(2008/09) Sep 2008

Mandy, i not sure, for my dd, she start out quite dark. also dunno why will turn fairer. (me first time mummy) maybe some experienced mummies here can explain???

RE: Lack of sleep
I am starting work next week. My bb still wakes up between 1am-3am for his night feed. I have to prepare for work at 6.30am and bring bb to my mum's plc by 7.30am in the morning.
How do working mommies cope? Will it be too tiring to focus on work?

<font color="ff6000"> Aloysius: thanks for your advice. yeah, i'm thinking of getting an external flash, but got budget constraints, so have to wait until at least the economic crisis is over.
will have to make do with what i have and improvise in the meantime.

alabone: we make the boy do tummy time maybe one or two hours after meal. or whenever he wakes up before meal. or whenever he cries. it helps to stop his crying. hehe.

sarahmay: how much did u pay for your Combi and how much is the neck float u saw at Zhuhai?

u must be enjoying yourself tremendously as a tai tai in Macau now? hehe

lilboymom: what's an Infant Insert?

springz: isaac too. He can turn his head left and right when he is on my shoulder, but when he is on his tummy, he just digs the mattress with his nose!

Mei: Devon will grow up to be an active and sporty boy! He likes to karate-kick I observe!!

Yan, me the opp... My mum said when i was a bb, I'm botak! tts y nw my bb the front part is botak.. but I told her, well atleast she's better than me..gt some hair at the back..hehehe

Hmmm..my mum apply olive oil &amp; I notice gt hair grew...abit thicker..

<font color="119911">Morning mommies! Our Xmas tree is up! Here are some photos - abit blur cos of the size limitations, but more at my facebook account.
Mommies who are coming for the Xmas Gathering - remember to bring your cameras along!

1891712.jpg
1891715.jpg

1891713.jpg
1891714.jpg

Cordelia
I have started work last monday too. Like you, I have to bring baby all the way from Bt Panjang to my mum's place @ AMK every morning at 6.30am before we rush for work. After doing it for one whole week, my hubby and I are dying from the lack of sleep. I can hardly have any energy left at work every day. Dunno how long I can hang on like that. If it continues, I might have to put baby at my mum's place from Monday to Friday. It's also putting a strain on our pockets with the use of petrol.

Sri_Leo
I did not shave Rachael's hair during her 1st month, and her hair is really growing long. At birth, she has a thick volume of hair
Love it so much, so didn't bear to cut. But now, she's slowly showing signs of hair loss..sob..

angeline
wah..that pic of ur bb..she looks so serious!

mandy
ryan has david beckham's famous hairdo!

mei
wah..they even have competitions ah. haha..sounds like ur boy is a potential winner in the competition. good luck! btw..wads the prize?

yan
ur bb is adorable.
hair will grow one..so don't worry too much. my bb also not much hair. i think bb takes after me cos last time i also less hair but wifey said she had alot hair when she was a bb. :p

dracwy
oh okie..so ya..look for the brightest room in your house loh. i would say probably the mornings would be good. can PM me if you need any advice lah.

bigtoes
oh..ur xmas tree looks huge! so much decor ah!

<font color="119911">dollyNEYUKO (dollyneyuko) – don’t think all dentist specialize in cosmetic dentistry. Mine is very good, if you need contact I can pass it to you (the practice is at Amara Shopping Centre).

isabelle (isa_belle) – so weird that your dentist asked you to remove unerupted wisdom tooth!
I still have one inside (can be seen from the Xray), but no thank you – am just leaving it there! I haven’t done any wisdom tooth extractions but have heard a lot of horror stories like yours!

storeberry (storeberry)- thanks! Kieran is a happy baby – yesterday, dracwy was singing Twinkle2 little star to him, and Kieran was singing his part after each stanza – sort of like a duet! Did that a couple of times. Very funny!

piggiebearie (eiggipeireab) – to place baby on tummy, just make sure there is sufficient space on the bed, then straighten the arms and flip baby over! They will automatically try to lift the head up I suppose.

kyrieleison (kyrie) – I bring chilled EBM out, together with a flask of hot water, and just warm the portion needed as and when required. Think chilled milk keeps longer.

SarahMay (sarahmay) – I am thinking of getting the Fridge-to-go, but haven’t made a trip to their shop at Vivo City yet. Right now, I transport chilled EBM in a bottle with ice in a ziplog, then put that into a padded milk carrier pouch. Keeps chilled for several hours till the ice melts.

Aloysius Lim (aloysiuslim) – On photography, I know of some people who camp the weekend near some bushes just to capture photos of birds nesting! Very on!

Angeline Goh (angeg)- your baby has cute rosy cheeks!!

Xmas Gathering:
isabelle (isa_belle) – yes, confirmed you for the gathering liao.

twendy (twendy) – okie, noted – will order buffet for you and hubby!</font>

Hi Bigtoes,
Your xmas tree is fabulous. Its like one of those from Robinson. My xmas tree is considered 'anorexic' compared to urs
Glad I am coming for the xmas gathering!

<font color="0077aa">Twendy: Yes, bring your Ergo!! Thanks!

Westerner gathering @LOT 1:
Mummies, I just remembered I have to attend a ROM in the morning aroung 1030am so by the time I go home &amp; bring Zane might be around 230pm. So must wait for me yah?? Keke..

This is a pix of Zane lifting his head. But now he seem lazy to lift during tummy time &amp; will fuss after a short while.
1891796.jpg

Mei: Wow, devon is parctising his kung fu kick! Haha!

Angeline: Your boy looks confusingly cute!

Alabone: We wont laugh! I think most babies at certain point have abit cross-eyes? Cos when Zane is drifing into his sleep I will see his eyeballs going to the centre making him crossed -eyed..

Flos: I was looking thru Issac photos on your FB when my hubby says: This photo of our son is nice! Then I told him: "Aiyoo.. this is other people's son lah, your own son also cannot recognise? Duh! *rolls eyes..* Haha!</font>

OOOOH all the pics are SO cute!
I have been a lazy mummy...not taking many pics! Must start again!

Bigtoes
The tree is nice
i miss having x'mas trees..my hb never celebrated x'mas so he doesn't see the need for one and i'm too lazy to get one myself :D will just enjoy yours!

Wisdom teeth
Touch wood...I have not removed any of mine (all impacted)....i hope this post won't result in them coming out or needing an extraction! My sis removed ALL 4 at the same time under GA...I dont know why! she couldnt eat properly for weeks! and couldnt leave the house for days!

Sri, i tried using baby brush to comb the front. should try some olive oil then!

Bigtoes, your christmas tree looks so professional! so wonderfully done! pity cant attend the christmas gathering as not able to travel that far without help of hubby. also had to agree with Cordelia, my christmas tree will also look anorexic compared to urs!

Jas, i cant bear to shave bb's hair too! and nobody even notices it at the manyue cos its just so botak! lol!

Aloysius, my hubby dun have any baby photos so dunno if she is taking after her daddy in having little hair.

Westerner gathering @LOT 1:
think one mummy is asking how long we gonna be there until? (sorry forgot who is asking that) so how?

storeberry, zane's so cute in the pic can clearly see his chubby cheeks!

Hi Jas,
Yes, I tink it will be very tiring too. I m thinkin of leaving baby with my mum during weekdays but I m afraid baby cannot adapt when I bring him home during the weekend. I am counting down to the day when baby can sleep fr 9pm till morning.

hello mummies!! Have been busy with my new maid (so far so good) and Joshua (had a bathroom accident, suffered deep cut at the back of the head and has to glue the wound.).

Like ava, I have been lazy, seldom take Jonas' photo. Jonas has also been very lazy during tummy time. He sleeps on the tummy during the day but still doesn't bother to exercise!! Just sleep sleep sleep). He's really worlds apart from his korkor who was a very active bb.

bigtoes
haha..ya..i know some people who do that too. it makes a rare photo and it isn't easy to capture so camping will be worth it to them.

storeberry
zane has big eyes!

<font color="0077aa">Oh dear, So Joshua is ok now? Your new maid from Phillipines / Indo? Mine is still not here yet.. zzz...

Thanks Yan &amp; Aloysius!

Yan: Your princess has a angelic face! She is so fair now!</font>

Lok, that's so scary! is the accident cos of floor slippery? hope he's find now.

Cordelia, it is definately tiring to bring baby to and fro everyday. for my case, bb have been sleeping with my mum since born(me and hubby only slept with baby for less than 20 times till now) and i let her sleep at my mum's house mon-thurs night when i went back to work on 27/10. we only bring her back to our own house to sleep on fri-sun night, but still she will sleep together with my mum(my mum will follow baby back to my hosue) But last week i find it very strange that baby does not really recognise me and my hubby. and will smile at my mum more, and ignoring her birth parents! that made me worried and brought her back to sleep with us(without HER GRANDMA) for thurs, fri, sat, sun and mon night. IT WAS TRUELY TIRING! Sun morning hubby brought us to changi village for breakfast, and on the way back, i doze off in the seat while carrying baby (we dun have a bb car seat) and ALMOST drop the baby!!! my hubby was scolding me so badly!

Shazz, I've emailed u my address and account details.

Anyone knows if there's anymore spree on Baby leggings? I tried searching, but they are quite expensive. About $20 per pair! Anyone selling??

mandy

ryan next time sure grow up v handsome..he got nice eyes..got those'SHUAI QI' look...

CY

haha..she got not much hair lah..anyway going to bring her go shave botak soon..coz if wait till 4th mth then will be CNY,botak not nice then..n oso her back of the head hair is patches..not nice so thot if shave will grow out evenly..

bigtoes

ur xmas tree is big &amp; nice with all those oretty decors...it almost reach the top of ur ceiling rite...

aloysius

haha..its abit hard to catch her in her smiles coz will be slightly blur..only those w/o smile keeping still then sharp..

maybe u wana share tips on taking pic of bb here? haha..i just normally press the shuttle only..

Yan
Baby also dun recognise me coz my mum is the one taking care of him during my confinement. Thats y now I will bring bb home every nite. Think bb has very short memory. I dun want him to forget me.
I do not have a car seat too so I use MIM sling during road trips. Its understandable to be tired after a long week. Whoa! You can still go Changi village with Hb and BB on Sunday morning.

bigtoes: thanks!
bigtoes &amp; drwacy: your crstmas tree is lovely! you two realy take pride and joy in such things! how lovely. i need to think of christmas traditions for my litle family too.

flos: http://www.combi.com.cn/product-index1.asp this is my combi...china market model.paid RMB1420 cos we became member.hehe. not that cheap but for the features think it is pretty decent.

can't realy rber price of neck float. think was about RMB 138. Is that cheap or ex? translates to about SG 27. realy tempted to buy that and the tub. not sure abt tub price cos rushing. life is good thus far cos got my dad to help w cooking and caring. let u knw aftetr 3rd dec how life is here with him...hopefuly stil good. shal go meet my expat friends here...and atempt to manouvre round this stroller-unfriendly place alone. haha.

storebery: zane looks so chubby and cute!

Cordelia, i also very worried baby forget me. my mum keep telling me there's no way she will not know i'm her mummy. but the way she look at my mum and the way she look at me and hubby is v different!! except its better now after the long weekend with me and hubby. My hubby actually likes to bring us to far away places. sometimes sun night, from yew tee can drive us to changi airport for dinner! lol~

<font color="0000ff">Oh i love all the baby pics here.. so cute!!!!

Bigtoes
Ur Xmas tree sure look lovely. U all sure take the effort to decorate ur hs
hb n i juz can't be bothered

Tummy Time
oops, where's my post?? hhhmm... did I mention Max doesn't like tummy time now. He ends up sucking the nappy and den leaving his saliva all around, sighz. n he ends up with a red face too

Lok
Hope Joshua is ok now

SarahMay
how are u doing there in M? miss u wor.. hehe. oh, the neck float seems quite ex huh. there's a BP here selling for $19.90 i think. Anyway, there are ppl selling their BN neck floats for $15.</font>

storeberry,
dont worry, we will wait for u
i could stay for couple of hours..

Sarahmay,
I got my float in local spree at $19.00

Rach,
You can find leg warmers at $9.90..the most expensive i have bought is $18 per pair. All under the BP spree forum

Long time no post liao, am back to work yesterday, super sianz... missed my gals so so much!!

Btw, here's my younger one, Leraine's pix

1893252.jpg

BB Hair: I have shaved my ger hair, cos her papa want to use her hair to make into 'mao bi', so had to shave her, me also a bit heart pain when shaving her hair.

recongise ppl: my ger can recongise my mum, dad n me. cos we spend a lot time with her since she born, we had been staying at my mum's house. At 1st she can't recongise her papa, so when my hb carry her, she will cry, maybe she don't find it comfortable, cos he seldom carried her. so end up, i have a depression hb, cos he say y bb cry when he carry her, so i made him carry her more, so in this way he will find the correct way and also let my ger know his papa. and i packed my things and go back my own house, so he had to help me out with my ger, cos at my mum's house, i got 3 sis, my mum, my dad there. so she awake, they will rush to carry her, specially my dad.

<font color="0077aa">Hi Sarah!! You look like you are enjoying your stay there with Elisha! So happy for you! You are one independant mummy!

Yan: Wow, your hubby very "ON"! My hubs is one lazy man! He prefers to go nearby or stay at home.. Boring..zzz..

Leraine has cute single eyelids! Pretty!

Thanks bacon&amp;egg! I will ask my MIL to change &amp; prepare Zane 1st... Then I can oick him up after the ROM.</font>

Jaline, your baby is soo cute! especially in the first photo!

baby photos, share with you all the pics of my 'GREEDY' gal. Lol~ she also like MOF desserts. This was the MOF at bugis junction. see the second pic when she getting angry when i keep tempting her! haha~

1893453.jpg
1893454.jpg

storeberry, my hubby is also very lazy type one. he really does prefer to stay at home too. but its a habit for us to be out every sunday even for few hours.

Thanks mummies for concern.
Joshua's alright now. When he slipped and hit his head on the edge, there was a lot of blood (which thankfully stopped after applying pressure) and becos it's at the back of the head, we brought him to the 24-hr TMC clinic immediately. Spent 3 hrs there ---see GP, X-ray, "glue-ing" the wound (initially GP wanted to stitch the wound). By the time we finished, it was mid-nite. He's actually quite brave throughout the ordeal, only cried for the 1st 5 mins and kept saying " I don't want this one, tong tong". After that, he cried again but this time it's because he wants to watch Mickey Mouse but we want to rush him to hospital *faintz*
So mummies, remember to baby-proof your house!!!

storeberry,
My new maid is an Indonesian transfer maid. We were initially concerned abt communication but she speaks fairly decent English (I think she understands my English accent better compared to my ex-filipino maid) and even Mandarin (learnt from the previously employer's Ah Ma). Can cook pretty well too and being Christian, has no problem handling pork dishes. And most important of all, is more energetic abt looking after Joshua. Only thing is she sleeps like a log and needs us to wake her up in the morning and for Jonas' nite feed. Hope her body clock gets adjusted soon.

Hi Bacon, I tried searching under the BP spree.. seems like most of it closed.. and the cheapest so far is like $17 per pair.. If you do see any that is $10 per pair, can you please send me the link?

Jaline: welcome back! was wondering how you're doing.
Leraine is so cute, I love her name too!

oh, so many cute bb's photos! Here's my boy during tummy time too.

1893845.jpg

1893846.jpg

1893847.jpg

His first time on the Bumbo

Bigtoes - I love your Christmas tree! Very nicely decorated, looks lush and stately!

exciting to see all the babies!

Mandy - Ryan has such a sweet face.. hope he has been as sweet natured?

Angeline - ya agree nice rosy cheeks and defined lips!

Yan - no worries abt the no hair.. Shauna also doesn't have!! We can all form a club! Thats why must wear pink right?
You very bad - tempt baby with sweets!!!

Storeberry - Zane another strong neck-er! So far seems like it is the boys who can master this..

Mei - Devon is not doing Kung Fu! The kick is so high more like Muay Thai!

Jaline - Leraine is a nice name! Initially my thoughts were such a demure and collected girl! Then i saw the next pic of sticking out tongue.. image changed already!

Jasmine - you have a pretty girl there!!

For me, I'm like Ava, lazy in taking pics.. here are the most recent ones (taken last wk after Shauna's MIDNIGHT feed) my facebook has more
... first contented, then cheeky.. much to my horror coz I wanted to sleep!!! She's really rather playful, will smile with the teat in her mouth and use her tongue to push the teat to the corners of her mouth..

1893971.jpg
1893972.jpg
1893973.jpg

thanks, storeberry, yan and shazz...
she was born small, only 2.83kg. To ease the load, we managed to train her to sleep thru the night, last feed ard 10 plus 11 and her next feed ard 7 plus 8. At least we can sleep better or else panda eyes very soon...

all babies look so cute!!

By the way, Jonas' free H&amp;S insurance from AXA (part of TMC's SBI benefit) was rejected ! They evaluated his liver function test results and decided that he's a high-risk customer, so no coverage for now and his case will be re-evaluated in 6 mths time.
*sigh* that's how bad his jaundice was. I told his PD abt this and she told me to refer them to her if it's rejected again.

Lok: the free insurance sounds like a gimmick! Jonas should be insured under the dafault medishield, have you tried claiming from that?

Jaline: wow, how did you train Leraine to sleep thru? Her birth weight is not that light, well done on getting her so chubby and cute!

storeberry: yah yah yah!! I'd wanted to tell u many weeks ago that from certain angles, esp when they are photographed BEAMING with JOY, I find Zane and Isaac look pretty alike! I think they can enter some Duet Competition together...hahaha!!

storeberry: I am quite like u! I dun hv many outdoor clothes for Isaac at this stage/age!!! We even took him to Paragon in his $5-a-piece home clothes from Kiddy Palace cos he was sound asleep when we left our house that Sat! HAHAHHA!

Bigtoes: WOOOOOO!! Lurve your Christmas tree to bits! I think I might just drag my family down on that day and gate-crash your party just to catch a glimpse of that awesome tree! You and dracwy really live life to the fullest! Good to hang out with couples like u2...can remind us that LIFE IS BEAUTIFUL, and not about all milk bottles and diapers

SarahMay: Then it's quite close to SG prices. Thks for your tip on your flight journey w/ Elisha. I am trying to recall if full-priced flights have the changing board inside the lavatory. I never really explore the lavatory when I was flying!! And come to think of it, I've never used the lavatory in any budget airlines I've taken b4 cos the journeys were all too short always

xuanting: I like your green FP rocker/bouncer in your FB album. Where did u get it? I hope to get one this Christmas...

jasmine/yan/jaline/storebrry: whoa, so many cute shots of ur lil ones!!!

Lok: Hope Josh is ok now! take care
How's your new maid?

Rachel: which brand are you looking for? I think there is one going on Leg'W. For Babylegs, I must hv missed the previous ones. I finally got my remaining pairs of Babylegs via registered mail
I'm very pleased with this second batch!!! After due consideration, I'll forgo two pairs for my frens' sons this X'mas. Save me the headache of shopping for toys...

yan: it is liddat one lah...but after a while the bb will be able to recognise u again. Depends on what u want and how u wanna 'enjoy' motherhood...my SIL is the simply bochap career woman who won't bathe my nephew, won't feed, won't change his clothes, etc. in the first few months.

But now @ 23mos old, my nephew is able to recognise/call her mama still...Lucky her! She escaped all the soiling of her beautiful clothes, dirtying of her hands by poo and Desitin, loss of beauty sleep, etc.

shazz,
I just received the CPF letter. The letter says it will be activated only on 1 Dec... I'm not claiming anything at this point as my company covers the tests and PD cost.

Hey flos, see my earlier post to Storeberry. So far, this one is better than the previous one.

"My new maid is an Indonesian transfer maid. We were initially concerned abt communication but she speaks fairly decent English (I think she understands my English accent better compared to my ex-filipino maid) and even Mandarin (learnt from the previously employer's Ah Ma). Can cook pretty well too and being Christian, has no problem handling pork dishes. And most important of all, is more energetic abt looking after Joshua. Only thing is she sleeps like a log and needs us to wake her up in the morning and for Jonas' nite feed. Hope her body clock gets adjusted soon."

Lok: sorry I missed that post!

For the case of Josh's recent accident, can he claim insurance?

My maid doesn't bargain with me about her sleeping hours. She can help us change diapers and make milk until 11pm. I dun hv any guidelines as to whether she naps in the afternoon or not. In that sense, I'm pretty lax...I've just educated her on conservation of energy and water. I told her my last month's bill turned up to be a whopping $400+, so she now recognises that it's impt to save Ma'am's $$ by switching off the aircon, radio, fan when Isaac's out of the room...She also strives not to use the dryer unnecessarily and bathes once now (she used to bathe like 3 times a day!). In her first week, she would turn on the heater for several hrs before Isaac was awake for his bath. Now she only switches it on 10min before bath-time.

She's also able to take the lift downstairs herself now to buy my groceries. keke...

Only worry is that she doesn't seem to like to hangout at my PILs' place. Jialat...next time she has to be parked there with Isaac...

<font color="119911">Wow, so many cute baby photos!

Am just back from shopping! My MIL came by today, so i had a chance to sneak out for a few hours!

Thanks for all your comments on our Xmas tree
Doesn't take that long to set up - hubby just needs to lug the tree out from the storeroom, assemble it, then the task of decorating is left to me. Took me about 1.5 hours yesterday morning to put up all the ornaments
I actually have alot more I wanted to use, but realised that it was getting too 'obese' (as opposed to mommies mentioning 'anorexic')! Thank goodness i didn't buy more ornaments then!

ava (avalyn) - we used to have 2 real Xmas trees in our garden when i was growing up in M'sia! Now, we have a small one in a pot at the balcony - been 3 years now and it has grown maybe a couple of inches!

Meanwhile - i found a Santa's outfit for Kieran today!! Very cute and they have sizes for newborn! Will take a photo and post up later.

shazz : initially we gave her water to drink if she wakes up for milk, so far she quite "gentle", slowly we gave her pacifier and after a few tries she automatic sleep thru w/o sucking pacifier. In fact she hates pacifier unless she's very sleepy n searching for my nipple for suckle.

Springz, sometimes when u dress her up all in pink, with pink booties and pink blanket, ppl will still ask if she is a girl or boy. lol! btw, Shauna is so pretty!! esp the contented look!

Shazz, wow! so fast sitting in the bumbo? He looks comfortable in it. you are using a cushion behind for his head support? i'm also thinking of getting hubby to buy 1 bumbo seat for my dd as he commented that she likes to sit upright! but her daddy is so 'stingy'. opps!

Jaline, mine too was born small at 2.34kg. she gained to 4.9kg at 2 months 2 days old. i also trained my dd to thru when i brought her back home to sleep with me and hubby last thurs-mon night. can only remember something like 11.50pm till 6.30am, but feed her at 7.30am without her crying. and another time is 9.30pm till 5.30am. Anyway wad i do is use the pacifier to shut her up when she start to eh eh eh looking for milk. if she can take it, she will fall back to sleep while sucking the pacifier. if not, the eh eh eh will start to pitiful crying, then screaming! haha!

Flos, i like to be hands on mummy but albeit a lazy one! lol~ Just dun wan my dd now to think that her grandma is her MUM!!