(2008/10) Oct 2008

Phtanus,
Don't worry Isaac is not alone! I actually got v scared when the cc teacher told me if he can't talk by N1 he might hv autism!! but i felt that he's jus plainly stubborn. There's once i flashed the flashcard repeatedly to him until he's fed-up and shout "ball" and walk off. I dont take that as proper talking, but i guess he's just not ready yet. Cheer up! i think u jus try talk n talk to Isaac whether he respond back or not

<font color="aa00aa">Phtanus
Dont worry. You are doing fine!!! I also handled 2 kids w/o a helper and their age gap is only 13mths which means I cannot neglect anyone of them at any point of time. I only start to feel a bit relax when both of them start to attend playgroup. Finally can have some ME time.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Everafter
Tell the teacher N1 is still a long way to go! Who knows by end of this yr or even earlier, bryan will start to talk non-stop liao. It's just the right timing.
Wenxuan only spoke a few words when he starts playgroup at 25mths but 1 yr later, he is talking non-stop until sometimes I wish he can shut up his mouth and give me some peace. Now he can sing many songs and also learning to sing the cantonese song when I watch the CH855.</font>

Mousebb,
N1 is 3mths away mah..and the teacher was shocked to know bryan only hv 10teeth! hahaha...Bryan only learned to walk shortly aft he turned 1 (he was lazy to try then although he can manage a few step), so im hoping shortly after he turned 2, he can start to talk!!

<font color="aa00aa">vanilla
Yalor! That's why many pple like to compare wenxuan and wenmin and keep saying the gal is so much faster than gorgor in most things. I hear until I sian too.</font>

Does CC help with toilet training??
I also have not started toilet training Marcus yet.

Phantus, Everafter,
Marcus also not talking much. But i know he understands what we are saying. And he's very sociable. So i guess, no issues on being autistic. Haha...

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
No leh. Wenmin is going up for playgroup 2 next year and wenxuan will start his N1 in Jan next year.</font>

<font color="119911">everafter,
i think the cc teacher is in no position to scare u like tat.

dont let these 'well intentions' ppl get to us, i know most of them meant well but it's really not helping to scare us &amp; make us more gan chiong =P</font>

<font color="aa00aa">XY
CC will help to toilet train the kids. Wenmin is going thru toilet training now and everyday i have to pack at least 5-6 extra shorts for her.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">everafter
Agreed with JJmom. Dont let the teachers scare you. Dont worry. Btw, it is already considered fast for bryan to start walking shortly after he turned 1 yr old. I heard some only start at 15-17 mths. </font>

XY,
Bryan also can understand what we're saying (most of the time) so i dont think he fall into that category too.

JJMom,
I tink the teacher is just raising the concern to me since she does hv a austism kid there in K1

everafter,
great news to hear bryan likes cc.. sighz only if shawn is the same.

ur sentence make me laugh "flashed the flashcard repeatedly to him until he's fed-up and shout "ball" and walk off" so i think he knows jus not ready to speak. i agree with mummies here that our tod learn super fast.. that day hb was driving and turn wrong side (intend to turn right but turn left) and he said "oh shit" and shawn follow him to say "shit" and i was speechless.

mummies can share how ur actually do toilet train? always ask them wan to pee? for boys, they hv to stand at potty and pee? dun think they know how to aim yet.. then will kanna the floor right?

Cheerbear, I suggest u start by bring the him to the toilet or potty every now &amp; then &amp; tell him to pee or poo. Praise him big time when he does

<font color="aa00aa">cheer bear
Wenxuan used to sit on the potty to pee until a later stage when he is ready to stand to pee. Was told by the cc teacher the muscle at the penis is still not develop at a young age. He only start to stand to pee from 2nd quarter of this year nia. That's the reason I'm getting the pee trainer for him which is easier for him to stand to pee. </font>

jellypurin,
i second vanilla's suggestion on physiogel helping with ezcema. If you suspect food items, regress back to the way we feed them when they started on solids - 1 food item at a time for 3 days in a row. But the non suspects or non allergenic ones can continue to give. The high suspects for food at this age would be seafood esp shellfish items.

phantus,
don't worry about isaac not speaking now. 8 months age gap is too big to compare so don't feel bad. I'm also quite surprised that they have a diagnosed a K1 kid as isn't it too early to determine autism? Well, maybe hers more serious case i guess. Anyway, speech is not the only factor to determine autism.

Hi Phtanus / everafter

Hugs. Dun worry so much. Boys speak later as compared to girls and before you know it, word explosion!

Autism is a spectrum disorder and can be anything speech related or motor skills etc. Symptoms can be seen from 18ths onwards and manifest themselves by 3 yo. I know this becos my nephew was diagnosed autistic by 2.5yo. He spoke well but had no eye contact and that was how we sent him for some tests etc and found that out. My close fren's son was also diagnosed at 3yo - speech related. The earlier the intervention the better. I think the CC was just being presumptuous to say that your kid is autistic just becos he is not speaking as yet. There are many factors / symptoms to this disorder. Go google ASD.

8mths gap is way too big so dun feel pressurized

And Phtanus - if you go by speech therapist standards, most of our kids here would have failed for speaking later than their guidelines! So dun sweat ya?

Cheerbear,
hahaa..the CC teacher also laughed when i told her that. :p for toilet training, Bryan is partially trained. That is he only tells when he's in good mood! haha....for a start i think my mum let him pee into the potty. then slowly let him stand on a stool to pee at toilet bowl.

Thanks Ruffles for sharing

<font size="+2"><font color="aa00aa">Host Jill suggests 11-4pm. Bring Swimgear and let kiddos play in kiddy pool.
Mummies who indicated PM, please cfm if coming.</font>

Eat, Swim and Slide!</font>

DATE : 5th Nov 2010(P.H on Fri)
VENUE : Parc Emily Function Room
FOOD: Potluck (Pls indicate what you will bring.)
TIME : 11am to 4pm

1. XY + Marcus (Mini Milo for toddlers and Old Chang Kee)
2. Dimpletot + Kate (serangoon garden famous old style ham and cheese, tuna etc buns. am ok with Jill's suggested 11-4pm timeslot)
3. Cheerbear + Shawn (Fishball) - PM
4. Everafter + Bryan (Qiji Pohpiah) - 4pm onwards
5. Icylemon + Rachel + Regine + Hubby
6. Jellypurin + Rebby + Hubby + Sydney (AM/PM)(Bottomless Apple Crumble with Vanilla Ice-cream or Home-made Pizza)
7. Eelyn + Kaitlyn + Kayla + Hubby
8. Freda + Gareth + Hubby (Chicken Pies)
9. YPG + Kai Tong + Hubby (Cake)
10. Saxo + Jo (5th Nov u can??)
11. Mint + Regina (Need to think)
12. Jolly + Family
13. Buffy + Cate (Potato Croquette) - Prefer brunch or late afternoon
14. Jill + Family
15. BigFlamingo + Julian
16. Elch + Dylan (Potato Salad - 1st attempt in making for more than 3pax, please pardon me if it turns out all wrong.) - PM

XY on Toy rental: Space is kinda limited. We can shift the tables and chairs to have a little play corner. I have contacted mytoybank above. She has slides only. So.. We rent slides ok?

Host Jill suggests 11-4pm. Bring Swimgear and let kiddos play in kiddy pool.
Mummies who indicated PM, please cfm if coming.

Eat, Swim and Slide!

VENUE : Parc Emily, 13 Mount Emily Road, 228494 - Function Room

2. Dimpletot + Kate (serangoon garden famous old style ham and cheese, tuna etc buns. am ok with Jill's suggested 11-4pm timeslot)
6. Jellypurin + Rebby + Hubby + Sydney (AM/PM)(Bottomless Apple Crumble with Vanilla Ice-cream or Home-made Pizza)
12. Jolly + Family
14. Jill + Family
15. BigFlamingo + Julian
16. Elch + Dylan (Handmade Mantous for Kids)

XY on Toy rental: Space is kinda limited. We can shift the tables and chairs to have a little play corner. I have contacted mytoybank above. She has slides only. So.. We rent slides ok?

XY,
Yes yes. Change to mantous because I got no confidence in preparing potato salad for such huge number of people. I'm fine with the timing.

Host Jill suggests 11-4pm. Bring Swimgear and let kiddos play in kiddy pool.

Eat, Swim and Slide!

12. Jolly + Family (Glutinous Rice)
14. Jill + Family
15. BigFlamingo + Julian

jelly,
i also agree that physiogel is effective.J is really sensitive skin too and somehow CB din work for him. PD rec Centaphil to bath him followed by intensive Centaphil moisturiser + physiogel

Jus rec 2 sad news..1 fren gg thru divorce cos tried for 5 years no kids, mundane life

another fren finally got preg..but now doc says there is 1in72 chance that bb has DS..=(

gathering - i am ok with the timing but dun think will let shawn swim coz if he swim then i will hv to be in the pool too which i dun wan :p

NEL mummies maybe we can meet up and go together if ur wan to.

<font color="0077aa">morning all.

Everafter: Like what Ruffles mentioned, Autism is a spectrum disorder. One of cate's schoolmates is diagnosed with Aspergers and she speaks very very well. Just that she has social problems - cannot mix very well with some children, cling onto one main caregiver, extremely sensitive to noise / texture (the mum has to use a brush to brush her skin once in a couple of hours), etc. So speech is just one of the many symptoms so I think the teacher may be jumping the gun here.

When is your next PD check? Speak to the PD and then see what the doc recommends? Dun worry too much; my nephew did not speak more than 15 words until he started playgroup at 26 months and half a year later, he is speaking in sentences. Personality plays a big part - my nephew is generally a softspoken introvert.

<font color="0077aa">Host Jill suggests 11-4pm. Bring Swimgear and let kiddos play in kiddy pool.

Eat, Swim and Slide!

12. Jolly + Family (Glutinous Rice)
13. Buffy + Cate (Potato Croquette) - coming early @11am. =D
14. Jill + Family
15. BigFlamingo + Julian

XY on Toy rental: Space is kinda limited. We can shift the tables and chairs to have a little play corner. I have contacted mytoybank above. She has slides only. So.. We rent slides ok?</font>

reminds me of a mantou joke heh.

mantou went with char shao bao and bar chang to watch a sad movie.
why did the mantou not cry?

cos mantou got no filling.

muahahahhahahaha!

Buffy,
Thanks! err...no next PD visit leh..I think he can mix ard better with older kids..The strange thing i realised he seldom play with the kids ard his age (during the few gatherings), but he will play with older kids!

<font color="0077aa">everafter: maybe he finds the older kids more engaging? C prefers older kids too. Exception is Marcus. LOL...

XY: C asked me where is Marcus ah, when we were in AU! LOL</font>

Dimple: wahh :D

everafter: I feel it's ok cos he is still socializing
my nephew refused to play w ash cos he prefers e companion of older kids..only recently when my nephew is about 3 years plus then he is ok to play w his frens n younger kids

talking about playing with older kids, rebekah as well. she will call gor gor or che che rather than di di or mei mei and would enjoy playing with her older cousins more than children the same age as her...

<font color="0077aa">dimpletot: Part 2 of the story...

Man Tou and Dou Sa Bao then went to watch a sad movie... Man Tou did not cry of course but Dou Sa Bao ended up laughing throughout the movie... Why is that?

'Cos Dou Sa Bao has the wrong filling! </font>

Anyone wants to take over my iHerb order from XY? 2 tubes of Jasons toddlers toothpaste. Jo is prescribed another toothpaste from dentist so she won't have need for those two. I only knew about it yesterday. On top of that, I can give away a brand new tube of Orajel as well as Jasons Kids toothpaste in Strawberry. Thanks!

Elch,
U gonna bake the mantou yourself from sratch ah?
Wah... invite me... i want Marcus to be "snowman".

Buffy,
Aw... see, C loves Marcus.

Playing with older kids
Marcus also. Think coz older kids more fun as they are more expressive. Marcus was playing catching with the older boys at Regina's party. Faint.

hi jolly - so sad re ur frens.. i have frens who spend so much time and $ trying to have a bb...the good thing is their relationship w their hb are stronger cos of the pain...

re ur fren on DS.. is she doing amnio? E has a 1 in 3 chances of DS... and i was literally pressurise on timing whether to do amnio and abortion...i think the legal age is 24 weeks and the amnio test results take time (3 weeks for full 48 chromosome).. tell ur fren to be strong.. she has to be strong for her bb.. i rem i cried so much.. one gynae told me - motherhood will be worse u need to b stronger.. on hindsight he is correct..

just went for interview w CH and E is officially starting school next yr!

Good morning ladies! Thanks so much too! Yes, i also find that is matter of TIME, but Isaac simply a stubborn bull! *A big sigh*

Delayed Speech:
Autism never come across my mind, as Isaac has no problem understand us and can communicate with us in his own ways. He is quite "sociable" and not afraid of strangers as well. He may be shy at first and always warm out himself pretty fast. E.g. he is the only kid happily roaming around the hall during Sat's dinner, and make a lot of sound effects and claps when watching montage. To others, may find him very naughty, cant sit still but am 100% fine with his expressive actions. For sure, he is super duper stubborn when come to talk, so guess I have to be extra patient with him, will keep encouraging him to talk. Sharing with u what happened last night. I "asked" him to say the word "mum mum" or "please" when he requested the biscuit sticks from me, and I told him I would not give until he say so. Guess what he did after few mins of struggling with me? He came forward and kissed me on my lips! *Fainted* Obviously, he was the winner lo.

Toilet-trained,
Again, super duper stubborn, both nanny and myself tried so hard to coax him to sit on potty, but FAILED! He will react like we skin him alive! *faint again* Mommies, care to share with me how to toilet-train our tod successfully?

Fussy Eater:
Sigh...another big concern for me. He basically reject all the table foods and will spit them out the moment u feed him. Really headache. I am so envious of all of u here, can try diff variety of foods on ur kid, and they just happily makan away, unlike my boy. Now my hb blame me for controlling his diet too strictly last time, said i should have introduce adult foods to him much earlier. Hm...This explain why Isaac only ~10.5kg at age of 2.

XY,
Please help to order 2 tube of toothpaste for me. Thanks a lot!

I feel like joining the gathering, bring Isaac to meet his peers, BUT i cant confirm now, as HB always has last mins assignment de, Hm...is it ok if I gate crash, of course I wont come with empty hands la. Hee...

hi phtanus - dun worry abt his weight..E is just less than 10kg.. as long as he is happy healthy let him take his time to discover food and its variety.

E is rather fussy too... but he is v into my food now... if Issac is then u can give him ur food. or does he has a fav food? my fren complained that her son takes forever to eat porridge.. but eat nonsense things v fast.. so i told her let him eat boiled pasta in replacement of the porridge as carbo and feed his protein as usual. Her son took to the meal faster.

E is into i will give him poison phase.. so i have to show him i makan already ok then he will try... if he does not want i dont force, try again later..

Autism - i think eye contact is one major tell tale sign.

speech - E loves my sister to teach him to say stuff.. my mum can spend 1 whole day to teach him say 1 word he will not say.. my sister just say once / twice, he will repeat it back.. haha ...currently all male is still papa to him.

<font color="0077aa">dimpletot: i dunno leh, my bro told me that. LOL... I am not so creative. hahahahahahahahahahaha... </font>