(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="119911">Jelly,
think the person u shd ask abt the 'taoshu dvds' is our vy onz mommy buffy

Cheerbear,
is Shawn's bday cake by PG? How much to do the #2?</font>

always wanted to get those nice beautiful cakes for LY but we are not having a party so can't finish that BIG cake... make me drool by looking at those pretty cakes...

Cheer Bear,
Will be just close family members aka my side of the family celebrating on Thurs night with a cake and some food which I've yet to plan at my mum's place since Dylan will be there. On his actual birthday on Fri, we'll just bring him out for a day of fun. That's it. Super Simple 2nd Birthday! Haha!

<font color="119911">purple,
We went ahead to order a 2 tier PG cake for Nat's 1st bday even though we din really have a party, juz close immediate family.

We have left overs too but we ate them gladly the next day for tea...yum yum!

Will gladly do the same if we have to...kekeke</font>

<font color="0077aa">jelly: I happen to be online and saw the "very onz message" and suddenly feel stressed liao. LOL

Jelly: not sure if am best to answer to your question as we only have 1 disc. The series uses cartoons and talk about cultural stuff - chopsticks, festivals, names, etc. C did not enjoy it when I first played for her. Walked away in less than 10 mins. She only was a bit more engaged after being in her playgroup; maybe 'cos she could understand more than. Not too sure...

Why dun u consider getting disney cartoons but has dual language and plays the chinese version for her instead? 'cos that would be something I'd do when I relax my TV rule for C when she is a tad older...

BD parties, most of the tots here celebrated??? I will be doing a belated one 'cos we just came back from the trip and I do not want to kill myself over the invites and activities and door gifts... Post pics to share on FB! =)</font>

JJmom,

sorry, still cannot find time to go and collect the book from u... :p

haiz... my hb's family dun really appreciate cakes... and i'm still sore about the birthday celebration for LY last yr...

oo... something to share:
my hse will be ready in dec... woohoo!!! but my MIL said something like 'y in a rush to move, u all are staying fine in the hse wor' to my hb ytd... haiz...

<font color="119911">buffy,
no stress lah, u r already doing so well with Cate liao.

so how old do u think is the ok age for our toddlers to watch tv?

i m also vy stress over Nat's addiction to the leapfrog &amp; richard scarry's dvd (-____-)''</font>

jjmom,
the cake is from four leave but bcoz i change colour got additional chg.. amt ard 70.

purple,
i still hv 1/3 of the cake in my fridge :p

elch,
seriously i think they enjoy simple celebration although is simple.. think back now, i sort of regret invite too many pple to his 1st and end up he is so scare.

on brushing, kate brushes as and when she feels like it/ i remember... hope her teeth are ok.

the weird thing is, she usually 'eats' her toothbrush/toothpaste like a lollipop. i think she thinks it's like a sweet. and then asks for more tooth paste. i only put on a very thin layer, so sometimes i give her two rounds.

actually i feel that finger brushes clean a lot more thoroughly. cos when kate brushes she just swipes it around briefly if at all - usually it's just the lollipop sucking. diaoz.

actually i saw LY &amp; u at PP last 2 weekends ago but since i din have the book with me, i din call u =P

what happened to LY's 1st bday celebration?

abt your mil's comment on moving out, juz 1 ear in, the other ear out =P</font>

<font color="0077aa">JJMom: thanks dear... Just blessed that she has an inquisitive nature.
As to how old, it depends on individual kids? For me, I am a bit anal about the TV rule because (1) I did not grow up watching much TV and still do not watch more than 5 hours a week I think so it is not a habit for me? So, naturally, I tend to do things with C instead &amp; (2) I wanted her to have a love for reading

Personal choice but I feel that it is difficult for books to "compete" with the animation from TV and games. She does watch it, just not more than perhaps 2 to 3 hours a week? And they are selected DVDs - signing, Sesame Street, which are more "educational" as opposed to random TV shows / cartoons.

For me I think I will relax only a bit more when she turns 4. Hmmm... not sure if can tahan by then 'cos need a lot of discipline and ideas to keep them busy! LOL</font>

<font color="119911">Buffy,
I totally agree on not letting kids watching too much tv on the same reason - worries abt their love for books will get over throw by tv.
I only let Nat watch edu DVDs abt 4 in total &amp; only on weekends &amp; she is already hooked on too much for my liking
M wondering m I being too strict with the tv rule with Nat.

hi mummies! i'm back! how is everybody?

btw, anybody knows where to buy bel'air aromatherapy stuffs? my dad is looking for one. can sms/pm me? thanks thanks!

JJmom,
u saw me at PP... should hv said hi to us...

Nat dun watch tv at nanny's place?

I let LY watch tv prog but of cos those singing and educational disc... and she learns a lot of songs thru them... just like the word chimpanzee... she learnt it from 'your baby can read' and learning chinese songs thru the disc too... but of cos not for long hrs la...
so... to me i find that it's ok wor... i think that's part of the cons of letting mum to look after them... :p

abt last yr's celebration, m upset cos no proper pictures were taken... (if u can see from my fb) wanted to do up a nice album for LY also cannot..., table were so messy and MIL just ask us to put the cake there to cut... haiz...

dimple,
if i were to tell my MIL that, she will say 'how much can u save...'

i think Nat do catch a little tv at nanny's when she on it but normal tv prog she not really keen. Only cartoon, those with kids, singing will catch her interest.

will LY keep asking for her dvds? Nat will when she is at my inlaws, keep crying for them every now &amp; then (-___-)''

i understand what u mean. My inlaws also not shame abt inviting friends/relatives to their messy hse for celebration. They insisted on doing Nat's full mth party at their messy hse &amp; asked us to invite our friends too but we said no thanks...kekeke</font>

JJmom,
table was messy becos we just had our dinner and didn't even clear up all the plates. Just clear 1 small area for the cake... i'm upset w myself cos her cousin had a birthday party few wks b4 her and hers was like so messy... haiz...

LY will ask the maid to play the songs for her when she is at home... exp Hi-5! when she is w me, she will ask for those nursery rhymes songs... if not, disney channel... she just wan the sound... she dun sit down and watch de... once i switch channel, she screams...

purple,
dun upset liao... Do a better one for her this year. Coming soon right?

Joanne,
i did see a shop at marina square and at suntec. But not sure if it's lampe berger or bel'air.

mint,
this yr no BIG celebration, just bringing her out for a day of fun (i hope) w hb and buy a small cake for her... any suggestion on where to go???

elch,
where will u be bringing dylan?

purple,
Hubby and I took leave and plan to bring Dylan out for some fun at 1 of the indoor playground (most probably Bouncing Kids at Kovan), head home for a nap then proceed to Universal Studios in the evening ($5 per pax after 7pm) to gain some exposure.

elch,
u hv the address/contact of the bouncing kids at kovan? plan to bring shawn there too

USS - go early to get the tickets.. Q start 6.30pm when i reach 6.40 already super long Q and tickets sold out fast.. oh ya bring ur own drinks.. the drinks there super duper ex

purple,
Yup. I got to know this from XY and also googled about it. Fri and Sun only and no rides. Just to shop and dine and see fireworks. Think good enough for the kids since there's bound to be loads of things to see along the streets.

<font color="119911">elch,
tat sounds like a nice plan

cheerbear,
huh? have to wait 30min to Q for tickets...argh!</font>

elch,
USS is fri and sat not sun.

jjmom,
nope Q start at 6.30 and u buy ticket liao can only go in at 7 when the gate is open but Q is super long so KS pple will Q earlier lor but tickets sold out fast.

Cheer Bear,
Yes yes Fri and Sat...I made a typo mistake...hehe...

JJmom,
That's our tentative plan which is subject to change due to weather, mood and energy level! Haha!

<font color="aa00aa">elch
Bouncing kids at kovan is quite fun. My kids went there once during their school excursion last month anf they enjoyed it. Was told by the teacher wenmin slided from 3rd to 1st storey w/o any assistance but her brother insisted to sit on his teacher's lap to slide down. My boy kept telling me he wants to go again.</font>

cheerbear, purple,
Think depends on when you go. I went on a Fri 2 weeks back and there was no queue at all. Bliss! Bought tickets, stroll around then went in. Think I had more fun than Regina. Haha! The fireworks start at 9.30pm. It was way past Regina's bedtime so she was very cranky and plus by the time we got home, wah she really gave us hell.

purple,
Bring her to the zoo for a day of fun...

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">Pls indicate preferred time for the party and what potluck items you will bring

Eat, Swim and Slide!</font></font>

DATE : 5th Nov 2010(P.H on Fri)
VENUE : Parc Emily, 13 Mount Emily Road, 228494 - Function Room
FOOD: Potluck (Pls indicate what you will bring.)
TIME : 11am to 4pm

1. XY + Marcus (Mini Milo for toddlers and Old Chang Kee)
2. Dimpletot + Kate (serangoon garden famous old style ham and cheese, tuna etc buns. am ok with Jill's suggested 11-4pm timeslot)
3. Cheerbear + Shawn (Fishball) - PM
4. Everafter + Bryan (Qiji Pohpiah) <font color="ff0000">time is now 11-4pm, can u make it?</font>
5. Icylemon + Rachel + Regine + Hubby
6. Jellypurin + Rebby + Hubby + Sydney (AM/PM)(Bottomless Apple Crumble with Vanilla Ice-cream or Home-made Pizza)
7. Eelyn + Kaitlyn + Kayla + Hubby
8. Freda + Gareth + Hubby (Chicken Pies)
9. YPG + Kai Tong + Hubby (Cake)
10. Saxo + Jo <font color="ff0000">time is now 11-4pm on 5th Nov, can u make it?</font>
11. Mint + Regina (Need to think)
12. Jolly + Family (Glutinous Rice)
13. Buffy + Cate (Potato Croquette) - coming early @11am. =D
14. Jill + Family
15. BigFlamingo + Julian
16. Elch + Dylan (Handmade Mantous for Kids)

XY : Toy rental : Space is kinda limited. We can shift the tables and chairs to have a little play corner. I have contacted mytoybank above. She has slides only. So.. We rent slides ok?

mint,
actually plan to go zoo on that day... but hb got to go reservist in the morning... so maybe we will go on sat instead... but now at least i had plans for the nite... keke

mousebb,
Great! Will definitely bring Dylan down on his birthday then!

mint,XY
What's good for dinner at USS?

purple,
Maybe we'll bump into each other at USS next Fri!

hi Mommies!!! back at work!!! Miss France, sianz...

I wanna join pls..
<font size="+2"><font color="0077aa">Pls indicate preferred time for the party and what potluck items you will bring

Eat, Swim and Slide!</font></font>

DATE : 5th Nov 2010(P.H on Fri)
VENUE : Parc Emily, 13 Mount Emily Road, 228494 - Function Room
FOOD: Potluck (Pls indicate what you will bring.)
TIME : 11am to 4pm

1. XY + Marcus (Mini Milo for toddlers and Old Chang Kee)
2. Dimpletot + Kate (serangoon garden famous old style ham and cheese, tuna etc buns. am ok with Jill's suggested 11-4pm timeslot)
3. Cheerbear + Shawn (Fishball) - PM
4. Everafter + Bryan (Qiji Pohpiah) time is now 11-4pm, can u make it?
5. Icylemon + Rachel + Regine + Hubby
6. Jellypurin + Rebby + Hubby + Sydney (AM/PM)(Bottomless Apple Crumble with Vanilla Ice-cream or Home-made Pizza)
7. Eelyn + Kaitlyn + Kayla + Hubby
8. Freda + Gareth + Hubby (Chicken Pies)
9. YPG + Kai Tong + Hubby (Cake)
10. Saxo + Jo time is now 11-4pm on 5th Nov, can u make it?
11. Mint + Regina (Need to think)
12. Jolly + Family (Glutinous Rice)
13. Buffy + Cate (Potato Croquette) - coming early @11am. =D
14. Jill + Family
15. BigFlamingo + Julian
16. Elch + Dylan (Handmade Mantous for Kids)
17. Daisybuttons + Jaz (think think think....)

XY : Toy rental : Space is kinda limited. We can shift the tables and chairs to have a little play corner. I have contacted mytoybank above. She has slides only. So.. We rent slides ok?

elch,
maybe we can let the 2 of them celebrate together... keke

saxo,
a... only the sing-a-long karaoke... so now she can sing quite a few chinese songs... now thinking whether should i buy taoshu to try or not...

USS
The pizza place inside USS pricing is reasonable. The pizza huge and delicious. Super big. 1 whole pizza can feed 5-6 adults. Haha... Thisnk it's $40+ for the whole pizza. Value for $.

<font color="aa00aa">elch
I have been to there once but din go into the playground itself. The boss of bouncing kids is the branch director of cherie hearts which my kids are in. </font>