(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

Giggler: Dun scare me ah....Hahahaha, I wan natural birth leh. I had my gal naturally w/o epi. Hope to be the same this time.

sperzz, yup I gg back to Mr Seah. In fact, my hb went to him for the c-section dates too. I like the names he given lor nice and unique. So what's your bb's name?

gelato: thanks.. personally me and hubby are quite ok with the weight.. we think healthy already.. just stressed sometimes with the comments I get from older generation =p It would be nice if gynae does show more concern cos he din even realize bb din put on weight till we mentioned =p

gelato: but the problem is...my hb is a mummy's boy. he says he is fine with the name zhihao! and says now he finds kai en, too girly sounds like karen! but kai en is he say one loh, now flip roti prata loh!

sus : ya lor, can understand, i oso feel bad when MIL commented that 1 of Ivy Lee's twins already heavier than my bb... i know it's juz a comment, but at that moment, i juz felt useless... but once 'see open', okie already - afterall, bb's health more impt mah... my gynae oso emphasized to me that bb's weight is not directly related to bb's health...

maybe ur gynae is not concerned cos he think that bb has already reached the healthy weight threshold, so there's nothing to worry abt. My gynae oso nvr mention weight to me, it's always me who take initiative to ask lor... =P

ni : can use the excuse that some of us mentioned here - cannot same name as father...

talking abt karen, my MIL told me so & so's mum's name oso Caden (we're naming our son Caden)... then i told her no, female name is Karen, we naming our son Caden - it's male name... then she say, sounds the same to her.... LOL...

sus, dun blame your gynae... I think lots of gynae dun bother with bb' wt cos they find it not accurate.

sperzz, nice name
How you input chinese char?

gelato, think Ivy Lee is preg again leh.

sus: i think your bb's weight is ok. cos you are small built. dont worry too much k? *hugs*

chng's wife: i see. ya heard if cant take pills then gynae will put on antiobiotic drip during labour. all the best! me still wiating for my results. yours take how long before its out?

Giggler : ya, i heard abt it too... was it my hb who told me? hehe... she so steady lah, 1 person handle so many kids... hb always not with her lor...

chng's wife: do make a point to admit earlier once u get symptons cos I think I read before the earlier u put on the drip during labour, the safer. I heard from gelato can also have insert antibiotics, u wanna try if u cant take oral?

gelato/Giggler/samval: thanks =) yah I know it will be fine =) Feel a bit bad for grousing actually hehe.. diff gynae are diff in their style =)

Hi Gwen,

thanks for ur well wishes. i posted my birth story on the 5th Jan. Here it is:

Hi All! Thank u so much for your support and well wishes!

Am elated to report that my little boy Ethan Ow was born on 4 Jan at 848am

My birth story:

(1) 3 Jan @ 12.05pm - water bag leaked a little when i was at home thought it was false alarm cos my EDD on 31 Jan! Not possible so fast what right....hhmmmm

(2) Called gynae at 12.15pm when water bag leaked again - asked to come in to see her

(3) 1.30pm - gynae did VE and confirm i was 1.5cm dilated and water bag burst even more whilst she was checking. She did Strep B test for me on the spot and said i had to be admitted immediately.She said induce immediately - but i was reluctant as i wanted to wait for natural contractions to occur. So she said ok, wait till 11pm that night if no contractions then induce.

2.45pm - checked into ward at TMC - actually booked a single bedder, but all full! And no rooms left except for one 2-bedder and a super delux. Ended up choosing the super delux (Super hole in the pocket man)

3.30pm - did CTG in ward for 1 hr. Baby was fine and i had no contractions

11pm - still no contractions. Nurse inserted pill into vagina area to soften cervix and to induce contractions.

12.05am - 4th Jan. started to have contractions in half hour intervals

2am - contractions became 15 mins apart

2.30 am - contractions were really painful and were 5 min apart. I asked nurse if i could get epidural and she said they only do that in labour ward, but she says i can only be wheeled down at 8am. i was like ??????? why so long? She said based on gynae's instructions on paper

4am - contractions were killing me and only 2 mins apart. i asked the nurse again and she said i had to wait cos nothing will be done even down at the labour ward. she says its better i wait and REN

6am - contractions reached a point of severe pain - i was shivering and gripping the sides of my bed and perspiring. Hubby called senior staff nurse and insisted i be wheeled to the labour ward immediately

6.20am - wheeled to labour ward and was given night gown to change into. I tried to stand to change into gown but almost collapsed on the toilet floor. In the end hubby had to help me change and i was hauled onto the bed shivering with pain.
The midwife checked my dilation and said it was already 7.5cm dilated! She asked me why i wasnt wheeled in earlier! I almost fainted. I asked for epi and she said i was almost going to give birth already - no epi.
I insisted on epi....

7.10am - Doctor admistered epi for me. 10 mins later - epi took effect and i was so relieved. I had symptoms of nausea and bad shivering - but this was nothing compared to the labour pains. I was able to rest for another hour

8.30am - gynae came and said i was ready to deliver. I pushed about 10 times

8.48am My little boy Ethan was born!

I can only say that Epi was a real life saver for me . I swear by it!

Haha!

Thanks for all the well wishes and support mommies! Couldnt have made it without all of u in mind. My baby boy was on the small side cos 4 weeks earlier than due date (2.49KG) But he is ok and healthy.
All the pain is definitely worth it!

Praise God!

Good luck to all mommies gonna pop!

ni: oh dear now ur hubby also sway already.. any other pple in family with authority who can speak up? can try wat gelato suggests about cannot have same name as previous generation?

yiwen: i only distributed cakes to my colleagues and relatives...friends dont have...if need to distribute to friends...i think i will go broke.

ni: the sweetestmoments package starts from $8.90. but the $8.90 one the box like so empty...so my mum asked me to order the $9.90 one...she said if luugi she top up...total i ordered about 56 boxes cost me $554.40. but cute la...coz can print bb pic on the box.

babystarlet: i dont take kidney...its out for me...

chere: have u used compressed hot towel? i also very sian of keep pumping and pumping...and me only 17 days nia...u still can tong till 6 weeks leh...very good liao. today i also suffer from sore nipple...so pain!! dont pump also cannot, pump also cannot...haiz

no lah sus dont feel bad. we are all here to share. actually i was also kinda worried abt going in on 15th next week to induce cos dunno issit a good idea or not, considering bb only 38 weeks exactly by then. was also contemplating if shld wait till 23rd Jan, and i will be 39 weeks and doc said i'd most probably go into labour by then since now cervix aldy open.

i just spoke to my gynae and she said just see her on 15th and proceed, and she will do another VE for me to check how many cm. if its increasing, then might as well just admit there and then. so ok lor.

sus / chng's wife : i rem i had some vagina infection during my 1st preg, & gynae gave me some antibiotics (via insert)... but i dunno what infection was that... may be Strep B, maybe not... i can't rem liao... anw, in the end, i delivered via c section, so no bother oso... =P

sus : it's okie de... dun worry... grousing is better than bottling up... =)

blessedmum: what i did to make baby wake up only once/twice in the night for feeding...at 7pm, i will on the room light...create a fake atmosphere that it is day time...then 11+ i will switch off the room light...and use the dimmer light...
i also supplement my boy with FM...my milk supply not so much la...and he is drinking 70ml now...sometimes i can only pump 50-60ml....

i called up the clinic and the nurse told me the Strep B test results take abt 5 days wor. then i ask her how cos next week i gonna deliver she said still ok, cos i positive (touchwood), they will administer antibiotic via drip or insert etc etc.

Heard abt the insert antibiotic too... Asked woody, he says he will put me on drip during labour only leh. Think when check with him during nx visit ba.

Btw, I mentioned he wanted me to deliver early sue to BB at e small side. Seen him today...BB grew 200g since last wk. I told woody that I dun wan to disturb e BB since there's growth. Hehe.

Daddytobe: thanks for the update! U must be really excited being the SNAG u are hehe.. late lunch? quick go back support ur wifey! jia you!!

Samval: Maybe ur baby will choose an earlier date than 23rd himself, means he is ripe already to come into the world? anw, keep us updated!!

chng's wife: i think IV drip is better than inserting thru vagina leh. cos drip works faster cos of direct contact to the blood. i did my test on tues only (2 days ago).

sus: ok i will update all of u. my gynae i think sounded a bit irritated cos i think she feel that i never listen to her and always worry. last nite my hubby chided me for not listening to doctors instructions. he said since they are the expert and pro ppl, just leave it to them.

DTB, Yup, go cheer your wife along...you'll be cuddling your baby very very soon...soo exciting!! All the best!~

Mercs, does ur baby latch? I also feed BM during the day, FM at night. Cus supply not enuff. Initally my baby latch, but now I think he prefers to be bottled feed, which means more pumping for me too..very tiring

sperzz: ya lor...add my mum there and my MIL there....faint man...but i already collected back $300 ang bao la...actually coz i got the sweetestmoments voucher...buy 10 box free one box...so actually i have total 61 boxes!! i also dunno why sooooo many!!

giggler: my friends i invite them to buffet ma...the cakes are for colleagues and relatives...some colleagues coming some not coming to the celebration

Samval & Chng's wife, Not sure if I am correct. To insert pill is to soften the cervix, to put on drip is to increase contraction frequency..I think they are for different purpose

Felt so much relieve after knowing it's fine tat I dun take the antibiotic thru oral. Hehe

K, so now I will just relax and wait for "D" day. Hehe

preciousbb: my baby still latch on...but coz i can only let him latch on my right breast lor...so pumping out will be better for my case...only when i warming up the EBM right, he cant wait, so i let him suckle while waiting for the milk to warm up...
so far i think he still remember how to latch

talking about the strep b right...i asked dr ang about it...he said he didnt carry out the test for me, but if i am afraid, i can put on antibiotic drip when my waterbag burst...treat it like got strep b...so i went ahead with it...no harm

Mercs, oic, forgot ur baby can only latch on right. My baby has no problem latching, but he is getting lazy, stop suckling after 5 mins and cry for the bottle..headache leh

Giggler : oic, din know that.

DTB : excited ya? hehe...

Samval : i understand how u feel... we're mummies mah, so we tend to worry more... sometimes i oso think EDD accurate or not? sekali my bb only 36 or 37 weeks when c section is done??? not that we dun want to listen, but sometimes can't help to let our 'imagination' run abit 'wild'... hehe...

preciousbb: tickle his chin?? my bb is not willing to stop suckling hor...if i let him suckle while waiting for the milk to warm up...when want to pull him out...he dont want lor...he still want to suckle..

mercs: thanks for the info on the strep b drip thing.

gelato: ya lo. not that we wanna go against doctors orders lah, but sometimes just cant help feeling like this.

precious bb: really??? its meant for diff purpose? then how? my gynae said wanna insert pill. but for what since i aldy 2.5cm dilated. wouldnt it be more logical for her to put drip to speed up labour so cervix can dilate faster??

Samval: haha yar I understand how u feel lor, cos its our bb involved mah.. its natural we feel like that sometimes regarding gynae's advice..

<font color="ff0000"> DTB</font>,

wah.. u so kan chiong until never eat?? jia you!! and please dun ignore ur wife's needs immediately after delivery!!

<font color="ff0000">precious_bb</font>,
hmm, looks like ur ah boy impatient and prefer the faster flow of milk bottle liaoz..

<font color="0000ff"> is it better to latch or to pump??</font>,

mummies, what's ur opinion?

Latch can bond leh.. but super tiring on us.. cos 1st month every 1.5-2 hrs muz latch sleepy bb is very frustrating..

pump, maybe get demoralised from the whole pumping process but also can see how much can pump out n measure how much is bb intake.

Samval, I am not too sure. But my gynae explain to me, to induce, pill will be inserted before 3cm dilation, to soften cervix &amp; kickstart labour. Then after 3 cm, if I am not experiencing contraction, drip will be given to introduce or to hasten the contractions.

Mercs, good that your baby can suckle &amp; refuse to let go. Mine seems to be too lazy, but I still trying to let him latch longer

jasmommy, yah, so sad, he prefers the bottle, it seems easier and not so much work for him. Latching is better

jasmommy wow u really persevered! Really admire ur efforts! U shld share ur story w BMSG, they r looking for pple to share their stories cuz they are going to update their bf handbook this yr…

No, not cannot room-in. But my gyne didn’t seem to encourage it which I find really really strange… he tried to scare me by citing a previous case of SIDS when bb room-in… but despite wat he said, I’m still going for single bedder n still going to have room-in.

Hmm… the feelings I’ve been getting dun feel like menstrual cramps, just a pulling sensation. Today haven’t felt a thing…

suika dun get so worked up ok… old pple are like that one, just try to ignore her bah..

Wat mercs said is true… they dunno abt bf last time… my mom is considered modern and educated but she also dunno these things… so I can’t ask for advice from her when it comes to pumps n things like that…

ni well on the bright side at least u got some rest…

Thanks for the info… I nearly got a heart attack when doc said they will charge extra per hour after 6-8 hrs but he dinno the rate… Let me know if ur bill changes after u received the detailed billing can?

preciouskk I’ve seen tummy binders in all the maternity shops, mothercare, john little n robsinsons also have… but can’t advice which is good…

samval poor u! put some ointment on to sooth the burn?

daddytobe all the best! Soon u’ll have to change ur nick!

chere u sound frustrated… but at least u’ve made it through 6 wks… do try to keep going… have u used warm compress n massage to clear the blocked ducts? Otherwise call BMSG or a LC for advice…

chng’s wife I know someone who tested +ve for strep b. She’s now on antibotics… n her doc say if it doesn’t clear up by delivery, she will be on IV throughout delivery, but still can have vaginal birth.

wow...gelato...
got summarise 1 huh!
how come so many mommies gog to induce the bb out? for what reason ner??
i still waiting patiently for my turn lei... my EDD 19th ... or should i ask to induce? tmr gynae visit again... mmm

hey ladies...
i just finished off a big pack of char kway tiao and 1 orangina.... feel so satisfied...but tummy seems so PACKED with junk.
nowadays intake of food seems decrease...maybe stomach being squeezed...no space...