(2008/09) Sep 2008

dracwy
icic..hmm..perhaps see which room has the most light entering during the morning den try pump up the iso on your cam? if you gonna rent studio lights den you'll have to think about space as well and it'll be kinda wasted if you dun rent a backdrop as well. unless use external flash for camera and bounce the light. (im assuming you have a dslr.)

flos
ya..actually i was wondering about that..what is a good age for baby to be 'bjorned'. my bb neck still not strong yet.

dolly
think braces cost abt 7k? And those that r not visible even more? Cos my teeth aren;t straight and every dentist I see keeps reccommending I go for them but I guess I'm happy the way they r, after a horrendous attempt to put on braces in JC...
I was supposed to extract all four of my wisdom teeth which hadn't yet erupted for this purpose. Dentist said to do two at a time so did the left side first. Had two painful jabs into my gums, then he said he couldn;t pull out my tooth as it was too large or some crap like that. So he broke it into FOUR parts before he removed this stupid tooth.
After the extraction, my left cheek swelled to amazing proportions and turned yellowish from the bruising (blood clots). The people at the interview I went for even asked if I had bumped my face agaist something! So embarassing...
Then I had an infection cos the dentist didn;t sew up the wound properly and food got stuck in a little "pocket". Went to another dentist who prescribed penicillin and guess what. I'm allergic to it! Ended up mc TEN days from severe itching all over my body... So suay. And from then on, I said dun bother to extract my right side. No more braces. I'm HAPPY with my teeth!!!

drawcy
nice pic! And kieran looks so much like you!!!

drawcy/aloysius
U guys into photgraphy too? My hubby is so into it. He keeps gg to take pics of nature, esp flowers and insects and then magnifies them by dunno how much to show me the details of these things, and how the lighting is so nice, the colours etc... he doesn't like to use flash either. But I'm not sure how to appreciate them!

aloysius
were u the one who took the pic of us at canele?

<font color="0077aa">Yan &amp; drawcy: Zane lifted his head quite high on week 10 but nowadays when I put him on his tummy, he did the same as your daughter, Yan, going from left to right &amp; fusses after a while. Don't know if he lazy or what... He likes to kick &amp; push his legs when during tummy time. But when I put him on my lap with my feet on the sofa, he likes to lift his head up. hmm..

Its a nice pix of Kieran, drawcy &amp; limay! So cheerful!</font>

storeberry: May I know where u purchase Lasinoh &amp; playtex bags at?

Sasa: where u purchase the Blue Egg Milk Bags?

Hey ladies, may I know every 3-4hrs, u all can pump how much BM?

bigtoes
u got my confirmation for the xmas gathering?
Me n hubbs n 2 kids

bacon&amp;egg
Holland V sounds good!

lilboymum
wah so good. U even got lunch hr during ur working days? We dun have such a thing as sch ends at 2pm or even later for upper sec... and we eat during free periods.

<font color="0077aa">Ava: I mix different pumping session of EBM when I feed my boy cos the amount of EBM in the milk bag is different &amp; definitely need to mix to get the correct vol. But when after pumping I put in separate milk bags &amp; will not mix with those already in the fridge.

LC: Today I went back to office for a while &amp; also keep thinking my boy! My answe to you as follows:

(A) How do I store and bring the sterlised pump parts to work? Lock &amp; Lock container.

(B) How do i wash and store in after each pump at work? Bring a small amount of Pigeon detergent to wash parts &amp; if you want to sterilise can pour hot water in Lock &amp; lock container with the parts inside.

(C) Do I need to dry the parts before each pump? So far, after sterilising, I dun wipe dry or air dry it. when i wan to pump i just take out from the pigeon steamer and shake dry a bit and then to use No need to</font>

hi bigtoes... u r right in that it is difficult to turn dd on the left side... tried a couple of times and she wld revert to her right again... must keep on trying... how do u put kieran on his tummy? cos tried put dd on her tummy she wld turn her head left and right with the face pressing on the mattress... however, she likes to be placed in prone position...

BBjourn

ops...my fren just gave me hers yesterday n today i carry bb in it from my house all the way to bedok..abt 1hr...shes facing in though..didnt koe tt they cant 'bbjourned' yet...but,my shoulder ache man when i reached my destination..not sure if i got everything rite..anybody got the manual for the 'old model'? the dark blue type...

isabelle
haha..no lah, you must rem JC hours longer so more breaks in btw lessons. so can 'chill out' at holland v during long breaks..kekekeke...

there is a BP on Zojirushi flasks/mugs and lunch jars and as am tempted to buy, am wondering which lunch jar will be suited for our babies? do advise

breadmum
show us the links..

when they are young, most mummies use thermos or tiger food jar. suitable for porridge. when they are older then change to tiered food flask for mummies who are darn particular about 'outside food'

Mummies, got a question regarding bringing EBM out. Do give ur suggestions k?

Is it better to bring chilled EBM out in a fridge-to-go and then making it hot when we need it by pouring it into the milk bottle and then warming it with hot water?

Or is it better to warm the milk up at home, then pour it all into a hot flask and when we need it, pour the milk into the bottle and then feed?

CY,
Thanks for the info! If bb is handheld by mommy during take-off/landing..would it be v unsafe?

Aloysius,
We bought the blue Air BB Bjorn too..My HB likes everything blue..

Twendy,
Just join us for this sat's westerner gathering at Lot 1...it would be fun..

Storeberry,
if u haven't buy a carrier yet, I strongly recommend BBjorn. I heard Ergo is very good too.. but bbjorn is really good.

Angeline,
as long as your baby is big enough, can use bbjorn.. my baby is born on 28 Sep (one of the latest baby here).. and we use the bbjorn to carry her just yesterday! I think my bb girl is around 5kg now. I tried it on myself first, then subsequently let my maid use it.. it's really comfortable. I had my bbjorn since I have my first kid and we also use it for my FB when he was 2months plus.

mummies, today I went back to work! I only took 2months leave. will be taking the rest of my leave in short periods.. hope that i can finish using my leave..

breadmum
have not used this brand. think there was a mention of storing porridge in the thread..can use that as reference. but tiger comes with a small bowl and it keeps warm really well. not sure if this brand keeps the porridge warm for long??

woohoo
the bb has a little seat belt that's attached to the mummy's seat belt. really lousy lah, if there is a turbulance or even the qantas incident...coz the bb seat belt is just loosely encircled round the bb tummy...however you tighten it..quite useless in real emergency.that is why people recommend getting a seat for bb and bringing a car seat to be attached onto the seat..

btw..most full price airlines will offer to give on seat for your bb especially if it is not a full flight. alternatively, you can try to get a window seat and hb aisle seat then leave the middle empty..chances of getting that seat for bb is higher...

Breast pump spare parts spree

After today first day at work, i decided to get extra funnel for myself to ease the washing job.
Anyone interested to get any spare parts from http://www.mommysown.com. Hoping to close by this coming friday. You may PM me or email ur orders to [email protected]

Collection Pl @ vivo Or Yishun /mail.
If the items are received before the xmas gathering, i can bring it over.

isabelle
yup..photography is my job so i have to be into it. hehe.
oh..so your hb is a macro guy ah. it takes alot of patience so its a good thing..he is training his patience! i cannot..i tried once and gave up. so hot and sweating and wait so long just for 1 butterfly which in the end flew away when i got nearer!

yes..i was the one. maybe i should post that photo up. hehe.

that's good..light is very essential for good photos.

woohoo
oh..dats great. i think the air version is most practically in hot and humid singapore. ha..i actually would like to have the white and grey one but they didnt have stock so we took the blue one.

autum
oh..my bb was born on the 24th. she is also ard 5kg now. no time to try today..came back from work and bb sleeping liao.

Here's a picture of Devon with his head lifted while he was having his massage. Like Bigtoes &amp; drawcy, I also train Devon by giving him tummy time. I did so before he was 1 month old. Now his neck is pretty strong &amp; we can put him in the Baby Bjorn facing outwards.

1890735.jpg

mei
eh..devon is quite a cutie. love that expression. haha.
do they do a massage with oil or some lotion?
looks like i must make bb have tummy time too.

mummies in the west,
i have discussed with HB on the logistics on sat. and yes, i will join u ladies on sat @ lot1! how long are u ladies intending to stay there? so that i can bring the right no. of EBM bottles.

mei,
there are really people who want frozen EBM. i donated mine to a pair of pre-mature twins the last time. hmm, i'm a "nai-ma" to quite a few babies already.

storeberry,
i will be bringing my ergo this sat. u can try it out then. i'm not sure abt other carriers, but i swear by ergo. i actually went hiking for 3hrs while ergo-ing my 1-yr-old FB last yr (when i'm like 3wk pregnant with SB). definitely tired, but no backache at all.

bigtoes,
thanks for including us for the xmas party. our attendance will be 2A+toddler+bb. dun think will be bringing our maid. hope u dun mind my FB gal running ard to touch ur stuff :p

Aloysius,
go try the bbjorn soon. mine is an old 'model' and i already think it's great.. i believe what u guys have now (newer model) would be even better.

Aloysius
Thanks, my boy is full of expressions.
His massage is done after his swim session at Harbourfront. They use MotherCare baby lotion for the massage.

twendy
That's something new to me. I'll go check it out &amp; see if I can donate mine.

Here is another picture of Devon to share. He was playing with his Sesame Street gym &amp; having a great time kicking Big Bird!

1890837.jpg

hi breadmum,
i hv a tiger food jar n a zojirushi therml flask n i swear by zojirushi. let my hb bring soup to sch and it stayed hot for a good 10 hours.

mei, dracwy,
your bbs' heads are so strong. i just managed to put cade on tummy time today n she ended sucking her thumb n rubbing her face on the bed! when i finally picked her up after 3mins, her face was like red. never really had chance to put her on tummy time. when do you guys do it? it's like, after her feed, i can't put her. then by the time i think she's digested, she has fallen asleep...

Hi Mei and twendy

My BM has stopped completely
and I am wondering if any of you can donate some of EBM to my bb.

I have one box of unused Avent breast pads and storage bttls to give away as well. Thanks!

Hi Qiuling, Feel so sorry about your grading.

Just hope to get the same grading as last year.

Hi Mei, Devon so cute.
How many mths is he now? ")

hi mummies.. now must add hi daddies too!

tummy time - ya Shauna also mops the mattress!! haha, but when held on my shoulder she can keep her head up..

whoa.. Kieran and Devon's head held up high!!!

hee.. for those going for the Christmas gathering.. I chanced upon these at a walmart spree..
Love the gals' one...
http://www.singaporemotherhood.com/forumboard/messages/590029/1787700.html?1226934570

1890997.jpg

1890998.jpg

Btw, I recall that sometime ago someone was asking Isabelle for Christening clothes.. saw this at walmart as well..

1890999.jpg

All avail for newborns and up

Cordelia
Please PM me too.

Milk Family
He's 2 months 3 weeks.

Aloysius
He loves his swim sessions. My hubby even signed him up for the swim competition next month for fun. It's based on the number of turns &amp; number of smiles baby makes. He is indeed Bruce Lee, kungfu all the time, kicking &amp; punching me. My boy is quite violent.. haha.

Springz
I saw some xmas suits at MotherCare too.

Angeline
Your baby's face is so round &amp; chubby, cute!

Mandy
Your son is adorable!

alabone
It's ok lah, normal for young babies to have squint. It'll correct itself by 9 months. Post lah

Mandy!!
Your boy is soooooo handsome!!!!!! Those eyes!!!!man, i bet he'll grow up to be a heart breaker!!!!!

springz
the white dress is soooooo pretty...awwww...

twendy
i agree. ergo is great!!!i bet shazz will agree to that! but ive no infant insert so am waiting for ch to grow bigger before ergoing her..then it'll be another round of jealousy strike from my fb!!

angeline
you can start your girl on those pretty clips liaoz..jealous!

Hi ya ladies!!! SO many post to catch up on but so little time. SOunds like everyone is having loads of fun playing with your little ones and shopping and shooting pics.

Baby Elisha is napping. He naps more now cos i think the col weather is perfect for his little hot body. Been taking him out more too cos bought a COmbi stroller from Zhuhai over the weekend. Went to venetian with him yday. BUT crossing the roads are quite dangerous. No pedestrian crossings ad drivers here tend to have right of way. They are reckless!

Mummis taking bb on holiday. I think tips about nursing bb on taking off and before descent have been given. I will just add a bottle of distilled water and a pacifier to things youse to help with the relieving of ear pressure. BRing along change mat and as many diapers as you can squeeze into your hand carry. Some toy to distract or entertain themif necc.

Elisha was amazing on the plane! He didn't cry. FUssed only ver little on descent. Coming down is more uncomfy than taking off. He just nursed quietly during take off. Just a note abt taking of. the plane can take aggggees to go down the runway before actual take-off so be sure to check. my fren gave her kid the bottle when the plane started to move but 30 mins we still had not taken off!

THe white noise on the plane really helps bb sleep from my experience. Changing bb inthe cabin toilet is a pain! i just changed him on the empty seat. Proper airlines have bassinets so it helps. Mine budget no such luck.

Seat Beat for infants: This can be strapped on quite tightly BUT can be uncomfy for both mum and bb. With my 7 wk old, i had to do some improvisations. I caried him in a sarong sling the whole journey from Singapore home to plane to Macau. THe sarong sling held him quite securely to me on the plane and i slid the infant seat bet around him. He slept with it strapped on too.

SWIM NECK FLOAT: Can I check how much does Hua Xiao (is that the swim sch) sells this neckfloat for? I saw it selling in Zhuhai, even comes with the swim tub. Tempted to buy for mine. NOt sure if the price is ok. IS the one you got from China too?

EBM Storage: THe bag i got is 160ml but i hardly pump that much and find it is a waste to store 100ml in onebag for one time expression. SO can i add cooled EBM from one session to another earlier sesion and freeze together in the bag?

EBM Storage bag: CAn this be reused? Mine is the First Few years one with zip lock.

Bigtoes: Can you share with me how you transport and store your EBM for feeds when you go out? You shared that time but i can't locate the post. THanks!

TUmmy TIme: Oh lil CY. My boy sleeps on tummy so if i put him on tumy during day...he doesn't seem to like it very much either. How? He doesn't lift his head and neck like Bigtoes' Kieran. THink he associates tummy time with sleep and when he is awake and wanting some play, he protests the tummy position.

AVA
Thks Dear!!

Alabone
nt only ur lil princess.. my DD oso sometimes make crossed eyes.. hahahahaha... I find it cute..doc said its normal... so don worry.. juz post...

Ange - your gal's lips are like yours leh... like the cherry's small lips, sweet!

Yan - its ok, no hair but your BB is very fair hor. my ryan is like very dark...

Sri, mine is only abit behind also! the front even lesser, soooo botak. my mum said i last time got alot hair one. haiz, wonder when the hair will grow.

Mandy, how many months is ryan? my dd also v dark in the beginning, see my other post ytd showing her in the duckie romper. that was when she's ard 5 weeks old, then slowly become fairer le. This pic is taken ard 10 weeks old.