(2009/03) March 2009 MTBs

reverie_islamd, my bb has greenish/yellowish eye mucus also... Still not yet clear, wonder issit too heaty.

Those bb with jaundice, all clear already? today i see zac still slighly yellow, especially near the eyes. dunno when he will be completely clear of it

irene
i thou the same. if we are heaty and bb drinks our milk, bb oso heaty.. in fact i feel a bit of coughin and sore in my throat...
My bb fortunately did not have to stay in hospital or rent the phototheraphy machine home. however, i also realise her eyes a bit yellowish..
dont know how to judge whether bb jaundice getting worse...
Hope ur bb getting better...

miss83, Zac's 3rd week to the PD show still got jaundice. then dr keoy say breastfeeding babies usually have jaundice last longer...wonder if i let him take formula milk first to see if the yellow will go off anot...

irene - pm'ed!

SG - it was once off orange poo.. hee hee nw back to yellow mustard.. YUMX =P

reverie - hers is based on per visit.. no package required.. she only massages ur boobs help u check if have blocked ducts and give u lotsa advice.. she doesnt do massage for u... nt the post natal type... =)

whats - jia jia you ben nan nian de jing ??? sorrie my chinese super lousy.. hee hee

fruit tarts you can try melrose bake house or Gin thye... =)

irene - mdm rokiah says to give plain water b4 u feed the milk.. jus give 10mls cn le.. they r hungry so they will drink it... she says mus start givin if not in future very hard to get them to drink plain water.. heh heh

st - i sterilize the parts. =)

miss83, I sterilise the pump after each use. troublesome lor but dun dare to take the risk of not sterilising it. maybe at later stage when i go back to work, would have to make do with no sterilising cuz no sterilizer at work. last time when my son reaches 3mth old, I would make do with rinsing using hot water after washing with detergent in the company. But at home, would sterilise after each use.

Reverie, I order fruit tarlets n choc tarts from chocz for my elder last time. Quite nice leh. sweetest moment ones, my family say not as tasty when they tried it during bb shower of friends and relatives.

re: jaundice

My bb jaundice also not clear yet. PD said need another 2 weeks during visit in wk 1, so by day 20+ should be able to clear, if not he asked me to go back to assess again.

asura79, huh? i thot the PTR is applicable for yr09 assessment? I read in the online guide that for YOA09, it's applicable to child born on or after 1st Jan 08, which means our darlings would be eligible lor? for me, it's 2nd child. for 1st child, last time not applicable, but now is eligible liao, which means u can claim too.

Update from me

Thank you to you all for your encouragement and esp to Asura and Jtho for recommending Mdm Rokiah. She managed to squeeze in 1 session for me last Fri and i finally could sleep better over the weekend. She said i hv very bad blocked ducts on both breasts. Is getting her to come again this week. I didn't even realised that some of the pain is from lumps, they are not that obvious and silly me tot that one area was from my ribcage bone which i can usually feel pre-preg.

Best thing about Mdm Rokiah's session is that it's way much less painful compared to the hospital lactation consultation and she is so much more encouraging as well. She encourages me, encourages my hubby as well to perserve with bf but not in the pushy way. Even my hubby who has become somewhat anti-bf through my experience can accept her and listen to her. Also, it is very motivating to see the milk that she can squeeze out from my breasts hee the description of "fountains of milk" is really very apt. Even though my ms is still not that high now, i know that the storage of ms in my breasts are there and it's not that i dun hv enuff milk, just need to encourage the ms to come out. it's really motivating to me esp since i was on the verge of giving up bf.

since her session on fri, my ms on sat, sun and today has increased gradually. now is abt 100-120ml every 4 hrs. i am encouraged!
but must guai guai follow her advise to compress, compress and compress with hot towel before pumping. i can't wait for my course of antibiotics to finish this thu then can latch bb on and see if he can accept my nipple again. i really hope so!

blocked ducts areas are softer. while still tender and pain, it's not as bad as before and i'm only hoping that new areas dun come up. bad thing is Mdm Rokiah did advised that new blocked ducts may appears so must always compress. i'm quite scared of the blocked ducts now, like some kind of phobia and is hoping they dun come on anew, it's so horrible. she also advised on my sleeping position to prevent the blocked ducts causing pain to my arm (which i am having). to keep arms straight when sleeping and as close as possible to the side of your body.

to share, Mdm Rokiah oso advised that spinach, fish, payaya&fish soup can help increase ms but that fenugreek is of no use. she mentioned a vegetable which is really good to increase ms but i can't remember the name, is available only in yishun, woodlands and geylang markets. i'm taking lots of hot drinks, soups, fish and spinach now hee hee.

oh yeah for csect mummies, she also advised, no seafood even after confinement to ensure that our wound heals well. coz she said outside wound may looks fine but inside not heal fully yet. tink i'll ask her abt body massage next month coz gynae mentioned only can do after 6 weeks.

<font color="ff0000">re. dual pump</font>
mummies can try holding both pumps together with one arm/hand. e.g. cross your left arm over the left pump and hold the right pump with your left hand. i'm doing that and can use my right hand which is free to massage my breasts, then switch arm/hand to hold to use the other arm/hand to massage again. i'm using ameda dual pump, it also free one hand to adjust the dials when i need. hee so far can hold on quite tight and all ok but i'm sitting cross legged on my bed, i tink when go back to work, not sitting on bed, i dun know whether i can do the same. now, i compress 5 mins, pump abt 10 mins, rest 5 mins then pump 10 mins now.

<font color="ff0000">venice</font>
i tried the mini electric before buying ameda dual pump. mini electric really hurts my nipples and aerolas each time i pump, very very painful. could be just me. maybe you want to try out the pumps first yourself before deciding which one to buy? the breastfeeding mothers support group (BMSG) offers demo pumps to try out. just call them for an appt - 6337 0508

<font color="ff0000">re. bb sleeping patterns</font>
my bb can't sleep for a full stretch at times both during the day and night. he could zzz for abt 30 mins or so then wake up crying and almost always he wants more milk. at first we tot he's going through a growth spurt but now into the 2nd week, growth spurt dun last so long right? if you carry him, then he can sleep longer but once put him down, he will open his eyes and refused to sleep. or put down to sleep, after 10 mins, he wakes up and cry as if in fright. i got the feeling that bb is insecure and needs to be held to sleep securely. but not sure why and how i can help him sleep better. any mummies with experiences can help?

<font color="ff0000">re. bb PD</font>
hee looks like a lot of Sengkang Mummies here. i'm oso bringing my baby to the Kids Clinic but is seeing Doc Allyson Tan instead. Visited her first time for bb rash last week and i like her. She's detailed and patient and dun mind explaining more when ask her questions. Very nice lady, unlike our original PD at Gleneagles Medical Centre, very rushed rushed through and always said it's normal it's normal without explaining. Haha guess as first time parents, more gan cheong, and is good to learn more.

<font color="ff0000">re. binder</font>
to prevent rashes or itch, can put the binder outside your panty as well. just that it's more inconvenient coz each time go toilet, must take off binder first but not in contact with skin directly so wun itch. tat's what i do, i had itching from the binder being so close but still i find it very useful in protecting my wound and helping me get up/sit up during the 1st week.

<font color="ff0000">pinksorbet</font>
sayang dear! can understand your emotions. i was crying first week from cl issues too. worried baby getting too close to her, upset over comments she made abt my ms, upset over things she said about bb. even now, sometimes i still get upset and it's her last 4 days liao. but now, can more or less let it become 1 ear in, 1 ear out, juz ignore what she said. if you really feel you can't cope, ask her to go out another time when your hb or other family members are around to help you. you are paying her so only fair for her to reschedule her appt to suit you. tink most of us mummies hv the crying bouts from time to time, i was worried i'm having post-natal blues last week from bf too. dun tink too much and try to rest as much as possible first. sayang dear!

<font color="ff0000">reverie</font>
hee actually wat i love most abt latching bb on is when he suckle my nipple to fall asleep, coz he will hv such a contented and sweet look on his face as he suckles. haha i know he's like "playing" with my nipples but it's so cute and i love his contented look. sometimes my bb will also just stick out tongue to lick my nipples, it's all so sweet. i really do hope he will be willing to latch on again. btw, i'm getting fourseasons catering for bb full month this fri. if you want, i can provide feedback on how they are after fri

<font color="ff0000">jtho</font>
congrats on your increase in ms!

<font color="ff0000">miss83</font>
i leave all my bottles inside the steriliser and sterilise after every 6 hours. for the water vapours, will just shake the bottle dry. kind of ks, sometimes i sterilise more often if got time and bb not crying too badly from want of milk.

<font color="ff0000">st</font>
i sterilise my pump everytime either before or after use.

missycandy, did u try with smaller but more freq feed to see how? are u feeding EBM or FM? my beautician granddaughter also got this prob with every feed, then her PD said try with FM, dun give BM, cuz FM is denser and likely to stay better in the stomach as compared to BM which is easily merlioned out. after a while, they just outgrown it. If concerned, bring to PD for assessment.

sung, let me know the feedback u got from 4seasons. I tried it once before and not bad during company functions. Have not ordered for own use before. let me know which package u choose also. I looking at either summer or autumn package. others too costly to me.

fairymoss - i feed both... she merlion with FM... i olredi brought to see PD.. PD askd me feed Friso Comfort for colicky, reflux babies... i feed on demand... usually 2-3hrs she wil cry for milk... but yesterday and today she doesnt seem that hungry leh... she takes only ard 50mls... PD did say cut dwn to 60mls lo.. if she hungry top up 10mls... but last night she gulped down 90mls... also depends on bb mood?

im thinking of buyin the tub for bb to swim in... is it too early to let her swim ah... hmmm... i can also soak in it wor... hahahahaha

missycandy, why not you try to burp ur bb during intervals when feeding? my bb also vomitted, esp at night. tot she slept liao so i dun burp her, then suddenly she woke up and merlion, can really aim far far away somemore... my mom told me if bb vomitted immediately after feeding is due to overfeeding (she is taking 60-70ml now, will definitely merlion if i gave her 80ml), dunno how true it is.. but you cant go wrong if you burp her at intervals.

fairymoss, can try delihub under neo garden also, price and dishes about the same, difference is delihub is halal, cos i got muslim guests, so tot of trying delihub. tried neo garden during my wedding day and all my relatives commented it was good!! to my surprise, yesterday they commented delihub was good too!! now got 15% off for bb shower, so can try try..

hmm its really tiring to seterilize everytime. the instruction book from ameda say stertilize once per day leh

ladies have u gals try to play music to bb (the same music as u listen during preg)? Does bb calm down or sleep after listeing to it?

kris - burping at intervals doesnt work for her.. what happens is she wil go to sleep lo... thats why the PD said to feed her until she starts squirming... then burp her.. if she doesnt squirm then continue to feed her lor... i also dunno leh.. 1 person say this.. 1 say that... haiii so luannnnnnnnnn!!!

Missycandy,
Thanks for sharing your experience abt the removal of the muscus from the nose. Last nite, bb din sleep well bcos of the blockage. So tried to suck it out in the middle of the nite (Pups may hav heard all the screaming &amp; crying =P). This morning better but since gg PD tmr, will get him to check on it.

As for burping, as wat Kris mentioned, it'll be good to burp at intervals. Try it! =P

keron&amp;jeris, the 15% off for bb shower is only applicable for 1wk before or after bb actual full month leh. I'm holding it 3 days before, so not entitled.

Hi to all Mummies,

sorry to interrupt your thread. I have got a 2nd hand Brandt front load washing machine to let go @ $350 (negotiable). Details of the machine as follows:

Model: Brandt WFF0812A
Max Load: 6kg
Max Speed: 800rmp
Unit Price: $800+

Please kindly PM me if you are interested. Thanks!

fairymoss,

YA09 = income generated in 2008 (1 Jan 08 to 31 Dec 08). Therefore, bb must be born from 1 Jan 08 to 31 Dec 08 to be eligible. That's my understanding when i study tax. Think website not clear... Anyway, i just called IRAS to confirm. Our PTR for our mar bb is to be claimed in YA10

jtho,
Saw that you order from Neo Garden. How's the portion? Call them, they said their portion is for 1 pax. Cos my guests no. not confirm. Currently estimated ard 40+. Dunno if I should order more in case not enough. Say 50? What's ur comment?

misscandy, thanks.
will try the plain water tips also..

sung, i'm holding the same way as you. can use one hand to do other stuffs.

JG - i also ordered from Neo Garden, portions are alright, not too much or little.

We estimated about 50+ adults, initially ordered for 40, but in the end ordered 50...we had so much leftovers...

you can call them to increase the no. of pax nearer the date once the ppl are more or less confirmed.

I got sweetest moments package - Joyous something...love the packaging and the personalised card...very cute..many positive comments from my relatives. They are also very customer service oriented..

sung,

Really happy toknow that Mdm Rokiah solved ur problem. And ur MS is really quite good! Re: Block ducts, mine still comes back so every day i make sure i check my breasts and compress properly for 1 pump. Bought the hot stone from her to do compressing also.

By the way, ur ameda dual pump.. is it the Purely Yours Breast Pump? The demo pump at the breastfeeding org is Ameda Lactaline Dual Breast Pump. Like different leh

Jia jia you ben nan nian de jing means every family has its own mishap / stories...

misscandy
so roughly how many session is req and the cost? my ms is low. thou of getting her to come..
Thanks for the tarts recommendation.

st
for the sterilisation, i rinse with water then let it air dry. when i want to use it again then i put into the sterilisation machine.

Fairymoss
regarding sterilisation at work.two suggestions for u.
1. buy the microwave-able bag from medela. everytime u want to sterilise the parts, put them into the bag with some water n put in microwave. and viola.
2. sterilised at home. put in lock &amp; lock container with the parts and bottles already assembled to minimise contamination. so when u r ready to pump in the offce, u can take them out to use.

Doc called me back. he told me to clean her eyes using separate cotton wool balls and wipe fr the inside to the outside, 3x a day. he said the greenish mucus could be due to block ducts. he told me to massage bb inner corner of the eye. like how we pinch our nose. I also mentioned abt her yellow eyes. he said bb should be recovering. monitor if it does not get better then see him nxt week.

Fairymoss
Thanks for the tarts recommendation.

Sung
ya. my bb v cute, she will bian zhui to tell u she dont want. and she will stretch herself aft every feed.

st
i still play the music. but only mozart day and nite. Not regularly. but during preg, it is a must routine i adhered.

My bb v naughty and cranky these two days. cl carried her for an hour last nite / midnite but she refused to zzz... sigh.. now again...
arrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrrg.

do your bbs have yellowish dried up mucus like stuff near the eyebrows? have you all heard of cradle cap, my bb has that..anyone has that too? its some sort of a skin problem

ladies, do u hav constipation prob during yr confinement? I haven't been able to pass motion. Today 3rd day le, ate prunes, papaya n stool softener syrup also no use. sianzzzz

reverie - there is no min req for Mdm Rokiah. jus give her a call to arrange appt. she will decide if its necessary to see u again or dont need. for me she said i dont have blocked ducts. advised me to consume the veggies. and fish &amp; papaya soup. hopefully it works for me. thanks all lor. one visit is $58.

im craving for Arnold's chicken now... &amp; nasi padang.. and sambal belachan.... =(

3 more daysssssssssss whooopeeeeeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!

scrumpee - i had this problem too. it'll get better..continue to take the stool softener and prune juice, soon you'll be rushing to the loo...

<font color="119911">missycandy</font>,
haa...u descrive yr gar face like lobster. my bb face like tomato wor....

u know men loh...dun seems to be kan cheong than woman....sometimes even bb screams , they can take their sweet time to prepare milk.

how long yr bb yake to drink?

u just given birth not long ago (last mth) so ms is like that. my ms also not so high too. sometimes low (435ml with latch on) and sometimes high (pump per day is 655ml). so it takes time to build up supply. my ML gg to end next mth, times flies wor...4mth passed so quickly...will be extending one more mth (dun seem to want to go bck to work) and will be bck to work end of june (22/6).

re:DOM.
for me, last time when I had my gar, I drank 5 bottles of dom. now, I only drank 2 bottles of DOM and 2 bottles of martel VSOP. VSOP is used to double boil chicken for 'pu teng'. DOM is added to fish soup. of cos, all are already boiled to remove the 'jiu jin'.

re:mIL.
INITIALLY period when my mum helped me in my CL period during my gar time, she also pin pt this and that, say this and that not gd. but now, she ok after that time of quarrelling.

<font color="119911">moomooland</font>,
it depends on whether bb want to swaddle. ever since, my bb discharge fr hospital (stays there 32 days), he dun like to swaddle. at night, we only swaddle his lower part of body. now, he is 2mth 7 days, no more swaddling. we even take out his mitten during the day.

<font color="119911">fairymoss</font>,
ai-yo....even no swaddling or swaddling, once latch on, as if my b got magic spell - sleeping dose will make him fall alsp. so every night after 7pm+, i will latch him on and he will be in dreamland till 12am then wake up for feed.

<font color="119911">sung</font>,
gd to hear that yr b had been relieved. same same, I also pump 100-120ml every 4hrs. is yr antibiotics safe for bf?

thks for sharing yr experience esp the sleeping position.

heard that milo also can increase ms too. of cos, rest via slp too. my cl and mum do tell me no seafood for 2mth after delivery regardless normal or c-sect.

for me, I only sterlise my pump at the end of the day. after use, only pour hot water fr vacumm flask over.