(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

Hey ladies anyone of you went for an induction. Went to see my gynae yesterday and she stripped my membrane and says if it works it should be within the next 2 days, just a little bleeding but till now still nothing happens and My gynae suggests an induction on Monday. Told some of my friends today and they say my baby still look very high shld wait naturally for baby to come out cause induction for first baby should a very long process... What do you all think?

Samval : Thanks, i m ok, landed on buttocks. was abit painful last nite, but now okie already... ya, initially i was very angry too, feel like telling her to balek kampong... but since hb sayang & she oso apologised, so juz let it be.. anw, i m not injured lor... but really thank God, it happened at tis stage & not the 1st trimester! My gal's U only 2 pcs, can't spin in washing machine... i juz thot she cld hang them in the toilet 1st, or squeeze it drier lor... my hb checked & realised it's dripping wet - as if it has nvr been squeezed dry b4... anw, hb told her off already...

novakido : Thanks. for me, i almost fell a few times too, but managed to maintain my bal in the end. This is my 1st fall in all 3 pregs... hehe... that's y had a scare... u take care too...

BTW, how many weeks are u now? i thot docs in US are more pro-natural? (did i rem correctly? u r in US rite?) =)

Gelato... Ya lor really lucky is the last trimester and baby all got cushion do be careful still...

This monday will be my EDD-exactly 40 weeks. Normally should be induction 41 or 42 weeks? Ya I also thought US very pro natural leh so when my gynae suggested I also wonder why. But I do feel like having him out anytime now coz a bit tired, plus clumsy and got rashes some more wor...

novakido : i m not too sure abt induction thingy, cos' my 1st kid chose to see me @ 38 weeks, & subsequent ones are scheduled c sections. But fm i understand, it's no good for bb to stay in the womb for too long, once past EDD.... cos' bb will tend to pass meconium & 'eat' it themselves, which may cause infection.

gelato / ni: i think i might be losing my mucus plug. i wipe hor, got discharge, brownish colour. not like last week's false alarm is one stread of red then no more liao. each time i wipe, each time the discharge is consistently brown. suspect suspect.

but no pain leh. now looking out for menstrual cramps pain, still don't have. hmm...

so i think cannot go shoipping liao. better stay at home and monitor the situation. now i better faster do all the laundry and iron papa's clothes. if not he has to wear t-shirt to work liao. hehe..

Oic ic... infection doesn't sound like a good idea at all hehe... I am quite excited about having the induction but at the same time worry about what my friends say should let baby come out naturally like I very impatient like that lor...

gelato: glad you're ok *hugs*

novakido: all the best! soon to see your bb

janjan: so you are gonna cut my queue ah?? hee hee.. we are one of those last on the list leh. better call your gynae hor. exciting!! let us know ya? btw, u how many weeks liao?

janjan16, yesterday after my gynae stripped my membrane till now I also have brown brown dischrage but I also still dun have menstrual cramps pain leh.. hmmm

janjan: Is that show? yah better monitor.. ur gynae got say b4 he thinks u'll deliver early right? from show to delivery sometimes takes hrs to days.. all the best! so exciting!!

novakido: Ure 40 weeks coming Mon then should be ok right? but will end up in C-sect a not if baby doesnt engage?

Dazed: Happie anniversary!! =) Hehe scalli baby notti =)

Sel: Pei fu, another mummy w/o epidural! =)

Daddytobe: Its really nice to read birth story.. enjoy fatherhood hehe =)

janjan16 : I've no experience abt the losing mucus plug thingy... but fm wat i read fm other mummies here, sounds like it is indeed time wor... but may take a few days oso rite? u wanna call ur gynae 1st - let him be mentally prepared? hehe..

novakido : I guess induction @ 40 weeks is fine, since bb's already mature & ready to be out... i m more worried abt the pains actually... hehe...

sus : Thanks. Everything is fine, bb's movement as usual too. =)

sus: gynae never say anything about C sect leh... Is that wat they normally do if doesnt engage then go for C sec? I dun wan c sec leh...
do you know how long will they wait to see if the induction works?

samval: me will be 37w tmr leh. due for gynae visit tmr also. now i dowan to cut queue liao leh. i want to aim cny. skalik like ni's babytan ah, the more u want that day, the more never kenna.

novakido, i have not done any VE or kenna strip membrane leh, so don't know why got brown discharge. its v little type. must wipe then have de.

sus: keeping fingers crossed. i remember pat had show too and its abt 5-6 days later that she actually delivered. so i hope can tong till next fri. then i will have a super nice birthday present.

Hehe ya Gelato me too! Coz when the gynae stripped my membrane yesterday it was super uncomfortable and she says its a small preview to labor pains! And I'm like youch!!! Some more I really wanna be like Sel go without epi... dunnoe can make it or not!

novakido: Im a first time mum so not experienced too.. but I thought it would be within a day or something like that for pill insertion or drip. Not sure about stripping of membranes.

gelato: great to know all is fine.. our powerful water bag hehe.. good hubby sayang u also.. next time be more careful in these areas ok?? I find its usually at home when we're too comfortable we slip and fall =p

Ya janjan I was just abt to ask you is it little bit little bit type, coz mine is a little bit must wipe then see also! But i think yours natural de probably the membrane separates from the cervix liao! mine is gynae induced de... super uncomfortable...

novakido : according to cjteng's experience, her cervix cannot dilate aft induction, then ended up c section. I can't rem her doc waited for how many hrs tho.... gotta scroll back to read her birth story... =) Anw, the practice in US maybe different fm here...

janjan: i think just let bb choose the date lor. if it is really the show then just be prepared, can deliver anytime. so long as full term and anything aft 37 weeks ok liao. me today 37 weeks, one day diff from yours.
your bb how many kg? gynae said anything above 2.5 is ok wor.

gelato: actually i very scared of c-sec!! i'm scared if anything happen lsat minute then need to c-sec. sigh!!

novakido: wah, then it sounds like i'm really having showtime lor.

i even ask hubby to contnue to work. if nothing i won't call him. nowi think he abit ganjeong liao. hehe. but he still go work. later he supposed to come back and buy breakfast for me. if nothing then will send me to mum's place, rather than i wait alone at home, or if gotpain, then go see doc. anyway, tdy see him and tmr see him also no diff. no extra charge also.

we were just saying when we sold our flat that day cos the guy wrote a pd check, 09.01.09. then i was commenting the date very nice and ask bb if she likes this day to be her birthday. don't tell me...

gelato / sus / samval, thanks... me last day work today so told boss me will go off early... then meet hb at sun plaza, later have dinner at place suika went last time... i am hoping not today,anyway no sign yet...

novakido, me also not engaged... sent email asking dr of risk of induce when not engaged but no reply yet... super pain at pelvic joint now leh... walk lagi pain... sleep also uncomfy... basically everything lah...

janjan! you gonna cut q liao...

janjan: Ya hor the date very nice leh hehe... stay with someone better la hor alone anything also worry...

like wat samval and gelato says from show can be anytime. my fren her delivery is 5 days after her show and she had to go C sec some more... so excited for you too!

Congrats DTB! you are such a sweet father. Can even take note of the timing, and describe the process in detail. I don think my Hb can ever do that. So heartwarming to see your little one huh. Must continue to give your wife support okie. Well done daddy! Need to change ur nick already. haha..

gelato: When's your next visit to gynae? good to have a check soonest possible after your fall. Guess it's not serious. Last time when I slipped and fell, I was so worried I went to A&E. hehe.. the dr asked me got blood? got water gushed out? tummy pain? then we did the ultrasound and everything was alright. so I think if u don have these symptoms, shd be ok. my gynae on the other hand, was not worried at all. he said usually fall on butt is okie...-.- duh. continue to monitor okie.

sel: thanks for sharing your birth story. you are another brave mum who didn't take epi. yours also seem like a fast and smooth delivery. Wish you have a good recovery too!

dazed! ya lor... but today I went to the park with my sis and dog for a long walk coz they say walking will help the baby to be engaged... but like you walk also pain, sleep not very painful but when turning left and right or change position very uncomfortable...

novakido/gelato: My best friend also water bag leak but cannot dilate after 24 h, end up in emergency C-sect. Read that some women just dun dilate easily.. not sure y..

BTW, who is the massage lady u gers engaged? Is she good? Got recommendations? Now I think Khatijah is rather ex, looking for alternatives.. thanks!

sus : yes, i'll be extra careful... 1 more week to go... Thanks! =)

novakido : ur bb's not engaged yet?

Samval : ya lor, we nvr know what will happen actually... think we hv to pray hard that the delivery will be a smooth one. =)

nova: did doc tell u to look out for anything these 2 days, since ur membrance has been ruptured?

samval: never call him leh. he come in at 10am. so now i express service, faster iron clothes and do laundry.

the date v nice hor? I just spoke to my SIL, she say not so fast de. can take up to 2 weeks from the show time till action time. haha...

kamy : Thanks. i m seeing gynae on Mon, but i think i m alrite... i oso heard fall on the butt is okie.... so not that worried lor... =)

sus : I've nvr done massage b4, but my hb's colleague passed me 1 contact. I juz checked my sms - her name is oso Khatijah... dunno if it's the same person? =)

gelato: was shocked when i read u had a fall. if i were u i would be in state of shock. glad u are fine.

sus: how much is Khatijah massage fees cost?
i am thinking of getting Origins Jamu Massage, cost $500 for 7 days. dunno if it is exp or not.

sus: i wanna ask u, you have frens whose babies are delivered by Dr Ong? is the estimated weight of babies same as the actual weight when born?
i dunno why babies delivered by dr ong seems small. lol

gelato: not sure engaged or not leh, doc says baby is head down already never say engage or not... i very jialat leh everything also dunnoe noe...

janjan: the gynae say once she stripped the membrane, most cases will help to induce labor so like contractions but if got bleeding like period like tat must go in immediately. so far nothing she says happen...

sus : my hb's colleague recommended her to me. That time i met her (my hb's colleague) 1 mth aft she gave birth, & i was surprised that her tummy is totally flat, but bust very full.. hehe... she credited her good figure to massage... =) i was keen to try out too, but my gynae say no massaging of tummy until 1 mth aft delivery lor.... =( (for cases of c sections...)

cheekygal : Thanks, ya, *heng* i heard it's ok to fall on the butt, so i wasn't so shock... more of angry at that point of time... haha...

nova: thanks. maybe i'll just pop by clinic this afternoon.

gelato: u better take care ah. that day i also fell - slow motion de. cos i was trying to sit on the office chair in my room. then i keep moving my butt backwards, the chair also keeps rolling backwards. then aim for the floor instead. haha. but it was a gradual fall, other than backside abit pain, then nothing much liao. bb has alot of water in her private swimming pool, so she's well cushioned.

gelato: oic.. thanks =)

cheekygal: I din ask my best friend whether her bb close to estimated weight (maybe Ill sms her later =p). But she has a friend same EDD has me with GD, was induced on 30 Dec at 3+ kg cos he say he bb too big. I have another friend under him now, her bb also small though =p

gelato: like to check with u again, if we eat food that cook with wine, can we still bf our BB or must pump n throw away the milk?

sperzz : if the food is cooked with wine, it's ok - cos' the alcohol content has been evaporated. But if u drink wine neat, then not advisable to bf bb.

gelato:u mean its ok lah, no need to pump n throw the milk away or wait for another 1-2hr then feed latch her on?? Sori I very KS type

sperzz : ya, it's ok to feed - that's what i learnt fm antenatal class years ago... hehe... it's ok to be KS - better than bo chap.... hehe.. =P

suika.....it's tough in the initial stage for BFing but dun give up okie...jiayou!

gelato....be very careful wor...wif such a big tum & heavily preggy now...falling is no joke...

nova....discussed wif my gynae the other day and was informed that if BB still not due on EDD then can only delay for 2 days lata to be induced...