(2008/09) Sep 2008

ash, why r u eating bread for lunch?
can u type out the chinese names of those two restaurants? i've no idea where they are
i like 湘鄂情 (hubei and hunan), 干锅居 (guizhou)

flos,

My hubby bought alot of bread yday so i tot just eat bread lor. Anyway i prefer bread to rice one lah.

The chinese names of the 2 restaurants are 古意 (89 Fumin Lu,near Julu Lu 富民路89号,近巨鹿路) and 品川 (47 Taojiang Road 桃江路47号)

I have yet to eat my sashimi since i delivered. I also love the deli meats,sausages and cheeses but had to keep away from them during pregnancy. After my confinement, i was gorging pharma ham,salami etc a little :p

StefSeanSharbabes,

Ur shoes is nonya shoes is it? It is hand-made beads shoes is it? Heard it is very expensive.

missy,

My daughter 1st day face out is on the CNY walk-in, which is the day u saw us. She is 3 months 8 days. I think nothing to do with age but depend on bb neck. Her neck quite strong nowadays so wun flip here and there. We already carry her with 1 hand, seating upright liao.

Perhaps u can try to put ur bb in the baby bjorn at home and try out 1st?

ypg..
my boy actually, d neck quite strong... i think im d sort too scared to try anything new on my boy.. hehehe.. prolly will try bjorn him face outwards while taking a walk at the park for a while.. ;p
thks!!

IKEA Highchair: just went to IKEA today and got the highchair. Think someone mentioned that the blue and red ones are more expensive than the white one. Hmmn,I went today and all the colours and white ones are $25.

Hi, Wingkei

Yes yes yes.. please continue to bond with your baby. This is very IMPORTANT! Just in case if things turn sour, you still have your baby with you.. I dun noe what to say abt your MIL. I tot I have quite a fair bit from my MIL but your MIL is really "jia(3) li (4) hai(4)" and this can be dangerous.. ever consider infant care?

Lunar new year is just round the corner.. dun brood over this for the time being and enjoy your time with your baby and your parents..

the thread is quiet today, i guess everyone busy with spring cleaning etc.

here's wishing all a happy cny!

gong xi gong xi
2108814.gif

Gong Xi Fa Cai to all mummies and bb and families ...........
BB getting their first Hong baos ... My boys will be dressed identical .. haha ... for three days .. cos daddy bought two sets of identical china CNY and i bought a set of identical wear for my boys ...

gong xi fa cai mommies!

StefSeanSharbabes, i have a pair in the exact same pattern but in green and still work "in progress" since over 10 years ago!!! the pix is quite small – are yours made from the newer beads or are they the precious old potong beads? how much did you pay for them?

Happy 牛 year!! It is a good start for me. My daughter decided to surprise me by able to hold her milk bottle, suck it well n finish it. She will only turn 4 months next month. Ur bb all can hold milk bottle liao? Is it a norm for bb to be able to hold so early? Cause on my relative side, most hold it around 6 months.

Also, I find that when we bottle feed my daughter, milk tend to flow out but when she hold it herself, milk hardly flow out. Think she know better than us how to hold the milk bottle correctly. Haha...

ypg
my doter can hold her bottle too! esp when she's super hungry... hahahahaha.. u noe..same like hold/touch our breast when we bf them.. hehehe...

she'll take out her pacifier too but cant put it back in her mouth... end up she'll cry.. sigh..

ypg, i think quite a number of the bbs in this thread started doing it around 3mths leh. mine also did it around that time. should be the norm ba, since they are supposed to be able to grasp things at abt 3mths.

bought one of those qipao type outfit for my bb to wear during cny but the moment she drooled on it, the colour ran and stained other stuff, including my bb bjorn.

Hi Xuanting!! Happy CNY!!
Whoa so jialat and laoya! I bought a baby qipao advertised as suitable for 6 months and guess what my 4 yr old niece can wear it! The label says 'S' but the BP said 6 month old... sigh..

Grasping bottle.. yup know quite a few babies here did that some time ago. I like lett best!! Can aim the bottle and put it into her mouth.. for me, I don't let lil S hold the bottle coz she will only use both hands to take the bottle out and push it away!!

i think our tots are in yankity yank mode these days.. lil S has been pulling at everything! Headbands (she snaps it back onto her face - ouch), our specs, nose, eyes, dining ware etc...

My MIL has been telling me repeatedly not to put Lil S in sitting position
But I like to see her balance her weight (shift weight to left/ right) while sitting upright unsupported, quite cute
Is it true that it is not good for their spines at this stage?

crazy hubby 'taught' lil s survival tactics today.. he kept putting our pillow onto lil S' face (Read: heavy cotton filled rectangular head pillow we sleep on). Quite funny, she will literally use both her arms to push away the pillow from her face. Keep pushing it off bit by bit then turn her head sideways and wriggle until her face is no longer under the pillow. Hubby really crazy i think!!

Btw, wishes again to all mummies - Happy CNY!

xuanting/ springz
ya i agree those cny outfits i bought from bp are really ''laoya''... wear once only and even b4 we step out of the hse, the material detached from the seam already...and kept freying.. at different locations somemore... not even good for 1 use... hai... disposable cny wear.

Holding bottle: So it is a norm for bb to hold around 3 to 4 months. I dunno that. Cause my relatives all told me 6 months then can do that. I guess my relatives that side all slow slow one. Hehe...

Laoya CNY outfit: The qipao that my mum bought also laoya. My hubby open the button to change diaper, end up tear the clothes. The material also very rough, despite the seller said it is silk. My daughter become cracky n keep twisting her body. End up I gave her a change of clothes. She was smiling when I am changing her and keep out saying ah, eh kind of words. As if saying mummy, thank you for changing this lousy clothes for me.

Happy CNY sept Mummies~~~ Muacks

OBS course for lil'S :p Original! Then again, good to subject our babes through that sorta excercise, since they are flipping like no tomorrow then at least when they are tummyfront, they'll know how to slap that pillow away =)) as for Lett.. she tries to flip even on her car seat X_X! and bed, and chair and everywhere..

and yes,
ypg, our babes here tried holding bottles and flipping at 3 mths, now its 4.5mths trying juice, semi-solids, trying to crawl and sit up! time flies!!

~~~~~~~~~~I wanna play mahjong!!! anyone wanna play~~~~~~~?

Missy:
Yea~
The photoshoot photos are taken by us~ me and springz.. for fun only! We are planning an outdoor one soon, maybe you could join us! ~~ and perhaps make the pictures into a coffee table book! I hope to snap all our babies sitting on bumbo seats amongst the clouds, trees and birds! Hort Park will be nice :p~

CNY dresses:
... i thought they felt like paper! haha..and yes lu.. the BP qipao we bought can fit a 3-4 yrs old.. lol luckily we went to chinatown to buy 2 other sets :p..

ypg
eh, maybe not that your relatives bbs are slow, it depends on practice i think. CH cannot hold bottle yet coz she hardly drinks from the bottle. My fb CY has never learnt that skill but that didnt stop him from drinking from sippy and subsequently cup...so i guess if you let them have the practice, they can do it...

cny clothnes
bought from bp and the quality quite good leh, cotton not silk so ok for our weather. no complains even from my whiner fb...

springz
yah tell me about it...they even reach for our skin to yank. and it's omg painful!!!maybe i have too much flabby, sagging skin all around...

Happy New Year to all the mummies!! I am also trying to train Rachael to hold her bottle, then can save me some energy on feeding her..keke..lazy mummy

Kym
Thanks for the tights, love it so much! They fit in nicely into Rachael's big bum, and can keep her rather warm. Her leg warmers now too tight for her cos she got fat tighs too!

Want to ask if there are any free websites where we can make nice and simple collage design with our babies' photos? Me rather lousy at that, so want to see if there are any free trials that I can try out, must be simple and hassle-free...

happy new year to all mommies!! here're miniflos' day 1 takings...still got some more from day 2...hhehehe!!!

2110519.jpg

looks like i need to buy him a piggy bank soon;)

Happy new year to everyone!!
wow... flos, ur miniflos got so much ANGBAOS!!

mine is onie liddat!

2110704.jpg

btw, i realized my bb has heavy breathing. Like majiam nose stuck which i think it is the case loh. It has been liddat for like 4 days?? And it is taking longer than usual to get him to finish his milk cos i tink he cannot breathe and suck the teat concurrently. Is there any home remedy for block nose for bb? I not beri keen in medication such as nasal drops..

I also train my bb to hold her bottle at 2 months plus. By her 3 months, she can hold her bottle independantly. It make my life so easy, esp the night feed, I just pass her her bottle and she can finished the milk herself.

springz

ya..my mum oso been telling me that all the time saying bad for their spine etc..when i bbjoun her,she oso say me...

flos

thats alot man..carine only got afew..
coz not much relatives..hehe...mostly overseas..

Happy New Year!

Flos,

That is really a lot!! We only go 3 places this year so not much ang bao. Also, amount very small, despite it is close relative. Think economy really no good now. I dun dare to visit too many places. Already my daughter become cranky today. She quite pantang in such area. Hope she is better tmr.

Tmr or rather, in 4 hours time, I am going back to school liao. Time pass so fast! 4 months maternity leave gone liao. At 1st cant wait to go back school but now really feel sad cause I know I will miss my daughter very much. Sighs... Wat to do. Cant afford to be stay at home mum.

holding bottles .. My Zac dun hold btls till 1 year plus .... like IICY ... Zenneth dun hold btls too ... think he knoes the mummy will hodl for him ..

Flos,
That is a lot of HB .. u have so much friends and relatives ....

Good Morning & Happy Niu Year.

Attached is the confirmed namelist for our coming CNY gathering on 7 Feb. Did I miss out on anyone? or Anyone else wants to join? Pls let me know latest by 30 Jan. Thanks

Jaymickey + bb
vellvelle + BB
Sri + bb Shadiyah
Yan + bb
jgwee + bb
Jessi + bb + HB
Sunrays + Charlotte
lok+ Jo-Jo brothers + maid
Bigtoes + Dracwy + bb
Xuanting + hb + bb
Millie22+ Alston
Crayonshin + sumo
goldfish + bb
missy & BB
Springz + lil S + helper
Kymkym + Scarlett + Hb
Jeraldin + HB + bb
Angeline + fb + bb + HB
storeberry & smallberry
cloud + bb + hb
Blackberryb + BB Tristen
lilboymum + CY + CH + HB
cupcakes + bb
Mrs Yap + bb + Maid
bakingmama + hb + bb
Momopanda + bb
greenbaby + bb

Sean Lau photoshoot

hi mummies im from the aug thread. im trying to gather mummies for this photoshoot to get a better price...anyone interested?

the package can be used from newborn to 1 year old ( no time restriction to the month of Feb)

http://www.seanlau.com/Home/Index.html

Classic Baby
$238

2 hours of studio session
5 pictures printed on 5”x7”
1 reprint on 8’x12” with framing
DVD with selected images in high resolution

If can gather:
10 mummies - $208
20 mummies - $188

Extra cost:
- Above price is for weekday only, for weekend photoshoot please add $35
- To include parent please add $25 per person (u can still get to have a photo shot of your baby on her/his own and a photo shot of the whole family as well)

please email me at [email protected]

happy new year to all!
so many posts. i shal try to respond to as many as i can.

gunibabe: thanks for clarifying. i m not v good at using this new style. sometimes realy canot make it. is the ring just below your collarbone? mine keeps sliping down.

kymkym: wah! you very good at finding ways of generating income! hehe. outdoor one when? easter bunny shots? hehe.
crayon: you go to the same pd? aiyo...maybe her charts realy a bit off. hahaha.

xuanting: e's hc is in 75% group - at 43cm. he got big head. hope tt means big brains. hahaha. don't worry yours is a girl. can be dainty.

millie: how old is alston when you took his latest stats?

flos: does this mean you are not using your exersaucer at all?

springz: tel me abt the yankity yank phase. e has ben at it since last month. now getting better, can grasp my nursing tank top and tug at where the flap usually comes down. he sure knows where his food cvomes from. and he LOVES to pull at the neckline and release it for the "piak piak" sound. cheeky. i also kena pinched by him too.

springz: what is logico in mandarin? got the chinese name? shall attempt looking for it in zhuhai. will also keep a look out for chines board books. can get some for u if have. u want?

sarahmay: we'll set it up this weekend if we hv the time. My son's head is pretty big too, at week 16 his head measured 42.5cm. Should be 43-44cm now.

chewyring/goldfish/angeline/ypg: it's cos hubs' cantonese relatives give 2 angpows per married couple. half of our relatives are also abroad so could've been doubled!!!

i hv not counted the total 'proceeds' yet. Will wait till the entire CNY is over, cos more appts & gatherings this weekend

ypg: actually won't know if the amount is big or small, cos miniflos is my firstborn, so i've no basis for comparison with previous years' takings, or whether the current economic downturn has any impact on relatives' 'contribution'!! lol.

sarah~

i was thinking of valentine's day or an 'anna geddes' themed shoot:p when you're back for easter again, let us know ya~~~ we'll have one for u and elisha then! hehehe!

sarahmay
logico in mandarin is direct translation...lo2 ji4 (logic) gou (dog)..hahahaha...

chinese new year ang po...
eh we didnt visit many relatives, actually only my parents and my ils. but all the relatives very 'auto', will still leave ang po with my ILs and parents to pass to us...but then again, it's really our own money lah, coz we end up giving them ang pos too, even those without chilren.....

kymkym..
Wah.. U did d photos w springz.. Not bad leh.. Can make business, earn side income... don't forget to update me if u gg for any shoots yah... Hopefully by then, my boy wont sleep so much anymore. Heheheheh... ;p

Flos
Wah.. Miniflos collected so much hongbaos!!!

Jas
Im as clueless as u are too at these techy stuff. But u can download photoscape from d net. Free n quite user friendly. I think today's Straits Time has one section on editing photos, and which downloads are recommended. I tried photoscape once to montage Little Q's photos. Quite manageable... :p

Flos not bad heh 1888!!!

Haha Lil S did an explosive POO in my aunt's place and my aunt ended up winning in mah jong.. hahah.. baby's CAI hahaha...

Sarah - Logico is for older todds I think.. ya if got chinese Board books and not too heavy can trouble you to help buy a few pl??? The webby replied me.. they have these books only... fyi to all other mummies who are interested in chinese board books..

http://www.kidsbook.sg/?gOo=Z29vZHNfZGV0YWlscy5kd3Q&goodsid=11325&PHPSESSID=182fe6373a3eb98a3a30e35f659642d6

http://www.kidsbook.sg/?gOo=Z29vZHNfZGV0YWlscy5kd3Q&goodsid=10649

http://www.kidsbook.sg/?gOo=Z29vZHNfZGV0YWlscy5kd3Q&goodsid=11090

http://www.kidsbook.sg/?gOo=Z29vZHNfZGV0YWlscy5kd3Q&goodsid=124

Er about Ang Pows.. at the gathering do we need to give each other's babies ar? Firstborns??

<font color="0077aa">Kymkym: Outdoor shots?? ONZ!!!

Sarah: Chinese board books?!! Help help if not to heavy yah?

Xuanting: Thanks thanks! Your gal also have beautiful eyes!

Springz: I also not sure, maybe not?? Cos end of the day its like passing the ang pows around? Keke...</font>

sarahmay
yes springz is right, logico is for ages 2 onwards. 2-3 and 4-6 if im not wrong...however those we get in china are the cheaper version, they are written for the china market. the original logico is from germany and cost a whopping $2000 plus for the full set! you can get it in hongkong. it's in english...

when elisha is older, you can also consider getting him the luk bambino, also from germany, but played in slightly different way cf to logico...