(2008/09) Sep 2008

Chewy, nowadays neighbourhood schs seldom have 40 liao.. and phew!!! heng ah, my boy is also playing with his toes a lot now but he's too short to suck on his toes! haaa... my poor boy

<font color="0000ff">chewy
wow, fr apr to june! So u're officially on NPL now? Envy envy
Yep, i'm not really "on" abt China either. Wonder how the air quality is like...

crayon
oh yes, fruit juice can cause tooth decay. I boiled apple or chinese pear slices in water for a concentrated apple/pear juice, and barley too when FB turned 6 mths old. But I din add any sugar. But like dat no more vit c left though. But I did that to "tao liang" (in hokkien), for a cooling drink as she wldn't drink water at first cos she was too used to bm.</font>

Ypg,
No.. i didn go to there.. stay too far (JW)somemore with my boy, better not go.

Blackberry.. Me where got so free to do the sticker.
I bought from SELF FIX DIY shop, $18.90.

lilboymum: how to get into a schedule? my boy usually wake up at 7-8am then i'll keep him entertained till his bath time at 10am b4 putting him to slp again. He'll usually nap for 1-2hrs then afterwhich everything goes haywire...
I dun mind meeting up for playdates! it'll definitely b fun for our babies

dseptkon: *high 5* i totally agree tat being a SAHM is waaaaaay more difficult than working!

koras: hope u find a job soon. gd luck! btw, ur sumo is sooooo chubby *pinch pinch*

milky/yun: my son also will b very very very fussy when he's tired. he'll start to grumble/cry, rub his eyes n scratch his face non-stop n it's always v hard to make him slp...

crayonshinchan: thks for the info! i jus gave my son heinz apple juice for the 1st time yday using a spoon. heng ah... the funny thing was he'll cry each time the spoon leaves his mouth. its as if he thought there'll b continuous flow like a bottle lor

Jasmine,

My daughter having beauty sleep now. We now get ready to go out to take photo. Hope she dun fuss too much. Maybe u still there?

FRUIT JUICE: So how? To give or not to give? Hehe... Very confused.

Chewy_ring,

Primary school usually 25 to 30 for lower primary. Upper primary, they do alot of banding according to student ability in the subject so quite like Uni style. They go to different classes for Math n Science.

This year I teach Higher Chinese for P2, I got 35, that is consider alot as other chinese class is only 26 on average.

Crayonshinchan,

I hope my daughter like the taggie. U bought what size? Big or small 1?

blackberryB,

It is $119 for 12mm bumpermat. Their previous BP price. I am going out soon so today they cant deliver to me. But they quite efficient, reply email very fast. U can try email them to enquire the type u want.

ypg , crayonshin ,
i want to transfer to sec school / pri school next time ... keke ... remembered last time my contract teaching i have class size of 40 and one class even max to 44 ... see how much difference in attentin span compared to nw ...

Cupcakes ,
dun envy la .. i have no choice ba ... i think working compared to staying at home is a lot much easier but i guess both have their advantages ... i dun want my kid to run to the maid if they encounter any prob .... guess I just sacrifice for a year then see how ..

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">chewy_ring</font>
oh no.... i do hope this tale doesn't really come true for mi leh... gosh!!!

dun tell me hb's dream is gonna become reality</font>

Yun, is it easy to stick on wall? I was thinking to paint my boy room. His room is pink colour now :p

ypg, $119 is good deal! I saw some LG Prime bumper mat, but quite expensive leh

jaymickey
im near to tanah merah mrt too..

chewy_ring
ya.. mayb we can hav a meetup for sahms one day.. hopefuly for me cos nvr bring bb out alone.. n nt often even wif my hubby.. thus causing my girl to b able to recognise ppl liao &amp; will cry out loud whoever carry, near or coo @her..
nw im trying to bring her out as much even to supermarket nowadays..

sasa
yes, it's true.. my mum told me once they pull &amp; suck their toes, u r gng to b preggy again..
my girl oni noe how to pull her feet n trying to pull out her socks..

aso heard dat if u notice there r one line on their thigh, it's gonna b a boy..if two lines on their thigh, then it's gonna b a girl.. for tis, i dunno how true though

eve
yah.. it's very tiring to make them sleep esp when they fuss &amp; even find things to entertain them..

yes we can do a weekday high tea or lunch meetup, what say you? it'll be fun. since our bbs are stil small, we can at least hopefully eat in peace :p

Timing preference? 2pm? 3pm?

bb eating their toes off.
yes i heard of the same thing!! and when cy started eating his toes at 3mths, eveyone told me im gonna be preggie soon...but no leh, all the way till he stopped eating his toes and till he 15mths then i got preg!kekeke...

qiuling
china not bad leh, have quite ok impression of shanghai. i think it dependso nt he community you mix around with. a bit like the expat community (or what it was used to be) in singapore, it can be fun and enriching for your children. and being superficial, i like it coz many services are available there (nanny,helpers) at a fraction of the cost here.

ypg, what's higher chinese? u mean in pri sch there are already dif grades of chinese? wow.

can let me have the link for the bumper mats too? thanks.

<font color="0000ff"><font color="ff0000">Jaymickey / Yun</font>
aiyoh... hb dreamt that I was preggy again leh. But he also saw that Max was able to walk le. So hopefully....

<font color="ff0000">milky</font>
haha.. i muz rem to see my boy's thighs later. hopefully I see 2 lines ah

Seems like alot of ppl heard of this old wives' tale b4 leh...

<font color="ff0000">l'l CY</font>
haha... u let me see some light. hopefully there's no truth and correlation between sucking of toes and becoming preggy

wow... enjoy urself in Malacca. I came back n ended up being sick. sighz..</font>

sasa, my girl has two lines.. but i hope to see one line leh.. hehe realy dunno how true.. probably 2nd time mums may wanna cfm the accuracy.. hopefuly it nt true at all.. haha

sasa ,
i heard from my jamu massage lady .. two lines = girl and one line = boy .... but she said the line should be seen from the lower arm .. elbow till hand area ... old wives tale

ypg,
The sign my boy show he is ready for solid food was he kept staring at anyone who eat infront of him n he kept swallowing his "kou sui".
i intro the Heinz rice cereal to him on his 4th mth n he seem enjoying but he spilt out the rice cereal on his 2nd fed then i try myself "yuck" it taste, no wonder he don't want to eat. So i bought a jar of heinz organic golden veg. to try it out n he love it. I also gave him brown rice cereal w/ herbal n Ikan blis.
When we were out, i will let him try a tiny bits of whatever food i'm having, like plain rice, keow tiao etc....
Am preparing steam janpaness pumpkin for my boy today.
U started on any food yet?

ypg, thanks for all your encouragement. I'm hoping that my HB's such treatment will stop as our daughter grows older, I definitely do not want her to observe such treatement. Who knows what she will learn from it. The AWARE counsellor told me that my HB will never change, which really saddens me, but I still try to stay optimistic and hope for the best! I'm really happy staying at home enjoying my daughter's company which is also why I am delaying bringing her to my MIL's. haiz... I know I can't avoid this forever though. BTW, the promo prive for Mamy Poko is cheap, $24 is the usual price. I know cos I am a Mamy Poko user! hehe....

KymKym T, my HB and I never complained about lack of rest too, but everytime my MIL sees us, he will say that my HB does not have enough rest, which makes me mad. He goes to bed around 10 plus every night and he never ever wakes up in the night to take care of BB, so how can he not have enough rest, right? I should be the one not having enough rest!

shazz, my HB keeps telling me that he only goes for the 'soft' treatment and not the hard one. But sometimes, it's very difficult because when he shouts at me, I can't resist shouting back, which makes him even angrier. But more and more, I can't stand just standing there and letting him hurl abuse at me. It's not 'wrong' of me sometimes to shout back, isn't it? AWARE actually does not follow up on my case as everytime, a different counsellor may pick up the call when I call. But yeah, I think I need to be strong mentally, and keep reminding myself that I am in control, and I am not the one with problem, as he likes to say. I think I need to learn to let him feel he is in control when I am actually controlling the situation too, but easier said than done. I'm just concerned that this will continue afte rmy BB has grown up and become 'tong shi'. Then what will she think? Anyway, seriously, I really feel better after talking it out here!

After I started my BB on rice cereal then I remember that total breastfeeding for babies for 6 months is the best. Now I kinda regretted starting feeding my BB on rice cereal. Even though I mix the rice cereal with BM, it is not considered total breastfeeding anymore, right? Is it alright to start her on rice cereal at 4 months plus?

Hello Mummies!

I am a newbie in this forum. My baby ger is coming to 4 months now and it has been very tough getting her to go to bed at nite. Even if she does, she would wake up crying many times in the nite (many a times not for feedings).My husband and i have moved her from her cot to our bed these few nites as she wouldn't sleep at all on her own cot!Any tips to offer?

Ps. I have tried bathing her, massaging her, singing to her, reading to her, rocking her, playing music etc before bedtime but every nite is a a new battle for me and my husband!

Angie,

Your girl needs a routine! :p... just my 2 cents.. try reading: Gina Ford's The little contented baby..

Although at 4 months, swaddling does not work, i suggest a sleeping bag to keep her snug, perhaps try turning her sideways with a bloster, or turn her on her front to try .. perhaps will sleep longer

Jaymickey,

So u r another Bedok mummy also. Maybe all of Bedok mummy may send ur BB to be taught by me in future. I dun intend to change school. Very happy with the current school. My school is at Bedok South.

blackberryB n xuanting,

I got post on their BP or Business link but they dun reply there. But they got email me. I PM you 2 the email address liao. Dunno if they happy to reveal their email here so I never post on forum, just PM only.

Yap, primary school got higher chinese, chinese n basic chinese (p5, p6) But last time, I teach at Nanyang, all must take Higher Chinese from P1 to P4, if chinese not good then can dun take from P5 onwards.

Jasmine,

I got go Studio Loft to take photo today. Here is my gal photo today, unedited 1.

2087349.jpg
2087350.jpg
2087351.jpg

But she not smiling, a pity cause she everyday also keep smiling. Luckily she not crying also. I saw ur name on the appointment book. U go around 12noon is it? I reach there at 1pm. Maybe I saw u also. I am the fat fat mum wearing a grey dress.

chewy_ring,

Studio Loft quite busy, I guess. So their temper is not so good today. Dunno is it Maryann or not, a lady wearing grey (bigger size one) shouted at me "can u dun touch my computer" when i use my finger to point to her the photo i want. luckily my daughter not near to me, or else i sure shouted back at her.

mrsseng,

I read from Young Parents, we try not to add salt to the baby food cause their stomach cant take it. So not good to give outside food to baby under 1 year old. But I think maybe ur baby got stronger stomach.

I only dare to start from rice cereal (stage 1 of Nestle) then progress to rice cereal with added ingredient or puree (stage 2). I very kiasi parent lor.

Kym, can u, the weaning guru, pls enlighten me on this? Must we progress from rice cereal 1st or can start straight from giving puree or vegetable.

wingkei,

why the AWARE counsellor so negative, say that ur hubby certainly not changing. N why different ppl talk to u? U call their hotline only? U never go meet them in person?

Dun be upset that u start ur daughter on rice cereal liao. Perhaps she cant wait liao. That is why she is displaying the sign of wanting to eat solid food.

Angie Lau,

U got rub ru yi oil on ur daughter? Wind in stomach also will cause bb to be cracky too.

SORRY FOR THE LONG-WINDED POST. Really got lot to catch up.

<font color="0077aa">chewyring: Sibling soon!! Aiyoh.. not so fast lah!

For a moment, I thot sasa how come update on chubbycheeks then afetr a few times then I realise cupcakes was the author!

Crayon: Thanks for the ingfo! I didn;t know that! Mummies, just now tried to spoon feed water to smallberry, he open his mouth when I say "Ahhhh..." but when the water is in, he gave a disgusted look though.. WIll try again tmr. Usually how much must I give my son?

And if I want to start with cereals, beside healthy times, what are the brands to start with?

Sasa: Your hub wants another one soon?

lilCYCHmum: Enjoy your trip!!!</font>

blackberryb
My boy is 4mth 6days old, had his 5 in 1 jab n Rota today and is having a slight fever, just gave him medicine now is fast asleep.
How old is urs?

no worries mummies, just sharing info since it we're all about to beginning weaning....

ypg, to feed or not to feed? I guess its entirely up to u. If u want to be safe, prob u can follow wat cupcakes did. Add water and boil the fruits.

gunibabe/xuanting.. haaa.. i'm more fascinated with the cute looking fork..

mrsseng, is it safe for him to be eating rice and kway tiao now? They cant chew now leh..

storeberry.. haa. ur bm sweeter than plain water lar! Why not u try to spoonfeed him some of ur bm? Today I tried to give him a tiny bit of nestle rice cereal to try. And since I do not have any unfrozen EBM in the fridge, heee.. i directly squeezed into the bowl!! haaa... but i made it very very very diluted.. just like normal bm. He seems to be quite receptive to feeding thru spoon..

angie, maybe u can try to bathe ur girl to relax her a little before sleeping? You can try this sequence..

1) Warm and relaxing bath
2) Massage baby/read a story/sing a few songs
3) Feed her some milk
4) Sleep

I think once u follow a certain sequence for a few days, u'll prob have an easier time. My boy is not sleeping thru the night yet. He still gets up at least once to nurse. But I'm not fretting. I'll leave it up to him to decide when he wants to sleep thru. When he's ready to do so, he will ;-)

Did u over stimulate her near her sleeping time? And most importantly, I think if she's well rested in the day, it does help her to slp well at night. Like someone mentioned earlier, sleep begets sleep. (for infants)

Jaymickey, you there?? Bad news, I am not able to go for the gathering at your place. My dearest MIL wanted little J to go and visit her dun noe what distant relative.. initially I dun wan to go but bo bian. I told her i have a gathering and she told me she is ok that I go for the gathering at your place and she will bring little J to her relative place.. I dun wan.. worried. so have to give your place a miss.. am sorry for the las minute change..

ypg..
i think i was d one sitting next to you... d malay couple.. i remember ur baby... heheh.. im d one in black-brown dress... i find ur girl sooo pretty..

anymore sept mummues at d studio loft today...??

ypg: what time did u go? I reached there abt 12.10pm, so there is quite a lot of ppl, so i regrister n went back at 1pm, just nice is mu turn.
These are my ger photo. How much u bought? I spent $85.00. Sigh!!!
2087929.jpg

missy,

urs is bb boy right? thanks for ur compliment, I dun really find her pretty but she got quite big n alert eyes. She kaypoh type, always open eyes big big to look at things. Actually she got use the sofa also, but all photo dun turn out nice cause she keep eating her hands. Luckily Studio Loft never charge me additional cost for the laying down with oranges pix.

Jasmine,

I reach at 1pm also. My hubby help me book the appointment 1st. So I dun have to wait. Hehe... But I was busy attending to my daughter, change diaper n drink milk once I reach there. Think u r selecting photos then. U look very long at ur daughter pix right, at the computer further away from the maindoor right? Ur hubby went with u is it?

I pay $55 in total. I only choose another 3 more shots. Hope next yr, my daughter can take again. By then, she is bigger, can have more pose.

Just took my boy for his 6-in-1 jab today @ 3m3w... he weighs 6.5kg &amp; 62cm long...

he didn't grow much taller... only 0.5cm for 3 weeks.... so now his weight &amp; height all 50% percentile...

ya, i was the one using the mac com, sitting near to their office. yup, went with my hubby cos he was off today. was trying to cut down taking back the shot. so that why took a long time. my ger was very 'he zou' today by not sucking her hand. maybe she still feeling full.

ypg : not wei da leh , is bo bian as my mum dunwan to take care of her , say she only like to be with mummy.

blackberryb : u so good ... ur mum still offer to take care for u , unlike my mum , scary cat de , dun dare to take care of bb alone . How i wish i can go jalan jalan with hubby wor , so many movie i wanna watch!!!

studioloft : haha Agree tat maryann not too friendly de , see the way she reply to posts on her business thread. and they abit nt organised de. but if $25 for occassion photo shoot still ok lah , jus hack care her lor , if nt gt to spend few hundreds on photo shoot.

I super lookin forward to gatherin at jaymickey house wor , but super scare also , as 1st time bring bb out alone. dunno whether i can handle anot. if cannot den fast fast on call cab come fetch me and bb back hm

Angie, u r not alone...my boy also will wake up crying many times at nite, this is also a reason why I didn put him to sleep in the cot, somemore he will flip over with his eyes closed and just face down to sleep again.. really scared me to death.. how if Iam not beside him.

Ypg... the way ur girl flip is very cute...

Kym Kym, U r rite.. by sleep sideway, my boy can sleep longer but what Iam afraid is .. is it good for his spine ?and..its easier for him to flip...(dangerous)