(2008/10) Oct 2008

mint,
so sorry, i already logged off when u posted... did u buy anything today from mrs wong?

Ruffles,
thanks for the efforts!! i have emailed u..

mspiggy,
thanks alot for sending me the pics as well!!

mousebb,
thanks!!

Sorry my posts abit outdated..

Rachel's mummy:
Hope you have got over the incident with your nasty MIL. Anyway dun strain your relationship with ur hubby coz of this.

Forest:
Sorry to hear about the unfortunate incident with the "toilet lady". Do be careful.

Ruffles:
All the best for you, I am sure it will be ok.

Antenatal:
Wow seems that forest benefitted alot from the class.. hmm.. maybe I made a mistake in not joining. So now thinking whether to join the MT A class at the last min.

Gynae Update:
My baby is 1.1 kg, at 27 weeks. Quite disappointed to hear my placenta is still low, I am already trying to walk less and avoid squats but no improvements yet. Doc said to give it time to move up. But now I think I better be prep for c section. Thinking opt for MT A instead of Mt E, since its cheaper. Happy for whitepaper, that all is well in terms of baby and your weight and baby position.

From now onwards my appts are going to be 3 weeks apart but my gynae havne't discussed with me about labour signs.

Baby movements:
Can I check with mummies, which part of the belly do you feel your baby movements? Is it lower abs area, or by now baby should be higher than the navel area already? Coz I was wondering is it becoz of my low placenta thats y my baby is also low?

jjmom,
sorri i din notice for pigeon as most of my stuffs r from avent and tollyjoy.

jennifer,
JL not realli having sale but some items are cheap (can compare to KP). Last wk carrefour huggies got sale.. $14 for size s and i buy 2 pkt (original i think is ard $16+) and momy poko is $16.50 for size s (original $18+) which i buy 1 pkt too

forest,
i buy tollyjoy detergent for clothes and bottles and 1 set of clothes.. $7 onli.. so cheap.. comes with a tee and short

din buy much coz scare later too heavy then i cant carry.

mspiggy,
thanks for send the pics to my email

ruffles,
i will change the pics for the pillow (as per my last email to u) i will email u the latest order my monday 14 jul k

Forest,
is okie... yup, I bought quite a number of stuff from her - 5 pkts of the bowl wipes (stock in today). 1 pkt has 5 pieces and she said 1 pc can last 1 month. Not sure if I should have gotten more. Hubby said can buy when run out but forgot to ask her where to get if run out. I also bought 3 bath towels and 2 pkts of the flannel wraps for swaddling. 1 pkt has 2 pcs.

Barrier cream: She recommended the Avent Baby Bottom Balm.

ruffles, think I will give the beansprout pillow a miss cos hubby wants to double confirm that it's going to be a girl first. Last checkup forgot to ask doc to confirm so now must wait till next checkup.

littlebluey,
tried to trf the $$ to u but the dbs site down. Will do so tmr and email you too. So sorry about it.

Wan Chuen,
about baby movement, actually i'm feeling it everywhere now... sometimes, its at the lower abdominal area.. sometimes, its around the navel.. sometimes, its above the navel.. and sometimes, its all around the tum tum at the same time!! my boy has been active the whole of today in fact, so im getting pokes, kicks, all over!

Cheer Bear,
hehehe... sounds like u had a fruitful trip!!

mint,
wow... u bought so much!! hehehe.. so, the flannel wraps are in stock now?? thats good!! i want to get that too.. hopefully, she has it for us next week!

thanks for asking about the barrier cream..
did she say its different from nappy rash creams?

JJmom,
i was at OG today.. and saw that Pigeon is still on 20% off there.. but its not for all products.. so depends on what you're looking for...

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning Mummies
!

Mint
If you need to get more stuffs from Mrs Wong, you can get it from TMC parentcraft.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">jetudes
Agree with Forest. Bb movement is everywhere, depend on where is the bb position. Dont be disappointed cos as what your gynae said, it take some time for the placenta to move up. In the meanwhile, just have more rest and dont walk too much. You will be alright
! Even if in the end you have to deliver the bb by c-sect, as long as both mummy and bb are safe and healthy, this is more important than any other things hor
.</font>

littlebluey, you've got mail.

forest, heehee! ya lor, think I'm the only one in class who bought so much leh. :p At first I got only 2 bath towels. Then I saw there's a last one and quickly took it. Heehee!

mousebb, thanks for the tip. She did mention something about a CD on nursery rhymes. Also can get from there?

my tummy is very itchy ler, is it bcoz of strecth mark goin to appear?
also got red color dot dot like rash, 2days alrdy and more &amp; more itchy. any mummies have same experience? please share with me wat cream to apply or must go gyane?
heard tat cant sctrach, else will have streach mark even worse but it really very very itch ler..

bbgoh, i also hv the same kind of itch that u are having. i still told my hb that im like a monkey scratching here n there! mm..its come and goes but i jus applied the clarins tonic oil regularly and its seems better now

Good Morning Mummies...

Im so sad it Sunday and i Hafta work.. but its ok got the Forum to keep me entertained...

BBgoh,

What ever you do, dont scratch as it will cause stretch Marks... I bought an oil from MotherCare to ease the itchyness and it works well. Its basiclly as spray oil by Palmers.Maybe you can try that. Alternately try using medicated powder..

<font color="aa00aa">bbgoh
If the itch continues, you may like to give your gynae a call. I remember during my last pregnancy, I also had rashes all over my body except tummy and face. When I 1st went to see the gynae, the 1st thing he checked was whether my tummy affected by the rashes anot. Maybe I was too ganchiong then but at least it give me a peace of mind after consulting the gynae. He also gave me medicine to take to stop the itch. </font>

everafter, gwen &amp; mousebb

thanks for reply...
i got appied the stretch mark lotion from Palmers, but seem doesnt help ler..

Gwen,
i got a moisturizing body oil from Palmers, is it same as u mentioned above? thk i shall try medicated powder help to prevent i scratch it

mousebb,
if the rash is getting worse, i ll call gynae. thanks

bbgoh,

these few days i had rashes like wat u describe too. It started with big red patch ard the naval 1 mth ago and few days ago develop into tiny red dots and bumps that itch lik hell! I suspect that its because of the palmers stretch mark cream that i have been applying. The rash is better now after i've seen a GP to get some cream to apply. I suggest you stop applying any stretch mark cream right now to further irritates the rashes and see ur gynae or GP as it seems that the rashes won't go away by itself.

Oh ya Hi Mummies,

Forget to intro... i'm a Oct mtb too... 1st time mummy and have been in this forum for few months but am always reading the posts only. Thx for all the useful info that the mummies here have contribute... definitely benefits alot from here!

mspiggy
It's fine lar, I'm too lazy to edit it now
I usually dun post addie, dunno why I did it? Must be too excited, that's why

Chua Wan Chuen
Don't worry about your low placenta, am sure it will move up! Have faith in yourself
regarding the kicking of baby, it can be high or low, and I do not think it's related to your low placenta, coz if the baby is in breech position, you'll feel the kicks below navel coz feet are there. If the baby is upside down, the kicks are agianst your ribs. So don't worry!

bbgoh,

I used to have angry red rashes all over my tummy and even on my back. I have been using Clarin Tonic Oil and don't think I am allergic to it. My gynae explained that rashes sometimes developed when your skin is too dry and it spreads when you keep scratching it. Now I fully recovered by applying a layer of J&amp;J moisturiser on top of the clarins oil.

hi lynnzee
welcome...

i have used the cream for queit long, and only start to have this rashes these 2days.

i ll try to stop to apply the lotion &amp; see how

Dreamy,
ehmm thk i can try J&amp;J baby oil see got help or not huh
xie xie le..

BBgoh,

Yeah have to work but its ok.. plan on leaving at 6pm on the dot.
Abt the itchiness, i used to get it alot at one point of time too, but some how for me it comes and goes. I suggest you stop the lotion for now and let the rashes ease.

Mint:

Hi hi! Just came back from Ginny's class and today is very interesting and insightful. Watched CD on baby bonding, got to know a lot of options that we can ask the hospital for - the first 45 mins of birth is very crucial for bonding and also the various birthing positions and how to breathe the baby down (hypno does not use pushing) to conserve energy and stay relaxed and calm.

Am quite happy with today's session and daddies were v hands on too and they tried to figure out how to get a dummy baby to go thru the pelvis. Quite a laugh. Still smiling as I recall the scenes

mint,
hehehe... ya i also think u bought a lot.. hehee.. cos' for my class, think average is 2 bowl wipes only.. kekeke.. but they really look v v useful right!! i will probably get more from TMC next time.. kekeke..

bbgoh,
ya try not to scratch.. cos' it'll really make u feel even more itchy! hope after applying J&amp;J or the medicated powder, you'll feel better!

welcome Lynnzee!

Buffy,
hehe.. looks like u benefitted alot from the hypnobirthing classes too!!

i saw this BP.. but am just wondering if anyone of u bought anything educational for your babies yet?? actually, so far i've never considered anything like this.. cos' being me, im more keen on vain stuff.. kekekek.. like clothings, etc... whats ur views on such educational materials for babies?? maybe 2nd time mummies can also provide some insight??? thanks!!

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1521541.html?1215924632

mummies using palmer stretch mark cream and having rashes please stop using NOW and see ur gyne.. i used to have the rashes few mths back and it took me ard 1mth to recover after seeing gyne. my gyne say alot of mummies r allergy to it but jus they dunno onli. i was given a oral pill (yellow colour one) and cream to apply.

when i ask him to intro other brand of stretch mark cream he ask me dun bother to buy but jus use mild moisturiser will do.. he actualli mention J&amp;J but i use the body butter from body shop since i was using that b4 i preg and it helps

Hi Forest,

You online at this time also ah? I am trying to watch some of the breastfeeding clips because these days, memory not v good so I better watch when I still can remember! LOL... But the session ytr was quite informative - real experience and prepares us for what to expect. You gg for the Sister Kang's class also? Organised by mumsfairy. I have reserved a place liao, since it is just for 2 hours and one time only...

Ya, the hypnobirthing thing was really quite good, quite amazing at how painless and relaxed the mummies were. I am those who needs knowledge to feel confident hence the ability to know that I need not be strapped in the bed and there are like 6 or more other birthing positions help. 'Cos most of the time, if we do not ask, hospitals just go with the usual protocol and we just assume that is the way to go. With knowledge, I hope to be making a discerned decision lor.

Next week is on birth plan so that would be interesting... Heng, I asked my doc before I attended the classes if he is OK with Hypno and he gave the green light. So will visualise and give myself proper positive affirmations lah! Kekekekekekekeke...

You girls gonna be at the breastfeeding talk next week? Was sharing with Ribenali that I may not be able to attend as I am attending a pre-natal yoga workshop which also basically prepares the body for birthing and also baby massage, etc. Timing clashes leh... Can ask for you girls so share the notes as well as the notes you jot down - from the slides? 'Cos next week's session is on difficulties on b/fg which I tot is quite important

Oh yah, wanted to add, you girls look good lah! Dun look like you have piled on! Seriously! Limbs and face still v slim!!!

bbgoh
That is the rashes i got, red dot spot and itch. Dun worry. Go get sarna lotion from guardian. I was given another medical cream from gynae. But have been using sarna till now since rashes. Better for me than previous.

Hi buffy

joanna emailed u the urls as well huh? so many links to explore, i ought to watch them soon too
it's nice to know that someone out there is so enthusiastic n generous with her experience hor.

yeah, i'm the type who feels empowered with knowledge as well..that's why i signed up for the b/feeding class..can counter all potential opposition from the older generation with the knowledge i gain from the class.

where's ur prenatal yoga workshop? the b/feeding class actually clashes with my usual prenatal yoga class as well, but i decided to go for my prenatal yoga on thur evenings instead (tho i'll end up v.hungry aft the class cos it ends at 8sth!). hehe.. no prob, will make a copy of the notes for u after next week, n pass it to u during the dinner (if u r going) or mail it to u if u prefer..

oh, n thanks! haha..i put on 10kg already..think the sheer magnitude of the weight gain is pretty scary lah. but u look gd too! chic mummy

<font face="tahoma"> hi ladies,
wow.. so many of you online today

my boy napping... sneak in to peep, and happy to see so many of you here. </font>

Mommies - who attended Mrs Wong's class: what is there to buy there? How come like become a shopping class?

Beansprout - have received all yr emails. Now we have 10 pillows. Let me consolidate and check if got further discount or not. Then let you know payment mode.

Curioxete and forest: Thanks for helping us to reserve seats ytd.

Curioxete, forest &amp; Buffy: Its really great pleasure to see you gals!!! I do agree that the b/f class ytd was really great and i looked forward to the next session.

Forest

i'm quite kiasu..bought the 'your baby can read' vcd set at the motherhood exhibition at expo.. regretting it now cos it's more expensive than the BP price!!

haha.

hv also been listening to some 'baby genius' classical music cds so that bb will hopefully b lulled to sleep by it next time after it's born
hv told hubby that all of bb's presents next time shd b educational..after all, they grow out of clothing pretty quickly n they won't remember much of it..

<font color="aa00aa">bbgoh
I suspect it could be the palmer stretch mark cream you used that causes the rashes cos last time my gynae also told me to stop using it when I developed rashes.

Lynnzee
Welcome
!

<font color="aa00aa">Forest
My hubby told me dun bother to get DVD for bb yet cos at this juncture, their concentration is still very short hence no point getting it now.</font>

Baby movement and position:
Thanks forest/mousebb/whitepaper, I was always happy to feel my baby kicking until one day I noticed its always quite low below my navel. Hope it doesn't mean he's in breech position, or else another problem for me. Anyway I am trying to stay positive abt the placenta problem. I totally agree most impt is baby is healthy, although I am greedy and hope can get my wish for a natural delivery too haha

bbgoh:
hope your itch has gone away now.

buffy:
your hypnobirthing class certainly sounds useful! I didn't know Dr Ong is agreeable to hypnobirth, but anyway I din ask him. Everytime I go for appt he always seem to be in a hurry and i'll forget to ask him the qns I intended to.

Educational stuff:
I believe should educate from young, although I haven't bought anyt material yet hee.

I just woke up from my nap... Shiok 'cos yesterday went for b/f class and today, hypno. Like a lot of classes gg on like that. Information overload man.

Curioxete/Forest:
Yah ya, thanks for reserving the seats for us. So sorry to have held up the class. There was a fallen object on the PIE and 1.5 lanes were closed off while they cleared the object. Hence, there was a massive jam lor. Pai sei..

Curioxete:
Ai yoh, thanks for the compliment. I am just dying to highlight my hair again 'cos am not v used to seeing all the black roots!!!!
I realised ytr that all of us are quite petite hor? Heh...

As for my pre-natal class, it is with Pure Yoga as I got their 2-year membership like 1+ years ago? Since they offer pre-natal, I decided to mix it with my usual class lor. Right now, I try to go for pre-natal on Tues during lunch. I used to be able to go on Sun but that clashes with my Hypno class lor. The workshop this Sat is a typical Pure workshop which lasts for 2 hours where it is interactive - meaning instead of the usual heading there to do the poses and stretching, there are explanations, demos and of course, the physical work. Pure Yoga organises such workshops on a monthly basis and is complimentary for members. But if I am not wrong, the pre-natal class does not happen very frequently hence, I want to go lor. Plus, for the workshop, she will go thru poses which helps to deal with labour discomforts, hence, I wanted to go lor.

Where do you go for yrs?

jetudes:
so far, am finding the classes beneficial too.
'Cos the class size is pretty small (max of 7 couples?) so each class is really intimate and cozy. Importantly, each class gets the daddies to be involved so they learn to share, to try and also to be our birthing partners by helping us with the positions and "delivery manager" by helping us with the breathing and relaxation techniques. But a lot of homework to do also lah! Need to read and listen to CD every night... I often fall asleep before I get to Track #2 of the CD!!!

I specifically called Dr. Ong to ask if it is OK for me to take on Hypno. He seems opened to it as an option which is why we decided to go ahead. But we din engage a Doula lah, my hubby prefers to be the "delivery manager" Hahahahahahahahaha...

So far, my appts with him are OK leh. And I try to write down the questions I want to ask him. But I read a fair bit so I do not really have so many questions now as compared to when I first started.

Who are the mummies who have also signed up for Mumsfairy's antenatal b/fg class?

curioxete:
Thanks for offering to share with me the notes. I think hor, you can fax to me leh, in the office so no need to mail.
I will give you my office fax number the following week if you dun mind faxing lah! Thanks so much!

buffy,
glad that you had fun and found the hypnobirthing class so useful. I emailed ginny already but the next taster class clashed with my final prenatal class. So waiting her reply again for upcoming taster sessions. Can help me to find out next week at your session if it's not too much trouble? :p Thanks.

Looks like the bfeeding class quite good reviews from gals here.

Karen,

U looking for cots that can be coverted to a junior bed when the kid grows up? or specifically this bed?

If u looking for a convertible bed, they are avaliable at kiddy palace and Cheong choon. I'll be getting my convertible bed at cheong choon, tink its cheaper there. Cost abt $299. Kiddy palace more ex. U may want to go take a look if it suits u or not.

<font color="#D16587"> Hi Mommies!!
actually i got a qns to ask u all for quite sumtimes already.
wanna ask those who is currentlt BF or did BF b4.
hw u all bought nursin bra thru spree?
as in hw u all noe the size b4 hand?
add 1 cup bigger to ur current cup size or
1 size bigger to the number of ur current size?

can choose nt to ans me if find it embarassin.. ^_^</font>