(2008/10) Oct 2008

littleamond,
i've been told fm is thicker and sweeter so babies like it more.. my gal also rejecting ebm after she's being fed fm for the last mth

Thanks Essana, Mousebb and Jenny for the assurance. Glad the ordeal is over. Now Baby M is back to her chearful "talkative" self! Feeling really relieved now.

Dumbo, so nice to see your dog getting along well with your gal.

dumbolyn

nice to 'see' u on FB too! I just added everyone!
yr gal has such nice eyebrows! my gal has very sparse eyebrows... waiting for them to grow....

busybee, yea he always tries to lick her.. haha but we try to not let that happen.. afterall he licks himself! not very hygenic.. hehe

dumbo
aiya too bad... i know what u mean abt choosing ur own fabric

re: mixing fm to bm
i do this just bcos i dun hv enough BM for her feed everytime.

Yeah... we've have not really let our dogs interact with Baby M yet. PD's advice. Dunno if it has anything to do wt the fact that she is a preemie.

Add me on facebook too... I'm in the Oct Mummies Group. [email protected]

dumbo,
You're very daring. I thought you added the dog using photoshop or something. Animals are animals leh. What if the dog suddenly got animal instinct and bite your baby?

dumbo
ur doggiev cute leh...my jrt likes to lick my bb's feet!

princessemma
my method is let's say i hv only 60ml of BM n my bb drinks 120ml at each feed, i just prepare 60ml of FM or u can use the BM like water and make the desired portion

dimpletot,
my gal likes to frown! haha making her brows look more prominent i guess.. ur gal so cute n chubby!! i tot mine was chubby lucky she's not alone! hahaha

busybee,
added u!

princessemma,
for instance ur gal drinks 120ml, u mix FM as per normal for 60ml and just add it to ur warmed BM.. or u can trick ur gal by swopping bottles.. i will feed EBM first.. den she'll start to struggle after 20ml.. den swop to FM.. den she wont stop drinking... but i will change when she's halfway through and give EBM again.. and change again when she struggles.. and the cycles goes on.. haha.. its actually just today my aunt told me to try mixing both together.. i'll try it this wkend when im home. now its my MIL feeding her. duno if she knows how to mix..

rains,
haha yah.. my dad keeps asking me to keep him away frm her.. but as long as we're monitoring i think its ok..
plus we introduced her to him very gently.. starting with letting her smell her blankets while she was in the hospital.

dimpletot,
my gal likes to frown! haha making her brows look more prominent i guess.. ur gal so cute n chubby!! i tot mine was chubby lucky she's not alone! hahaha

busybee,
added u!

princessemma,
for instance ur gal drinks 120ml, u mix FM as per normal for 60ml and just add it to ur warmed BM.. or u can trick ur gal by swopping bottles.. i will feed EBM first.. den she'll start to struggle after 20ml.. den swop to FM.. den she wont stop drinking... but i will change when she's halfway through and give EBM again.. and change again when she struggles.. and the cycles goes on.. haha.. its actually just today my aunt told me to try mixing both together.. i'll try it this wkend when im home. now its my MIL feeding her. duno if she knows how to mix..

rains,
haha yah.. my dad keeps asking me to keep him away frm her.. but as long as we're monitoring i think its ok..
plus we introduced her to him very gently.. starting with letting her smell her blankets while she was in the hospital.

thanx jelly and dumbo.. so is it correct to say.. that if my boy drinks 150ml, i can juz take 150ml of ebm and warm it up, then add 1 scoop of FM powder to make it thicker??

because now i am not emptying my breasts, so i fear alot of what he drinks is foremilk.. so i thought it would be good if i knew how to thicken it up...

princessemma,
i think that's ok, but what i was taught is to prepare - in ur case, something like: 90ml ebm and than 2 scoops of fm to 60ml and mix into one bottle.

mousebb, actually i was told that walker not gd cos hinders the leg muscles growth but is the other way round which means bb will lazy to walk cos they actually don stand themself more like been held up n long run the legs stucture also not nice cos in walker their legs r perm in a bend position..
but how? i cannot convince MIL not to let my gal si in walker non can i over demand as i wacth prog that its best to close eys sometimes on certain things if we ask ILs to help..
haiz.. worst thing hb is also for the idea cos he says bb faster walk better..
according to MIL my hb walks when he was jus 9.5mths *faint*
n my hb was wondering if my daughter will override his record..
HELP!!!!!

jen
i guess u r in a difficult position. but i read many books, it's better to allow bb to develop at their pace. like my ger, most of the bbsnear her age hv strong necks, she's still floppy :p all i can do is hv more tummy time for her and not try n speed up that process more than she can develop.

but i guess u hv 2 convince ur hubby so that he can convince ur MIL.

Gd nite mommies!

<font color="119911">morning mummies!

Jen>> wrt walkers, u can show ur MIL this articlefrom KKH:
The myth: Baby walkers help babies to learn how to walk.
The truth: Prolonged use of baby walkers can slow down baby's ability to walk.
http://www.kkh.com.sg/ChildSafety/SafetyatHome/

calla lily>> me same as u. thinking of starting solids
when she 4 month so can 'supplement' milk. then can try feeding her in the sippy cup. i bought mine already from munchkin
before i saw the spree. i oso try bottle til very xin ku. we have so darn many teats at home that we tried to no avail. i oso worry that she and her caretaker will have hard time when i go back to work. so nowadays, i go over my in laws (they will take over) more often, try to get them used to each other, and try to let them put her to sleep etc. err so far not successful, but at least she more frendly toward them liao. still got time to slowly 'break in'.

dumbo>> wahhh! scary pic :p thats a big husky!

<font color="aa00aa">Dumbo
Wow! You are so so darling! The husky looks so gentle towards your gal!

Jen
As what the other mummies suggested, talk to your hubby and let him convince your mil. For my boy, we bought 2 sets of fencing to fence up as his play area. When he was younger, he used to hold the drilling of the fencing to help himself stand up. When he was about 10 months, he can slowly make a few small steps and by 11 months, he can then walk quite steady liao. Like jellypurin, I also prefer to let my kids learn on their own pace. </font>

MOrning all

Whitepaper
i don't mind if you can supply BM or FBM to me lei... i'm at Tiong Bahru area (guess far for you lei)
My girl reject milk even when i mix FM &amp; FBM in. Not sure why... guess is fishy.

I called TMC parentcraft to ask how to reestablish supply, she said pump &amp; massage 3hrly and take fenugreek 6 capsule daily. But, i don't find time as busy with baby. sigh...

littlealmond
my girl also down with flu &amp; cough. and her milk intake decrease cos' not well. sometimes, she do drink milk (mix FM &amp; FBM) but sometimes, she don't. i also dun know why

lili

I can supply you with the FBM... you wanna send your hubs to collect from me at sengkang? Must bring ice box or something. But your girl rejects leh, how> Maybe you increase the amount of FM vs FBM?

Can find time one! I'm also taking care of baby alone... I can pump 3hrly!!! Must be determined! You can do it!

jen, yea, 3.5mths sounds rather early for walker. previously, we used the haenim playyard, Emms will stay inside as her play area and she will hold the sides of the playyard and stand up. we also used the walker but when she was much older, 9mths or so, but we only used it for feeding, as there was danger of her approaching low electric sockets and stuff if unsupervised. Parents in law/ parents can be overenthusiatic, maybe show your hubby the article Jus Us posted? I think I heard somewhere that the crawling stage is quite impt, using the walker sometimes encourages the bb to walk too soon, hence skipping the crawling stage.

i am jus trying out the handsfree, not v handsfree leh. when i let go, the suction drops. tightening the strap no use, as the bottom of the shield will open &amp; milk will drip out. what i need is sumthing to pull the wire part back. anyone can advice??? heh, i can "make" it handsfree by leaning the bottles against the side of the table. ha!

Dumbo

That's a nice husky!!! But the photo like taken out of some scary scene... coz... your husky like going to lick your girl soon... hahaha...

whitepaper.. peifu!!!! u are realli disciplined!!!

lick nvm.. i scared the doggie will bite her leh... but i'm pretty sure dumbo trained it well.. hehe

whitepaper
i also thinking she might reject FBM so don't wanna waste yours.

Wednesday, i tried to pump is already less than 5ml... didn't pump yesterday &amp; this morning... if pump this evening not sure have or not and furthermore breast so tender...sigh

lili

When you first start to pump, of coz dun have lar!!! But can't stop, must persevere and pump even if nothing comes out. After the few days, BM will come in de!!! most important is dun give up!!!

Cheer Bear

Like what mousebb said, try the Want to Sell section, I bought mine there too. $40 for a almost BN still in box lilac bumbo!

dumbo...

everytime I wanna type bumbo, I will type dumbo... and everytime I wanna type dumbo, I will type bumbo...

wah super confusing...

lili

I use PIS advanced... think electric better unless your let down very fast... coz manual ones will break my wrists, I think.

Yes please continue to pump, dun give up yet. Try for 1 week see how. When I fist came back from hospital, also got nothing come out, but I still continue to pump until my supply comes in lor. You must stimulate your brains and tell them you need the milk, then your body will manufacture the milk mah. Now, by not pumping, you are telling your brains you dun need any milk!!! It's a demand vs supply thingy...

Chris

I heard if you stop for 1 month, there's a high chance it's possible to get your supply back.

Anyway, even if you stopped for more than a month, I think its worthwhile to try to get it back.

morning mummies

lili
i ll advice u use manual 1st. as electric one more strong worry ll cause nipple sore if no milk come in.

wat a joy to read this morning posts.
my dog is really very gentle.. and he does try to lick her face very often..
but we are always there to stop him..
a few times he succeeded and kaitlyn seems to like it.. she will smile and giggle!
so its very enjoyable to see them together.

when she cries he will bring his toys over to her! like trying to comfort her.. so endearing.. hehe!

morning mommies

xinying
she lucky, i got big lobang in my pocket. but i like it that she dresses well... hehe...

lili
ya, try again n establish ur supply. i dun latch my ger direct but if u r still dng so in the evening, continue

i may try paretcrafts suggestion to pump 3hrly when i go bk to work...forget abt my bosses... hehe

re: solids
think my ger not ready. she can't even sit up right. not a gd candidate yet...

dumbo
hehe.. i can tell love ur doggie... my 3 doggies at hm will sit arnd her or find out what happens when my ger cries... they are quite frenly to my bb

whitepaper,

i think i stopped when ashton was 1 and a half coz Ashton dun latch... so i was only pumping.

then now Ashton is 4 mth plus liao..so will i still have milk

fenugreek where can i get that? how much does that cost?