(2008/12) December 2008 MTBs

Hi Dec Mommies,
Are you interested to organise a Dec Baby Birthday celebration party for all babies?

I shall be happy to help organise.

Hey EvanMummy,

Thanks, very much for yr suggestions, will go grab some pear and prune juice...(eh any kind of prune juice brand wll do?)...

bb girl, allergy to cow's protein...so PD says soy will do fine for her...

YPG,

Putting together a business conference.. conceptualising business topics, invite leading MNC C-level executives and etc ...

Oohbaby,

make sure u feed ur bb fruits puree every day ..or i feed water .. though some mummy prefer fruits juice ..( but the danger is tat ur gal will reject water once they tasted fruit juice).. U can boil urself or buy ready made - like heinz or gerber .. or some organic brands.. I have not given evan any juices..so cant advise on which brand..

Evanmummy, will having PMP certified get more pay? Is those that hold conference and get pple to sign up?

ygp, yup! great to see u..this time we can chat liao

Hi oohbaby
my girl also same problem and have been feeding her apple juice ( home made - just boil the apples) n fruit puree daily. I have stop her cereal for 2 days.. Seem abit better on her poo poo.. getting softer.

Apply desitin cream on her anus...or smoothing cream

snowger,

sigh. I understand. Mine like went back to square one leh. Now she still not keen on eating .. her running nose on and off ... so probably still no appetite. Wa lau, I've thrown away dunno how much food aldy. Now I'm just breastfeeding her ...

Just to share something on Aqauducks trial.. I lom pang my Nov friend's trial last Sun - the place has zero shower facilities so i would recommend bringing your own water to rinse your baby esp for those with eczema babies like mine.. we had to dash home to bath her after! The lesson was fun thou! Have fun!

fabbie,
me add u into my FB, pls accept.

Porridge:
Started feeding porridge to bb on last weekend, using pigeon feeding bowl and bb can finished full bowl of porridge. My bb likes solid food more than milk milk

Thank u very much for all your valuable suggestions...juz got back from supermarket to buy some pears and a bottle of prune juice...hope to see miracle tml!

Nighty nite!!!

oohbaby
are you giving baby enough water? I had this problem in the first days of solid feeding and I realised that it was cos she wasn't drinking enough. Now my gal drinks abt 60ml plain water a day and she has not had hard poo problem.

Evening everyone,

I've a qn that i hope to hear from other mummies on your views. I am now fully latching on my gal because i am now a SAHM. She was on partial FM for a while but now i only use the FM to mix into her rice cereals for her. Just wondering... when she grows older, will i still need to reintroduce FM into her diet (e.g. after 1 yrs old etc) or she will have enough nutrients from BM till she wean off on her own?

Hope i dont sound to silly asking this but i am abit confused so any mommies can share their POV will be great.

Little rabbit,
Hmm i already started to add into mine but my gal doesnt eat the scallop itself. Finds that it makes the porridge tastier compared to w/o the dried scallops. Even if i only add 2-3.

miss out the aquaduck trial...too late then saw it...but anyway my boy's butt not recover yet..so i also dun think he can recover in time for it..

snowger, ur gal down w flu too? my boy's flu seesm recovered le, but now seems back again..same goes for his cough..sian rite when our babies sick...

i also worried he's not getting enuff nutrients as I've stopped his solid food intake since last wk when he's sick..hv been only on BM...hope he can recover soon & get back into his solids..

jappoh,
so good, ur co got give extra childcare MC leave...i'm been "eating" into my own AL these 2 wks that kayson is sick..

Kath,
i also think not easy to work fm home...esp if u're going to be the only one at home to look after Zach...these 2 wks i look after kayson at home...super tired out...luckily got my hb help with the COACH thingy haha.
ok back to the point..esp when our babies are getting so mobile & wants so much attn nowdays..& I realise they sleep lesser hours & shorter period..means i got lesser time to rest when kayson sleeps...
if u were to work fm home, i think hard to be productive & hard to concentrate..most of the time u will "concentrate" on zach instead.

aurorin
perfectly valid qn, something that I was wondering myself. Think that there is no necessity to intro formula milk if you are still breastfeeding. You might want to introduce iron fortified formula if you looking to have more iron in avery's diet

aurorin,
Thanks for ur replied and long time didn't c u post. u settle down alrady ?

thinking of add in the dried scallops to make porridge more tastier but scallops belong to seafood and can it cause allergic ?

aurorin
good to hear that you have managed to tbf! there is no need to introduce FM if you are breastfeeding. BM is all that the milk that your baby will need until she weans off on her own, which can be 2 yrs or older. do you plan to bf Avery for long?

little rabbit
I'm staying away from shellfish and cephalopods (squid cuttlefish octopus) until she's much older. There is a higher tendency to be allergic to these types of foods. during my last trimester, I overdosed on dried cuttlefish and ended up with itchy bumps on my hands! That has never happened to me before and I've always eaten cuttlefish! If you want to be very safe, then don't use shellfish or squids, but if you have tried it and there is no reaction, maybe you can continue but in small amounts. Personally I will not be adding dried scallops to her porridge.

tamms,
Thanks for ur advised. May I know what kind of food u add into bb porridge ? For me, I started with vege only.

Dphotofolio photo shot:
mummies who went for Dphotofolio photo shot, can I add u into my FB ?
bubblepearl
Carmen
Jlow
Ann01jan
littlevictoria

aurorin,

I'm also TBF but I use formula in her cereal cos I want to introduce it to her .. then at about 8-10 months old, I try to intro formula in a bottle.

By 1 year old, she will be taking formula in the daytime, and nursing only at nite .. I try to drop that soon after and replace it with a bottle with formula.

All my girls take formula till they are about 5 or 6 years old. About 2 or 3 bottles a day 240ml each time.

I think that whether it's formula or fresh milk, it's good for them to have it in their diet

Thanks all for the comments!

Echo: As long as i am not working, i can be TBF, and since i dont intend to go back to work anytime soon.

Sam: I think she may have a problem getting used to the bottle again after not having it for a while. Maybe i can get her to drink FM or fresh milk with a cup when she is 1yrs?

Haiz. Things cannot be avoided... My ger fell off the bed last nite. My hb tried to get her to sleep with him on our bed. He thot she sleep liao n next moment "PONG!"... *Haiz* He feels v bad, I heartpain but bo bian... Just hope she'll be fine. Got one BIG blue black on the head!

Tamms,
I PMed u liao...

Sam,
That sounds like a great idea. I was wondering how to intro FM to my ger...
Wanted to replace one feed for her but my EBM will go to waste! Haha...

pastillies,
Yesterday my MIL told us that my bb's solid intake seem normal leh n asked me to prepare more. I dunno if it's cos over the weekend, the porridge was too strong tasting (i.e. Pork n Fish Brocoli Combo Porridge) *Heh* So ysterday, I only made Carrot Porridge.

aurorin,
I think if u intend to TBF all the way (i.e. until they are old enuf to take fresh milk), then no need to intro FM. But if u intend to stop or cut back on BF, it's best to follow kristalangel's advise.
I did hear of some babies who refuse FM aft being BF for too long.

Like what Tamms said, it's important to replenish bb's iron intake aft 6mths (since the store would be depleting). Other than iron-fortified cereals, I try giving iron rich protein (e.g. pork rich in heme-iron). Other meat products are Beef and Pig Liver, etc. For vegetable, u can try giving spiniach...

morning ladies
m on 2 daes mc. sianz. ydae receive call from my colleague tt she H1N1 positive. den i got flu like symptoms since mondae nite so go do swab as well. now waiting for results. =(

hope results negative. if not, i cant carry my bois. *sob*

btw, i juz found out tt if u have H1N1, cant bf baby wor. so mummies, beta wear mask to b safe wor.

rachel
i cant confirm tis sundae. now at home waiting for my swab result. sianz.

Morning mommies!!

Walau damn angry! This morning i had a fight with a PRC on the train. She was blocking the door when i wanted to alight so i politlely said "excuse me'. But then she never even moved so again i politely tapped her shoulder and say 'excuse me' again. But then she suddenly shouted at me saying that she oredy moved to the side blah blah blah....then i also scolded back la..then the argument heated up and before i knew it we were both shouting. She said u in such a hurry waiting to be reincarnated is iz? then i said u so Mei Jiao Yang, and i asked her to scram, go back to her CHINA! Damn angry until now! Stupid!

Marilyn,
Oh my..must take care ar since u have some flu like symptoms..Our meeting next Sunday is canceled liao... Now im trying to find another suitable time to meet again..

Thanks snowger,

I am letting her have iron fortified cereals mixed with FM since 6mth but have not started on pork yet (only chicken and fish). She does have spinach but not often. I think i will increase it.

Hmmm is fresh milk adequate from 1yr without having FM? Been getting alot of comments lately from my mom, MIL etc that my BM will not be nutritious enough for my baby, and FM have more nutrients like iron, probiotic, DHA etc. Very stress ah
I think cos the grandfolks dont get to see my gal now that we are overseas, they are all very kancheong about her growth. Keep saying she is not growing much etc.

iemik0,
Oh dear. Take care.. hope that its not H1N1!!

Ocean's mum,
Saw your photos. Very nice! Ocean looks very handsome Esp in his blue overalls and the strip polo shirt.

Rachel,
Dont get too upset la.. not worth it. *fan fan* There are always inconsiderate people around. Dun let them get you down.

i read from wholesomebabyfood.com or Annabel Karmel book (forgot which one) that spinach is best to introduce after 8months..tink now the cereals are all iron fortified that is sufficient for bb's nutrient.

little rabbit, i bought ikan bilis and dried scallop yesterday and use the ikan bilis stock to cook porridge together with scallop. Smells good!! Hopefuly Zach will like it cos i love it! I wash the ikan bilis till the water runs clear and then prepare the stock then double boil the porridge for 6hrs in slow cooker..

i m introducing nectarine to Zach todae..everyday must give him diff combo..haha

snowger, is nicole alrite?? if not better see a dr..anyway, i tink pork + fish + broccoli taste weird leh..haha. Zach hates broccoli + pumpkin so i hv to throw away 2 cubes of tat.

iemiko

pls keep us in the loop if you get H1N1 or not....cos we were all together on Sunday for the Little gym class...

how many days does it take for the symptoms to surface?

do take care in the meantime...

iemik0
oh dear! i hope your test will come out negative.

aurorin
BM is more nutritious than FM, because it is tailored for what your baby needs. It is not true that FM has more nutrients than BM. I think from 1 year, you can do fresh milk + BM. Also, there's no need to use a bottle if your girl won't take it. Can just give the milk in a cup.

thanx ladies. will kip u all inform of my result. hate d wait. haiz.

paiseh tt i expose those who went for lil gym class. =(

tara
depends on individual how long it surfaces. how strong ur immunity too.

if anyone has flu-like symptoms, go c a dr k. even for those not in contact wif mi. coz its everywhere now!

My mum help me to make ikan bilis powder. She wash the ikan bilis first, then will put in oven to bake dry, then will blend to powder form. So after the porriage is done, will add abit to the porriage, smell really good. Will add scallop occasionally as well. Recently introduce red sweet potato to her oso. She kinda like it. Will feed her some "ju hua and wolfberry" water to prevent constipation

Me getting confused oso, who is who in facebook, only know Jowin, Fabbie, Samantha, Jappooh(cos met her yesterday), Marilyn,Joceline tan(Bubblepearl), Maureen(snowger), Adeline, Kathleen, Gill, think tat's abt it.

morning mommies... such a nice morning to sleep in.. and I am late for work coz slept longer than I should :p

anyway I like to ask if any mommies here brought their little one to hua xia tai mao bi to cut hair and use the baby hair to make into mao bi (chinese writing brush) and also the qi dai (u-cord) into stamp? I did for alvon's. However, up till now, I only received my mao bi. Feeling very unhappy and sad now.

We went to cut alvon's baby hair on his 4th month on 20th apr. On spot, we paid full almost to $300 for everything, including a stamp for his qi dai and a mao bi for his hair. The stamp is to include a pic of alvon and I emailed to them the next day. I was told then that it should be ready in 3 weeks time and they will call us when it is ready for collection.

Till 20th may, I called them when we suddenly remember we had not received their calls. The shop assistant said will check and get back to me. Waited for a week again then I called and asked to be given a reply immediately instead of they getting back to me. The gal told me that with the stamp, will take slightly longer to make. Fine.. they said prob in another week time.

Once again... we waited and it is almost to the 2nd month after the purchase, I called them asking for an explanation again. This time it seems like they really do check and said ohh the brush is actually ready for collection jus that the stamp is not ready. I asked why it is not ready. They said "oh ur baby photo is very cute and the stamp they make the first time was not very good, so we ask factory to do it again." What does it got to do with my baby photo cute or not. They asked for more time again to redo the stamp. Angrily, I asked them to deliver the mao bi to me first to my house instead of us collecting them. And they said will call me again when the stamp is ready.

Again no call at all. Now I started thinking if it is alvon's qi dai lost or whatever reason and they don't dare to admit. Even thinking if the stamp is ready now, is it alvon's qi dai that they make in it. I don't have a picture of it before we passed over to them.

So sad and unhappy. Thinking if I should just forget about the stamp and ask for the refund.. but if alvon's qi dai really lost.. will be so angry with myself and them lo..

going to call them again today..

aurorin,

yes, you can try a sippy cup or a doidy .. whichever u prefer. Yes, they will not know how to drink from a bottle since they've been breastfeeding for that whole time ... right now, I have started introducing bottle to her .. I put her baby juice in it and at 10 months or so, I put formula in ... it actually doesn't take so long for them to get the hang of sucking from a bottle teat once they are bigger ...

echo,
thanks for the reassurance! I think everyone wants the best for baby but they are stressing me out. I thot being thousands of miles away can stop the nagging but i think its just as bad cos makes pple more kancheong when they cannot see her (avery is the only grandchild on both sides, and only great grandchild on hubby side somemore). Blast skype and international calls. In the meantime, i do take supplements like calcium, multivits since no more 'pu' soup from my mom...

I think if can drink fresh milk/FM in cup at 1yrs will be good since avery hates using the bottle. Now getting her to drink water using bottle is also tough but she will drink some from a sippy cup.

reddates,
Can ju hua/wolfberry water prevent constipation? How do you make it? I notice my gal straining abit when poopoo. The poo is still soft but once i notice a bit of blood mucous outside the end bit of her poo. Think she strain too much :p

Kath,
Spinach after 8 mths only? Hmm i already started! saw the recipe for fish and spinach porridge in the First Food book for 6-9mths so just make lor. Avery loves it though.

Speaking of porridge, today i made sweet potato, chicken, corn and broccoli porridge. Haha weird or not? But i just tasted it.. nice and sweet, think cos of the sweet potato and corn.

aurorin,
I think the older generation has the thinking that BM is not that good. My parents also said this to me "U sure u want to TBF? Ur milk nutricious meh? But like watery watery one!". After sometime, I dunno what happen. they said "Hmmm... Actually ur ger looks ok (even thou I personally think she's small) size. Not too fat oso good la" (no offence to any mums here).

Recently, my dad is nagging at me again cos I lost a lot of weight. So he's encouraging me to stop BF. But I think I will just press on until my ger is 12 mths bah...

As for fresh milk or formula milk, I personally would rather give formula milk. This is bcos formula is fortified with vits/minerals.
But fresh milk is still good if u wanna save $ (cos milk is a good source of calcium).

BM is nature's gift of nutrion to ur baby! Why would it be less nutrious than milk from an animal? Research has shown that it is low in certain vits & minerals (such as Vit C and Iron). But, these (which run low) can be easily made up by the solids u feed when ur bb is 6mths.

Also, baby's growth will slow down aft awhile. So there's no need to worry as long as they are happy and are passing all the physical and social development milestones.

Foods to introduce:
As for food to give ur bb, all of us can share what we give our babies. But in the end, it's up to the parent's comfort zone and ur baby's taste preferences. Do ask ur PD if you are not sure (esp if baby or parents has food allergy history). For me, I only gave my dotter meats n other types of vege with thumbs up from the PD.
As always, eat in moderation!

As for what zachmommy is referring to, spinach is high in nitrates n is an oxalate containing food. Read more in e following links:
- http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/nitratearticle.htm
-http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/oxalates_baby_food_spinach_rhubarb.htm

Echo,
U really PRO-breastfeeding leh... Haha... :p

Zachmommy,
My ger is ok with that combi becos I have made it more than once for her. It could be that I added more fish to the porridge n hence the taste kinda went "Off" her list of favourites...

sorry gals for the lengthy post...

Auorin,
Haha... 8 mths is still b/w 6-9mths mah... But dun worry lar, I gave my girl spiniach when she hit 6mths oso. So far so gd. But spiniach spoil too easily so she got only 2 days of spiniach dosage...

I started giving Brocoli. Going to try cauliflower. cos I dun wan to keep giving orangey type of veg (e.g. pumpkin, carrots, sweet potato, etc) everyday. Overdose wor...

ur porridge sounds yummy!!! Haha... No matter how wierd the combi, all that matters is that our babies take it! I tried one wierd combi -Chicken+ potato+ carrot puree... My hb says nice but my ger's take on it is "SO SO NIAH."