(2008/09) Sep 2008

<font color="119911">Hi mommies – just had lunch from my new home delivery service. This is so much better than Lexin – the food is from Mom's Cooking, and actually taste like home cooked food!
There is no MSG and they use canola oil, delivery is in individual paper containers. Its more costly ($12.50 per meal), but worth it. Anyway, for mommies who are interested, here is the website - http://www.buffetparadize.com/dinner_Normal.htm

Millie (millie22) – on your question for insurance, the sum assured is $100k, and $40k, for 2 separate policies (whole life/critical illness/disability/childhood diseases, endowment/critical illness/disability) – premiums are about $300+ a month. But like Shazz mentioned, it would vary depending on the parent's (payer's) health/age etc.

Flos (flos) – maybe you need to prepare flash cards for the open/close signs for lift doors and test your maid once in a while! Just have to tahan for a while I guess – this is the 1st time in her entire life that she is riding an escalator/lift.

SarahMay (sarahmay) – I am feeding Kieran EBM outside as well – keep the bottled milk in a ziplog filled with ice (and in an insulated bag) and warm up with a themos of hot water when required. The milk remains chilled for about 6 hours.

Ava (avalyn) – no lah, not jealous of hubby's comments on how good Isabelle looks. We are always checking out women together anyways!
There are more pretty women than good looking men in Singapore.

Okie, am confused. Why did they say the baby entitlements would be backdated to 17th Aug, then now backtrack and say the effective date for all changes is 31st Oct?

Jo Jo (jojobar) – I have a bumbo seat from my sister. Will use it once Kieran's neck is sufficiently firm – hopefully in 1 months' time. The only worry is that the thighs might get too fat to fit in by then!
Btw like l'l CY^^l'l CH (lilboymum) mentioned, better to rent the seat if you don’t have it. Most babies don’t last more than 1-2 months on the seat.</font>

Here is another photo from yesterday's gathering with crybaby Kieran on the left, and another photo fo him in a better mood

Meanwhile, we are so envious of all the babies with huge head of hair!
1847012.jpg
1847013.jpg

Jojo,
i have a bumbo n I found it useful. it depends on how u use it. as in, if your house already has many other stuff (like rocker chair, high chair etc..) then u might not need a bumbo. It used to be quite exp (2yrs ago) at $99.. but i think the price has come down to $78 in recent times. U can consider buying a 2nd-hand one for $30 from the WTS threads in this forum.

As for kids with thunder thighs.. actually some kids will change physically.. as in, if now u see your baby's thighs are fat, but 2 months later, the thighs may slim down.. doesn't mean will keep growing n growing.. hope u know what i mean.

Bigtoes,
I suggest u don't let Kieran sit too long in the Bumbo initially. Cos our baby's spine is still not strong until after 4months, so not good to sit for long. I let my FB sit in the bumbo around 2+months.. initially i let him sit like 5mins a day.. then gradually lenthen the time. Cos i worry about spinal development.

Hi,Isabelle

I just received a reply from MCYS in writing (finally) on my appeal.. My baby was boen premature (EDD12 Sept) on 15 Aug.. and they included my baby for the baby bonus and the CDA but the 4th month maternity leave is up to my employer. I have yet to check with my company but I doubt they will give.. I am going back mid Nov.. sob sob.

Hi Autumn,

Thanks for your feedback. I do have two rocker chair for Marcellus. But i was thinking bumbo seat might be useful for him to learn how to sit up. Guess Marcellus is still young, i can still invest in one so that he can reap the full benefit out of it !

mummies, sorry to spam a pic of my FB in his bumbo last time.. i went to look at some of his old pics after our discussion on bumbo! :p

Jojo, this is a pic of my FB.. he was almost 3months old in this pic.
1847190.jpg

Hi Autumn,

Thanks for sharing... hmm hmm your FB head is quite steady at that time already. I need to train Marcellus on his tummy more so that i can put him on the bumbo....

Autum (autum): your FB is so cute!

I got a Bumbo during Eamon's 1st mth celebration, can't wait for him to sit in it. I agree that it's not good to let them sit in it now cos their neck is not that strong yet, even though my boy can lift his head and is usually in an upright position with him supporting his own head most of the time.

Bigtoes/dracwy
Bigtoes I think you are confident enough about yourself to let dracwy compliment other women lah (within reason...?)...hehe I check out other women with my hb too :p you're right...there are more good looking gals than guys.

Springz
my FB was "kidnapped" by my parents for the weekend, so it wasn't so crazy at the gathering yesterday hehe!

hello everyone!

Great meeting all yesterday though I was late (I think now u can relate to who I am....) My baby was a little anti-social so didn't appear in any of the photos.

Jojobar - I am also in my mid thirties (I think we are about the same batch la!!) and am hoping to have another kid. hee hee..... By the way, should have asked u re baby carrier since u r such a pro!! My hubs and I trialed it with my stuffed toy but haven't put him in yet! HA HA HA HA HA

Ava - Can u ask to work from home 3 days a week from ur current place? Thanks for opening up ur place yet again!

Sunrays / sasa - I am so envious! Dec is still waking up twice a night after his 10pm feed. about 4 hours apart. Did u do anything special?

meie / Koras / limay / dracwy / jojobar - I realise the men didn't talk to each other much. I thought they were going to start discussing topics for the Father's United forum. I guess the president (Ava's hubs) wasn't around to organise that. ha ha ha ha....

Traz - yah, next time just talk to anyone. don't be shy!! And do come out more often.

Autumn - I will remember ur girl in the violet outfit. Very cute!!!

Isabelle - I also damn der envious of ur figure but aiyah, I was never the slim type so can dream on man. hahaha... by the way, just to remind u, the nursing bibs that Meie and I have can be found at www.couscous.com.sg

Maternity leave - I am wondering what to do with my company...coz usually I am the one who puts the stamp of approval (or not) on all policies in asia. Aiyoh. COnflict of interest. HA HA...will ask my boss in US la.

car seats - since u're at it....I am also probably going to buy something from britax. Can someone tell me the difference btw royale / boulevard / premier / etc etc? So many models...I'm am so confused!!!

Flos - AIYOH...I also laughed out loud but suddenly, I stopped. Coz I am one of those DAMN CANNOT MAKE IT people who takes about 5 secs to figure the buttons on the lift (<> and ><) PLUS (this should top the charts) ... I cannot tell my left from my right. Ie i am driving and someone says - turn left, it will take me another 5 secs to figure out which is left. DAMN CHAMMMMMMMMMMM.... ok, now u can disown me as a friend.

lanolin/jojobar
mid-thirties is not old for kids nowadays...i have plenty of friends who had first, second then third kids and they started at 33-34. jojobar, lanolin and i are same batch in school and altho it is a stretch, I may be open to a fourth ... some time *FAR* down the road (not less than 3 years)...which will put me far into the wrong side of thirty

lanolin re:car seat
Britax/Safe n Sound is a decent brand. just look at all of them and choose the model based on
1. budget
2. pattern/colour
3. size of baby
4. size of car
and you should be OK...heheh

lanolin, jojo, ava,
I agree that many people are starting very late now, to become parents.. it's a trend now. i still have many friends in their 30s who are not even married, don't talk about being parents! for my case, that's why i quickly have 2nd kid after my FB.. difference is 18mths.. cos I also worry that if i wait some more.. i won't have the energy to chase after my kids!

Ava - I'm sure a difference of let's say 200 bucks for the car seat would mean that there's a difference in function or materials used right?

That's what I'm assuming. I'm just wondering what's the actual difference? plushness of the seat?

The Royale sells at Cheong Choon for 440. Does anyone know how much is the Boulevard and how much it retails for?

Ava - I am itching for a foot reflex. Maybe go this friday. :D

Hi lanolin &amp; AVA,

Well, i started out a bit late loh... Too caught up in my job previously... But I am not sure if i will have a second one since i realise
1. take care of kid isnot easy
2. it is very disruptive for our career and life.. (no drinking or sashimi during pregnancy)...
3. I will be in the high risk age group if i will to have a second kid... think about all the test they want you to go thru... yucks...

However so far enjoy parenting very much...

Really happy to meet you girls ... We should have more gahtering to catchup and share tips.

Hi Lanolin,

Boulevard retail price is 500 plus but there is a 20% discount at mother work (tanglin mall)) so it about $400 plus. Very good deal. The new peice color is in onxy black. I just check it out over the weekend.

I bought the diplomat rather than boulevard over the size. Boulevard is really big but it can seat the bb up to 25kg.

jojobar - I agree with you. I also started out late but I sometimes think when both hubs and I are not around, the boy will be alone without siblings etc so I'd rather there are 2 of them.... it's just me la.

U like drinking too? ME TOO! I love my wines and my ice cold beers. hahaha...I had a little wine and beer while I'm pregnant. :D

ps: I almost joined accenture ...that's why I asked u re which department u were in. hehehe

<font color="0000ff">Autumn
wah... ur FB so handsome leh.. eh.. got abit of ang moh look

Lanolin
no wor.. didnt do anything special. When he was born, his routine was already 1am den 5am. den gradually coz his feeds lasted him 3hrs... his timing changed.. den nite time juz 1 feed. usually at 3.30am. haha.. even more accurate den an alarm clock.. den these few days.. later.. abt 5am. the past few days didnt wake up at all. till i had to feed him milk at 7am on my own. my dear boy was still sleeping wor. think if i nvr wake him up for milk, he wouldn't even wake up

Milk SS
sad sad.. sob sob sob... i juz delayed my pumping time by a good 2 hrs coz was waiting for the cleaner to come to clean the office (stupid guy take so long to come up to the 2nd flr) and yet I onli managed to pump 100ml. Imagine after 8 hrs still onli 100ml... damn pathetic</font>

Lanolin,

Britax is a reputable brand and has a very good track record in terms of safety test (that's the whole point abt carseat right?). The Boulevard is retailing at $599 and i think the US models are only available at Mother's Work at GWC. They do have sale with 20% discount from time to time. Besides the material, it is the extra features like true side impact protection, ease of adjusting the harness, how long it can last (i.e. infant only until 9kg, convertible until 15kg or 29kg) etc.

You can do a comparison of the US models using their website.
http://www.britaxusa.com

Lok - thanks a lot. Maybe I should give them a call re the last piece of boulevard which jojo gave up. :D I will have a look and study it carefully.

Sasa - okay. Makes me even more envious liao. sigh. My boy is the wakeful type. Not the sleepy type. Hoepfully it means he can study harder when he is older. HAHAHAHA....

why is my boy wanting his milk every 2 hourly today??? is there a growth spurt at week 9???? but he doesn't finish the 100ml I give him!!! ARGH

lanolin,
what does wakefulness has to do with studying hard? J has been sleeping from abt 5am till 4pm, waking up only twice for his milk + bathtime.. Does that mean he will be a lazy boy in school?

Hi Lanolin,

Oh really, so i presume you will be in the human performance service line if you really join. The partner is a very nice lady and she is a catholic too. I have been in the consulting role since i left school. Been in different consulting firms, i must say accenture is the best for me to work in. Their training circulumn is fanastic.. I really miss my association.
My current company is the first time when i am no longer in consulting company or role... not really used to it actually...

But now i have kid... very hard to cheong in acn anymore..hahah ...See this is one of the scarifice i have to make loh...

I have just brought Janelle back for her jab today.. and she is 6.4kg and 59cm long at exactly 2 mths old.. gosh..

Btw, i have a sample size similac, anybody wants it??

Springz, i might be able to go for the gathering.. can add my hb, me and Janelle to the list first.. thanks..

<font color="119911">Britax/Safe n Sound - my vote goes to the Meridian AHR (http://www.productreview.com.au/showitem.php?item_id=16446) - then again, our selection method is always very haphazard. This was decided based on the plushness of the material &amp; color (dark grey, which matches our car seat).

Ava (avalyn) - on allowing hubby to check out other women/go for dinner with them etc...it all boils down to trust and confidence in the relationship. No point keeping each other on a tight leash right
Like my closest friends are all guys and dracwy has no issues with that. Heck, even my teammates at work are all men!

Jo Jo (jojobar) - yes! At this stage, i can't imagine having another baby, though I would love to have a little girl eventually

Jojo, Lanolin,
Couldnt agree more..I started super late and it took me 3 good years before I conceived. My gynea already started talking abt 2nd child..but dont think i am ready..but it would be nice to have 2..esp a girl..love to dress them up!

Hi Bacon&amp;egg,

Same here, it took me some time to concieved as well. My gynae think that my work pressure has cost my ovulation cycle to mess up..He also reminded me to try for my second one soon.. due to my previous ovulation history..hahhaha....

Anyway, i would lov to have a daughter ...but a what bigtoe mention, can't imagine having another one at this stage...

I am going for my prenatal massage this thursday...looking forward for it....

Jaymickey.. wow Janelle at 6.4 kg at 2months old ! Marcellus is smaller compared to many of the baby here

<font color="0077aa">Lanolin: Don't know why today, gave my boy 100ml EBM for the part-time nanny to feed &amp; he cannot finish! Only drank 50ml-70ml only! And when I gave him my breast, he latch on! Aiyoo!!

One more thing, I am letting my boy sleep on my bed &amp; when the nanny put him on my bed, she will also lie on my bed to pat him! I don't really like another person to sleep on my bed, should I move the cot to the other room &amp; let baby sleep there while I lock my bedroom? Is it safe to leave the nanny with the baby alone in my bedroom?</font>

Give your bod at least a 6-12mth break but really don't wait too long.. It might take a while to conceive again!

MACLAREN STROLLERS

Anyone using the Maclaren Triumph or Maclaren Quest Mod/Sport stroller? I am contemplating on getting it to bring baby around town on my own. Any advise on either of these 2 models?

hi tr mummies,
i called the marriage and parenthood hotline and the lady said i am still entitled to 4 mths leave, esp if my P has already agreed. I think i better confirm with my P again!
Can call the hotline if u need to clarify!
1800 233 2229

lanolin
thx for the link! Will go look at it. So excited!
And this right left confusion, I'm like that too! When I was in Japan, this bicycle was coming at me n my frens, and someone shouted to move to the left. The whole group moved left, except me who moved to the right...

Ava, bigtoes
me and hubby also check other women out! We even check out their boobs too! When I see a nice pair, I alert him to look!

Springz
gotta add Mandy to the list too!
And u're gg for a holiday! Envious! Enjoy!
Actaully my dream holiday now is to go to Tokyo Disneyland with isabelle. But in my dreams only. Cos Gabbie is too young to enjoy anything...

autum
ur FB is so cute and bright-eyed!

BUMBO
beware and only use the bumbo on the floor as it was originally intended. I saw on the sg motherhood thread some mths ago abt a baby who was put in the bumbo, which was on a chair (Absolute NO NO!) baby fell off and broke his spine! Yeeks!

Bigtoes, I bought the car seat last sat, Britax Omega at baby kingdom. I should check this thread before going out or call mothercare to check the discount.wasted of the 20% discount.

Springz, I will join in with my baby and hubby too if the date is 29 Nov (sat), if weekeday, only me and baby, but I don't know how to bring baby take MRT or bus to your house alone..anything food I need to bring? snack or drink?

sarahmay - when i go out i usually take a packet of frozen EBM. It defroses in 2 hours and good for 2feeds. I use a chiller bag with a frozen ice pack. Then i warm up by pouring then into bottles to feed my boy. I also bring a thermos with hotwater and an insulated cup to warm the milk up.

The next gathering:

Date - Tentatively 29 Nov (Sat)
Time - 2pm onwards to evening
Venue - Springz's place near old airport rd
Food - Catered High-Tea finger food

So far mummies who are interested in meeting up:
1. Momoko
2. BlackberryB
3. Kymkym
4. Lok + Hb + Maid + Fb
5. Jas
6. Isabelle
7. Jojobar
8. Storeberry
9. Dmbb + Hb + bb
10. Breadmum + Hb + bb

Thunder
Anyone's baby got a shock from this afternoon's thunder. Now my boy seems to scream in fear in his sleep, so i have to cuddle him while i surf the net. How do we help them overcome this fear?

Lok - it's the only way I can comfort myself for his erratic habits and wakefulness. HAHAHAHA....

Isabelle - ok, I don't feel so bad afterall. hee hee.

Hi Hi the NEL gathering sounds fun! I thot the men would form a 'fathers club'.. am secretly hoping dracwy and like-minded fathers would come for next gathering to set the standard for the other fathers hee.. it would be horrendous if the 'bo-chap' kind are the majority, exchange notes n cite each other's non-action!!

The PP one was funny coz most mummies were happily ordering COLD drinks!! Like FREEDOM!

Ava - haha bought 'peace' heh..

Lanolin - I'm genuinely surprised - u look like late twenties or just three O.. :p

Isabelle- I also love Japan!!! not holiday per se la.. Shauna so young. Am at Sentosa Amara. Brought nearly whole house here.. steriliser, pump (which is bulky), loads of diapers, toys etc...

okies.. the next gathering:

Seems like most more comfy with hbs ard and easier to move abt so we fix 29 ya.. am happy Sunrays can make it too!! Looking forward to see Char!!

Date - 29 Nov (Sat)
Time - 2pm onwards to evening
Venue - Springz's place near old airport rd
Food - Catered High-Tea finger food.. am thinking halal $7 per pax:
http://www.delihub.com.sg/index.php?CODE=03b&amp;lang=en&amp;menu_type=menu_type2&amp;menu_id=8

1. Momoko
2. BlackberryB + Hb + bb
3. Kymkym
4. Lok + Hb + Maid + Fb
5. Jas
6. Isabelle
7. Jojobar
8. Storeberry
9. Dmbb + Hb + bb
10. Breadmum + Hb + bb
11. Mandy
12. Jaymickey + Hb + bb
13. Sunrays + bb

Disclaimer - I onli have abt 3 Ti-Lams. Any mummies can help bring Ti-Lams please?

Extra Food - More than welcome!

Will PM map, directions etc nearer date...

Springz - u made my day!!! haha...next time we meet, I'll give you my serious look. :D I am really in my mid 30s. sigh ... that's why can't wait TOO long for next BB. I hope for a girl but it's up to the big man up there!

By the way, what are T-Lams?

1. Momoko
2. BlackberryB + Hb + bb
3. Kymkym
4. Lok + Hb + Maid + Fb
5. Jas
6. Isabelle
7. Jojobar
8. Storeberry
9. Dmbb + Hb + bb
10. Breadmum + Hb + bb