(2008/09) Sep 2008

Me me! I'm at studio loft today too! I'm a sept mum but a silent reader of this thread =P Saw missy, saw clarrisamum's hubby (think I heard him registering clarrisa when he came), and I think I saw jasmine too cos I remember your baby from your photos. When I saw babies of similar sizes as mine, I knew must be mommies from the Sep thread! But too shy to call out..just smile smile only. I did the christmas setting today too. here are my baby's photos
2088195.jpg

2088196.jpg

miumiu/Jasmine/chilicrab,

Haha... It seem that a lot of Sep thread (paiseh I not Sep mum, Oct 8 mum) mums went to Studio Loft from 12 to 2pm. Like a mini gathering. Somemore, we never arrange in advance.

chillicrab,

I remember ur bb also. Ur bb got fair like snow skin, unlike my clarissa, dark dark skin. She go out, sure become darker. She even darker than me. Sighs...

I see, u saw my hubby, my hubby super skinny. me is super fat. So we r ah fat (in hokkien) n ah skinny (in hokkien) according to my mum. As my daughter love to look at our wedding photo on my room wall, my mum will say to her, one day got 1 ah fat meet ah skinny, they got married n give birth to ah pek (old man in hokkien) cause my daughter head is like reclining hairline of an old man. Then my daughter will giggle n laugh. Haizz... My mum hor.

Jaymickey,

So the gathering is at ur place. U stay near Bedok right? Can I join? When?

Kym,

U also go Studio Loft yesterday? Ur BB dress is so sweet. In fact Jasmine n chillicrab bb CNY dress all very nice. My mum bought 1 is ugly as compared to urs. I am going out to buy red red one for my daughter. Kym, where u buy the dress for ur daughter?

Her name is 卓越 right? I cant find her zhuo, is the name chosen by feng shui master? Very unique, I 1st time see it. I come across many unique names in my work, I told myself dun torture my daughter by giving her a Chinese name with too many stroke to write, but end up I still give. Sorry, clarissa. Mommy's fault. Ur daughter name is good, not too many stroke yet unique. As a teacher, her name sure leave a stronger impression in me.

hi sasa,

saw u order the superman rompers from cuteeland bp. hve u rec'd aldy? is the cutting big or small?
does it fit ur boy?
cos thinking of getting one too.

chili crab/ jasmine/ ypg,
your baby photos are so cute! Originally intended to go for the photo-shoot cum bring-bb-to-office then in the end we can't make it to the photo-shoot...

2088555.gif
mini miow is well very behaved and can act cute in my office. I still got 2 weeks before starting work...

Guess will have to DIY the photo-shots at home with the help of my sis and her expensive camera...arrrgghh.

Will most prob go for a photo-shoot when mini miow can sit up.

re: unique chinese names
yah, I spent about $400 to have my son named. Spent the $$ to have on-the-spot face to face name choosing session. It is really good $$ for the feng shui master. Guess what they are computerised okie, just key in the birthdates, the computer will do the work...

I got heart attack when i called up some to choose c-section dates, all in the range of 1000+. that's crazy.

miow,

1k+? Really good n easy $ for feng shui master. So wat is ur son name?

My daughter is 愷瞳. I go to You Long Zi at $100, end up only get the 愷 from him. I choose 瞳 myself. I just use the stroke guideline from him n choose myself. The name he choose dun sound good. I am chinese teacher myself so I quite fussy about my daughter chinese name. Wonder if can get $50 refund from You Long Zi or not. Hehe... Which feng shui master u go to? 400 quite expensive.

clarissamum
Your mum is very funny lo! My baby used to be quite dark too, but getting fairer slooowly, will take a while bah. I went searching for Kym's baby CNY dress too 'cos saw Scarlett and Charlotte wearing the same type of red dress for the studio loft photos and they are very nice! But can't find in the chinatown shophouses leh so end up stick with this pink dress

miow
If your sis has those kind of SLR camera, then don't have to waste $$ for this shoot lah, 'cos I'm sure the camera can capture very nice photos, just throw a few oranges on the floor and you'll get the same pics as ours!

chillicrab,

I hope so too. She is really very dark as compared to other babies. Sighs...

Ur pink dress also look nice. Mine is the worst.

My mum is the humourous type. Love to joke type. So my daughter having alot of fun with her.

miow,

yalor, we go studio shot cause we dun have good camera. normal digital camera just not the same. i agree with chillicrab, throw in some oranges can liao. Haha...

recently this few days my son is super cracky. Din really want to sleep much in the day and night. Even sometime midnight after drinking his milk he will stay awake to play for around 30 min -1hr. both my parents and me and hubby all shag out. not he din want to lie too long on his playmat, keep making noise wan wanting us to carry or play with him

Crayon,

I have tried the routine of bathing, massaging, reading before bed. I even threw in rocking and playing music. It worked a few times but there is still no routine forming at the moment.

Kym,

I am definitely using ruyi ointment. We live in Shanghai so the winter weather may not be so pleasant for my baby. I apply the ointment for her at least 2 times a day to prevent colic.

Yun,

I am putting her on her side to sleep since a month ago and she seem to be able to sleep for a decent period (say 2 hours, used to be 10 mins if i put her on her back and she hates to be on her belly) but recently she started resenting the side position and tends to flip back and lie on her back instead. I am worried she might be frightened easily but as long as she is comfy i guess i wont bother about that for now :p

Oh ya i got her a zaky hand to help her sleep better and it seemed to work only after i have used it over a period of time.

koras,

I can totally understand how u feel since my ger wakes up in the middle of the nite and starts toking to me instead of going back to bed.Sometimes i even feel guilty for not responding to her enthusiastically when she toks to me (i usually do in the day) in the middle of the nite and seemed sad that mummy is ignoring her. Anyway nowadays we try to put her in her pram and roll her ard the house until she falls asleep coz rocking does not work anymore !

ash- but when u carry her out u sure to wake her right. today keep wanting us to carry him. keep making the crying sound. now when we slow in giving him milk he will cry till there are tears

wow all the baby pic so nicely taken.. too bad i din go for their phototaking..

ypg: my gal's skin is also on the dark side. and whenever we went to my hubby's aunt hse, she will say "wow bb is so 'or' (in hokkien)." im actually quite angry when she said that.

Hi Hi

Happy Niu Year Mummies!!

Here are some pics of Lil S which cheapo mummy just took herself.. haha.. took in not very good lighting and dunno how to change aperture etc haha.. make do okies mummies??

2089829.jpg

<font color="0077aa">Springz: Lil S is forever so cute!! Love it!!! Expecially the gong xi gong xi one! Can we go your house &amp; do studio shots?</font>

thanks, blackberryb.

ypg, thanks for the pm. will check my email. this studio loft now sounds really bad, after hearing abt chewy ring's and your experience. btw, how to pronounce "愷"?

springz, the pix of lil s are lovely! model pretty can already! no need expensive camera la.

storeberry you very cute lei.. can come but need that sort of white cloth from top drape down to floor for white background nicer hor.. also I don't have many CNY props!!

Haha, can come over then we can all become crazy and take many many many shots!!! actually just need my helper and another mummy to hold up white cloth haha.. you onz??? tomorrow my hubby still not back.. you can?
bring your own props, I try to find white cloth then we go trigger happy!!!!

springz
i like the one with the chinese writing! She looks like she's holding it ip for all to see!

ypg
mebbe u can give the fruit juice but give water after that to wash the sugar residue away. But i'll only do that if baby has teeth.

Xuanting,

For teachers here, u already know about Multi intelligence right. It mean that different ppl can have different intelligence, no longer just academic intelligence.

8 Intelligence are:
Verbal-linguistic
Logical-mathematical
Visual-Spatial
Bodily-Kinesthetic
Musical
Interpersonal
Intrapersonal
Naturalistic

We usually lack training in all 8 intelligence cause our education stress alot on verbal-linguistic n logical-mathematical.

Perhaps for studio loft ppl, they are photographers so more visual-spatial hence they may be less in verbal-linguistic and interpersonal (relationship with others) This is quite true for most artist or photographer, they tend to fare bad in interaction with others. Guess no 1 is perfect.

I am quite fascinated with this Multi Intelligence things. I always try very hard to put this into my lessons. So as to give my students chance to develop all 8 of them.

I will implement this theory for my daughter education as well. Help her to develop other intelligence or intelligence that she is weaker in. Paiseh. I sound as if I am having class here, introducing MI.

But it is quite a trend nowadays. Good n expensive childcare or pre-school are all stressing on this multi intelligence things.

It is kai3, quite boyish pronounciation.

cupcakes,

Thanks. Actually I will go ahead give her apple juice. Cause she din poo for few days, my mum gave her prune juice (though very diluted) n she really poo out. So it make no difference liao. She is sort of already being introduced to other food besides milk. Haizz...

Jaymickey
Bad news! My MIL just told me at dinner just now that she wants to visit relatives at JB on 7 Feb instead of 24th Jan! Which means that I can't got over for the gathering. Looks like I have to give up my place
I can pay u first, if there is no one to replace me. Let me know if there is a replacement, if not I will pay u for the lunch. So sorry for the last min notice..So disappointed, even my hubby also feel sian.

<font color="0077aa">Springz: Haha!! Aiyoo.. Tmr I can't cos meeting my fren at Church at 2pm by the time it finish, its prob 5pm alr...

Hi mummies... Hhehehe.. Didn't know there were quite a number of Sept mummies at studio loft yesterday...

Btw, here's a pic of my little Q.. My fake chee-na.. ;p

2090346.jpg

ypg, you are chinese teacher, so must have lots of 墨水!
went to master li @ fu lu shou complex. he is recommended by my friend who has engaged his services previously.
my son's characters is 洋毅. have been calling him by nickname yang yang since preggie, so master need to come up with character to match the yang.

re: DIY photos
Springz, got standard leh! very cute...

Chewyring,
U going to Shanghai due to work ? I might be going to Suzhou in April/May, maybe we can meet up in Shanghai
. I used to take train from Suzhou to Shanghai myself to shop, but i realise Shanghai or in fact China is not stroller friendly. They don have lift nor escalator in subway station...urggghhh and also no nursing rm...sucks...I wonder how i shld change bb nappy when i'm there next time.

miow,

I named my cousin (he is only 5 this year cause uncle married late) 宏毅 meaning great perseverance. I like 毅, meaning determination or perseverance.

Though the name master li chose is much nicer than wat you long zi chose for my daughter, I still think $400 a bit steep.

missy,

U shave ur son hairs? At 1st my mum told us to shave my daughter hair since it was uneven since birth. But later she think my daughter will be very ke lian if she become botak. So now the decision is NO. Haha...

DROPPING HAIRS: I hear that babies will start to drop off their foetal hair when they are about 4 months old. That is why we must shave their hairs at 4 months old to allow new hairs to grow faster. Is it true?

hi hi ypg,

yah, $400 is a bit steep, but me n hubby thinks that this one-time spending &amp; 笔画 suited for his eight characters, then so be it.

my chinese character was changed when I was very young. according to my mom, I was totally uncontrollable before the name change. seems like the name change works! so in the end, both my sis have their name changed too.

in the end I have this chinese character that most people dunno how to read. wat to make a guess? ---> 蓂

re: hair
mini miow's hair starts dropping before he turns 1 mth and looks quite yucky, so we shave off his hair. now he has his crowing glory back, though not a lot of hair, it is naturally styled like david beckham's hair.....

wow, all the baby photos look so nice

BABY CROSSED EYES
My son is still having crossed eyes from time to time even at 4m2w n the PD said it shdn't b the case n have referred us to an eye specialist. Are any of ur babies having crossed eyes now?

wow kym kym, your cheena very powderful. you oso chinese teacher ah?

should be ming2 leh, unless i mis-pronounce my name for more than 30 yrs...

need to resume spring cleaning liao..

hey storeberry, just remembered I am on leave tomorrow and thursday.. u free? haha.. somehow idea of photoshoot at home sounds fun
can use the projector wall as background

ypg
my elder girl is on waitlist for carpe diem cos they do multiple intelligences and i like the envt at the branch i visited!
But i shall see how the MI is really like when she finally gets in. Cos it is actually quite difficult to do MI properly. Dunno if they just let the kids play in the garden n then call it naturalistic with no proper facilitation, if u know wat i mean.

springz n storeberry
must post post pics ya! So fun! I'm waiting for hubby to do all the phototaking cos I sux big time at taking pics. If not for him, I'd be so so tempted to join u ladies too!

ypg
i give up waiting for my boy's hair to grow.. I shaved his head once only a week after i finished my 44 days confinement. and until now, its like dat only.. Hehehhe... Sooooo sloooowwww...

Kym/Miow,

This word got 2 meaning n 2 pronounciation, mi4 meaning a kind of vegetable name. ming2 mean a kind of grass that symbolise good luck in the olden days. As for lucky place, I dunno about it

Hehe... The power of my dictionary. Got to admit this word is really super rare. At first, I got a shock, thought I saw 冥, which is quite negative in meaning. Wonder why the master choose such character. Later I go blow up the character then I see the 艹on top of the word, I know it got to do with grass/vegetable. But to be sure, better check dictionary.

kym,

U also chinese teacher?

eve,

My daughter also got crossed eyes sometimes. I also quite concerned, will ask doctor when I bring her to take jab next tues. So which eye specialist ur PD recommend? At KKH?

cupcake,

I get what u mean. How much carpe diem charge? Ur elder gal how old liao?

missy,

I also worried it wun grow fast n she will be botak for a long time.

Morning mommies..

mommies who bought the jumperoo....
when is the time to put your kids in ah? 4 months???? did the box indicate the ideal time to put baby in there??

was thinking of renting one for my boy coz he loves jumping now.... all our arms are getting tired from holding him le....

any idea?

Jeraldin,

I put my baby gal in the jumperoo on last Monday, she is 3 months 4 days then.

It is a pre-loved so no box for me to look at instruction. But on the jumperoo itself, it mention that it is suitable for a child who is able to hold head up unassisted and who is not able to climb out or walk.

So I dun think it got to do with age cause different baby have different development speed. Ur son can hold his head up liao, without flopping sideward or backward? If can, then should be no problem. Also, the back of the jumperoo seat is cushion that is harder than normal cushion so can provide enough support for baby head.

I bought a pre-loved rainforest jumperoo for $100 at What to sell thread. It is about 2 months rental if u rent u. So I suggest u can get a 2nd hand 1 rather than rent it.

Hope that help.

Thanks ypg!!!

yup my boy can hold up his head unassisted and he can look around left and right le... I am just wondering the the cushion of the jumperoo will affect the baby spine like a walker.. whereby the baby need to sit unassisted then can use the walker...

em.. so it means for jumperoo, it's different??? as long as head is unassisted then can le ah?

ypg ,

I posted for jumperoo to see if pple can sell at 100 but nobody offer that price ..... so end up buying a jumperoo at higher price but the unit is almost like new .. collected it yesterday ... almost new .. Jeraldin .. u can try to buy one 2nd hand one since can only use for three months and renting cost just as much ..

cupcakes ,
where are u staying .. carpe diem have to be on Q list ??? there is one at yishun polyclinic ..... I am not sending my zac to childcare since I am available at homt nw to teach him .. dun want him to get the risk of infection in CC ..

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">milk</font>
haha... mummies with boys always wan a gal for the next one and vice versa. but den again... these days, more ppl wan gals as opposed to boys le.. gals more 'gu jia' lor..

<font color="ff0000">chewy_ring</font>
wah... my boy has 2 lines.. hopefully true huh. but den again.. it's like fat chubby arms lor.. tats y got the lines rite

<font color="ff0000">Wingkei</font>
hugz...

<font color="ff0000">Angie Lau</font>
Welcome!! hhmm.... it's been a horror putting my boy to sleep these 2 days oso. he wasn't like tat in the past. usually i can juz put him on the bed, turn him to the sides with his beansprout pillow and sleep!!

but these 2 days.. he screams n screams when i do that. muz carry de lor. even after he slp, i put him down, if he's not in a deep slp, he will start his nonsense again. It's realy getting on my nerves.

<font color="ff0000">Studio Loft</font>
wah... so many of u went for the fotoshoot... so nice the pics.

<font color="ff0000">Springz</font>
hhmm.. think like u.. i'm gonna do it myself too.. haha

<font color="ff0000">Springz / Storeberry</font>
wah... so nice.. i oso wanna join u all leh.. for the home fotoshoot...

<font color="ff0000">Storeberry</font>
ha... my hb ah.. he nvr look after of coz he dunno how diff lor. in fact.. my FIL already starting to comment that we should start trying for another one le. so easy to say lor. some more can say so fun to play with. Wah... not hint leh... blatantly tell mi... can have no. 2 le. den i told him, who's going to help mi look after, so diff leh. he can say, 1 give ur mum, 1 MIL look after. faintz ah. after tat he still can continue, got 'jiang3 li4' one leh. wah liaoz.. i angry already lor. so i retorted back, "i didn't give birth bcoz of ur reward lor" wah.. super angry sia...

<font color="ff0000">li (piggi)</font>
received le. i bot M size. hhmm.... i would say abit big lor. like wat she posted. suitable for 6-12mths bah...

Ypg, yes i am on bedok road, just further down from Bedok South Sec towards the bedok corner. the gathering is on 7 Feb, 2-5pm... let me know if you are interested. PM me your contact.

LC &amp; Jas, don't worry.. we can meet up another time.. Don't have to pay me.. cos i only book for 30 pax, will order for the extra 1 week before the gathering, so dun have to waste $$..

Currently still pending payment from the following mummies:

greenbaby + bb - Confirmed
sunnysunny + Baby - Confirmed
preggie + cristian + hb
Traz + bb - Confirmed

dollyNEYUKO, if you see this, can u pls confirm if you are still coming anot.

sasa / chewy_ring,

where did you hear abt the "lines" theory huh? My confinement lady told me the same thing, say if one line means next one boy but my baby ash is so chubby now its hard to tell. My MIL said since baby ash has one centralized "jun" on her head, the next one should be boy...not sure if that's true or perhaps she just wanted a grandson hahaha..we shall see!

koras,

I had to carry her coz if i dun, she wont stop crying and its very painful to watch her cry. Nowadays she developed this "complainy whiny crying" like she very cham and wants me to sayang her or something. Last few nites have been extremely tiring for me and my hubby. Baby ash wont sleep and even when i carry her she cried a lot on off with her eyes closed sigh..how's ur boy now?

millie / chewy_ring,

I am living in Shanghai so if you need any help just let me know. But I wont be able to go shopping with you of course :p

Shanghai roads are bad for strollers/prams but baby ash loves the effect of the bumpy roads. She actually sleeps better in a bumpy pram. After a while she doesn't like to be pushed ard in her pram at home as the floor at home is too level and not fun for her =S

greetings!

what 'lines' r u all talking abt? where? on the baby's thighs? any pictures to show me cos mine got one line and my CL told me next one son again...so said the master.

flos
the lines are actually the crease on the baby's thighs when the legs are bent. sigh. mine got one line again... i want a girl!!!

back from malacca trip yesterday..dusty place man...but im proud to say that CH has finally grduated onto the ergo!!! so much easier (thou the sling is still better for bfg!)

missy
your boy has very nice eyes. the 'heatbreaker' look :p

boys vs girls
boys can be sweet too lah, and not all girls 'gu jia'...my greatest fear is that girls are more complex and more difficult to deal with. girls will rem if you scold them, but boys tend to forget it more easily. so puberty will be testing times for the girls. im so soo worried ch will be a bimbo when she grows up...dunno why, my perenial fear.