(2008/10) Oct 2008

mspiggy/dimple
I know in Singapore, parents are really busy earning money. But we can still love them, and teach them values. When I see those kids in class (by the way, they fought just now), I see crime. I don't see morals. I don't see values. Children, being children will act out to get attention. But these were different. And these were also those whom teachers called up, but gave very obvious 'don't care, don't bother me' attitudes. And I'm talking about parents here. So if parents are like that, how do we expect the attitudes of the children. I don't think most parents here are like this.

mint
I'm thinking of letting her join N1 in 2012. And then skip to K1 the following year. Can or not, like that?

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Wonder any ladies here read TodayMotherHood.com - online motherhood magazine?
http://todaysmotherhood.com/current </font>
<font color="ff0000">My gal YuXin is the coverpage for this month.

3585664.jpg

Today MotherHood
Dear reader,

Just a quick note to inform you that the Feb / Mar issue of our
magazine is out now. At the same time, we would like to
congratulate Hayden Phang Yu Zhe for being crowned the winner for
Jan Photogenic Baby Contest.

=> http://todaysmotherhood.com/current

1. In this issue, you will read about How to Introduce Solids to
Your Baby, Saying 'No' to Your Child the Easy Way, Raising
Chemical Free Kids, How to Enhance Your Bedroom Confidence This
Valentine's Day and many more.....Read about them all in our
magazine

2. New Listing in Our Directory
The Learning Ladder and Schoolhouse By The Bay celebrate with
pride, the expansion and continued growth of three beautifully
designed schools as an educational centre for over 500 students
from 18 months old to 6 years 11 months. The 3 centres offer both
half-day, full day and A5 afternoon enrichment as well as core
programmes. Find out more details at

=> http://todaysmotherhood.com/the-learning-ladder-schoolhouse-by-the-bay/

3. Chinese New Year is just round the corner. Do you wish to
create the opportunities and environment that are fun and
interesting for your child to learn more about the Chinese New
Year Culture and Traditional Customs? We have some
recommendations that you and your child can engage in during this
Chinese New Year Festival!

=> http://todaysmotherhood.com/chinese-new-year-for-kids/

4. Child Abuse in Singapore? What’s lurking around besides
the seemingly pristine picture of happy families, cheery smiles
and material luxuries? We take a deeper look at parents who yes,
abuse their own children.

=> http://todaysmotherhood.com/child-abuse-in-singapore/

5. Wong Lilin, one of Singapore's celebrity mum, shares with us
what she has been busy with. Find out what is "Wureka" and what
has "Loopz" got to do with it.

=> http://todaysmotherhood.com/interview-with-wong-lilin/

6. In a society where sex is still considered a rather taboo
topic, the conversation about sex and sexuality is a difficult
one to raise for most people–even between married couples.
Learn what to ask, how to ask it, and improve your love life!

=> http://todaysmotherhood.com/sexual-communication/

7. Did you take part in our Libella Giveaway Contest? Find out
if you are one of the lucky winners here

=> http://todaysmotherhood.com/libella-bedwear-winner/

Last but not least, remember to read our free magazine

Elaine Lau
Editor-In-Chief
www.TodaysMotherhood.com
Parenting in a New Era

dimple,
yeah... i like the way u said foot massage. cos think that's y LY dun dare to walk on the floor when we are outside. ytd, i tried and she even want to go round those bumpy area... keke

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">Saw some flaws on the picture.

yes, the sleeve. The photograph had edited this original picture so that the sleeve are not showing but she send in the wrong picture to the editor.
The editor say can't change cos the designer busy on other CNY projects le.</font></font>

dimpletot,
i wouldnt have been surprised if they had said 'the feeling's mutual'. Haha! My colleague who took them a year earlier also on the last day of school said loudly i hate this class. Sigh! I better not say anymore of some of the horrid things that we teachers would say. But that's only when we're really driven up the wall. Must add this as disclaimer. Heehee!

Shooshoos:
the soft soles are getting slippery for regina esp when she walks in shopping malls or in church. She had fallen a few times cos the sole had not much friction against the smooth flooring. So i'm more concerned about her spraining her ankle or something. Think time to graduate to rubber soles. I'm still so tempted to get a pair of clarks shoes. Haha!

karen,
that's why moe's new or rather not so new initiative is values education.

This is one reason why i chose to stay home to be with regina. It's really sad if you were to hear their individual stories. Sometimes i do wonder why some people want to have kids but can't be bothered to bring them up properly. I had a kid ask me before why his parents gave birth to him but never there for him. Sad man! But there's only so much we can do as teachers.

<font face="georgia"> <font color="119911">Karen,
I think no moral is "recognised" everywhere now. You know what the son's principal from PCF (former PAP) told me. They are changing their scope starting from Yr 2010, they will focus on teaching the kids moral values... they recognise that morals are not common these days and all the teens are getting worst.

Hi blur,
your girl looks very much like your son! </font></font>

<font face="comic sans ms"><font color="0000ff">mspiggy, ya looks like koko.

Just like Nat &amp; Wes ya. koko &amp; meimei looks the same.

btw, the stable pic, the one that Wes on the horse that u post on FB, where's the place? Is Wes scared when he in on the horse?</font></font>

<font face="georgia"><font color="119911">Hi blur,
ya... everyone also said Nat looks like Wes! kekekee

The horse riding is at Gallop Stable @ Pasir Ris Park. They also have another branch at Turf City. It's rather exp... 5 mins ride for $10!

Wes is not scared... he loves it
</font></font>

I was wanted to post this morning, but forum is down i think, cant seem to post anything.

I have been looking and reading on how to conceive a baby girl.. LOL..

Buffy,
it's ok if cant get the PJ..Cheer up

Blur,
yr girl is so sweet.. She's v fair huh??

Mint,
I think not every family can afford single income, so not easy to juggle between family and work. Living standard in SG is simply too high. I got a friend from china, hb from Thailand, her bb is same age as ours, her hb wanted to let her girl study and stay in China from birth eventhough both my friend and her hb is working in SG now. He said singapore child like getting bad.

tweety,
i agree that not all can afford to be on single income but still no excuse for parents who are both working to not teach their kids any moral values.

i finally bought a pair of clarks for regina. Haha! Found a pair that costs $58 rather than the $70 plus one that i saw.

joanne,
u know what really cracks me up at work..

happy aquarium: tapping on your fourth tank of pufferfishes and watching them blow up.

can do it alll day.. hahahha

karen,
as teachers we just do our best but since it's a relief assignment, f it and like what mint said, take them for muzak.

actually computer might work better..

<font color="aa00aa">Good morning mummies

For the past few weeks my family has been taking turn to see doctor until the GP knows us very well liao. Glad that wenxuan is recovering except his appetite is still poor. Yesterday wenmin and hubby went to see doctor and today is my turn again. Actually I just recovered from flu and cough less than 2 weeks ago... Feel so sian!</font>

Morning mummies!!
Gonna bring V for MMR+Chicken pox jab today.. Coz of this, I can give reason to off at 5.30pm.. keke..

Mint,
Really sad to hear that kids nowadays is so hard to teach.. I'm so afraid my kid will be a bad one in future.. I'm not a good mummy I think..

Pil,
wow.. you are crazy over FB games huh.. LOL..

Mousebb,
oh dear.. I think the virus is spreading ard your house.. do take good care ya..

re shoes...
i prefer to buy osh kosh, think slightly cheaper than clarks, i usually pay ard 40.

tweety,
once u find out how to conceive a girl can share with me...haha....i have 2 boy so hope to have a girl if possible...haha

lunch,
so confirm lunch tmr? how do i identify u all...my first time meeting u gal:p

<font color="0000ff">Tweety/Little Doggie,

So hardworking, now alrd planning on how to conceive a baby gal keke ;p~

<font color="0000ff">Btw, can I check if most mommies here let your child have the MMRV instead of juz MMR??

I'm still contemplating whether to let my boy just have MMR or the combined dose, care to share your opinion?

btw, dun give up trying even after ur ovulation. i made my #2 after a TCM doc ask me to cont trying even after my so call ovulation ended...

hi bluey - i let my boy have MMRV cos i wanted to avoid 2 painful jabs... so he will just cry once and get over it

re girls or boys - actually i will love to have a girl next...but seeing how difficult my fellow friends and myself try to conceive and how many miscarriages my fren suffer, i think gender is not impt. Most imptly is to able to carry a bb full term and have him/her delivered safely and bb b in good health.

<font color="0000ff">Vanilla,

But for MMRV it's 2 dosage right? the doc told me take the 2nd dose after the 1st one (6 wks interval)

Bluey,
I'm gg to bring my boy for MMR+Chicken pox tonight.. Second dose of MMR is at 11-12yrs leh.. so now only 1 dose..

JJmom,
I so bor liao hor.. I told my hb to give me 6 more mths first coz I wan to wear nice nice now.. hahaha...

Vanilla,
I agree that healthy baby is more important than gender.. We are just hoping.. even if we kena boy, we still ok..

wow...so many adviser :p

tweenty, the calendar looks good...so many information at one go.

lilbluey, no lah...juz getting the information first mah...haha...i may or may not want anther 1...cos now with 2 boys i already half dead...haha...nowadays both wants my attention, dun know if i can handle 3 kids worst still if 3rd one also boy i think i will faint...hahaa

Re: MMRV...mostly be letting my boy take the combined dose. 1 time pain instead of 2 time.

Vanilla/tweety,
ya juz hoping if can have another girl in the family will be nice (boys bored mah, girl can doll them up :p)...if kena boy, will still be ok so long as healthy!

<font color="0000ff">Tweety,

According to the doctor who advised me, she said for MMRV there's 2 dose, take one now and the 2nd one 6 wks later so that the child will not be subject to the MMR jab when he's 11-12 years of age..hmm..so which is right?

<font color="119911">bluey,
hmm...i m gng to delay this MMR or MMRV till Nat is 18mth when she is gng to attend some classes or whatever =P</font>

<font face="georgia"><font color="119911">good morning ladies,
wow... all planning for girls now

I do agree with Vanilla... gender is not impt as long as bb is healthy. Similar to her, seen too many sad cases and all happened to my close frds.

Lilbluey,
MMRV 2nd dose doesnt happen so soon, maybe you can call up to confirm again.
Am planning to give combined too, will give after CNY.

re : weight gain
Just to share... my "used-to-be giant" Natalie at birth is weighing only 9.5kg @ 16 mth! PD said she's slightly below avg now. She asks if she's eating and sleeping... she is but she's very active, taking very short nap. Sianz.... how to "pump" her up??
</font></font>

<font color="0000ff">RE: MMRV

Think I better go read up more before deciding if I shd let my boy have it, so many conflicting views hahaha

<font color="0000ff">Mspiggy,

As long as Nat is eating/drinking/sleeping well, shdn't be a cause for concern, our bubs are now burning more calories as they are more mobile and active now

little doggie,
That's what I like abt that. got boy and girl planning.

Bluey,
I bring my booklet with me, it's stated 2nd MMR is 11-12yrs old leh.. Maybe I check with GP tonight.
I think no right or wrong ba.. I feel every PD or GP is different..

<font color="0000ff">Tweety,

She told me MMR is 2 doses, one at 15 mths and the other when the child is in Primary school. For MMRV it's different hmm, maybe you check tonite and update us? Thxs

little doggie

just look out for the most fabulous looking bunch of ladies. hahhahaa. buay paiseh. kidding lah, i PM u my number. call if can't find us.

mspiggy

maybe let her snack more? healthy stuff lah.

lilbluey

I'm also letting k take MMRV all at once. save a jab.

mint

Regina really getting shoes fit for a queen eh? hee.

growth spurt

do u find yr kids growing kinda fast suddenly? k's bursting out of her rompers. some hard to button liao. i want another GIMMIL SALE!