(2008/09) Sep 2008

"bo lang " this morning ???

just read teh news ... shanghai gg to have a disney land in year 2014 ... the agreement bet shanghai and the disneyland is agreed ... yohoo ... will bring zac there when he is 7 years old ...

hmm, seems so quiet.

so issit cfm tat if i dun find any lines on my baby means i wont be having #2???

Btw, anyone can advise which FM is known to fatten babies? I only know abt S26 but i heard its heaty... any mommies can advise PLS?

Bumbo seat :p~~ Scarlett likes~~~

Make good use of the bumbo..instead of using it at home, mummies can try bringing to the park, to the swimming pool, anywhere that has solid, firm grounding

Solids:

So far, Scarlett has tried homemade organic carrots, brown baby rice, organic sweet potatos, organic purple potatos, apple juice, pear juice, and she loves them all!.. kekeke her mouth will auto turn towards me when she's finished what's in her mouth... as for processed puree.. have let her tried the garden fresh carrots and sweet potato ones, she love healthy times purees too.. will move to try banana, pumpkin, apricot next..

2097571.jpg

Chewy,

Perhaps you like to try giving some apple juice or pear juice to help baby move her bowels in future? The fibre content and vitamin C can indeed help poo poo to move.. and since baby is 4 mths, can try=)

Oh! 20$ is in ur bank le...sorwwieee!

CH turns 4mths today!!! hehehehe...

eve
yeah try s26...never known a baby who is on s26 and still skinny. all fat fat fat fat...

qiuling
the ergo is good. very hardy and you are tall and lanky, you will look good in ergo..:p

the one for mountain trekking? you referring to BECO?nice but more ex than ergo. think for boys, ergo can liaoz, beco is nice coz the design are all limited editions.beco was developed by mountain trekking couple...the only diff is beco has high back rest while ergo is low. therefore ergo might be better for singapore weather coz more cooling...

kym
nice photos!!! lett is going to have her own portfolio even before she turns one!!!

i agree bumbo is good for outings.

Length of bb
I made a mistake on the measurement. Alston is oni 59cm tall from 48cm at birth. Very short leh compared to the bbs here...Hmmm...Hubby is not short leh (179cm tall) while i'm 162/163cm tall. Now i'm getting worried if he will shoot up later, cos i rem my eldest bro was 151cm tall at Sec 1 but is now 1.8m.
He's not developing rapidly in other aspects as well, oni 25%-50% percentile on length, weight and head circumference.
kao_sad2.gif

sasa,

I can only handle my child with my mum n hubby help, less to mention handling 2. I am very clumsy type.

chewy,

only sit for 1 month huh? So short only? then how. Me very tempted to use since see scarlett looking so happy in it.

kym,

u very experimental. scarlett already eat so many different kind of food. today i went PD for her 1st 5in1 injection. PD advise against giving too early until her head is really strong to sit up without support. so around 5 to 6 months.

eve,

my PD say it is normal for baby to have crossed eyes, even more common for low weight baby or premature bb. she say can observe till 7 months. If still got, still in time to do correction to avoid having lazy eyes.

UPDATE: My daughter is 5.515kg and 61.5cm at 3m12days. She gain 3kg since birth n close to 20cm in 3 months. I so envy! When ppl ask me how tall I am, I often cheat by saying around 160cm. Haha...

ypg, the swimming competition is usually in the morning.. i went to the previous one..

J was 70cm as per the last PD visit last tuesday.. and weights 8.2kg at 4.5mths..

passport pics, i have yet to take one.. have to try taking on one soon.. by the way, can we put on any headband for the photo?

SarahMay: I carried GuniBoy in the snuggle hold but with legs dangling out, but the cloth didn't cover him all the way so high when he's awake, more like hip carry but he was resting on my tummy(yes, finally got use for the 4mths preggie looking tummy)! dun have a picture to show, it looks like the picture in the extreme left, 2nd from bottom. http://www.momsinmind.com.sg/snugglehowto.html

Springz: I think SarahMay was the one who googled and posted the article on walkers and jumperoos. Yes it did say to limit use to 20mins a day if you're concerned.

crayonshinchan, storeberry, sasa, flos, kym, BlingBling: haha ... I seriously dunno how true all these old wives tales are but will be fun when we look back when we have #2.
I remembered my auntie said to look at the child's nipple! If it's protruding out, the next one will be gal. If inverted, will be a boy! So far applied this theory among the cousins and it's accurate!

Gunibabe, i used to think that protruding is boy and inverted is gal..

Everyone has been telling me that my next will be a boy cos J got this boyish face now.. plus other signs like thigh got 1 line and nipple is inverted..

Jaymickey: I think can wear headband.
so long as can see their features and ears clearly. I just placed my boy on a nappy cloth and took the picture. It passed ICA's requirement. The lines or squares on the nappy cloth didn't show up clearly. Can try that

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Kym</font>
nice shots of lett.. looks like child model.. hehe

<font color="ff0000">Millie</font>
dun worry k. mayb A will shoot up someday somehow. u nvr know

<font color="ff0000">Gunibabe</font>
hehe... we shall see who'll be the 1st to announce preg in this thread and see if this theory applies

hhmm.... the linea nigra theory was quite accurate rite?

<font color="ff0000">Jaymickey</font>
wah... hehe.. boy boy... good lah.. den can close factory le. I wan a gal

oh... dun think can wear headband for passport pics leh..</font>

sasa, yah, give me another boy i close shop liao.. don't want too many... very tiring..

GuniBabe, okie, i will try that.. if not, next time she might blame me for putting such a BOYISH pic in her passport.. haha

sasa: yes, will be fun to test the theories!

linea nigra theory? huh, I didn't know about that one.

jaymickey: make her look as girlish as possible so that the immigration officer won't ask you to change her passport next time when her hair grows. ;)

lilboymum: thks! will let my boy try s26 then cos i hope my son will b more bah-bah. btw, issit ur bday today as mentioned aby dmbb? Happy Birthday!

ypg: my boy's weight is considered below average. maybe tats y he's still having crossed eyes, like wat ur PD mentioned. hmmm, y my PD didnt consider abt this point b4 doing the referral. anyways, after reading abt wat ur PD said, i think i'll observe till he's 7mths old then. thks

ypg,

My baby turns 4 months old today! I just weighed her again and its still 7kgs. Oh well my hubby is on the heavier side so mabbe baby is like her daddy :p

Ur baby taking her 1st 5-in-1 prevenar tmr huh? My baby took hers when she was 2 months old. Here the doc advised us to have the jabs spaced out so at 2, 4, 6 months for the 3 jabs. I fed my baby with a little paracetamol before letting her take the jab (doc told me to do that!) and she was ok after her jabs plus oral rotrix.

I've been trying to read to my baby and show her pix of things and ppl but she is only interested in my computer right now. every morning she will look for my laptop once she wakes up and will ask me to turn it on for her by making her " eh eh eh" sound and head going towards the laptop.she even knows how to deactivate the screen saver by rubbing her hands on the touch pad!Of course i demonstrated to her before lah :p

chewy_ring,

Its not that i am brave but bo bian lor, hubby here so its makes more sense for me to bring baby over. Moreover its more peaceful here in Shanghai. I know it sounds ridiculous but Singapore got too many relos so always got "village" meeting..very tiring :p

kym,

Ur baby looks very very cute in the bumbo. I doubt mine would stay in there for 2 mins. She is too active and jumps up and down like a frog every day unless she is sleepy!

Oh have u started your baby with solids yet? Not sure which brand of cereal is better to start my baby with when she turns 6 months.

millie,

So u have been to Suzhou and Hangzhou before huh? To be honest i dun really like China lah, but since we r here so just go visit and see see look look...try to appreciate the differences :p Shanghai seems to be the closest to Singapore compared to other cities. I have worked (but did not live) in Beijing before from 2000-2006 and i dun really like Beijing except for the visits to the historical places of interest.But then again i am sure Beijing is now a much better place after the revamp for the Olympics!

dmbb: why using photoshop still not good enough? just use 'Contrast' and dark out the subject, then extract the darkened subject and plonks it onto a white background that complies with ICA's pixels.

taking photo lying down: i think my son looks totally diff lying down vs upright position. when lying down, his whole face 'spans out', making him look more chubby. when upright, his cheeks are pulled down by gravity!! hehe.

ash: oh didn't read your posts carefully cos always on the move after starting work 3 weeks ago.

u working in china now? i lived/worked in china for 4 yrs...last city was shanghai
kekeke...those lobangs on bb's trousers are very 'peasant-like'...

but now in SG working...ttyl:p

sarahmay: your info on bumbos, jumperoos, etc are very useful. i won't set up the exersaucer then.

lilboymom/lok: i just bought the Ikea high chair + tray + cushion on Sunday. i might get the Peg perego one later, depending on the Budget 2009 announcement. it's gonna be a very rough ride ahead so all of us must be financially prudent and prepared for the worse!

Hi Flos.. Hmm, someone else tried it for me &amp; said cldn't be done. I will pass ur "instructions" to my hubby tonight. Do u know if Picasa works? I've tt program at work so I can do it myself if can.
Ya! I know what u mean, lying down &amp; upright 2 different faces!

dmbb, i brought her to the studio near my house to do it. $10 with print outs and a cd. the requirements for if u're taking the pix yourself are available at the ica website. but if u want to save yourself the hassle of resizing and photoshopping, just get it done at a studio.

flos, i know la. i just had to grab the opportunity to whinge about my FAAAAATS. sobs.

sarahmay, how big is e's head? mine was 5.89kg, 64cm &amp; hc 40cm last week. she's abt the same age as e. a bit on the small side for weight but length average leh.

bb sitting in bumbo/jumperoo
wonder if the no sitting too long argument would also then be applicable to bb bjorns/other carriers where bbs are carried in a sitting position, albeit with slightly more support?

jaymickey, j is growing very well!

lilboymom, ash, my bb also turns 4mths today!

Tiptoeing while sitting on exersaucer :
Alston is tiptoeing while sitting in the exersaucer. Does that mean i should stop putting him in it ?

xuanting

about bb sitting in carriers- when i went to try the ergo, the salesperson said that bjorns are not so good for boy bbs cos of all the pressure on the family jewels. i dismissed it as salestalk but now using the Air and with bb at 9kg for 5 months...can begin to see her point. think the recommendation is also for bbs to not be in carriers longer than 1-2 hours. apparently the ergo is designed so that the bbs weight is not focused on the one strap under but along the butt...something like that.

Ash,
Yes i've been to Suzhou and Hangzhou. Maybe i still prefer cosmopolitan cities, tats why i prefer SH and BJ. Me 2...hate China cos i'm a cleanliness freak, can't stand their washroom...so yucky. Also, the toilet bowl (even the one at home) oso gets choked often , so frustrated...urgghhh and it's soooo cold during winter at home even though with the heater on unlike in hotels where the flooring and walls are insulated.

eve (yurieve18): was told that babies on Similac fatten up the nice and healthy way, you may want to try that instead of S26, which I was told is very heaty, most babies kena constipation after switching to S26.

Jumperoos: the instruction on the box said to let the child tiptoe leh. I think it's ok for them to tiptoe to learn to jump. But the article in the link SarahMay posted warned that one of the cons of using walkers, jumperoos or exersaucers is that it may hampers the child's ability to learn to walk properly, namely, they will tip-toe when they walk. I guess it's ok for us to use jumperoos and exersaucers cos they can't "walk" in it per se, but merely jump or stand when they're in it. The concern is that when the child can't see their feet when they're learning to walk, it'll hamper their learning process to walk. hmmn, that's all I can recall.

Ergo: I think Ergo won't hurt their penis and scrotum cos they're facing inwards, resting on our tummy! ;) Not too sure about Bjorn, cos it's just like sitting in a walker, jumperoo or exersaucer, where the child is resting on the fabric. Hmmn, my take is that it's not substiantial enough to cause damages lah! hehe

SarahMay: hmmn, Baby E doesn't look that short when we saw him leh. Was about to tell you not to worry about his height and growth lah (he won't be a shorty lah), cos he's growing very well.
huh, I agree with crayonshinchan, the PD's chart like not accurate leh, he doesn't look like his height is in the 10th percentile!

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Gunibabe</font>
sighz... i super sianz. now juz saw onli 1 line on Max's thighs. but there are 2 lines on his arm. obsessed with this line thingy.

Realli hope for a gal next.. haha... for my ILs</font>

Millie,
you can place a cushion under his feet so tat he wont feel tired "hanging" around... =) i did tat to my DS when i put him in the BB walker, he seems to like it. =)

bacon&amp;eggs: I got the white one. it matches my decor

dseptkon: oh gosh, pressure on the family jewels? i am very concerned

millie: 4-5 hrs? I only bjorn my son for 1 hr at most when he starts fidgeting in his stroller.

dmbb: how about trying CHANNELS masking? it's faster and can pick up the finest hair outline of your baby. u pick the best contrasting colour channel (R/G/B), then use magic selection (i think) to select the darkened object and invert it. this one is CS3. 2min.

qqq - little e is much better already. phsio says only one more session and he should be fine. thanks to hardworking hubby who exercised him daily. yao lan is recommended to have around head cause when bb brain grows, it will be round.

Jaymickey,

I see. Let me ask if my hubby free that day also. How much do I have to pay u for the food?

sasa,

If u want to have girl, maybe u can try this method, the Shettles Method. I think this seem more believing that the see how many lines method n we can do our part to try for a gal.

Having a boy or gal depends on the man's X or Y chromosome. X chromosome will be gal n Y will be boy. Y carrying sperm swim faster but die fast also. So if u want to have a gal, u need to begin having sex immediately following the end of ur period. Have sex at least 1 a day until 2 or 3 days before ovulation. This is to kill off the faster swimming but die fast Y sperm to be all killed b4 u ovulation. But to do so, u must know ur ovulation cycle very well. Best to observe a few month b4 u try out this method.

Hope that helps.

eve,

I think different PD will say different things cause there is many theory of child development n some may be contradicting also.

My PD is those older experienced type who know most of the parents tend to be more kancheong so she prefer to give us the security that our child is ok. She say 7-9 months cross-eyes still not corrected, then got problem. Ur PD may be those who wish to play safe or to protect themselves more type. He rather say on the play safe side to refer ur boy to see eye specialist. This is what I think la.

Still u r ur boy mum, u know him best. U should know if his condition is getting better or worsen, dun have to wait till 7 months then see eye specialist.

SarahMay,

Ur PD may be looking at the chart for ang moh bb. They tend to be taller. Dun worry too much.

flos/ millie
ya.when my hubby heard about the family jewels part, he straightaway said, go aead and buy the ergo if i want...hahahahha

IICY ,
happy birthday

Ash ,
so the injections are almost the same in sin .. Prevnar at 2, 4 , 6 mths and 1 year ...

Flos ,
think Gunibb makes sense ... the walker can move and simulates the walking motion .. so might not be ideal for bb .. but jumperoo and exersaucer cannot move .. it is just standing upright .. it does not emulate walking ... so might not have corelation ..

xuanting
yah i rem your boy is the same age as my girl :p...must let them meet, but CH wont be as power as your boy..havent weigh her yet, but wont be much :p

qiuling, dmbb
thankie thankie...old liaoz, haiz...

baby carriers
i dunno what the bjorn is like. but ergo 'seat' is like a bucket seat (in fact they call it the bucket), it covers up till their thighs and knees (for ch now coz she is still small). the child sits on her butt...

flos
ikea high chair is good enough. actually high chairs should be like ikea's.coz the child gets really dirty and then smear stuff all over high chair, more practical to get ikea's coz easy to wash. also it is more difficult to stand and pull stunts on ikea's high chair.

bb developmental chart
all developmental charts are the same (refer to health booklets from diff hospitals). taken into account singaporean bbs oredi. however, most bbs in singapore are on fm.and fm bbs are supposed to be bigger and heavier.

UN/WHO has a corrective chart for breastfed bbs, but doesnt take into account asian bbs.

o yes, the only thing that differs btw health booklets are the developmental checklist. public hospitals' more detailed than private.

breadmum, can I have the contact no. of the phsio? Btw I let my bb slp in the yao lan during the day and bed in the night. But doesn't get better..

Dear storeberry, jas,

Tights are finalllllllllllllllllllly here!!!! yeah!!!!!! i am packing them now, will get my hubs to put it into the mail by tml morning, storeberry, are you going to springz house on thursday? i can pass it to you =)

btw mommies, do we need to burp baby after feeding them cereals? saw this question posed in Aug mom's thread &amp; was thinking abt it too..

Do you all make sure that your babies burp well after every feed? Its getting very tough to get my baby to burp after every feed but i am worried she might get colic if i dun burp her well all the time.The pedi said its ok not to burp all the time but i am just paranoid!

chewy_ring,

Actually we bought the vaccines from Singapore and just bring to the hospital in Shanghai to have my baby jabbed accordingly lor.At that time we were not sure if Shanghai has all the vaccines we needed. Singapore pedi said jabs should be taken at 3,4,5 months but here Parkwayhealth doc here said they follow the American system so its 2,4,6. Going to bring my ger for her 2nd round of jabs next week. Hopefully no fever *crossing fingers &amp; toes*

<font color="119911">Hi mommies - been too busy to post since i went back to work. Baby Kieran &amp; I just wanted to wish everyone a Happy Chinese New Year in advance!</font>
2100446.jpg

dmbb,

Y dun you go to ICA to have your baby's photo taken? They have professionals there to help you. I took my baby's photo there when she was 1 month old and it took us less than 10 mins to get every thing done since they had all the "tools" like bumbo chair, rattles etc to make sure they can capture a good photo of your baby. And photo taken there sure approved one!:p