(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

bluebell,

it's common. my left yields more than my right and it's really 1 big 1 small lor. now with my 2nd child, i try to latch on right side longer and the MS increase for the right, but dunno why, the left decrease. Now not so lop-sided in appearance, but then I'm worried abt the decrease in MS for my left. Why dun u latch on more for the one with less MS, and see if got increase or not.

I have been struggling with my bb lately. Initially, i din think it was colic cos my gal got not much wind and her tummy is not bloated. But her cries were just conitnuious and someone need to carry her 24 hrs to stop her from crying.
Did some research that colic is just a term of inconsolable crying. Here's the link for more info. http://www.medicinenet.com/script/main/art.asp?articlekey=51784
by the way, i tried 2 mtds (swaddle and white-noise) given in the website, so far it works. U might want to gie it a try if ur bb seems to have the same prob.

bluebell, i dun use the pillow, i use beansprout pillow for my boy. he dun like to sleep face up, he will turn his face to the sides, so his head is still very round.

what brand diapers are u mommies using? im currently using pampers, but thinking of switching to other brands. need some feedback. tks.

elina,

my bb using mamy poko newborn. now at 15days, he already used up 2x52pc, and now the 3rd pack is already half-empty already. wondering if any of the bbs are as big a diaper user as mine?

constipation:
after 3 days, I finally manage to poo last nite n this morning...wat a relieve

devil - bo bian gotta close one eye with the CL...even extend four more days of her service...haiz..wat to do...jus ren lor...so far jus her attitude and her tone when speaking...duties why she still got take initiative like asking wat i wan to eat, whether i wanna drink the longan tea, etc...

reverie - jia you....my hb oso thinks my temper v bad...but i guess this is the period when it will get worse...i'm oso quite scared bb get used to the CL more than me, cos nowadays he wants to be carried more and CL most often does the job...i do carry him too, but at night he sleeping with CL...and CL feeds him, bathes him, etc...

sportyger - i agree with u, it seems that suddenly all our lives will revolve round our bb...life jus seems so ironic, we wanna be able to have a lil bundle of joy so life won't be so boring but when bb's out we miss couplehood...sighz....thats life woah...

sung - i'm oso worried bb might get too close to CL...yesterday i was carrying my boy and he cried....the CL asked me to pass my boy to him...when he was in her arms he like stopped crying...haiz kinda sad...well hope he will still want mummy after CL leaves...today my CL is gg out at 1pm my hb will take half day leave to accompany me and bb...at least still have him around....lucky hb's boss oso understanding enough to let him go on leave if he needs to...is yr MS and issue of blocked ducts getting better? i do have a lump in my breast and when i pressed on it its painful, dunno whether its a blocked duct....as for pump i oso using ameda dual pump, find sometimes the milk like stucked at the nipple that even the pump suction can't suck it out...kinda frustrating...

Re: Baby's cries
my bb oso getting quite cranky at times, wants to be carried but even after carrying him for a while he starts crying again so i oso dunno wat he wants...yesterday he woke up at 2 hours interval in the middle of the night, not sleeping much at all...at least now he sleeps with CL i wonder wat i'm gg to do after CL leaves...guess will leave us all with panda eyes trying to please our bbs....

Re: Milk Supply
My right breast yields about 20ml more than my left one...unbalanced too...anyone has any recommendations which milk bags are better? (im currently using the ones from First Year but i think i have to get more soon) cos my fren tells me some babies don't like the plastic taste of the milk bags...so far my bb drinks the milk from the bottles and not the bags yet..so abit scared he doesn't like the milk coming from the milk bags...

hi Mar mummies, i just delivered 13 days ago and faced with a cranky bb and dwindling milk supply...my bb cries AFTER the feeds after 30 mins...he;s not cold or hot, just fed, no poo or pee. Just screws up his face and cries..i tried reading and carrying him, rocking and singing, he will stop crying for 10 mins then continue his brawling. i have to quickly switch from e.g. reading to rocking, then he stops for a while. When i finally put him back to his cot, he will fidget and cry again. dont like swaddling too, kicks off the swaddle by himself...any advice on bbs like that? i really dont know what he wants...

my milk supply is running low too, from 95ML per pump to 30ML now, CL is not very encouraging as well. She will stare at me pumping, then tell me its not enough, she will go prepare FM?...dunno wat to say...

Pink Sorbet,
mine's exactly the same! he cries when i tried to sooth him but CL seems better...and also he has taken to getting up every 2 hours and cries the past 2-3 nights!
and CL also tries to tell me she's better with my bb...its sad. feel quite rejected. went thru quite a lot during my pregnancy with him...

despite me praising my boy for sleepin well at night.. last night he woke up at 5am and refuses to get back to sleep.. 3 whole hours from 5 to 8am.. i am now so steam and tired.. having a headache too.. seems like my boy is having mucus and hence not able to sleep well.. aiyo, hope he gets better..

fairymoss, my boy can use up his mammypoko very fast too.. expensive hor? but no choice, got to change him every 3-4 hrs...

valentine, is he having colic? maybe you can try out the method Asura had recommended. btw, first month bb is like tt.. so don't worry, things will get better after their full month.. my boy used to be really cranky esp at night when he was in first month. my CL very poor thing, hardly sleeps at night, got to coax and carry my boy.. but now, he's coming to 7 wks, much much better i think. at least he sleep through the night waking up once or twice for his feed..
as for ur MS, could it be cos tt u r under too much stress.. for my case, when i am under stress, my MS dwell down a lot too.. so i constantly have to tell myself to relax. let ur CL handle ur bb, ur job now is to provide milk and get lots of rest!!

pinksortbet, don't have to feel bad abt it and don't think so much.. after CL leaves, bb has no choice but to stick close to you.. now since ur bb wants ur CL, just give urself a chance to rest as much as possible. once CL leaves and when u r alone with ur bb, then the challenge starts..

MS
my boobs too, one gives more milk than the other.. and it's like half the amt lor.. it's normal according mdm rokiah..

<font color="ff0000">wintertime,</font>
thanks. don't know whether i hv your courage hee to try cutting my boy's nails, i tink liao scared scared. will wait another 2 wks :p my bb boy's hair very long till, cover all over his ears now, i see him like so hot and uncomfy so tinking of cutting it very short for him come full month but worried that wait hurt his scalp too. never mind, the taomaobi person coming tom, will ask and see his/her skills before deciding.

wow 180ml, congrats! hope i can reach tat level one day soon too.

<font color="ff0000">irene,</font>
hee dun think i dared to cut while my bb's awake. he loves to move around when awake, dun know whether he will guai guai hold my hand and be steady for me to trim his nails, i suspect not leh. i bot a bb scissors from pigeon for cutting his nails while pregnant, just tat now really see his small hands and feet, i dun dare to cut liao haha.

<font color="ff0000">jtho,</font>
the veggie not suitable for us to take? i just took for lunch. Mdm Rokiah came for my 2nd session dis morn and gave me some. she's really very nice, she said she went to the mkt and bot some for all her clients on sun. very sharing person. hmmn if liang, no good for us now hor. i'll see if it'll increase my ms dis afternoon before taking for dinner. haha though the effect may not be that fast hor.

<font color="ff0000">bluebell,</font>
i oso hv uneven supply. my right breast can usually give 20-30 ml more than my left breast. i tink it's normal, dun worry. their size looks normal and even to me hee.

<font color="ff0000">asura,</font>
hope your bb gal is better now.

<font color="ff0000">pinksorbet,</font>
haiz...same for my bb too, sometimes he cry inconsolably in my arms but once hand over to cl, he stops. never mind, once confinement ends, he's all mine! haha then he'll prob learn to stop crying in my arms coz no more cl to carry him :p

my blocked ducts is better after Mdm Rokiah's session but i got very bad blocked ducts, clear one area, another few more areas pop up so having a 3rd session with her either later dis wk or next wk. i tink you can ask Mdm Rokiah to see you for a session. coz when she does my breast massage, she will show me those eyes that i hv which hv breast milk pooling but not coming out and advise me on what to do (to get hubby to help suck to open the eyes) and the painful lump you describe could be blocked ducts coz mine are also lumps and they are all painful esp when you press down on them.

<font color="ff0000">valentine,</font>
sayang! you must feel quite bad with your cl comments. at first my cl does tat too, but after a while, she realised my si xue is bm coz i can't help but draw a long face and stop talking to her whenever she made such discouraging comments. hee now she stopped giving discouraging comments and instead now kept saying how good bm is, how hard it is to pump etc, etc haha in front of bb! try resting more to increase your ms. jia you jia you!

sung,

me still have blk ducts appearing. The other time i had 2nd session with mdm rokiah, she say if i need another session than contact her but i dont kjnow whether really need or not. On one hand, i dont want to over rely on her to clear my blk ducts for me leh. on the other handm i not sure whether i m in need of another session.

sung, that was only once when i have 180ml.. now average 130ml nia.. but will continue to work hard. I waiting for my boy to be in deep sleep before i can cut his toenails..

i feel so bored..feel like everyday is the same..some kind of a routine...i miss couplehood too..when will this feeling go away??it's only been 2 weeks..but feels like ages already..

<font color="aa00aa">valentine,
i tink u shld pump in ur rm n not let CL come in, the more she pressure u, the less milk u get.

miss83,
if bored, den mayb go out for a walk. stay at hm too long will go crazy. gg out helps, at least for me

can someone advise me whether Desitin Original (purple) is better or Desitin Creamy (blue) is better?
my bb is having very bad nappy rash. see him cry, i very heartache. previously i told CL to apply Desitin Creamy, but she told me the purple one is better. i managed to get a tube from Daphne Crosailo. but after CL applied this Desitin Original for more than a week already, my boy's nappy rash is not very better. in fact, it's like getting worst. can someone advise me wat to do?

Wintertime,

BM Supply...yup definitely wun be 200ml overnite...it comes with alot of hard work...!!!

Praising bb...I always think tat they are very siao qi. The moment u praise them, they will behave otherwise liao....heee~~

Mucus
Ryan oso has blocked nose. PD didnt use the nasal spray but prescribed to types of nasal drops ( iliadin and Saline) for him.

But when back home, he seem to start coughing...aiyo...so need to monitor again.. =(

jtho
My bb oso has bad bad nappy rash....it looks so raw and bb cries terribly hard whenever we change his diaper. *heartache* Ask PD and he say Desitin (whether is it original or creamy) is good enough to clear the rash. Guess we just need to change the diaper more often...

jtho
is Desitin Creamy (blue) better and it is easier to wash away.
last time my elder hv this problem, what diaper you are using?

Ivy,
I think the brand does play a part. My bb was wearing Drypers. So from now on, pay more &amp; use mamy poko....hee~~~

Jtho,
The purple one is thicker. I believe is for more severe case of diaper rash. For me personally, I use the blue one. Apply after every diaper change. And yes, change diaper regularly. If can, let the bottom air for some time in the day to avoid diaper rash.

grace
diaper play a part cos when i switch my son to dryper after sometime he has the rash problem. i bring him to see PD and apply destin cream on him and also change the diaper.

now my girl is using Fitti premium

at first i bought pampers, then mamy poko, thought try to be more economical, now using goon, but CL says goon no good. yesterday went to buy mamy poko again. some more in the day, normally use cloth diaper.

jtho
i never try goon before, if want to cut cost can try Fitti premium. i ordered directly from the company cost $11 per pack. every 6 packs they send to your house.

ivy
thanks, i'll wait till his nappy rash episode over first then decide whether to change to fitti. for now, i'll just use mamy poko first.

miss83, i change almost everytime after his feeds.
cos normally he will poo. he still poos quite a few times a day... no choice gotta change...

miss83
i never see the indicator leh, cos so far is CL who handles bb. then now using mamy poko, dunno whether there's indicator or not. will check in a while.

today, CL went out for about 2.5hrs, so i have to handle bb myself. i think i really need to start learning how to handle bb liao. just now garang gabot, really a mess when bb starts to be cranky asking for milk, then poo and pee... i used 1 cloth diapers and 3 disposable diapers, because change already, bb poo again, or pee until everywhere. so in the end, i also need to change his shirt 2 times

Asura,
oh oh we sounds alike. she clear some for this 1st session, new ones appears for 2nd session, now planning 3rd session. but she did tell me new lumps will always appear, must work hard on compressing. i just bot a small hot stone from her today, using it to compress now. found it better than a hot towel but not sure if it will help prevent new lumps from appearing. else i tink my bf career can only last till end of ML. cannot imagine where got time to compress when back to work and if never compress all the lumps appearing again sigh.... yeah, i oso tink shouldn't over-rely on her but if dun ask her to come clear for me, i can't seem to clear it well on my own. at least from 1st to 2nd session experience was like this. shall see if the hot stone helps more. let's jia you together!

wintertime,
i tink the bm supply oso differs based on timing of day rite? hee maybe you'll get another 180ml again tonight. jia you!

miss83,
pm you. life after having a bb is indeed different. agreed with kris, go out for a while even if short walk, else can become very depressed and unhappy.

jtho,
i dun dare to change bb's diaper brand, now using pampers all is well. so sticking to pampers although it is so much more expensive. changing brand can cause diaper rash sometimes. i oso hv the blue desitin cream but dun use it unless i see some rash, then quickly apply. hope your bb son diaper rash go away fast fast!

Irene
my boy still poos a lot also. CL says it's like that one cos he is on partial EBM. is it true?

Ivy
so ur boy was born on the same day as Asura's gal

sung
ya, i also hope his diaper rash go away fast fast! really heartache to see him suffer
now i dun even have the mood to pump milk... CL just came back. it's coming to 5 hrs since my last pump session.

i only tried 2.5hrs with my boy, i already dying. i dunno how when CL leaves. how will i have time to pump by then?

jtho
i think only pampers got indicator..so u can check if the diaper is soaked already.

I also always change my bb diaper everytime I see blue indicator (though he only pee a bit and pampers absorbs well...looks dry), but my friend who just visited me this morning told me that no need to change everytime he pee. just when the blue line is full..or the diaper looks heavy. but if baby poo, must change immediately.
no wonder i spend so many diapers...can spend 10-15 diapers a day!

re: desitin blue creamy
do u know where to get this? I never find the blue one in any stores (guardian,watson only selling the purple one). can we only get this one on BP?
1 tube can last for how long huh? if we apply every diaper change?

jtho - my diet prepreg is all spciy stuff... so will i be able to tahan the pengaga? hmmm i dunno but i will try it...

grace - my pd also gave me iliadine &amp; saline the 1st visit but it didnt clear and like get worse leh.. so i brought back and she asked me use the spray but i didnt use lo.. dun wan torture her... and yes she has this cough and phglem in throat that doesnt seem to be able to expel out... haii... cld be a reason for her merlion as well.. all pooling in her throat.. =(

pampers - im currently using Nepia.. i like it a lot.. its slightly bulkier than the other pampers but its soft and absorbs well... =)

nappy rash - u might want to try calendula cream? im currently using daktarin powder... my boss swears by... so the company actually sent me 10 little bottles... but its not cheap.. anyway i apply after every change... initially i didnt then cn see getting red red.. so faster open n use... *cross fingers*

praising bb - not that i want to be pantang but i think we shldnt say today bb so good or last night slept thru this n that.. becos... the next thing, bb will be nottie... =| jus like my bro commented wah... so subdued.. next mo she started wailing non stop.. -_-" hb last night commented sleep so well now.. so quiet... then she woke up and starting screaming away... -_-" so best to keep mouth shut... hahaha

pooing - my bb is mostly on FM so she doesnt poo that much... but a lot! she poos like once or twice a day but whole diaper full of crap!!!

miss83
oic... for my boy, he needs to change everytime he pees. if not, he'll scream.
re: desitin blue creamy, i saw it at the pharmacy in NUH. but it's a smaller tube. the ones i bought from US are bigger tubes and cheaper. and 1 tube can last very long.

valentine - don't let yr CL give u pressure....initially when my MS is low my MIL oso said my milk not enough and ask to feed FM...i was kinda irritated and i even told my hb i will prove to my mil that i have lots of milk soon...and indeed it does...my bb is now 22days old and i can pump at an average of 150 to 190ml per session, interval of 4 to 5 hours and at least 200ml for night session. My milk is now flooding her freezer and she has not enough space to put i gotta bring some over to my mum's place. My mil Have a positive thinking. Eat lots of fish and drink milkish soup! thats wat i did.

wintertime - After CL leaves, i will be alone with my mil to take care of bb...at least still have someone to help me...yup i hope bb will still stick with me....hehe

sung - ya i suggested to hb to help me suck but he gives me a "i'm not willing to" look...lol guess he doesn't wan to know to know how BM taste like. I'm thinking of engaging mdm rokiah too if the pain gets bad....

irene
my bb's poo is greenish yellow. think it's because of the FM i give him, NAN, which is made of vegetables.

missycandy
after u try pengaga, let me know whether got effect or not. Mdm Rokiah said she bought for me some already, but i dunno whether i will dare to eat.