(2008/09) Sep 2008

Shazz,
i stay in Upp Serangoon.. dun think it's the rain and storm that caused my electric circuit to breakdown.. think it's really the old kettle.

Flos,
u also had electric short-circuit. the $360 is what u had to pay to the electrician? did your incident happen late at night too, or in the day?

Storeberry,
Advance-Link is it good? As in your friend gave very good review?

Bigtoes,
Christmas party with babies sitting under the tree sounds so cute!

hi mummies ,
Been down with cold these few days and hence not online ..
saw that u guys enjoy the gathering at avas place ..
Flos,
looks like u habe a lot to train your maid .. luckily my maid is good .. althought sometimes she is slow in reaction she still knoes the buttons ..

Sarah may ,
counting down to your Macau to join your hubby ?> is he back to fecth u guys there ? all packed ?

really envy your milk supply .. i am nw pumping every 6 hrs .. spread out to three pumps a day ./ cos sick and have to work these days in school ..

My first born getting more and more jealous of his " didi " and nw bcos he cannot do anything to didi while i am carrying him , he is resorting to biting me to get attention and yesterday my thigh bleed from his bite .. am so angey that i beat him up .. and it happen today again .. this time , i spouldnt stop my natural reactyion to pitch him and twist his cheeks .. and i regretted doing it so hard .. cos he have blue black on his cheeks and he cried so badly while i am carrying zenneth .. felt so bad ..

Isabelle,
you are correct .. raising kids are expensive .. and next year i will take NPL to look after the little one .. although i am still undecided to go china , i am decided to rest for one year to look after the little one .. cos i feel that maid is nw more imp than mummy although i am the only one is zachary eyes before .. hmm .. so sad ..

Qiuling,
how old is your FB? I guess he is insecure.. u can get your hubby to be closer to him? just a thought.

i think u must be very heartache for beating your FB. hugz to u and your boy..

aiyo.. how come so soon u're all talking abt the next one? haa. I cant rem the pain anymore but I still think its a traumatic experience!
And this entire month of taking care of Reyes has frightened me off!
I seem like a milk machine and a human carrier cum rocker!

but of cse baby still brings me a lot of joy lar! ahha

Ava: I'm planning to stop soon cos once I start working full force, will be on the run all the time, can't imagine lugging my laptop + presentation materials + pump + fridge to go + EBM all day long with me!

crayonshin ,
u will forget about "these" after a few months ,.. keke ..

Autum ,
FB is 17 mths nw .. hubby in shanghai ... guess i am the only parent ard to discipline him .. hmm ... hubby last visit back also vent out once at FB cos he is really cranky that time cos bb is in my room and he refused to sleep cos bb is in the room .. so no choice have to tolerate his crying for an hour till bb finish milk and burp before i hand the bb back to maid to sleep in another room

shazz ,
BF only at night loh .. last time towards mt 6mth mth of BF ( which i plan to stop) i only pump before i leave for work and after i come home .. then night latch on .. keke .. so dun have to do any pumping in school for the full 12 hours of work ..

shazz, the other day I was bf at PP Isetan's nursery.. there was this well-heeled lady dressed in powersuit, carrying laptop, chanel bag and she was preparing to pump.. hee.. prob one of us will be like her one day?

qiuling, I wish and hope I'll forget all these soon!!!haaaa... and I swear for the next one, I'll follow u and Lok's advice of not automatically rocking once I carry baby! hahaha

Flos, Janelle is on FM mostly.. I am running out of BM soon cos my menses came 1 mth after delivery..

Maybe I should try to pump closer cos now I am pumping like 12hrs apart..

Recent pic of my 6.4kg gal..
1852052.jpg

Qiuling,
your FB born in May07? my FB born in Mar07.
hmm, how about your maid? can she help to handle your FB? As in, get her to play with your FB? play, sing, read books to him.. possible?

sarahmay - yeah, let's take it a step at a time. My baby's already 9W turning 10W on Wednesday. I'm still tryin to get to know him and his quirks a little better and hopefully we'll cooperate with each other along the way.

Limay - what a cute idea!!! wrapped up babies as presents! hahaha...

Flos - the colour will fade a little after a few washes. hee hee. Drill sergeant you are. Maybe ur maid from village and not manila leh.

Qiuling,
The biting may or may not be related to didi. Zac might just be going through the Terrible Two stage. J was like that too. U need to be firm and stop him from doing it. BUT do not e.g. bite him in return as he will just imitate your behaviour. I think pinching or hitting him might not be the best way to deal with him (might backfire and evoke more aggressive behaviour). And u need to make him feel secure so do set aside quality time just for Zac. I also suggest to get some small gifts to give him from time to time (tell him it's from Zenneth).

Quiling: my boy too impatient to latch! when he wants his milk, he wants it NOW! haha ... I have inverted nipple and my milk flow is really in drops type, so he got impatient to draw out the nipple and suck!

crayonshinchan: wow, I want the Chanel bag, but I dun wanna pump! kekeke

jaymickey: janelle is so cuttteee! aiyo, now you're making me want a gal for #2

shazz.. hee hee.. u know i always wanted a boy 1st.. but now when i see her, i am so thankful that i have a gal 1st... is fun to dress a gal up and especially she is the only 1.. i have more time to spend on her..

Jaymickey - All the pics you post of Janelle so pretty

Crayon - hahah... your hb very smart!!!

Bigtoes - no worries abt not joining the gathering if not convenient for you
babies dressed up as pressies under Christmas tree! Haha I'm sure the gals will have ribbons and boys some bow somewhere
What abt pressie exchange?? haha! I want kieran's smile, scarlet's big eyes, gabbie's hair...

Flos - I'm actually on Mountbatten side, next to the BMW motors.. I wanna see red-haired mamasan!! Wheee whee.. hot mama!!

Mummies with FB.. admire u all.. I'm really wondering if I can manage a 2nd one!

Oh! Before I forget.. think I missed out lilboymum in the list.. here's the latest..
whoa gonna be a bit of squeeze.. hope everyone can tahan the mayhem for a couple of hrs! [So far the gatherings only 2-3 hrs rites?)

1. Momoko
2. BlackberryB + Hb + bb
3. Kymkym
4. Lok + Hb + Maid + Fb
5. Jas
6. Isabelle
7. Jojobar
8. Storeberry
9. Dmbb + Hb + bb
10. Breadmum + Hb + bb
11. Mandy
12. Jaymickey + Hb + bb
13. Sunrays + bb
14. sunnysunny
15. StefSeanSharbabes + bb
16. preggie + hb + bb
17. crayon + reyes
18. Lilboymum

Flos - tried the beansprout pillow and he wails even louder, seems like he does not like the weight on him. I shall try putting him on his tummy. He seems to like this the last time i did that.
Today, his poop was greenish, so my mum says he was "frightened". I ended up opening some of his 1 mth presents aka toys and entertianing him and he just fell asleep half an hour ago.

Autum(autum)-I too experienced a power trip too last week when my bread maker decided to breakdown, so i ended up throwing it away and buying a new one. I guess during the 9 months of pregnancy, i was in no mood to bake, so electrical items do have a shelf life as well. Ha ha..so now you know why my nick is call breadmum - i just simply love home made bread.

Limay - agree with storeberry that the disposable breast pads are useful. sometimes when i am alone and my boy refuses to latch on, and i have let downs, as i have no avenue to express, it really helps soak up.

Sarah - I also have the experience of spilling milk on my boy's face when he unlatches.

Shazz - monies transferred. Likely, hubby will pick up. will alert you ahead.

Hi Mrs Yap.. yay! looking forward to see you and Melody! Anytime after 2pm.. meaning can come at 3pm or 4pm.. How is little Melody??

Hi Ava,

PM you my age... Think you find me familiar as we are staying in the same SMALL neighourhood lah or cos i have a common face... hahha...

Anyway, will love to drop by for play dates. Let's arrange on one of the weekend since you are going back work.

Hi springz
As for the old airport road gathering, I will try my best to be there... Just found out that hubby will be in europe for biz trip that weekend..so mean i have to drive there myself... I will look up the map and plan the route when i get the address from you.

breadmum,
ooh.. u love to bake. i m just starting! i bot a cheapo oven to try my hand at baking n so far only managed to do muffins, haha.. then today i just went to sign up for a elementary cake-making class at the com centre near my place. hope to learn something out of that.

Hi Jojobar.. no worries.. ya it is quite tricky driving baby alone.. will PM u the map once I reach home
p/s - we have church gatherings at my place quite frequently so we have a pdf map with driving/ bus directions at hand...
u see if it is convenient for u...

Sorry Mummies!! We missed out on the sunday gathering.. Me mum wanted me to run errands and it went overtime =(..

Xmas Gathering:

Wrapping baby sounds really fun! Maybe we could all bring presents and written wishes for the new year to hang on limay's tree, perhaps a turkey or log cake too! :p We (BB+HB+ME) sign up!!!

OKOK! I'll volunteer for the chinese new year gathering!!! Hopefully my new house is up and running by then~~ hehehe

Springz:

18 mummies and BBs! Yea~ gonna be a real fun! keke

2nd BB:

I jokingly brought up the topic to HB last week, and he almost fall outta his chair, hahaha.. he was like, so SOON ah, you don't wanna rest ah!? (When he was always the enthu one who wanted a 2nd one all along!!) How nice if we could teach and nurture 2 bbs who are of close age proximity to each other.. would be lotsa fun!

Jaymickey:

Janelle is so cuteeeeeee!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Chubby cheeks!!!!!!!!!! Where did you buy the cute bow headband?~~ Maybe we could meet up at each other's house sometime^^? I'll bring Scarlett :p..

Colic:

Little Scarlett still has colic.. and it starts at 8.30pm these 3 nights.. so depressing.. she cried so hard tonight till the pt of exsperation and I held her soooo tight i think i almost suffocate her.. feeling angry with myself, almost broke it with her right there..(((

Drugstore Spree: our loot is here! darn! US$ exchange rate was 1.54 when we had the spree. Have emailed the mummies in the spree, but I need the following mums to PM me so I can forward the spree calculations to them.

Paging for:

Goldfish
alabone
AngelineGoh
Rachel_Lim

Kymkym, Yah yah!!! the chubby cheeks.. i sometimes feel like pinching her also.. the headband was from my niece, can't rem where we got it from also...yeh yeh, i will arrange for that one of these days since we are so nearby..

Colic, oh it came back ah??? Can the PD help?? dun break down.. be strong.. Scarlett needs u..

shazz

PM u liao..hehe..tks for organising..

Springz

would like to join in the fun too...hopefully this time round can make it liao ...

1. Momoko
2. BlackberryB + Hb + bb
3. Kymkym
4. Lok + Hb + Maid + Fb
5. Jas
6. Isabelle
7. Jojobar
8. Storeberry
9. Dmbb + Hb + bb
10. Breadmum + Hb + bb
11. Mandy
12. Jaymickey + Hb + bb
13. Sunrays + bb
14. sunnysunny
16. preggie + hb + bb
17. crayon + reyes
18. Lilboymum
19. Angeline + Carine

KymKym - my boy also having colic now. sob when he pass out gas he cry so loud. see him like that also heart ache. now feeding him with colic medicine hope it will help. and changing of milk bottles too.

spring- you staying old airport road near to the market? my parents hse is just nearby there the mac

Autum(autum) - cheap oven can do wonders as well. I've been doing mine with my tefal oven which has turned out wonderful end results with the exception of chiffon cakes.

I've always wanted a bigger oven but my kitchen is just too small. The initial plan was to renovate my kitchen this year to incorporate it but my little one came along, so the plan is shelved, Too much dust and hassle now.
I attended classes at creative culinaire at tiong bahru.

Flos - my boy still screams and cry in his sleep all of a sudden then falls back to sleep. sigh

Kym Kym - ya list getting longer! Hope it will not be mad house! Actually I've always admired how u r coping so well with Scarlett's colic.. Shauna's wailing for couple of hours already testing my patience.. (hb even expressed fear of leaving her alone with me coz I seem to get frustrated so easily)... so hang in there.. you have been doing great!! Colic goes away on its own at 3mths so REN ya? Keep thinking of how angelic and sweet she is - er when asleep!

Koras - ya! near mac! But not the market side.. haha actually on the same side as mac.. u visit yr parents often?

2nd BB - Kym I've also been asking hb When?? haha.. initially I thought 3 yrs gap was best but quite a few ppl I chatted with say smaller gap better.. they play together, younger one learn faster too and fb dun really know jealousy yet.. some drawbacks though.. my sis' kids for e.g. 16 mths diff.. we were playing and talking to FB lots since she was a baby. When she reached 2 yrs, she was talking lots so whole family was bz with the little sponge and 'neglated' 2nd baby who was abt 8 mths, we did so much lesser with 2nd baby though 8 mths also can learn quite alot...

jaymickey: janelle is a real beauty!

storeberry: no worries. just concerned abt u. know how stressful it can get. your HB also not in town freq and u've beencaring for Zane most nites and days alone. But u are one tough cookie! Jia you! Oh! milk has gotten into Elisha's nose, ears, eyes and all over his head. several times a day.

crayon shin: wah! sleep like from 8+pm to 1 am!!! envious envious. i calculated that my boy sleep average 11 - 12 h a day!!!! concerned! they are supposed to slep average 14 h. keeping him awake during day, depriving him of daytime naps DO NOT WORK To bring abt more nite time sleep. He deprives himself of day naps some times and sleeps the same amt at nite! really wonder if i am doing or eating something wrong.

breadmum: does ur bb cry when ur milk spills over during feeding? if mine is hungry it wil make him angrier and thus more fidgety and harder to feed.

qiuling: hope you are feeling better! must take care! i really admire ur energy and strenght, parenting on your own most times. so are you considering joining your hubby in shanghai? why don't u? yes, counting down to joining hub in macau. He's not back here to fetch me over. my dad's going with me. my dad is really fantastic! he cooks for me every day and helps look after my little one. yday he cared for elisha for 5 hours while i went out.

drawcy: congrats! they grow so fast don't they! i miss the time my bub was a newborn...so i remind myself to enjoy every day with him.

lanolin: yup! we just have to let our bubs grow at their own pace. but of cos,on mornings like this where he wakes at 4+am...aiyo...i really wish i know how to hypnotise him into a comatose state! i was carying him trying to get him to return to sleep and thought to myself, "he's only 6.5 weeks. He's still young. Let me cut him some slack. I'll start the sleep training bootcamp when he hits 8 weeks." haha

SHOPPING QUESTION: Where can we buy baby bandanas for boys? I've seen them on babies but I can't find them...Anyone knows where I can get them? I find them such cute accessories for boys...just about the only accessory actually.

Hi mummies...

been bz all tis while... haiz... i need a break!!

LATEST NEWS

Hmmm... Ytd went to family court to apply for child maintenance frm my ex bf...

Btw he's married but no kids.... other mummies told me to ask for $800... is it way too much?? I ask for $600... too much or nt?

<font color="ff6000"> Sri Leo: maintenance $ will never be too much! ask for more, and let the judge decide whether it's too much or not.</font>

dracwy: LOL! really ar... i put $600.. but i'm sure he'll negotiate.. we no court hearings.. muz undergi mediate 1st... i don wish to see his face seh...

so i shld juz stick to $600 no matter wat?? he's only staff sergeant... earn ard $2800 - $3K.. i muz consider his expenses too.. his working wife is spendthrift... mum &amp; sis $$$ face.. he gave allowance to them since he's the eldest &amp; hv no kids.. he oso hv a bike..live in 4-rm flat...

<font color="ff6000"> Sri Leo: i'm surprised u're actually considering his situation! ask yourself this, if $600 proves to be insufficient in future, will he consider your situation and give u more out of pity? i don't think so. $600 may seem sufficient now since your kid is still young, but think about it when he starts going to school, needs to buy books, eats more, etc. expenses will definitely go up in future. </font>

Springz

pls include me too...both bb and i are doing well... thanks

1. Momoko
2. BlackberryB + Hb + bb
3. Kymkym
4. Lok + Hb + Maid + Fb
5. Jas
6. Isabelle
7. Jojobar
8. Storeberry
9. Dmbb + Hb + bb
10. Breadmum + Hb + bb
11. Mandy
12. Jaymickey + Hb + bb
13. Sunrays + bb
14. sunnysunny
16. preggie + hb + bb
17. crayon + reyes
18. Lilboymum
19. Angeline + Carine
20. Mrs Yap + bb

drawcy: lol... dunno lei.. i juz put myself in his shoes... hmmm.. I'm sure he'll hv a hard time too... but child exp hv to be shared among both of us rite? nw I'm stil looking for jobs..

mummies, i need ur help as i'm trying to fill up the monthly expenses form..

kindly please share wit me roughly hw much u spent for the following item.. thks..

clothings
food/milk
diapers
insurance
medical
school exp (bks/stationary)
transport
pocket $
sch fees
child care
entertainment/tuition
others

Sri Leo,
Yes, when we ask for more $$, always bargain from the top figure then work down.
When we shop for bargain, its the other way round, isn't it? Haha.
Anyway $800 seems fine, you are not asking for $8000 leh. So long u can justify YOUR BABY's future expense need so much, why care whether your ex bf can afford or not. If his wife is spendthrift, that's his problem. If his family also $$-face, that's his problem, i dun thing the court will take in such consideration bah.

By the way, are you working? I heard they may take in account your financial status...

Any lawyers out there????? haha.

Haizzzzzzz, hv not been here for sometime.
HELP!!!!!!!!Sob...Sob... so sad cos i only been able to EMB the most is abt 40ml per express.
Any advise to help to increase the milk supple???

Mandy
lol...nt working..been trying to find a job..
my counsellor said custody wise he's nt granted to it...access Yes!

<font color="ff6000"> Sri Leo: i totally agree with Mandy. it's better to start with a higher figure. don't solely consider the tangible expenses, what about the time and tender loving care u put in for your kid?? think of the extra $ (if any) as your "labour costs"!</font>

good morning!

hv been having this stupid headache for 2 days..can't sleep well too.

Jvel is only 3.9kg at 6 wks old. and 52cm only! gosh!

BigToes,
Count me in for the Xmas gathering..btw where do u stay?

Jojobar - actually come to think of it, Ialso find you familiar! Not sure the connection though but...

Sri Leo - I think you r a very kind and strong person but I think your ex boyfriend should at least pick up some part of the responsibility and provide for the baby in some way. I also think SGD 800 is fair.

kymkym - u damn on la. looking at second one already?
Super mom u. So did your husband agree? I am not broaching the subject with my hubs yet ... I don't think I can cope! I think a 2 year gap would be good but I would really be in my LATE 30s by then. Not very good.

With the colic, Scarlett can still stick to the GF routine? Amazing!!!!

SarahMay - my boy is 10 weeks today. No GF routine in sight though he fed at 7 / 9 / 11 last night and I thought that it should last him till 5am right? WRONG! He woke up again at 145am!!!! I don't know what to do ... sigh.

Springz - have a good gathering. Will see u all for the next one.

frm ur advise, i decided, since i oredi ask for $600... no matter wat i'll stick to it... no less for sure.. ha... hopefully i'll be hard hearted enough... hehe