(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0077aa">mousebb
oic. but nw u see wenmin so cute &amp; she become 1 of yr beloved le hehe..

Chris
u join the SAHM club huh... so envious</font>

forest,
hehe.. really? can tell?

jelly,
so i guess i won't reply her sms liao. or maybe i reply later and say i forgot it already so that she won't ask anymore.

helper:
i thik i heard on the news that there is a need to give them 1 day off per week. otherwise need to compensate them. but not so sure though. i'll ask my friends who got filipino helper what they did.

forest
u dun hv 2 give a day off. u probably have to ask ur helper if she wants 1. if she does, u take away $ from her. if not, then u give her in full.

u are hiring direct? how do u know how to hire direct?

forest
disclaimer: my helper has a loan, so she isnot entitled to a day off until she pays up all her loan.

at the end, u need to b comfy w ur decision to let her go on leave.

joanne
ya, just ignore lor. they will get the message. u r v nice. i wld hv text her and tell her that i can't help her forever!

going off to meet jollyhopper for lunch to collect my balboa!

purple,
hahaha.. i tot Trace is also 1 customer!! muahahahaha.. ;)

Joanne,
YES! hahahaha...
tks.. if ur frens gave u any info, pls let me know hor!! tks alot!!

Chris,
ahhaha.. only 15 days also shiok lah!! ;)

Jelly,
i think filipino got diff rules de leh..

i hired my ex part time filipino maid who went back to the philippines.. had to bring her in on social visit pass then did her work permit lor... the thing is, at the Work Pass services section, the officer told my hub that if she works on the sunday off, we have to pay her the extra $.. but i am thinking, if me and the helper agree on the no day off, do i still need to pay the extra!?!?

<font color="aa00aa">Forest
Sure! Xiao jie is daddy's gal! Even I dont do it, daddy will sure do it

bbgoh
Her characters changed a lot liao. She is not so grouchy like last time and she also smiles a lot at pple liao.</font>

forest
you have to pay the extra :p say for example, my agency told me, no off days, my maid gets $370 per month. off days, $350 per mth. in a sense, we have to top up the "extra"

Jelly,
oh.. so, i shd work on basis of the agreed amt right? the officer told us to work on daily rate leh.. hmmmm

maid off day
Mine's a Filipino. Goes like this. For the period she's still paying her loan, no off day. But after that, we will pay her $320 if she wants off day. And $340 if she doesn't want.

<font color="0077aa">mousebb
yah loh. wenmin is so smiley ler.. like her so much. i always tell Seline be smiley else nobody dote u le.</font>

forest - The phili govt stipulates that their citizens get 1 day off per month. MOst filipinas want that 1 day off. For mine, when she was on loan ie.probation, she gets no off days, but I have to top up the amt with a pre-agreed amount say $10 per month. Now, she goes once a month and I do not top up. You and yr helper needs to agree on whatever terms. For Indon, they get no off days cos it is not mandatory. Not sure about the rest of the mommies, but I do find that by letting her go off and rest with her friends, she comes back rejuvenated and happy. I gave her a small pocket $$ when she first went on her first off day .. basically to thank her for her gd work, to reward her and to make her happy as I believe a happy worker makes a huge difference to any household. She was so happy she came back reporting to me what she did that day, and has been doing the same henceforth. But I suppose I am lucky. I have a good helper, super hygenic, has good initiative, and listens to instructions.

This is my first helper. She has never been to SG and is single. Not sure if it affects the type of person or worker she is.

busy bee - I agree the Heinz juices taste yucky. Vicky made faces when I gave her the apple prune juice. I tasted and thot it was horrid.

Wall drawing - Erhhmmm I don't think I will encourage it. There are cheap easels with paper from IKEA and will use that.

ruffles
u r one lucky woman who found such a gd one!

whitepaper
the only gd thing abt the carrier is that it can front carry, which i am sure my bb loves, but the price is v steep~

Ruffles,
thanks!! tats what I thought too.. cos' i vaguely recall something abt the phil govt's involvement.. but wasnt sure if it was 1 day off a week or a month! :p

actually i already agreed to let my helper have a day off on the 2nd sunday of a month, so she can visit the church in novena area... but ur suggestion on the small pocket $$ is good... we also maintain the fact that she is just part of the family.. so that everyone will end up happy!! but even though she was my part-time before, we did have some initial problems with her as well! slowly things are being ironed out... hope everything stays smooth!!

u're lucky to have a good helper and ur first one too!!

Jelly - I like to think that prayers helped. And there after, I think if you treat her well, she will likely do the same ... but I did lay out a set of rules dos and dont ... at the same time clearly indicating who was boss, and yet if she needed anything or needed to talk, she can come to me as a friend. She eats the same food as me and if I go out, I usually get her a small bite if it is tea time.

Karen,
Bad news... I need to bail out tmr. Assignment not done and due Monday. Very stressed now. Plus hubby going on biz trip next week so lagi stressed. Also tmr, need to wait for shoe cabinet to arrive. Sigh! So many things so little time.

<font color="#C25283"> mousebb
ya. BBs are gettin smarter n smarter!

well, u'r nt the first one who hve the same feelin. whn i know i was preg with Erin, i was super duper fed up. i simply just cnt be bothered. i even ate food like pineapple, grassjelly, all those 'liang' food lor. tryin to 'creat' a miscarriage n make it look like 'natural' miscarriage. i dun even wish to book a gynae for check up. i simply just keep tellin myself sooner or later, i'll get rid of U!!!! but whn the moment i hve brown discharge, i got the fear in me. so afraid that i might REALLY lose her. den only at that vry vry vry moment. i den get panic n call KKH for the earliest appt. sometimes i find that mothers are like backside itchy. need to wait till sometin really happen liao den scare de.. hehe... but now, i really enjoy every moment i spend with her. thou i will throw my temper n get fed up with her. but still i love the way she cry, mumble, smile n the way she 'yang oh' to me.

Tweety &amp; mousebb
haha.. ya.. indeed really messy. i rmb i caned my boy until so jialat coz he draw a small circle on the wall. hehe... but nw, haiz.. no eyes to see. coz gracia also like this. n the prob is, both of them did it behind my back!!

re:helper
actually i quite envy those who hve a helper at hme. but still i dun dare to try. hehe... coz heard too many case liao. n it's really hard to find a real good maid/helper lor. either they lazy or chatty or mental prob de.

do u all still rmb i mention b4 that a maid got mental prob? go n put her poo under the sun n let it dry up n keep it in a bot. den everyday dinner she will sprinkle a little bit into the dishes n let the employer eat! YUCK!!!!!!!!

Karen
hw is ur maid liao? still make u angry ar?

Hey Busy Bee!!
long time no 'see' u liao wor~ u seems to be vry busy wor~ take care ya..

<font face="tahoma"><font color="119911">purple,
I gotta wait till Nat has hair to clip. she's very much botak now! been 2 mths already!

mousebb,
Happy that WM likes water... Nat refuses when I tried earlier. Nat also 6 MO now, will check with PD on the semi solid tmr when I bring her for jab.

forest,
as long as you worked out the agreement with your helper before hand I think it's fine. But make sure your helper sign on your agreement/contract so that she cant back out saying she doesnt know.

the agreement/contract must clearly state the monthly salary with OR without off day. </font></font>

forest - if you want, I can share with you on the written dos and donts, and the schedule I drew up for her... just so everything is in black and white - she can read English. Even when she goes on her off-days, I have a sheet for her and myself to sign, clearly indicating the date she took off, the amount of her mthly pay she wanted for that mth, and the balance.

mspiggy,
noted... im trying to draw up the contract using a sample from a fren also... :S

Ruffles,
thanks!! could you send it to me for reference? i do have something, but since its my first helper, i am also not sure if i covered all... can send to my email? [email protected] many thanks!!

Rebecca, *waves!* yeah I have been 'experimenting' taking minibee out via diff modes of transport, carrier,this week! So never log on. Plus started cooking for my dog too. So have been busy.

Ruffles, Yeah I intend to set up a get messy/art corner for minibee. Yup getting the easel too. But still investing on washable crayons in case she decides to secretly draw on the wall! But I already got a naughty time out spot for punishment should that happens!!

Helper... I treated my ex helper well. She even eats at the same table and I give her a afternoon nap break., bot her clothes and calling card and loaned her my old hp to use But she took advantage and was defiant, always cutting corners. Maybe cos she was older and set in her ways. Even told me my rules "dos and don'ts" not necessary. on chores i could close one eye but when it came to the bb, I could not tolerate so I let her go. Much happier w/o her!!!

Ruffles,
sure!! tks alot for offering the info!! :D

busy bee,
it really boils down to luck when engaging a helper... like for me, my helper was my part-timer but we still had initial problems with her.. im crossing my fingers that things will go on smoothly, cos my parents cldnt manage Kieran on their own.. now that the helper is here, i think my mum dont feel as "xin ku" or tired now...

<font color="0077aa"><font face="tahoma">mspiggy,
hahaha.. no prob.. u let me know again...

karen,
opps.. if mint not gng tmr, who else is gng..?</font></font>

<font color="aa00aa">Rebecca
Me opposite. The moment i knew i was pregnant I quickly went to see my gynae. But unlike my 1st pregnancy, the 2nd one was terrible during the 1st to mid 2nd trimester. I was on duphaston for the 1st trimester cos I had threaten miscarriage and kept going back to see my gynae. I was so scared that I would lose this bb. Then when pregnancy finally stablised, there come this DS worries. From NTscan to oscar to amniocentesis test. Me and hubby already prepared for the worst to abort the bb if the results is abnormal. It was only till 20 weeks of my pregnancy when my gynae called me to tell me that bb is healthy. After so much happening, i should have loved my bb very much but when I saw her for the first time, she reminded me of all the sufferings which I had gone thru and I must admit I was somehow angry with her! Haha! Come to think of it now, I'm really silly to react in such behaviours! Really shame on me! </font>

<font color="#C25283"> Busy Bee
ic. wa.. be ur dog also good wor~ keke... be Karen's dog also good leh.. got good life. got maid to serve them some more.. haha.... can get to eat all those healthy n nice food. keke.. =P</font>

hello mommies!
reporting in late today, and gg pumping session soon, followed by a long meeting.

mousebb>
so fast! Wenmin 6mths old le! Send her my hugs! CH will be 6mths old next Monday
bringing him to PD this Sat for 3rd Hep B jab. Wanna find out his weight, hope his weight gain slowed down, which I think so, coz he's drinking less and moving more (trying to crawl)
Don't think of the rough times you went through while carrying Wenmin k? Love her with all your heart, coz she's soooooooo sweet

<font color="aa00aa">I caught wenmin "stole" korkor's pacifier again and she is now happily sucking it! *faint*!</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Whitepaper
Thanks. Those were the days. Am feeling so blessed that God has given me 2 beautiful kids!

Am sure CH has good weight since he has now started to "exercise" liao.
Heard my hubby's fren whose bb boy is coming to 4 months is now weighing 7.5kg le! Another giant! </font>

<font color="aa00aa">Jelly
The boy still needs his pacifier when he sleep but he doesnt rely so much on it le. </font>

REbecca/drawing on the wall
no way. i dun even allow her to draw on the wall at the corridor.

Chris
Welcome to the sahm club

Whitepaper
*faintz* it looks like ergo. and it's not cheap.

<font color="#C25283"> mousebb
aiyo.. alwyas missed out post de leh..

haha.. dun angry her la.. so chubby n cute!!
dun feel shame la.. i also hve the same feelin at u. at first in the hospital.. i simply just cnt be bothered abt her.. i din even request to look at her.. just left her in the nursary room. until the nurse push the BB to me n told me to so-called look aft her.. den i was like.. orh.. ok lor.. dne i feed her with FM coz no BM. den try few times. dun wan drink den heck care her liao.. hehe.... bad rite.. haiz...

<font color="#C25283"> EY
of coz la!!! ur house so big leh!!! if they happen to draw on ur walls!!! siao liao!!!

my fren ar.. she steady de leh.. let them draw.. den ar.. ask hubby repaint it.. hehe... den i was tinkin ar.. idea leh.. make my hubby exercise.. coz he fat.

rebecca,
that's ok. my mum told me that when she was pregnant with me, she tried to get rid of me also. even went horseback riding. now she says she's happy that she didn't get a miscarriage cause i'm the one always making her happy. maybe it'll be the same for erin.

Rebecca
my gal had scribbled on the wall with pencil and pen. smack her hand many x b4.

now she doesn't do it anymore.

cannt afford to repaint the wall, we paid $3k for it.

whitepaper
hy is a desperate for money case.
she is just dangling around hoping to make quick bucks with anything.

<font color="#C25283"> Joanne
haha... wa.. ur mother happening leh.. preg still can horseback riding?! power!!!

EY
wa.. my fren is ask hubby go buy pain den paint themselve.. haha.. the hubby nt fat de leh.. unlike my hubby.. hmm... nw mayb i know y liao.. LOL!!!</font>