(2008/09) Sep 2008

Teacher mummies, my appeal is unsuccessful despite the fact that I've long informed the school about my plans. since months ago? Default is default. Period. Kyrie, your principal is REALLY nice!

I'm so disappointed with the answers I get for that. Well, life has to move on, but I'm seriously thinking of quitting soon.

Qiuling: if you still want to know more about the circular, I can PM the changes.

Anyway, heard of these lobangs recently:

Cheong Choon Baby Store
- Sell prams, car seats, toys etc (Mike bought her Combi pram (Same model as mine) less than $300.)
- @Chinatown

A Chinese Medical Hall which I never notice their name
- Cheap diapers, wet wipes and milk powder
- @Blk 735 Pasir Ris St 72 #01-306

Merry Christmas!

sasa: yes...we never got a chance to meet up. must try when ireturn for CNY next year ok? how's max? neck float s ex here in china dunno why also.

storeberry: hehe. thanks but i'm not tt independentla. gotmy dad here helping me. very thankful tt i am s blessed w such a great family. now trying to rush my projects so i can focus fuly on elisha. feel bad that i haven't ben playing with him and doing as much educational stuff as i like.

flos: the prices are still beter than sg for some stuff. for combi cos it is jap so i guess more ex. miracle turn is like 600 sg!! but the model i got is a good deal in my opinion cos got 5 pt harness, reversible handle, suspension wheels and a big basket. cannot find something similar in sg for this price..so i'm happy. hehe
. most planes have changing table in toilets but so tiny the space i wldn't bother trying la. easier to change on empty seat.

qiuling: sorry to hear abt ur stinky exp w grading. so taking NPL first? think u shd. are u going to shanghai to join ur dh? go la! shanghai is nice place and wil be nice for u to be a tai tai for a while and for the kids to be near dad!

<font color="0000ff">SarahMay
Ok, can try, hehe, but i'm not v confident bringing bb out alone

hhmm... alternatively, we can help u get the neck float den send it to u lor.. think cheaper den getting from Macau rite.. dunno lah, juz a suggestion

gosh... so many nice bb fotos... make me so tempted to load mine up here too, hehe

The day he was born
1894599.jpg

1 mth later
1894600.jpg

Yet another month
1894601.jpg

Now
1894602.jpg

Juz look at how much he has changed. hehe.. my lil' cutie pie

shazz

wow..ur boy head can lift up so high as well..haha..got chance i take a pic of carine on her tummy n u can see her head down..sucking the mattress

springz

shauna got nice double eyelid..envy..both my gals dun have..take after me...

sasa

wow..the difference quite alot...hes quite fair lei...

Just came back from PD..after inserting the bullet, carine poo liao..phew..can see her tummy 'soften' alot now..the PD like tink i too gan jiong liao..coz he says tt tbf bb can dun poo for more than 1 week..today is the 8th day liao ma so i bring her down lor..haha..like a bit waste of $ coz just go in n put bullet n then come out..btw,her weight abit over man..now 6.9kg liao..when i told PD abt the drop in her milk intake,he said its the bb way of regulating her amt..hmm..now she drinking abt 100ml max only

<font color="0000ff">Angeline Goh
hhmm... fair?? haha.. i tot he's quite dark leh, as compared to both hb n i.
mayb the angle of the foto taken bah.

hhmmm... wah, 8 days no poo is a long time manz. so did she give u a BIG BOMB? how old is carine now?

Max gave us a huge bomb yesterday. He has been pooing at around 5+ / 6 daily now. Poo-ed when i brot him down for a walk and coz he was in nappies, the poo flowed out n onto his stroller. OMG!!!! realli a huge mess lor. and he cannot stop kicking, so can imagine how stained his stroller was</font>

rach,
u can try this link for the leg warmers. Not sure if you can access as it is a multiply a/c
http://11042008.multiply.com/

Question,
If your bb is able to sit quietly on the rocker/swing...do you "disturb" him by singing/talking or u leave him/her alone for the few moments of peace n quiet?

Bigtoes/Cloud,
I also bought Kaiden Xmas rompers last Sunday. There is this cart at Raffles City selling bb's clothes...
Only $10 per romper.

So many bb pics!! ALL babies are adorable..really brightens yr day looking at them...awwww...

storeberry
Zane's cheeks are...ermm..'biteable'!!! chomp,chomp,chomp!!

shazz
Eamon looks like a big boy in the bumbo seat!!

springz
Shauna looks sooo cheeky and awake even tho it's midnite!!

sasa
max really look very different now hor? U fed him really well! Can see his chubby cheeks now...so adorable!

Dolly
yr lil gal also very cute..so smiley now!

Sarahmay,
Did you share to feed/nurse bb 30 mins before flight takes off? why? Can we nurse while the plane is taking off/landing?

Changing diaper on empty seat..do they allow you to do that? or u use your own seat to change?

Do they allow you to bring stroller onboard?

Can we use mineral/distilled water to boil and make a feed?

Sorry..alot of questions cos i am preparing for a trip with Kaiden..

Bigtoes - you've inspired me to set up my tree which i did not do last year.

all the babies are adorable.

emm how to post pictures? i tried and failed

sasa

haha..the last pic look esp fair...ya,today she did a big poo on me n i hope it will keep it tt way..shes 2 &amp; half months now..sometimes i hate when they stain man coz abit hard to wash off the yellowish stains..

baconegg

i will leave bb alone since bb can keep quiet in it..

Finally had time to go thru the archives!

yan: I propped the cushion behind him but it didn't reach his head cos the Bumbo chair is rather thick, and his head is slightly forward, so there's still some distance from the cushion to his head. My boy's neck is pretty strong and he likes to be carried in the upright position, and he can support his head pretty well.
sunrays: yeah, he looks so big hor.

Mei: devon looks so happy kicking Big Bird! hehe, he must be attracted by his bright yellow coat! wow, swimming competiton, a Michael Phelps in the making!

Flos: the insert I'CY is talking about is for the Ergo baby carrier that we got. The Ergo carrier is meant for bigger babies whose necks are strong enough. The insert is used to support the neck of the infants, so that they can still be Ergo-ed.

I'CY: yeah, I agree that the Ergo is fantastic! No backache for me unlike when I use the MIM sling for the whole day. Love love the thick cushioning.

Jaline: yeah, that's what I do with my boy too, when he wakes up at 430am, I fed him with grip water + water and he just went back to sleep till the morning. We only had to do that once and he slept right through on his own.

Dolly: vivienne is so chubby and pretty! well done! are you still breastfeeding her?

Breastfeeding: Hmmn, I may be the 1st mummy to stop breastfeeding here. During the last few days, my left breast (the one that is producing more milk) is calling it a day cos I think I over abused it! the skin on my areola tore badly, so bad that some parts are bleeding and the flesh is exposed. I had to air the left breast the entire night and day as the plasma from the open wound would get stuck to any clothing I'm wearing. I cried when I peeled off the breast pad cos the torn skin and blood got stuck to it! MEGA OUCH! I tried applying Lasinoh cream, breast milk and all but didnt really help. Best is to air dry it and let it heal by itself.

My GP prescribed pills for me to suppress milk production but I'm hesistant to take it. Despite the pain, I'm still trying to breastfeed as long as I can, I tried to latch my boy on, cos I can't pump. He only latched on once when he was in a good mood, the rest of the time, he just cried and cried!

My breasts are engorged now, and I'm using cold cabbage leaves to sooth them, warm shower and also eating maltose which I read will lower supply.

By the way, I've tried hand pumping, but only a few drops came out! I can only relieve the engorgement by latching my boy using the nipple shield.
Hope my ordeal will be over soon, either let the skin heal asap or let my milk supply dry up!

shazz
u poorthing! man, what we do as mothers for our kids. i hope eamon appreciates what u are going through for him when he grows up.

thanks dseptkon! yah boy, my hubby was telling Eamon what I was going through, and talked to him to be a good boy and latch on to help mummy. He did it yesterday and just now.

angeline
well, the more light you have the easier it will be for you to get your shot. maybe you can put ur baby facing the window in the mornings den try taking the photo.

sasa
ya loh..nice to see lots of bb pix in the thread today! your bb has pinchable cheeks already. hehe.

jaline
good catch on her tongue sticking out. that's really cute.

yan
so fast feed her desserts??

shazz
your boy doesnt look too happy on the bumbo but he sure is good looking!

springz
nice pix..ur bb so cute. i really like the 3rd photo.

breadmum
click on upload attachment and select the folder and photo accordingly then click upload. you can only post photos which are 600 pixels or less in dimensions and must be less then 50kb in size. hope that helps.

Shazz
Just as I was about to ask mummies for advice regarding resuming breastfeeding, and I saw ur post that u might be the first mummy here to stop breastfeeding. I have stopped breastfeeding since baby is 2 months old, and is on total formula milk now. I have not been pumping milk for at least 4 weeks now, and I don't have any engorgement already for a long time. All along, I only thought that I had low MS, and so I resigned to that fate. But then only recently, that I talked to a colleague who told me her story, I couldn't believe it. I was the one who actually caused the low MS.

She told me that the main reason that I had low MS was because I went on PBF from Day 1 since Rachael is born. I had this perception at that time, thinking that she might be hungry if I can't BF her on the first day. So, I stupidly told the nurse I was going on partial BF, and they supplemented with FM.

Even during my confinement period, my CL told me:" You don't have enuff MS, must supplement with FM." I was so silly, didn't realise from day one that DEMAND=SUPPLY. Until I realise it, it was already too late. If Rachael has problems latching, then at least I won't feel so bad not being able to BF her. The thing is, every time I tried to latch Rachael on, she looks so happy and "enthusiastic" for my milk. I love the bond, and I am so upset that I had to see her disappointed face everytime she can't get enuff milk off my breast. I dunno how to describe the feeling, just feel angry with myself that I had made the WRONG choice to supplement with FM from day one.

Then I thought that if I latch her on, milk will come in for sure. But the longer I try to latch her on, the hungrier she gets, and she will be crying non-stop cos the milk simply comes too slow. That's how my MS went so low, I had to put her on total FM.

My colleague's story. She did ZERO BF for her #1, cos she has simply "no milk". She supplemented from Day one because of that, thinking that she belongs to the "low MS" category of mummies, so she gave up totally. When #2 comes along, she put him on Total BF, and guess what? She TBF #2 for 24 months! Her #1 is sickly, while #2 grows up strong and fit.

Mummies, do you think it's still possible to resume BFing my gal again? Sorry for writing and ranting so much, just felt the need to let it out of me. I have been quite emotional these days thinking of this problem. Didn't even tell hubby about it..But dunno if my MS will come back. Her story really inspires me to resume BF and hang on for Rachael's sake. But my MS is zero now..I really want to go back to BF her..how??

Aloysius Lim: thanks! think he was stunned! haha ... he smiled after a while, but I didn't manage to capture it on camera. he'll stare at the camera and start frowning, thinking, what is this thing mummy is holding, instead of smiling!

<font color="0077aa">Lok: Why did you decide on the transfer maid? I didn't take up transfer maid cos we are afraid that might not be good so got a new maid now waiting for so long for her passport..

Flos: Yah!!! Some of the angles look like Zane! I went thru the photos with hubs &amp; almost every photos he said they look similar! Keke..

Jasmine Yeo: I was going to say your bb's hair grows so fast! Then realise the pix are not in order..

Shazz: Eamon looks shocked in the 1st pix! Did you make a ugly face at him? Haha! And he can sit on the bumbo chair alr? His neck must be very strong! I don't dare to put Zane on the chair yet, when should we start it?

Sasa: Can see the growth of Max from your pix, he is becoming a handsome boy! I must do it for Zane, maybe a collage of his growth..

Springz: I love the pix where Shuna is smiling so sweetly with her eyes closed! How did you managed to captured the shots at night?</font>

shazz
haha..i know what you mean.
my bb gives me that stunned look alot when i try taking photos plus she's curious about the shutter sound from the camera.

Shazz, i have always been pumping like 12hrs apart since i started looking after Janelle all by myself. Then when Janelle was 1 mth old, my menses came and milk supply immediately dropped by 1/2 and it just got lesser and lesser.. then i started to get lazy 2 weeks ago, didn't even bother to pump until 24hrs later.. 2 days later, i simply didn't bother anymore.. cos i never really got the engorged issue even when i had lots of milk.

Jas, I was like you. I supplement her with FM from day 1 in the night so that she wont have to go hungry. Then she was so forceful whenever i latched her on. I got scare off also.. so I was expressing most of the time.. only when the volume started to drop then i latch her to stimulate it.. I felt bad to give up so early too but my HB conforted me.. so I don't feel so bad abt it.. towards the end of my bf-ing days, when i latched Janelle, she was not even interested.. she took it as a "toy" i think.. she pushed it out, smiled at me and latch it again.. so funny..

Talking abt sick vs strong.. I rem Flos's story - bf baby sick mostly wheras FM baby is stronger.. i guess not all bf baby will be strong, it depends very much on what the mummy takes...

shazz,
like i said to you..u r a wonderful mom..
maybe u wanna pray abt the decision to continue or to stop..

jas,
why not seek lactation consultant's advice? or start to resume pumping/latch-on? see if it works? Dont be too hard on yourself abt bf..my colleagues' kids also bf exclusively but fall sick quite often, whereas my boss's kids on total FM since day one are v healthy...it all depends...bb will get their nutrients from different sources when they grow older..

storeberry: i wasn't making faces at Eamon, all I had to do was point the camera in his direction and he'll have that inquisitive look on his face!

jaymickey: I see! I hope my engorgement will go off soon.

My friend TBF her baby till she was 13mths old, but the poor girl fell sick every mth cos she's in infant care. My niece was TBF till 23mths, and she hardly fall sick. Think it differs from babies ... but research did show that TBF will help babies to develop stronger immunity system.

Aloysius: I managed to capture some shots of my boy smiling though. Here's one of my favourites.

1895616.jpg

jaymickey
like u, i find it difficult to find time to pump when i took care of Kaiden since week two after birth (CL saga!) Very often i find myself pumping halfway and bb is crying away in his cot wanting to be carried or soothed..v stressful whenever i pump...had to wait till hubby comes home before i can pump peacefully...these days, i can only pump 100ml or less the whole day...i am thinking of stopping too but the cost of buying PIS kinda stopped me...think i will continue to pump as long the breasts are "working"!! sigh......

Hi Yan - I know! Even when Shauna is decked in pink, I also get ppl asking if boy or gal!! Then on sat at the swimming place my MIL asked this mummy if her baby is boy or gal and the baby was in pink lor! I felt pai seh... so I've bought quite a number of bows and clippies

Angeline - double eye lid very strange one.. most of the time the left one is so embedded it is like single! So one eye big one eye small..

Tks all on comments on Shauna's cheeky look.. now putting up with her fussing.. read it has to do with our diet!!

Rach and Bacon&amp;egg - actually i bought similar leggings from this BP.. at $10 a pair.. not sure if it is thick though like leg warmers.. though it is 'closed' i think still got stock for some plain coloured ones.. http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/581296/1853411.html?1226978027

Gathering - have been receiving PMs on whether it is still going on.. answer is YES! Those who have indicated interest can confirm by 22 Nov, this Sat please? (Sorry - Can also please also help change the 'bb' to your babies name?) Also open to all others who wish to join in:

Date - 29 Nov (Sat)
Time - 2pm onwards to evening
Venue - Near old airport rd, 3 bus stops from Sun Tec City
Food - Catered Halal High-Tea finger food

1. Momoko + bb
2. BlackberryB + bb
3. Kymkym + bb
4. Lok + Hb + Maid + Fb
5. Jas + bb
6. Isabelle + bb
7. Jojobar + bb
8. Storeberry + bb
9. Breadmum + Hb + bb
10. Mandy + Hb + bb
11. Jaymickey + Hb + bb
12. Sunrays + bb
13. sunnysunny + bb
14. StefSeanSharbabes + bb
15. preggie + Hb + bb
16. crayon + reyes
17. Lilboymum + CH + CY + maid
18. Angeline + Carine
19. Mrs Yap + bb
20. Vellevelle + bb

For those confirmed coming, can just PM me so I can receive your email address? I will send you the address and attach a map (with driving directions and bus numbers)...

<font color="0077aa">Angeline: My boy only drink 90ml EBM now, give him 100ml &amp; he will leave 10ml..
So PD says its ok? When do we need to up the amount?

Sunrays: Char's cheeks also biteable!!

Bacon&amp;egg: If Zane can sit quietly at his bouncer then I will leave him there for a while cos in fact they are learning while sitting there. Looking at how the lights shine on the windows, the sounds of horn, or the hanging toys above. (From What to expect in the 1st yr)

Jas:Don't be so hard on yourself ok? I think you might be able to resume BF-ing! Jia you!</font>

shazz - sorry missed your post abt BF.. must have been a really painful experience! But as long as Eamon is growin, and he is, it is good... oh and about dressing nicely at home? er.. she doesn't la, usually it is the cheap $1-$2 rompers I bought from HK.. that night we went out and came home slightly past midnight.. she was yelling already only managed to take out her pants!

Storeberry - not sure lei.. it is just normal lighting at home.. but my hb bought an SLR so can take multiple shots to capture all those fleeting moments.. also bought this lens for portraits. Bad thing is cannot zoom.. just go very near her face!!!

Bigtoes
Your xmas tree is gorgeous! Really puts me in a xmas mood!

storeberry
Zane is so so cute!!

shazz
Eamon is getting more handsome. Your picture reminds me of my Bumbo seat, will take it out for Devon to sit on.

cloud
I got the Babysafe rectangle flat pillow for Devon. He started sleeping on it since he turned 2 months old. You can see the pillow in the picture I posted previously of him kicking &amp; playing with his gym.

Here's a picture of Devon laughing away.

1895772.jpg

jas: agree with what the rest hv said...dun be upset. like jaymickey said, my sis was on TBF for both her sons, but they are admitted to hospital all the time for flus and colds...tsk tsk...maybe that fren of urs didn't take tonics and was not well-rested for her #1 pregnancy?

Why not grind some cordyceps and blend into his porridge now? It's not too late to 'bu' when the bb is developing, right?

i might hv to stop expressing this week cos i've no more milk ss. I hv not expressed for more than 24 hrs already and my boy is drinking his FM very well...PLus Fenugreek pills and hv started taking a cuppa coffee every morning, and I'm left with 3 pairs of breast pads as of today.

rachel: here's my bb in bblegs @ Ikea on Sun, if u want to look-see...
1895774.jpg

xuanting: I figured u bought the Rainforest Take Along Swing is it? It's not avail in SG yet, did u get it from overseas or internet? Im thinking of buying the Rainforest Bouncer but it cannot be found here...

Zane: hhaha..uncanny resemblance

springz,
i have 2 version of leg warmers - one $9.90 and the other $18 per pair. They both looks equally thick and warm to me. Have to wash n wear them before i know which is the better quality. So far, i have washed $18 version..still quite good..

hey Jas - sorry also missed out on your post.. pl dun be so hard on yourself.. actually I read somewhere before that women don't have to be pregnant, or to have given birth, to be able to produce breast milk.. It is really on demand, body will produce.. Not sure if this is an appropriate suggestion, but why not let her latch just to stimulate breast? Can continue to give her FM in the meantime till MS comes.. may take a while but i think the body will react to the need and start producing again.. just don't be discouraged esp by her look of disappointment.. keep letting her try?

haha I'm gonna add one more! Shauna was crying and crying.. few min ago hb went over to her and started playing his guitar.. and she stopped! eyes fixed on his fingers!!

btw, this is her typical cheapo homes clothes!

1895866.jpg

thanks to all mummies for the encouragement on my BF situation. Spent one hour manual expressing my troubled breast and released 1 oz of precious milk! My hand is gonna break anytime soon! the price of motherhood ... the reward ... their super contagious smile and laughter which takes all the pain away ... priceless!

Aloysius, Mei: thanks for the compliments!

mei: how did you manage to capture him laughing and smiling all the time?

shazz
Poor you.. you are really a 'wei da' mum! Very admirable! I'll make sure I tell Eamon about it when he grows up.

Devon smiles &amp; laughs a lot so it's pretty easy to capture.

Springz
Love this shot.. she's mesmerised by her daddy's music!

Storeberry - likewise, mine consumes dependant on mood, sometimes 100 ml sometimes 90ml (if fed by my parents then 10ml goes into the sink..sigh)

Shazz - Jia You. My lactating consultant says even if mummy has little milk, its still milk for baby. Ouch..must be painful. You take good care.

Aloysius - my hubby saved all in high res jpg. So here is the low res version of my boy after a bath but still very big lea
1896058.jpg

thanks, mei. (i asked abt browhaus.)

wow, so many lovely pix here! is anyone entering their baby for any contest?

flos, i got it at mothercare (centrepoint). $159 i think. i really like it for its colours too! it has 5 swing speeds and a few songs (cannot select; loop). my baby seems quite fascinated with the toucan hanging from the fake branch; always staring v hard at it and have seen her trying to swipe at it a few times. and btw, the pillows, all given by friends/relatives. how come your utility bill is so high? $400 is v scary! do you turn on 2 aircons at night?

bacon&amp;egg, where do you park moo moo when you go on a trip?

shazz, i also kena the bleeding at the areola. sigh. tomorrow don't know can pump or not. maybe will have to hand express. can't imagine having to hover over a bowl again...

Hi Breadmum - congrats on successful loading of pic!
Your boy is really cute! I know what you mean when it is others feeding and 10-20 ml goes down the sink.. very heartpain rite? think one of the mummies intro this link last time to resize pics.. www.picnik.com

oh found another way that stopped Shauna from crying! Holding a piece of tissue in front of her and letting the fan blow it in all directions.. found this game in this book I have on baby play.. will let you all have a look at the book when at my place
cheap ways for devt skills.. tissue one is for tracking purposes..

Hi Jas, weeks ago I was equally stressed over BF. I'm alternating FM and BM for his feeds still. Wanted so much to do total BF but I always can't seem to fill his stomach enough. Perhaps you can call a lactation consultant? They can visit you at home to teach for a slightly higher price.

My supply is much more now, I normally get 75mL every 4 hours when expressed. Supply comes with demand; you have to persevere BUT do NOT be too hard on yourself. It's tough getting out of it but you can!

Just to share what my LC told me. If possible feed on one breast because hind milk comes 15 - 20 min after feed starts and that is the best milk. However, my baby used to twist and turn a lot after 15 min and she said that my milk flow is probably too low. For such a situation, I need to alternate between breasts, 15 min on each side. It seems to work, and baby is feeding much better now.

Anyway, he is drinking 140 mL now, for BM, he drinks about every three hourly.

Need some advise on hind milk. Hind milk only come in 15-20 mins after each feed start? Possible to come in earlier?

When pumping BM out, Hind milk only comes after 15-20 mins later?

I only let my darling latch on during night time, daytime i will express BM out and bottle feed her.

Normally, my pumping time will be for about 20 mins. Does it mean that there isn't any hind milk? Kind of worry that my girl din get enough nutrition?

After each pump, I can see there are 2 layers of milk which are different in colour.

Is it that -

1st layer = Fore milk (translucent / light milky in colour.)

2nd layer = Hind milk (creamy in colour)

Sorry ar, I 'mountain turtle' though I am not a first time mummy. My 2 kids latched on directly previously.

Thank you so much! :)

Morning~ all the lovely baby photos are making me think of having a no. 2!! lol~

Shazz, sounds horrible abt ur breastfeeding problem!! must be super ouch!! Hope it heals soon!

Springz, where did you get the bows and clippies? can share?

Aloysius, i didnt feed her with desserts. just tempting her with it. she is sooo 'greedy' to open her mouth when the spoon approaching!! haha! she was watching us eat and kept licking her mouth! lol~