(2008/10) Oct 2008

XY and nicky

think the steamy buns are by huggies, but a 'new' version. doesn't look the same as dry comfort leh...

k's bum quite hardy. from 6 months plus (?) use NTUC until now also no problem! no redness. even at night never burst, just super heavy.

hi dimpletot - u will not pass it back to her. if she caught from u and recover she will not get the same bug from u again.

lesson learnt from my company doc.. cos i was sick, pass to E, i am on recovery and sick again. .. i thot E pass to me.. doc say no.. cos i shld be immuned w E's bug (which is my bug).. so it cld be another strain...

nickypower,

dimpletot,
Thanks for the detailed explanation!
I believe that fever means the body the fighting the infection so with or without medication it'll still have to run its course. With this mindset, I refused to medicate Dylan for fever last Wed and not on timely basis when I did. Who knows he'll develop broncholitis...haiz...

Seizures:
What causes seizure/fits?

XY,
I'm using Huggies Dry Comfort too and works pretty well for day use.

dimpletot,
Now that Dylan's on antibiotics, I guess I'll need to get some from my GP too since I got the virus from Dylan.

vanilla,
Is Ventolin the oral neb?

vanilla

dunno leh. my PD told me, you better go and get medication. cos k was sick once, went to see him, got better, then whilst i was still sick she got sick again. i asked how come she's sick for so long? he said she might have recovered but then caught a secondary infection! from me!

so i dunno - bug can mutate within me to a different strain?

elch

PD said febrile fits (i.e. linked to fever, as opposed to epilepsy etc) are caused when there's a rapid rise in temp. not from magnitude of temp, but in speed of increase. certain viral infections, like rosaella virus, are usually accompanied by fits.

elch, the fact that Dylan got bronchitis is nothing to do with you not giving paracetamol early enough, dun blame urself. panadol only makes fever go down, and sometimes it counter what the high fever is supposed to do, which is, fight the infection. so its really a tough decision for parents sometimes, not easy to decide isnt it? dun feel bad...

hi elch - to be honest i never want kids to fight off fever without pandol... cos we never know what will happ.. adults i think ok.. we can fight off low grade fever w rest and water...but children..diff story

seizures - fits ... caused by high fever.. my pd say above 39 high risk so must put in backside med to bring fever down... fits is no good cos will damage brain...

since that day he told me i always keep 1 pack of suppository... cos the other time E's high fever cannot rely on pandol to lower it..

icylemon
aiyah, I find that we humans always find a reason for something that goes wrong. Put it in a good way, it's reason. Put it in a mean way, we call it blame. We all do it all the time. So just ignore it, if the blame gets to you. Human nature to find a reason behind everything.

steamy buns
Like XY, I love it lei. Jo can wear it the whole night through. Don't forget we're talking about she who still wakes up in the middle of the night for milk. Then again, I've only tried it once.

mint
The punked tees are here. Maybe one day meet up with you and lenny for lunch?

About febrile fits
I heard the same thing as dimpletot. That the fits are brought upon by the sudden increase or decrease in temp. That's why it's not advisable to sponge the feverish child with ice-cold water.

hi dimpletot -if sec infection is nothing with catching from u again... means it is infection of the first bug.. like E's case... he has sec infection hence he needs to b nebbed. Doc say he has sensitive airway

hi Elch - ventolin is liquid and put into neb.. now he is on another med which pd say works like neb but milder...cannot neb for too long.. if u are coughing and ur phelgm is yellow/green then u need antibotics...easiest to see is morning when u cough it out...

saxo

yah, the nurse told me can only sponge with room temperature water. not cold water.

to think last time my parents dunked me into a bathtub with ice cubes!

vanilla

oic. maybe i was having guilt trip so just assumed it was my fault she got ill again.

but regardless, these days i really try to get well asap so that I have more energy to care for her.

Seizure/Fits:
Thanks mummies for explaining. I better go google up on what are the do's and don'ts during an attack.

daisybuttons,
Thank you. What you typed reflects what's in my mind about countering high fever.

Saxo, i think the reason why its not advisable to sponge the feverish child with ice cold water is because the child may shiver from the cold, and shivering brings up the body's temperature.

daisybuttons, vanilla,
Now I know why the PD asked hubby to stop the oral Ventolin when he's being nebbed these few days.

vanilla,
My phelgm is super thick and yellowish! Shall go and get antibiotics tonight. Can't afford to get sicker than I already am when I need all the energy to look after Dylan. He's becoming such a sticky malt candy, wanting to be carried all the time and making weird requests these days. Last night he requested to sleep on the floor of the study room which he never did before and he really fell asleep!

Dimple / bigflamingo : congrats again! I realise I am more willing to spend on ash stuff cos there's more mileage now.. Wahh, nt sure if u think e same too

pinkimom: congrats !! Hope u r feeling better. U coming back soon?

Steamybuns: think it's a newer range from
Huggies

R&R mom and vanilla: v wei da mummy !! Big hug

elch : hope Dylan is betta. Usually will only let e boys fight e virus if cough/flu... Fever is a lil tricky. True that fever has to run it's course.. Sponge him, water and med.. U take care too..

hi elch - u better take antibotics.. my doc gave me mild type - augmentine...

ya when E is sick he is such a koala bear.. already he is so sticky to me.. when sick even more.. must be like a sick puppy sleep under my arms..use my arms as pillow..head nudged on my back..

cos he was sick i found it easier to sleep w him on the big bed. now i cannot make him sleep back in his cot...

u need rest to fully recover... i was like that.. cannot rest cos need take care of E..so i cant get well... just told bluey my cough came back again... green phelgm.. just went to doc to pick my usual takeaway...haha i am the doc i told her to write what to give me...

try to sleep daytime when Dylan is at ur mum's .. those naps really helped.

E screamed at neb initially then he was used to smoke/steam.. i asked him if he wants to be smoked and he will nod his head..haha...

thanks Jolly !

Mommies
Am getting scared and paranoid. I just came bk from my pap smear at gynae's. When I spoke To my mom, she said she suspected my maid could had said a spell over my bb boy that he was slpg v soundly for hours. Hvg said that, my son has a habit of slpg more during the day, but it seemed when I am away n my helper cares for my son, he is always slpg soundly n when I am home, he does not. My mom cited that she was cleaning the house today w vacuum cleaner on n speaking loudly... My son din even wake up at all. I dunno wat to do... Sigh... Getting scared...

hi jelly - dun scare urself... re vacuum cleaner - it is white noise and to bbs they like it...

why dun u see what ur maid does in putting ur boy to sleep...maybe she has a tactic?

my boy sleeps better at my mil's house compared to my mum's or my house.. not sure why too...

i suspect bb S more manja when u r at home.. boys are like that..want mummy to carry and sayang

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly,
i think new born tends to sleep longer. last time Regine slept in the day for more than 5 hours. even though i vacuumed the floor wor.

jelly....calm down. is ur maid indo? that said, there could be certain reasons why your boy is sleeping soundly when u not around. babies can sense mommy's scent and the scent of their breasts even if they are not regularly breastfed. babies can sense mommy's voice too. it could be that he knows u are nearby thats why wanna wake up?

As for vaccumm cleaner, actually that constituted white noise, and white noise can be soothing to newborn babies because it reminds them of the symphony of sounds they hear inside our tummy. like TV, washing machine etc...

if u wanna be sure if there's a marked diff, mark down the hours he's sleeping with and without the maid around, and compare?

<font color="119911">like dimpletot, ever since Nat, I become super on with whatever med it takes to get me well whenever i fall sick.

even juz a little running nose or headache, i start taking my med straight away. &amp; my fav line to my docs is :'i have a bb at home, i need stronger med to nip it in the bud!'</font>

<font color="aa00aa">if i m not wrong. the sound of vaccum cleaner is similar to the sound in the womb. so when baby is sleeping, they will think is the sound that they heard in the womb &amp; they will tot they are still inside the womb. i think i heard abt it from the documentary "IN THE WOMB".</font>

Vanilla/daisy/icylemon
Yes, thanks for reminding me all these things... Sigh... I must b v tired myself... Beginning to think things...

Ya, my mom dun really like my helper cos she talks back at her...

Jelly: or could it jus b that bb S can sleep admist all e noise?Cos for J, he sleeps thru my loud voice, vacuum and even in a karaoke room..
Am nt sure. but e only way to tell if "under spell" is thru a medium?
It may nt be..he is still drinking well and all that ya..
Maybe he is jus a deep sleeper like mine.. Jus my tots

jelly - i think it is domestic politics... ur mum cld be trying to get rid of ur maid...

like what jolly say.. if he sleeps and drinks well.. shld b ok...if u are still worried can ask ur pastor to bless bb S. and tell ur maid sternly and directly that our God is v powerful and He protects bb S. ..this will also assure ur mum re the spell

<font color="119911">jelly,
or u test your maid by pretending to ask her abt her method to let bb S sleep so soundly &amp; see what she says?</font>

jjmom
Yes, mayb i will...

Jolly/vanilla
bb s will slp thru if i carry him but she dunnid and he can slp v soundly...

Ok, i try not to be too paranoid...

icylemon, vanilla,
i really salute you for your courage and strength to cope with difficulties with your kids. When i was preggers with Regina, i was very paranoid and kept thinking what if my child has this or is this, etc. Then i came across an article about God knowing our strengths and whether we can cope with his special children. You both are the chosen ones to care for his special children and for that you're truly blessed mums.

Saxo,
i'm having lunch with Lenny on Friday. Come meet us after your class. We haven't decided where to go but we're flexi. Any suggestions?

maid woes: you did mention she doesn't really understand english. Could it be she doesn't know that she's supposed to mop the floor 3 times a week? Or is it a case of shoddy work? If you need part-time, i can recommend my helper.

re: huggies dry comfort
i've used half of the samples already and i love them. Thinking of switching from fitti to this as it's cheaper too. Problem now is the sizing.

elch,
i also had this self battle when regina had viral fever. In the end, i just dutifully fed her the paracetemol and within 2 days she was well. Before that, i was dragging it and only fed her when there's fever. But by then it's a little late as the fever would just shoot up. I was also hesistating when it came to giving Brufen but in the end, i just had no choice. My hubby wanted to try chinese meds but it's not that i dun believe but i feel that she's still too young. Actually both the pds that regina sees are quite prudent in giving strong meds. I should have just trusted their judgement and advise. In my mum's fav words to me...'kay kiang'... Heehee!

<font color="119911">jelly,
rem to pretend &amp; ask it in a way like u r praising her, some maids like to brag abt how well their go abt their job so mayb can trace from there.</font>

Jolly,

vanilla,
How I wish I've the luxury to take a nap but I don't as I'm working. Your cough's been quite sometime! A course of antibiotics didn't work?

Just called home to check on Dylan and was told that he's back to cheeky self and my mum is complaining my 'lack of concern' to Dylan's illness to my Ah Ma!!! Argh!!!

jelly,
dun scare yourself. At 2 mos old, their hearing is still like their eyesight. Not completely clear. So that's why he can sleep through even with the vaccuum on.

mint
Okay, friday then. But let me know early if it's at Forum or elsewhere.

Nope, she totally understands that she needs to mop 3 days because I have a roster for her. In any case, she insisted that she did wipe. But the blackness tells me otherwise la. Even if Jelly said, anyhow wipe, it should not be black. That is, if she wiped on Saturday. Even under my dining table, it was black. Where no one steps on.

I am thinking I will do without a maid once Jo goes to school and I have 3 hours on hand.

XY,
i am thinking maybe the teachers at CC carried Izzy at her slightest whimper, so she is very drama at hm nowadays..

mint,
could be overstimulation, but i ask the CC teachers, they always say she is fine at school, nothing happen, etc. she has less crying episodes on the day she does not have to go CC. but in general, she has become very cry-baby.. we have to leave her alone and let her cry it out. sigh, she is at it again!

R&amp;R and vanilla,
you mummies are amazing! cannot imagine having to deal with my children undergoing operations! may you remain strong!

vanilla,
oh oh.. must continue giving panadol? i was of the impression that once fever no more, i can stop. my 5yr old just come down suddenly with bacteria infection. fever, running nose, red eyes/ conjuntivitis and now throwing up phlegm. gotta report back to PD tmr. and her 5th bd party is this sunday.. sigh..

actually it is true lah. izzy has been having running nose for a mth liao. even i think it is time to go on antibotics. esp since she is getting quite bad cough..

i have a sick household.. everyone except my MIL has gotten sick at some pt this past mth.

steamy buns,
i redeemed for baby J and they worked quite well. maybe our 2yr old pee/ poo too much for the steamy bums??

saxo,
maids are like that lah. my maid also tells us she wiped. my MIL asked her to come and touch the said spot and then ask her what she think the black stuff on her finger is. i think great maids are a godsend. as long as my maid dun steal or hurt the children, i can tolerate her. not doing her chores properly, i will warn her and get her to rectify immediately. with 3 kids now, i dunno how to survive w/o a maid. and this is coming from someone who refused to have a maid for the longest time as I hated the idea of having a stranger in my house. but now i go crazy at hm alone with 3 kids. kudos to those mummies who can handle it all!!

saxo,
My husband's cousin taught her maid this lesson. Her maid also didn't clean properly and insisted that she cleaned it already. So the cousin purposely waited till 10pm then called her to show her the dirt and told her that she has to get it cleaned before she goes to bed. Harsh but once was all it took. The maid went to bed almost 2am.

essanna,
sometimes it's just her playing too much in school or enjoying too much.... That could be over stimulation. Or is she seeking attention from home? Possibility of middle-child syndrome?

It been quite a while since I am here. Been busy with school work n household affair. Haizz...

Maid decided to go home when her contract finish. At 1st, she agrees to stay another half year but ended up her MIL pass away, no one to take care of her children. So bo bian. Hence I decided to go maid-less and send Tong to childcare centre from next yr onward, maybe Jan or Jun, depend on the vacancy.
Feel sad tat my maid got to go home. But I have no confidence of getting someone who is as good as her.
For maid, I adopt eyes wide open in regard to taking care of Tong during the day but eyes both shut regarding housework. Luckily my maid still very automatic, never give me pattern.

Steamy bum:
Love it but price must higher than my NTUC diaper. Maybe can use it as night diaper cause now using Mamy Poko as night diaper.

R&amp;R, vanilla,
*Salute* to u 2! I already cant bear it when Tong has to stay in Special Care Nursery straight after birth for 5 days.
There is a saying: 为母则强. Once u r a mummy, u become strong (in mind) Cause there is a little one who depend on u entirely. It is especially true when I see u two enduring so much for ur kids. Jiayou!

R&amp;R,
Old ppl tend to use strong words when they feel tat we refuse to listen to their advice n they seek chance to "force" their opinion on us. Haha...
When Tong is at Special Care then, my mum also say things like "See lah, ask u eat tonics, u dun want, baby come out so tiny" Make me guilty-sticken also.
But now, my mum will forget she even say such things liao. Haha...

vanilla:
Hope u dun think that I am advertising for Yummy House. Hehe... But as a teacher, I talk alot n cough virus follow me all year long. When ypg appear, u hear her cough too. Hehe... But after I take wild honey from Yummy House, no more stubborn cough. I do suffer cough once after I take (honey mix with warm water) every morning, but I recover very fast. So perhaps u would like to try it if Western or Chinese medicine fail?
I also let Tong take honey as snack (one small tiny sample spoon scoop a day). She no longer so prone to illnesses as compared to b4.

PAISEH, so long post. Long time never post liao so fingers very itchy. Hoohoo...

Ypg wah you promotor for yummy house, really. Makes me want to indulge. Bu no cheap right?

Ypg/essanna
Ha. I am particular about housework because that's the onl using she does. So if sh only does that and no need to look after Jo, she must do it properly right? If not why have her?

Mint
Wah very harsh lei. I can't do it. Will feel guilty.

Sigh I just really can't wait for Jo to be more independent hen no need for stangers in the house. On bad days, she needs to be carried even at home. How o do housework like his.

hi essanna - usually i will ask PD how long fever is supposed to last and esp if antibotics is given, must continue to give pandol regularly to see that the antibotics is effective.

in E's recent case, doc say by wed fever has to break, on sun his fever came down and i hand itchy drag to 6-8 hrs or when his fever came back then give..which the nurse say i am wrong.. i shld give on the dot until tue then drag 6-8hrs if no fever... so by wed can testify if fever really break. from sun - mon his fever persist at 38 degrees..

thanks YPG - haha.. i am taking honey now.. raw honey from EU ren seng (cos that day got sale).. today let E try 3 sips...

my Doc say maybe my new plc v dusty that is why...

i think the ultimatum is to make the sloppy maids clean the floor with a cloth..then they will learn the hard way ....(haha i am a slave driver)...

the pt is this..if i (the mdm) can mop the floor everyday ..and i am a FTWM...why cant she when her primary job is to clean the house?

that is why i am not getting a maid..maybe i have to if i ever want my no 2... now i am enjoyign my housework moments
(ahahahah...i sound so sadist)