(2008/10) Oct 2008

Karen, tell me abt it. The clinic is at raffles link. I try to schedule it on days Miki has class and then on sat morn. So I dun have to go out everyday.

XY, you know we have a boy in Miki's class that looks very much like Marcus! Cutie...

Mspiggy,
I still carrying Isaac as per normal lay, is so hard not to carry him. He is a super glue to me especially now lo. I cant bear to reject him, coz i do not want him to feel neglected. But sometime i will feel some discomfort (e.g. mild stomachache) after carrying him for long. And he getting more and more active, is very tiring for me now...

Oh ya, any bubs here still cant walk steadily? Isaac can only walk the most 10 steps unassisted, he is 15.5mths old now. Is this normal?

dimpletot,
katie looks so cheeky in the photo. Heehee! And she she looks tall from the pic.

mspiggy,
i still havent decided which diaper bag i want. Haha! So didnt reply your msg in fb.

Xy,
ya the first time i saw the boy i was like is that marcus? Haha! So cute!

weight issue:
i've stopped being so concerned after regina hit the x3 birth weight.

busybee,
I don't actually correct it cos certain vowels/consonants are still beyond them to pronounce. Take Regina for example, she'll say 'boo' for book so I just tell her yes, clever girl, book. So I'm praising her for her attempt at the same time saying the correct word for her to listen.

ms piggy,
You might want to increase her protein intake to increase her weight. I do see a slight increase in weight when I give Regina like say tofu plus fish or egg plus pork in her porridge. But what worked for Regina was more of me switching to white rice completely rather than brown rice.

<font face="georgia"><font color="119911">Phtanus,
I understand... my son was super super sticky to me. I must carry him to sleep every night. Actually after that bleeding, I still carry him but not as often... coz how to reject them right?

mint,
no worries... take your time

thanks for sharing the tips, actually Nat is taking some minced meat and fish everyday. But tofu and egg is not her daily food... maybe will ask my mum to add more of these for her meals.

she's taking white rice... actually brown rice is more healthy for them. </font></font>

busybee
i also dun correct my tod's pronunciation... if she says the right thing, i am like mint, we praise her and clap hands to encourage her...

Lilbluey, missed your reply. Point taken. I guess i might just get the curly bamboos.

Mint, oh i see. I shall try that. So should I like tell her, yes that right its "MILK" (miki says Ke",) she probably picked up the last sound only. So she can hear more of the right sound to the word?

<font color="ff6000">busybee,
like mint &amp; jelly, i also don't correct Nat's pronunciation if she is on the right track unless when she is totally wrong like eg. saying 'cat' is 'dog'.

We will also praise her for the gd try &amp; coz of tat, she will go on to try again for a few more times to earn more praises...kekeke</font>

busybee,
yes I'm still looking for it. Can send me the link? Thanks.

Yup, just keep telling them the right word and later on they'll just catch on. Regina goes ffff for puff... haha!

ms piggy,
Brown rice is not really useful for them at this age as they have lots of energy to burn so there's no need to restrict on their carbo intake. It's healthy more for us as adults. The only good thing about brown rice for them is the fibre which can be easily replaced with fruit and veg. I learnt this from a mummy who attended some seminar on food for kids. It worked for me cos when Regina was on brown rice initially, her weight just remained stagnant. Then only when I did the switch, I saw her grow. Heehee!

hi busybee - is that boy in minibee's class called issac?

re correcting- the book said dun correct...like my son.. that day he was reading his book and i asked him where is the mouse..he thot i said mouth and point to his mouth..haha it is like mummy has pronunication prob.

mspiggy - my PD told me to add extra virgin olive oil to my son's porridge.. but silly mummy sometimes forget.

HI phantus - my boy just managed to walk on his own, he overcome his scaredy cat fears after i let go my hand and have him run/walk towards me as i walk backwards... he got more confident and now will walk by himself.

nowadays the lazy boy will walk to me, hug my legs and go "bao bao"...

my son only says 3 words..now some words he does not even say in bb language, like no he just go "umpf" like a doggie...sigh!

Helloo mummies! ;)

MMRV:
Kaelyn took her MMRV jab orie at 15mths and the next dose/jab will be at 18mths. Think there has to be an interval of at least 6weeks.
So for MMRV, cfm there will be 2 jabs. The 2nd jab think more PDs will recommend bubs to take again when they are ard 18mths instead of when they enter Pri school. ;)
Side effects of the jab is fever &amp; rashes which will take place ard the 5th day or within 1wk/aft 1wk of the jab..
But still it depends on ur bub. My nephew took it and he did not experienced any fever but Kaelyn did. She started to feel feverish on the 5th day of the vaccine and it lasted for few days, on/off low grade fever lor.
Hope this info helps.. ;)

Weight issue:
Think at their age now, growth seems slow leh.... Not putting much weight as compared to the past.. ;) But hor think bfeed bubs tend to be on the smaller side! =)

It's been a long time since I last log in! Great to see pics of the little ones when I log in today! Hope everyone's doing great and are well-prepared for the upcoming CNY (though I'm unprepared)!

thanks mummies! She's lil miss sunshine la.

Mspiggy

Nat looks cheery and healthy, so like you say, no worries lah.

Jelly

wow - eating leaves?! at least u know she won't reject veggies.

Brown rice

Kate still eats mostly brown rice, but when we are out she will 'supplement' with white rice (almost like a snack haha). Thank God white rice outside is readily available and cheap.

Mint

do u cook special white rice or just what the adults eat?

Hello mommies

About weight - dont worry too much over this. Adults also come in all shapes and sizes mah, so some bubs will be more petite while some will be bigger sized. As long as they are active, healthy and happy, I dont see a real concern lah. CH's birth weight was 3.295kg, he was 11.5kg and 83cm tall when we last took measurements when he turned 15 months

Woo... marcus has a "twin".
Go take a group picture and let me drool over that handsome boy. SUre handsome, coz u all say look like marcus.

Maybe, i can kidnap him to be my #2. Wahaha...

talking bout pronunciation, Julian kept saying brack....brack... till I realised my indo maid cant pronounce the word BLACK!

Now he can say Black. And i have to tell him, sweetheart, that's RED! haha

Vanilla, busybee,
The boy's name is Ryan. Heehee!

dimpletot,
I buy the 'new rice' for her. If oos, then I just get calrose rice.

about talking:

hahahaha not sure if "mum mum" for eating, "nan nan" for milk, and "ssssssssss" for cheeze are considered words... hahaha... I think the only real words he can say are "ma-ma", "pa-pa", "ah-ma" and "ah-mmm" (for grannys)...

Mint, i use calrose rice for miki too. I like that it comes in a small pack.

Jelly ,was the zoo outing planned for this week? Sigh if so I can't. Unless its AM cos I need to be back by about 1pm.

<font color="ff6000">jelly,
rebby is so cute, go eat up the leaves at the garden...kekeke

nat likes to poke holes into them...hmm...din notice if she eats them anot, mayb we din even know =P

Karen, your 'at least rebby loves her veggies' statement made me LOL in office...wahahaha</font>

Words... I was browsing at borders and came across a book about first words. It got me quite worried when the charts say babies should have a 50 word vocab by 18 months. I brought it up with PD he brushed it off and said that it was rare. So dun worry mummies. Our little ones are learning passively now. So READ READ READ or just talk to ur bub. I am sure they are learning all the time.

JJMom, have u decided on preschool for Nat? I heard that Carpe Dieme at Punggol end has a nice environment... I am thinking of checking them and Pat's at Lim Ah Pin out. Have u gone to recce?

hi mint/busybee...opps then wrong boy!

I just bot japanese rice for my son..haha cos we went to keyaki that day and he loves my rice..but just for him, me and hb eat thai umbrella rice

Hey busybee,
maybe the book meant babies shd understand 50 words and respond to them. Like if you ask where the car is and they point to the car?

hi busybee... by 2 yrs the child must know 20 words or off to speech therapist -- that is the pd guidelines.

i just hope my son dont pick up the words his dad uses when driving..sigh..

Vanilla, calrose is the same type of short grain that is used for jap rice. It says on packaging, did u get the jap brands? Is it pricey? Dun mind splurging for my sweetheart!

Carpe Dieme, tat's 1 of the cc tat i m keen on too but nope, we have not been down yet. Dayspring is another option tat i m considering but it's only a playgroup. They r both at punggol end &amp; transport mayb a problem for us (-_-)''

Discussed with Nat's dad abt Pat's at Lim Ah Pin, he is not keen of the location too, sigh...</font>

hi busybee - i got mine from Meida-ya and it is from Japan. 1kg $19. I picked the middle range price... pink packaging. There are some much more exp but also heavier.

it is really "soft" cook shortwhile will soften and gluey...good for me to teach him to chew.

rebby only knows how to call me, my hubby, her po po, gong gong and ocasionally goes "no no no" when i say "no no no"...

i am worried about the 20 words by 2yo... i hope she's able to do that

busybee
i thought it is this week, 7 feb... so i am chkg w buffy now...

jjmom
actually, just bcareful what nat puts in her mouth... some leaves have saps and all, so just watch out when possible!

bigflamingo..when he is heated up he forgot that he has a little boy at the backseat picking up what he says..

i just hope one day he doesnt say to me "mummy i ** dun want my milk"... courteosy of his dad!

JJmom, the schools at punggol end have transport option. Yeah apparently Dayspring not bad too.

Vanilla/ Bigflamingo... no leh. The book specifically says 50 words vocab. Not like comprehension only but spoken. So i was stunned. Guess can't believe everything you read. 20 words is fair... Phew!!

Bigflamingo, Blistering Barnacles is soooo funny. I say NERD. Not very creative.

Vanilla, oooh shall go meidiya to check out next time we go to Royce.

hi busybee - this 50 words maybe apply to ang mo cos they have just 1 lanaguage so their babies maybe shld say 50 words then, but our bb here know chinese, cantonese, teochew and maybe malay or bahasa indo leh...

dun worry it is def 20 words by 2yrs cos I checked w my PD.

I go home and check the name and post to u tom here?

<font face="georgia"><font color="119911">I doubting my Natalie can speak 20 words by 2 YO. She's rather slow in speech compared to her bro... I always thought #2 will be faster coz there's elder one to learn from.

re : meidi-ya shopping
whenever you gals coming, pls beep me! i'm working very nearby...
</font></font>

<font color="ff6000">talking of our toddlers picking skills/habits, we notice tat Nat seems to have picked up (dunno from who) expressing her displeasure by raising &amp; flapping her arm down in an angry manner. Worried this may led to something more violent next, like hitting somebody who 'offend' her (-_-)''

Any other toddlers here behaving like tat? How shd we correct her?</font>

jjmom
rebby is worse... when she is angry, all she does is cry and clench her fists. i usually leave her alone. i dun try to correct her cos i dun think she fully understands what she does is wrg... but she is testing my patience

i heard the school bus for punggol end schools take 1hr to tour the whole of punggol b4 the poor kids get to the school (-_-)''</font>

<font color="ff6000">Jelly,
Nat also cry out loud when she can't have her way too &amp; yes, we will leave her to cry too but we will tell her y she can't have her way &amp; to stop crying. But most times, she cry even louder &amp; we juz let her cry =P

Juz tat this week, she seems to add on this action when she is disturbed &amp; upsetted abt it.

this morn, she pushed me away with an angry voice when i try to kiss her while she is busy playing with something else...sob sob, so hurted

jjmom
dun take it to heart... dun think they did it on purpose. hugs...

apart from that, one of rebby's bad habits is shouting! if she wants something, she will shout and scream for it!

<font color="ff6000">Vanilla,
hmm...tat's what i did so far but wonder does she really understand? she din look like she understand...

We will only hug/carry Nat after she quiet down from her cry in order not to confuse her tat we r ok with her behaviour after all.</font>

<font color="0077aa">hi all... i am back... sorry, i had 3 meetings since the start of today and one was a presentation of my marketing plan to the regional director. my brain feels kinda fried...

re: zoo. who else is able to go?

I go by memory ok 'cos I cannot recall. But just to share, I am OK to organise this but on the actual day, I cannot attend. 'Cos yesterday, my ILs just confirmed that they want to have reunion dinner on 7th 'cos they are travelling to meet my BIL who is not based in SG. Sigh... And what happened is that I already told my mum that we will have it on the same day. So no choice, gotta push the dinner forward to lunch and hence, too rush for us.

The list:
Jelly
Busybee
Icylemon
XY

Who else was keen? Mint? BigFlamingo?? YPG???

Also, who can get complimentary tickets and like what busybee suggested, the rest get food? Pls add on to the list and perhaps indicate next to your name if you want to volunteer to bring / buy food?</font>