(2008/09) Sep 2008

A&A
Join us at the 2006 sahm thread! we meet up sometimes for playdates. good for your fb too. we have one 2007 todd there too!

your fb goes to school still since you are staying at home?

bt timah a bit far for me
...thought of collecting the milk bags from you. me in the east lah, or you convenient to post?im pm you later...

II: She still stays at home. :p Yah, am super lazy and lame to find a school for her. I have 2 maids at home with me. One is quite good at teaching her, plus she's quite happy playing and creating a din at home, so I just let her be. Where is the gathering? I can post to you no prob.

jaymickey: ang mo is selling at $36.80

baby cereals: i suppose i'll just be unadventurous and stick to nestle as my SILs and sis are feeding their bbs with this brand. it's so straight-fwd: just buy the 'add milk' recipe (they hv 'add water' one too) and buy the correct 'stage' as the bb grows older.

organic cereals...wondering if it'd lower bb's resistance if we always feed him with such 'clean' stuffs.

blackberry: was a bit worried when lilboymom said bb would splatter the cereal all over...so decided to buy the ikea one, in addition to my peg perego one that i'll get once he reaches 6 mths.

feeding utensils: which brand is better? combi? nuby? pigeon? munchkin?

Jo,

Can try in this sequence: Milk 50%, one teaspoon cereal (day 1-3) then all the milk =)

Velle

Can try one teaspoon to 2 teaspoon FM/BM, see how your baby take to the stickiness, otherwise can add more milky=)

Very long din log in. Had a hard time catching up with the posts.

Most of you starting your little one with cereal. I intend to do it this weekend. Feeling very excited with it, yet at the same time, I haven’t really had the time to go and browse through the cereal sections. When I told my MIL that I intend to start my boy on cereal, she gets very excited and wanted him to have scallop porridge which almost freaked me out. I was so afraid that she will start to feed my boy with all sorts behind my back. My hubby is allergic to certain seafood and I’m so afraid that my son will be the same too. But I don’t think my MIL is convince with my reasoning coz she said all her kids grew up fine. Haiz, at times it’s really hard when it’s not yourself who is taking care of baby alone.

My son hasn’t start to flip even though he is one of the early sept baby. So worried that his motor skills are bad. He shows signs of turning when he is about 3 months, but till today, he is still stuck at that position. Getting a bit worried now. However, he can stand quite steadily and can walk a few steps if we support him. Wonder if he will skip the stage of flipping since my niece knew how to sit 1st before she actually flipped.

I do have a packet of lansinoh milkbags to let go too. Think it comes in a pack of 50s. Let me know if any one of you needs it. I won’t be going for the CNY gathering. Can either pick it up from me (east) or I can mail it to you.

Wow, KymKym, u are the weaning Guru in our Sept thread ar! Lett is so fortunate to have you as her mom, always so onz in everything. Wish I could be as enthusiastic as you. Thanks for sharing your recipes with us.

Maybe u gals might like to try Friso Wheat cream,
My boy love it, i also fed him steam mash pumpkin n potato. Heniz rice cereal is gd too, i mix it with his formula n he love it as well.

Ade: My ger finally flip yesterday night. She is also born early sept. She had been trying to flip n get sucked in certain position. Yesterday she tried to flip again, then my mum saw y she get sucked, she did help a bit by position her leg, (when she try to flip, her body n legs become 90 degrees), so yesterday night she keep flipping after she know how to flip.
My ger motor skill also very slow. so now whenever i'm free, I will play with her. went to buy those toys she can hold, (not very heavy type), swing infront of her, make her to scratch her hand out to take.
As for holding milk bottle, she quite lazy to do so.

Jasmine: I cannot let my son hold the milk bottle. He will play with it by putting the bottle in and out of his mouth when drinking milk. I got fed-up and think it might be better if I feed him myself. Will be faster this way. Hmmm… maybe tonight I try and help him, then see whether he can flip a not. He is able to stretch out his hands and take things from us already.

sasa

let us koe ok if the supplier get back to u on the BP pricing for the HT..would like to get some oso..i like the barley...

ade

me oso dun let carine hold her bottle coz she will push it in & out of the mouth or if not, will slowly hold the bottle till her finger inside the mouth

Angeline, haha... yup, my son does that too. If not, he can also be sucking on his finger and the teat at the same time. Nowadays, it's getting more challenging to feed him. One moment, he can be wriggling, the next, he can be distracted by sth else. He could hardly concentrate on drinking his milk.

Sasa, i'm also interested in the BP.

Hi, Kymkym

Thanks for your advice. I dun understand what do you mean by "with every food, at least 3 feeds for testing".. can explain?? and wow wow wow on the xangsa website...

LC, i think kymkym means that with every new food introduce to baby, try for at least 3 feeds before introducing another new food.
Am i right, kymkym?

Ade, how much are you selling your lasinoh milkbags for? Do PM me ok, as I tried to PM you but you don't accept PMs.

<font color="0000ff">Gosh, haven't logged onto SMH for weeks!

sasa
wow u're so on! I'm interested in the bellamy/HT BP as well!

stef
like your shoes!

flos
i fed cheeky girl with organic stuff when she was a baby and as she got older, i let her have non-organic as well. Now she has a mix. After all, they dun serve organic food in school!
But I dun think eating organic food will lower resistance. Cos our parents' generation were brought up on "organic" food weren't they? Green revolution only started in 1960s after all. And over the years they had to eat food grown with more chemical fertilizers and pesticides, GM foods and what not. Still they are fine, I hope... Hopefully some of the cancers ppl are getting r not related to this!!!
That said, I still try to have organic stuff whenever possible.

oh yah, why must change to peg perego one after 6 mths?

angeline
oh if i rem correctly, cheeky girl also liked the HT barley!
Btw, she's starting childcare next week and I went to get the uniform today! I'm so excited!

lilboymum
wow, ur lil boy also goes for swimming class? oh yah, is he at Mandeville already too?
I'm not so keen for my girls to learn swimming though. Afraid they'll like it so much next time they might tell me they wanna join swimming in school. I'd hate that. Next time got figure like joscelin yeo then i faint... And also i'm a darn vainpot, swimming will damage their hair and darken their complexion, age prematurely! haha, so hiao rite? I'm the kind who will go swimming either early in the morning or late eve!
But i guess I'll have start them when they're older for water safety... =p

PHONICS
So irritated with cheeky girl. She refuses to learn phonics!</font>

<font color="0077aa">greenbaby; You very funny leh, ask me how much for the milkbags? Thot you are selling? keke..

Sorry, this sat gathering is what time hah?

Damn damn &amp; damn! My menses is here! And is alot alot alot lo! Past few days my BM dropped then menses came. Super irritating!

Today is the 2nd day feeding smallberry with HT brown rice cereal after one week break cos he didn't like it. And today he can open his mouth when my spoon is near &amp; want to eat it! Glad that he finally like it!

Kym / Jaymickey / mummies feeding cereal: I thot its one tablespoon of cereal to try 1st? Its one teaspoon? And I usually mix until quite watery, when should I increase the consistency? And if I mix the cereal with the milk I am giving him, should I increase his intake or just take from the milk he is drinking?</font>

sasa: the last BP organiser faced some problems with the supplier of Healthy Times. I was told that you get the cereals at BP rate is it's above $150 order. my suggestion is that mummies who stays in a certain area group together to do the BP so that it'll be cost effective. From my experience, the savings is not alot and not worth travelling from one end to the other if you don't live nearby. ;) just my 2 cents worth

flos: i've left and am back in macau! miss my dad already. sigh. hehe. back again in march...hope we can meet then!

storeberry: aiyo....hugs hugs hugs. i dread to think when mine will return.

millie: your alston is almost same weight as my e who was weighed on 19 jan too! e is 63cm and 6.75 kg. his daddy said he looks like he's lost weight when he picked us up from the airport today. don't worry, he will catch up one!

sasa: how is max doing at the flipping? he loves his cereal hor. hehe.

l'l cy: what about any US sites thgat you use? me thinking of getting organic plus wooden toys now for e. hehehe.

TOYS: Anyone here has been buying organix or wooden toys such as stuff from HABA? Any good online toystores to rec? I recently discovered oompa.com and i LOVE their wooden toys range. very tempted to buy but a bit pricey. so wondering if got sites with more competitive pricing.

green baby - agree with storeberry. you the seller leah. But if you ask us. can it be $10 for the 25 bags one? cause i remember when we bulk buy the last time , it was about that price.

I gave my little e HT brown rice cereal and he loved it. Today i introduced the earth best apples and he squirm. So funny he looked. i had a good laugh.

sasa,
I am interested in the rice cereal BP since we all stay in the west

flos,
my personal preference goes to Pigeon feeding bowl cos it comes with a lid which is handy. I also considered combi but the 3-1 feeding bowl doesnt come with a lid so i didnt get it in the end.

Storeberry,
My period came twice (last 2 mths) since i stop bf. Strange that u r still bf and period comes? i thot it shouldnt? or maybe my understanding is incorrect?

<font color="0077aa">breadmum: i also can't remember cost but I think my fren help me buy from US the other time, it was $14 for 50pcs but then again there wasn't any shipping cost la.. Greenbaby, how many do you have? let us know yah?

Sarah: Sob sob.. Thanks dear. The feeling is so uncomfortable!! And super lay che lo, need to change pads so often!

Hugz to you too!! Chat with us in FB!

bacon&amp;egg: Some menses do come back when BF-ing but never thot it would be me..

flos, that's what the pd gave us – a tin of nestle cereal. i haven't read the instructions yet though. still not sure what i will be feeding bb with when time comes but i think i will slowly work up to a variety, both organic and non-organic.

storeberry/bacon&amp;egg, i also kena mine a few days ago despite bfing. super heavy, and that nonsense someone told me abt cramps going away after childbirth, all bullshit.

sarah
u've left already? So fast! So now u r alone? I thot ur dad was gg to be there with u permanently! (Btw, in case u're wondering who i am, this is me who shopped with u in mothercare and you got ur little one a beanie there while i got some socks =) )

<font color="0000ff">xuanting
sorry to hear abt the cramps. How often do u bf? Is the interval frequent? If not, period will come back sooner. For my first kid, I tbf for 16 mths yet period came back when bb was only 3 mths old cos I pumped only after 8 hrs in the day. Now i bf more regularly and period not back yet but I think it will be soon once i start baby on solids.

storeberry
for cheeky girl, I only thickened the consistency after i saw that she cld swallow better. Cos if too thick might choke as they still have to learn to push the food to the back of their throat to swallow.</font>

<font color="aa00aa">Hi mommies, so i finally went out to get 2 boxes of HT cereal after work earlier.
Also got the Braun blender and plastic bibs (have alot of cloth bibs but these are too cute to use - and haven't let baby K use any bibs to date...don't know why i stocked up on so many!). Went to Kiddy P but couldn't find any feeding utensils....where else would stock up on weaning bowls/spoons?

Meanwhile, my son is still on TBF and i do not intend to start him on his cereal till he is closer to 6 months (end Feb). Hubby is amused that i am excited over weaning him. Said i am becoming so auntie to get excited over such stuff!! He said he can't be bothered and if it were him, he would blend a beetle with the food for protein, and baby K won't know the difference! Argh....!

Meanwhile, my period is not back yet - experienced mommies - what is the longest it would take for it to stay away? I intend to continue BFing till baby K is 1, so hopefully not for another 7 months...!</font>

Hi mummies~! Haven't been posting in a loooong time ya! Have been a silent reader again. lol~

Angeline, A also v playful if let her hold the bottle will push in and out. Only when she is in good mood + very hungry then she will kuai kuai hold the bottle herself n drink.

Ade, my dd can't flip too unless we help to push her back. Think she still doesn't know how to arch her back, except when she's angry. And also when someone walks by or talks to me while I feeding her, she will stop sucking and see what is happening. Sometimes resulting in only half bottle of milk consumed.

Weaning - Kudos to Kym~! You're such a dedicated mother!!! Can be a weaning &amp; baby food consultant already! And all mummies here are soo caring and loving to your babies! Makes me so GUILTY as I anyhow feed Little A and anyhow jaga looking after her. I'm really not a good mummy!!!
The other day while having CNY gathering at friend's house, I'm playing MJ my hubby playing Cards, Little A in another room sleeping (or so we tot until one mummy carried her to me and told me she is crying until almost no more voice!!!)

To date, have let her:
1) Fall off my platform bed once
2) Slide off tilam thrice
3) Knocked her face onto the floor while holding her in a sitting position(the first time cos of knocking onto the floor, screamed non stop for 2 full minutes!)
4) Fed her all the very 'nono' food. EG: Tiny bit of MacDonald's apple pie syrup, Little bit of Durian, let her suck some Mandarin Orange juice, Teeny bit of 'Or Ni(Yam paste)' during CNY dinner, Teeny bit of CNY goodies

Flos, I'm using the Combi 3in1 feeding bowl as its a gift for Little A. Not bad...

Storeberry, I know the feeling!! Mine's 3rd time already now. Esp when u haven't got it for a year! I find that the flow is especially heavier than before pregnant.. Or is it my imagination? Btw, I think the gathering start at 2pm rite??

Breadmum, I also gave Little A HT brown rice cereal but she gagged the first time I let her try it after her milk. The 2nd time, I let her have it before her milk and she just gave a yucky face for the first spoonful and maybe she's hungry, the next few spoons she accepted.

Xuanting, mine comes but no cramping anymore leh... Maybe everybody is different one? I only know that as before preggy and now, 1 or 2 days before menses coming sure will have terrible mood n temper and get into a quarrel with hubby one.

limay
i havent had my period since early 2006.

sarah
not very sure. but i rem there were a few local sites that mummies rec which sells HABA...i cant rem now...

cupcakes
cy is with mandeville on sat. is cheekygal still with the fri class?which CC is she going to?

yah i oso worried about joscelin yeo's figure. haha..especially since i do have that kinda genes!but swimming is lifeskill lah. wtd!

at one point or other, they will say no to phonics lah. cy does that. then other times, he will try to use phonics to decode all the words i show him. irritating.

Im a Sept 08 mum, JC already 4mths+, but till now whenever he cry &amp; we 'push' a pacifier, he seems cannot suck well, ive tried avent, pigeon, tollyjoy pacifier, really headache &amp; heartpain when his crying, coz the whole blk can listen, anyone BB have this problem??

Bigtoes
You never used any bibs for K even when he's drooling? I go through about 4 bibs a day as D drools a lot &amp; his bib is always wet.. yucks!

You can try Pigeon weaning bowl &amp; spoon set.. very nice design &amp; only $13.90! Major dept stores like Isetan, Robinsons &amp; BHG at Bugis stocks a variety of feeding stuff, brands like Combi, Pigeon, Tollijoy, Munchkin, Sassy, etc.

cupcakes, i don't latch on; i pump every 4hrs. it sort of came back last mth but was really light. this mth, it came with a vengeance and gave me cramps some more. i suspect it came back due to my not-so-frequent pumping also.

bigtoes, o yes, insects are very nutritious indeed!

yan, your bb ate durian liao??? what was her response?

ger11, some bbs don't like pacifiers; have u tried other methods to comfort him?

mei, i go through many bibs a day too. really can't understand how such small people have so much saliva!

Ger11,

As long as its not hunger, sleepyness, wet diapers, then perhaps he needs a burp/ have heartburn (acid reflux). These are the four most common crys i have encountered when baby sound like they've been tortured.

My girl had colic before, so i program myself to always burping her whenever i can. Usually burpy babies cry like they've been tortured and they won't take the pacifier no matter what and will not suck well definately, because it makes them feel even more nauseous.

xuanting, her response at first is weired. But after that is licking her lips already. I was trying out to see if she will give any gagging look as I myself can't stomach too much durians, only 2-4 seeds otherwise will start to gag. But I DO love durians leh... Contradicting rite...

Bigtoes, think ur hubby is just pulling ur leg LOL! Btw, I think Kiddy Palace does have those feeding utensils. Usually saw them in Kiddy Palace/Robinsons/OG.

Ade,

I'm just bored!! hahahaha.. there's so much more to discover and explore.. and i am only at the tip of the iceberg ... i want more time!!

and LC,

Yes, 3 feeds of the same food first to see if allergies surface, children metabolism's very high, usually overnight and you'll see the effect, whether oK or not oK

Common allergy ailments: Swelling and itching of skin, Rashes/ Red spots, Cradle Cap, Vomitting, Loose stools/ Diarrhea, Fever

Lett MIL:

Usually i just take milk from her bottle, and have slowly increased the consistency of cereal since 1st try. Find that it helps when her purees are thicker (but of course, slowly so ur babe won't choke..)

They'll have to get use to thicky things slowly, in the 1-2 months ahead you'll have to introduce thin chunks, big chunks, then finally, un-pureed foods.

Lett's now on a host of veggies and because they are naturally thick, eg. potato (for this i will add some milk, otherwise so thick my spoon sticks to the bowl, hahaha) so it seems like lett is taking to the thicky puree and knows how to swirl it in her mouth before swallowing, and she likes avocado especially! So fattyyyyy and creammmyyyy yikesssss!!

<font color="0000ff">lilboymum
woah! U haven't had period since early 2006? So lucky!!! And since you're still tbf-ing, I dun suppose u'll be having periods for a very long time to come! =)
Yep, she's still with the fri class, with Nikki &amp; Kai!
So good! At least CY tries to use phonics to decode. I tried to teach her zoophonics &amp; she just runs off or refuses to do. And she doesn't fancy doing the actions either. Grrr...

Signed her up at Carpe Diem at Royal Rd cos it's so very near my place. It was between Lorna Whiston &amp; this one but the former felt cosier &amp; more homely. Not to mention that she got 4 mossie bites the in the short time we were at LW! Hubbs was bitten too, so he said straight away no no to LW though their compound is bigger &amp; the playgd looks cleaner too (Not too concerned abt that cos I feel kids need to grow up with some dirt ard). Supposedly Carpe Diem does Multiple Intelligences, but how good it is I have yet to observe till next mon when i accompany her for the day. And I saw that the trs speak to the kids solely in Mandarin for at least a good 1 hr everyday, so I like it. Are u gg to put CY in preschool/CC soon now that CH is here?

Limay
haha. Men are like that. When I see ants in my soup or water, I go why is there an ant? My dad says it's ok, ants r good for protein. Can eat!

yan,

hey, dun feel bad. I also very bad mummy with chubby cheeks baby. Didn't really do anything with her and there r always ppl ard her so I dun interact with her all that much. Luckily i tbf direct latch on otherwise I think I wun even be carrying her at all! Lagi worse rite?
I hope I can spend more time with her once cheeky girl goes to childcare...</font>

<font color="ff6000">Hi lilboymum

no period since 2006? you mean that you conceive #2 while breasfeeding #1 AND
continue to breastfeed though your 2nd pregnancy?

didn know it is possible!?

I am so impressed! so did your milk ss double after the 2nd bb?</font>
2131163.gif

<font color="0000ff">lilboymum,
oops typo. I meant "It was between Lorna Whiston &amp; this one but the CARPE DIEM felt cosier &amp; more homely"</font>

ade

same same! so irritating coz cant get her to finish her milk fast..n the milk leaking from the side.oso gets distracted very easily.if got 1 person who come n play with her/see her,she will stop n start playing with the teats n smile at u..arghh..all these with the exception that shes sleepy n time for zzz..haha

cupcakes

so fast starts school.remember to take lots of pics..tt time at the zoo shes still under waitlist..hope she settle down soon.

Hi mamas

I am down wif a fever and i am hoping tat i can recover by Sat lo

Bt in case i am not, i dun tink i will go for the gathering. I dun wanna to infect sept babies and mama!!! I will be a super sinner lo!

ANyone who is keen to go and be my replacement?

Btw, can i still feed bb breastmilk when i am unwell. My GP said CANNOT

I am confused

Thank, Kym.. Another question: My boy when left inteh bumbo chair is not able to sit up straight and will have tendency to slouch forward. can start on solid food?

Goldfish,

Your GP must be insane!!!
All the more you should breastfeed cos you will pass the antibodies to him through breastmilk, helps to build up his immune system too

i have stop BF at 2nd mth due to low supply. but strange till now when i squeeze my boobs there is still some BM coming out. How could that be happening

Storeberry, this sat's gathering starts from 2pm.

As for the cereal, i guess is up to u bah, i find that too watery, very difficult to feed, they move everywhere, hands everywhere. So i didn't make it that watery to start with and slowly made it thicker..

Bigtoes, u can get the pigeon weaning set, is $39.90 if i didn't rem wrongly. Kiddy palace has it too.

Jaymickey, I think the $34.90 pigeon set is for babies 12+months &amp; above, comes with a red &amp; orange dish &amp; plate right? I got the weaning set at $13.90 which comes with a green bowl &amp; spoon.

Stop breastfeeding

To those mummies who have stop BF, do you all experience blocked duct in the process? I know there are a few ways to stop BF, either pump half the usual amount or gradually increase the pumping interval.
But whichever way will result in blocked ducts..

That's what is happening to me now. I have been experiencing blocked ducts since last Fri.
First is my left boob with bad fever but recovered liao.
Now it's my right boob that is blocked and very painful and uncomfortable.

Any advise