(2009/01) January 2009 MTBs

jasmommy : i prefer to let bb latch on. My #1 was only latched on for 1 mth, thereafter, i pumped for the rest of the year - damn tiring... For my #2, i let bb latch on during weekends (aft i returned to work), i find it so convenient, i dun hv to pump all the time, can bring bb everywhere, no need to worry abt bringing bottles or whatever... whenever he's hungry or thirsty, i hv free flow of milk for him... =)

sel : you're back... how's everything? try to rest more ya... =)

mo3 : most of us are scheduled c section, only a couple r going to induce - for reasons like bad water retention or already dilated. If u hv no medical reason, then better to let bb choose own timing ba? =) ur food intake decrease ah? i m eating like nobody's biz.... hehe....

nova...thanks for the idea on tummy binder but I dun quite fancy it cos would prefer for it to be air...anyway bought MP diapers for NB which has a cut out for the cord stump....

sus...i oso have the avent manual pump but din note the teats inside...thot onli have the bottles....check at the pharmacy for NB avent teat it's single hole...

mercsboy...looks like most of the thomson women clinic gyane recommend mamex gold? actualli it's just the phobia in mi all along on the cord stump...either i try to overcome it or get my mum to handle it...hee

gelato>
oic... ic... how come u gog for c-section ner?... sorry huh,if i have missed ur post earlier... aiyer,tml see gynae what he's gog to say. yalor,food intake decreases liao...bb still moving well inside,always squeezing my tummy...

mo3 : cos' my 1st 2 were delivered by c sec, so come to 3rd 1, bo bian liao... c sec is the only option available. =) i've been eating alot recently, & gained alot of weight - now is my heaviest moment in my life thus far... 1st 2 preg oso nvr reach tis weight lor... =(

yo suika>>
yeah cool down ba... after birth is a little edgy de... let out ur steam sometimes den.... keke
hope everything goes well for u...

mo3: how things goes well when i discharge tml....been eating the confinement food for 2 days oni n i'm already sweating like hell here in the hospital sia....

suika....for mi surely turn deaf ear to those comments i dun like...otherwise i will talk to BB purposely in front of her...BB ar...mummy love U and wun starve u one..u noe mummy's milk will increase slowly but now wat I have is very good for u to protect u! i might sound notti to do dat but in order not to get agitated urself and get the message thru...who cares!

dtb...congrats...BB will be in ur arms very soon....

so many lined up to meet BB next week ar...i told my BB if he wish to meet us earlier then the fastest will be next week...otherwise we will see him as scheduled..on 26 jan...haha

my birth story:

5th Jan
went for check-up and did CTG. Gynae told to admit by 7pm bt i only managed to do admission at ard 9pm.. gynae called up at abt 8 and think he is v shock that i'm stil on my way..

after sent to the ward, gynae came ard 9-10pm to check for dilation- ard 3-4 cm dilated bt he didnt want to induce and break the waterbag. waited for the waterbag to break on its own.. bt if the waterbag is still intact by the next morning, dr will speed up the process by breaking the water bag.

6th Jan
ard 2am, noticed a bright red discharge, informed the nurse. bt didnt feel any water flowing out. nurses came in 2 hrly to check for water bag breakage.

before 9am, was sent down to the observation room at the delivery suites to monitor contractions and waited for dr.

ard 9.45, dr came and checked for dilation, wanted to break the water bag bt could nt find the membrane. He concluded the waterbag was already broken at abt 2am after the show came.

given enema to clear bowels and waited for the contractions to be more intense.

ard 11am, can already feel the pain for the contractions bt still bearable.

ard 12pm, could not take the pain anymore and asked for pain relief (laughing gas).

between 12-3pm, contractions got more and more intense bt feel like pushing. waited to dr to arrive. was pushed to the delivery ward. was already gettting hysterical with all the pain. heard the screams of the lady delivery next door, made me more flustered. dr came slightly before 3 and got ready to deliver the bb.

3.10pm, Baby Jaidyn was delivered vaginally without epidural.

yah, gelato, was going to ask you how you know these mommies are going to deliver on those dates? so going for induce?

mo3: my EDD is 18th and I'm also waiting patiently for my turn. It's my first so I'm really clueless about contractions and the signs. just wait lor...

mercsboy: saw your posting that your baby is 17days old already. how fast!!! seems like yday that you said you are going to hospital. I think once the waiting game is over, time just passed faster. hehe..

gelato: thanks for missing me... no lah.. no D-day yet... aiming cny, bb cannot come now. went to mum's place, so came back busy reading the posts... and don't know wat to write mah

all i can say is, i very mao-dun now. on one hand can't wait to pop, on the other hand, want to aim cny. haha.

oh yes, i'm gonna go mum's place again tmr, then sneak out to robinsons & taka sales tmr with my sil. very naughty right?

wonder if there's anything to buy or not.

Seems like many of us are getting sore nipples from breastfeeding which is very painful.

I have stopped direct breastfeeding for almost a week due to very sore nipples and have been applying nipple cream. Today start breastfeeding again, but can feel the soreness returning.

Can anyone advise how to prevent sore nipples? or we have to continuously rely on nipple cream?

Sel: I salute you that you can tahan with out epi! Now most of us tend to turn to epi! Me too....very low pain threshold!

Samval: Can believe yr going to give birth too next week! Guess if yr starting to dilate.....you've not much choice =p Heard for each subsiquent birth, bb tends to come earlier then EDD ;)

jasmommy: I feel that if the mummy is going to be a SAHM, then direct latch on is definately better, in the sense that
-no need to wash and sterilize pump and bottles,
- its easier,
-bb cry, straight away can give, dont have to pump or warm milk,
-less chance of contamination,
-close bonding,
-when get more used to it, mummy can just lie down and BF while continue to sleep ;)

However, if I was going back to work....I would most probably EBM coz I would be scared bb dont want to take the bottle, which happened to my son last time!

jade: I think for me...had to tahan the sore nipples and keep feeding......as long as they didnt bleed or crack I kept at it. But I must say I got sore niples from the pumping rather than the suckling. guess my boy didnt suckle hard and long. But my nipples became thick skin, so to say then was not as sensitive after that.

chng's wife, Samval,
I was tested +ve for Strep B for both my kids. No effect lah. Only a very tiny % of Strep B carriers affect their bbs. 1st chid I had IV antibiotics during labour. 2nd child - no treatment. Just a letter of referral in case the bb got GBS disease. You can do research online about it.

jasmummy,
I'm a firm believer in latching, Like Autumn Leaf says... no need to spend time cleaning & sterilising the pump, bottles etc. Not so xiong lah. 2-3 hours is usual unless the bb is not feeding fully each time.

jade,
If you tahan the pain for a week or two, the nipples will toughen up and then it will be ok after that. BUT... you must first ensure that the cause of the soreness is not due to a bad latch. Check with a LC if in doubt.

dazed: there's a library at sun plaza bt i dunno hw big or tiny it is.. haven been in there before..

mummies:
i've been latching on directly for the last two days in the hospital and nipples are quite sore nw, abit reddish in fact.. just nw i tried to do manual pumping to stimulate and i manage to squeeze out some thin whitish liquid tat doesnt smell like milk.. any idea what's tat??

dazed - there is a library at sun plaza... ermmm ard normal size??? hehehehee... not big but not that smalllll la... have kids corner, computer stuff... and the usual books... =)

thanks sel / missycandy... me gonna meet my hb at sembawang after work, so thot can go borrow some books to read during ML...

sus > me bought those glutinous rice wine from those home-made 1. i heard from my mum says such gluntinous rice can only be bought secretly,not sold publicily outside

on top of that,i bought those vinegar for the pig throtters.

mi back again...juz finished bf-ing...1 side of my nipple crack n sore lucky the other side still ok...the nurse told mi coz bb no latch properly that's y pain n sore...true enuff w their help to latch not so pain

dtb...ur wife juz delivered rite...when har? still in mtA now? I discharging tml can dropby visit if u still ard

mo3 & mercs...she go round saying mi mistreat my son like that lor...hw to 'ren' wor...worst part is she said that to my son ok say ur Mummy no good no feed u full no allow u take milk No this no that ley...like that I hw not to b angry wor...my hb oso no try understand me

Suika: As what piyo had mentioned, I also heard that use yr own BM to rub over your nipples will actually help, I did try this this before, and I never end up needing to use any other creams etc.

Hope your MIL will grow to learn that BM is adequate for yr bb! In the meantime, hope you can some how ignore her insensitive remarks, and continue to do what you feel is best! She'll hopefully get tired...and perhaps realise that what you do is not wrong eventually!

<font color="ff0000">sel</font>,

think is first milk when colostrum decreases and the milk starts to kick in.. at first is thin &amp; blusish.. will turn creamy later, according to bb needs..

<font color="ff0000">suika</font>,
hugz.. iz tough to cope with new bb let alone MIL &amp; a hubby not 100% standing up for u &amp; on ur side.. ah... u can turn on the tap (cry), and the old folks will tell u not to cry, otherwise next time go blind etc.. and will prob shut up abit when u voice out that the comments are stressing u out, trying to cope..

<font color="ff0000">autumn leaf, gelato, priviledged</font>,
i also prefer latching on.. but i hated that initial month where my bb keep falling asleep on the breast, and kept crying cos not getting milk fast/ enough as still learning how to latch for MAX intake of milk. still remember i had to latch bb every 1 hr, for like 15-20min.. until i become super stone.. and she kept falling asleep at the breast last time, no matter how much i massage/ poke her..but moment i put her in playpen, she cry again &amp; will only stop when i latch her again..

when i go back work, pumping dun seem to produce enough to meet her needs (1st 3 months of ML, i only latch).. and i got really frustrated due to hard to get a let down.. so wondering izzit cos i latch too much, so milk supply only juz nice.. and as pumping dun clear breast as well as bb, amount of milk expressed not enough meet her needs..

so this round wondering if i should pump more &amp; latch less, in the hope that hormones during intial period will make my breast produce more milk then required so i can store as much as possible..

yikes..hope no. 2 will be better..

Hi Sel,

Wow! u are fantastic! Natural withot epi! Congrats on ur new bundle of joy ah. for myself i too tahan till the 7th hour, but in the end still begged for epi.

now i have issues with breastfeeding too. cos my case premature by 4 weeks so baby small. i had to partial formula to ensure baby ok before my milk kicks in. now i too have super sore nipples and engorged boobs. so pain!

jasmommy:

I also had the problem of my son always falling asleep. He only suckled for 2mins at a time, so I was always ending up having to pump out due to engorgement. But I never stored the milk that I pumped and just threw it down the sink.....wasted right. But thats because I didnt go back to work and so it was easier for me to latch on....and seeing as I didnt keep the pumped milk...i didnt need to sterilize the pump as often=)

Had to continue to pump in the first 3 months after every feed to clear away old milk that my boy didnt drink to trick my breasts into think that needed to supply more, and also to ease the engorged feeling. Think my let downs came faster after about 1 month or so......but I agree that its definately faster to get a let down when actually latching on if not try thinking of yr bb or look at yr bb photo.....may help?

wow u all giv birth liao still got time to online ah.
i think i wont have time to online cos need to look after elder girl and newborn...
i just hope my delivery on sat will be fast and smooth.
cannot stand the pain.
omg, SCARE SCARE!!!!

jasmommy: It sounds kinda weird...but the last couple of weeks....I actually let my 3 nearly 4 yo start latching on again! I stopped in July when I jsut enter 2nd tri as nipples were too sensitive...but he seems just as happy with it as where he stopped! I was thinking to use him as my pumpt to empty out the left over milk after the bb drinks her fill of course. But only at home la...then when out or when he goes to nursery, then only rely on the pump! I guess I am lazy to wash etc!
But I'll need to make sure I clean nipples properly each time B4 bb drinks.

Xpink:

I guess I also wont be logging in as much after deliver this monday. I think will only be able to log in more often once after confinement and when I have settle back home in Singapore. Got to settle my boy in nursery plus my mum will be staying over with me till March! Shes flying over from Australia, so want to spend quality time with her =)

Hi all, got home not too long ago. Just read thru the past posts. Once again thank you for the well wishes.

Here's an update:

1130hrs - 1cm dilated
1300hrs - still 1 cm dilated. Gynae looked at the CTG graph and said still not regular enuf so can wait. She burst the waterbag and put wife on drip
1430hrs - 3cm and contractions getting stronger. Tried gas but didn't help in the long run. Wife said it caused drowsiness and offered me to try :eek:
1450hrs - wife was in great pain so i suggested epi. Shortly after, I could see her smile liao. Epi is such a wonderful invention. Hats off to the mothers who went w/o epi.
1520hrs - 5cm
1820hrs - 9cm
1930hrs - Nurse asked if i wanted to see the baby's head. Saw the hair! So excited! lol..
2000hrs - Nurse asked to push. Gynae arrived shortly.
2030hrs - Baby is out!

Talking about labour, it was quite long after all.

Quite alot of blood loss so wife was put on drip and placed under observation.

Visited baby at the nursery and he was quiet at the beginning but later on when i visited again, he was wailing on-off. Think he was hungry liao.

First breast feed at 2330hrs. Then stopped at 2340hrs. Nurse taught us how to start baby to feed. Then carried on until 0010hrs and baby fell asleep.

Surprisingly, baby stopped crying when I sang some familiar songs but i think he got sick of it later and no songs could pacify him

The nurses were very nice and friendly, as least for those who were in the day shift today. The night shift ones today, quite attitude except for one who was extremely helpful. Looking at the boy suckle until so shiok, made it so worthwhile staying to witness the first bf.

We took the Single-bedder. For mothers who will deliver at Mt A, there's free wifi so you can surf with your mobiles or bring your lappy.

suika: yes we're at mount A. PM you my wife's room.

My apologies if i've missed any posts that requires my reply. Do PM me if necessary. This forum doesn't have a "quote" function which can be very useful when replying to every single post :p

congrates to all that had delivered...coz mi using hp online so ve y hard to read all missing msgs

piyo tried liao but think my bb suckle too hard liao ba so quite bad but use the cream nw a lot better

my boy juz rejected bf-ing...oni latch on less than 5 mins this time....haizzz dun noe wad happen n that nurse juz brought him back saying that nurse incharge of bfing busy

suika, tell your hb off lah... did he go for classes with you? and i'll tell my mil straight in the face if my hb doesn't do it still...

Jade I went for my breastfeeding class and it says that sore nipples are most frequently caused by improper positioning and latch on wor...

Here are some suggested ways to help:
1) Try varying positions (football hold, cradle hold,lying down positions)
2) Short frequent feedings
3) Nurse the least sore side first
4) Massage your express milk into nipple and areola
5) Avoid soap and alchohol can try using lanolin cream
6) Change pads frequently to keep nipple dry
7) Can use those nursing shells worn under the bra when you are awake to allow air to the nipples and provide protection from clothing

Suika, maybe your baby was sleepy? Watch for awakening signs with his eyes and body movements and feed him when he is more alert? Breastfeeding is a learning process for both baby and you so jia you jia you!!!

Good Morning, everyone.

I had a fall last nite... thank God i m ok... the maid washed &amp; hang my gal's sch U w/o squeezing it dry, ended up the kitchen floor was all wet... i din noticed, so juz slipped &amp; fell... told hb now that bb is protected by amniotic fluid, it's ok... if tis happened in the 1st trimester then i might suffer a miscarriage. Hb went to tell maid off &amp; warned her he doesn't want to see a 2nd time happening... &amp; since the maid oso apologised, so case closed. Then, hb was sweet to me last nite, asked me to sit down, helped me get hair dryer, asked me if i ok... hehe...blessings in disguise??

DTB: congrats! haha wifey ask u to try the laughing gas. I was laughing when i read your post!
cheers!

Sel: thanks for sharing your birth story. wah no epi, hats off to you and all the mummies who din go for epi!

ni/suika: u both ok bo? feel better today? remember keep cool and stay calm k? anything come in here to rant out. we are here to listen. take care and enjoy motherhood.

dazed: happy anniversary. few days ago was my anniversary and i was also scared to pop! hey, but if u pop today also ok, then can share same birthday &amp; anniversary &amp; can celebrate together.
btw, what your doc say? can induce or not since going to overdue?

those mummies to gave birth at TMC, can i check with you, were you ladies sent straight to the labour ward during labour, or they will put in observation ward first, then abt to give birth, wheel to labour ward? cos i read some of the birth stories, i see some of u was sent to observation ward then only transferred to labour ward, but some of u go straight to labour ward and stay there all the way straight till delivery. can anyone share please?? thanks.

btw, me now opting for 2 bedder instead of single bedder. cos my hubby's company said that they will pay for all the hosp fees upto 2 bedder only (100%) and 1 bedder only a small percentage. so we decided to save cost and can use the $$ to spend on bb's things and also for my elder kids' classes, fees etc. anyway, hb might not be able to stay with me also, so might as well opt for 2 bedder. hope i dont kena a neighbour who snores though

gelato: OMG! u ok now? u landed on where? knees, buttocks?? if me i will be damn sore with maid wor. why she never put the uniform in spinner before hanging to dry??

dazed : Happy Anniversary! u going Sun Plaza to celebrate?

DTB : Congratulations! What's ur bb's birth weight? boy or girl? =)

jasmommy : every bb is different, so perhaps #2 will not give u the same set of 'prob' as #1. =) Anw, initial period we're on ML, so i guess we can afford to let bb latch longer &amp;/or often. Take it as a way of bonding ba? I m more worried that the elder kids will be jealous cos' mummy's always 'sticking' to the baby... hehe...

As for milk supply aft going to work, we can try taking supplements to increase milk supply... or try to pump frequently... hmmm... but easier said than done lah... what i did previously was to build up stock b4 i went back to work... i collected everything fm the breast shells, when bb sleep longer hrs in the nite, i woke up to pump &amp; store... if he didn't clear up the milk, i pumped too... so i had quite good supply for both kids then (even hv to buy a freezer to store juz breast milk... hehe)...

sel : wow! u oso survived w/o epi... i really admire u all... =) do rest well.

Jade &amp; all mummies suffering fm sore nipples : i had that for #1 too - partly due to incorrect latch... gotta make sure bb latch on the aerola, &amp; not the nipple - else we'll pain like hell... then another reason was i wasn't producing enough in the initial days, so she kept sucking sooooo hard &amp; soooo long that my nipple hurts... once milk flow establised &amp; latch corrected, it was a breeze aft that. =)

janjan16 : hehe.. i thot u god deliver liao... next week oso good mah... can celebrate birthday together with u. =)

kamy : oh, the dates are gathered fm the posts - I've been following tis forum very closely.. so can rem some recent dates... =)

mo3 : eat pineapples can induce meh? i dun think it helps leh =P ... i've been eating pineapples throughout tis &amp; previous pregnancy leh...

suika : tell ur hb that he has to understand &amp; support u, maybe he doesn't know abt the hormones change aft we give birth. Hb's support very impt. Like Piyo, u can scare him with stuffs like post natal blues... =P

Gelato do take care... I also tripped and fell a few times during my last trimester now... thk pregnancy makes us even more clumsy and unaware of our environment as well...