec, can't take seafood for 3mths cos surface heal but not inside.

I'm still getting the masseur over tml. I'll tell her to aviod the c-sec area and do rest of body. My neck/shoulder and arms are aching like crazy!

Moomooland, farting is good, means alot of wind is getting ride off..me also fart alot during confinement

Cindy, ya the antibiotics will cause loose stools, but I finish liao still hving loose stools

mangogal
when did u finish ur antibiotics? my loose stool stopped a few days after my antibiotics finished..so it's not directly after u stop..

<font color="aa00aa">moomooland,
can use olive oil too. i dun fart dat often, keke.

scrumpee,
quickly go take fruits or prune juice, dun poo for a few days muz b feelin veri uncomfy.

miss83,
2dae is my 7th day, wonder if the loose stool will stop soon, but actuali quite gd to get rid of the toxic inside me.

cindy,
i juz finished my antibiotic yest, so will c whether the loose stool will stop soon.</font>

long time didn't log in, now taking a break while Brianne is napping.

I delivered Brianne thru c-sect on 23rd March 2009 at TMC due to pre-eclampsia (High Blood Pressure)

We were discharged on Thursday, 26th March 2005. First nigt was a nightmare.. my breast engorged and brianne had a hard time suckling till her gums hurts.. she is a good girl.. she really tried suckling for more than an hour for 3 session through the night. the next morning, we had no choice but to go TMC parent craft to seek for help.

we were told to sun bathe her every day to lower her jaundice.. but when we tried to remove her swaddle.. she scream her head off... walked around the poolside for the sessions, she would cry all the way till she reached home... we are very heartbroken to see her cry so much.. didn't managed to sun her in the evenings as it was pouring every day.

on Monday, 30th March... Brianne went for followup check up and was diagnosed with Jaundice of 16.5.. I broke down in tears when we had to make a painful decision to ward her for 3 days 2 nights.

Hubby known me for 5 yrs and had never see me cry in public.. i am too proud to do it.. but cos of Brianne, my tears went down my cheeks like a running tap.

We were given the options of renting the bili bed but we are not confident on how to really use it proper to make her better.

we went to hospital daily to deliver EBM and stayed there for the whole day in half day breaks to make sure she is ok..

Brianne was discharged on wednesday, 1st april..
it was really hard for me when she was warded.. i kept waking up in the middle of the night missing her and staring at her cot... it was really heart breaking.

now we are still trying to settle her.. she would cry out loud everytime there is thunder..
we had to hold her all the time when she is sleeping while it rains..

she would not let us put her to sleep in her cot at night.. the only way she will really sleep is to lie on my chest ansd lsiten to heartbeat.

I hope to get her settled soon.. this friday, i am going to TMC for a quick check up on my breast again, cos always engorges and hardens..

till then...

Lenny, u delivered on 23mar??? me too! I stayed at 6th floor. I was at the FOC bb bathing class on 24mar 1:30pm, were u there? me also discharged on thursday leh. but while waiting near the delifrance, i dun see anybody there leh.

Lenny, i hope Brianne's jaundice clear up soon.

If you engorge freq, perhaps u are blessed with plentiful of milk and u might want to express it out in shorter intervals.

asura,

thanks for checking out IRAS. Aiyah, the website so misleading one, chey, I thot so nice to entitle us to claim for our march bbs cuz it says born on or after 1 Jan 08. DUH!

Just to check if you ladies comply to the confinement rules or heck care liao? Last confinement I die die stick to it, but this time round, me simply bochap leh, wonder if got any side effects later on in life or not. the only thing i still adhere to is food restrictions cuz CL cooks mah. But when comes to touching water, I'm washing hands like nobody's business with tap water.

reverie, thanks for the suggestion. I got consider the medela microvable bag, but then i dunno want to use the microwave in the office or not, cuz always v dirty, with food spillage and smell etc. also washing the parts is taking up quite some time, then still must sterilize, wonder if my boss would frown upon that or not if I disappear 1 day 3x for milk expression. She's a middle-aged married lady with no children.

afcai - hee hee... i dun like the smell n taste of dom... my mil adds quite a bit to the soups after it has boiled.. so the smell is still there... yalo... bth when he prepare the milk so slow... then bb screaming her head off... i bth also.. so most of the time i wld rather do it myself... faster...

i think sleep/rest is very impt for MS... mdm rokiah did ask me to get more rest... i dont really nap in the afternoon becos i look after my bb... then at night i also look after her... if i do get to sleep it wld be at night...

Lenny - tk care okie!! dun worri Brianne will be fine... =)

hi fairymoss,

I was also at the bathing class but i left halfway cos of the pain.. i don't know if u noticed. the lady who was conducting the class was Lilian. halfway she did ask me how i felt. i was fidgeting throughout cos the chair i sat on was hard and its pressing on my wound.

lenny,

i recommend mdm rokiah for ur engorgement..

breast harden = engorgement.. did u pump? me have that if i dont pump for 5 hrs so poor me, even if bb decides to sleep more than 5 hrs, i cant.

hmmm..i only saw a lady who left halfway and came back, but that's a Malay lady leh. I was sitting at the side chairs. I'm a short small lady with long hair which I tied up in a pony tail. I dun wear specs.

For this Friday,

apart from checking my breast, we need to monitor Brianne's weight as well cos she has not been putting on weight so far.. for the past 2 weeks, my milk flow is not that good cos of my engorged breasts.

i weigh her on my home weighing machine, she is now 3.2kg. she was 3kg when she is born, but when she was discharged, she was only 2.8kg till last friday.

i hope my home weighing scale is accurate though..

Take care mummies.. i will try to log in when i can

Hi Asura,

I do pump, my nipples are kinda sore.. cos bb suckles for about 45 mins and then i have to pump. so after each session, i apply medela nipple cream..

lenny,

dont worry, it is quite normal for bb to lose weight first. Mine also lost 200g when discharged.
for sore nipples, i find the avent nipple cream better.

<font color="ff0000">Asura,</font>
Thanks! I got the Ameda dual lactaline breast pump hee got it from BMSG, so far it's ok, not as painful as mini electric that i was using previously
i never saw the purely yours breast pump before :p

<font color="ff0000">Scrumpee,</font>
I oso hv constipation during 1st 3 wks of confinement. can pass motion only every 3 days if lucky. tot was from the heaty food ate, didn't dare drink prune juice at tat time as is cold from fridge. now in my last wk, hving loose stools and stomachache, suspect from antibiotics i'm tking now. haha reversal liao.

<font color="ff0000">Afcai,</font>
the gp said is safe but we check online, all the info said better dun nurse bb while taking coz hv some side effects that will affect digestive system of bb, so playing safe and not feeding bb with ebm now, got to wait another 3 days before i finish my course then can give him bm again, can't wait!

<font color="ff0000">Lenny,</font>
can understand how you feel, i cry the day my bb was diagnosed with jaundice and admitted, and again during the next day when we visited him. the sense of helplessness at being unable to help him or suffer in his place is so overwhelming, tears will just flow. dun worry now k, your bb gal is ok liao. even indirect sunlight is good, so can push her cot nearer to the window every morn and give her some indirect sunlight, just dun let the sun shine near her eyes.

<font color="ff0000">re. cutting bb fingernails</font>
have you Mummies cut your baby's fingernails yet? My bb's nails are really long and CL said cannot wear mittens after 2nd month preferably so that bb's hands can grow properly. But i dun dare to cut his nails. Any tips on how to cut? his fingers so small, i'm so worried will hurt him...

<font color="ff0000">re. bb haircut</font>
anyone cut their bb's hair for full month? whole head cut or just trim abit? worried bb so young, cut hair like so dangerous. haha i'm a ks ftm, so worried of hurting bb :p

Hi everyone..

wow how did u all manage to find time to come on line... sigh... my boy latch on to zzz.. simply feel like ni tu stuck to him... cant carry him without him trying to find my nipple!!!

Going crazy liao... my ms also funny one... a bit bit.. when i read all ur posting .. feel really jealous... sigh.. when can i ever store milk in freezer.. hahaha now jus nice for current usage...

opps got to go .. boy crying again...

pls pm me mdm rokiah's contact too... if still cant increase my ms will get her... after reading all the praises, feel badly in need..

re:bb nails
my mom just cut my bb nails last wk...I also dont dare to do it myself..now mom is overseas..dunno how i'm gonna cut my bb nails later..they grow so fast!

re: vitamins
anyone of u taking vitamin c and calcium supplement from GNC (or others)? is it safe for breastfeeding?

re: urine
dunno why my urine was pinkish just now..wonder if it's due to the longan tea..or because i dont drink enough..abit worried..

mangogal, woo. weird that loose stools take so long to stop. Might be your diet eh. Maybe can check with gynae?

fairymoss. High 5. Tis second round I really super lax. Don't know if it is because have to take care of 2 kids, or if its because no do confinement strictly, I actually already fell sick 2x. Hai... Whatever it is, too late to regret, have to tell myself it is coincidence, or its just really no time to rest due to taking care of 2. Haha.

<font color="aa00aa">fairymoss,
i oso mainly follow the confinement food onli, im in aircon room 24hrs, i shower, i wash hand, etc. the weather is too hot to bear.

miss83,
i take supplements frm GNC, coz i dun drink milk, so i take calcium pill n multi vit.</font>

thanks miss83 and irene.
my cl and mil oso dun dare to cut bb's nails and of coz i dun dare too...tink will try to drag till 6 weeks then cut for him.

irene, you cut while bb is asleep? using the bb scissors?

just want to highlight to everyone Mdm Rokiah does not do post natal massage. She only does breast massage for those with problems with MS esp blocked ducts. She will massage for you only your boobs. Nothing else. She has other pple from her company to do the post natal massage. If you want someone for post natal massage from her company, you can go to www.jamumassage.com . That is her company's web

thanks =)

sung, i cut my boy's nails.. at first i was afraid, but it wasn't that difficult after i try out.. I cut during day time when he's deep asleep.. i sue bb's scissors to cut.. very easy and fast..
as for hair, i only trim a bit bit during first month celebration.. thinking of trimming again cos his hair is really long and many pple mistaken my little one is a gal1!! hhhaha

lenny, glad tt ur bb's jaundice is better now.. first few days/wks will be chaotic one.. but don't worry, very soon u will be settled doown with ur precious one.

me up with pumping again. btw, i had mdm rokiah service yesterday too.. it was indeed very encourging and she's very very nice lady.. i had pumped and even latch bb prior her visit to ensure not too much wastage.. to my surprise, she helped me with compression and create "fountains" which i had never before.. even after an hr of massage, my milk fountain is still going strong.. she mentioned that as long i clear my ducts, my MS should increase to 200ml per pump compare to my usual pump of 120ml. at night, i tried pumping, i was sooo happy to get 180ml, but this din last long... cos the next following pumps, i yield abt 130ml-150ml which is better than usual amt. hope my MS will continue to increase.. actually i was quite tired with all these pumping.. i think bfing really takes up a lof of my time... but no choice..

moomooland,
It does take a few minutes to heat up chilled milk. I have used a bottle warmer previously and it is not faster since the water bath in the warmer takes time to heat up from room temperature to hot water. Whereas if you get hot water from an airpot or thermos flask, the water bath is hot to atart with. For the heating process to be faster, get ready 2 cups of hot water, immerse your chilled bottle of milk in one cup, then after awhile immerse it in the second cup of hot water.

Wow...reading so many posts abt Mdm Rokiah..seem like she's really good!!

Currently MS is abt 130-150ml every 5hrly. Wondering if I should see her to make sure the ducts are totally not blocked...I oso wanna yield 200ml each pump...heee~~~ Do you think she'll be able to help?

sung, u mean the nails? I cut them when he is awake, holding his lil hand n fingers, he holds on to me, so easier to cut. Toe nails a bit difficult cos he keep kicking... Slowly cut them. I use safety 1st or issit 1st safety brand de nail clipper for babies.
As for hair, my mum hold on to his head then i trim a bit off just for a ''yi shi''.

Wintertime, can increase to 200ml ah... Mmmm a bit tempted to call her to help me but i'm not sure i got block ducts anot..din feel got pain, only on my right side nipple got a bit pain n i try to squeeze it after pumping. Currently, per pump every 3 hours got ard 100ml to 120. Per day can get 800ml.

missycandy
i understand that it is not advisable for us to take 'koo chye'.
regarding the vege Mdm Rokiah recommended, pengaga, my dad asked around and our neighbour advised not to take also cos we dunno whether our body can take it. muslim diet is very different from ours as they take a lot of spice so they are able to take it, but our body may not be able to take if the vege is too liang.
and instead, i was asked to take chicken feet with peanut soup. taken once, dunno if it helps but that day my MS went up
so will try again.

irene
no harm trying Mdm Rokiah. like missycandy said, if u have blocked ducts, she can definitely help. if not, she will give some advice wat to eat n how to compress, etc.

Grace, Irene, hmm.. don't expect to increase the MS overnight.. but like wat others say, if got blocked ducts, she can help.. I had engaged her coy for my post natal service, tt's y i thought it's no harm tyring out her service for blocked ducts... though i din reach 200ml per pump, but after seeing her, at least i m more encouraged and motivated.. and there's a slight increase in my MS too which is gd enough..

It's weird, I can lop-sided supply from my boobs. Anyone experience that? For eg, in the first 5 min I can get 40ml from my left breast but only 10 ml from my right. Hope I dun end up with uneven breasts...

Any mummies here use those pillow with a "hole" in the centre for their mummies? Supposed to make the head rounder...