(2008/09) Sep 2008

Storeberry,
Do you have a fixed routine for smallberry? I started the routine for baconboy and he has since be able to sleep thru. His last feed used to be at 9pm..now he can sleep right after his feed at 7pm. How abt feeding smallberry more milk at his last feed of the day?

I read the same article as you did - to soothe baby whenever they cry so that they feel secured and loved. I have been doing that whenever baconboy cries in his sleep..i just pat and hug him and tell him mommy is here, say a prayer and let him go back to sleep. Maybe u wanna try?

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Storeberry</font>
sob sob... i can't go now. Gotta go gm house coz she celebrating her bday...

<font color="ff0000">l'l CY</font>
haha.. when Max couldn't flip.. i worried abt it. Now i worry dat Max wouldn't learn how to sit and crawl. He juz cut sit still always want to stand.

Another thing is he's not talking as much as he did b4.. in fact.. doesn't even talk. onli occasionally and when he feels like it.. sighz... worry worry

<font color="ff0000">LC</font>
wah.. u trying for No. 2 le???? hehe... am waiting for see who will be first to announce

<font color="ff0000">Angeline Goh</font>
Wow... Carine is really doing well!!!! muz be difficult carrying her huh? on the flipping part, i think it's very easy for us outsiders to keep telling "not to worry". i was in tat position too... worrying everyday when my little darling would flip. den he would suddenly surprise us and 'whoosh'.. all the worries juz gone out of the window. hhmm... think we juz have to learn to take things easy? juz like how i'm worrying now tat Max isn't goo-ing / gaa-ing...

ya lah.. Max is taking so much cereal i'm actually thinking of buying in bulk from HT or Bellamy

<font color="ff0000">Miow</font>
u managed to do it
yeah!!!

<font color="ff0000">Lanolin</font>
wah... missed u so much. Haven 'heard' from u for quite some time le. muz be so super bz with work huh? I've been doing great. bz looking after Max and buying cereals.. haha.

Max getting very notti so feeding him milk is a chore. Haha... oohhh..... he likes to wave his hands and legs in the air too when he's on his back like Mini D. So much so, I always say he looks like a cockroach when he does tat... haha

<font color="ff0000">dseptkon</font>
errmm... stay it in? I dunno leh... Max juz knows how to swallow everything that I put in his mouth. His mouth is always open even b4 I can get the cereal in the spoon. So much so, i've learnt rapid feeding. Have to quickly feed else he gets realli impatient. Of coz he will eat till his whole mouth oso very dirty de lah. And he has a habit of wanting to grab the bowl. so sometimes his hands end up in it too...

<font color="ff0000">bacon&amp;egg</font>
hey hey.. how are u?? Max has a routine too.. he muz always drink milk b4 he sleeps. Even if his cereal was at 8pm.. he will still cry for milk at 9+ b4 he can sleep.</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">bacon&amp;egg</font>
think the magic ring has a magnet embedded inside.. so it 'sticks to the edge of the tin

can view the video</font>

<font color="119911">sasa (sasa_xie) - On the HT or Bellamy cereal, where do u get these from? So Max loves them? I think my son is like Max also - nothing excites him more than food - he does the eating motion whenever he sees food and the adults eating. Very greedy!

Meanwhile, I have a feeding chart I was intending to follow, but hubby is like "just leave it to my mum (i.e. my MIL)...she would know what to do..." I obviously want to have a say in what baby K is eating during the day when i am at work &amp; would rather prepare all these to pass to my MIL than to have her cook up her own stuff...i hope there won't be a clash of opinions

Btw, did u finally get the swimsuit from OG for Max?</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Question - SIPPY CUPS
Mommies - are u starting to use sippy cups for your babies? I was intending to get the one from Pigeon for 5+ months and above, but read in "What to expect in the 1st year" that sippy cups might delay speech development in babies, plus cause tooth decay from fluids pooling in the mouth when they sip. Also don't think most sippy cups are BPA free, and hence shouldn't be warmed (i.e. I can't put EBM or FM in them, but just water/diluted juices).

If not, then are u guys planning to just transition from the breast/milk bottle to normal adult cups?</font>

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Bigtoes</font>
U can get HT or Bellamy cereals from NTUC. Think they can be found from Cold Storage too.. but if i nvr recall wrongly, Cold Storage more exp wor.

yeap yeap... Max loves them. hhmm.... mayb K is yearning for some cereal le
At the moment, Max is juz taking cereal + milk. Nothing added inside yet. Lazy mummy haven found recipes and haven had time to try to make other food for him. I dun feel safe letting maid prepare food for him leh...

Anyone has any recipes that I can research on???

Ha... YES YES!!! Finally!! MIL went to OG ytd.. coz got 20% storewide and bot the swimsuit for him le. YEAH!!! Bot size 2 wor.. haha, coz she was comparing and size 1 and 2 didn't differ much. Am gonna start Max at the swimming pool soon. He seems to like it. Been trying to put his legs in the pool.. haha.. he tried to kick and was smiling all the way</font>

sasa

does the HT cereal come in a box or a tin? have been to all the NTUCs around my place but never seem to see it. not sure whether i am a blind bat or whether my NTUCs just dont have. i finally bought the bellamy's from cold storage heartland mall.

swimsuit
er... is there any particular style/type swimsuit we should be buying?

bigtoes
u askd the very question i have! i think i am in more trouble cos Jon still has not taken to the bottle at all. we have to spoonfeed him the EBM :p it takes a really long time and i am not sure he is full! i bought the pigoen sippy cup too and am intending to use it for water cos juice isnt too good for their developing teeth the dentist says. think i will spoonfeed the juice :D looks like i will be at the highchair forever

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">dseptkon</font>
hey hey... can refer to this webbie. It's in a box de. http://www.healthytimes.sg/productsdisplaystore.php?id=3

wah... u found bellamy at cold storage heartland mall. this one always OOS at NTUC one leh..

Swimsuit
I bot the whole pc one. Initially was quite tempted to get the thermal one. but thinking, since gonna use for awhile onli, so ended up getting the normal one wor. $29.90 less 20% at OG

<font color="aa00aa">Something useful on weaning:
http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/startingsolids/introducing/

Baby food recipies:
http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/

Think I will start with store-bought food first, but want to prepare some home-made purees as well. <font color="119911">Can someone recommend a good blender to use to puree small portions of root veggies/fruits?</font>

dseptkon (dseptkon) - the thermal swimsuits are warmer of cos, but only if these are tight fitting and water doesn't seep in. These are more expensive - $80+, so if ur baby doesn't swim regularly, then u might not need to get a thermal one, cos they would outgrow the suit v fast.</font>

bigtoes, yeah she's really quite light at 6kg! doc gave some cereal to beef her up but i really don't think she's ready for solids yet. anyways, the good thing is that she will get to enjoy her bb swing, bumbo seat &amp; jumperoo for a longer time.

sasa,
I am good..how r u?

There is a v good book on solid feeding - written by local hospital dietician. I try to look for the title and let u know. Good recipies in there and it comes with a meal planner. I am following it..

Swimwear for BB
Can try the brand arena - they have quite a good variety of bb swimwear..

Cereal
Is Heinz a good brand for bb? I am using that..

Water
Everyone start feeding bb with water? No one has not?

Hi everyone.... Hapi new yr...

Springz... i dun think the bb's spine will b hurt leh.. cos i check with my PD.. she says it's ok...

Jaymickey... can u pls PM mi ur address &amp; HP number again? Thanks... just check with u.. if last min my HB 1 2 join.. can i pay u another $22.20 on that day?

M went for his jab on last friday.. he's wgt is 9.5kg 74cm @ 4mths 11 days... hmm.. ... many ppl comment that he dun look like a 4 mth o bb... think he's abit big...

so this coming sat we get to c lots of babies....

bacon &amp; egg .. i din reali feed my M with water... cos he's still taking BM... he took 200ml/feed... normal i gif him a few sip to ease his thirst

Storeberry
Thanks for sharing ur BM storage tips. So, u dun feed bb wif fresh BM bt frozen BM that is thawed issit? So ur freshly pumped milk goes to freezer immediately? Issit liddat huh?

Breadmum
Ur bb oso unwell? Haiz.. it is a horrifying experience to deal wif sick bb rite? Esp bb who refuses to drink!! Glad urs is recovering manz!
Btw, I saw someone organizing overseas spree on milk bags http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2086323.html?1233394559
USD9.90 for 50pcs?

Bigtoes,
I oso find very sayang to throw milkbag away leh!!!
For blender, I bought ULIKE wor. It is compact lo.. good for small kitchen like mine!
http://littlegastronomy.blogspot.com/2007/07/basics-kitchen-utensils.html

BB FOOD
Saw someone organizing spree for HAPPYBELLIES cereal. Issit that good? Anyone got this before mah?
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/2115271.html?1233543842

Hi~ Any mummies still need S size Pampers? Trying to sell off mine now cos Little A have TOO much diapers for her to finish!!

Pampers Stages - New Baby S Size (58pcs/pack)
Selling 2 brand new packs. PM Me if interested..

Can bring to the gathering this sat or self collect at Yew Tee/Bukit Panjang Area..

I totally agree that Braun handheld blender is nifty! I used it to bake biscotti even before I use it to make puree for my baby! lolz

<font color="0077aa">No prob Goldfish! Yes &amp; no, I will leave a packet of fresh EBM in the chilled compartment so that in case my frozen EBM is not enough I can then mixed with the chilled one. The rest I will froze immediately. But remember chilled ones can only stay in the fridge for 8days after which must be frozen.

rlrenn (rlrenn): HT brown cereals is selling for $6.95 at Carrefore.

Just to share some equipment you'll need for starting weaning! Mummies can share your recommendation too =)

1. Baby dish and Weaning spoon
Likely brands: Combi dish with cover/ Pigeon soft tip weaning spoon

2. Puree Blender
Likely brands: Braun MHC blender

3. Baby Cubes for storage
Likely brands: Baby cubes from BP

4. Waterproof Bib
Likely brand: Wholebody Ikea bib

5. Baby Rice/ Cereal
Likely brand: Healthy Times/ Bellamy

6. Baby Highchair
Likely brand: Combi Roanju

7. Steamer
Likely brand: Tefal Electric Steamer

Saw this. Dunno whether issit 'good' or not leh.. ermm...

Infant &amp; Child First Aid/CPR
http://www.inspiremumbaby.com/inspirebabydetails.asp?no=50

Essential Infant &amp; Child Basic First Aid/CPR training to fully equip yourself or your helper for any emergency at home. This course is a necessity for families with infants or children at home.

The Inspire Infant &amp; Child First Aid/CPR Course is designed to equip parents or caregivers with the essential skills of First Aid and CPR. It provides a good coverage of common emergencies and the correct management. Participants can expect a good deal of hands-on involvement during this 8-hour fun course.

Happy Lunar New Year to all

looking forward to this coming sat gathering

Kym: How much for the Baby Highchair
-Combi Roanju ? I prefer the Pre Perego high chair, but sure costy and thinking get a cheaper one ..want to tighten my belt ..feel sorry for my little one

<font color="0077aa">Bacon&amp; egg: yes, I have a fixed routine for smallberry. 8pm will be wipe down time, then will play soft music, off lights &amp; then nurse him. After that I will put him in the cot.

Gunibabe: thanks for your advice! Think its working! Yday, I out smallberry in bed, tell him I love him &amp; he will need to fall asleep on his own. He did cry abit but not those loud demanding cries now, then talking by himself. I decided not to stay in the room to monitor &amp; went to take a bath. When I came back &amp; asked hub, he said smallberry is not crying. But when I went into the room, he sense that I am there. he start his whimper again... Left the room &amp; it stop then he fell asleep on his own! Keke.. SO happy!

Sorry, this sat gathering is what time hah??</font>

Hi blackberry,

Almost 400 for the chair.. but we've used it since my girl was a newborn as a day bed and changing station.. go take a look! u might fall in love with it :p

my little boy can finally flip on his own! i'm so happy for him and he's happy too tat he keeps sticking his tongue out and laugh!

anyone thinking of starting their bbs on swimming liaoz?i mean proper swimming class. ive signed CH up for swim classes with marsden. on wait list now coz she can only start at 6mths. but i need to sign up early coz i wan hers to be just before or after korkors, then dun need to travel twice for their lessons...

good to start early coz they tend to be less fearful of wter then, and more open to proper water safety techniques.

sahms, ch's lesson on friday morning slot, if you guys interested, can have class together!!!

storeberry

yah..its the mummies who are gan cheong..keke..carine quite lazy to flip..like to lie on her back n kick her legs/hands wildly though..recently likes to arch to her side..when on her tummy, her head will go up &amp; down..wont stay up too long as she likes to put her head down n eat her fists!

lanolin

not only me lah..our thread got alot of 'power' bbies..keke..norm she will drink quite fast coz she hungry n wana sleep..taking 150ml abt 4-5feeds aday..but these few days abit bad coz she got phlegm inside..can hear the 'sound'..will monitor n c how.hopefully it will go away after a few days but her milk intake drop to 120 roughly now..the 2 pd i see oso advise me to start after 6mths due to her size..later i PM u..got tinks tell u abt your maid..

cy

so fast? wow..i am tinking of putting my fb to swim class now like cheri..for carine..was tinking of doing a trial?

<font color="0000ff">l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum)
What's the lesson about? For babies so young, they wouldn't know anything except juz kicking n turning around in their neck float i guess...</font>

angeline
ahh...then join cy lo!!!!heee..he's been swimming since 8mths.he was able to swim a few metres (ok thrash around more like it)before i took him off after my delivery. then going to start him again now...

you arent thinking of weekend classes right. cheri told me after withdrawing nikki, she's on the waitlist now, and can you believe it, aquaducks have a waitlist of more than 100 for weekend class...

sasa
no they dun use neckfloats, they in fact dun use device coz they believe it impedes them learning about the nature of water and how their bodies should respond.

many bbs at one can swim a length liaoz...ive seen some todds do it, some more garang can even dive in to retrieve objects at 18mths...but my cy cannot lah..he very sio jia one...one reason why i started him so early...coz i know he freaks out easily...

Aquaducks got 100 waiting list!!! no wonder they didn't reply my query email.. because they don't need to!!!!... and i was just thinking why's their webby so unproperly done...

CYCH, perhaps i'll join you! Friday morning what time? I am starting work soon man..... very early morning i can try though :p...

<font color="0077aa">l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum): I am interested cos smallberry seem to like to play with water! But haven't brought him for a swim cos of his rashes... Where is the class &amp; charges?

Thanks Kymkym (qing jia) &amp; bacon&amp;egg! Hope he will be like this tonight! Praying hard!</font>

l'l CY^^l'l CH, 100 on waitlist for aquaducks!! that's alot.. i was still planning to bring J for that. Maybe i have to start calling them to find out more.

Ai yo, all ur babies start to crawl,standing already,My Jayden is only know how to flip.

Any babies here dun want to sleep at nite ? my boy only want to sleep after 12.30am....and will wakeup at least 2times for milk or cry..

Yun: don worry. my ger don even know how to flip. now she only know how to hold her legs, kicking in the air n kick me to wake up to pat her.

storeberry (storeberry): yeah! Praise God! our babies are darn smart one, if they sense we're around, they'll start to whine and make noise and act "ke lian". haha ... usually I just leave the room and watch tv in living room and set a time frame of 10mins later to check on him. Usually when I check on him, he's fast asleep liao!
see, can be trained right? and I dun think they feel any less loved by us! ;)

Jasmine.. no worry...Iam already very happy that he already can flip with his heavyweight (10kg on 5 months)

Recently I noticed my baby know how to angry also..see his angry face
2125907.jpg

He will show this face if I ignore him or leave him alone for sometimes

storeberry, kym
this is their webbie
http://www.marsdenswimschool.com/home.htm

if you are looking at weekend classes, both schools are quite full. but i guess they will have new classes for 2008 bbs so can still put on waitlist and join when they are 6mths?

weekdays should be quite ok...

kym
me going for 10am class on friday. think they ahve classes at 9:30am..not sure if that is the earliest though...you going to work?thought you are doing home based biz?

yun
the cow suit is cute!wow, he is indeed heavy weight. my fb is 2 and is only slightly heavier than him!!!

<font color="aa00aa">yun (cutieyunyun) - wow, Jayden is 10kg?I though baby K was heavy at 8kg.
Does he sleep alot during the day, hence doesn't want to sleep till late at night? Or maybe some babies make do with lesser sleep. At 5 months they need 14-15 hours on average, but my son gets by with about 10-11 per day (about 1-2 during daylight).

Meanwhile, the cow suit is so cute - just nice for the "niu" year!

Crawling - babies who are attempting to crawl, do u notice them crawling backwards first...? Baby K does more back than forward...very weird!</font>

Bigtoes, Jayden sleep twice during daytime.. each nap about 2hours.. then will sleep again after evening bath, that is about 6pm (1hour only) after that he refuse to sleep liao....
Yeah, he is heavy coz he got very good appetite, never enough for his milk and cereal.

The size of the cow suit is 24mos and fit him well..haha

Crawling- yes, my mum said crawling backwards first is normal

Wa so many posts to catch up...been busy looking after Alston that i've no time to do my own things. Currently on leave as caregiver is out of town.

Talking abt crawling and walking- in fact i hope Alston will not walk fast cos there's a old wives tale saying that bb who walk at a later stage have good life ??? A is starting to crawl a bit and i guess he's one of those bb who walk earlier

Agree with yun

Crawling backwards first is normal.

My MIL babysits a gal coming to a year old. Last time she crawl backwards first den last mth just started crawl front cos she is slow (or maybe she is too fat so lazy) At about 10mth+ she weighs 8.5kg.

Yun and bigtoes, your babies are so chubby n cute!

yun- wao you baby now i guess is putting a lot weight. have you start feeding cereal already? mine recently went to see a doc cox of his fever, weight 9.4kg le. and i think because of his cough he did not drink finish all his milk, left 60-80

Baby K still now havent start to flip by himself. he only able to turn 90degree. If he sleep on his side, he will try to pull all his pillow beside him and also the one his is sleeping on. then when we put him on his side again, he will want to flip over and he will smile