(2008/09) Sep 2008

Springz,
entrance to Wing Tai is along Tampines Road. Opposite Heartland mall area. No right turn from opposite direction, so got to do u-turn if u coming from opposite.

Flos,
the Wing Tai space for the Fox sale is quite small. It's not really a warehouse. It's like a room. Air-con yes. Will be crowded so do go without baby.

Ava,
condolences to your friend. so much bad news nowadays.

springz
you coming from airport road? after turning left to hougang ave..cant rem what..(along serangoon jc, keep left. then just after the jc turn left before heartland mall...

<font color="119911">bacon&amp;egg (baconegg) - am thinking of weaning K when he is about 4+ months cos his appetite has been increasing (another growth spurt at 3 months) and I doubt just milk would be sufficient for much longer. Read the book from Wong BB and she mentioned that we can start from 4-6 months, beginning with stuff like pureed fruits like papaya and apple etc.
Btw, food cubes - these are needed only when we prepare puree to pass to the infantcare of ILs right? Not necessary if my MIL prepares her own puree or if I just get the off the shelf baby food?

Mommies going to the Fox sale - enjoy!

Ava - so sorry to hear about the loss of Hwei Yen
She was also an ex-colleague of hubby's from D&amp;N. Senseless death that can happen to anyone of us, I have even stayed in the Taj before.

Springz (springz) - the swaroski pacifiers are so pretty - the last one looks almost like a diamond ring!

Attachment to baby - right now, i am still on maternity, so K spends alot of time with me...but i am also worried that when i go back to work, he would be spending his time with my MIL and would forget me
By then, he would be 4.5 months and i was initially planning to stop BFIng then, but am thinking of continuing so that at least there is that familiar smell he can relate to and won't love me any less

Bigtoes
Are you going to make puree for Kieran, or going to buy off the shelf? Me planning to get organic brown rice or cereal off the shelf to get her started..Baby's immune system is too weak to take any risk before 6 mths.. Dunno if it's better to make puree from fruits bought from the market, or buy organic puree straight off shelves? When are u planning to wean Kieran slowly? A lot of them advise me to start after 5 mths, but Rachael is drooling a lot, and drinking every 2 hours now..

Bigotes

I don't think Kieran will love mummy less even after ur MIL takes over!!
I have also not been able to BF Rachael, and she's still v. attached to mummy and not the maid!! When I come home after work, she will kick-box and start showing her precious smile! It's just the unexplainable bond between mummy and baby that can never be taken away or reduced

finally aft a long 2 mth hosp leave and 3 mths Maternity leave... i am back to work!
quite refreshed in workplace but of course i miss the little one at home. Was so tired after work yday tat i hardly carry her when i reach home last night.

Bigtoes
Same as u... i am worried she might forget me since she will spend most of her active hours with maid and mil... she dun see the need of her mum esp i am not bfeeding.

Ava
So sorry to hear abt the lost of your good frd's wife. Those terrorists are so evil... shd be condemned... My heart really goes out to her family esp her poor hubby.

cheekychubbycheeks n renee
welcome to sept mum...

Mozzie Bites

what shd i apply for mozzie bites on rachelle's face? Her face got 5 mozzie bites and 2 on her hand. Its red and swollen and looks so ugly.
What shd i apply? Medicated oil? Mopiko? Baby Lotion? Saliva? What?? Pls advise... thanks

<font color="119911">Jas (mobilesuitegal) - i really don't know...K is also starting to drool. I am thinking of starting in Jan (4 months by then) - think i am too lazy to puree stuff - will just buy the bottled puree from supermarkets

Wong BB's book mentioned that it is okie to start from 4-6 months, with fresh fruits (non acidic ones like banana and apple), and to start with replacing 1-2 milk feeds per day with solid feeds.

I go back to work in mid-Jan, so i guess it makes sense for me to start him off puree first in early Jan, then have my MIL take over once he is more used to it. That way, maybe he can be on puree + BM, and need not go on too much FM, if any.

You are lucky that Rachael is v attached to you
- i know of babies that are most attached to their maids &amp; think of the maid as their mom - would break my heart if that happened! That was also one of the reasons we didn't want a maid but rather do everything ourselves.

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - Definitely NOT saliva! Maybe if she is not scratching, then nothing? K had some mozzie bites on the leg some weeks back also, but it didn't bother him so we left it alone. Get the Johnson baby mozzie lotion (in green bottle) for prevention next time.</font>

<font color="0077aa">Can't go to the FOX sale today, so sad! Mummies going there pls update k?

Limay: So sorry, my hubby might not be in S'pore on the 13th Dec, I can't go for the gathering... Any mummies can take over my place? If not by end this week, I will transfer the money over. Pai sei!</font>

<font color="0000ff">Wah.. so many mummies going to FOX warehouse sale... tempting mi again lah... :p

Ava
been some time since we heard from u. sorry to hear abt that.. sighz.. life is juz so unpredictable manz..</font>

bigtoes
thanks for advise
i didnt know J&amp;J selling mozzie lotion
Rachelle is not scratching BUT the bites looks so big and puffed up that i tink i shd do something abt it. She is sort of "disfigured" and all bites concentrated at right side of her face.

Ya... if my baby thinks the maid is her mum... i will be heartbroken... sob

Mrs Yap (oneboyonegirl) - would be great if you can come then
Else it would be a waste for Storeberry to pay and not eat the yummy food cos i can't cancel the order already.

Gathering is from 5-8pm, so you can still make it for D&amp;D if you leave abit earlier? PM me with your email addy if you can make it, and i will send over the details!

oh dear
the gathering quite late. My d&amp;d starts 6pm
would be very rush if i bring bb to yr hse, then bring her back home and then change to the GLAMOUR n SHINE theme dress code... sorry wld hv to give it a miss...

Jo Jo (jojobar): ya, very lucky... I delievered at Mt A.... was admitted on 16Aug..lucky he did come out on tat day...

Bigtoes
Sounds contradicting, but me and hubby hate having the maid too. I love to do housechores, and hubby also contributes, so it will be fine w/o a maid. However, i am not as lucky as u, my MIL only knows how to enjoy life, don't want to help at all. So we have no choice, but to keep the maid. Then now, if don't give maid anything to do, also quite silly. So end up she do housework, I take care of Rachael. The bad outcome: Me and hubby putting on too much weight!

dseptkon/autum: tks for the headsup abt the wingtai warehouse. think i'll wait for feedback from u all first before gg.

it's simply too hot this afternoon, plus there is nothing really to shop around the FOX warehouse neighbourhood to make my cab-trip to Hougang worthworth :p

Bigtoes: u can buy off-the-shelf of course. Babycubes are for "nutritionists" and SAHM (mainly)! If u r not very particular and is a busy career woman who needs to travel frequently, u probably won't really hv time to prepare/blend/steam all the 'add-ons'...

My nephew takes bottled puree and is growing well. Another nephew consumes defrosted puree+add-ons and is also growing well. Sama sama. Of course if u prepare on your own, u can buy premium codfish, quality organic veggies &amp; fruit, compared to what u might be getting in those tiny bottles.

U r rite to say they can start to consume puree from 4mos onwards.

Ava: sorry to hear abt Hwei Wen.

TEETHING: someone asked abt this just now? Mine seems to be having this problem! I bought a soother for him but haven't tried it on him yet...

Jas: Am in the same situation as u. "The bad outcome: Me and hubby putting on too much weight!" I take care of Isaac, my maid does the housework and lugs all the stroller, grocery bags, shopping bags and changing all the soiled diapers.

bigtoes,
i intend to make puree myself and store them in cubes for my caregiver to use. I trust myself more than the caregiver to make those puree
Besides caregiver would be too busy with bb to grind, blend, steam, puree..

Been feeling awful, my period came (1st since delivery) and flow was so heavy plus there was cramping. Also hit with migraine, its been so long i forgot how it feels....hate it big time! Down for 2 days, hubs had to take over as caregiver for my gal and even do the chores. Finally feel better today.

Fox sale....do show us your buys!! prob head down tomorrow.

Solids.... recipes to share? do you keep cubes in another container to prevent cross contamination from raw food in freezer? just like how u would store EBM?

Exersaucer....so happy I just placed my order for the bright starts bounce bounce online and its only usd30.00. My cousin is lugging it back for me when he is back for christmas. Mummies interested in the bounce can order online (walmart) now even with int'l shipping there is still a savings of sgd50.00.

Ava...sorry to hear abt your friend. hang in there.

Hi Ava,

I am also looking out for a new job.. also sort of preparing to touch base with my ex bosses to see if there is any opportunity to go back to old firm,,,

Busybee, coincidentially my menses came yesterday too. I was kind of shock as i am on full breast feeding... kind of heavy flow as well.

Bigtoes, i am also reading up on the super baby food book. Quite well written with lots of recipes for baby food and month to month guidance. You might want to check it out.

Baby teething... Baby seem to be drooling a lot and putting his fist into the mouth. Think he is teething.. I need to go and look for a good teething chewy thingie for him..Any good suggestion ?

<font color="0000ff">Baby Teething
Gosh.. when will they start to teeth??

Busy Bee
hhmm... i tot after delivery wont have cramps already leh.. at least tats wat happened to mi...

wow.. ur exersaucer is really cheap....</font>

Mummies i need help!! urgent.. have a qns that have been pondering me..

Im not sure whether my 2mths+ baby has diarrhoea anot.. im breastfeeding him all this while, he has bowel movements 3-4 times each day.. nothing much wrong with his behaviour,

here's a pic of his stools, if any mummies dont mind, you can take alook and let me know whether is this consider diarrhoea?? thanks!!
http://img383.imageshack.us/img383/166/img0240px0.jpg

Hi Sasa,

when i attend the massage class, they told me even thought the teeth appear much later ...bt the sympton of teething actually started around 3rd to 4th months....

blue_roses
the poo poo looks quite watery le... is his poo poo normally like tt or it only became this watery recently?? if it only become this watery recently maybe you will wan to bring him to see the PD just in case... or maybe its due to something you eat tt might trigger that?

My boy is on formula and i will consider it diarrhoea if his poo poo is so watery..

jeraldin,

his poo is normally like this, sometimes not very watery as this..
if its really diarrhoea means all this while he is having diarrhoea which i dont even know at all!? *bang myself on the wall*
sigh.. very worried now. will be being down to the PD later..

maybe you will wan to wait for the response of those mommies who are breastfeeding... think they will be in a better position to assess bah...

Bluuroses, I hope your bb is ok, sorry I cannot advice as well cos I am not breastfeeding.

Sasa, I had c-sect maybe thay's why still have cramps? but its not as bad as my before preggers. Mine used to be so bad i faint!

blue_roses: my girl's poo poo is also like that, sometimes it's so much and watery that it leaks out from the sides.

bacon&amp;egg and other mummies who are going for the mattel sales, what time are u all going on friday? i might be going so thinking can meet u all there too.

Jas, yesyes! U must be strong for ur gal ok!! Eczema is common, so fret not!

Ava/LC: I am not tat attached to my bb as well. Everyone keep asking me do I miss bb as he is now at infantcare… and I always tell them no leh.. and my friends look at me like I am from mars!!

Bluerose, ur bb poo seems like my bb who is also on bf. He used to have that quite frequently, as in maybe every 4hrs liddat in his first month? I thot it is normal leh! It never occur to me it is diarrhea!!!??? I tink it is normal bah…

Bt on the sidenote, how frequently does ur bb poo nowadays. Mine used to be like 3-4, but now at the most 1 nia leh!! Issit normal??

jessi .. phew at least im kinda relief now.. thanks alot!

And also i notice one streak of blood in baby's poo.. sigh.. any mummies encounter in problem too?

goldfish
mine still 3-4times a day.. normal for a 2mth+ old going 3mth baby? how old is your baby??

the busybee
my mense also back today... infact it came last mth for the first time. Quite heavy but no cramps. I had C-section too
You take care n avoid cold drinks

blue rose
hope yr bb is fine afterall
take care and update us on PD's advise

hihi mummies ,
just came back from fox warehouse sale ..
Hmm ,
kids clothes gg for $6 - $9 ... lots of gals clothes , limited range for boys ...in fact nothing much for boys ..

adult clothes gg from $7 - $ 10 ...

the sizes for kids are mostly from 0-12 mths old .. keke ..

<font color="119911">storeberry (storeberry) - since Mrs Yap cannot make it, why don't you go for the Xmas gathering with Z? Letlet would be there
! Then maybe you can bring some takeaway containers and just pack the portion meant for your hubby - else would be a waste to pay and not eat the food

Jojo - what super baby food book is this?

sasa (sasa_xie) - think typically babies teeth from 6 months onwards, though some might be earlier or even alot later (like 9-12 months)?

blue_roses (blueroses) - my baby is on TBF, and his stool like that with the bits of yellowish pellets(though usually abit less watery) - and nope - its not diarrhoea - its quite normal for BF babies, so don't worry k!
Like Jessi's baby, mine shit-farts as well, and poos almost after (or during) every feed - he goes through about 6-8 diapers a day i think.</font>

back from fox sale..are the rest back? sunrays/gunibb, where did u all go for lunch? i went over to the yoshinoya to find u all but all left liao.

springz

u manage to grab the 6-12mths size?

talking abt baby food, I bought 1 be4 Rachelle was born. I go home and scan them in colour... PDF and send to all mummies who is interested. The babyfood recipe quite Fool-proof... good for blur mummies like me... PM me if u want a copy of it... Good things must share.

Hi Limay,

It is a book called "Super Baby Food" which i bought from the BP on this forum. Quite useful. Think you can google the book and find out more bout it

Blue_roses,
My son's bowels are oso watery and looks like yellow mustard grains and it nv occured to me it's diarrhoea. I think stools should look like tat for bf bb.

Jojo,
Where did u buy the baby food book ? How much is it ?

How much r ur bb drinking now ? Mine can finish 120ml and i tink my supply sometimes fluctuates and cannot meet his demand. For those who does not have sufficient milk supply, do u supplement with FM ?
My son is oso drooling q a lot these days and would 'eat' my shoulder when i carry him. Any mummies' bb oso like tat ?

Bigtoes &amp; Millie ,

allright.. feeling alot better now. guess i worried too much.(prob. because my mum keeps asking me whether baby is having diarrhoea each time she saw his poo) haha.

anyway thanks alot!

re: Baby puree
mummies, please do not start with organic baby carrots. i have heard of quite a few cases where babies are allergic to organic baby carrots.. don't ask me why.

I have also fed my todd Heinz jar food before.. he is ok.. and i have never given any sort of organic food to him. It's really a personal choice. If you worry about allergies, give only 1 type of puree for a few days. I strongly recommend starting with rice cereal first. then followed by all the root veg. apple is a good puree to give too. most babies love apple sauce.

For those who need ideas, you can refer to this website. A lot of good info. http://www.wholesomebabyfood.com/

re: Handheld Blender
somebody was asking about handheld blender vs normal big blenders. I guess for handheld blender, the good thing is, you can blend small quantity. Say 1 sweet potato.. after blending (and adding some water).. that is enough to fill like 6-8 baby cubes! But to use big blender for 1 sweet potato, might be 'wasted'? i m not sure.

<font color="119911">Jo Jo (jojobar) - k, thanks!

Meanwhile, another useful source on weaning - http://www.babycentre.co.uk/baby/startingsolids/introducing/

Your baby may be ready to start solids if she:

• can hold her head up
It's important that your baby is able to maintain a steady, upright position in order to take first foods from a spoon.

• sits well when supported
You may have to support her initially -- a highchair can be pulled into action a bit later when she's able to sit up all by herself.

• makes chewing motions
Your baby should be able to move food to the back of her mouth and swallow. As your baby learns to swallow efficiently you may notice her drooling decrease. At six months your baby may even have a tooth or two.

• has gained a healthy weight
Most babies are ready to eat semi-solids when they've doubled their birth weight, which may take place before or around their sixth month.

• displays curiosity about what you're eating.
Your baby begins eyeing your meals and reaches out to try foods travelling from plate to mouth</font>

Bigtoes.. maybe can KIV for me? I might be able to go for the gathering...
I need to ask hubby if he is free to go with me.. Can I confirm by tomorrow??? =)

Jeraldin (hppymom) - yes, sure - let me know

WEANING
Something else to consider from the link by Autum (autum):

Growth spurts often account for the increased hunger in your baby and should not be taken as a sign that your baby needs solid foods added to her diet! Offer your baby more frequent nursing sessions and/or bottle feedings instead of solids; you will find that within a week or two, your baby is oftentimes over the growth spurt and back to feeding "as usual".

Current recommendations indicate that breast milk or formula should be baby’s main source of nutrition until at least 6 months of age! Earlier introduction of solid foods may have certain risk factors; consult your pediatrician!

"Introduction of complementary feedings before 6 months of age generally does not increase total caloric intake or rate of growth and only substitutes foods that lack needed nutrients and the protective components of human milk (and formula).
AAP Policy Note - 194"

Remember, the World Health Organisation, the American Academy of Pediatrics, Health Canada, Health Insite - Australia and the Department of Public Health (U.K.) as well as the CDC all recommend that babies receive nothing but breast milk and/or formula for the first 6 months of age!

Maybe we should wait till 6 months then?

Bigtoes,
yep, i did post previously that best is to wait till 6months if you are breastfeeding. In my case, i started feeding my tod at 4mths because i gave up breastfeeding when he was 3wks old. so technically speaking, he is already exposed to "outside" food (since formula is considered external).. BUT if u BF, then best is to wait till 6 months.

actually the main reason why they ask people to wait is to prevent allergies. So even if we start giving purees, in the initial stage, the puree should be just additional.. ie, it should not be a milk-replacement.. but more like an additional thing to get them used to eating.

chewy ring: thanks for the feedback on FOX. I won't go anymore, since there are more girly stuffs. Besides, I recall I'd combed very thoroughly all the Spring/Summer 08 designs during the GSS as well as the current Fall/Winter 08 collection. Whatever caught our eyes, we'd already gotten them.

Anyway, I just did a stock-take with my maid on Isaac's wardrobe. For the next 3 mths, I believe he's got enuff outfits of the right size for Christmas/NY09/CNY/PD visits/PILs visits/Shopping. Basically, DD meets SS

autum: I was the one who enquired abt the hand-held blenders
Btw, there are mini blenders in the market as well.