(2008/09) Sep 2008

the 3D cake so nice. If I knew earlier will order for my girl birthday
have order those 2 tier cake from pg instead.

MummyNana:
I'm not the one who cut the cake.
my sis did it.
ya, head 1st, bit by bit, u need someone to help, she cut the head into half, then put on the plate, b4 she cut into small pcs and gave to ppl.

Mamyvelle:
I tot of ordering from pg, but they charge tansport fee. also i try the cake few time, not really to my liking so we go ahead with this 3d cake, although not cheap, but compare to those tier cake, it almost the same price. so we go ahead with ecreative.

whole chalet, the most outstanding is the cake, there was a guy from next door chalet came over to see the cake and even took the picture of the cake. something i'm proud of it. ha ha ha

think their friend's son also celebrating 1st year old, the different is, they cut their cut in the afternoon.

Jasmine,
Aiyoh.. u muz b so sad when ur sis cut the cake. Think I will cut the head n leave a side 1st. Coz we will be having cubes of ANVELLE too. So give them the body and the cubes first... Haha

Actually no lei, maybe i'm not the one who cut.
heart pain, cos $200 plus is gone.

the light not bright enough, so my ohoto all turn out dark. Sian...
Somemore my ger fall asleep when my guest start to arrived, then at abt 8.30pm, they want to leave, no choice but to wake her up, lucky she catch some sleep, so she happily entertain the guests.

Thanks MummyNana

I may order from ecreative, really like the 3D cake. Will also need to order a smaller one from elsewhere to bring to his school for the teachers

Hi Amyvelle
It costs more because the cake is 4kg. Actually they have 2kg cakes that cost 80 plus.

Mamyvelle/ Lynn,
The 3D Pooh cake (chocolate sponge/ blueberry filling) plus the mini round cake as seen in Jasmine's post is 3kg at $240. Additional cubes (to form the name) is charged at $5 each.

hi lynn

my girl's bday cake was fr e-creative. not 3d, just a simple 1 figure. personally I enjoyed the cake. it was not sweet & v light. my guests liked it too. i ordered vanilla sponge with strawberry filling. hope this helps
only thing was they gave me a blue car & silver car instd of one pink car as shown in the pic on their website.. sob sob

dmbb,
Think you have to state clearly to them. Coz the gal who took my order asked me specifically the colours I want to hhv for the cubes and the design for the base.

mummynana... heheh, i thought what I see is what i get.. they didn't put any fine print that pics are for illustration only. in any case, if they had used a little common sense, they would realise the cake is for a girl, my baby's name is a common girly name :p & 1 car became 2 cars! well, at least she's having fun playing with the cars now

I pd $230 for the cake plus $2.50 for the number 1 candle.
I called them to order the cake.
maybe it 3d, so the price is much more ex. else their normal cake is $40 per kg.

hihi mummies,
happy birthday to all sept bb ... Zen just celebrated a mini party yesterday ..felt so bad for him compared to his gor gor ... anyway I will be back in sin on 14th sep ... kekeke .. cant wait to land there .

My computer is down already and i have to wait for hubby laptop from his office and can only surf the net at night ... cant wait to send my laptop for repair in sin ..

<font color="aa00aa">annteo (annteo) - Happy Bday to Ryan! The PG cake is pretty! What flavour is it?

3D cakes - these look amazing as well! Think I will order a 3D one for K's 2nd bday next year!

ALso, happy birthday to all the other babies who have just celebrated their 1st bday!! Kieran's was almost 2 weeks ago already...how time flies! Our babies are all fast progressing to toddlerhood

Sorry mummies,
just wan to rant the things out of my heart.
I know my birthday celebration is over for almost one week, but there r things i'm so unhappy with my mil.

On the 1st night, my hubby wanted to invite few friends over to have a mini gathering, so he planning for a buffet, so when my mil heard it, she say she want to join in, cos sat got a lot of relatives, scard if she asked all of them on sat, she can't entertain all. so be it, since we tot she might not have too ,uch friends, end up she got 20 ppl coming, so to save trouble, we order the food to be BBQ. Later when her friend started to come in, she happend to find out my ger will clap her hand when u asked her to. so when her friends start to come in one by one, she will asked to clap her. In the 1st place, she will still clap her hand, but after a few, she didn't even to move her hands, I was thinking to myself, y kept asking her to clap hands, just because u want to show off how, lucky she is tired and don want to entertain her any more. so the rest of the night, she never clap again. end up, my hb never had a chance to talk to his frined, cos he was busy BBQ for my mil's friend, told HB, in this case, should have order buffet. at least he won't be so tired plus he can entertain his friends, end up so paiseh, his frined helped out in the BBQ.

Then 2nd night, actual celebration, before we blown the candale, she asked to take photo together, so we took turn to take photo. end up, when blowing the candle, it was her beside us, not my HB, k, maybe it my fault, never asked hb to step in, end up photo taken is her, eleanor and me, no hb.
then came to cut the cake to be given out, so we cut the small cake beside the care bear, already never cut very big, she still asked to cut smaller, cos she tot the care bear cannot be eaten, faint lo, i spent $200 plus on small cake. it was then my sis cut the care bear, then she know it can be eaten, then she start saying, like that can give bigger pcs, ya, u already give to most of them, still got ppl want to eat meh. my sis already told her there is still a lot, no need to cut so small pcs, don know is she never heard us or what, end up, i had a lot of cake left behind.

Sorry, mummies for my long long complaint, feel so much better. even my hb is a bit pissed off with her mum.

Re: PG
Saw so many ppl ordering fr PG tat I decided go down down to purchase the sliced ones to try. Bought 1 pc each of Lychee Martini, Baileys, Hazelnut Crunch n Triple Layer Chocolate. Cost: $2.40 - $3 per slice.

So here's the review from the gals in my office...
LM - Lite but no liquor taste, Baileys - Hint of Baileys/ Coffee liquor, Hazelnut - Notin special, Triple Choco - Rich chocolate taste. Overall, cake is soft. All in all, reasonable in terms of the price.

Jasmine,
It's ok... MILs do get on our nerves sometimes. So were u left wif a lot of cakes? Paisey ah... But hw many ppl can the cakes serve? And do u hv a pic of the candle they hv at eCreative?

would like to ask if your darlings has started to sleep thru the night? I am really yearning for this day to come that my boy who is coming to 1 in a few weeks time to sleep thru.. sigh.. super sianz!

I've never posted before but have been reading with interest.

My Son Jared will turn 1 on 29 Sept and we will be having a small party for him on 27 Sept. I've ordered a cake from Ai mummy so will post up pictures after the partee!! Oh yeah, I also bought balloons from cannot remember who liao.

I have some questions - i want to send my son to like some interaction/education classes just to play play for fun like once a month or something on weekends to interact with other children. Where is a good place to go? Any recommendations?

Also my breast milk supply is decreasing like no body's business. I feed him directly n pump like mad (squeeze until last drop) also cannot increase le. Anyone having the same problems?

I pump about 14 - 16 ozes a day and maybe feed him direct about another 6 - 8 ozes (i think la). Any advise from any mummies out there? Is this normal for breast milk supply to drop after one year?

@tinkerbell - my son sleeps through the night since 8 weeks old. But he sleeps very late - abt 10 - 11 pm and wakes up on weekdays at 7 am (we wake him up cos we go to work) or about 9 am on weekends.

Sometimes he will wake up at night and fidget around but usually fall asleep after like 10 mins without drinking any milk. We just pat pat him to sleep. I read that better not to feed them milk when they wake up at night or else even more they will wake up, so i don't feed him milk. But sometimes (once every 2 weeks), he wake up in the middle of the night and cannot go back to sleep then i will bf him and then he will go back to sleep.

: )

Also if you guys go for classes with ya babies and need anyone to join - rope me in!!

Happy Birthday to all Sept bb!! The pictures r very nice and the cakes r lovely. N your babies r soooo cute!!

Some of your children look like can walk already le - my son crawl also can fall down.. Kekekekek

Well i'm off to sleep now and will check back on this thread tomo morn while at work. Muahaahh

Good nite mummies - let's hope our babies sleep well tonite and we can rest well.

Tinkerbell-I did what Melanie does too, usually just pat my boy back to sleep if he wakes up, occassionally gives him milk if he couldn't go back to sleep after half an hour. He usually sleeps at 9.30 and wakes up at 6 plus. I'm fine because i go to work at 6 plus too.

Melanie- I send my boy to infant care for half a day since he was five months. They have flash card, kindermusik, storybook reading, phonics and outdoor play. He enjoys school and likes to be with his friens. Certainly a good idea to enroll him in some classes.

Btw, Happy Birthday to All our princes and princesses

Tinkerbell,
Hw I use my gal will sleep thru too! She will wake up 1-2 times in the nite. I usually latch her on n she will fall aslp soon after. I m trying to wean her off now tat my milk supply is depleting till almost no more liao.

Melanie,
If you see any such classes, let me noe too! Haven't sent Anvelle to any enrichment classes. Only brought her to Polliwogs once. And she is in the ball pit most of the time.

Guess everyone is busy with birthday preparations!

Talking abt sleeping habits, i realized that my bb will only doze off to sleep after 11pm! It used to be 10pm!

For mummies who has bb that can sleep as early as 9pm, got secret 'methods' as how to achieve it?

My bb wake up once in the middle of the nite, but i just feed him milk so that he can ji-tao go to sleep rather than struggling wif him. Hope it is not a bad habit

Good morning mummies..

Lynn, which IFC you send your boy to? They got flash card and kindermusik???

Melanie, a total of 20 to 24oz of milk per day is very good to me! I'm only able to express 6 oz of milk per day, and latch on (but very little milk) at night. My supply this week has dropped drastically cos of cracked nipples! My boy has been waking up every hour to latch on for the past 1 week and I counted that I latched him up to 6times at night! Sob sob.. that's how I got cracked sore nipples and supply went all the way down! He used to latch only twice a night (which is perfectly fine to me), but it's now 6 times a night, and I'm struggling!!

I've got BIG PROBLEMS..
1. He doesnt drink formula
2. He doesnt drink from milk bottle!

SOB SOB.. how!!!!

Hey Rachel,

Don't worry - you still breastfeeding at 1 year is a great achievement liao.. Actually not drinking formula and not drinking from milk bottle is a very common problem, I know lots of kids like that also. A lot of my friends and colleagues BB also have this problem. They just have to feed them more food and usually if bb is fussy they also don't like to eat food *faint*.

Also sometimes BB will wake up many times a night for a few nights - i feel most prob is teething.

Aiyo for me to pump 15 oz of milk a day i have to pump like mad lor. I pump in the morn when i wake up aft my bb don't want to drink anymore - i quickly pump all my milk out. Then i pump at work at 10:30 am again. Then at 2Pm again and then at 5:30 pm again. And each time i squeeze until the last drop man!! so stresssss....

i feel the more i pump then can maintain the supply. The moment i pump less - the supply will drop. So if you want to increase - you can try pumping more at work.

Lynn - i can't send my boy to infant care (even for half day) cos of his scedule and his caregivers schedule. So only option left is those ad hoc classes - so if anyone has any links or advice to share or want to combine for one class - pls share!

i think it'll be quite fun if we could all go together.

MummyNana:
Hmmm... as for the cake, I did ask the person when I order, normally it can served up to 30, but of cos, depend how u cut the cake.
Sorry, I never took the pic of the candle.
Anyway, It was simple one with some colour and griter. and it cost $2.50.

<font color="aa00aa">Goldfish (goldfish1395) - Kieran sleeps typically at 8.30pm! Used to be at 10+pm when he was younger (before 6 mths), but he hardly ever sleeps during the day now, so we pushed earlier to 8.30, ocassionally even 8pm. He gets by with about 1-2 hours of nap during the day, and sleeps from 8.30pm-6.45am most nites, waking up 1-2 times for milk (bad habit). No special technnique - just a final nite feed, some self talking/rolling around on the mattress, then zzzz

Not feeding milk at nite - I think its a bad habit that is v hard to break
K isn't hungry but rejects water in the middle of the nite; so no choice have to feed milk! Think he finds alot of comfort in milk - will go "hehehe" and be all excited when he sees his milk bottle.

Melanie Shum (melaniessl) - Kudos for still BFing! I stopped at 10+ months cos K was teething very quickly &amp; it hurt to latched on - also cos he cannot lie still to BF by then!</font>

Goldfish

My baby sleeps at 8+ and wakes up at 7 or 7+ when i wake up for work. Even if she is sleeping, she will wake up i think she knows i'm going to work.

My baby still wakes up for milk. normally is once twice is the most.

I also hoping she will sleep through.

MummyNana
My baby starts to drink step 3 FM mix with step 2 now.

I think if your baby sleeps early like about 8 pm and sleeps till 7 am - then it's ok if they wake up once for milk. Coz it's quite a long sleep.

I also had problems with my son biting me when bfing - i had to train him. Like when he bite me i did not show any reaction at all even though i was screaming inside : ). The more you react such as screaming or yelling or even laughing the more they will do it again to see your reaction.

Yes my son also very very fidgety when bfing - sometimes even if i move my hand to scratch my nose he will stop drinking. So when i feed my son, my whole house (hubby and maid) will have to keep absolutely quiet and nobody moves!!! Muahahahaha but it works..

Happy Birthday to all the Sep babies! My gal birthday celebration is next Saturday at our place. I ordered from YSL and hope it's good cos never tried before but read not-too-bad reviews.

My gal has been sleeping through (FINALLY!) since a couple of months ago from 9ish to 7am. She has a last feed at 11ish with eyes close and semi-conscious, and usually goes back to sleep immediately till the next morning. The secret? We trained her to sleep through since she was about 2 months by weaning her off midnight feeds. Maybe you gals could try it.

Rachel,
Got to keep trying lor. Maybe it's the particular brand of FM?

Melanie,
My gal used to bite me when I latch her on too but not anymore. My Pd taught me to say no firmly each time she does tat n she stopped after a couple of days.
Isn't it very tough if no one can talk/ move in the hse when he's drinking milk? Wat if u bring him out?

re: Sleeping at nite
U are all lucky mummies. My Anvelle only sleeps after 11pm everyday. Sometimes, mummy watches her till fall asleep, she is still crawling around.

Sleeping at night:
E sleep at abt 11pm, sometime she do wake up in the middle of the night, we will only give her milk after feeding few time of water and she still cry. of cos this actually make us tired, compare she used to sleep throughout the night.

Kaylen sleep around 8+ dan around 1 or 2+ wake up then after his milk he doesnt goes back to sleep straight after that he will stay awake around the most 30 min or so then pat him to sleep. every morning wakes up around 6+. i wil be super tired when i go to work

hi mummies..

thanks for all your feedback..

Lets hope and wish and wish and wish our darling will start to sleep thru soon.. =)

hi Melanie Shum,

read ur post and realise our boy have the same birthday! hee hee.. which hospital did u delivered ur boy??

I've attended "afew" trial classes.. I confess! I'm a ks mummy.. =P.. okie.. we went to the little gym (forum) to the little gym (marina sq = free) to gymboree to jwt to kindermusic..

I am oso busy preparing my boy's bd.. just confirm my boy's cake 2 days ago.. phew.. one thing of my mind.. =)

Hi Rachel

My boy goes to Rosy Hearts BAbies which is near bukit timah. He's there from 9am to 3pm. The programme is good and the teachers r great. Btw, they do montessori skills too. Would like to send my boy gym lesson too on weekend as he is too active
keep me updated

my boy sleeps at 9pm nightly. In the Day he takes 2-3 times nap 10-12.30pm, 1.30pm to 2.30pm (sometimes) 4pm to 6pm.

In the night, he still craves for milk at 2am. i have tried feeding water but he will wail at the top of his voice for milk. Old folks believe milk is good for them.

Wanted to share with you mummies some stuff i made in class today which made me appreciate the ai-Mummies of the world who pain -stakenly do cakes for birthdays.

2921342.jpg

Bigtoes, Kieran sleep so early..
Iam ashamed.. becos Iam a late nite cat so my boy is only sleep after 1am and wake up at 11am....exactly same as me...
and he will wake up at 8am for Milk then will sleep again...

<font color="aa00aa">breadmum (breadmum) - Yes, ur cup cakes are lovely ~ i like the bright blue one the best - the simplest but very cheery
And yes, i wish i could bake like ai mummy as well! Takes alot of hard work, patience &amp; artistic skills to come up with the cute designs.

yun (cutieyunyun) - K hardly ever sleeps during the day (sometimes as little as 30min - 1 hour) and usually rubs his eyes by 8+pm, so we put him to bed by 8.30pm. Its also good cos then hubby &amp; i can at least spend some alone time together, unwinding after the long day. I only wished that he could sleep right through, &amp; not wake up like clock work between 6.30-6.45am every day - esp weekends!</font>

breadmu,m : the cakes are so nicceee , look so yummy , am so hungry now :X

baby sleeping time
so envy all of u lor , my girl slp at 1a.m plus . till morning 9+ . but in between may be 1-2 feeds.
In the afternoon she takes 2 naps. try to cut short to 1 nap hoping that she slp earlier but does not works. when she feel tired , she still slps.