(2008/09) Sep 2008

storeberry: good to hear that your smallberry is able to sleep thru. alas! my miniflos has been waking up in the past 2 days as he now discovers the joy of flipping! He has been 'eh-ing' at 2am and 4 am on Sun and Mon because his arm got stuck whilst flipping! We gotta feed him with milk to soothe him so that he can fall asleep again.

blackberry: me also eyeing on Peg Perego high chair, though i already bought the ikea one :)

millie: "there's a old wives tale saying that bb who walk at a later stage have good life" Really? where di u hear abt that?!! hehe

xuanting: i've banned my son from sitting in the rainforest bouncer cos i discovered that my MIL and maid, being lazy to hand-carry him, have been dumping him in the bouncer to sleep for 3-4 hours! last week, my mom noticed that miniflos' head is no longer as round as before
she told me not to put him then as he is getting very heavy and too tall for the bouncer (over 8 kgs). She said bouncers might cause him to have a crooked back! gosh...scary...

lastnite, both my maid and MIL asked why i took the bouncer home. they asked that i bring it back but i said it constains his movement and delays his ability to flip and crawl. every evening when i go over to pick my son up, i see him strapped to the bouncer whilst the adults watch tv and eat dinner. my poor boy cannot flex his muscles at all!

<font color="aa00aa">yun (cutieyunyun) - maybe he is sleeping alot during the day? That is a total of 5 hours - so he is wakeful during the night! Try cutting down on day time naps and getting him to sleep earlier at nite?

Jasmine (piggy_jas) - 10mths + and 8.5kg is not heavy! My son would easily be that weight by the time he is 6 months! I thought he would be too fat &amp; end up lethargic, but he is surprisingly agile and very fidgety. Too fidgety actually, hands and legs all over the place and quite irritating sometimes!

flos, did miniflos complain abt being strapped in for so long? mine will only sit in her swing for abt 20mins or so. it's quite boring after a while plus i also don't think it's v good for her back cos after sometimes, she'll slide and then become quite scrunched up. dh likes to put her there and then go do his own things too.

walking late
my mil also said the same thing. i guess maybe cos rich kids in their generation got ah-sums to carry them all the time &amp; everywhere they go, so they walked late, and ppl linked from there?

sasa
tks for the pic of the healthy times cereal. hmmm it must be always out of stock at the supermarkets when i go cos i've never seen it!

bigtoes/sasa
tks for the info on the swimsuits. looks like i need to do more research on this! how often do your bbs swim?

and yes, think the crawling backwards starts first then crawling forwards.

lil CH
I was just trying to get FB into a marsden swim class so your post came at just the right time! is your FB at holland/turf city or AISS? i prefer the AISS venue but they dont have classes for my FB and the rest of the schedules clash with school so i am on the waiting list EVERYWHERE.

if u are starting CH on classes already, perhaps i should sign Jon up too! which centre again pls?

yun
love the cow suit! your bb looks so cute.

flos
oh dear. how about getting a mattress or something so that miniflos can lie flat at your MIL's? think that our bbs now should be exercising their limbs whenever possible. and anyway, isnt your maid supposed to be looking after your son only? if she has him strapped to the bouncer all the time what is she doing?

millie,flos
the basis for the old wives tale is that bbs who are late walkers are smart. coz they are pampered like kings, being carried all over the place, while other kids need to slog and walk on their own. so such kids will b similarly smart enough to have a better life in the future

i rem though when i was in taiwan, they chided me for encouraging CY to walk too early...(he was 13mths then!!!). they advise me for children "bu4 yao4 ying2 zai4 qi2 pao2 dian3" (not to win the race at the start)

deseptkon
We are at the turf city pool. eh, we didnt want AISS coz it's unheated pool, even though AISS is nearer my place. cold lah...kekekek...

come lah, let the kiddoes swim together!!!heeee...CY's swimming 11am and CH 10am.

hi, those gog for tis sat gathering, anyone want to buy fitti 360 M size diapers and lanoish milk bag?
let me know who interested then i go find my stock ... shd b 3 pkt of fitti n 4 pkt of milk bags ...

gunibabe: what is the US site you use to buy california baby? any suggestions for US shoping sites for bb books, toys, toiletries etc?

l'l cy: where online can u find good and affordabable bb books? btw, did you say you prefer sunshine or joly phonics? isit worth the money to purchase the entire set from amazon?

okie...gotta run. haven't q finished packing for my trip back to macau! have fun at the CNY party!

Sarah,
Alston was last measured on 19 Jan, 59cm tall and 6.5kg. Very short hor....i'm surprised leh cos my family members n hubby are rather tall

Greenbaby,
Bjorn Synergy carrier can carry up to 12kg. I can sell to u if u r interested. Mine's a black color. PM me if interested.

<font color="0077aa">Gunibabe: Yah man, bb are so smart!! Today smallberry also self-soothe &amp; sleep on his own. Cried abit &amp; fell asleep! Thanks for your advice! Keke..

l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum): I am planning to go on weekdays so there is lesser people! But smallberry rashes just subsides so don't want to put him in the swimming pool as yet... But only start when bb is 6mth right? Turf city is quite near my place also. I am checking out the website.

greenbaby: Interested in the milkbags, how much are you selling? 50 or 25 pcs?</font>

Koras, yes.. Jayden started his cereal 2weeks ago.. and he loves it.
Ur little one is also a heavyweight baby, should let them hav a sumo match nxt time..hahaha

Bigtoes, I tried to cut his nap time before, but always failed coz he will crying and crying if Iam trying to wake him up, in the end hav to let him sleep lor...
But will try again... If not, soon I will become panda mummy

hi ladies been a while since i came by ...
came across few mummies who have started weaning.
i bought a lot of baby cereals and rice from Vita kids. You can get all your selection from there. HT and Bellamy and some other brands. Theyve got the bottled stuff too. They have shops at United Sq / Paragon / Forum and Milenia Walk
Go check them out!

xuanting/dseptkon: he is so accustomed to the bouncer now that he is struggling to sleep on the mattress at my ILs place. I want him to open out his limbs to flip ad roll around...dun like to see him strapped to the bouncer for more than 30min. he is getting very lazy cos they never gave him tummy time.

dseptkon: i've no idea. just that every evening when i stepped into the house, he's either strapped to his bouncer fast asleep or rocking himself happily, while the maid watches him and MIL cooks dinner in the kitchen.

millie/lilboymom/xuanting: gee, i hope mine will walk and run earlier. dun really want him to grow up to become a pampered boy...

sarahmay: u r leaving? i think gunibabe ordered from www.drugstore.com

Personally, i dun like the CB tubs. I find that dipping the fingers into the tub (and sometimes double-dipping) may contaminate the cream...also find it a hassle to wipe my fingers clean after I clean his poo/pee before screwing the cap back.

I've finished my CB cream. Now back to my Drapolene tube which is more hygienic in my opinion: squeeze whatever I need and after use, just snap the attached cover back.

Baby swimming
I'm one of those on the waiting list for Aquaducks. Didn't know they're so 'hot'.. lol.

Baby Crawling
I just posted a video of Devon crawling on my FB.. looks funny.

I just went to Robinsons to use my vouchers &amp; my hubby bought his very own diaper bag. Heheh. I also bought some insulated pots for storing baby food on the go, cute design &amp; can store cold &amp; hot food.

http://www.sassybaby.com/category?cattype=category&amp;catid=29&amp;productid=370&amp;product=Insulated%20Feeding%20Pots%20with%20Spoon

sasa

swimming for now is more of water confidence for our babies..n to play..

CY

yup..me looking at weekend coz weekday fb go CC...the waitlist is soooo long man..doubt they will entertain any trial class liao.so popular..i seen cheri's video of N..amazing yeh..but i am worried of them drinking the water though..but its good that the pool's heated..i remember that day when i go for the aquaducks trial for my fb at 8am+/9?? the water is so damn cold man.scare the kids will fall ill easily.

flos

dun tink the nestle cereals are organic...i find them abit sweet though..i like HT cereal.not sweet at all..oso, will be buying the EYS si shen cereal oso.btw, the babyfair is coming soon at end of feb..nestle usually has counters there n sell their cereal cheaps..can go n stock up.

gunibb

agree man..whenever i passby the cot,carine will get v excited n expect me to pick her up..when she saw me leave,she will start her 'fake cries'...after awhile she will stop on her own..i give her 5mins to stop,afterwhich i will go in ntalk to her n leave the room again.uaually when they r sleepy,they will go to zz on their own in no time.but,its abit heartwrenching though to hear her cry..feel guilty.

hello mummies... haven't checked into this thread for the longest time.. hope everyone and every baby is well..

just brought my baby for his injection today. he weighs 8.3kg and is 63.5cm tall.. think he's of a good weight..

baby cereals: some cereal brands contain sucrose (like nestle).. so read the label. there is one type of rice cereal that says "4mths and above". comes in a blue/white packaging. it's available in ntuc. quite a few of my mummy friends start with this..
i've bot 2 packets myself and intend to start in a couple of days' time..

and get ready the camera/video cam of yours to capture some moments.. it will be messy!

mei, bigtoes: your babies are so smart to be crawling already! mine is doing commando creeping only.. and as he struggles forward, he makes a lot of noise.. :p

SOLID FOOD - I saw some postings here that some mummies are getting HT or other brands brown rice cereal. I am a bit confused. shall we start with rice cereal or brown rice cereals? any difference?

Lc

preferably to start with plain rice cereal 1st..then slowly progress from there..oso brown rice cereal is thought to be 'heaty'..

<font color="7710ff">Hi LC..</font>

Hmm, actually both rice and brown rice cereals are good first foods, (whole grains and organic) for our tiny infants, starting with either is entirely choice. You'll probably be letting baby eat cereal for a couple of times and then move on to other new tastes.

White rice contain mostly carbohydrates while brown rice has zinc, and more fibre.

Objective of 1st stage weaning is to get baby to adapt to feeding from spoon, swallow properly and get gastric juices rolling and of course to test for allergic substances, and finally get baby to eat like the whole family does. 1st stage weaning- is not so much about providing baby essential nutrients ~~ MILK is still baby's primary food at 6 months ~~

Try getting baby to adapt to new tastes first (this is help to train baby not to be fussy in the long run), bear in mind, whether a baby is allergic to certain food, its already in baby's genes, and not a result of the food itself (it is just that the general pop. tend to be more allergic to peanuts, dairy, soy etc)

Try this scheme of 1st stage weaning (with every food, at least 3 feeds for testing) eg: brown rice -> pure apple puree -> pure pear puree -> pure carrot puree -> pure potato puree -> pure corn puree -> pure pea puree etc afterwhich you can then use your imagination and create yummy puree of your own!

* 2 cents of the at least 3 feeds for testing: A friend, giving solids for the 1st time tried cereal on her boy, and seeing that he loves it, gave 3 tablespoon at 1st go,... poor boy developed serious cradle cap.. thats why

And mummies, let me know if you have yummy recipes to share :p

http://www.xanga.com/meetscarlett

<font color="aa00aa">A&amp;A (2as) - my son is actually not crawling proper! What he does is to stick up his buttocks, then creep forwards/backwards. Don't think most babies can crawl properly at this age...He also moves a couple of inches then does his "eh eh ehhh" complain! Anyway, they are such a handful when they are mobile - Baby K flips all the time now - even when we are changing his diapers, when he is drinking from the bottle, or latched on....he cannot keep still, once we place him on the mat/bed, he flips almost immediately...quite irritating really!!! So mommies who babies are not all over the place yet - enjoy it while it lasts!

dseptkon (dseptkon) - we bring Kieran down to swim about once a week. The water is pretty cold initially and he complains, but once he gets used to it, he pretty much enjoys it. Don't swim for too long per session though - about 30 minutes tops.

Flos (flos) - actually, i have 3 packets of the Nestle baby cereal starter kit (free samples and from my SIL) - was thinking of just starting Keiran off with these....will go get the HT and Bellamy ones that everyone has been raving about as well.</font>

For those who are interested in the HT brown rice &amp; coming to my place on sat, can check out Tampine Mall's NTUC.. they are well stocked and they also have the bellamy's as well.
Let me go check out the cold storage right outside my place. I thought i have seen some there before as well.

Flos, rem the topic on milk powder from medical hall. mine is the same and was much cheaper. went back recently they increase their prices, more ex than NTUC now.

Called and check, they do have the Bellamy's rice cereal going at $6.80 at the cold storage outside my place. Mummies want me to grab for u all or want to grab it urself? Let me know.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Bellamy Cereal</font>
Anyone happen to know who's the local distributor for this cereal? I tot of purchasing in bulk from them. so trying to see if can get special price

<font color="ff0000">Healthy Times Cereal</font>
I've just contacted the local distributor for this cereal asking for a special price. Anyone keen to purchase in bulk for this cereal??</font>

hi jaymickey...

my boi haben start on solid food yet... is it ok to start with the bellamy's rice cereal 1st? if yes.. i wld like to buy.. ...

sasaxie.. gd idea on BP leh...

green_baby / storeberry - storeberry , are you taking all of green_baby's milk bags? am interested as well. I plan to swing by just to say hello to all.

<font color="aa00aa">Jaymickey (jaymickey), sasa (sasa_xie) &amp; other mommies - For how long typically would babies be on rice cereal? All the way till this gets replaced by porridge by about 8 months of age? I want to get the HT/Bellamy rice cereal, but not sure if I need to stock up, or even if he will enjoy it!

Jaymickey (jaymickey) - for the gathering this Sat, can you pls mail us ur address again? Thanks

Bigtoes, it depends on how much u want to feed K, cos like Sasa, she gives M 5table spoon a meal whereas i started with 1 table spoon. So should be able to last for 2 to 3 weeks for 2 feeds a day with 1 - 2 tablespoons.

Jo, I went to NTUC during lunch time, is selling at $6.10. So if you still want me to get from Cold Storage, let me know.

Greenbaby, i noticed they have some organic baby stuffs there, will check it out again..

BlackberryB, i bought the ikea high chair too. cheap and good, i bought the side "pillow" as well. so that Baby J wont sway to the left or right of the chair..

Oh, i have a tin of friso gold stage 2 to sell off, anyone interested? was a free gift.. seems like it is a big tin to me. My gal is on enfalac..

Bigtoes: Ah I see.. Same lah. My boy also screams and shouts when he pushes forward.. Wonder why.. :p Don't remember my ger was a noisy creeper.. The flipping stage is the "first taste" of more trouble to come.. I remember how tough it was to change my ger when she was at that stage.. What we did was to let her hold onto something - a teether, a rattler, etc in order to distract her new found hobby of flipping, and then clean and change her doubly fast..

I just let my boy taste his first semi-solid meal today.. Erm.. I think he's ok with the tasting, the problem is he doen't want to sit on the hi-chair for long.. Will start to scream to be carried.. :p

Post the story here..
Baby: Yeah.. Mummy says there's something new today.
2128749.jpg

Wonder what it is. Everyone else is so excited. Mummy has even taken out the camera.
2128750.jpg

Oo yee.. What is it you're putting into my mouth?
2128751.jpg

Yucks! Doesn't taste like my milk milk.. Is this the new thing mummy has been talking about? *disappointed*
2128752.jpg

Hpmm.. It's actually not that bad after a while.. Think I can get used to this.. *continue tasting*
2128753.jpg

Jaymickey... NTUC cheaper... in that case.. no need to help mi buy already.. thanks.. i can get it at AMK hub ntuc...
thanks alot...

just check with u all.. for the 1st time on semi solid food.. just start with 1 tea spoon huh? den continue with BM/FM huh?

Jo, yah.. i take 1 teaspoon, prepare the milk that she usually take, pour some into the cereal and then she finishes the rest of the milk.

sarah
i prefer jolly phonics. you should be able to get them from amazon UK online store. wait for their sales. quite worth it, cheaper than you getting it in singapore. as for sunshine, you can get from edventure store. think it's like edventure.com?

mei
maybe you can try marsden. they have one at turf city and holland. should be nearer your place and the waitlist is shorter?

milk bags.
whos selling hteirs?

Milkbags: I have lansinoh milkbags to let go. Have quit to stay at home so don't intend to store and freeze.. Who wants? Forgot what price I paid for them. $12 for 25 bags ok?

A&amp;A
you sahm too?im pumping to store for use when i introduce cereals. where do you live?you going to jaymickey's place this sat?

how old is your elder girl?my boy is 27mths and girl is 4.5mths.

IICY: Yah, staying at home. Moving to Bt Timah end of the month.
Not going to her place this Sat. Didn't know abt it. My ger is 23mths.. Her 2nd birthday is end of this month..
You?

bigtoes
actually bbs can be on rice cereal as long as you wan. you dont need to replace it if you dun wan
...rice cereal is good coz it is very dense in calories.

purees suggestion
when you bbs are sligtly more into solids and puree, a couple of fantastic food to introduce includes egg yolk and/or avocado. can puree with a grinder. they are one of the best foods around coz egg yolks contains the range of vitamin Bs and iron for neural development. bbs dun have limits to cholestrol intake so can give daily. avocado is high in good fats!very nutritious.

Jo: Not going leh.. I didn't know abt it until now. Haven't been checking on this thread for quite sometime.. Moreover, even though my ger is not that old, I can't remember many details. My forgetfulness is very jialat. :p