(2008/09) Sep 2008

Autum: yah, that's what I heard too. If TBF, best to do it for 6 mths then start with puree.

I've weaned off last Fri and had sterilised and kept my Medela pumps back to the box oredi. My son is on TFM. This morning, decided to switch back to Size 2 teats cos he found Size 3 too big.

As the person feeding, I still find Size 2 too small, and hence too slow for my patience! How I wish there's a Size 2.5 in the market!!

Wow...all the bbs are so cute...tempted me to share my bb photo with all the mummies & few daddy...but was shown an error msg saying i exceeded the max dimensions of 600 x 600...how to go abt shrinking the image?

Btw, i had signed up for facebook. How do i go about adding all the mummies with facebook?

Hi Ava & Jo Jo (if i remember correctly) that you are looking for new job. I am working in a headhunting company and I headhunt for middle to senior management and specialist positions in the Banking and Financial Services industry. If i can be of any help to you, i can pm u my office email address & u can email me ur cv. Of course if you are from other sector, can email me too & i can pass on to my colleagues that deal with the sector that you are in.

I am going back to work tomolo after 3 months ML...going to miss my sons...

Abt maid having handphone, for the 1st 2 years, i also didnt allow her to hold hp. Thru our conversation, i understand that it is cheaper for her family members to sms her rather than call her to update her on on her son's activity, how's her parents etc (for that 2yrs, i really didnt receive any call from her family. Whenever something happened to her family, one of her cousin will sms to my hp to inform her, then she will call home). Hence, when she renew her contract, i lend her my hubby old hp & she pay for her own top up card cos i already paying for the phone card for her to call home.

Just came back fr the FOX warehouse!

Soooo many people... got people snatching and people throwing things all around.....

but Kiasu me still manage to get some stuff.. share share pics with you gals :p... (looking at the turnout for warehouse sales... I am going to go line up at the MATTEL sale at 6am i think HAHAHAHA)

1942411.jpg
1942412.jpg
1942413.jpg
1942414.jpg

Flos..
Agree agree!! When i put my baby on Size 3, he looks like he's choking..But Size 2 is so slow.. my arm will ache, and he looks like his cheeks are tired after all dat sucking.

Mummies who have d exersaucer n jumperoo..
Our kids should be 2m++ rite now, so is it safe for them to b using these items already..??

kymkym

wat time u arrv? didn see u there..only managed to met up with springz,Cy,Sunrays,gunibb etc...

missy

tink not yet leh..they only 2mths + n their back still not strong yet..oso their neck oso..i remember tt i put my FB in them at a much later stage..

gunibb

thanks for bringing my creams.
u look really fair lei like wat my hb said...nice complexion..hope tt qiuling managed to join the queue in time just now...lucky tt carine starts fussing towards the end only..

Woodlands Mummy,
U can add me in FB via my email add : [email protected] at the search icon there.

BTW, i oso looking for job but would wanna clear my 4th mth ML before leaving. I'm going back to work next tue after my 3mths ML.

Flos,
I tried looking for a handheld blender, no luck at CK Tang. U know where to get one?

Jessi,
I should be there 10ish. The security told me it will start at 10ish. I need to drop my boy with my caregiver before gg
U can pm me yr mobile, once reach, call each other?

Kym,
Nice stuff u bought for your girlie...always more choices for girls than boys..

Hi Millie
Tried to resend the request but not allowed...instead of "Add as friend" it became "Friend requested"...perhap the request is still at the server not yet send to your email add...

Dear Isabelle, Sunrays, Gunibabe, Lilboymum and Chewyring,

Really enjoyed our lunch just now - not just coz we had looted Fox together but the sharing and laughter
Thanks also for the mummy who shared about her FIL (good to get such stuff off your chest).. the story is a hoot btw!

All mummies, we should try to meet more often yeah? (Though I'm really not sure how we can do it once all of us start work...) Face to face meetings are much more engaging and insightful. It also minimises misunderstandings coz written words/ well-intended suggestions are devoid of emotions.. (though I admit that the written medium is excellent for subtle sarcasm, hee me a culprit in this for office emails...)

Okies, I've got a slight problem. My Medela Pump-in-Style again! I think I was in such a rush at noon to catch the FOX sale that I yanked the tube off! Now there is a stump stuck in the plastic.. how??
Anyone who is going for the FP sale going by shops selling Medela prdts for the next few days?? Can help me buy a tube I pay u back on Fri?

Kymkym - sorry missed you out for lunch! Yes we belong to the KS group that went early!!! But good for you, managed to find nice stuff!!! Sunrays and I also bought the white tank top
I didn't see the red polka dotted skirt, bought the brown one only! Also didn't see the green dress.. what is the size of the dress?

Bigtoes - yeah I'm also two minds about starting on solids early.. read in most books best to start at 6 mths BUT they also say that if baby shows signs (which you listed), can start at 4 mths as well.. btw, the link I shared at 6am has many recipes for purees!

yeah, it was great to catching up in person! as usual, there's not enough time to chat with everyone, cos of the boobie time-table of expressing milk! hehe

as reported to some of you, there's not much boys stuff at the fox sale. after hanging around and digging for a while, I finally got the following. regretted buying 2 items though! when I was there, I was so eager to look for things to buy! haha ... on my way home, I kinda regretted my impulse purchases! opps

here are my loot!

1942879.jpg

Got 2 denim bottoms ($9 each), 1 romper (in green $6), 1 stripey henley tee ($6) and a t-shirt and shorts set (top left, grey tee with smiling beavers, $9) for my boy.

Hey Gunibabe!

Yeah I also kind of regret buying two pieces.. the purple and brown pants.. quite cute actually with side cargo like pockets but somehow now not as appealing.. think it is the KS-ness. Bought at $6 each for 6-12M.. anyone interested?

All my loot and the pants I'm talking abt:

1942933.jpg

1942934.jpg

Bacon&eggs: ah...I've not ventured to baby food yet, though I bought the Thermos food jars already
I believe we can find it at Best Denki or Harvey Norman?

u got the Bbcubes from LittleJetPlane or? Actually, sigh...I'm of two minds to buying them cos I've a super 'eng' maid, so she can be tasked to blend the ingredients daily at my PILs' place. Fresh puree made daily is always better than frozen cubes

<font color="0077aa">Jojobar: Think my boy also teething le, cos he also drool &amp; his fists had saliva all over..

Heard from one of the mummy that the FOX sale not good?

I passed by J&amp;J sale, pity to say that the sale wasn't fantastic either. Omst item only have like a few dollars off &amp; I think if we go to those toiletries shop like Ocean also can get about the same price...

Kymkym: your loots look good!</font>

cheekychubbycheek...welcomewelcomezzz... :p

fox warehouse sales
yeah, those mummy with girls might find it more worthwhile to go.as for me, loot too much to show here. but then am sharing with a friend who;s giving birth early next year..so not actually a lot lot lah...kakakaka

flos, storeberry
good taht you didnt go...

weaning.
actually it's ok to start solids as early as 4.5mths. other than allergies and stuff, one reason why AAP revised its advisory to parents is due to the incraesed incidence of OBESITY!!!! kakakakakaka...seriously ley...coz the sooner one starts solids, the likelier they will get fatter unless they are up and about crawling and cruising..hence 6mths...

Busy_bee
I am also getting the Bright Starts Bounce Bounce Baby! Really difficult to find in Spore, only managed to find one in CK Tangs, but $172.20 at offer price. Think I might have to order from WalMart. Babytown also selling at $151++.

Fox sale
Wow! Looks like all the mummies had a good shopping trip cum lunch gathering!

Storeberry
Thanks for your sms!
Will meet up on Friday for the Mattel sale! Right now, i am recuperating at home as down with bad cough and fever too..

Bacon&amp;Egg
Where did u get the baby food cubes? Want to buy some to store so that I can get my maid to make purees for Rachael too

Bigotes
I sorta remembered you were looking for CNY clothes for Kieran right?? I bought 3 sets from BP for Rachael, they are also selling nice ones for boys too! (I personally fancy the Poetry Design for boys, esp. the yellow set!) Thinking of buying one set for my little cousin, but he seems too old for it liao (@ 5 years old). Mummies who are getting CNY clothes for your darlings, can try this link. I must confess though...BP IS ADDICTIVE!! Hee...*guilty mummy's grinz*

http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1941633.html?1228188756

<font color="0077aa">blue_roses: My boy also recently have watery stools, but my food didn't change so am not sure what trigger it... I am on TBF but last time not so watery...

Today my smallberry like want to flip over! But think he is still not strong enough so he turn only like 90 degree! Can I ask mummies here, then if he flip 180 degree wouldn't it be very dangerous when he sleep at night?

Millie: I think if you on TBF-ing, it should be able to meet your boy's demand, if you introduce FM now, your supply will definitely decrease...</font>

storeberry: what do u mean flip 90 degrees? Today something similar happened! He was on his playmat and after playing on his own for 20min, I went back to check on him. He had turned 180 degrees!!! wah piang.. Looks like the Rainforest Playmat satin is very slippery... can turn clockwise!

Guni bb ,
the website for the cubes are given by " i forget who" sometime back .. i went to this website www.littlegastronomy.com and email her and she forwarded the mail to jet ... something company to get the discount of $12 per tray of 2 oZ cubes ... u might want to try surfing ..

Ya .. nice lunch with u mummies ... cannot stay for too long cos have to run back to pump milk .. I have not pump the milk out since 7 am .. so have to rush home ..

My loots ...
i only secure some bb bodysuits ( 2 for $6) n i sleepsuit( $9)for zenneth , one jacket n one denim shorts for zac and the rest are bb gal stuff for other cousins of zac and zen.. nothing much for boys as mentioned earlier ..

Flos ,
bb can flip when they are 3-4 mths old .. that is y have to be monitoring them on bed .. keke .. cos they can only start flipping one way and cannot flip back .. 4-5 mths , they will start to flip both ways and start rolling over .. haha /. saw your pic on FB .. so different ..

gunibb: as I mentioned to bacon&amp;eggs, I approached http://www.littlejetplane.com/catalog/ for the Babycubes.

chewyring: flip meaning turn turtle is it? Mine is using the strength of his back muscles to turn clockwise/anti-clockwise.
I need to buy bumper mats soon. I was like 见鬼!I thought I placed his head on this side, how come now on the opposite side of the square playmat!

mommies who went to the fox sale
are there any adult clothes? the place stuffy or not? thinking of going tomorrow but i have to bring my bb cos i have nowhere to park her.

bb food
these puree everyone's talking abt, do we add them to something or are they eaten neat?

<font color="0077aa">Flos: Yes, flip mean turn turtle. Smallberry can only go like about 90degree, which means perpendicular to the ground.. My hubby asked if he flip while sleeping then how?? I also don't know how to answer him.. Keke... Wow, Issac must be dancing on the mat!</font>

as in GD-ish la! Haha... besides the dot series the rest in the thread are not right? Sigh means I still have those black symbols (= x ) etc missing...

springz
those are easy to make lah, just use marker and draw!! else you can get flos to help you draw..kekeke.. :p

o, the picture one maybe..but there arent facts at the back so a bit waste of money..can get better ones with facts at the back...

Chinese cards?

lilboymom: i still didn't get ur email on those flashcards ley...u sent thru FB?

storeberry: mine can't turn turtle yet, but can turn 'cartwheel' from 6 o'clock to 12 o'clock postion.

I've been so busy juggling work &amp; baby that I hardly have time to come in here to chat!

FLASHCARDS
I bought 3 packs of flashcards from the swimming place, Hwa Xia on Sunday, so cheap, only $4.50 per pack &amp; baby loves it! He'll be very attentive &amp; smile &amp; laugh when I flash the cards to him.

GROCERY SHOPPING
I went to Cold Storage King Albert Park &amp; realised that their grocery trolley comes equipped with an infant seat. It's great for mummies who need to shop for groceries alone. I put my baby in it &amp; he slept so soundly covered with a blanket while I was doing my grocery shopping.

Mei: do u find flashing cards very tiring? I hv been flashing since Mon (AM session + PM session). Generally he smiles and chuckles, but not sure if he really understands.

I was also at Huaxia Harbourfront on Sun. Didn't see u

lilboymom: correct lah...if it's just dots, just DIY! But there are some images that are best demonstrated in photo format, e.g. Wonders of the World, etc. I can paint them, but it takes too much effort

I've a question, if my son's strong in his right-brain already, should I waste my money on all these 'right-brain methods'?

i went down to fox sales but never go in. i reached b4 12 and there was aleady ppl squeezing at the door, waiting it to be open, so hb n i decided to go for lunch, after that we went again. think they control ppl going in, so there is quite a number of ppl waiting outside, so decide to give a miss as the weather was really hot. anyway saw the banner outside, it was till 14 dec. maybe will drop by this few days.

Dear Spring, Isabelle, Sunrays, Gunibabe, Lilboymum and Chewyring,

Too bad i missed you guys!!! Was feeding little baby and it went a bit off till 1pm.. otherwise could have met you guys to chiong! But yea.. Spring was right, sooooo many people!!! hahaha i had to line-up 45 mins just to pay :p... maybe we'll meet up again at the mattel sale ok!!

Keke.. some mothers right at the front were picking through their stuff at the cashier and some decided not to buy a few items.. so i snatch la! thats how i got the dress and polka dots shorts one HEHEHE..i also got a pair of shorts and a tank for myself :p.... but its not very cheap at all.. $10 for the shorts..

Dear Xuanting,

Yes they have adults clothes, for male and female.. understand the prices are $7 for female tops, $10 for sweaters, $9 for baby sets, $8 for baby tops.... but today was mayhem, not sure if they'll roll out new things tml!

re: Fox Sale
mummies, altho I haven't been to the current Fox Sale yet, but i have been to previous one.. they have such sales a few times a year.. anyway, just want to say quite a lot of the clothes are only marginally cheaper than the mall sales. say for example the Baby Set at $9.. usually Fox will have sale in the stores at say $19 for 2 sets. something like that. So unless it's convenient for you to go to Wing Tai, else don't bother to purposely make your way there. I know a few sales back, they have really really good mark-downs like $1 or $2 per pc.. but it seems now the warehouse sale price is only just a bit better than store-sale-price.

Xuanting,
saw your question on baby puree.. u can give 'neat'.. if u make sweet potato puree or apple puree, u can just feed baby directly that. cos such veg/fruits are sweet so baby will generally accept. If u make green veg purees, then maybe it's better if u add to porridge or cereal. Green veg puree like brocoli, spinach etc.. which may be very green to taste.. I ever did feed my son green veg puree on it's own.. he did eat.. but some babes won't eat.. so it also depends on your baby.

baconegg,
u can buy handheld blender in Best Denki or Harvey Norman. I like the Braun one best. there are a few other brands.. like Philips.

Flos,
yes, u can get your maid to puree everyday.. but may not be efficient. All that washing of the blender, steaming just one veg to make one portion of puree... actually if u intend to get your maid to make everyday, u don't need to make puree.. u can ask her to chop to small small (mince) using chopper. that is another option.

re: Baby Cubes
mummies, i mentioned before.. it's not a must to buy Baby Cubes. U can use any tupper ware, plastic containers (Lock Lock).. or even just ice cube trays with Lid. Note: must buy those with lids to prevent contamination when freezing. I ever bought from Daiso ice-cube tray with lid.. $2 only. Fill the ice-cube tray with your puree.. cover and freeze the whole tray. Once the tray is frozen.. pop all the cubes of frozen puree out into a big plastic container (tupper).. then each time u need, just take out 1-2 cubes to defrost or warm.. can use baby food warmer or put in a bowl and microwave.

wow, your loots from Fox looks good.

I was down at my mum's place today, so i went for the J&amp;J sale. emm..i spent like $300+. what was cheap was the neutrogena items (but no rainbath) as well as the J&amp;J calming bathing wash which was $4.90 per bottle. I also bought cleansing wipes at 3 for $9 and those with moisturiser for $3.90 each.

My mum thought i went berserk. Cause i kept buying by the cartons. My thinking behind it is that these are daily necessities and since its really so far away and carpark cost me $2/hour ( the carpark bill came to $6). The long wait was mainly for payment.

Autum: I recently enjoyed 15% discount using my UOB card to spend at Fox retail outlet. Not sure if it's really cheaper than the warehouse. One thing however for sure is I chalked up uni$ via the creditcard, and baby was by my side when I picked the apparels. keke.

I agree with u that it's not efficient to get maid to do it daily, cos she'll be wasting time, effort &amp; electricity or battery (of the handheld blender, i.e.). Mincing? Wouln't the puree be very coarse then?

Microwave the food cubes? I will not microwave bb food. Better use the food warmer

Flos
I only do flashcards once a day, in the afternoon when baby sleeps little &amp; is restless, so it's not tiring.

I was at the Plaza Sing branch on sunday.. oh.. they have got a baby weighing machine there, so good chance to weigh baby in-between PD appointments.. hehe.

flos
children switch permanently to left brain when they reach 6 years. after that it;s a point of no return. so if you dun build it up now, then they will slowly lose it...for dots, they are able to perceive below 30mths.

Mei: I see, but though it's not tiring for u, do u find that it's tiring for him in the afternoon when bb is restless?

Lilboymom: tx!! I'm too right-brained. I want my kid to be more left-brained

<font color="0077aa">Oh no, Zane is rejecting the bottle! how??? My MIl feed him &amp; he don't want to drink leh! And keep crying till he cough... So upseting!</font>