(2008/10) Oct 2008

congrats purebliss! So nice to have twins

I used to wish I can have twins but with 2 older children liao, I cant wish for that anymore... hehee

Hi Dimpletots, ya doc wong showed me. At first she thought that it is blood vessels but later she scan closely... 2 heartbeats in 2 different sacs. This is my 2nd pregnancy, after this i can close factory already. My hubby and my side no twins history. We are the first.

Hi elchwong, littlebluey, chris lin and poohy, thanks a lot. I also din expect twins

<font color="ff6000">yup it can be overwhelming at first, but definitely a great reason to close factory! two for the price of one (pregnancy)!</font>

<font color="119911">wow twins! congrats purebliss! hee i was oso hoping for twins leh! but cfm is not liao ;P think there was another mother-to-be of twins some archive pages ago?</font>

<font color="0000ff">chris lin</font>, usually very little or no weight gain in first tri, esp for mommies who has poor appetite. but its okie, coz baby take from mommie's reserve... my appetite very bad now.
sianz...

<font color="ff0000">issabelle</font>, u so farnieE!! i burst out laffing when i read ur post hehehee, so funny drop into bowl!!!

hey me also took pics of my test kits, for both pregnancies! and scrapbook it! the 2nd one have not scrapbook lah. hehehe. no time..

<font color="0000ff">little ger</font>. to ur question, actually it was bugging me too. before i got preggie with 2nd one, i been thinking whether to send him at 18mths. i actualy embarked on an extensive search into preschools, i visited 6 so far ok, dun play play hahaha. but i also figured, my kid can't share with me what's wrong yet when he's upset or someone bully him. so i dun feel comfy sending him now. perhaps when he can express or talk more... but now preggie with 2nd one, so timing has to be careful hor? i can't send him at 2-2.5yrs...coz that time, it will be 3 mths after the new baby comes along, if i do that, he will think i dun want him. so i prob will only send at nursery 2 age... what about you? i forgot how old is ur 1st one?

<font color="ff0000">miss k</font>, i used to feel as angry as you about parents who sent their kids to school with cough. but after talking to a teacher in a preschool, i kinda understand why they do that sometimes. some parents may not be lucky enough to have caregivers during weekdays. due to work nature and commitment, and lack of relatives help, childcare is the only option. so aside from high fever, they may still send their kids to school when they have cough coz some coughs may take 1-2 weeks to go away and they cannot afford to keep them home and take leave during this time. it sounds very sad for the kids...and for the rest of the kids in the school, but i guess it happens.

<font color="0000ff">pinkybrain</font> wow, you are so productive! my first born in sept 06. now he is 17 mths, and i tested preggie i oredi got quite a shock, feel guilty towards him. do you have morning sickness? if u dun, so lucky coz then u wun feel as tired and u can still spend time with ur first 2.

<font color="aa00aa">ribena, buffy and litteger</font>, we are the BP mums!!! yeah! so ribena and buffy are 1st time moms, littleger and me 2nd time yar? so fun, next time we can have BP playgroups.

<font color="0000ff">HopeTBF</font>, helo Daddy, very nice of u to post on behalf of ur wife. and yes i do feel the following.
- easily tired &amp; fatigue.
- always hungry (almost every hour) but no appetite
- dreams alot. or rather, i wake up a lot in the middle of the night with active tots in my mind.

but i am not having much still having white discharge. minimal lah. but i think its normal.

u nick is hopeTBF. are u saying u hope ur wife can total breastfeed???
if it is, tell yourself and ur wifey, she definitely can do it!!!

<font color="0000ff">purebliss</font>, congrats!! wow twins!! is it identical twins (same amniotic sac) or fraternal twins (2 sep sacs)???? identical twins happen by chance, but fraternal twins are genetic!! so fun!

<font color="aa00aa">Congrats to all mommies just tested positive!</font>

<font color="119911">o ya, see bunnyhop's post then rmb that i oso took photo os my test kit hee... sometimes is so hard to track so many topics being covered. bunnyhop, wow u really managed a good job of replying all u wanna reply =)

and i thot HopeTBF=hope to be father haha...

wow see u all think so much for your kid, i'm thankful this is my 1st and i just need to focus on one thing at a time!

bunnyhop - interestingly, we wanted 2 babies.. and may consider a third when baby 2 is around 3 years. Also, i was on clomid (fertility pill) during my first 2 pregnancies - my period was never regular. let alone knowing when's the fertile period! so you can imagine the shock when we conceived naturally. I breastfed for abt 4 months. and my period came shortly after.

So far i have no morning sickness. Only tiredness. It's still very early into the pregnancy (5 weeks?).. probably i'll feel more symptoms as this pregnancy progresses.

bunnyhop: wow!! U visited 6 preschools huh!! Not bad ley u!! hehehee... My girl will be turning 2 next month and I've aldy enrolled her into playgroup so she will start her class after the mar sch holiday. Hey, which are the 6 preschools u have visited?

Congrats to all MTBs!!!

PureBliss: Double congrats to you! So 2 sacs huh? Does that mean that they will not be identical twins? I watched somewhere that identical twins come from the same egg split into 2, so they'll share the same sac and same DNA, fingerprints...etc. So if 2 sacs, that means maybe you'll have 1 boy and 1 girl also leh! Long Feng Tai!

According to LMP, I'm supposed to be 8 weeks now, but baby size is only about 6.5 weeks. Sigh... dunno how to fatten up the fetus also. Hahahaha..

Stephy: I'm seeing Dr TC Chang too! Did he deliver your first child? How was he? My next appt is on 18 March, so won't run into you there.

Little Bluey: Me didn't see heartbeat during 1st gynae appt. I was about 6 weeks then. Waited another 10 days or so for 2nd appt, then can see heartbeat. Try not to worry about it too much. (I've been there too!) Just take care of yourself and rest as much as possible.

1st day of playgroup for my girl today. The school allowed the parents to join for the kids for the 1st 2 days. She had a good time there. Of course, as a parent, I naturally noticed some other kids got runny noses. But no choice loh, had to close 1 eye and prayed that my girl got strong immunity. Hahahaha...

<font color="0000ff">Rei chan,

arigato! for the assurance...u heard the heartbeat thru tummy/v scan? becos it seems that thru vscan more details will be revealed..hahahaha...

Meanwhile, will just take it easy and not think too much

Littlebluey, when is your next gynea visit? I also did not manage to see the heartbeat last saturday and am thinking of going to the gynea next week.

Purebliss, congrats. I also hope for twins then can close facotry. hehe...

For me, my hubby is the one who took photo of the test kit. And i actually tested on 3 kits in 3 days cause I did not trust the kits here as they are really cheap... hehe....

<font color="ff6000">Yup i think two sacs mean fraternal twins. I have a colleague who is part of identical triplets! all boys!

fraternal twins means two different sperms i think. maybe two eggs, maybe one egg. i dunno, need to read up more on this haha.

i think when i see doc this Sat I'll be almost 9 weeks! excited. i think I'm still at very early stage of mummy hood - no thots on nursery or playgroup at all yet!</font>

Little Bluey,
Ya, it's from v scan. My next appt in 2 weeks. Gynae says probably can use tummy scan by then. Good luck with everything. Hope you can see heartbeat soon!

Isabelle,
My frens gave me their old JLPT 1 &amp; 2 study materials. They are not the latest but I think the test content is about the same every year anyway. Only issue is that there are sooooo many vocab and grammer points to memorize! Good thing my girl started playgroup, so can study. Found a ton of websites which provide past year papers and resources. So no excuse for me not to study I guess! ^_^

purebliss

congrats! So u are having fraternal twins!

Me wants 3 kids and also thot of having twins before, esp for 2nd preg, so that I dun have to go thru all the ms again! Right now I can't imagine being preg again for the third time!

But for my family, all of us can't fit into the 7 seater leh cos stay with parents. So i was relieved when the scan showed one baby, but yet a teeny weeny bit disappointed at the same time.
Anyway, really excited for u!

Bunnyhop,
how old is ur first kid?

rei-chan
yah i think more or less the same every yr. But think u gotta find also recording of past years' chokai. Last time in uni I got from sensei and practised abt two yrs's of past chokai. But now the tape i think mouldy liao! Mebbe u get from ur jap sch?
U mean got website provide free past year papers? So good!
I think I will only pick up jap again if I ever go on long long leave and have enough money to lead a decent enough SAHM lifestyle. That'll be like in X years? haha
Then mebbe if we r still in contact then I qing jiao ni. Hee...

Btw, saw ur qn to stephy (stephy dun mind if I ans too yah?)
Me had TC for 1st delivery. He is pro-natural and if u dun want episiotomy he is also happy to try. Very very open. Not the you must follow my way type. If you have any preferences, just let him know.
In fact, once i went to see him and he just came in from a delivery. He said the baby was 5kg and was a natural birth! I was like 5kg also can natural??? He was like why not? But the patient may have been ang moh though!

I din shave, din do enema also. I was induced at 10pm at night and he let me go home to sleep at my request, then go back to hospital next morn. Before induction he also waited for a week before finally deciding cannot wait. By then I was already 2 cm dilated for one whole week and amniotic fluid too low. We were really really very happy with him!

Isabelle,

Now they have mp3 of chokai online. So I can download also. Not bad right! FOC some more. But since baby due in Oct, will prob have no time to study after birth. Hope the vocab won't leak out from my head during those 2 months. Yikes! =P

My first kid born in US, so I dunno what to expect here. Over there, no shaving or enema also. But my doc did gave me episiotomy. But I think I still tore very badly. I had stiches all the way back to my anus. Dunno how it happened also, I was in a blur then. That was the only negative point about the whole birth. Cos I was really bothered by the stiches after I went home. I really had to be careful with them, if not they'll be red and sore. *shudder*

Hope it'll be much better this time round with TC Chang.

jusme, no...i am not saying u dun eat enough. I am saying I think I don't eat enuff, so i feel faint a lot.

Purebliss, congrats!!!! Really happy for u..have you told liwen? How lovely to have twins!! I was hoping to have twins too...hehe...but not at all!

bunnyhop, yah..that's true..we cant help it if the child still feels unwell for 1 week. I guess if it's a mild cold/flu/cough..it's ok. No problem in sending them. But if it's severe cough/flu/cold, better to keep the child at home so the child can rest properly. Now, I give my son some vitamins if I feel he's going to fall sick. So he gets mild flu instead of the full blown one.

hey pinkimum, where r u located that the test kits are cheap? Are you located overseas?

Hi MTBs,

I am also staying in BP, so there are 5 of us!

Isabelle, ur Dr is so pro-natural. When i was 1cm dilated, and amniotic fluid abit low at 39th week, Dr Adrian ask me to admit into hospital the very nite to induce. I always hope to let the contractions come naturally but i guess it is not reali up to us sometimes.

<font color="aa00aa">ribenali/dimpletot/littleger/storeberry: hello ladies, am back! Have been in meetings the whole day. Mondays are usually my worst days! Thanks so much for that word of encouragement. Ya, it really is very disheartening to have a boss like that. Usually, I dare not even take MC unless I am down and sometimes, even when I have MC, I still head back to the office to clear some work first. Hence, it really was quite hurting for me especially when our bodies are already so tired from the pregnancy. Ya, will look forward to my maternity break and then will tender when I return. Tell him go fly kite! Ha ha ha ha *dreaming*

Oh, and BP playgroup? Kekekekekekeke… such a cute scene hor, the small fellas scurrying around...

Sylvie: for my case, I visited the doc during my 5th week and he scheduled for me 2 weeks later. ‘Cos when I saw him during week 5, it was to confirm the pregnancy and since I was there, we did a scan to confirm that the position of the sac is correct. Week 7 was to try to detect the heartbeat. I am scheduled to see him again on week 10 to check on the growth and also ensure that there is still heartbeat. Since you already saw yr doc during week 6, if you want to, maybe week 8 or 9 to check on heartbeat? Then thereafter, another 3 – 4 weeks ‘cos that will be end of your first trimester? Just a thought.

Chua Wen Chuen: hello! Welcome and congrats! You with Dr. Ong too? In Mt E or 10 mile junction? Hmmm… The jab and med are hormones so technically, our female hormones should be rising, not dropping. I do not have MS, just a bit queasy and unsettled once in a while but so far, nothing so serious that it ruins my appetite or make me throw up. And yes, I do have a pull and a tug once in a while.

Elchwong: me too! I am super tired sometimes and it hits me all of a sudden! This morning I had such a hard time waking up and I was still a bit woozy when I got to work. Until I had to drink half a cup of coffee before my system started up. Jat lat…
kao_sleep.gif

littlebluey: hi hi! Congrats and welcome. At my first appointment, it was only 5 weeks hence doc only detected heartbeat at my next visit which was week 7. J But I did V-scan…

Purebliss: wow! Twins – shuang xi! Congrats!

isabelle: kekekekekeke… ya lor, I just thought that the whole experience was so surreal that I took pic of both my test kits. But you so funny lah, so excited until drop inside the toilet bowl... kekekekeke

Pinkimum,

I am SAHM with 1 kid and w/o helper since confinement till now. I only empolyed CL for 7 days and then I take care my child till now.

U need to metally and physically prepare b4 u decide to do it own. If u really cannot take it then u must talk to ur hb or best friend to seek for help.

So now expecting my #2, will try my best to take care 2 of them by myself (maybe hire part time cleaner). IF really cannot make it maybe will go to 2nd option lor.

Hi Buffy: Take care yah. Still have 7 more mths to go??

Purebliss: Congrats on your twins!! My DH was so wishing for twins!! But I cannot imagine myself handling two bbs!!

I had reddish discharge on yesterday morning. Was ordered to go on bed rest for this whole week. Doc said my 3 main jobs now are to 1)eat 2)sleep and 3)watch TV. Nothing else! Have to go back for check-up again next week. Doc also told me if bleeding continues, then my mc also have to be extended cos my pregnancy is not stable. Doc has also increased my duphaston dosage to 2 tabs 3 times a day.

I din experience such thing in my first pregnancy and I never thought pregnancy can be so 'chiam'! Very low morale!

Hi Rei-Chan,
Yes, Dr Chang delivered my first boy. I had c-section, I have no pain at all. Thru out the whole procedure, only took 15mins and aaron was out liao. He encourages natural birth, but because I had preclampsia, so he said it would be better for me to have c-section which will help to lower my blood pressure faster. I am very pleased with him.
My appt is on 19 mar at 9.30am, because i wanted the first appt. Got to rush back to pick up aaron at 1pm.

Rei-Chan/Isabelle,
Both of you didn't shave? did u request not to be shaved? I tot is compulsory. Even I had C-section, i got to have it done

Purebliss,
congrats to you for having twins

buffy
yah. The whole stick just slipped out of my hand and I had to flush it away twice cos I din dare to put my hand in to take it out!

mousebb
same here. First one not like that. For this one, I have been on mc for 2 mths! Gg back to work at last next week.

stephy
think to shave n have enema is std procedure in Sg (in case there is emergency c section, no need to waste time shaving mah) If u dun ask that it not be done, they will do for u i think. But C section think definitely must shave!

But personally i find shaving gross. When it grows back won't be pokey pokey itchy itchy meh? kekeke =p

karen
can employ CL only for 7 days? She agreed to 7 days business?

<font color="0000ff">Morn Gals...

It's such a great cold day to stay home and snooze too bad, too have the luxury to do so..hmm...-_-

Buffy,

Hope tis coming Sat visit will be another great adventure ke ke...

Mousebb,

Just rest well and dun do anything ok ^_^ Take care!!

Is a CL really that necessary? I dun feel comfy having a stranger ard in the house...hmmm...</font>

Isabelle/Stephy
C-sect must shave cos after the process, they need to bandage and put plaster on our wound mah. I had c-sect for my 1st bb and was kana shaved! Quite uncomfortable when the hair grow again.

Littlebluey

<font color="ff6000">morning gals... when i woke up it was pouring with rain so first thot that came to my mind was 'can i take mc today...' but then thought sure cannot so just made myself get up. dunno why after sleeping 9 hours every night i can still feel sleepy!

mousebb, enjoy the break lor... think positive. think of the number of DVDs you can watch. if you are a korean drama fan you can watch like one WHOLE series lor. or go and borrow some baby shows like two men and a baby or sth. Then you can surf the net, chat with us, find out more pregnancy info and share with us... but i understand lah, cannot go out is also like prison like that. anyway, this is for the good of your baby so must REN!

Buffy, you're thinking of going back after maternity then tender ah? I was thinking after maternity then i just tender liao. i got enough leave to clear for the 1 month's notice hee hee. </font>

<font color="aa00aa">morning ladies! yah, it is such a nice rainy morning, i feel like just "nuah-ing" at home especially i wake up about twice a night to go to to the loo these days. anyone waking up too?

dimpletot: yah, am thinking of tendering when I head back after maternity leave. over here, we are not allowed to offset our leave so die die they also want you to give that one month notice. they rather pay us for our leave. but i dun mind also lah, 'cos I do not want to leave my asst in the lurch so will come back and do another proper handover then...

Morning Mummies

Bunnyhop, My is fraternal twins (2 sep sacs) but my family had no history of twins.

Rei-chan, Hahaha, wish I have one boy one girl... but i dun think will be that heng. Now all the things got to buy double. Gynae says mine likely to be unidentical.

Missk, had yet to tell her cos no chance to see her online. keke!

Mummies, thanks for your well wishes!

<font color="0000ff">Buffy....I experience the same thing as you do...and it can be quite annoying esp when it's diff to fall asleep then after hmmmm....but sometimes I'm awaken with terrible gastric pains which can be so bad that I can't zz at all.......

Do u gals experience queasiness in the morning when u wake up and gastric pains? I do esp these few mornings, I feel so horrid and the only thing is to eat something then the symptoms will ease off slightly....;p</font>

Hi Buffy,

ya me woke up at least twice every night to pee...then in the morning, bladder will still be very full lor...dun know where all the water come from because i dun drink a lot these days. No appetite plus plain water turns me off.

I am also thinking of tendering after my maternity leave...probably stay at home to look after my bb first....but for now will have to endure the next few months in office, feeling sleepy all the time...or maybe after the 1st tri i will feel better

Hi Littlebluey

i tend to feel queasy in the morning on my way to work and also in the evenings, from 4pm onwards...appetite is very bad now. Yesterday i FELT like eating fried noodles and carrot cake.Bought them but can only manage 2 mouth of noodles and din even touch the carrot cake lor...sigh....waste money....in the end my MIL eat up everything...haahaaa!!

I dun have gastric pain though I am on the hormones pills. But feel a bit bloated only.

<font color="ff6000">yup I also get up at least twice a night to go loo. Actually before getting preggie i also got up once a night to go loo. can fall asleep quite easily after. but nothing quite like uninterrupted sleep to make one feel more rested.

what really bothers me is the bloatedness and burping. think we feel bloated cos of all the air. anyone found a good solution to this? I heard ginger helps. but can only drink ginger added soup sometimes cannot be every day rite? cannot drink too much tea so Teh Halia is out, although i really like it.

I dunno about shaving.... although maybe some waxing thing like going to Strip at Wheelock place might be better than shaving. but dunno whether they do preggie ladies or not.

I haven't had any gastric pains at all. maybe cos I'm eating all the time haha. think I've put on 1.5 kg liao. oops.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">ya lor! quite annoying right? keep waking up to pee. i already cut down my water at night, I try to stop drinking after 9.30pm...

littlebluey: I was experiencing v bad gastric because at the start of my pregnancy, my metabolic rate shot up and I was hungry every 2 hours! Was very trying to look for food all the time! Then I was on Duphaston and that gave me gastro-intestinal probs... The doc has cut down from 3 to 2 tablets daily so I am better... I do not experience queasiness in the morning. Not sure if it is because I try to take a glass of milk and something light before I sleep so in the morning, when I am awake, my blood sugar is still OK, not low hence not queasy...

I was also woken up twice last nite by my urge to pee and then by the feeling of hungriness...

Is it ok to have Subway sandwiches?

morining ladies

is reali a good day to sleep at home...

wan to take mc but dun dare.

wait tomolo will see a black black face!!!

anyone here haveing headache

<font color="0077aa">Cool man!! BP gals are increasing and the playgroup sounds interesting!!
mousebb: u muz rest well and take care of urself ah. When i'm resting at home, i play online games as well. u may oso wanna try. www.viwawa.com

littlebluey: I oso dun feel comfortable with a stranger at home but unless my MIL is able to help me with the baby in the middle of the nite, i will not get a CL but dun tink she wil help coz she "lion open BIG MOUTH" saying if she were to babysit my baby in future, she want me to give her a maid...crazy!!! I don't trust maid and its an addition responsiblities and too much of unpleasant stories of them. Its really not easy to get a good maid. I would rather pay to get a CL who wil be with me temporary than to see my MIL's "face colour". It really depends whether got anyone helping u during ur confinement or not, if there is, no point spending the money and having a stranger at home rite?</font>

My mum is going to help look after my bb for the first 6 months at least, but think i'll still get a CL for 1 month. Cos they are professionals and they know how to bathe baby, cook the right food and take care overnight. think can learn quite a lot from them. It's been far too long ago that my mum was taking care of a baby (me!).

Hi elhcwong,

why cannot eat subway sandwich? Because of the raw vege ah? Shld be ok lar..ang mohs also eat like tat what...plus raw veges so long as cleaned properly shld not have any problems...plus the nutrients are intact vs if u cook them then some of the vitamins etc are lost.

<font color="0000ff">Hi Diane,

At least I know wat I'm experiencing is normal
hahahaha...u know I can get paranoid over the slightest esp if I dun have any "symptoms" I'm oso on hormone pills but my gastrics still on and off not as bad as last 2 wks but still acts up when it feels like doing so...my gynae got prescribe some gastrics med for me and instruct me to take as and when necessary and dun bear the pain silent....ke ke...

Dimpletot,

Heard that ginger cannot be taken in excess although it helps in easing the bloatedness and burping...too much intake of ginger will lead to the baby having jaundice....hmmmm.... I oso try to limit my water intake but I just dunno how come there's so much to pee each time...diaoz...

Chris,

I do experience headache sometimes normally at night dunno why, then I would go and zz and it will go away.

Elch,

Subway is my favourite so i still go for it but the key here is everything in moderation

Ribena,

I admit that I have bad temper at times and I'm someone who like cleanliness. I've heard of some horror stories about CL, so am contemplating agst it..my mum is not in very gd health and my MIL is old le so I guess my mum can help me out abit but am not depending on her...was telling DH that now there's those caterers who caters confinement food, can opt for it and clothes can always send to the laundry hahahaha...anyway it's still very early to say anything but that's wat I conclude so far...wat's the pt of paying so much $ for a CL and in the end the things she does is not to our liking then worse still...</font>

Buffy
Did you take your Duphaston after meal? Me also on duphaston and i guai guai follow the instruction to take after my meal and so far, no gastric problem leh.

I do get hungry easily but so far have not piled on any weight yet. Can feel that my tummy is getting a bit bloated liao. Dont know how long can i hide this pregnancy. Only hubby and colleagues in my dept know.