(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

jtho - okie... i need to call them tmr.. thanks =D

irene - i wun have opportunity to try.. LOL... its okie hehehehehe

today quiet day in forum... all mummies KO olredi huh... hehehe... im so excited becos tmr Mdm rokiah coming... shall see her verdict tmr...

misscandy, dun forget to post the results later.
Jtho, how many ml you get per pump session now after mdm rokiah's massage?

Irene
after Mdm Rokiah's session, i see an increase of about 10ml every day. it was abt 40-50ml before the session, then the day after, it was 60ml, then 70ml, yesterday and today morning, i get 110ml, rest of the day abt 80ml, only just now i suddenly get 120ml.

<font color="119911">Keron&amp;Jeris</font>,
yr hubby gd wor...I scolded my hubby when he only know how to slp. of cos, wkday, I will not disturb him cos he got to work. but I already told him wkened must help but he.....like today, I am so angry and threw the pillow at him when I called him several times, I needed help (bb dun want to slp fr 12am/1am after his feed and all the way...I also dun want my mum to help in night shift cos day time, she already helped a lot in hsehold) but even bb cry so loud, this man hor also cannot hear one...

<font color="119911">misscandy</font>,
my boy this wk dun want to slp after his 12am/1am feed. burping and feeding him already consider big project liao (cos need at least half an hr of feeding (last mth, at least 1hr)). by the time, feeding him liao, I got to pump and the cycle goes on. he also will gek till face red red when i place him on his playpen and will 'er ni' then. so doc advise to let him sit upright 20mins before plc him bck to slp. but hor, once, he is plc on his playpen, he struggle via stretching till 'er ni' then cry....the whole night needed either to carry or let him slp on his rock and rock him to slp. dunno as if his playpen got pins wor....

the max I can slp is 20-30 mins every pump/feed. luckily, mum helped out over at 4am if not...I can 'die' of tiredness....dun day yr face gaunt looking, mine also like that....panda eyes etc...tummy still bloated....

hmm...how do u lost weight?? I have not weight myself ever since I knew I gained weight in march loh.

re:bf.
once, the supply reduced, a bit hard to reversed bck loh. yup,some medicine like fengukee. i heard fr another forum mummies that this medicine Mexalon was prescribed to her by her gynae after she delivered. she only took 3 pills then stopped already. her breasts became very engorged and as a first-timer, she didnt know wht to do...really had a hard time then cos the milk will kept flowing non-stop. now, she got so much bm that she also dunno what to do.

how's yr bb?

<font color="119911">babe</font>,
see this posting where this mummy shared her experience abt tbf and how she maintain her supply. u 'jia you' in bf.

Even though I am not sure how exactly i maintain my good supply of BM, i think i will share some experiences here, hope it helps!

1) Before my BM started, i ate this medicine called "Mexalon" (not sure if i spelled correctly), and the flow came non stop after that...

2) I eat 3 meals a day regularly. Breakfast will definitely have one boiled egg, one milo, one slice of bread + cheese, one apple. Night time before sleep i will drink a glass of HL milk. Other than that, i eat normal meals. I actually eat everyting i feel like eating, occasionally I will crave for macdonald and coke...and i will satisfy myself every now and then :p

3) I have one electric pump and one manual pump (used to have one manual pump only, but really pump until handache...). I will start with the electric pump first, till it seems finish, i will use manual pump. The reason why is becos electric pump tends to be less efficient in emptying the BM, so got to use manual pump to make sure everything is out.

4) I try to sleep and rest once i got chance....

5) I drink lots of water, before and after pumping.

6) I pump every 4-5 hours, make sure at least 5 times per day.

I think thats about it.....

Actually my pumping wasnt always very smooth...My right breast tends to get clots very easily, especially during the first month. It was so painful and i couldnt empty them out...At the end i went to hospital, and the lactation consultant actually used needles to poke my nipples It didnt work as well!!!! And the consultant was out of ideas...I was so stressed and scared of getting mastitis which will stop BM. But i told myself i got to do it, i cant let these clots stopped my BM. So, with faith, i used cold cabbage to apply hours b4 pumping, and i prayed.... It cleared at the end! I was so glad and relieved, really felt like striking lottery, hehe.

These clots still come back every now and then, esp. sometimes when i overslept and the interval between pumping gets too long. But i managed it with determination and faith.

Everyone has a different stories when it comes to BF, but lets jiayou together, to provide the best for our babies
<font color="119911">IDAARSHAD</font>,
wow, fast and smooth labour u have.....cheers...wondering how u cope with 4 kids? I got 2 kids head already big with lack of slp liao...

<font color="119911">teddybaby</font>,
envy envy, u got so much bm. how do u get so much wor?

if my bb latch on, he only drink little and then doze off. latching on him is like giving him pacifier, he suck for comfort only. so at 7pm+, i will latch him to slp, my nipples can cast 'a magic spell' on him to make him slp longer till 12a, or 1am for next feed. if not, when he plc onto his playpen, as if his playpen got needles, he will stretch and then cry.

so normally, will feed him ebm. now, will feed him 60-80ml every 2 hrs.

how long do u pump each time?

hello afcai mummy! =)

losing weight - erm i dunno leh.. im nt doing anything extra.. i guess the lack of sleep plus the awful food im having day in day out... LOL.. make me nt much appetite also... i used to eat more pre-preg... during preg &amp; after giving birth, am eating less...

burping bb - ya i also have problem burping bb.. so what i do is if she doesnt burp after stroking her for a long time.. i put her upright to sit for awhile... im gave her colic medicine given to me by PD... it did help initially but night b4 she merlion again... haii... so i took the PD's suggestion and went to buy Friso comfort (its for bbies with colic. reflux &amp; constipation) i mix it with Friso Stage 1. I only started last night... so far touch wood no merlion.. and she is drinking better... burping still okie... she does fart a lot too... but when she burps, some milk does come out.. jus a squirt... as long as nt merlion im happie! r u bfing or Fm? if u giving fm might want to consider giving Friso comfort if not giving already =) its also for premies

now have new problem.. ever since the mucus episode, there is build up of phglem in her throat... and its a problem everytime i feed her... it all tends to build up in her throat and can hear her very chesty... heavy breathing... dn feel the chest can feel the "creps" i was so worried this morning at 4am after feeding her becos im so worried it will go into her lungs... so i tried to call KKH A&amp;E and NUH A&amp;E to enquire but no one answer lor... bb also no fever.. plus she still alert and responsive... i was talking to meebaby over MSN as well... toopid hubby said just let her lie sideways can liao... -_-" bad part is no 24hr PD ard my area... =( clinic also some distance away... anyway, i decided to bring her to bed after awhile... and she did fall asleep.. anyway im bringing her to the PD again tmr... so sian... everyday go PD... =\ poor bb have the phglem but cnt cough out. she will cough but swallow it back... i also dunno hw to suck it out for her... =(

Jus to highlight to all mummies, do make sure you have standby clinic numbers, locations, 24hr PD consults in the event you need to seek help and unsure of anything. other then actually going dwn to the hospital itself

oh ya abt the playpen ... haii becoming white elephant in my room.. and it takes up space lo... feel like moving it into living rm til she reaches 2-3mths then put her into playpen again to sleep... right now i think she needs security frm us... so we let her sleep with us... dunno why she will always whimper, squirm and cry when put her into playpen... haii...

jtho,
Can I also get Mdm Rokiah's contact from you? I want to standby her contact in case I need her service. For my #1, I had such bad block when my baby was 3.5 months that I ended up with mastitis

now typing with one hand while my korea bear lying on my chest....he just finished his milk(got to wait for 20 mins after feed b4 plc him bck to bed).dunno will he turned nite owl later...

<font color="119911">misscandy</font>
ai-yo, me also not so much appetite.only think i longed is to have long beauty slp. so tired wor.

my boy also fart a lot. loud fart man....my boy also sometimes burp, will merlion out....

hmmm are u bf bb? for me, i'm tbf. have not give any fm to bb yet. bb intake of milk still low so still got excess ebm and then i will freeze it or else mixed fm n give to my no#1.

my boy also have heavy breathing too...dunno do yr bb like to stretch and gek face till red red or not? then my bb will 'er ni' thru nose n mouse after tat.

yup, true, my mum also said just let bb lie sideway or just let her lie on our chest. it helps.

hmm maybe u ask PD how to remove the phglem? my boy got slight running nose during his stay at scn. nurse gave him drop on nose then to clear hus airway so tat he can breath easily.hmm why not go kkh children A&amp;E then?

re:playpen
this whole wk, I have been sleepless night man....bb wake up at 1140pm or 12am+ for feed(slp at 8pm after my magic spell aka latch on knock him off) then, dun wan to slp when plc him bck onto his playpen.. he will slp on his day bed aka rocker or my chest (dunno pretend one of not) then. think his playpen got pins man....

luckily, my mum helped out at 3-4am slot if not i die man....bb can be cranky till 7am+.of cos, will not ask hubby to help out during wkday cos he needed to work. but over wkend like y'day, i'm so fed up that i threw the pillow on him. i called him few times to help me to attend to bb while i need to go pump(bb had his feed liao) and this man just nodded head and lie still on bed. before that, i already told him dun let my mum took over night shift during wkend, cos she already helped out a lot in hsehold liao. but this man....so on sun, i just 'threw' bb to him to take care while i do my thing(online) and slp.

hai....

I feel so depress to see my MS reduce and feel that the breast is still heavy after pumping for 40mins and got only abt 50ml. I tried to call Mdm Rokiah and she so kind to slot me into her schedule. I was so suprise to me when she came and not touching my breast yet and told me I've blocks and after abt 10mins of light massage, my milk flow like nobody business. Before she came I just had done my pumping. She compress my breast with the hotstone and I can feel so much of my milk flowing. As she massage, my milk spurting all over and that the reason when I want to do my session on the bed, she advise to have a mattress. I was so happy to see that I've got so much milk. If I know earlier that she provide such service, would call her earlier on, so that dont feel so stress before. Lots of advise she shared with me abt bb and tips during confinement. Tks to her so much of her wonderful service.

me too had mdm rokiah sessions yesterday and I can say no regret at all with her service. My milk supply was so bad that I nearyly giveup. Her session was not pain at all compare to the lactation I went before. All mummies out there, just give her try with her if you've got problem with you MS and wish that she can help and advise you better.

me too had mdm rokiah sessions yesterday and I can say no regret at all with her service. My milk supply was so bad that I nearyly giveup. Her session was not pain at all compare to the lactation I went before. All mummies out there, just give her try with her if you've got problem with you MS and wish that she can help and advise you better

Misscandy
For the mucus, what did your PD do? Becos I can hear muscus-like sound in my bb's nose. Just want to get prepared bcos it will be the 2nd visit to PD this Tue and his 2nd Hep B jab oso...

I have started on ebm,after knowing how to use e pump finally?!

Tink will do latch on when my nipples more comfy...don wan disfigured nipples!!!

Jus notice my bb's appetite has increased...he can only sleep soundly w a cocktail of b,/fm n sometimes water when he burps...gosh...no wonder we need e maternity leave...

Relax mom k, then we can enjoy e bbs better!

missycandy, my bb is taking friso stage 1...din noe there's friso comfort...more for newborn? btw, do let me noe if yr bb's poo is greenish yellow...hee coz my bb taking my bm + fm..i dun see total yellow poo but mixture greenish yellow..just curious since u r trying out friso, izzit the milk powder or the stuffs i ate. THKS!! =p

jtho...oh thks...more relieve nw...hee..coz caca advised me cld b due to some content in the fm.. (vege, etc)but the content on the tin too cheem, ...n so far no one mentions abt greenish yellow poo. hee...thks alot!!

mummies who have done breast massage, can i check if your btreats still have certains "lumpy" area? muscle? they r nt totally soft after pump rite? =p

mummies, out of curiosity...can we pour our EBM into milk bottles n cover them up n store in fridge so tat we can warm them up faster..no nid to pour frm 1 container to another. =)

afcai - i give bb fm &amp; ebm. heh.. my ms still nt stable. only able to give 1 feed of ebm a day... max 2... =( her gek face is there whenever she tries to shit or becomes when she is uncomfy... whole face like lobster... the PD did give me nose drops but it doesnt seem to help leh... in fact now the nose nt much problem becos all the phglem has traveled to the throat instead!!! hubby feels its not that urgent to bring to kk a&amp;e lo... haiii dunno leh...

grace - the PD used a nasal spray to clear the nose.. can see a lot of the mucus come out but not totally cleared... she gave me saline drops to soften to mucus for me to suck out with my pigeon nose sucker &amp; some nose drops for nasal congestion... that was 1st visit... then at night become clogged again so next day i brought her to PD again.. this time round, PD gave me the nasal spray and ask me to do it for her at home... You must be prepared if she gives u the nasal spray or if she uses the spray on ur baby... becos have to hold bb head down as well as her hands... and she will crying blardy murder!!! but after that when its cleared, bb is happy.. hehe... i havent actually used the spray at home becos i feel that the nose more or less has cleared up.. if i see dried mucus, i drop the saline drops... then i use cotton to "dig" out the mucus.. and it really works.. see the mucus come out feel really good.. hehehe... but now the problem is her phglem... *sian*

SG - my bb poo still yellowish leh... though when i 1st gave friso comfort &amp; friso stage 1, the 1st poo was some orangey colour.. maybe it was the light... nt sure also.. becos was early in the morning and the light is orangey colour.. hahahaa... Friso Comfort is for baby with colic, constipation &amp; reflux problems. =)

i store my EBM in milk bottles.. direct after pumping becos i dun see the need to transfer to other containers... my MS also not suffice to use milkbags at the moment... hehehe...

ive been awake since 330am... after feeding her milk, she refuse to go back to sleep... eyes wide open... put her down she keep kicking and crying and whining and whimpering... gahhhhhhhhhhhhhh... *panda* sigh...

reverie
thanks for e link

missycandy
haha.. my party on 12th.. if wait till urs over den decide. i tink too late.. sikali ltr they might be too busy to do my biz..lols

queenie - hehehehehe.... ya so u better decide ba.. but i cn still let u knw nice or nt... hehehehe maybe last min cn change dishes? hehhee im going to take a nap.. tired... bth.. later mdm rokiah coming...

Queenie, I stopped my gal from wearing mittens when she was 5 weeks old. Rem from Mrs Wong lesson that baby shd stop wearing mittens when they hit 6 weeks. Baby will touch her fce but up to now didnt scratch her face.

Pinksorbet, sayang sayang. I guess all of us as FTM tends to get more emotional. I cried that day too when my baby just keep crying at nite despite cuddling and holding her. Haiz was so tired and just tot of how my life has changed. Now my life seems to just revolve around baby and just felt so down all of a sudden. Misses the couple time I had with my husband and the freedom before I had her.

Miss83
Mine is at TMC - c-sect..total bill (incl gynae,PD and everything) is ard 5.8k (excl medisave-$3.4). stay 2 nights at TMC, 1 bed

Re: mittens

read somewhere that can stop wearing after 6weeks, likewise for cutting nails as advised by PD.

missycandy, how's your session with mdm rokiah?

afcai, the lactation consultant at tmc taught me to unswaddle bb during latching so that he dun feel too comfy to fall asleep before finishing both breasts. can give it a try

Just a quick question, does everyone get almost the same amount of MS every time you pump or it varies? I can get as much as 170 to 190ML in the morning and the rest of day can only get about 50 to 70ml when BB has yet to feed. Is there something wrong and should I engage this Madam Rokiah to just see if I have blocked ducts? Cos I recall somone sayig that there should be 8 ducts spraying milk when pumpred and I don't see all 8 for each breasts? Appreciate any advise. Thanks!!

hi all jus finished my session with Mdm rokiah.. she is indeed very nice !!! gave a lot of advise... i dont have blocked ducts... i only dont have the supply... she says the quality is good... like formula quality... just that supply is not enough... =( my right breast only has 1 hole in the centre... my left breast has 3... i asked her hw many shld one have... she said depends on size of ur nipples.. if u have huge nipples then will have more holes... but she said 3 is okie... she suggested for me to consume Koo Chai, Peng Ah Ger ( both veggie i dont knw the english name and neither does she ) plus the papaya &amp; fish soup... she says the papaya must be green skin and white flesh.. not a hint of orange... my mil has been buying the orange one for me lor -_-" though i told her green colour papaya... *sianx* u can see pic of the peng ah ger here - http://jamumassage.com/motherhood-blog/food-to-increase-milk-supply

thats all for now... i wait for my mil to go home then il make a trip to chong pang market to look for my stuff...

YY, what is the time interval that you pump?
For me, yesterday I yield 240ml after 6 hours interval due to the full month party celebration. then 3 hours interval, i yield around 90-130ml each time. Din get the same amount each time.

I din see i have 8 ducts spraying milk also.. dunno how to see also.

Cutting nails, I just cut Zac's nails... I thot after full month can cut?

jus need to rant a bit...

i cant stand my MIL!!!!!!!!!!

she is so blardy KPO!!! plus so many commentssss!!! plus like to compare with her own daughter @$$@!#%#@^T#$^$#^#$^@#^#@%#@

eg - my dg drank 8 bottles of the dom during her confinement... - thats becos her dg didnt breastfeed!!!

- why ur kitchen sink the door is wood.. why the contractor never do glass for you? the water will spoil the wood - i replied her with " so shld i ask the contractor to come and change it now? "

- why ur toilet floor got the black stains.. the cleaner never use bleach is it? - thats becos she comes only fornightly!!! if use the toilet daily obviously will be dirty right!!!!

- why ur mum like to comb her hair so high? - my mum likes her hair high what! what does it have to do with u???? duhhhh

- she jus barges into my rm without knocking if bb is inside with me...

- she has rearranged my kitchen things to her convenience...

- brought over a cooking pot which she claims costs $200++ and that all my pots and pans are lousy quality... becos stain easily -_-" my pots are made in Germany oKIeeEEE!!!!!!!!!!! she also hao lian that her pots n pans cost her 2k plus...

- claims that the veggies n meats at her market are much cheaper than anywhere else!!! - cheaper by jus a few cents only lorrr.... duhhhh why wld i wan to go chinatown to buy veggies n meats and lug all the way home... waste transport money &amp; time!!!

- says she is not going to buy any gold jewellery for my bb becos wait pple will steal it.. jus becos someone almost stole her grandson's anklet donkey yrs ago... - im nt hard up and neither is my bb for gold jewellery... lesson to learn as well.. dont anyhow let those dwnstairs aunty or market aunties you dont knw well carry ur baby!!!

- why u wear bedroom slippers??? dont need to wear la.. - now Mdm Rokiah tells me must wear... zzzzz

many many many more commentsssss..............

ROARRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRRR

misscandy, seems like mdm rokiah is really an expert... mmm.. should i call her over also? just to make sure i dun have block ducts...

*hugs* to you too.. just ignore her or ask hubby to talk to her... MIL always will side their own daughter more de la...

Cool down missycandy. I share same sentiments with you. Yeah, my mil also like to make irrelevant remarks like why your sil is fat, n why she likes to wear tank tops? I ignore her simply. Dunno y so hard to come across nice mil.

Looks like your session with mdm rokiah is very gd and at least u know where your prob lies and can dui zhen xiao yao and buy the right food to increase the ss. So it's normal not to have many holes on the nipple. my right side only had 2 holes I think cuz I only see 2 jets coming out the most during pump while my left has many holes. I thot I got blocked ducts. How to tell if got blocked ducts? issit hard lumps on breasts or areola?

Any of u ending your lochia?

I'm now 14days since delivery and looks like it's ending cuz got stains on/off nia. last time I had it for over a mth. Wonder if consume tonic right from the start would cause lochia to drag? this time round, CL only make tonic herbal soup after 12 days reason being she want the blood to flush out first before start the tonic regime so as not to waste the goodness of the herbs.

want to ask if any of you drink DOM and u are bfing? I got many bottles and CL ask me to drink after feed at night. would it get into the breastmilk after say 2-3hrs?

hai... ya last time when i 1st started going out with my hb, MIL can ask me why i so fat... -_-" stupidity. i tell her my family we all eat well &amp; good stuff thats why. =P her family eat like birds. my family eat like lions. hahaha.

irene - jus give her a call. =) no harm. she is gd.

fairymoss - i think hard (painful?) lumps in breasts when u press on them... thats why i said b4 my boobs always very soft lo... nvr engorge... =(

filing tax now...headache headache, got the PTR which I never got before last year. calculate how to apportion between hubby and me to minimise tax payable. mummies, rem to file your income tax before 15 Apr! I thot I no need to go online to pay since they send me a letter saying no need to file, but then I just realise that I got my maid last year and can claim maid levy and then got this new parenthood tax rebate thingy etc. luckily go see else lugi.

may i know everytime u have used the sterilizer, do u leave all the bottles inside until you are about to use it then take it out, or, you take it out immediately (cover the teat)? my maid said can leave it outside as long as the inside of the bottle and the teat is fully covered and not in contact with the air.
but the thing is after sterilising, the bottles and teat still got a bit of water..how?

missycandy,..orange poo? hmm...duno y my bb's poo is greenish yellow...maybe friso stage 1 more vege content hee..

My boy's on NAN HA 1, poo is also greenish yellow and according to PD, those formula with HA will be this color. (like enfalac HA)

Hi Irene,

I fed bb at 5am and tried to pump at 8.30am cos she only latched for less than 10 minutes and she fell asleep. That is when I got the 170ml. But during the rest of the day, I usually get lesser at times even just 70ml even though bb has yet to latched/feed after 3 hours. I wonder wy the MS is so erratic?

Misscandy
How many session do we need to have with mdm rokiah? My ms is low. i am not sure abt any block ducts.so far i turn my pis to medium speed, 15min pump, only max coming 40ml...

Anyone bb has greenish eye mucus? My bb had it the whole day and subsided only now... Prepared to send her to PD but now seems no need le...

i should be settling with the following suppliers for bb full month.
Families cake - bengawan solo
Friends - sweetest moment cupcake
Catering - Neo garden

Misscandy
let ur mil be lah... jia jia you ben nan nian de jing...

Miss83
I leave them in the steriliser and assemble immediately just when i wanna use it. the water vapour cant be help.

Usually nite time, our ms is thicker. maybe that is the way how our body work. so that bb can zzz longer...

just called sweetest moment... very exp. looking for alternative.

i wanna order mini fruit tarts for office/operation dept for myself and hubby office. any recommendation?