(2008/10) Oct 2008

<font color="0000ff">Jess, it's ok lar..different pax hv different view on it
no need apologise</font>

hi blur,

they have quite alot of fisher price toys. didnt really go &amp; see the price. juz glance thru.. reasonable.

i will be going down again the weekends to get the car seat.

btw the fair opens at 10am.

missk
me still ok now that ms is better. Plus my mum and maid help to take care of her so it's pretty ok. But when ms was bad, i had no energy to bother with what she was doing and also i cldn't carry her since preg unstable... Quite sad.

BARLEY
I still drank, but dunno whether chinese or english. But only 1 cup and occasionally...

sterilisers

No offence to anyone who has the avent sterilisers, but i find it rather silly, esp the one that claims it keeps the bottles sterile for up to 24 hrs. Cos when i read the fine print, it only promises to remain sterile if u dun open the cover.
But who will not open the cover for 24 hrs???

And i used the one my SIL passed to me, saw that the steam condenses inside the bottles so they are always damp, and I cannot stand seeing that.(ok, this is just me being fussy)

So in the end I just boiled my stuff in hot water, make sure all the water comes out after that and the bottles are very dry cos the water evaporates real fast when it's hot!

hi isabelle,

currently i m using the pigeon rapid steriliser. i like it alot.

infact i m ok to use the boiling method.

both methods can do a great job.

when #1, my CL used the boiling method till i bought the Avent Steriliser. I used it for 6 mths and stop as my girl was on total breastfeeding then.

Barley is a cooling drink be it chinese or english barley. Red dates is heaty but good for health. Esp those with little toddlers, they should give their child every week. I was in HKG in jan, and my chinese physician friend said that clearly. he asked me to use 8 red dates with 3 bowls of water to make into 1 bowl for my girl. currently, i am drinking red dates water every other day to curb my little MS. it works wonders.

~~juz me: sorry for being rather clueless on how to add my entry. can you pls help? thank you
Lmp:9/1/08 Edd:16/10/08 gynae:dr chan k h(glen E)
1st child: goat
~~Buffy:thank you for your advice.I have decided to see my gynae with a 4 wk interval as the last v scan was rather painful. About your boss, pls continue to ignore him.stay happy always for your baby.
~~jess:those ang ku kuey really look so nice I wish I could get my hands on them right now!!!
~~carole: I think I have the same lmp &amp;edd dates as yours.so, are you going for any oscar/triple test soon? thank you for the tip on red dates. would try though my MS not too bad but being super bloated from duphaston....
~~hi,all lovely ladies,
1)Do you find your tast buds changing rapidly?I can swing from spicy to sweet several times within the day. Never experienced this with my first pregancy...
2)What is the normal test/practice here in SGP for first trimester? i.e, are we expected to take tripe test? sorry for being so blur coz I did not have my first one in singapore then. THANK YOU

helo ladies, wah u girls post so FAST! i old ordi, cannot catch up. no time to check leh...*pant pant*.

jia lat, now i forgot who i need to reply to... i try lah huh...

Hey,those mommies with Dr TC chang, i envy you leh. not that my own gynae is not good, she is one of the best in the field i think. But hor....due to certain reasons, now if i wanna chaneg to Tc Chang, i am not allowed to! my gynae same clinic as him, and the nurses asked me all sorts of questions and say TC Chang wun accept patients from docs in the same clinic. it sucks..

That said, i did enjoy my labour and birth lah. i wanted a pro-natural birth. and I believe my birth plan helps that. my doc is one who, though firm in her ideas, is receptive to my birth plan. I am grateful to her for allowing me to have not induction, no bursting of waterbag, no IV drips. My labour is 26 hours. yep, 26 hours.....from the time regular contractions hit at 10mins interval, to the time my baby born. i practised hypnobirthnig, so i enjoy my first 20hours of my labour in quiet, with music and dim lights. it was coz it was too long labour thats why nurses kept urging me to have epidural else i wun have strength later. on hindsight, i am still grateful my gynae did not rush me into things. i know of a friend whose labour is slightly shortet than mine but gynae oredi felt impatient and told her she needs c-sec. i was given to labour in my own time, and that helped in my experience and memories.

blur, can i update my particulars? my EDD 25 Oct, LMP 19 Jan. 2nd child. my zodiac is snake. btw, why want zodiac ah? hehehee..

deli meats. deli meats like ham and sausages and turkey bacon etc are not very safe for preggies becuase of the risk of the bacteria it contains. if u wish to eat ham at home, boil it or bake it at high heat before eating. thats recommended lah..i do that. but i know of a friend who ate subway often but okie lah. i guess singapore its cleaner, but its better to be safe isn't it?

littleger, i visited Learning Vision, Maris Stella Kindy, Pats School House, Children's Campus, Carpe Diem, Eton Schoolhouse. thats 6!
very wide range in terms of price and school facilities. what have u shortlisted?

sylvie: i think the test happens between 11wks to 15 wks.

dunno why my tummy like on a rapid expansion manz. looks like 3th mths tummy manz. BIG! so scary. and the lower part below tummy always have this pain which i cant explain.

bunnyhop
u a hypnobirthing mummy too? Me too! Did u get ginny as doula also? I booked her again for this birth.
haha i can imagine the kan cheong nurses.
Oh ya, TC is quite receptive to hypnobirthing. When he came in to see me he actually asked me how my 'surges' were coming along. Ginny was so pleased! Hee hee. I was so in La La land I din even know he said that until i read her email!

My ex colleague also had kan cheong gynae. She went for check up and was found to be 2cm dilated. The gynae asked her to check in the next day to be induced. In the end it was so painful for her cos I think she wasn't even ready to birth yet!

littleger: Thanks for letting me know abt Dr. Ong's deliver hospital. I always forgot to ask jenny abt this.

Ladies: For those who had delivered before, do u have any feedback on Mt A &amp; Mt E's service and food? Coz i quite worried abt the standards.

Just came back after seeing Dr Woody for my flu &amp; sore throat. Dr say he was so scared seeing me!! Kekek... He thot I have bleeding again! Aiyo... Gave me some medicine for flu &amp; was surprised that he didn't charge.

isabelle, yah..I understand..I was spotting a little previously ...and for a month, I kinda neglected my son. just a few days ago, I recovered a little of my energy. Keep my fingers crossed, that I will feel better

Hi.

I'm from Jan MTB 2008 thread. Sorry to interupt but I have a pack of brand new Drypers XL 40 for sale. I wanted to sell as my mum bought the wrong size for my nephew. It is brand new &amp; not opened before. Willing to sell at $10. Meet up to collect at Eunos MRT. Interested party pls PM me.

<font color="119911">PureBliss>> ginger helps combat bloatedness (like teh alia but too bad we cannot take tea). quite effective i feel =) i ask my parents throw in some ginger in the food they cook but have not tried ginger water

icylemon>> thanks for the info! will pop by to check it out. think tangs and robinsons oso got some baby fair? yeah! friday at last =)

bunnyhop and isabelle>> ya i oso think is so fast! hee... can pls share ur experience with hypno birthing?? how come will want to do this? are u ladies locals? think not so popular with locals leh. any info to share? thanks!

<font color="119911">pls find the table here: http://spreadsheets.google.com/pub?key=pKVGMcTKrhbLRfVUmNmxidw

as for why zodiac, i oso cannot rmb leh. dunno how it came about.
btw for all snake and goat mums, do u ladies intend to do the oscar test??

<table border=1><tr><td>Name </TD><TD>LMP </TD><TD>EDD </TD><TD>Doctor </TD><TD>Child </TD><TD>Zodiac </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Autum</TD><TD></TD><TD>Sept 2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>storeberry</TD><TD></TD><TD>Sept 2008</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Yvonneho</TD><TD></TD><TD>25/09/2008</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang (TMC)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>rabbit </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>RibenaLi</TD><TD></TD><TD>27/09/2008</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong (Mt E)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>rooster </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Littleger</TD><TD>24/12/2007</TD><TD>1/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong (Mt E)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>snake </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>lili_fc</TD><TD>26/12/2007</TD><TD>7/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Yvonne (TMC)</TD><TD>1st </TD><TD>rabbit </TD></TR><TR><TD>Juz Me</TD><TD>27/12/2007</TD><TD>1/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee (Mt E)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>horse </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jollyhappy</TD><TD>27/12/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Makebaby</TD><TD>29/12/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>mousebb</TD><TD>30/12/2008</TD><TD>19/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Precious</TD><TD>31/12/2007</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian (Sengkang)</TD><TD></TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Hazeline</TD><TD>1/1/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian (CCK)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Diane</TD><TD>1/1/2008</TD><TD>6/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Lawrence Ang</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>rooster </TD></TR><TR><TD>leeyiling </TD><TD>1/1/2008</TD><TD>7/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Tham KF (GlenE)</TD><TD>2nd </TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD>CH Lee</TD><TD>2/1/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr HK Ho (MAH)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Everafter</TD><TD>2/1/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian (Sengkang)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>icylemon</TD><TD>2/1/2008</TD><TD>5/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Wee HY (KKH)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>snake </TD></TR><TR><TD>Pinny</TD><TD>5/1/2008</TD><TD>12/10/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jyo</TD><TD>5/1/2008</TD><TD>16/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Han (KKH)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>snake </TD></TR><TR><TD>AvrilMummy</TD><TD>5/1/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr HK Ho (MAH)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>cow </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>reichan</TD><TD>5/1/2008</TD><TD>24/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr TC Chang (TMC)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>snake </TD></TR><TR><TD>Buffy</TD><TD>6/1/2008</TD><TD>13/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Douglas Ong (Mt E)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>snake </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>angelbliss</TD><TD>8/1/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Emma</TD><TD>9/1/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Joyousmumsy</TD><TD>9/1/2008</TD><TD>16/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Chan KH (GlenE)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD>Gina Ang</TD><TD>9/1/2008</TD><TD>16/10/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>CarolNg</TD><TD>9/1/2008</TD><TD>16/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Thong (Raffles Hospital)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Wan_a_mousy</TD><TD>10/1/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>snake </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>monyetnakal</TD><TD>16/01/2008</TD><TD>23/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Mary Yang (GlenE)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>jane_lin</TD><TD>17/01/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD>bunnyhop</TD><TD>19/10/2008</TD><TD>25/10/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>snake </TD></TR><TR><TD>elchwong</TD><TD>20/01/2008</TD><TD>26/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Adrian (Sengkang)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>Rooster </TD></TR><TR><TD>PureBliss</TD><TD>21/01/2008</TD><TD>27/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Joycelyn Wong (TMC)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD>KimberlyTan</TD><TD>28/01/2008</TD><TD>29/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee (Mt E)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>blur_p</TD><TD>31/01/2008</TD><TD>6/11/2008</TD><TD>Dr Dolly Wee (Mt E)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>missk</TD><TD></TD><TD>4/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Oei PL (GlenE)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jasmine</TD><TD></TD><TD>8/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Lisa Chin (GlenE)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Chris Lin</TD><TD></TD><TD>8/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Adrian (Sengkang)</TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>dog </TD></TR><TR><TD>mspiggy</TD><TD></TD><TD>9/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Selina Chua (Mt E)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Janey</TD><TD></TD><TD>10/10/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Jess Li</TD><TD></TD><TD>14/10/2008</TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>LeahKeh</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Lim Y W (MAH)</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>preggie</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Ann Tan (Mt E)</TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Traz</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian (Sengkang)</TD><TD>3rd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>diaz</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>Dr Adrian</TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Lovebug</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>1st</TD><TD>goat </TD></TR><TR><TD>bunnyhop</TD><TD>19/10/2008</TD><TD>25/10/2008</TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD>snake </TD></TR><TR><TD>MrsLau</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>chea</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Karen</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD>2nd</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Xuanting</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Mrs H</TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD></TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD>Phtanus</TD><TD></TD><TD>end oct</TD><TD></TD><TD>1st</TD><TD> </TD></TR><TR><TD></td></tr></table>

<font color="119911">sorry trigger happy duplicate post

icylemon>> i oso dunno, heard about it only, say many baby fair around. taka, tangs and robinsons. but i myself havent go verify yet. prob must wait til weekend liao

Chris> I also visited Dr Adrian yesterday. After a long 2 weeks wait, finali managed to see bb's heartbeat. Bb is 2.4cm at 8weeks 6 days. So happy!

Cockles
I asked Dr abt the cockles in lakasa. He said if u had taken the Hep A jab, can go ahead and eat cockles. There is no higher risk whether u are pregnant or not. But if u hv not taken the jab, better avoid as u risk contacting Hep A. Pregnant ladies cannot take the jab. So i hv to stay away from my fav lakasa and cha kuay teow for the next 9 months..Boo hoo hoo..

Cold drinks/ice cream
Dr say no problem, can go ahead and hv them

Hi Rachel mummy,

week 10 and 5 days.

ya so happy to be able to see it moving.

i even went bought a device to hear the baby heartbeat.

so wat abt u ???

<font color="119911">yay!! can eat ice cream!!!! hee... good news for the weekend. thanks hazeline! :D too bad i have to keep off the hum too

chris>> hey does that baby heartbeat thing work? can hear?? mabbe can get one oso hee

hi chris,

i m in my week 9 &amp; 2 days.

i did a scan 2 weeks ago. bb not moving. too lazy i think. hehehe...

Hi Juz Me,

Can you pls help to update my details? Coz i duno how to post table. My EDD is 10 Oct 08.

I have not decided if I will be doing OSCAR as its not cheap (abt $300, 2yrs ago). This time round, mayb will do either scan or blood test. But if hubby decided to be safe, we might just decide to do the OSCAR again. I remember doing the OSACAR requires our bb's co-operation. When i did it previously, i had to go for many many scans and lots of waiting in between. Coz Dr cant see the bb's neck properly due to bb's position. End up i started at 9am and ended at 4+pm. When the Dr managed to get the proper scan, the blood test results which i had done in the morning is alredi out. So the Dr told me on the spot that my risk is low.

I tik we started to mention zodic coz it was CNY when the thread started, so we started to discuss like which zodic animal can or cannot "match" with mouse, since our bb will be mouse bb. But i guess, if wan to change, can also convert from "zodic" to "mommy's age" ba

ya

is not those aa batt but 9-vott batt.

the set came with 2 headphones, a mircophone a fetus speaker and 2 classical cd for the baby to listen.

<font color="ff6000">Morning everyone!

Thank God it's Friday.

As a goat mummy, I think I won't take the OSCAR test unless gynae recommends. Think it's for those above 30 or 35?

Abt car seat, I heard that some Graco ones have car seat combined with stroller. dunno whether worth it. think too early for me to think about buying either though...

Gambatte all the working mummies - not so many hours till the weekend! btw, I told my team leader yesterday cos they wanted me to travel for work this month. They were quite nice about it.

same as dimpletot. wnt be doing the OSCAR. but i think i wil do the NT Scan instead. coz i did tat during my 1st pregnancy.

<font face="tahoma"> Good morning ladies,
i'll be going to see my bb again later this afternoon... feeling gan cheong and excited

hope bb is growing v well!</font>

Chris> I was there with my hubby at abt 7pm - 7.45pm. Were u there at that time too? I was there sharing a big cup of Yummi yogurt with my hubby. Opps..ya, i was supposed to ask Dr if i can eat cold things, but i couldnt resist and just eat 1st while waitin for my turn

<font color="aa00aa">hazeline: wah! can take cockles ah? u just made my day! so maybe other shell fish can issit if we have the jab liao? kekekekekekekke</font>

~~Hi, Juz me, I try to update the spreadsheet but it said I have no permission to edit it. so, can you pls help? my Lmp:9/1/08 Edd:16/10/08 gynae:dr chan k h(glen E) This bb is my 2nd. Thank you!
~~Dimpletot:Graco is a gd brand.those that come with combi stroller tend to be more solid but very heavy and small too.I think it's quite fun starting to window shop around to have an idea what you like.
My last one is giant stroller with a small car seat, very cumbersome.sigh!
~~Carole:Thanks for the advice.I will go for NT as my Dr. doesn't do Oscar test. have to wait for my next scan in 3 wks time...seems v far away still...

Buffy> yup, Dr say pregnant or not, no impact on whether u can eat the cockles anot. During my non-preg days, i go ahead to eat them although i din take the jab. Now with bb, im more KS lor. Just stay away for the next 9 months. Oh no..how to survive w/o laksa and cha kuay teow for the nx 9 months? Seems like the more i cant hv it, the more i crave for it!

Not sure abt other type of shellfish leh, coz i only ask abt cockles

Chris> Oh, i was at the CCK clinic. So we couldnt hv met. U went in the morning? Coz if i remember correctly Dr Adrian's nite clinic on Thurs is at CCK wor.

It's Friday, mummies! I always like weekends even though I SAHM cos then can 'pass' my girl to hubby and MIL. Keke! This week is her 1st week in playgroup and by thurs, she kena runny nose from another classmate already. Best of all, she shared the virus with me, so now I also slight headache and sore throat. What to do hah? Can take any over-counter medication? Febs??? It's too minor to see a doc now, but I dun want it to get any worse.

As for the OSCAR, I did it for my first born even though I was before 30 then. Cos hubby kiasu lah. Will do for this one also. I remember for my last OSCAR, had to hold me pee for so long, bladder almost burst. Hahahaha... had to ask for toilet break, and the technician told me to empty half my bladder. Hahahaha.... so difficult to a-gah half a bladder.

As for the baby fairs, any deals on nuk bottles? I used avent previously but heard a lot of good comments on Nuk, especially for breastfed babies.

RibenaLi: I am also trying to decide betw Mt E and Mt A. Tinking of saving money and opt for Mt A.

Buffy: Sorry missed your earlier post. My appt with Dr Ong is next fri morning. Its only my 2nd appt, if not counting the one I went down last min due to bleeding. Oh his package starts at 16 weeks ah, then I no need decide so fast.

About food and appetite: Think I am one of the few mummies here who don't take hot and spicy stuff. I don't take ice cream, yogurt and milk too. Now I try drink soy milk.

sylvie, i usually go for any test that my gynae asks me to, cos i tot its more like a certificate that the child is alright. Maybe I scare lose lor

<font color="119911">joyousmumsy>> i updated liao wor. check the link ok? is in table oso (in order of LMP or EDD)

yoghurt>> can anyone confirm is ok to take vitagen/yoghurt during 1st trim??? i been taking leh...

icylemon>> must liao. i looking high and low for good one. any rec?

OSCAR NT>> whats the diff b/w oscar and nt?? got risk not?? me horse, will be 30 at delivery. dunno wanna take not leh