(2008/09) Sep 2008

lilboymom: I couldn't chiong... I was just accompanying my ah lao who took child care leave ytd to go to the sale! I nearly died too! Rushed to Guardian to buy Po Chai pills...

C&K sale: Ohh, so it's not worth going ah? Nearly going this weekend cos I almost bot some mules at PP branch last weekend,but was told there'll be this warehouse sale, so I decided to wait.

My feet size also went up to 38 from 36...

PEDDER RED is also hving sale...

I missed the On Pedder Sale.
I really need new shoes.

Really can;t catch up with the postings mann after returning back to work.

Hi, Bigtoes
Kieran is so well -fed!! Good job! feel proud, right? When my baby born prematurely, he was so skinny that mittens would drop off from his hands. and now, he is so much meaty with the breast milk..I really feel it is another achievement, other than getting pregnant, going through the pregancy, delivering him, learning how to latch etc etc.. It is all about learning each day as our kids grow.

Hi, Lok

Initially, me also like you (when having Joshua), worrying how come my baby cannot lift his head which some of the younger babies here are doing so, and how come my baby not grasping stuff and with his fist so clenched.. Now I just leave things as it is.. and believe my boy will catch up soon..

Hi,Springz

I got your e-mail already. see you on sat

Hi,Storeberry

Where did you get your bumbo? Thinking of getting one for baby.

<font color="0077aa">Jas: No, not going to C&amp;K sale, too far away!

LC: My fren gave me her bumbo. Why not you rent cos bb cannot sit for too long, maybe max two mths only.. If 2nd hand, think its selling for abour $40.</font>

LC,
no need to worry about baby development.. eventually they will all catch up! as long as our babes are healthy and happy, that's the most important.

your baby is your first one? if yes, then u can consider buying the Bumbo and keep for #2 and #3? hee.. else can buy 2nd-hand as what Storeberry suggested..

IFC - Sorry to reopen this topic again. I was rewinding, reading the archive posts and saw some of your responses.. I went to check out this new branch infant care.. environment is good cos it is a new branch. and was told that it is capped at 9babies with a ratio of 1:3 or 2:5. currently only two babies coming in Dec and they have two caretakers to take care. and another 2 babies coming in feb. Saw the menu and they serve salmon and I go "hmmmm..."

Lok - Reading your post is a comfort to be. All these while, we are discouraged not to go IFC bec my inlaws are there to take care.. but really judging how they manage, I dun see much stimulation. sometime I wonder is it bec of them that my boy still can't lift his head or grasp stuff cos they dun give him tummy time or putting objects or something in front of him to stimulate..so now I come to terms tat different babies develop differently..Being the first grandson, I am also worried that they wil spoil him like what Angeline mentioned.. I dun wan a maid to handle cos I might end up upsetting myself and start to abuse the maid.. hahaha...So, we have decided to put baby in IFC next march when he is about 6months old despite the negative reponses we gotten from friends and relatives..

Hi, Storeberry

I am also waiting for a hand-me -down but no response from that friend yet.. hahahaha...Saw that you are going to Springz place this sat too.. see you and Zane..

Hi,Autum
#2 and #3?? Hmmmm.. me thinking of stopping at #1.. hahaha.. at least this is what I wan now.. maybe as times goes by, with memory failing and can't remember how difficult it is for the first 1 or 2 month, then will consider to have #2 but definately no #3..hahaha.. dun let mmy MIL hear that.. she is already pressingme for #2 now.. ho hoho..

flos/l'l cy, are your tummies better liao? better to take porridge &amp; soupy stuff the next few days.

storeberry, how? did zane like the storybook u bought?

dmbb, is there regurgitation for reflux? mine just suddenly makes a face at the bottle and then wail like i'm giving her spicy milk or something.

flos/mrs yap/lanolin, the doc did recommend getting a nuk teat cos of the air vent; he said it could be cos bb is frustrated with milk flow. i've tried the nuk teat but am not sure if it's better cos bb's appetite seems to have come back even with my original medela teats. so unpredictable, this girl. but i'll be getting both the medela medium and a larger size nuk teat to try out soon.

jas, i see. i also thought it would be like ray-ker as in michael cos of the same spelling. kids' names these days are anything but ordinary!

sarahmay, a friend told me abt signing with bb and i intend to go get some books to read up. u going to start soon? imagine being able to understand our babies before they can talk! wonderful! btw, guess how much i love you is one of my fave children's books too! i also have the big and little nut brown hare plush which i haven't unwrapped from their box since i bought them years ago cos bu4 she3 de2, only opened recently to give to bb; she's so lucky! really love the story and the illustration and hope that my bb will love it as much.

LC,
I am also a strong supporter of IFC. Put my firstborn there since he was 2.5mths old, until 18mths. (my boy is now 20mths). Now, for my baby girl, i hired a maid to take care of her. Not because I don't like IFC, but really because I need extra help now that I have #2 (plus also $$ issue la).

So don't worry about IFC. There are always good and bad.. so try it out first. By the way hor, serving salmon is a common menu item le. :p

LC,
u can ask them if they put salt into the cooking. my son's IFC, i think they did put a bit but i m not the particular kind so i just don't bother. but i think some mummies are very particular about such things, so u can ask them.

u can also check with them if u want to bring your own food puree next time, how they will handle.. or will they allow. Last time once my boy can take solid food, i make frozen puree every week in batches.. and every day bring one cube to the IFC for them to add to the porridge. They need to defrost and warm up my puree first before stirring into the porridge.

Other things to look out are the usual stuff.. cleanliness, hygiene, what kind of activities, what kind of toys etc. If your IFC is new, they may not have many toys, so I suggest that you just be thick-skinned and tell the Principal to buy! for my son's IFC, they got tons of toys cos they have been around for some years.. I don't mean small toys, but the bigger types like push-walker, excersaucer, Playhouse, slides.. of course can also ask them what small toys they have.. Toys are important because that's where the stimulation comes in. My boy can crawl very fast and well cos they have some playscape there.. but then again, every child develops differently, so don't stress yourself ok.

Babydrama queens:

Yea, agree! Scarlett has been showing all kinds of expression lately, sometimes crying, giggling and pouting all at the same time, so cute!!

Little Nyonya:

Dear Flos, me following! I think it is a good show too, quite a bit of effort was put into the show i'd say.. also like the costumes and the wares they use

C &amp; K sale

then tink i better dun go also...tks for all the info..

Ch55

i am now hooked on the new 9pm show..the cops 1...quite nice n exciting..

Xuanting
Yeah, for once, I tot I had a wrong pronounciation for my gal's name! Went to Wiki then found out that it is the same pronounciation as Rachel..Thank goodness! Hee..

Kymkym
Agree! My gal actually laughed (not smile!) when we were talking to her yday! Me and hubby were simply thrilled! Sometimes she likes to give all kinds of expressions to test out which types works on mummy and daddy for attention! Yeah, truly drama queen, like her teacher-mummy! Now I know why I am "suited" to teach P1, as told by my sup..haha..

Eric Carle's books
I simply adore his books, and when I was back in NIE days, the supplier actually came down to sell loads of them. Didn't grab much, cos also didn't expected to get pregnant at that time. Does anyone still have the supplier's contact, or know of anywhere to get them cheap?

LC
I was also told against sending my child to IFC. The only bad things is that I might have to take a lot of leave if she falls ill, something which I can't afford to do. That's why despite all the support I give to IFC, i eventually had to keep the maid...

hi bigtoes,

have transferred $48.20 to ur account
transaction ref is 1995838241

okie mummies
gg to work now. Chat with u ladies later!

Gals, I see that there is one BP on wall décor http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1913003.html?1227833039
Quite cool leh.. I dunno whether shld order or not to decorate bb room.. bt most of the stickers are quite zabor lo
:S

FINGER IN MOUTH
I know it is common, but my bb is onie stuffing his RIGHT hand into his mouth. And he is not really playing with his left hand. Is that normal? Or issit his sensory on the left arm is not ‘there’!!!???? Anyone has similar experience???

<font color="119911">uper chubby Kieran - yah, he looks FAT in that bumbo photo, and even fatter when he is asleep cos he squishes his head down and u can see his double chin!

LC (faintz) - yes, its amazing now chubby he has grown from purely breast milk. Think my milk is too fatty! hehe...if he gets any fatter, he would look like one of those China babies.

WHEN TO START ON SEMI-SOLIDS?
Not sure if this is another growth spurt (at 3 months) - are there suppose to be so many spurts? K now gets hungry every 2-2.5 hours, and have been back to waking up 2X at night for milk. Hubby is wondering if we should start him on semi-solids like baby cereal mixed into his milk earlier (that early?) to keep him full. Experienced mommies, what do you think?

SarahMay (sarahmay) - yes, as long as your baby can more or less hold his head up, can put into bumbo already.
Any later and the fat thighs will get stuck! Duno how comfy it is thou.

Goldfish (goldfish1395) - yes, its common! K is also always inclined to turn to his right (back of head is abit squished on one side) &amp; its v difficult to get him to turn to his left. Same with his hand - prefers to stuff his right hand into his mouth.

Okie, chat later - have to go to office for meetings today.</font>

Channel 55
Been catching the 8pm and 9pm show..think the 8pm - Jian Ren Jian is hilarious..cant wait to catch tonite's episode where the buck toothed ghost become a beauty! Been following Small Nonya too...but dont like the lead actress lah...too demure liao...like the making of kuehs though!

Flos, CY,
Feeling better now? Flos, u were at Vivo yesterday (thurs), I was there tooo..Didnt get anything from CK though..xmas trim selection is also v limited..finally put up my Xmas tree but v basic trim..leftover from my SIL's ex office..

LC,
Good decision on IFC. Where is this new IFC?

Books for BB
What type of books is suitable for bb? Those cloth type?

Bigtoes
I am also running out of ideas to "entertain" my boy..rotate him between the rocker and gymmat daily...sometimes i read/sing in between feeds...tummy time...other mommies can share what u do with your little one?

Can anyone remember the formula that someone posted about how much milk our babies should be drinking?

I remembered vaguely it's

weight of child x ____ = XXX ml

Can anyone recall?

bacon&amp;egg - I was at vivo city yesterday oso! and I had a long walk before I managed to find the nursery to change diaper for my boy... but at least the nursery is clean... =)

Hi Bigtoes - Kieran has grown!! Well done mummy!

C&amp;K sale - Sigh think I missed it. My CL &amp; MIL say that after giving birth feet don't go back to same size.. as in it is slightly wider than before! Anyone experience this? WHile I can wear pre-preggers clothes, shoes cannot leh! Strange huh..

Hi Gunibabe - welcome to our thread!!!
Yup I recall it was Karen who posted it:

weight of child x 150 divide by number of feed in a day = XXXml per feed..

How come so many mummies got food poisoning??? Must take care!!

TOMORROW'S GATHERING!
Getting pretty excited!! Heee.. Hope everyone received the email on address and hp!!! See you all tomorrow!

For new mummies, you free tomorrow? Can join us, haha just means that lesser finger food to go round and lesser for each to pay! haha... just PM me ya if interested.. the more the merrier!

xuanting: tks for asking...I'm feeling better now and in fact was chomping on my Royce chocos oredi

IFC: I am also in full support of IFC! My MIL &amp; FIL are in their late 60's and early 70's respectively. I can't expect them to squat and kneel up and down all day long by the the playgym and exersaucer to stimulate Isaac. They will probably be watching their TVB serials and playing those Cantonese opera songs in the background. It's physically tiring to be a 8-12 hour watchdog for your toddler when u r at work for 70-something people. They need to nap a few times a day, so most likely there will be oversights and lapses.

Of course there're bound to be oversights as well in IFCs but at least the caretakers are not in their 70's.

Autum: How clean are those toys at an old IFC? I suppose they do sterilise the big toys like playhouse, exersaucer, etc right?

Autum: Care to share your puree recipe? You'd grind the ingredients on weekends, and pack them into 'cubes' and freeze them and take them in a frozen form to the IFC on a weekly basis or daily basis?

BUMBOS: someone said it's not so good for the bb's spine. We nearly bot one from Isetan last week but thot it looks very 'hard'...I'll stick to my exersaucer...

Goldfish: I saw some boyish ones at Isetan Parkway Kids section. They hv diff themes for u to choose, but I didn't buy them cos already hv some simple decals.

Dun worry so much abt left or right! My Isaac initially only gnaws on his left hand, so we thot he is a lefthander, but lately he has discovered his right hand and started to chew 'ferociously' on it too.

Bigtoes: starting on semi-solid foods. What say your PD? Everything I do I'll check with my PD on my mthly visits :) When there are apparently abnormalies, I'd ring the TMC helpline to ask for advice. So far they've been quite helpful. This is all becos I dun read up at home! hahaha!

Lanolin: On Pedder shoes are too pricey! I hv budget only for Pedder Red

C&amp;K sale: I think I'll skip the warehouse sale. I'll wait for the new collection to come out for CNY.

storeberry: Toy rental: Why, but this is the first time I'm hearing abt toy rental! Who is renting out toys? Any webbies?

Thank Spring for inviting =) but tomorrow hubby having a class gathering at our house.... so wouldn't be able to join this time round... hope to attend the next one though =) Enjoy the gathering tomorrow mommies =)

Flos - actually the toy rental thingy.. I think I saw it on TV before.. it is set up by 2 "ang mo" mommies but not sure if it is the same thing as the link that storeberry has provided... but I quite like the idea of the rental coz some of the toys are easily "outgrown" so not very worth it to buy le...

Hi Hi, does anyone know where to get Medela white membranes? My helper just informed me that one of my Pump-in-style membrane is torn. That explains why I could only pump about 90ml each time yesterday and breasts pretty engorged! I recall some dept store selling these parts but can't recall!!! Desperate coz manual pumping is so tedious and slow!!

flos flos - you must have missed my post earlier suggesting you rent toys so that can share with Issac's cousins!!
They are sterilised after each use and are pretty new.. few of my colls swear by it as their tots lose interest v fast! Lots of toy rentals in Sg.. just google can find
If you want reliable one, will ask my colls for theirs

springz- you mind checking with your colls on the more reliable toys rental?? me quite keen on that idea ... =) Many thanks in advance =)

Springz: try First Few Years at KKH/Paragon. I saw that they hv a full range of spare parts.

Springz, I cannot attend your gathering anymore cos it's my MIL's birthday tmr. Enjoy yourselves, mommies!

Jeraldin: Tks, hmm, I still prefer hand-me-downs from relatives...at least they'll be truthful to me whether their toddler had tossed the toy phone into the potty or not!! hehehe

ahhhhhh.... thank you Flos!! Life saver! I checked their webby and called them - they have it!!! Yay! Hee.. also found out that Mums&amp;Babes at United Sq has it too but line engaged.. so will go KKH later!
Tks tks...

Flos: aiyoo... so fast eat chocolates alr?? Must drink lotas water yah? Oh regarding toy rental, think l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum) posted the web before but am not too sure which website is it.

Semi-solids food: Is it too fast to feed baby now? Saw in the books to start 4th mth or later.. SHould we start with cereals 1st? MIL want to start with porridge 1st which I thot might not be good for bb.. Any comments? I have a blog link which a mummy set up on baby food.. Maybe I should go &amp; dig it out...

Goldfish: I bout some wall decor before I gave birth but so far haven't paste anything yet cos now baby room will have to be temp maid's room so not putting up the decals yet. I put up some in my masterbedroom though, even its only a few flowers but back was aching by the time I finished! Maybe cos that time I was preggy.. Keke.. See below:
1929170.jpg

Good morning all!
Reading and Baby Books...
Thanks Sarahmay and Bigtoes for sharing about reading to your baby. I just bought quite a few board books from some BPs and plan to start reading once the books arrive. Think the suggestion to read while feeding is great, start her early on multitasking. hahah...
Jas, if you do get the contact of the Eric Carle book supplier can let us know? I am keen to get some for Mikayla.

Crawling...
Bigtoes, like your baby Kieren, my Mikayla also attempts to crawl during tummy time but she does get very far! Once she even flexed her legs and attempted to stand when I was carrying her up from tummy time. So afraid she is being over ambitious and hurt herself cos her body not ready for such stunts yet!

Exersaucer...
Jas, your suggestion to rent is a good idea but the Bright starts bounce bounce is only USD40, so don't feel its worth it. Either get my cousin to buy the bounce bounce back from the US for me or might just rent the FP jumperoo for Mikayla to try.

Drama Serials...
Love the little nonya too (can totally relate cos I am 1/4 nonya, not a full fledged one). The scenes, kebayas and of course the cooking reminds me of growing up with my Grandma the matriach of the family . But my hubs and me have been following the CH55 show, Ultimate Crime Fighter too. So we channels surf between the 2 channels.

Sarahmay, don't be too worried about juggling chores and taking care of your little one. I'm sure you can manage. Its all about time management, but must admit it takes practice and discipline. I try to limit my surfing time otherwise everything else will not get done. Before the Mikayla I never lifted a finger to do chores (my hubs spoil me lah), but now with the little one I feel I need to keep the home clean so that its a healthy environment for her. Of course getting the right tools like using magic clean wiper, 3m clothes for cleaning and a good mop (I rotate between my Leifeht and 3M one). I don't even use the pail. I just use a spary bottle with diluted floor cleaner and go about mopping. Then hubs helps me on weekends to do a more thorough clean up of the whole flat. As for cooking, I use the microwave and thermal pot alot. Hope this helps.

Thermos sale...
did anyone go down? would like to get the foogo food jar, wonder if it is on sale

<font color="0000ff">breadmum
I didn't go to the C&amp;K sale wor... too far for mi le

Flos &amp; l'lCY
oh no!!! hope u all are feeling better now

SarahMay
Eh, can lah.. tell mi wat u wan.. i can help u to get.. oh. provided I got hands to carry.. haha, coz wil be going alone wor. nvm lah.. should be meeting Sunrays there.. so we can help lug ur things. but den again, how to pass to u???

Sucking of fists
haha.. Max likes to suck BOTH fists at the same time. Or else, he will alternate them in a matter of few seconds. Yucks!!! den his chin would be full of saliva

Sleeping sideways
Max has been turning sideways since abt a mth old.. but juz recently, we realised he seems to like to sleep on his sides. even if we place him facing upwards, after awhile, he would turn to his sides. seems like it's a more comfy position eh. another thing, he seems to wan a bolster now. We tried placing his beansprout pillow over his arms like a bolster and he turns sideways, ends up grabbing the pillow with both his hands and hugging it. hhmm.. so we were wondering if we should pass him the bolster. but den again, it would be dangerous!!

Strong Necks
sighz.. Everyday we've been wondering when would his neck be strong enuff. seems like it's gonna be strong soon, but WHEN?? lately, he's been trying to lift his neck while we are carrying him in order to get into a more comfy position

<font color="0000ff">Little Nonya
haha.. both hb n i have been catching this serial on ch8 too. we finally found time to watch tv. Max seems to be sleeping early these days. 9+ and he's asleep

Akira Warehouse Sale
oh went to the sale ytd.. nothing much to buy. MIL ended up buying 4 sets of digital cameras (5.2MP) at $49.90 as x'mas pressies

Hi, Autum

Thanks very much for the pointers.. I did ask them abt the salt cos i am one of those mummies that dun wan salt or seasoning and they mentioned they dun add and the principal seem very strict on this.. Toys wise, I saw many small ones around and a section for slides and swing..saw some rocker and bouncer but dun see excersaucer though..te principal said they clean the toys everyday.

din ask abt bringing own puree.. why are u doing your own? wan to ask how abt soiled clothes and your ebm, how do they handle for your boy's IFC? and feeding bottles, u bring enough for them too?

Hi, Springz

You can try Mum &amp; Babies at AMK hub.. Or RObinson at city hall. They do sell the membrances there.

Hi,Sasa

My boy is totally opposite.. I placed him to sleep on the side way and after awhile, he will be lying on his back again.. heard from my SIL that babies sleeping side way tend to sleep longer than those lying on their back.. dun noe how true..

Hi, Bacon &amp; Egg

The IFC is a new branch.. you are staying at CCK? They have another branch there. According to the Principal, the centre has been around for 10 odd years.. so quite established ba..

Hi,Storeberry

I plan to start solid food for my boy when he turns 6month. dun wan to run the risk of food allergy so delyaing it a bit later..

Bigtoes,
Never mix cereal into milk bottle to give baby ok. Cos it may lead to 2 things - 1) Overfeeding (2) Baby refusing to eat/don't know how to eat next time.

For (1), not so bad, as we can control quantity. For (2), that is the main worry. Cos if our baby is fed 'food' in a liquid form (thru adding cereal to milk), then he may be resistance to eating from a spoon and u may take long time to feed real solids in future. Please wait until at least 4 months to start feeding semi-solids. However, for breastfed babies, it's advisable to wait until 6mths.

Storeberry,
It's not wrong to start with feeding porridge. Even those baby cereal u buy outside, the first one are all rice-cereal. So technically, it's the same as feeding with porridge.

Flos,
all IFC and CCC wash and sterilise their toys vv often. can be daily for small toys and at least weekly for the bigger toys bah. if u come across those who don't wash, better siam!

my puree ah? no recipe one.. cos baby food are all very boring. haha.. i did plain purees or mixed veg puree.. can puree anything. start with root vegs - potato, sweet potato, butternut squash.. then can also add stuff like cauliflower, brocoli, carrot etc.. just steam everything, use a food blender to blend, then freeze using Baby Cubes. You can use any tupper wares or Lock-lock etc. Each day, i just bring one cube to the IFC. If I do green veg puree, i ask them to mix into porridge. If say I bring a sweet potato puree, then sometimes i tell them to feed it on it's own as tea-break food.

Baby signing...
Anyone knows when we can start trying?

Solids...
Planning to start Mikayla on some solids maybe veg puree or rice cereal when she is 4 mths, will check with pd on her next checkup. So eager I already bot bb cubes in anticipation.

Springz,
U can find the membrane at Taka too.

Einstein DVD
Remembered one of the BB is watching this DVD. Just watching if prolong watching of TV at such young age will affect their eyesight?

Jeraldin,
Vivo has limited nursery..but agree with u that it is clean..and quite well furnished.

sasa - my boy also like to sleep on his side... especially his left side... he has been sleeping like that since when he is one month old.. actually it is quite good to sleep on side coz according to the nurses at NICU, they told me that baby can digest the milk much better when bb sleep on side and if bb regurgitate milk, at least they wouldn't choke on them... but i realise when he sleep on his side, he tends to wriggle around the whole bed..

LC,
i stop BF very fast so I don't need to bring EBM. But all IFC will know how to handle. You just bring your EBM to the IC every morning, then they will know how to heat up and feed your baby. For bottles, I brought 3 there. The IFC will also have steam steriliser to sterilise the bottles.

I brought my own puree there cos i kiasu lor. actually the teacher there told me quite a few times no need to bring, cos the porridge they prepare has all the ingredients - fish, veg etc.. but i just bring.. it's just extra la.. if u don't bring, also can.

Hi,bacon &amp; Egg

I have the same question as you
where to buy bb cubes?

Hi, Autum

Thanks, I will need to check with the IFC if they will serilise the bottles cos currently I am only rotating two pigeon bottles..

Bigtoes/Flos, Thanks for ur assurance on the finger thing. I guess I am quite edgy lately cos I am so much worried that my bb hearing and eyesight mite be affected by the virus attack…

Storeberry, ur wall decal is nice leh! How I wish I can do floral designs as well bt hb hates it loh!

Autumn – wich food blender do u use huh? so usually steam first den blend den ice cubes huh? I am hopeless in cooking u c…how to thaw the ice cubes huh?

Bumwear – I remember someone using bumwear as well. May I know how often do u change the outer-cover if no poo poo? It smells of urine after 4hrs leh I feel.. issit still ‘clean’ to use?

Goldfish (goldfish1395): I using BumWear, I usually change the outer-cover after 2 change of the inserts. SOmetimes I just let him wear it once a day, just to air his bum.

Flos: aiyo, no diary products if having diarrhea lah. unless u tring the "yi du gong du" method!

Bacon&amp;egg, LC... one of my friends sent me the link to her friend's blog http://littlegastronomy.blogspot.com/ u can read more about food puree and order bb cubes via her site. sometimes there are BPs selling them.

Springz...thanks for the invite. Is the gathering in the afternoon? Have something on in the evening.

Babies &amp; TV
bacon&amp;egg, I have the same concern. I wonder when is the best age to start allowing tv?

Bringing baby out...
Has everyone started taking their babies out? We have only so far brought Mikayla to the PD and 2 birthday dinners at restaurants with small seating capacity. So technically she has not been out yet, she is 11 weeks now ( she is a preemie born at 34 weeks). not sure if I am being too kiasu to keep her home?

Hi Gunibabe, I love BPs too. Totally hooked, its so addictive. I do all most of my shopping through BPs now since I am 'stuck' at home.

busy bee: thanks for sharing tips on juggling houswork..but u see i'm v lazy. hahaha. looking for PT cleaner to come twice a wk. my hubby rather i not clean cos i may start nagging at him more . hahaha.

xuanting: wat books did you get? i'm going to start prob 6mths.

storeberry: 5 min! and he nurses every 3 hours? amazing! yes, chop chop lor. can finish one baby bible story, one song and short prayer in that time. do you do devotion with baby? i haven't started a particular structure. only at wake up time and bedtime, must hav a short prayer and some songs.

bigtoes: so it is ok to put bb in bumbo even though his head occasionally flops down? and kieran sleep sthrough the nite and he is on TBF? WOw! WHen did he start doing it? ANd how much does he drink? He's on bottle at nite but latching on in day? I'm just thankful when mine gets up twice at nite like 1+ and 4+. His feeds are still 2 - 2.5 during day but at nite , not sure why it gets extended to 3. from what i've read, putting semi solids to get bb to sleep at this age not advisable. think earliest for that is still 4mths. Check with your PD?

sasa: more tummy time and max will surely do it in no time! ok i go check out what FP toys i need. I will be back for CNY! can meet up then!

IFC: One impt q you mummies can ask is also if ALL staff have had their health checks and jabs. COs there was a recent case of TB being passed from IFC staff to babies at one reputable IFC in the east coast area. Parents are suing the centre. THe IFC did not ensure that all staff went for health checks and the necessary immunisations. Scary!

MUSIC &amp; PLAY$: Wnat to share this great toy. My friend gave me the rainforest piano. I stuck it below baby's legs when he was lying down on play gym. He had a great time making music with it. Could see him enjoying it. He banged his foot down when he wanted to stop the music and started kicking again when he wanted to hear the sounds. Quite cool. When bb is older, he can use his hands to roll it to make music. And as tots, they can use it for creative drama and storytelling! got long shelf life. Can look out for it at the sale. Here's a pic of it. http://www.amazon.com/Fisher-Price-M2601-Rainforest-Rainbow-Piano/dp/B000WU7ES4

SIGNING wit baby: Try borrowing the DUMMY or is it IDIOT's GUIDE TO BABY SIGNING from NLB. i find it useful and good. but i bought a boxed set of sign cards with guide book on how to use it. only i think 30 bucks from times. It's by MOnta Z. Briant. http://www.amazon.co.uk/Audio-Flash-Cards-Language-Basics/dp/1401907660/ref=sr_1_2?ie=UTF8&amp;s=books&amp;qid=1227846118&amp;sr=1-2

from what' i've read it seems 6 mths is a good tme because they gain control and use of their ands enough to learn the signing. google baby signing and you will get links to videos on how to do it. quite easy.

BABY DREAMING
Mei - mine chuckles a lot in his sleep. Frightful dreams are less now than in the first month.

BABY BOOKS: Cloth books , board books...big, vibrant illustrations are great. Read this book by Shichida, and he rec reading TEN pic books a day to baby. THink i can't read that many cos don't have that many books here. BUt mummies in SG, go visit the children's section at NLB. THey've got GREAT collection of children's books on audio CDs. borrow that and play for baby! helps save voice! and money!

For cloth books, I like Lamaze ones. THose with sound and textures are great!

Here are some links i found useful on choosing baby books as well as some title suggestions:
http://www.parentsasteachers.org/site/pp.asp?c=ekIRLcMZJxE&amp;b=307123

http://www2.scholastic.com/browse/article.jsp?id=1510

http://baby-todler-play.suite101.com/article.cfm/choose_the_best_books_for_baby